Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 806 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

806 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

806 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
562
4 stars
193
3 stars
27
2 stars
15
1 stars
9
1-20 of 737 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 737 total reviews
1-20 of 737 reviews
Awesome playhouse!
3/30/2009

Customer review by curlylocks1976

5.0 stars 3/30/2009 by curlylocks1976
by curlylocks1976

This is an awesoe playhouse! We purchased this two years ago when our daughter was only one and a half, and it has held up beautifully! The plastic pieces are still in perfect condition with no fading or damage. It has constantly been exposed to the elements, even in winter. The fact that it has a floor is just awesome! Perfect for being outside to protect from mud and dirt underneath. I put it together myself in about an hour and a half...it wasn't difficult, just annoying with all the screws. I am pretty good at putting stuff together though! The only problem I have with it is that the stickers on the outside have faded and peeled. The interior stickers are fine, so that's to be expected. My husband sits inside of there with our daughter which is pretty comical, lol, especially when he's sqeezing himself in and out of the door! We just moved to a new bigger house and I'm actually considering moving it into the family room so my daughter can get even more use out of it! Love this house!

curlylocks1976
Monticello, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Loves It!
1/1/2010

Customer review by Happy Baby, Happy Mom

4.0 stars 1/1/2010 by Happy Baby, Happy Mom
by Happy Baby, Happy Mom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was going to get a kitchen for my 14 month old son, but my husband convinced me to by the playhouse. My son Loves it!!! He plays in it throughout the day and has so much fun. We use it indoors for now because it's winter,...but we might just keep it indoors since he uses it like a fort. He takes all his balls into the house and launches them out the windows, then goes & retrieves the balls & does it all over again. He also love the phone that came with it. He carries it all over the house with him. He also has a talking broom which he takes inside the house and pretends to sweep the floor. He loves to open & close the door, and likes opening & closing the shutters as well. He sits in one of the seats inside and just stares out into the living room to see what mommy & daddy are up to out there. He really has enjoyed this purchase and it was worth every penny! It is hours of entertainment for him (and us!)Thanks Step2 for another successful product that my son loves!

Happy Baby, Happy Mom
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worth the money. Great playhouse
1/6/2017

Customer review by Dookey58

5.0 stars 1/6/2017 by Dookey58
by Dookey58
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my second cottage. I have 4 grandchildren who have enjoyed playing for hours and hours . My 2 thru 4 years old grandchildren cook wash dishes, eat their meals and clean their cottage daily. Love seeing them play make believe. Great construction about 45 minutes of assembly time Power tools made for the fast assembly.

Dookey58
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My granddaughter was so happy!
1/7/2017

Customer review by Sandy

5.0 stars 1/7/2017 by Sandy
by Sandy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My 2 year old granddaughter absolutely loved this playhouse! She loved opening the door and shutters over and over again. Well worth the money- good price.

Sandy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Our grandchildren absolutely loved this house
12/31/2016

Customer review by Chris

5.0 stars 12/31/2016 by Chris
by Chris
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We purchased this house for our grandkids for Christmas and they have been playing in it non stop since. It was very easy to put together.

Chris
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Yes I'd Buy This Again
12/25/2016

Customer review by Thelma

5.0 stars 12/25/2016 by Thelma
by Thelma
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

OMG this was so easy to put together. It took less than 30 minutes. Our Granddaughter loves it and I picture her taking her nap in there later today. Very durable, love the floor.

Thelma
undisclosed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cute!
4/28/2008

Customer review by Mom of 2

5.0 stars 4/28/2008 by Mom of 2
by Mom of 2

We've had this for over 2 years now. It still gets played with quite a bit, has no fading, and looks like new. It is small (which for us was perfect), best for kids age 1-5. Our 7 year old still gets in it though. About 2-3 kids max inside. BUT, with the windows and all, you can still have more kids buzzing around outside, ringing the doorbell, delivering "mail," etc. The open-air style is also welcome in areas where it is hot--it keeps the air flowing through. Most playhouses are so shut-in, that come July or August, the kids can't sit inside the house. This keeps air flowing through quite nicely. I really like this because of the built-in floor. You don't have to worry about a fire ant mound (here in TX) , plus it keeps the interior cleaner. I put it together myself, while my husband was doing other yardwork. So, easy to put together, very simple to maintain (hose off from time to time), doesn't fade or wear, it's great!

Mom of 2
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Our Son Loves It!
2/23/2009

Customer review by Phoenix's mom

5.0 stars 2/23/2009 by Phoenix's mom
by Phoenix's mom

My husband and I purchased this for our son for his 1st birthday last April (with some of his birthday money he received from friends/family). He absolutely loves it! It's the first thing he runs to outside. I think the phone is his favorite part & he uses it indoors all year long. It's a little small, but perfect for maybe 2 children his size (he's now almost 2)to play comfortably. But, even I have sat in there with him. We decided on this one mainly for the floor, so he wasn't always sitting on the cold damp ground. He really hasn't used it since fall (due to the very bitter cold snowy winter). But, he always points it out, so I know that once it warms up a bit, he'll be thrilled to get back out there! We were going to put it in the basement for the winter, but it just never happened (& we never go down there). It would be pretty easy for you to bring it in for the cold months if you have the room.

Phoenix's mom
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Cute, Perfect Indoors or Outdoors
2/20/2008

Customer review by Mimi

5.0 stars 2/20/2008 by Mimi
by Mimi
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this playhouse for my grandson's first birthday after reading the reviews from others online. It is currently in their playroom, but will go outdoors for the warmer weather, thanks to the floor to keep him off the ground. I'm told it's his favorite toy and he spends a lot of time in it. He loves ringing the doorbell and opening and closing the door and shutters. He has climbed out through the windows, as well, and just enjoys playing all around it. Although he likes putting "mail" through the mail slot, I was a bit disappointed to see that the door on the mailbox does not open. I also was surprised to see that the telephone doesn't ring or at least have push buttons on it. My grandson loves it, and so do his parents! My daughter-in-law is 5'8" and is able to crawl in and sit with him, and when the play group comes over, there is plenty of room for several little ones in there at once. I think that, because of it's size, this playhouse will be appropriate for another 2 or 3 years for my grandson. The price was right and everyone is very pleased with it. It is well made and should last for many years.

Mimi
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Stands the test of time ...
4/10/2009

Customer review by Mid Michigan Mom

4.0 stars 4/10/2009 by Mid Michigan Mom
by Mid Michigan Mom

We bought this for my daughter for her 2nd birthday and she is now turning 7 and my son is turning 5. We keep it outside year round and it has not faded. Both kids love to play with it, but my kids are tall. So from experience, it is best for smaller, shorter, younger children as the seats are pretty small and there isn't a lot of room to move around. I like the floor, but it it is difficult to keep clean. It catches all the leaves. There is a tall lip under the door that keeps it all in. I have to turn the house on its side to clean and sweep it out. The roof design holds the water and dirt and makes it difficult to keep clean from debris. The outside end walls are a bit flimsy, but not too bad. The kids love the mail slot and the phone and the doors an shutters that open and close. It has held up very well in 5 years and is still in excellent condition.

Mid Michigan Mom
Mid Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it!!
9/14/2009

Customer review by Daycare Mommy

5.0 stars 9/14/2009 by Daycare Mommy
by Daycare Mommy

This was the first major, outdoor purchase I made for my daycare. I chose this one because I don't have a lot of experience with Step2 and I wanted to make sure I was satisfied with the quality of their products before I made a big investment. The kids love it and so do I. It is the perfect size for 2 toddlers, 3 if they don't mind being a little crowded. I put it together myself in under 45 minutes. The only issue I had was that the screw that holds the sink/table on didn't quite line up with the hole and eventually fell off. We popped it back in and it sags a little but the kids couldn't care less. I just bought the Naturally Playful picnic table and intend to purchase another, bigger playhouse as well as a climbing structure in the next few months. I would absolutely buy this again and recommend it to anyone looking for a smaller playhouse.

Daycare Mommy
Swampscott, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I would purchase again
9/20/2016

Customer review by Joleen

5.0 stars 9/20/2016 by Joleen
by Joleen
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Perfect for our playground!

Joleen
undisclosed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My 16 month old loves it!
8/27/2016

Customer review by First time mom

5.0 stars 8/27/2016 by First time mom
by First time mom

Great house for toddlers, my 16 month old son loves it! I carried it up my stairs and put it together by myself after he went to bed. It took about 2 hours for me. I used a drill along with the screwdriver and I can't imagine doing it without a drill. Overall the assembly was pretty easy. I'm hoping to buy a tarp or something to protect it because I know the sun can really discolor it. We love it though!

First time mom
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great little house
1/1/2012

Customer review by Penny

4.0 stars 1/1/2012 by Penny
by Penny

I bought this playhouse for my two children (aged 2 years and 11 months) for Christmas 2011. It is set up indoors for the winter. It was the best gift they received by far. I managed to assemble the house completely in about an hour and a half on my own by hand. I could have done it in half an hour to 45 minutes if my drill had been charged. Even before it was completely finished, both kids were climbing all over me to try and play with it. They spent all of Christmas day playing inside it, ignoring their other new toys. The reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 was because the sink did not fit as snug as it should have. I had to secure the sink screw on a 45° angle up to actually make contact with the sink through the wall. Even now, it is still fairly loose. I may disassemble it and add some additional screws into the sink to keep it more secure on a day the kids are out with daddy. Overall is is a great gift for young children; especially with the open design. My 11 month old son really enjoys going in and out and opening and closing the door. My 2 year old daughter loves to play with her play food inside. I've even caught her setting up a bed in it!

Penny
Gatineau, QC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
love this affordable playhouse!
1/29/2008

Customer review by stay at home mom of two

4.0 stars 1/29/2008 by stay at home mom of two
by stay at home mom of two

I love Step2 products and this one did not let me down! I wanted a house for my almost 3 year old son, but did not want to spend a lot of money and wanted one that would blend in my backyard color-wise. It only took me 1 1/2 hours to assemble this house and that included the time it took me to get out my tools and clean-up in the end. I did use a drill to drill through some holes to start them as others had recommended. I was most worried about the height of this product but loved the color, compactness, and opennes of the design and the fact that it was Step2, so I went with it! At 38" my son fits in it just fine and should not have to duck in it for at least another year or so. Even after that I don't think he will mind ducking a bit. This house would be absolutely perfect if they just made it a few inches taller!

stay at home mom of two
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful Product - Fun for Toddlers
6/1/2012

Customer review by lovinmesomesammys

5.0 stars 6/1/2012 by lovinmesomesammys
by lovinmesomesammys

I recently purchased this playhouse for my 2 1/2 year old son. I thought it would be a bit bigger, but I'm not a toddler, so it's probably huge to him. The plastic is very durable and my husband put it together in no time at all. My son LOVES it. There's a little sink in there w/ faucet, 2 little seats on either side of the sink, a phone on the wall that makes noise, a mail slot and a doorbell (you'll need batteries). It's easily movable - outside for nice days - inside for chilly days. The roof peaks on the inside, so there appears to be even more room when he is inside. I'm guessing he'll be able to play in here for a year or more before he becomes too tall. I'm not sure it's really worth $135, but overall I think it's an excellent purchase, and it was quickly delivered right to my door...that made it worth it. Thanks Sam's!!

lovinmesomesammys
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
[...]
11/11/2008

Customer review by CassisMama

5.0 stars 11/11/2008 by CassisMama
by CassisMama

My German Sheppard and 2 cats are always trying to sneak in and take a nap. My 21 month year old daughter is not keen on sharing it though, lol, and quickly shuts the door behind her.I love that the floor is attached to the lower walls - keeps the bad stuff out and I know that she will be dry and clean and bug/creature free in there. The phone did not work, but customer service replaced it with zero hassle. We love to decorate it with push button lights, pictures on the walls, carpet, curtains... I put her Dsny- kitchen in there too and she loves that. It is currently in the living room for the winter.Cons - the sink should be sturdier, the phone clasp is not tight enough to hold the phone, needs pre-drilled holes for assembly, will not fit into an SUV even if unassembled from the packaging.[...]

CassisMama
CANADA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
WONDERFUL!! LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!
8/10/2011

Customer review by Ezra & Zoe 's Mama

5.0 stars 8/10/2011 by Ezra & Zoe 's Mama
by Ezra & Zoe 's Mama

I purchase the Neat and Tidy Cottage as a birthday gift to share for my two year old and one year old (their birthdays are 4 days apart). I did a TON of research because my oldest is VERY tall and I wanted something he would be able to enjoy for a long time. When I received this item and assembled it (which was not difficult - I used at ratcheting screw driver) I was excited to show it to my kiddos. My son kept saying "house, house" and my daughter started pushing buttons. They have been playing together in the house ever since (purchased about 2 weeks ago). I have seen other play houses that are much smaller and shorter. This one is tall on the inside and perfect for my tall kids. It is lightweight and great for indoor play (I keep the playhouse inside). I LOVE this product and my kids do too.

Ezra & Zoe 's Mama
billings, mt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Granddaughter loves it!
7/20/2016

Customer review by Alice

5.0 stars 7/20/2016 by Alice
by Alice
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Our granddaughter loves her little playhouse. She goes in and sits on her chair and pretends to cook or talk on the cell phone. She loves ringing the doorbell. She puts her favorite toys in the house. Her grandpa put it together for her and it only took less than an hour....

Alice
undisclosed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hours of Fun... Needs TLC for Upkeep
3/9/2012

Customer review by Ellie's Mom

4.0 stars 3/9/2012 by Ellie's Mom
by Ellie's Mom

My daughter has had this for several years and she loves it. She and her cousins have spent many hours playing with it. However... it is very hard to clean. The floor looks cute how it is molded but it's almost impossible to get dirt our from the cracks. Also, where to roof attaches to the walls, there is a crack where the bees and spiders make theri homes and I have to un screw it a couple times a week to clear nests. We like to move this inside (a huge plus) in the winter but it really does take a lot of TLC to keep it nice. I always disassemble it to clean it and then move it indoors to reassemble. A few notes: -The phone has been lost since the first couple months my daughter got the cottage. -The seats are small but she doesn't notice. -The doorbell is really fun. -The actual door falls off a lot... however a three year old can put it back on... so not a huge deal. -The roof has faded a bit but it's holding up (especially because we clean it and bring inside each year.) -I put a tarp over it while it's not in use to keep out the elements and leaves etc. -They love opening and closing the shutters. -I put a rug in the bottom to keep it a little cleaner and it provides another spot to sit... makes it "homey"

Ellie's Mom
Upstate NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 737 total reviews
1-20 of 737 reviews