Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 45 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

45 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

45 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
25
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 stars
3
1-20 of 45 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews
RCA ANT800L antenna receives 25 local channels
11/13/2013

Customer review by RobertOKC

5.0 stars 11/13/2013 by RobertOKC
by RobertOKC

The 1080i HD picture quality on my Toshiba HDTV is fabulous, much better quality than the cable company service we were using. It took about an hour to install in my attic, plus another hour to run 100' cable through the attic. According to http://transition.fcc.gov/mb/engineering/dtvmaps/ there are 12 channels in our area, but this ANT800L picked up 25 channels. Before purchasing this unit I called RCA and asked for their recommendation, because of the tall trees and homes nearby in direct line with local stations. ABC, CBS, and NBC local affiliates are about 12 miles from our home and all 3 come across perfect. I'm cancelling our cable tv service, saving us $77/mo.

Was this review helpful? (96) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RobertOKC
Oklahoma City, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great way to avoid high satellite or cable costs
11/22/2012

Customer review by flytheskyrudi

5.0 stars 11/22/2012 by flytheskyrudi
by flytheskyrudi

Took it out of the box and stuck it on the fence and I get about 18 channels in HD as clear as a bell. I get all the major networks (not CNN which is no loss for me) and some really interesting ones like Me TV. I then bought the indoor version hoping to get similar results but so far no joy. I was truly amazed at the quality of the reception. It doesn't get any better and happy that the purchase price is about a month's cost for a subscription service.

Was this review helpful? (109) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
flytheskyrudi
Fort Myers, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good product, but not suitable for long range
12/7/2013

Customer review by Appleglen

3.0 stars 12/7/2013 by Appleglen
by Appleglen

It is easy to install and don't have to point to a specific orientation. But did not receive signals to stations 20 miles away. Replaced with ClearStream 2V Long-Range HDTV Antenna - from Walmart. The ClearStream works much better in my area

Was this review helpful? (35) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Appleglen
94547
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Outdoor Antenna?
12/31/2013

Customer review by autoal

4.0 stars 12/31/2013 by autoal
by autoal

I purchased this antenna based on size and price. I have an indoor RCA antenna which works reasonably well (weather dependent). This outdoor antenna seems to be similarly constructed except it comes with mounting hardware. Easy to mount and set up. You may have to reposition it and scan a couple of times to maximize your channels. It is pole mounted to my roofline, about 11ft from the ground. The reception is slightly better than the indoor. It is well thought out and the design seems to be sound. My only concern is how long will it last? Since I live in Florida, I anticipate a short lifespan due to sun, wind and rain. I think it would be more reasonable to say that this antenna is made to be mounted inside of an attic or protected space. If you live up North, you would need to mount it taking into consideration the collection of snow or ice on the broad surface. Overall, reasonably priced, good reception, so-so construction.

Was this review helpful? (34) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
autoal
Deerfield Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Much better than expected
7/3/2014

Customer review by Tooltinker2

5.0 stars 7/3/2014 by Tooltinker2
by Tooltinker2

I was able to receive 24 channels from within a 70 mile radius. This is with the antenna mounted in the upright position, aimed in one direction, which I found to be most effective position. Some channels had higher definition than I could get from a satellite dish. I did not need to mount it on the roof. It worked great mounted on my deck rail about 12 feet from the ground. You must allow your TV to scan for channels; but do this in clear dry weather. If you would like to know how many channels you can receive befor purchasing, go to a web site called TVFOOL.COM. Use the signal analysis from the tool bar. Enter your address and submit. I found this information to be highly accurate.

Was this review helpful? (42) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tooltinker2
Lenoir nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/19/2012

Customer review by doodledoggy

5.0 stars 12/19/2012 by doodledoggy
by doodledoggy

Great antenna. Even works in doors in a stucco house. So happy to be free of cable and see everything in HD for free.

Was this review helpful? (25) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
doodledoggy
MM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worked GREAT right out of the box!
9/26/2011

Customer review by Skulldawg

5.0 stars 9/26/2011 by Skulldawg
by Skulldawg

Was able to receive 15 different channels and was perfect pictures on all of them.

Was this review helpful? (105) (60)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Skulldawg
Newport, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Picked up fewer stations than RCA indoor antenna
11/13/2012

Customer review by MsZoe

2.0 stars 11/13/2012 by MsZoe
by MsZoe

I tried multiple locations on the exterior of my home and the antenna picked up about 25% fewer stations than an indoor RCA antenna, so returned it.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MsZoe
Tucson AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
a good choice
9/29/2012

Customer review by Boston01

4.0 stars 9/29/2012 by Boston01
by Boston01

Rated as a top preformer so I gave it a try. Hookup was easy. I get the stations I expected except for the Fox network . Since that network is in the same vicinity as the others, I don't understand why I don't get it. Stations come in strong except when the windy. I don't get that either since the antenna is mounted very sturdy. In all a good choice for getting in local station's without a large standard ugly and large metal type antenna.

Was this review helpful? (24) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Boston01
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Works, and is unobtrusive
10/2/2013

Customer review by Stayathomegrandpa

4.0 stars 10/2/2013 by Stayathomegrandpa
by Stayathomegrandpa

The antenna was easy to install and orientate, and unobtrusive in appearance. For such a simple looking device, I was surprised to see it pull in over 22 high definition stations. We live fairly close to the Cities, so almost all of the stations come in clear and sharp, a couple do pixelate from time to time (this is really not a high-gain antenna) but in fact, the other stations do seem sharper than when CABLE was connected!

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stayathomegrandpa
Hudson, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
An excellent product for local reception.
1/5/2013

Customer review by craftyoldie

5.0 stars 1/5/2013 by craftyoldie
by craftyoldie

I installed this to support a new HD television that I purchased for my mother. Her home is located 15 miles from four area stations and seven from another. I mounted it twelve feet up on the side of her house and she get great reception. We didn't even connect the signal amplifier that came with it.

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
craftyoldie
South Bend, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
over met my expectations
7/25/2014

Customer review by duncsr

5.0 stars 7/25/2014 by duncsr
by duncsr

Put in attic and it picket up 20 station. Added in line booster that came with amentia and then it picked up 25 more station for a total of 45 stations over met my expectations.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
duncsr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Didn't work
8/21/2013

Customer review by Holiga

1.0 stars 8/21/2013 by Holiga
by Holiga

Unfortunately this did not work at all for us. WalMArt took it as a return with no problem except we were out the $ shipping charge. Sure wish it did work! My brother in NH got one and it worked really well for him.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Holiga
Tolland MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/29/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 12/29/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

very good antenna very easy to assemble and hook up

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Longview, Tx.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great antenna. BUT !
9/28/2014

Customer review by SBTHOMP

4.0 stars 9/28/2014 by SBTHOMP
by SBTHOMP

TV reception is great. HD quality ! Nashville TV towers are about 60 miles away.The main channels come in fantastic. Like hd tv. Except ... Channel 4 and 8.They do not come in at all. This antenna is vhf and uhf . Channel 4 and 8 transmit in vhf. Thats my only gripe with this antenna. Channel 4 tech people said i would need an boom type antenna. I wish i had known that before hand. They recomend the Ant3036 or the ant751r. I thought i did my home work , but not. The ant800 says vhf and uhf . But will not pick out VHF. I give this a average grade just for that reason.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SBTHOMP
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Satisfied
1/16/2014

Customer review by DaddyRocksLouderThanYours

4.0 stars 1/16/2014 by DaddyRocksLouderThanYours
by DaddyRocksLouderThanYours

I am satisfied with this product. The material isn't the best but performance meets and exceeds my expectations. I wouldn't recommend mounting it outside the house because the elements will destroy in a short amount of time because it has a plastic casing. I mounted it in my attic, spliced and ran coaxial cable to both living rooms and receive 24 digital channels that are very clear.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DaddyRocksLouderThanYours
Redding, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good hd antenna
5/4/2014

Customer review by rolm

5.0 stars 5/4/2014 by rolm
by rolm

Worked better than expected. I was able to get 48 channels of clear tv.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rolm
NYC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best digital antenna ever. Very reasonable price!
4/28/2014

Customer review by GreenThumb10

5.0 stars 4/28/2014 by GreenThumb10
by GreenThumb10

Easy set-up, fantastic picture on all channels, receives more channels, Omni directional (no pointing antenna at transmitters). Small profile. Best digital antenna ever at a very reasonable price !

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GreenThumb10
Fort Worth, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy installation
11/9/2013

Customer review by michiganmaddog

4.0 stars 11/9/2013 by michiganmaddog
by michiganmaddog

The only problem I found was that I cannot get the antenna to lay flat, parallel to the ground. The adjustments are too large and the antenna points up a little or down a little. I don't know if this affects the signal strength that it receives. I also don't know if up a little or down a little would get better reception. Because the signal is free and the number of channels we get , it is worth every penny!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
michiganmaddog
Lansing, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Don't try next to tall trees
1/10/2015

Customer review by SGgobAck2cable

3.0 stars 1/10/2015 by SGgobAck2cable
by SGgobAck2cable

I mounted this about 20 ft high on our chimney facing all of the main broadcast stations. Says to go 30 ft on the website but I can't safely get that high. This works if the weather is calm & clear & if only on one tv and little or no surrounding trees. The included amp doesn't boost the signal enough to provide for multiple TVs. We have tall pines and sweet gums surrounding our home. We live right in the city limits. This product didn't work out for us so I returned mine.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SGgobAck2cable
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews