Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 19 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

19 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

19 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-18 of 18 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Good reel
6/26/2009

Customer review by kyfishslayer

5.0 stars 6/26/2009 by kyfishslayer
by kyfishslayer

I have been fishing for many years using spinning reels. I have been wanting to learn how to use a baitcaster for some time now, but didn't want to put much money into it untill I knew I could use them. This has been a perfect beginers reel. I have taken it on three fishing trips now and once you get the adjustments right you can cast a mile. I am sure there are better reels out there but if you are looking for a good one to learn on without breaking the bank consider this one. I already have one of the 9 ball bearing Pinnacles on order and look foward to trying it out.

Was this review helpful? (62) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kyfishslayer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
works great
4/4/2010

Customer review by RG731

4.0 stars 4/4/2010 by RG731
by RG731

This is one good reel. casting is very smooth IF SET RIGHT. I read on the reel 12LB - 120 YDS of mono or florocarbon. I spooled up 30LB braid on it and I got better casting distance and no back lashes on this reel. works better then my Abu Garcia reel. The only thing wrong is the package does not come with any instructions. For all you first timers remember it must be set to the lure your useing. So if your looking for a good baitcast reel this is the one.

Was this review helpful? (30) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RG731
Astoria NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
perfect reel for the money
9/21/2009

Customer review by snugglebug23

5.0 stars 9/21/2009 by snugglebug23
by snugglebug23

i have to say that i was reallly suprised that this reel for the money was as good as it is. i have several very expensive reels this i the first pinnacle reel for me. i give it an A+++.casts are super long no backlash.not even on the first cast.after 3 or 4 cast i had it fined tuned for cast without my thumb as a break.the magnets are super at preventing those unwanted tangles.if you know how to was a bait cast caster then you can not go wrong with this reel period.hands down the best reel for the money.i am getting three others for xmas gifts for my brothers and father.

Was this review helpful? (24) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
snugglebug23
new wash, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Top notch
3/25/2010

Customer review by Doggfish

5.0 stars 3/25/2010 by Doggfish
by Doggfish

I own two of these fine reels they work perfectly they throw extremely well and are slick as can be..Cannot believe a reel at this price works this darn good

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Doggfish
Louisville Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Ideal first baitcast reel.
7/15/2011

Customer review by AZbazzMan

5.0 stars 7/15/2011 by AZbazzMan
by AZbazzMan

Spooled up with good 50# braid AND SET UP CORRECTLY for your lure weight you will catch fish. That is, you will when you learn to present your lure with proper technique. I can say with certainty that largemouth bass don't know the difference between $40 and $400 reels. YOU may at some point if you stick with it. I fish with a couple Platinum Plus and a couple really slick (and pricey) baitcasters. They have one BIG thing in common. Set them up wrong (magnets and/or spool tension) and you will get over-run and "birdnests". And they are frustrating. Practice in the yard with a light "hookless" lure. Set the magnet dial to 6 or 7 and an extra 1/4 turn on the spool tension and begin making short casts. It will take TIME. And it's worth every single minute too. This is an inexpensive, light weight reel that casts and feels great. An ideal first baitcast reel.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AZbazzMan
Mesa, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Cant complain for the price
10/21/2011

Customer review by jmeti000

5.0 stars 10/21/2011 by jmeti000
by jmeti000

The reel works pretty darn good considering the price. Its a little noisy when Im slingin my gear halfway across the river (but its a pretty wide river and im really zingin it). Hasnt caused any issues though and if I make shorter casts there is no noise. Hardly any issues with backlash. One thing ive noticed is you need to check the drag every now and again because it has a tendancy to loosen up on you after a while. Overall its a great reel...Ive landed many 10-20 lb salmon and steelies with this little reel over the last year and it hasnt complained yet.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jmeti000
Vancouver, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Amazing reel!
8/28/2010

Customer review by KNFishing

5.0 stars 8/28/2010 by KNFishing
by KNFishing

I just bought this reel and I got to say, this is a good baitcaster for a beginner on a baitcaster. I put the brakes on 10 and after about 10 minutes I was already down to 0 with no magnetic brakes. Casts are accurate and far. Seriously by this reel and throw on a 7 dollar shakespeare rod and you're good to go. If you're scared of backlashes, trust me, everyone gets backlashes, just take a quick 10 seconds to pluck out the line and you're good to go.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KNFishing
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great value
5/20/2013

Customer review by fishdontfight

5.0 stars 5/20/2013 by fishdontfight
by fishdontfight

Bought this reel to replace a defective bait caster that cost me two fish. This reel is very smooth casting and more forgiving on back-lash than any of my (6) bait casters. This would be a great choice for a first time bait caster purchase. Sadly I haven't been able to check out the drag yet but everything else works smooth as silk.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fishdontfight
South Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
sweet deal
4/26/2011

Customer review by ranger05

5.0 stars 4/26/2011 by ranger05
by ranger05

This was my first baitcaster and cant beat the price. easy to learn on. i put 14 lbs mono on and works good, no birds nest, just some back lash. Caught five bass on my first day with it, i'm excited!

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ranger05
Oviedo Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent value
4/17/2011

Customer review by JTapp

5.0 stars 4/17/2011 by JTapp
by JTapp

as stated above, great beginner's reel and I am not a beginning baitcaster. Great straight out of the package, it swallowed an entire 125 yd spool of 10lb Spiderwire braid and cast well, even with smaller jigs than one might use with a bc reel. You can't go wrong with this one for under $40.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JTapp
IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Great reel
11/18/2011

Customer review by OrlandoGeek

5.0 stars 11/18/2011 by OrlandoGeek
by OrlandoGeek

I bought this reel after comparison-shopping a few models, and I cannot say I am disappointed. I'm no expert with a baitcast reel, and I still get very few backlashes. I'm very pleased with this product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OrlandoGeek
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
8/16/2011

Customer review by apach123

5.0 stars 8/16/2011 by apach123
by apach123

This reel once you get used to it is a great reel, However when you first get it you may experience a lot of backlash but keep workin at it and i can promise you you wont find a better reel for the money.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
apach123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
4/25/2012

Customer review by Mattw85

5.0 stars 4/25/2012 by Mattw85
by Mattw85

Had a couple weeks and caught a few fish never had a problem first bait caster ever in about 30 min had it down just use a fat weight and I've got better cast and using 30 pound test just cause I've got big fish around here just takes a little time to get it set to lure and weights ur using good reel for the money

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mattw85
georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
used once.Worked well
3/24/2014

Customer review by hippo57

4.0 stars 3/24/2014 by hippo57
by hippo57

Too cold to use fishing, but cast in the yard, no birds nest. Brake worked well. Used a 2 oz practice weight. Not sure how it will cast with lure alone, warmer weather will tell. Well built, Still have to see the quick removable side covers, but they look easier than my Diana bait caster

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hippo57
nh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great reel
2/1/2011

Customer review by Mentor46

5.0 stars 2/1/2011 by Mentor46
by Mentor46

Quiet and smooth reel, can't wait to fish

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mentor46
Rahway,NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Works Great
10/1/2011

Customer review by fishingblood

5.0 stars 10/1/2011 by fishingblood
by fishingblood

This reel is smooth casting and reeling. I't serves the needs I need.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fishingblood
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
bad
5/8/2014

Customer review by slayerofpoon

1.0 stars 5/8/2014 by slayerofpoon
by slayerofpoon

Bought this reel and it broke within a week. worst 45 bucks ive ever spent.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
slayerofpoon
Would recommend to a friend? No
one in a million?
4/22/2012

Customer review by RGTX

1.0 stars 4/22/2012 by RGTX
by RGTX

Bought the reel and in 5 minutes after I started using the reel casting lures, I pushed the release button and made a great cast and then the reel was completely locked up! The handle was not and could not be turned even though I had repushed the release and the spool turned freely. Just my luck. The reel was returned the next day and replaced. Not been out to try the replacement-hope to have better luck.

Was this review helpful? (1) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RGTX
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days