Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 17 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

17 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

17 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
14
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-17 of 17 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Good purchase
9/18/2010

Customer review by jljeeper

5.0 stars 9/18/2010 by jljeeper
by jljeeper

Easy to extend a wired network to a remote area of your home. Very fast speeds and great reach with N

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jljeeper
Spanaway,WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product - works great, easy setup
1/9/2012

Customer review by roguegrunt

5.0 stars 1/9/2012 by roguegrunt
by roguegrunt

this was a great addition to my existing wireless router. My existing wireless router could not cover my entire house and this AP help fill in the gap. I can now work from any where in the house with full wireless singal. this was very easy to setup. I just connected to my existing Ethernet switch and used my iphone to complete the configuration in 10 minutes it was up and running configured to match the existing wireless security configuration. setting up the SSID and security key to match made it easy to add additional wireless devices. I had it for two months now with no issues, this works great.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
roguegrunt
Alhambra, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worked great as a wireless access point
1/5/2012

Customer review by ksmart

5.0 stars 1/5/2012 by ksmart
by ksmart

I purchased this so I could use all of the applications of my Samsung blu-ray player without having to purchase their specific wireless lan adapter, which was more expensive and wouldn't be useful for anything else. This was easy to set up with my wireless home network settings and then I just plugged in my blu-ray player that's located in a separate room, let it know about the new connection, and presto! instant internet access! I have been very pleased with its performance too. I would definitely recommend this option to others.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ksmart
Midlothian, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Read the instructions
1/20/2012

Customer review by RhinoXX

5.0 stars 1/20/2012 by RhinoXX
by RhinoXX

If I had carefully read the instructions I could have saved myself some headache time. This is the first product I have used where you need to assign a static ip address to your computer to set it up. Once I assigned an ip to my computer it was a breeze. Connection speed is great and it so far has zero problems and a fast link up to the main router after power down regardless of the order I power items on. You can beat the initial price by a couple bucks but not once you add in "shipping costs". I was willing to wait a while longer to go through Wal-mart but was surprised by how quickly it got here to the local store, no kidding.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RhinoXX
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
wireless access point
8/17/2011

Customer review by florida12

5.0 stars 8/17/2011 by florida12
by florida12

works great, we have an existing wired network and we added wi-fi and have both networks active simultaneously with no conflicts. very easy to install, good signal strength through several walls.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
florida12
florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Does what it claims.
4/21/2013

Customer review by IAmRyan25

5.0 stars 4/21/2013 by IAmRyan25
by IAmRyan25

First off, I bought this DAP largely based on positive reviews and that it was a manufacturer match for my DIR-655 router. That said, I may have a better sitution than other people using a different brand of router. Networking can be finicky at best. I was not interested in Powerline because I had too many devices to connect at one singular point and this will allow me to span a larger domicile and broadcast a larger Wifi signal as the DAP also acts as a wireless repeater. Its fairly compact and innocuous, the lights are bright, but what electronics these days don't have them as a "feature"? Here's my one potential knock. I have experienced some network drops from the primary signal off of the router. I do not know if this is due to the DAP, the multiple new devices connected, or some settings that I tweaked. That said, I have experienced drop-outs with this router before, its easily fixable. I plan to fix it tomorrow or the next and will update my review accordingly. All-in-all this is a solid buy. It is versatile networking device that pretty much allows you any way to extend your wired or wireless network across your home. If you need ethernet in every room though, you may as well go Powerline.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IAmRyan25
Hillsboro, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
More expensive, but worth it
8/31/2011

Customer review by dbinbama

5.0 stars 8/31/2011 by dbinbama
by dbinbama

This is the third wireless access point I've had to buy within a year. The first one was damaged in a power surge. Needing a replacement, I saw an Edimax WAP advertised on line (not through WalMart); it was for sale at an extremely low price I couldn't turn down, so I bought it and installed it. Worked great to start with, but then our Wi-fi signal started dropping. I'd cycle power to the Edimax and everything started working again. The same thing would happen a couple of days later. This turned into a repeating pattern of having to go in and cycle power on the Edimax, sometimes three times a week (translated: major pain). I finally had enough and saw D-Link's WAP/Bridge advertised on WalMart's website. Quite a bit more expensive than the Edimax, but I went ahead and ordered it. Could not get the D-Link to work based on the setup instructions that came in box; had to resort to forums on line and found tips I'd never have seen otherwise (you have to set the IP address of the PC you're direct connecting the WAP to, to a specific IP or it's not gonna fly!). Followed the tips and viola, the D-Link started working perfectly. It has only been two or three weeks now, but the D-Link has worked flawlessly so far. Bottom line: Save the hassle, get the good stuff. I've learned my lesson.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dbinbama
Birmingham, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/15/2012

Customer review by dpfsr

5.0 stars 2/15/2012 by dpfsr
by dpfsr

Works great

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dpfsr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product
10/18/2011

Customer review by justme2009

5.0 stars 10/18/2011 by justme2009
by justme2009

This is a wonderful product, easy to install.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
justme2009
Washington, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
10/11/2011

Customer review by Ray1

5.0 stars 10/11/2011 by Ray1
by Ray1

this is my second one of these to extend the range of my wireless network. I use them as wireless access points, but they also function well as wireless bridges. Good product and trouble free once they are set up.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ray1
georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Exceptional for price
2/27/2013

Customer review by GloRo

5.0 stars 2/27/2013 by GloRo
by GloRo

Great product; works well as bridge to boost internet connection. Fabulous customer technological support from D-Link

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GloRo
Ann Arbor
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Job WalMart
1/4/2013

Customer review by jjquat

5.0 stars 1/4/2013 by jjquat
by jjquat

Arrived extremely fast, before expected, and worked as expected. Thanks

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jjquat
Roseville, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy setup
8/2/2014

Customer review by QuasiNerd

5.0 stars 8/2/2014 by QuasiNerd
by QuasiNerd

I bought this to use as a wireless bridge between my security system dvr and wireless router. AFter updating the firmware, which was easy, I had some problem getting everything to work together. It was mostly my security system dvr that was the problem. Once I got that figured out, everything worked fine. I am not using the 5 Ghz. band. 2.4 Ghz. works fine for me. It seems like a fine product. I don't have any other experience with other wireless routers, bridges other than the westell versa link 327 for my broadband dsl service.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
QuasiNerd
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great WiFi Bridge
8/20/2014

Customer review by Pal1111

5.0 stars 8/20/2014 by Pal1111
by Pal1111

Used as a wireless bridge between offices. Easy to set up and works great!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from D-Link Support - 8/28/2014

We thank you for your feedback and we appreciate your business. We thank you for being a D-Link customer.

Pal1111
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Way to Extend a Wireless Network
9/6/2011

Customer review by ShoestringWebs

4.0 stars 9/6/2011 by ShoestringWebs
by ShoestringWebs

This device is great for extending a wireless network to additional wired devices. I am using two of these to connect TiVos to the network wirelessly, as an alternative to the more costly TiVo adapters. I can also connect a nearby Wii or PC via a cable rather than use another less reliable wireless adapter. My only complaint is that wireless bridges / access points are always a pain to set up. This device supports automatic network configuration with a compatible router, but manual configuration is not for the faint of heart.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShoestringWebs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Device!
8/8/2013

Customer review by Partinico

4.0 stars 8/8/2013 by Partinico
by Partinico

Replaced a slow and erratically behaving Netgear Access Point. Once this was set up it ran perfectly and has not rebooted mysteriously, nor has it stopped running without explanation. Very much a work horse...does what it's supposed to do without the need for attention. I'm a hard marker which is why it can't get a 5 rating from me.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Partinico
Chatham, New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
short range
8/18/2014

Customer review by JOAT2

1.0 stars 8/18/2014 by JOAT2
by JOAT2

did not extend wifi as advertised

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from D-Link Support - 8/20/2014

We want to thank you for the feedback as we appreciate the input and we are sorry to hear that you are encountering issues with the product. D-Link advises that you download and install the latest firmware from www.support.dlink.com. In addition, for best results, you want to put the DAP-1522 within equal distance between your device and router. If this does not resolve your problem feel free to contact us for assistance by calling 1-877-453-5465. Thank you for choosing D-Link.

JOAT2
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.