Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 417 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

417 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

417 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
306
4 stars
83
3 stars
13
2 stars
3
1 stars
12
1-20 of 362 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 362 total reviews
1-20 of 362 reviews
Easy to use
5/21/2013

Customer review by Pkim

5.0 stars 5/21/2013 by Pkim
by Pkim
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I like this dehydrator. It's fits about 3-4 lbs of beef jerky. The only thing is that it doesn't have a timer to turn off. So most likely would make it overnight.. But the price is great..

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pkim
Long beach, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wonderful machine - Highly recommended
9/13/2014

Customer review by Canuc2009

5.0 stars 9/13/2014 by Canuc2009
by Canuc2009
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've been using a 30 year-old old, "as seen on TV", convection type dehydrator regularly for Jerky and dog treat making. The trays had become brittle and were cracking; it took a long time to dehydrate and it was a pain to clean. Time for retirement. I researched thoroughly for a replacement and was constantly pointed to the Nesco FD-80. I couldn't be more pleased ... very sturdy construction; top down heater (adjustable up to 160F) with a remarkably quiet fan; very easy to clean and it holds a lot more on 4 trays than round units hold on 6 trays. It will take an additional 4 trays - purchased separately. Because of the fan and higher heat, it dehydrates everything much more rapidly with no need to "rotate" the trays every couple oh hours. Compared to other dehydrators out there, the Nesco gives fantastic value for $$$. As always, great price and excellent service from Walmart. Walmart was $40 less than virtually all other sites ... including the manufacturer's site.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Canuc2009
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The Best Jerky Ever!
5/22/2011

Customer review by Annie53

5.0 stars 5/22/2011 by Annie53
by Annie53
Top 500 contributor

My daughter has been making Jerky 4 like 15yrs. w/ this Nesco Brand, only difference is her's is the round 1..! This was my 1st time making Jerky and i must say it was fabulous every time i made it! I thought I would buy this 1 sense u can put more Jerky on it, and also makes it alot faster then my daughters which takes 8 hrs.! I made my own marinade and used 5 lbs. of Lean London Broil and had the Butcher slice it 4 me free and it was exactly enough 2 fill all 4 trays plus 2 more after this and only took approximatley 5 hrs. and I never had 2 rotate it as my daughter does her round one, this 1 dehydrates very even and I got 2 full quart size bags, also it cleans very easily and is Dish Washer safe! Received in like 3 days 2 my door Ty Walmart! If u like Jerky w/ out the high store prices and only get but a few pieces in a bag, then u won't be disappointed in this product this will more then pay 4 itself 4 all us Jerky lovers!

Was this review helpful? (30) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Annie53
Williamsport, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Top 500 contributor
Don't buy this for drying herbs!
8/23/2013

Customer review by Herbgrower

2.0 stars 8/23/2013 by Herbgrower
by Herbgrower
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had a hard plastic dehydrator from the 1970s. It fell and broke so I needed a new one. I primarily dry herbs. Not finding any locally, I looked online and was delighted to see the Nesco at 4+ stars available from WalMart. The majority of reviews raved about jerky. I figured it must work for everything. First I did fresh figs - took twice as long as they said, but good results. Next I tried basil, as I'd be doing herbs the most. Preparation of the leaves was a lot fussier than my old dehydrator, but I followed directions and set at 95 degrees F. It said 24 hours (much longer than I was accustomed to, but the temp was lower). After 24 hours, my basil was merely wilted, as if I'd left it out on the counter. I flipped the order of the trays (you're not supposed to have to) and raised the temp 40 degrees. Another 24 hours, only half the lot was dried. I picked off the driest and let it go another 12 hours. That's 60 hours. And I STILL had to finish it off in my oven to get it crisp enough to jar. I returned the Nesco unit to the store, which at least was convenient.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Herbgrower
Marion, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Exceptional Product!!
11/3/2013

Customer review by Jpal11

5.0 stars 11/3/2013 by Jpal11
by Jpal11
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've had a 2 round Nesco dehydrators for many years, one with a thermostat and one without. The description of this square model wasn't joking when it said this model holds 40% more than a round one. I had my local meat market slice a 4 lb. bottom end round roast (very lean & perfect for jerky). I marinated it overnight in the fridge and put it on at 10am the next morning. I'm used to my old round ones taking 12 to 14 hours. But after reading other reviews about how fast this one is, I decided to time it closely. By 3pm it was finished! Five hours instead of 12! WOW! I'm not easily impressed. This dehydrator impressed me. It is WELL worth the price and if you like making your own jerky or drying fruit or whatever you can use it for, you will love this machine! I think you'll be impressed, too.

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jpal11
Swainsboro, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great deal
11/8/2009

Customer review by BigDaddy1591

5.0 stars 11/8/2009 by BigDaddy1591
by BigDaddy1591

This thing works like a charm. Runs quiet, very easy to clean if you soak trays first in hot soapy water for a minute, and holds a lot. Like others have said wish it had off/on switch. So what I did I went to Hardware department in Wal-Mart, Lamp Switch Isle, got inline cord switch and instahled. Works great and now I have a on/off switch. Hope this helps. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? (175) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigDaddy1591
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Amazed
3/2/2010

Customer review by RenoCoastie

5.0 stars 3/2/2010 by RenoCoastie
by RenoCoastie

I make jerky and dried goods for Sons in the US Military that are deployied. 6lbs at a time. So I have a 60s style Dehydrator and it would only hold 3-4 lbs and take 24 hrs. I was AMAZED that I fit 6 lb.s of meat on just 4 trays. At first I thought "Oh No gonna need more trays". Well I just could'nt believe it. Also very quiet operating. One of the best things, it says on the box, "Made in USA". Great recipes and great info manual. Cant beat the price.

Was this review helpful? (91) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RenoCoastie
Sparks, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wow great beef jerky
6/7/2009

Customer review by mylovefortechnology

5.0 stars 6/7/2009 by mylovefortechnology
by mylovefortechnology

By far this is the best dehydrator, I have purchased.The unit has an adjustable thermostat so you can dry other foods and not turn them to powder or have them be too crispy.I have dehydrated steak,ground beef,chicken, and turkey and all took no more than 24 hours. This is the machine if you are tired of rotating your meat,and waiting for 2 -3 days.I am going to dry some fruit,this is great it has a setting for fruits too.Thanks Nesco

Was this review helpful? (266) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mylovefortechnology
san diego ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Glad I waited
1/29/2010

Customer review by Terrierdogmom

5.0 stars 1/29/2010 by Terrierdogmom
by Terrierdogmom

I was going to order this for my husband at Christmas but it sold out before I could place my order. I looked around on the internet and found several places that had this dehydrator for a lot more money. I decided to wait and see if it came back in stock and when it did ordered for my husband's birthday. It's great - we have two of the older style (round) ones and they are hard to clean, hard to store, slow, and a lot of work moving the trays around. This dehyrator is fast and easy, you don't have to move the trays around to get even drying, it fits in on the counter and looks nice. Made our first batch of jerky in about 4 or 5 hours not around 12 hours like our older ones. FYI - my husband has a meat slicer and cover the meat about the thickness of bacon.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Terrierdogmom
Morristown, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
4/20/2010

Customer review by whiskeyfire

5.0 stars 4/20/2010 by whiskeyfire
by whiskeyfire

This dehydrator is great. I can make three pounds of beef jerkey using lean ground beef and the nesco jerky gun in about 4 1/2 to 5 hours. I used the Nesco mix that came with the dehydrator and with the jerkey gun, it turned out amazing. Everybody that as tried it has loved it with the exception of my 9 year old when I slipped him a piece of the hot and spicey. But he loves the original recipe jerky. I tried to dry bananas but I failed, they came out brown and mushy, then I tried again. I soaked them in lemon juice for 5 minutes then dried them for 14 hours and they turned out nice and crispy with lots of flavor. Strawberries and Pineapple are very tasty also. I highly reccomend this dehydrator... especially for the price. It produced very even drying and I had all 4 trays full.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
whiskeyfire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Overall good - lacking features
10/4/2010

Customer review by Xerocool

4.0 stars 10/4/2010 by Xerocool
by Xerocool

Overall I am happy with the purchase of this product. It has most of the standard features you would expect. It's very spacious and its square design makes it perfect for arranging jerky. It also has a good drying capacity. The only complaints I have are lacks of convenience. There is no on/off switch, which means you must disconnect the unit from the wall to turn it off. This isn't a big deal, but it can be a bit annoying at times. Also, there are no mesh overlays for the trays. If you are dehydrating small objects, you'll be picking them up off the bottom of the dehydrator. I used a piece of window screening to make my own mesh overlay which seems to work fine.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Xerocool
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great Product
9/3/2009

Customer review by smuggly

5.0 stars 9/3/2009 by smuggly
by smuggly

We Only Make Jerky But Weve Had 3 Different Ones Now.This Is By Far The Best.It Makes Jerky Excellent And Easy Cleanup & Its Fast.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
smuggly
Reno Nv.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Product at Great Price. Works like a trooper
10/31/2013

Customer review by madgardening

5.0 stars 10/31/2013 by madgardening
by madgardening

This is a basic, very easy to use machine. I have been using mine for a second season. I use it year round for banana chips, apple chips and anytime I can get a good deal in bulk. In the mid summer to fall I use it just about weekly dehydrating from my garden. With a lot of use it performs like new. This unit can use up to 8 trays and will do a lot of food in short order when fully loaded. I have absolutely nothing negative I could say about the Nesco American Harvest (Square) Easy and hard working. Durable and an easy to store shape for when not in use. Highest recommendation.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
madgardening
Hillsborough NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent!
8/31/2009

Customer review by boyscoutmomof2

5.0 stars 8/31/2009 by boyscoutmomof2
by boyscoutmomof2

I've been using this dehydrator for a couple of weeks now. We've made jerky - takes 4-6 hours to dry and 1-2 days to eat.... can't keep it in the house, my family is eating it faster than I can dry it! I like the shape, seems you can put a lot more on the trays than with a round one. Having a little trouble finding additional trays, but I believe this is a new model so I'm sure they'll be out soon. I can't comment on durability as I've only had it a couple of weeks, but it seems very well made. It's exceptionally quiet, only about as much noise as a box fan on low.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
boyscoutmomof2
Swansea IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
It does a great job.
10/13/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/13/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We have had it a little over a week or so and have be using it every day for about 20 hours a day to process our apples and it has been working great. we bought two extra trays so there is 6 trays in it each time and no rotating of the tray is needed. It takes about 10 hours to do 6 trays of apples. We really like it much better than our old RONCO one we had. Can't speak on durability for we have only had it a liitle over a week, but I think it will keep working fine over the long run.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Victor, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Speedy
6/8/2009

Customer review by Goatmomma

5.0 stars 6/8/2009 by Goatmomma
by Goatmomma

We had an older model dehydrator that bit the dust recently and went looking for another. This met our criteria...low price....adjustable temperature. In our old one, apples would take over a day to do. In this one, 3-5 hours. This gives us the opportunity to do more.

Was this review helpful? (32) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Goatmomma
Hastings, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
jerky maker
1/9/2016

Customer review by Brooklyn

5.0 stars 1/9/2016 by Brooklyn
by Brooklyn

so much quieter than my old one and the square tray's allow for so much more space

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brooklyn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Ever!
6/6/2009

Customer review by Kryslm

5.0 stars 6/6/2009 by Kryslm
by Kryslm

Purchased a Ronco Dehydrator and it stood up well, over 10 years of jerky making. Took 12+ hours and had to rotate trays and remove metal heating element to clean bottom rack. WITH THIS DEHYDRATOR THERE IS NO TRAY ROTATING, 2LBS OF BEEF DONE IN 4 OR LESS HOURS AND CLEAN UP IS A BREEZE!! The motor being on the top is great because it never comes in contact with the items on the trays. Would recommend an on/off switch though!!

Was this review helpful? (120) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kryslm
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Unbelievable!
5/16/2010

Customer review by GadgetGirl64

5.0 stars 5/16/2010 by GadgetGirl64
by GadgetGirl64

Space: Before purchasing I read the reviews about how much more space this square dehydrator offered compared to round ones. When I got mine home and opened the box, I just couldn't see that it would offer any additional space. It didn't look any larger. Boy was I wrong! I was able to get my whole batch of beef jerky in to dry when on my old one I couldn't and it had more trays. I know this because my old one quit working only a few hours into the process so I had to get this one to finish the job. Speed: Old one took about 3 days for a whole batch of jerky. This one, 11 hours! Could have been faster than that but I didn't check it. I was stunned. I initially got this only to make jerky, but since it's so fast I am considering drying fruit too. I tried drying fruit on my old one but it took forever. I think this one is so fast that it'll make it worth the effort. Noise: It hardly make any noise. This thing is so quiet, I know on future batches I'll forget that it's running because it so hard to hear. My hubby walked right by this one while it was running and didn't even hear it. If he had heard it I know he would've raided it! On/Off Switch: I know others have said it would be nice to have a switch, and I agree. However, a switch can break so with no switch that means there's one less thing to go wrong. So looking on the positive side, I don't mind at all. Site-to-Store: My first time using this. It was great. Would definitely use it again if necessary.

Was this review helpful? (58) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GadgetGirl64
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
2 unit is still working
12/29/2015

Customer review by Benn

3.0 stars 12/29/2015 by Benn
by Benn

Worked great for 6 weeks then fan motor stopped working . Returned to Wal Mart & was replaced with new one , however had to pay difference in price. Wal Mart's customer service on warranties @ and returns is outstanding. Jury is still out on 2nd dehydrator , is working now , but would recommend buying extended warranty for 6 dollars.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Benn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 362 total reviews
1-20 of 362 reviews