Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 449 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

449 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

449 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
327
4 stars
91
3 stars
13
2 stars
3
1 stars
15
1-20 of 394 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 394 total reviews
1-20 of 394 reviews
Dehydrator
11/21/2016

Customer review by Denise

5.0 stars 11/21/2016 by Denise
by Denise
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased the dehydrator for a gift for my daughter. She loves it.

Denise
undisclosed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Happy Farmer Gal
9/8/2016

Customer review by Vicki

5.0 stars 9/8/2016 by Vicki
by Vicki
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am very happy with this food dehydrator. I've dried tomatoes and squash in it to preserve them for use this winter. The machine dried them quickly and thoroughly even when it was jam packed with Roma tomatoes.

Vicki
Akron, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to use
5/21/2013

Customer review by Pkim

5.0 stars 5/21/2013 by Pkim
by Pkim
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I like this dehydrator. It's fits about 3-4 lbs of beef jerky. The only thing is that it doesn't have a timer to turn off. So most likely would make it overnight.. But the price is great..

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pkim
Long beach, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wonderful machine - Highly recommended
9/13/2014

Customer review by Canuc2009

5.0 stars 9/13/2014 by Canuc2009
by Canuc2009
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've been using a 30 year-old old, "as seen on TV", convection type dehydrator regularly for Jerky and dog treat making. The trays had become brittle and were cracking; it took a long time to dehydrate and it was a pain to clean. Time for retirement. I researched thoroughly for a replacement and was constantly pointed to the Nesco FD-80. I couldn't be more pleased ... very sturdy construction; top down heater (adjustable up to 160F) with a remarkably quiet fan; very easy to clean and it holds a lot more on 4 trays than round units hold on 6 trays. It will take an additional 4 trays - purchased separately. Because of the fan and higher heat, it dehydrates everything much more rapidly with no need to "rotate" the trays every couple oh hours. Compared to other dehydrators out there, the Nesco gives fantastic value for $$$. As always, great price and excellent service from Walmart. Walmart was $40 less than virtually all other sites ... including the manufacturer's site.

Was this review helpful? (34) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Canuc2009
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The Best Jerky Ever!
5/22/2011

Customer review by Annie53

5.0 stars 5/22/2011 by Annie53
by Annie53
Top 1000 contributor

My daughter has been making Jerky 4 like 15yrs. w/ this Nesco Brand, only difference is her's is the round 1..! This was my 1st time making Jerky and i must say it was fabulous every time i made it! I thought I would buy this 1 sense u can put more Jerky on it, and also makes it alot faster then my daughters which takes 8 hrs.! I made my own marinade and used 5 lbs. of Lean London Broil and had the Butcher slice it 4 me free and it was exactly enough 2 fill all 4 trays plus 2 more after this and only took approximatley 5 hrs. and I never had 2 rotate it as my daughter does her round one, this 1 dehydrates very even and I got 2 full quart size bags, also it cleans very easily and is Dish Washer safe! Received in like 3 days 2 my door Ty Walmart! If u like Jerky w/ out the high store prices and only get but a few pieces in a bag, then u won't be disappointed in this product this will more then pay 4 itself 4 all us Jerky lovers!

Was this review helpful? (48) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Annie53
Williamsport, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Top 1000 contributor
Don't buy this for drying herbs!
8/23/2013

Customer review by Herbgrower

2.0 stars 8/23/2013 by Herbgrower
by Herbgrower
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had a hard plastic dehydrator from the 1970s. It fell and broke so I needed a new one. I primarily dry herbs. Not finding any locally, I looked online and was delighted to see the Nesco at 4+ stars available from WalMart. The majority of reviews raved about jerky. I figured it must work for everything. First I did fresh figs - took twice as long as they said, but good results. Next I tried basil, as I'd be doing herbs the most. Preparation of the leaves was a lot fussier than my old dehydrator, but I followed directions and set at 95 degrees F. It said 24 hours (much longer than I was accustomed to, but the temp was lower). After 24 hours, my basil was merely wilted, as if I'd left it out on the counter. I flipped the order of the trays (you're not supposed to have to) and raised the temp 40 degrees. Another 24 hours, only half the lot was dried. I picked off the driest and let it go another 12 hours. That's 60 hours. And I STILL had to finish it off in my oven to get it crisp enough to jar. I returned the Nesco unit to the store, which at least was convenient.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Herbgrower
Marion, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Exceptional Product!!
11/3/2013

Customer review by Jpal11

5.0 stars 11/3/2013 by Jpal11
by Jpal11
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've had a 2 round Nesco dehydrators for many years, one with a thermostat and one without. The description of this square model wasn't joking when it said this model holds 40% more than a round one. I had my local meat market slice a 4 lb. bottom end round roast (very lean & perfect for jerky). I marinated it overnight in the fridge and put it on at 10am the next morning. I'm used to my old round ones taking 12 to 14 hours. But after reading other reviews about how fast this one is, I decided to time it closely. By 3pm it was finished! Five hours instead of 12! WOW! I'm not easily impressed. This dehydrator impressed me. It is WELL worth the price and if you like making your own jerky or drying fruit or whatever you can use it for, you will love this machine! I think you'll be impressed, too.

Was this review helpful? (46) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jpal11
Swainsboro, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great item
2/27/2017

Customer review by Jerr

5.0 stars 2/27/2017 by Jerr
by Jerr
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It did what it was advertised. I would highly recommend this item

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jerr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Glad I waited
1/29/2010

Customer review by Terrierdogmom

5.0 stars 1/29/2010 by Terrierdogmom
by Terrierdogmom

I was going to order this for my husband at Christmas but it sold out before I could place my order. I looked around on the internet and found several places that had this dehydrator for a lot more money. I decided to wait and see if it came back in stock and when it did ordered for my husband's birthday. It's great - we have two of the older style (round) ones and they are hard to clean, hard to store, slow, and a lot of work moving the trays around. This dehyrator is fast and easy, you don't have to move the trays around to get even drying, it fits in on the counter and looks nice. Made our first batch of jerky in about 4 or 5 hours not around 12 hours like our older ones. FYI - my husband has a meat slicer and cover the meat about the thickness of bacon.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Terrierdogmom
Morristown, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Nesco Food Dehydrator
9/26/2010

Customer review by Feydd

4.0 stars 9/26/2010 by Feydd
by Feydd

I don't really mind that there's not an off and on switch but a timer would be nice...and a loud "ding" when done...or time to check the items. I've used it once making beef jerky. We have a deli-styled meat slicer and sliced the roast paper thin, it took only about 2 and a half hours to dry it, still there was a little bit of grease from the marble fat but not much. It was a 2.5 lb. roast that gave us 1.85 lbs. of jerkey, a huge amount. This roast was only 7.50 dollars. It was well worth it. I did get a fruit roll up insert but then it spoke of needing some special clean screens. I didn't get them, and didn't realize I would need them. I was disappointed that I couldn't dry fruits and veggies yet without those screens because I have to cut the pieces very small for me to chew them. I'm going to try some cheese cloth. Only used it once, but it was easy to clean and was fun and worked fabulously! I love this and would very much recommend it for the price.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Feydd
florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Works very well
1/19/2017

Customer review by Cowboysdude

5.0 stars 1/19/2017 by Cowboysdude
by Cowboysdude
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was amazed by well this worked!! Made beef jerky in just under 4 hours.. It came out great!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cowboysdude
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GREAT dehydrator!
11/3/2016

Customer review by cabinheat

5.0 stars 11/3/2016 by cabinheat
by cabinheat

The last one I had took 10 hrs. This one is 750 watts and has a blower so it worked awesome! Made 2lbs of deer jerky in it for the first time so I did not know how long to expect. It was done in 4 1/2 hrs (ground meat). I used the thinner tip on the jerky maker but I think the thicker tip would still be done in 5. Does not have a timer shutoff but that could be fixed by plugging into a $5 appliance timer if wanted. I'm going to order 2 more trays so I can make more each time. The square shape is the only way to go. Fits better.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cabinheat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazed
3/2/2010

Customer review by RenoCoastie

5.0 stars 3/2/2010 by RenoCoastie
by RenoCoastie

I make jerky and dried goods for Sons in the US Military that are deployied. 6lbs at a time. So I have a 60s style Dehydrator and it would only hold 3-4 lbs and take 24 hrs. I was AMAZED that I fit 6 lb.s of meat on just 4 trays. At first I thought "Oh No gonna need more trays". Well I just could'nt believe it. Also very quiet operating. One of the best things, it says on the box, "Made in USA". Great recipes and great info manual. Cant beat the price.

Was this review helpful? (106) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RenoCoastie
Sparks, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great deal
11/8/2009

Customer review by BigDaddy1591

5.0 stars 11/8/2009 by BigDaddy1591
by BigDaddy1591

This thing works like a charm. Runs quiet, very easy to clean if you soak trays first in hot soapy water for a minute, and holds a lot. Like others have said wish it had off/on switch. So what I did I went to Hardware department in Wal-Mart, Lamp Switch Isle, got inline cord switch and instahled. Works great and now I have a on/off switch. Hope this helps. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? (193) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigDaddy1591
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Wow great beef jerky
6/7/2009

Customer review by mylovefortechnology

5.0 stars 6/7/2009 by mylovefortechnology
by mylovefortechnology

By far this is the best dehydrator, I have purchased.The unit has an adjustable thermostat so you can dry other foods and not turn them to powder or have them be too crispy.I have dehydrated steak,ground beef,chicken, and turkey and all took no more than 24 hours. This is the machine if you are tired of rotating your meat,and waiting for 2 -3 days.I am going to dry some fruit,this is great it has a setting for fruits too.Thanks Nesco

Was this review helpful? (275) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mylovefortechnology
san diego ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Jerkey maker.
2/17/2017

Customer review by Ivy57

4.0 stars 2/17/2017 by Ivy57
by Ivy57
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

That it had to be unplugged to turn it off to check meat being dried.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ivy57
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Overall good - lacking features
10/4/2010

Customer review by Xerocool

4.0 stars 10/4/2010 by Xerocool
by Xerocool

Overall I am happy with the purchase of this product. It has most of the standard features you would expect. It's very spacious and its square design makes it perfect for arranging jerky. It also has a good drying capacity. The only complaints I have are lacks of convenience. There is no on/off switch, which means you must disconnect the unit from the wall to turn it off. This isn't a big deal, but it can be a bit annoying at times. Also, there are no mesh overlays for the trays. If you are dehydrating small objects, you'll be picking them up off the bottom of the dehydrator. I used a piece of window screening to make my own mesh overlay which seems to work fine.

Was this review helpful? (24) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Xerocool
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Bought to make jerky
12/31/2016

Customer review by Charlie

5.0 stars 12/31/2016 by Charlie
by Charlie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I received this as a Christmas gift. I have only used it once so far, but it worked great. The jerky was just like store bought. It was as fast as they advertise.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Charlie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent!
8/31/2009

Customer review by boyscoutmomof2

5.0 stars 8/31/2009 by boyscoutmomof2
by boyscoutmomof2

I've been using this dehydrator for a couple of weeks now. We've made jerky - takes 4-6 hours to dry and 1-2 days to eat.... can't keep it in the house, my family is eating it faster than I can dry it! I like the shape, seems you can put a lot more on the trays than with a round one. Having a little trouble finding additional trays, but I believe this is a new model so I'm sure they'll be out soon. I can't comment on durability as I've only had it a couple of weeks, but it seems very well made. It's exceptionally quiet, only about as much noise as a box fan on low.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
boyscoutmomof2
Swansea IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
It does a great job.
10/13/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/13/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We have had it a little over a week or so and have be using it every day for about 20 hours a day to process our apples and it has been working great. we bought two extra trays so there is 6 trays in it each time and no rotating of the tray is needed. It takes about 10 hours to do 6 trays of apples. We really like it much better than our old RONCO one we had. Can't speak on durability for we have only had it a liitle over a week, but I think it will keep working fine over the long run.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Victor, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 394 total reviews
1-20 of 394 reviews