Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 410 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

410 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

410 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
304
4 stars
82
3 stars
12
2 stars
3
1 stars
9
1-20 of 355 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 355 total reviews
1-20 of 355 reviews
Wow great beef jerky
6/7/2009

Customer review by mylovefortechnology

5.0 stars 6/7/2009 by mylovefortechnology
by mylovefortechnology

By far this is the best dehydrator, I have purchased.The unit has an adjustable thermostat so you can dry other foods and not turn them to powder or have them be too crispy.I have dehydrated steak,ground beef,chicken, and turkey and all took no more than 24 hours. This is the machine if you are tired of rotating your meat,and waiting for 2 -3 days.I am going to dry some fruit,this is great it has a setting for fruits too.Thanks Nesco

Was this review helpful? (246) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mylovefortechnology
san diego ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
great deal
11/8/2009

Customer review by BigDaddy1591

5.0 stars 11/8/2009 by BigDaddy1591
by BigDaddy1591

This thing works like a charm. Runs quiet, very easy to clean if you soak trays first in hot soapy water for a minute, and holds a lot. Like others have said wish it had off/on switch. So what I did I went to Hardware department in Wal-Mart, Lamp Switch Isle, got inline cord switch and instahled. Works great and now I have a on/off switch. Hope this helps. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? (157) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigDaddy1591
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Amazed
3/2/2010

Customer review by RenoCoastie

5.0 stars 3/2/2010 by RenoCoastie
by RenoCoastie

I make jerky and dried goods for Sons in the US Military that are deployied. 6lbs at a time. So I have a 60s style Dehydrator and it would only hold 3-4 lbs and take 24 hrs. I was AMAZED that I fit 6 lb.s of meat on just 4 trays. At first I thought "Oh No gonna need more trays". Well I just could'nt believe it. Also very quiet operating. One of the best things, it says on the box, "Made in USA". Great recipes and great info manual. Cant beat the price.

Was this review helpful? (64) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RenoCoastie
Sparks, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best Ever!
6/6/2009

Customer review by Kryslm

5.0 stars 6/6/2009 by Kryslm
by Kryslm

Purchased a Ronco Dehydrator and it stood up well, over 10 years of jerky making. Took 12+ hours and had to rotate trays and remove metal heating element to clean bottom rack. WITH THIS DEHYDRATOR THERE IS NO TRAY ROTATING, 2LBS OF BEEF DONE IN 4 OR LESS HOURS AND CLEAN UP IS A BREEZE!! The motor being on the top is great because it never comes in contact with the items on the trays. Would recommend an on/off switch though!!

Was this review helpful? (106) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kryslm
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Wonderful Dehydrator
6/15/2009

Customer review by ckedd

5.0 stars 6/15/2009 by ckedd
by ckedd

I've only had this for a few weeks, but its been great. It cooks a lot faster than my previous dehydrator and the square shape allows for more on each tray. So far it can cook fruit leather in about 8 -12 hrs depending on how many trays at a time. Love the variable temperatures! Cons: wish it had an on/off switch. Only way to turn it off is to unplug it. Otherwise its great!

Was this review helpful? (80) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ckedd
sandy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Unbelievable!
5/16/2010

Customer review by GadgetGirl64

5.0 stars 5/16/2010 by GadgetGirl64
by GadgetGirl64

Space: Before purchasing I read the reviews about how much more space this square dehydrator offered compared to round ones. When I got mine home and opened the box, I just couldn't see that it would offer any additional space. It didn't look any larger. Boy was I wrong! I was able to get my whole batch of beef jerky in to dry when on my old one I couldn't and it had more trays. I know this because my old one quit working only a few hours into the process so I had to get this one to finish the job. Speed: Old one took about 3 days for a whole batch of jerky. This one, 11 hours! Could have been faster than that but I didn't check it. I was stunned. I initially got this only to make jerky, but since it's so fast I am considering drying fruit too. I tried drying fruit on my old one but it took forever. I think this one is so fast that it'll make it worth the effort. Noise: It hardly make any noise. This thing is so quiet, I know on future batches I'll forget that it's running because it so hard to hear. My hubby walked right by this one while it was running and didn't even hear it. If he had heard it I know he would've raided it! On/Off Switch: I know others have said it would be nice to have a switch, and I agree. However, a switch can break so with no switch that means there's one less thing to go wrong. So looking on the positive side, I don't mind at all. Site-to-Store: My first time using this. It was great. Would definitely use it again if necessary.

Was this review helpful? (47) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GadgetGirl64
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Speedy
6/8/2009

Customer review by Goatmomma

5.0 stars 6/8/2009 by Goatmomma
by Goatmomma

We had an older model dehydrator that bit the dust recently and went looking for another. This met our criteria...low price....adjustable temperature. In our old one, apples would take over a day to do. In this one, 3-5 hours. This gives us the opportunity to do more.

Was this review helpful? (30) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Goatmomma
Hastings, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
The Best Jerky Ever!
5/22/2011

Customer review by Annie53

5.0 stars 5/22/2011 by Annie53
by Annie53

My daughter has been making Jerky 4 like 15yrs. w/ this Nesco Brand, only difference is her's is the round 1..! This was my 1st time making Jerky and i must say it was fabulous every time i made it! I thought I would buy this 1 sense u can put more Jerky on it, and also makes it alot faster then my daughters which takes 8 hrs.! I made my own marinade and used 5 lbs. of Lean London Broil and had the Butcher slice it 4 me free and it was exactly enough 2 fill all 4 trays plus 2 more after this and only took approximatley 5 hrs. and I never had 2 rotate it as my daughter does her round one, this 1 dehydrates very even and I got 2 full quart size bags, also it cleans very easily and is Dish Washer safe! Received in like 3 days 2 my door Ty Walmart! If u like Jerky w/ out the high store prices and only get but a few pieces in a bag, then u won't be disappointed in this product this will more then pay 4 itself 4 all us Jerky lovers!

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Annie53
Williamsport, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Top 500 contributor
Exceptional Product!!
11/3/2013

Customer review by Jpal11

5.0 stars 11/3/2013 by Jpal11
by Jpal11

I've had a 2 round Nesco dehydrators for many years, one with a thermostat and one without. The description of this square model wasn't joking when it said this model holds 40% more than a round one. I had my local meat market slice a 4 lb. bottom end round roast (very lean & perfect for jerky). I marinated it overnight in the fridge and put it on at 10am the next morning. I'm used to my old round ones taking 12 to 14 hours. But after reading other reviews about how fast this one is, I decided to time it closely. By 3pm it was finished! Five hours instead of 12! WOW! I'm not easily impressed. This dehydrator impressed me. It is WELL worth the price and if you like making your own jerky or drying fruit or whatever you can use it for, you will love this machine! I think you'll be impressed, too.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jpal11
Swainsboro, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product
9/3/2009

Customer review by smuggly

5.0 stars 9/3/2009 by smuggly
by smuggly

We Only Make Jerky But Weve Had 3 Different Ones Now.This Is By Far The Best.It Makes Jerky Excellent And Easy Cleanup & Its Fast.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
smuggly
Reno Nv.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Overall good - lacking features
10/4/2010

Customer review by Xerocool

4.0 stars 10/4/2010 by Xerocool
by Xerocool

Overall I am happy with the purchase of this product. It has most of the standard features you would expect. It's very spacious and its square design makes it perfect for arranging jerky. It also has a good drying capacity. The only complaints I have are lacks of convenience. There is no on/off switch, which means you must disconnect the unit from the wall to turn it off. This isn't a big deal, but it can be a bit annoying at times. Also, there are no mesh overlays for the trays. If you are dehydrating small objects, you'll be picking them up off the bottom of the dehydrator. I used a piece of window screening to make my own mesh overlay which seems to work fine.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Xerocool
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Don't buy this for drying herbs!
8/23/2013

Customer review by Herbgrower

2.0 stars 8/23/2013 by Herbgrower
by Herbgrower

I had a hard plastic dehydrator from the 1970s. It fell and broke so I needed a new one. I primarily dry herbs. Not finding any locally, I looked online and was delighted to see the Nesco at 4+ stars available from WalMart. The majority of reviews raved about jerky. I figured it must work for everything. First I did fresh figs - took twice as long as they said, but good results. Next I tried basil, as I'd be doing herbs the most. Preparation of the leaves was a lot fussier than my old dehydrator, but I followed directions and set at 95 degrees F. It said 24 hours (much longer than I was accustomed to, but the temp was lower). After 24 hours, my basil was merely wilted, as if I'd left it out on the counter. I flipped the order of the trays (you're not supposed to have to) and raised the temp 40 degrees. Another 24 hours, only half the lot was dried. I picked off the driest and let it go another 12 hours. That's 60 hours. And I STILL had to finish it off in my oven to get it crisp enough to jar. I returned the Nesco unit to the store, which at least was convenient.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Herbgrower
Marion, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Overall deserves a good rating-tray problem
4/26/2011

Customer review by Jubilantl

5.0 stars 4/26/2011 by Jubilantl
by Jubilantl

This dehydrator performs very well while running quietly. Suprisingly light weight and easy to use and move around. I don't mind that it has no off/on switch, that is very minor. I plug it into a power strip that does have an off/on switch. My one problem was food falling through one tray into another, therefore my corn had green beans mixed in with them. The trays have openings that allowed 1" cut green beans to fall through. I remedied this problem by using parchment paper to line the trays.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jubilantl
Indian Trail, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent!
8/31/2009

Customer review by boyscoutmomof2

5.0 stars 8/31/2009 by boyscoutmomof2
by boyscoutmomof2

I've been using this dehydrator for a couple of weeks now. We've made jerky - takes 4-6 hours to dry and 1-2 days to eat.... can't keep it in the house, my family is eating it faster than I can dry it! I like the shape, seems you can put a lot more on the trays than with a round one. Having a little trouble finding additional trays, but I believe this is a new model so I'm sure they'll be out soon. I can't comment on durability as I've only had it a couple of weeks, but it seems very well made. It's exceptionally quiet, only about as much noise as a box fan on low.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
boyscoutmomof2
Swansea IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
It does a great job.
10/13/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/13/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

We have had it a little over a week or so and have be using it every day for about 20 hours a day to process our apples and it has been working great. we bought two extra trays so there is 6 trays in it each time and no rotating of the tray is needed. It takes about 10 hours to do 6 trays of apples. We really like it much better than our old RONCO one we had. Can't speak on durability for we have only had it a liitle over a week, but I think it will keep working fine over the long run.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Victor, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Useful Product
1/30/2011

Customer review by Countrycook55

3.0 stars 1/30/2011 by Countrycook55
by Countrycook55

This product does a decent job of drying fruit. Have not tried to make jerky yet. Does not have an on/off switch so it has to be unplugged to turn off. Top mounted fan stays clean but is not as effective as on mounted on the back and blows across the trays. It does a good job for the price.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Countrycook55
Upstate NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Nice dehydrator
9/27/2009

Customer review by grimmhild

3.0 stars 9/27/2009 by grimmhild
by grimmhild

This is my second Nesco American Harvest dehydrator. I used the first one 'til the heating element burned out. What I really like about this one is the square shape, it fits into my shelf better and although it is the same approximate size as the old one, with the square shape, it holds more. It also does not sit as high. What I was not so impressed with was drying speed. Didn't seem to work any faster than the old one, possibly even a bit slower. I'll know more come jerky making season. The old one lasted me about 10 years and I'm hoping this one lasts as well.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
grimmhild
colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
4/20/2010

Customer review by whiskeyfire

5.0 stars 4/20/2010 by whiskeyfire
by whiskeyfire

This dehydrator is great. I can make three pounds of beef jerkey using lean ground beef and the nesco jerky gun in about 4 1/2 to 5 hours. I used the Nesco mix that came with the dehydrator and with the jerkey gun, it turned out amazing. Everybody that as tried it has loved it with the exception of my 9 year old when I slipped him a piece of the hot and spicey. But he loves the original recipe jerky. I tried to dry bananas but I failed, they came out brown and mushy, then I tried again. I soaked them in lemon juice for 5 minutes then dried them for 14 hours and they turned out nice and crispy with lots of flavor. Strawberries and Pineapple are very tasty also. I highly reccomend this dehydrator... especially for the price. It produced very even drying and I had all 4 trays full.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
whiskeyfire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Needs one more thing
9/18/2011

Customer review by skipthisproduct

4.0 stars 9/18/2011 by skipthisproduct
by skipthisproduct

Unit is great except, It has 4 trays, and only 1 plastic screen that keeps small dried food from falling through. I ordered 2 screens from Nesco $12.95 including shipping. Would like to have 4....Screens have to be ordered in pairs. I need 1 more, but do not want to order 2 more.....Unit should come with at least 2. Believe me you will want more screens

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
skipthisproduct
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Definitely worth the money!!
10/14/2013

Customer review by Pinkcow5

5.0 stars 10/14/2013 by Pinkcow5
by Pinkcow5

Great dehydrator, better than I thought it would have been. Im very impressed. Bought it mainly for jerky, and it works great. Jerky is done in less than 10 hours. I like that it has temp settings, the only downfall is there's no on off switch. It has to be unplugged to be turned off. It's very quiet and cleans up easy. I would definitely recommend this dehydrator.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pinkcow5
Western Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 355 total reviews
1-20 of 355 reviews