Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 406 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

406 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

406 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
293
4 stars
93
3 stars
11
2 stars
4
1 stars
5
1-20 of 352 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 352 total reviews
1-20 of 352 reviews
I would like to have an ON/OFF button or dial.
6/16/2011

Customer review by moreorlesscountry

4.0 stars 6/16/2011 by moreorlesscountry
by moreorlesscountry

I have dried lots of fruits, some vegetables and have made fruit roll-ups. We are pleased with the results. It does take slightly longer to accomplish the desired results outlined in the instructions. Overall, I am quite satisfied!

Was this review helpful? (22) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
moreorlesscountry
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very happy so far
7/6/2013

Customer review by firewizzer

5.0 stars 7/6/2013 by firewizzer
by firewizzer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've used the machine twice since I purchased it. It worked flawlessly both times. I used it to make jerky starting with about 3 lbs. of meat. The thin strips (1/8 to 3/16 inch , thick) dried in about 5 hours. Thicker pieces up to 3/8 inch thick took 8 to 10 hours. The 4 hour time advertised is not realistic unless you are drying something paper thin. I treat the grates with canola cooking spray before loading them with meat. The easiest way to clean them is by using a brush of some type and dish washing detergent. Cleaning them is not a real problem since the meat doesn't stick to them and what little marinade does, brushes off quickly. The lack of an off on switch is not a problem because you're going to load it, set the temperature, plug it in, and leave it run for the required time. When it's running, it's nearly silent. The unit is well made and seems durable enough to to last a long time with any reasonable handling. I'm looking forward to getting a lot of use from this dryer

Was this review helpful? (33) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
firewizzer
N. Tonawanda, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Expected a lot, and got more than expected!
1/23/2016

Customer review by Toms1review

5.0 stars 1/23/2016 by Toms1review
by Toms1review

After reading many food dehydrator reviews, watching several video reviews with comments, compared dehydrator designs in the store, and compared several different manufacturers products for food capacity, and features, i.e.: has several trays, expandable design (from 1 to 12 trays)(box designs are not expandable), thermostat control, full heat range (90F to 160F), ease of cleanup, relatively durable design (only stainless steel is more durable $$$), uniformity of heat and air flow (better than the box designs), clean color (white), low power consumption (is 600W versus 1000W), low noise level, low frequency of recall (0), and low price, and the excellent Walmart return policy, this product seemed to be the best choice; and now, after using it for a while for a casual one batch of 5 trays per day, it has proven to be the best choice for us. If you need an on/off power switch, we use a small outlet plug-in toggle switch.

Was this review helpful? (27) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Toms1review
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Drying Time
7/7/2016

Customer review by Mechee

4.0 stars 7/7/2016 by Mechee
by Mechee
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

1. Product is lightweight, and very quiet. Using dehydrator for first time with fresh basil . It is taking much longer than 20-24 hr time frame. Being patient. 2. Wish I had known a) there is no on/off switch. For my set up location it is inconvenient to unplug each time I check on drying. b) order model with more trays or a second one for other, shorter drying foods. 3. Looking forward to trying other food items.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mechee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Buy the Nesco, return the Oster!!!!
5/5/2013

Customer review by Teach4thYTT

4.0 stars 5/5/2013 by Teach4thYTT
by Teach4thYTT
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought the Oster FPSTDH0101 at Walmart the week before - it was awful. Read reviews and everyone said to hurry and return it and get the Nesco instead. I did, and I'm thrilled! The Nesco doesn't sound like I'm in an airport (as did the Oster), it dehydrates fairly evenly for a home-use machine, comes with fruit leather trays and small-food trays. I didn't understand from the product description that it would come with 5 dehydrating trays, 2 small-food trays and 2 fruit leather trays, so I'm happy with the extras. I will be purchasing more trays because it seems that no matter what I do, I always want more space. The fruit leather with pureed strawberries was a hit with the kids-next door! A 16 oz pck of fresh strawberries makes 1.5 oz of dehydrated. I agree that it needs an on/off switch, but I solved that by plugging it into a power strip with an on/off switch, otherwise you have to unplug it every time you want to check.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Teach4thYTT
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nesco FD75PR dehydrator
3/24/2011

Customer review by kykerry

4.0 stars 3/24/2011 by kykerry
by kykerry

For years I owned an American Harvester dehydrator. It finally gave out recently and I had to look for a replacement. After all of the searching and reading I chose this model because of the higher wattage, 5 trays and included screen and fruit roll sheet. It can take up to 12 trays. I bought all of the extra trays for my old unit but rarely seemed to use more than 4 or 5 at a time. One improvement over older models is the fan at the top. It makes cleanup so much easier. The older models had the fan at the bottom and food would fall down into the fan on occasion. You could shake it out but it was still a pain to clean. This model has flat piece of plastic under all of the trays that can easily be washed with the trays. The handle on top is nice too. So far I've made jerky with the enclosed spice packets (a little peppery for me but good), dried pineapple and mushrooms. This summer I will dry some tomatoes and peppers. The time to dry depends on what you are drying, the thickness of the slices, how heavily you load the unit and ambient humidity. I am happy with this unit and am hoping it lasts as long as my last one did.

Was this review helpful? (224) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kykerry
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
First Time
2/25/2016

Customer review by CosmosMom

4.0 stars 2/25/2016 by CosmosMom
by CosmosMom

This is my first attempt at dehydrating. So far, this unit has performed well. We have done fruit leather, banana chips, apples, pineapples, grapes and make some beef jerky. The fruit has taken longer than the book suggests, but that may be due to variations in slice thickness. Hubby is particularly fond of the beef jerky and fruit leather. The fan is not too loud. The trays clean easily. If you are making fruit leather, be sure to wipe the solid sheets with a *little* vegetable oil first, and then wipe off any excess. This makes removing the sheets SO much easier and leaves no oily residue. I have been rotating the trays about halfway through the drying time, though the instructions say this is not necessary. Overall, I am pleased with this product.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CosmosMom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It is what I need and more
11/6/2013

Customer review by 2cats1dogand4kids

5.0 stars 11/6/2013 by 2cats1dogand4kids
by 2cats1dogand4kids
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love it! I enjoyed using my friend's dehydrator which was the same brand, but a 400. She wanted it back-although I really wasn't done with it-so I needed my own. The Nesco 600 had very good reviews and is very similar to the 400; so I already knew how easy it was to clean and use. The 600 has temperature control which tells for what things each temperature is recommended for written right on the machine- which is very nice- while the Nesco 400 only had one temperature. I doubt that I would use it to make jerky, but it has the capability, and I might surprise myself! I'm using it a lot this fall for apples, pears, and herbs. I've even made fruit roll ups. The machine came with fruit roll up plates. The homemade fruit roll ups are amazing! Hide them from the kids! The only thing I think would be nice on this very impressive machine is an on/off switch, but the cord is short for safety reasons and easy enough to unplug.

Was this review helpful? (17) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2cats1dogand4kids
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It whispers as it works
2/4/2016

Customer review by Bobong

5.0 stars 2/4/2016 by Bobong
by Bobong

This unit with 2 extra trays has been used for dehydrating various fruits (bananas and carambolas so far) on 4 occasions since receiving it. We have been using 2 older models (FD 35 also by Nesco) the past few years and the FD 75PR did a little better on a side by side comparison (same fruits in the same location). Drying time is about an hour hour and a half shorter than the FD 35. There is however a big difference in the noise produced, the 75 PR putting out only about a third of that of the smaller unit. The Temp adjustment knob is a plus though I have yet to need to use it. I don't miss or need the "missing" on/off switch that others do. In my mind it may just be a possible source of breakdown. Happy so far.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bobong
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works
7/21/2016

Customer review by Tevstud

4.0 stars 7/21/2016 by Tevstud
by Tevstud
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I like the option to choose temperature settings. Wish it had a thermostat to see the actual temperature. But it seems to work.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tevstud
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good
7/18/2016

Customer review by Moe1

3.0 stars 7/18/2016 by Moe1
by Moe1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Moe1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A good value
5/16/2011

Customer review by IAmTheChuckleHead

4.0 stars 5/16/2011 by IAmTheChuckleHead
by IAmTheChuckleHead

I purchased this product to allow me to dehydrate my own foods. I like to hike and backpack and this product has allwed me to make my own lightweight and great tasting meals. My dehydrator came with 5 trays, 2 fruit sheets, and enough jerky seasoning and cure for 2 batches. I am very sensitive to errant noises, and I was very glad that this product is very quiet. It has 5 trays and each stacks upon the next to create the body. The trays are large and seem durable. The fit is good and overall the product, though very simplistic, feels well built. The entire unit cleans up easily, even without using a DW. The product comes with detailed instructions and many recipies and other ideas for uses of this dehydrator. This booklet is 46 pages long and contains the necessary practices to acheive a good dried product. I would strongly advise reading this booklet if you have no or little dehydrating experience, like me. My first attempt at make jerky out of a round roast turned out great. The dehydrator comes with jerkey curing packets, though I used my own recipe. There are so many things that can be created with this dehydrator. It is priced well and performs great. I am very picky about my products and I was considering a much more expensive model. I am very happy with my choice. If you think that you may want to add additional trays to this unit, which you can easily. I would suggest that you consider just purchasing two units. There is a accessories catalog with the unit but you get more for your money buying this kit.

Was this review helpful? (56) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IAmTheChuckleHead
Southern AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
works great - needs timer
10/29/2009

Customer review by SaveOurFood

5.0 stars 10/29/2009 by SaveOurFood
by SaveOurFood

We enjoyed the product, works great - just needs a built in timer, we used a timer plugged into an electrical outlet, then plugged hydrator into timer.

Was this review helpful? (132) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SaveOurFood
Centerville, Ut.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great Product
5/26/2009

Customer review by bluefizzure

5.0 stars 5/26/2009 by bluefizzure
by bluefizzure

I've done a lot of research over the years on dehydrators, and knew that Nesco was a great brand and also that I wanted one that had a variable thermostat. I chose this model and am very happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (164) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bluefizzure
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Should have bought it the first time!
5/13/2010

Customer review by CincyCampingFamily

5.0 stars 5/13/2010 by CincyCampingFamily
by CincyCampingFamily

In a rush, I purchased another brand in a Walmart store. The fan in the other brand failed after only a few uses. After reading Walmart reviews, I found others who had the same problem. I'm much happier with this unit! For a small amount more, it has many more features: adjustable temperature, top-mount fan, additional accessories, and jerky spice kit! The unit was shipped to my local store much faster than estimated when I purchase it. Overall, I'm very pleased!

Was this review helpful? (57) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CincyCampingFamily
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
An old favorite upgraded
8/6/2009

Customer review by iris

5.0 stars 8/6/2009 by iris
by iris

My previous dehydrator is over 23 years old, although the brand name is different, the company is the same. After all this time it was finally showing its age. I decided to stay with Nesco. Imagine my surprise when the old trays fit perfectly. In addition to the five included, I can use the six old ones since the machine can handle all eleven. I started using it the same day I picked it up at my local store. I have dried bananas, many kinds of berries and made fruit leather. I will start with vegetables soon.

Was this review helpful? (43) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
iris
Little Falls, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Best Dryer for Food
4/23/2011

Customer review by DogPeople2

5.0 stars 4/23/2011 by DogPeople2
by DogPeople2

Been wanting the NESCO dryer for sometime now. Finally ordered it and it arrived within 2 days with standard shipping. Made a batch of chicken jerky as the first thing. The finished jerky was PERFECT, just like from the store. The unit is very quiet and you can hardly hear any sound from it. The instruction books are well written on how to process other fruits, vegetables, meats, nuts and spices. I've processed dried strawberries, banana chips, apple chips and lots of beef jerky and chicken jerky. The unit hardly gets any rest since arriving. I'd recommend this unit to anyone interested in a really good dryer.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DogPeople2
Alameda, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Satisfied customer
6/28/2016

Customer review by Sadie

5.0 stars 6/28/2016 by Sadie
by Sadie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This dehydrator has out performed my expectations. I would purchase it again in a heartbeat. Tremendous value.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sadie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does not melt
6/22/2016

Customer review by RLNTEX

5.0 stars 6/22/2016 by RLNTEX
by RLNTEX

This unit holds its temperature very well. I have had other dehydrators and the biggest problem I have found with any of them is the thermostat does a poor job of regulating the temperature therefore, the interior gets too hot and the lower trays melt. Not this one though. I would recommend this to anyone but keep the box for storage, you are going to need it later.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RLNTEX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
nesco pro dehydrator
8/12/2010

Customer review by dryingfiend

5.0 stars 8/12/2010 by dryingfiend
by dryingfiend

This dryer has several essential features--a solid tray for making fruit leather, a mesh tray for drying herbs and small items, variable temp control, and a top-mounted fan and heater. It should have an on-off switch. You could adapt it to install one yourself if you're handy, but I don't understand why that inexpensive option isn't included. It takes longer than the instructions indicate to dry fruit and vegetables, but the instructions are far better than average, and the end result is excellent. This dryer is by far the best value for the money of any I've seen, and I did a lot of research before purchasing it. I wouldn't bother with any dryer that didn't have a thermostat, a top-mounted heating/fan unit, or an assortment of tray types. This one has everything except the on-off switch. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dryingfiend
Pensacola, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 352 total reviews
1-20 of 352 reviews