Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 415 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

415 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

415 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
301
4 stars
93
3 stars
11
2 stars
4
1 stars
6
1-20 of 361 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 361 total reviews
1-20 of 361 reviews
I would like to have an ON/OFF button or dial.
6/16/2011

Customer review by moreorlesscountry

4.0 stars 6/16/2011 by moreorlesscountry
by moreorlesscountry

I have dried lots of fruits, some vegetables and have made fruit roll-ups. We are pleased with the results. It does take slightly longer to accomplish the desired results outlined in the instructions. Overall, I am quite satisfied!

Was this review helpful? (25) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
moreorlesscountry
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very happy so far
7/6/2013

Customer review by firewizzer

5.0 stars 7/6/2013 by firewizzer
by firewizzer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've used the machine twice since I purchased it. It worked flawlessly both times. I used it to make jerky starting with about 3 lbs. of meat. The thin strips (1/8 to 3/16 inch , thick) dried in about 5 hours. Thicker pieces up to 3/8 inch thick took 8 to 10 hours. The 4 hour time advertised is not realistic unless you are drying something paper thin. I treat the grates with canola cooking spray before loading them with meat. The easiest way to clean them is by using a brush of some type and dish washing detergent. Cleaning them is not a real problem since the meat doesn't stick to them and what little marinade does, brushes off quickly. The lack of an off on switch is not a problem because you're going to load it, set the temperature, plug it in, and leave it run for the required time. When it's running, it's nearly silent. The unit is well made and seems durable enough to to last a long time with any reasonable handling. I'm looking forward to getting a lot of use from this dryer

Was this review helpful? (35) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
firewizzer
N. Tonawanda, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Expected a lot, and got more than expected!
1/23/2016

Customer review by Toms1review

5.0 stars 1/23/2016 by Toms1review
by Toms1review

After reading many food dehydrator reviews, watching several video reviews with comments, compared dehydrator designs in the store, and compared several different manufacturers products for food capacity, and features, i.e.: has several trays, expandable design (from 1 to 12 trays)(box designs are not expandable), thermostat control, full heat range (90F to 160F), ease of cleanup, relatively durable design (only stainless steel is more durable $$$), uniformity of heat and air flow (better than the box designs), clean color (white), low power consumption (is 600W versus 1000W), low noise level, low frequency of recall (0), and low price, and the excellent Walmart return policy, this product seemed to be the best choice; and now, after using it for a while for a casual one batch of 5 trays per day, it has proven to be the best choice for us. If you need an on/off power switch, we use a small outlet plug-in toggle switch.

Was this review helpful? (33) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Toms1review
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dehydrator
8/4/2016

Customer review by psalink

5.0 stars 8/4/2016 by psalink
by psalink
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Had one of these before. After 3 years the fan/heat element failed. That being said, it is a great little inexpensive unit and I saved the trays from the previous one so now I have 10! Sure, you can get an Excalibur or other expensive unit that might last longer, but for the price I can replace this a lot of times. I do seasonal items and only what I can to supplement our family and this dehydrator is plenty for me. It has heat adjustments, mesh trays and solid trays for doing applesauce or pumpkin puree or fruit rollups. I have never made jerky. I do make dog treats. Obviously I liked it enough to buy a second unit. :)

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
psalink
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Buy the Nesco, return the Oster!!!!
5/5/2013

Customer review by Teach4thYTT

4.0 stars 5/5/2013 by Teach4thYTT
by Teach4thYTT
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought the Oster FPSTDH0101 at Walmart the week before - it was awful. Read reviews and everyone said to hurry and return it and get the Nesco instead. I did, and I'm thrilled! The Nesco doesn't sound like I'm in an airport (as did the Oster), it dehydrates fairly evenly for a home-use machine, comes with fruit leather trays and small-food trays. I didn't understand from the product description that it would come with 5 dehydrating trays, 2 small-food trays and 2 fruit leather trays, so I'm happy with the extras. I will be purchasing more trays because it seems that no matter what I do, I always want more space. The fruit leather with pureed strawberries was a hit with the kids-next door! A 16 oz pck of fresh strawberries makes 1.5 oz of dehydrated. I agree that it needs an on/off switch, but I solved that by plugging it into a power strip with an on/off switch, otherwise you have to unplug it every time you want to check.

Was this review helpful? (28) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Teach4thYTT
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Drying Time
7/7/2016

Customer review by Mechee

4.0 stars 7/7/2016 by Mechee
by Mechee
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

1. Product is lightweight, and very quiet. Using dehydrator for first time with fresh basil . It is taking much longer than 20-24 hr time frame. Being patient. 2. Wish I had known a) there is no on/off switch. For my set up location it is inconvenient to unplug each time I check on drying. b) order model with more trays or a second one for other, shorter drying foods. 3. Looking forward to trying other food items.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mechee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nesco Food Dehydrator
8/23/2016

Customer review by Gardener

5.0 stars 8/23/2016 by Gardener
by Gardener
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had a bumper crop in my garden this year, and didn't know where to put it. I bought this dehydrator, and it solved my problem. It is quiet and easy to use. I dried tomatoes, beets and apples, so far. I was amazed that the beets tasted like candy. I made a leather out of my tomato sauce, which further reduced the volume so that I had room in my freezer for all my produce. The dehydrator solved my problem!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gardener
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nesco FD75PR dehydrator
3/24/2011

Customer review by kykerry

4.0 stars 3/24/2011 by kykerry
by kykerry

For years I owned an American Harvester dehydrator. It finally gave out recently and I had to look for a replacement. After all of the searching and reading I chose this model because of the higher wattage, 5 trays and included screen and fruit roll sheet. It can take up to 12 trays. I bought all of the extra trays for my old unit but rarely seemed to use more than 4 or 5 at a time. One improvement over older models is the fan at the top. It makes cleanup so much easier. The older models had the fan at the bottom and food would fall down into the fan on occasion. You could shake it out but it was still a pain to clean. This model has flat piece of plastic under all of the trays that can easily be washed with the trays. The handle on top is nice too. So far I've made jerky with the enclosed spice packets (a little peppery for me but good), dried pineapple and mushrooms. This summer I will dry some tomatoes and peppers. The time to dry depends on what you are drying, the thickness of the slices, how heavily you load the unit and ambient humidity. I am happy with this unit and am hoping it lasts as long as my last one did.

Was this review helpful? (230) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kykerry
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
First Time
2/25/2016

Customer review by CosmosMom

4.0 stars 2/25/2016 by CosmosMom
by CosmosMom

This is my first attempt at dehydrating. So far, this unit has performed well. We have done fruit leather, banana chips, apples, pineapples, grapes and make some beef jerky. The fruit has taken longer than the book suggests, but that may be due to variations in slice thickness. Hubby is particularly fond of the beef jerky and fruit leather. The fan is not too loud. The trays clean easily. If you are making fruit leather, be sure to wipe the solid sheets with a *little* vegetable oil first, and then wipe off any excess. This makes removing the sheets SO much easier and leaves no oily residue. I have been rotating the trays about halfway through the drying time, though the instructions say this is not necessary. Overall, I am pleased with this product.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CosmosMom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It is what I need and more
11/6/2013

Customer review by 2cats1dogand4kids

5.0 stars 11/6/2013 by 2cats1dogand4kids
by 2cats1dogand4kids
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love it! I enjoyed using my friend's dehydrator which was the same brand, but a 400. She wanted it back-although I really wasn't done with it-so I needed my own. The Nesco 600 had very good reviews and is very similar to the 400; so I already knew how easy it was to clean and use. The 600 has temperature control which tells for what things each temperature is recommended for written right on the machine- which is very nice- while the Nesco 400 only had one temperature. I doubt that I would use it to make jerky, but it has the capability, and I might surprise myself! I'm using it a lot this fall for apples, pears, and herbs. I've even made fruit roll ups. The machine came with fruit roll up plates. The homemade fruit roll ups are amazing! Hide them from the kids! The only thing I think would be nice on this very impressive machine is an on/off switch, but the cord is short for safety reasons and easy enough to unplug.

Was this review helpful? (20) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2cats1dogand4kids
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Harvest Maid dehydrator
8/30/2016

Customer review by Harvestmom

5.0 stars 8/30/2016 by Harvestmom
by Harvestmom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

An excellent product. I had my first harvest maid for 30 years. As much as I loved my old one, the new design with the fan on the top is so much more efficient. A great asset to my summer produce preservation!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Harvestmom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works
7/21/2016

Customer review by Tevstud

4.0 stars 7/21/2016 by Tevstud
by Tevstud
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I like the option to choose temperature settings. Wish it had a thermostat to see the actual temperature. But it seems to work.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tevstud
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It whispers as it works
2/4/2016

Customer review by Bobong

5.0 stars 2/4/2016 by Bobong
by Bobong

This unit with 2 extra trays has been used for dehydrating various fruits (bananas and carambolas so far) on 4 occasions since receiving it. We have been using 2 older models (FD 35 also by Nesco) the past few years and the FD 75PR did a little better on a side by side comparison (same fruits in the same location). Drying time is about an hour hour and a half shorter than the FD 35. There is however a big difference in the noise produced, the 75 PR putting out only about a third of that of the smaller unit. The Temp adjustment knob is a plus though I have yet to need to use it. I don't miss or need the "missing" on/off switch that others do. In my mind it may just be a possible source of breakdown. Happy so far.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bobong
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
works on all
8/20/2016

Customer review by yakirob

5.0 stars 8/20/2016 by yakirob
by yakirob

i use this too make jerky, fruit and i even use it too dry my reloading brass wife hates it but it works so darn well thank you

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
yakirob
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy Peasy
8/19/2016

Customer review by Rieviewfrome

5.0 stars 8/19/2016 by Rieviewfrome
by Rieviewfrome
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Nesco Dehydrator is easy to use and easy to clean. I love this product. I have dehydrated apples and peaches so far, and they are soo good! Planning to make jerky next.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rieviewfrome
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A good value
5/16/2011

Customer review by IAmTheChuckleHead

4.0 stars 5/16/2011 by IAmTheChuckleHead
by IAmTheChuckleHead

I purchased this product to allow me to dehydrate my own foods. I like to hike and backpack and this product has allwed me to make my own lightweight and great tasting meals. My dehydrator came with 5 trays, 2 fruit sheets, and enough jerky seasoning and cure for 2 batches. I am very sensitive to errant noises, and I was very glad that this product is very quiet. It has 5 trays and each stacks upon the next to create the body. The trays are large and seem durable. The fit is good and overall the product, though very simplistic, feels well built. The entire unit cleans up easily, even without using a DW. The product comes with detailed instructions and many recipies and other ideas for uses of this dehydrator. This booklet is 46 pages long and contains the necessary practices to acheive a good dried product. I would strongly advise reading this booklet if you have no or little dehydrating experience, like me. My first attempt at make jerky out of a round roast turned out great. The dehydrator comes with jerkey curing packets, though I used my own recipe. There are so many things that can be created with this dehydrator. It is priced well and performs great. I am very picky about my products and I was considering a much more expensive model. I am very happy with my choice. If you think that you may want to add additional trays to this unit, which you can easily. I would suggest that you consider just purchasing two units. There is a accessories catalog with the unit but you get more for your money buying this kit.

Was this review helpful? (59) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IAmTheChuckleHead
Southern AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great Unit
8/9/2016

Customer review by goldenkee

5.0 stars 8/9/2016 by goldenkee
by goldenkee
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

A well designed excellent unit. Just wish it had an on/off switch. Bought plug-in switch wall unit on Ebay for $4, solved the issue. I've used it to make beef jerky for me and chicken/ turkey jerky for my diabetic dog. Works great, easy to clean

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
goldenkee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
works great - needs timer
10/29/2009

Customer review by SaveOurFood

5.0 stars 10/29/2009 by SaveOurFood
by SaveOurFood

We enjoyed the product, works great - just needs a built in timer, we used a timer plugged into an electrical outlet, then plugged hydrator into timer.

Was this review helpful? (133) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SaveOurFood
Centerville, Ut.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
thermostat not up to temp
8/8/2016

Customer review by none

1.0 stars 8/8/2016 by none
by none
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Thermostat didn't work, actual temperature measured 20 degrees less than the setting. No way to get temp up to the 160 degree max for drying meat. Returned dehydrator for refund.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
none
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Should have bought it the first time!
5/13/2010

Customer review by CincyCampingFamily

5.0 stars 5/13/2010 by CincyCampingFamily
by CincyCampingFamily

In a rush, I purchased another brand in a Walmart store. The fan in the other brand failed after only a few uses. After reading Walmart reviews, I found others who had the same problem. I'm much happier with this unit! For a small amount more, it has many more features: adjustable temperature, top-mount fan, additional accessories, and jerky spice kit! The unit was shipped to my local store much faster than estimated when I purchase it. Overall, I'm very pleased!

Was this review helpful? (58) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CincyCampingFamily
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 361 total reviews
1-20 of 361 reviews