Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 378 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

378 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

378 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
277
4 stars
84
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 stars
5
1-20 of 324 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 324 total reviews
1-20 of 324 reviews
Nesco FD75PR dehydrator
3/24/2011

Customer review by kykerry

4.0 stars 3/24/2011 by kykerry
by kykerry

For years I owned an American Harvester dehydrator. It finally gave out recently and I had to look for a replacement. After all of the searching and reading I chose this model because of the higher wattage, 5 trays and included screen and fruit roll sheet. It can take up to 12 trays. I bought all of the extra trays for my old unit but rarely seemed to use more than 4 or 5 at a time. One improvement over older models is the fan at the top. It makes cleanup so much easier. The older models had the fan at the bottom and food would fall down into the fan on occasion. You could shake it out but it was still a pain to clean. This model has flat piece of plastic under all of the trays that can easily be washed with the trays. The handle on top is nice too. So far I've made jerky with the enclosed spice packets (a little peppery for me but good), dried pineapple and mushrooms. This summer I will dry some tomatoes and peppers. The time to dry depends on what you are drying, the thickness of the slices, how heavily you load the unit and ambient humidity. I am happy with this unit and am hoping it lasts as long as my last one did.

Was this review helpful? (188) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kykerry
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great Product
5/26/2009

Customer review by bluefizzure

5.0 stars 5/26/2009 by bluefizzure
by bluefizzure

I've done a lot of research over the years on dehydrators, and knew that Nesco was a great brand and also that I wanted one that had a variable thermostat. I chose this model and am very happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (158) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bluefizzure
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
works great - needs timer
10/29/2009

Customer review by SaveOurFood

5.0 stars 10/29/2009 by SaveOurFood
by SaveOurFood

We enjoyed the product, works great - just needs a built in timer, we used a timer plugged into an electrical outlet, then plugged hydrator into timer.

Was this review helpful? (120) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SaveOurFood
Centerville, Ut.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
A good value
5/16/2011

Customer review by IAmTheChuckleHead

4.0 stars 5/16/2011 by IAmTheChuckleHead
by IAmTheChuckleHead

I purchased this product to allow me to dehydrate my own foods. I like to hike and backpack and this product has allwed me to make my own lightweight and great tasting meals. My dehydrator came with 5 trays, 2 fruit sheets, and enough jerky seasoning and cure for 2 batches. I am very sensitive to errant noises, and I was very glad that this product is very quiet. It has 5 trays and each stacks upon the next to create the body. The trays are large and seem durable. The fit is good and overall the product, though very simplistic, feels well built. The entire unit cleans up easily, even without using a DW. The product comes with detailed instructions and many recipies and other ideas for uses of this dehydrator. This booklet is 46 pages long and contains the necessary practices to acheive a good dried product. I would strongly advise reading this booklet if you have no or little dehydrating experience, like me. My first attempt at make jerky out of a round roast turned out great. The dehydrator comes with jerkey curing packets, though I used my own recipe. There are so many things that can be created with this dehydrator. It is priced well and performs great. I am very picky about my products and I was considering a much more expensive model. I am very happy with my choice. If you think that you may want to add additional trays to this unit, which you can easily. I would suggest that you consider just purchasing two units. There is a accessories catalog with the unit but you get more for your money buying this kit.

Was this review helpful? (41) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IAmTheChuckleHead
Southern AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great Product--Does the Job in Record Time!
7/12/2009

Customer review by TardPetz

5.0 stars 7/12/2009 by TardPetz
by TardPetz

We decided on the professional model for the temperature control, and we've been delighted with all the other features too. Stuff dries in hours! Can't wait to try the jerky recipes and other uses. Wholeheartedly recommend!

Was this review helpful? (62) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TardPetz
West Palm Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Should have bought it the first time!
5/13/2010

Customer review by CincyCampingFamily

5.0 stars 5/13/2010 by CincyCampingFamily
by CincyCampingFamily

In a rush, I purchased another brand in a Walmart store. The fan in the other brand failed after only a few uses. After reading Walmart reviews, I found others who had the same problem. I'm much happier with this unit! For a small amount more, it has many more features: adjustable temperature, top-mount fan, additional accessories, and jerky spice kit! The unit was shipped to my local store much faster than estimated when I purchase it. Overall, I'm very pleased!

Was this review helpful? (51) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CincyCampingFamily
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
An old favorite upgraded
8/6/2009

Customer review by iris

5.0 stars 8/6/2009 by iris
by iris

My previous dehydrator is over 23 years old, although the brand name is different, the company is the same. After all this time it was finally showing its age. I decided to stay with Nesco. Imagine my surprise when the old trays fit perfectly. In addition to the five included, I can use the six old ones since the machine can handle all eleven. I started using it the same day I picked it up at my local store. I have dried bananas, many kinds of berries and made fruit leather. I will start with vegetables soon.

Was this review helpful? (43) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
iris
Little Falls, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great product, handles the tough jobs easily.
5/27/2012

Customer review by WhereIsLee

5.0 stars 5/27/2012 by WhereIsLee
by WhereIsLee

This one is 3 times as fast as my old Nesco 300 watt unit. My first set of 3 pounds of beef jerky, I started at 8 pm, with slicing and putting it in marinade sauce. After 3 hours of soaking in the refrigerator, it went into the dehydrator at midnight. At 7 AM, it was completely done! I had sliced it at about 1/8th inch thick on an electric meat slicer so it was evenly sliced, and used the packets of spicing that came with the unit for flavoring/marinade. I put the meat and marinade into ziplock bags, which made it very easy (and mess-free!) to "squish" the meat and marinade to make sure all surfaces got an even chance at absorbing the spices. I also "squished them" every hour during the 3 hours, including turning the bag from "side A" to "side B" to let gravity help during the hour between squishings. The jerky was very delicious, lightly spiced, very mild in flavor. Oh, did I mention that I'd prevously had a Nesco 300-watt machine, and the same amount of meat would have needed at least 20 hours of drying time? Or did I mention that the trays from my old Nesco actually are identical to the new ones, and fit the new machine perfectly? That was an unexpected bonus! I have 8 trays where I was expecting only 5, so my next run, I did 4 pounds of sirloin with my own recipe for spices, and they were ready in just 10 hours of drying time. Like every other reviewer, my only "complaint" is that there is no timer or "off switch", so you have to babysit it or use an external timer/off switch to control the drying time if you're not there (NESCO -- are you listening?!!?). The greatest part of this machine is that the controls and delicate electronics are on top, so they don't get dripped on and have the potential of getting wet during cleaning (I think this is an area that NESCO did listen to customers on since I bought my old machine years ago). The drip pan is super-easy to clean! Thanks, NESCO for a great product! And thanks, WalMart for keeping it at an affordable price. When I "Walk Across America" beginning October, 2012 through October, 2013, I will be munching on healthy snacks of dried fruits and meat and fish jerky because you made it possible. Watch my website, WhereIsLee.org for news of my 7400 mile walk for charity! God Bless you, everybody! Lee

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WhereIsLee
Cincinnati, OH area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Best Dryer for Food
4/23/2011

Customer review by DogPeople2

5.0 stars 4/23/2011 by DogPeople2
by DogPeople2

Been wanting the NESCO dryer for sometime now. Finally ordered it and it arrived within 2 days with standard shipping. Made a batch of chicken jerky as the first thing. The finished jerky was PERFECT, just like from the store. The unit is very quiet and you can hardly hear any sound from it. The instruction books are well written on how to process other fruits, vegetables, meats, nuts and spices. I've processed dried strawberries, banana chips, apple chips and lots of beef jerky and chicken jerky. The unit hardly gets any rest since arriving. I'd recommend this unit to anyone interested in a really good dryer.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DogPeople2
Alameda, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very happy so far
7/6/2013

Customer review by firewizzer

5.0 stars 7/6/2013 by firewizzer
by firewizzer

I've used the machine twice since I purchased it. It worked flawlessly both times. I used it to make jerky starting with about 3 lbs. of meat. The thin strips (1/8 to 3/16 inch , thick) dried in about 5 hours. Thicker pieces up to 3/8 inch thick took 8 to 10 hours. The 4 hour time advertised is not realistic unless you are drying something paper thin. I treat the grates with canola cooking spray before loading them with meat. The easiest way to clean them is by using a brush of some type and dish washing detergent. Cleaning them is not a real problem since the meat doesn't stick to them and what little marinade does, brushes off quickly. The lack of an off on switch is not a problem because you're going to load it, set the temperature, plug it in, and leave it run for the required time. When it's running, it's nearly silent. The unit is well made and seems durable enough to to last a long time with any reasonable handling. I'm looking forward to getting a lot of use from this dryer

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
firewizzer
N. Tonawanda, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Buy the Nesco, return the Oster!!!!
5/5/2013

Customer review by Teach4thYTT

4.0 stars 5/5/2013 by Teach4thYTT
by Teach4thYTT

Bought the Oster FPSTDH0101 at Walmart the week before - it was awful. Read reviews and everyone said to hurry and return it and get the Nesco instead. I did, and I'm thrilled! The Nesco doesn't sound like I'm in an airport (as did the Oster), it dehydrates fairly evenly for a home-use machine, comes with fruit leather trays and small-food trays. I didn't understand from the product description that it would come with 5 dehydrating trays, 2 small-food trays and 2 fruit leather trays, so I'm happy with the extras. I will be purchasing more trays because it seems that no matter what I do, I always want more space. The fruit leather with pureed strawberries was a hit with the kids-next door! A 16 oz pck of fresh strawberries makes 1.5 oz of dehydrated. I agree that it needs an on/off switch, but I solved that by plugging it into a power strip with an on/off switch, otherwise you have to unplug it every time you want to check.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Teach4thYTT
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I like it...
7/13/2009

Customer review by DehydratorLady

5.0 stars 7/13/2009 by DehydratorLady
by DehydratorLady

I'm very pleased with my dehydrator - it works well. The only negative I have is there is no on/off switch.

Was this review helpful? (16) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DehydratorLady
Douglasville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1/8/2011

Customer review by nygirl11

5.0 stars 1/8/2011 by nygirl11
by nygirl11

Bought this for my husband for Christmas and he loves it. Very happy I read reviews and got this product because of the Motor being on top. Makes for easy clean up. Is very quiet. Also agree it would be better if there was an on/off switch.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nygirl11
Lockport, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I would like to have an ON/OFF button or dial.
6/16/2011

Customer review by moreorlesscountry

4.0 stars 6/16/2011 by moreorlesscountry
by moreorlesscountry

I have dried lots of fruits, some vegetables and have made fruit roll-ups. We are pleased with the results. It does take slightly longer to accomplish the desired results outlined in the instructions. Overall, I am quite satisfied!

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
moreorlesscountry
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Didn't Heat???
4/6/2011

Customer review by EBF1FL2NC

3.0 stars 4/6/2011 by EBF1FL2NC
by EBF1FL2NC

I purchased this product online. I tried to use it and the fan in it worked fine but it never heated...2 days after using it...nothing dehydrated??? May have got a defective one with a bad heating element. I took it back to my local walmart and they took the return without problem. Just hope they test further products more carefully and save their customers the hassel.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EBF1FL2NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
It is what I need and more
11/6/2013

Customer review by 2cats1dogand4kids

5.0 stars 11/6/2013 by 2cats1dogand4kids
by 2cats1dogand4kids

I love it! I enjoyed using my friend's dehydrator which was the same brand, but a 400. She wanted it back-although I really wasn't done with it-so I needed my own. The Nesco 600 had very good reviews and is very similar to the 400; so I already knew how easy it was to clean and use. The 600 has temperature control which tells for what things each temperature is recommended for written right on the machine- which is very nice- while the Nesco 400 only had one temperature. I doubt that I would use it to make jerky, but it has the capability, and I might surprise myself! I'm using it a lot this fall for apples, pears, and herbs. I've even made fruit roll ups. The machine came with fruit roll up plates. The homemade fruit roll ups are amazing! Hide them from the kids! The only thing I think would be nice on this very impressive machine is an on/off switch, but the cord is short for safety reasons and easy enough to unplug.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2cats1dogand4kids
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love this machine!
3/12/2012

Customer review by TJVarnadoe

4.0 stars 3/12/2012 by TJVarnadoe
by TJVarnadoe

I purchased this model on the recommendation of a friend! I couldn't be happier! I've dried strawberries, watermelon, cantelope, apples, cherries, pears, pineapples and made fruit roll ups a couple of times. My favorites are the apples and pineapple! I've also made a couple of batches of turkey and beef jerky using both ground meat and thin round steaks. Both were so excellent that I bought the Jerky Maker kit! The absolute only complaint I have is that it doesn't have an off/on switch or timer. With those things I would have given it 5 across the board.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TJVarnadoe
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
not what I was expecting
5/5/2011

Customer review by snapdabble

2.0 stars 5/5/2011 by snapdabble
by snapdabble

Bought this with the idea of making our own jerky and dried fruits. On first attempt, the fruits took almost a day in the machine and still were not done. The dehydrator gets really warm on the outside. I'm thinking during the summer when I want to make all the good stuff, Im not going to want this machine pumping hot air into my house when Im trying to cool it down with air conditioning. The other thing is it doesn't seem to be very energy efficient. If I had to leave it on all day for fruit and it STILL wasn't dried, how much energy is this thing going to suck away while its running ALL DAY everyday to dry my stuff. For a family of 4 this thing cant possibly pump out enough stuff for us to be satisfied. Already returned it to the store.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
snapdabble
Would recommend to a friend? No
GET THIS ONE!
8/25/2010

Customer review by ssecretgirl

5.0 stars 8/25/2010 by ssecretgirl
by ssecretgirl

They did not sell it in our walmart store so I had to get it on walmart.com. It had Free shipping to Home for starters! Got it and excitedly used it same day. LOVE IT! It came with 2 fruit roll sheets, 2 spice sheets and 5 trays. Dries much more evenly than my old one and is much faster. I only gave it 4 stars in features because it does not have a timer to turn it off automatically. Otherwise it is perfect. Cant do with out the temp. controll. My fruit rolls are so popular. Get this one, You wont regret it! Even if didnt think you needed a new one, you will be much happier with this one.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ssecretgirl
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
nesco pro dehydrator
8/12/2010

Customer review by dryingfiend

5.0 stars 8/12/2010 by dryingfiend
by dryingfiend

This dryer has several essential features--a solid tray for making fruit leather, a mesh tray for drying herbs and small items, variable temp control, and a top-mounted fan and heater. It should have an on-off switch. You could adapt it to install one yourself if you're handy, but I don't understand why that inexpensive option isn't included. It takes longer than the instructions indicate to dry fruit and vegetables, but the instructions are far better than average, and the end result is excellent. This dryer is by far the best value for the money of any I've seen, and I did a lot of research before purchasing it. I wouldn't bother with any dryer that didn't have a thermostat, a top-mounted heating/fan unit, or an assortment of tray types. This one has everything except the on-off switch. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dryingfiend
Pensacola, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 324 total reviews
1-20 of 324 reviews