Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 197 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

197 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

197 reviews | 3 out of 5

54%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
71
4 stars
33
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 stars
83
1-20 of 157 total reviews
54%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 157 total reviews
1-20 of 157 reviews
Did Not Work!!
3/24/2014

Customer review by LovingEveryMinuteMom

1.0 stars 3/24/2014 by LovingEveryMinuteMom
by LovingEveryMinuteMom

I have bought the Maxell Dry Video Head Cleaner in the past and loved it. Even lasted well past the 100 uses. My last one (that I had for years upon years) finally was getting overworked so I look to see if they still made them. I was glad to find they did, but concerned that the packaging was not the same and the reviews were so terrible. Decided to go ahead and try anyway. I didn't have to use it for a while (hence the reason I was unable to return# but when I did, it did the same as the most other reviewers. It would not play at all, sounded like a screeching noise #like it could not be played#, and then turned off my VCR!! It cleaned nothing, did not work #I tried it a few more times just to make sure and am grateful it did not ruin my VCR#, and had to throw it away!! Try to find a different solution! This is not like the great Maxell Cleaner we were used to in the past! Apparently quality if no longer a concern if it is for VCR's! :# I wish I would have spent my money more wisely!! I don't know why but this review is putting # symbols in place of most of my parenthesis.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LovingEveryMinuteMom
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
As Advertised or Better
1/11/2016

Customer review by Smarthopper

5.0 stars 1/11/2016 by Smarthopper
by Smarthopper

I am using clunky old analog TVs with built-in VCRs and no-contract analog-to-digital TV and indoor antennas, so my VCR tapes are important to me. After too many hours of usage, I was having trouble both playing and recording. After I bought and used this, I'm back to happiness-level again. The product is as advertised, or better. The instructions on the package were easy to find, easy to read, printed in a SIZE that I could read (I'm in my 70s), and it even provides a log to record the usage. It is good for 100 usages! I chose the dry head cleaner specifically because in the past, the solution in the bottles for the wet head cleaners always dried out before I could get a few uses from them. I plan to buy at least 2 more of these, to have them for backup, while they are still available.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Smarthopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
DO NOT BUY IT!
1/31/2016

Customer review by Melody

1.0 stars 1/31/2016 by Melody
by Melody

DO NOT BUY IT! I no longer have a picture, only sound. I was lucky that I found a company to repair it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Melody
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not working
1/30/2016

Customer review by maziesher

1.0 stars 1/30/2016 by maziesher
by maziesher

I received it, but it's not working. Had to contact actual seller.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
maziesher
Would recommend to a friend? No
VCR Head Cleaner
7/29/2009

Customer review by sammybuy

4.0 stars 7/29/2009 by sammybuy
by sammybuy

Fine basic head cleaner that does not use a liquid. Maxell states that it can be used up to 100 times. Plays a left right channel test while cleaning. As far as I can tell, it works fine at cleaning the heads.

Was this review helpful? (46) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sammybuy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
Good Head Cleaner
12/27/2010

Customer review by VCROwner

5.0 stars 12/27/2010 by VCROwner
by VCROwner

I had a VCR that was dirty from an old tape, when I used the head cleaner it cleared lines in the video signal right up.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VCROwner
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Doesn't Work and Almost Damaged my VCR
6/20/2014

Customer review by ProudVCROwner

1.0 stars 6/20/2014 by ProudVCROwner
by ProudVCROwner
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the second one of these head cleaners I tried. The first time the tape failed to move in the VCR and I returned it. Thinking it was that I just got a bad one I tried again and this time the tape also didn't move and to make matters worse, when I went to try playing my VCR again, there was no picture alternating with black and white bands of squiggly lines that covered the screen--seemed the head cleaner tape deposited some residue on the VCR heads and it was way worse than before I used it. We had to take apart the VCR on our own and clean the heads using rubbing alcohol following a video we found on YouTube about how to clean the heads on your VCR and after doing that the picture came back. But that was extra work and drama we were not looking for. I would not buy this product and it's going back to Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ProudVCROwner
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hard to find, worth it though.
7/22/2009

Customer review by RebaJr

5.0 stars 7/22/2009 by RebaJr
by RebaJr

this item is hard to find due to everything going blue-ray these days. but if you still have some old VHS tapes that you like to view and the VCR is a little cloudy, this will clear it up.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RebaJr
Terre Haute, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Works great.
1/19/2016

Customer review by Frankiedude

4.0 stars 1/19/2016 by Frankiedude
by Frankiedude

Exactly what I needed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Frankiedude
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Disappointed
1/10/2016

Customer review by Disappointed

1.0 stars 1/10/2016 by Disappointed
by Disappointed

The product arrived in a timely manner but it didn't work. The vhs player either displayed an error message or ate the cleaner tape. Was very displeased with product. The same item purchased at another store worked better.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Disappointed
Would recommend to a friend? No
12/30/2009

Customer review by DSLB

5.0 stars 12/30/2009 by DSLB
by DSLB

Great price - arrived asap - great product!

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DSLB
Ballwin, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Very poor. Did not work at all.
1/4/2016

Customer review by MO55

1.0 stars 1/4/2016 by MO55
by MO55

This item did not perform as advertised. It did not work at all on my VCR. The machine kept on spitting the tape out.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MO55
Would recommend to a friend? No
Still trying ...
7/11/2014

Customer review by GoldieOK

2.0 stars 7/11/2014 by GoldieOK
by GoldieOK

I have a old [don't we all] Panansonic VCR. I notice the lines coming up indicating dirty heads. I bought the dry version of a head cleaner b/c it has worked in the past [early 2000s] They weren't maxell but if figured i give it a shot. I used it several times [at various speeds] and while it has improved the integrity of the image, the lines still popped in from minimal at the top, to semi-severe to the middle of the screen. it doesn't last long but it still impedes the enjoyment of watching the tape. I run the cleaner after every viewing in the hopes it will clean the heads better....so far it has helped only slightly. I think I'll try a wet version and see if that helps

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GoldieOK
Gulfport, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Maxwell video head cleaner.
12/26/2015

Customer review by Judylu

1.0 stars 12/26/2015 by Judylu
by Judylu

I would not recommend this video cleaner. I used this following directions & the tape unwound inside my vcr. Now I have sound but no picture on my tv. My recorder is only 5 months old, so I am very frustrated!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Judylu
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not as advertised
11/13/2013

Customer review by Oldster1

1.0 stars 11/13/2013 by Oldster1
by Oldster1

This item clearly states on the box in the picture that there are ON SCREEN instructions. My previous Maxwell dry VCR cleaners had this feature. The maxwell dry VCR cleaner I received does NOT have on screen instructions and has messed up my VCR. Grrrrrrrrr

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Oldster1
Weslaco, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
It does not work
12/2/2013

Customer review by rockingraver09

1.0 stars 12/2/2013 by rockingraver09
by rockingraver09

It turned off in 3 seconds and I had to take apart my VCR/TV combo to get the tape out. Never again.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rockingraver09
Spokane, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Different item sent than pictured
3/30/2014

Customer review by Rsnt

2.0 stars 3/30/2014 by Rsnt
by Rsnt
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was hoping to get the item pictured but instead got same type of product but not the one I wanted. This cleaner comes with no instructions whatsoever, written or audio. The only way I "think" it's cleaning is the grating sound I hear when tape is playing. Also it seems you have to rewind after each cleaning and no instruction as to how often this can be done. Very disappointed,especially since the one pictured I have owned before and IT works flawlessly.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rsnt
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
"Maxell Is a Great VHS Head Cleaner Value"
12/13/2015

Customer review by cdman

5.0 stars 12/13/2015 by cdman
by cdman

Maxells VHS Dry Head Cleaner Is Great. This Head-Cleaner Works Each and Every Time. I Have Used It For Years Without Any Problems At All. And a Better Value Would Be Hard To Find."5 Stars" & Super Value"

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cdman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Poor quality
12/6/2013

Customer review by EscapeMe

1.0 stars 12/6/2013 by EscapeMe
by EscapeMe
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I used 1 of each of these head cleaners in 2 VCR's. This product tangled up in both VCR's, never went through a cycle and now neither VCR works. I am now stuck with 2 non working VCR's; I did get my $10.00 back; a drop in the bucket for what I lost.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EscapeMe
FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Thank You Walmart!
12/4/2010

Customer review by jgjgjg

5.0 stars 12/4/2010 by jgjgjg
by jgjgjg

Since I own over 300 VHS Movies I constantly use my 3 VCRs. These Head Cleaners are invaluable to keeping my VCRs working properly and insuring that I am taping "clean"copies of programs. The one place I can always find them is at Walmart.com. The service is Great and the Price is a Real Bargain. Please, Keep on stocking this product since - contrary to most retailers beliefs - many of your customers are still using VCRs. I appreciate the fact that Walmart gets this concept!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jgjgjg
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 157 total reviews
1-20 of 157 reviews