Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 183 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

183 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

183 reviews | 3 out of 5

55%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
67
4 stars
31
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 stars
76
1-20 of 143 total reviews
55%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 143 total reviews
1-20 of 143 reviews
VCR Head Cleaner
7/29/2009

Customer review by sammybuy

4.0 stars 7/29/2009 by sammybuy
by sammybuy

Fine basic head cleaner that does not use a liquid. Maxell states that it can be used up to 100 times. Plays a left right channel test while cleaning. As far as I can tell, it works fine at cleaning the heads.

Was this review helpful? (43) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sammybuy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
Good Head Cleaner
12/27/2010

Customer review by VCROwner

5.0 stars 12/27/2010 by VCROwner
by VCROwner

I had a VCR that was dirty from an old tape, when I used the head cleaner it cleared lines in the video signal right up.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VCROwner
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Did Not Work!!
3/24/2014

Customer review by LovingEveryMinuteMom

1.0 stars 3/24/2014 by LovingEveryMinuteMom
by LovingEveryMinuteMom

I have bought the Maxell Dry Video Head Cleaner in the past and loved it. Even lasted well past the 100 uses. My last one (that I had for years upon years) finally was getting overworked so I look to see if they still made them. I was glad to find they did, but concerned that the packaging was not the same and the reviews were so terrible. Decided to go ahead and try anyway. I didn't have to use it for a while (hence the reason I was unable to return# but when I did, it did the same as the most other reviewers. It would not play at all, sounded like a screeching noise #like it could not be played#, and then turned off my VCR!! It cleaned nothing, did not work #I tried it a few more times just to make sure and am grateful it did not ruin my VCR#, and had to throw it away!! Try to find a different solution! This is not like the great Maxell Cleaner we were used to in the past! Apparently quality if no longer a concern if it is for VCR's! :# I wish I would have spent my money more wisely!! I don't know why but this review is putting # symbols in place of most of my parenthesis.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LovingEveryMinuteMom
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Hard to find, worth it though.
7/22/2009

Customer review by RebaJr

5.0 stars 7/22/2009 by RebaJr
by RebaJr

this item is hard to find due to everything going blue-ray these days. but if you still have some old VHS tapes that you like to view and the VCR is a little cloudy, this will clear it up.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RebaJr
Terre Haute, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
12/30/2009

Customer review by DSLB

5.0 stars 12/30/2009 by DSLB
by DSLB

Great price - arrived asap - great product!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DSLB
Ballwin, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
It does not work
12/2/2013

Customer review by rockingraver09

1.0 stars 12/2/2013 by rockingraver09
by rockingraver09

It turned off in 3 seconds and I had to take apart my VCR/TV combo to get the tape out. Never again.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rockingraver09
Spokane, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Not as advertised
11/13/2013

Customer review by Oldster1

1.0 stars 11/13/2013 by Oldster1
by Oldster1

This item clearly states on the box in the picture that there are ON SCREEN instructions. My previous Maxwell dry VCR cleaners had this feature. The maxwell dry VCR cleaner I received does NOT have on screen instructions and has messed up my VCR. Grrrrrrrrr

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Oldster1
Weslaco, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Different item sent than pictured
3/30/2014

Customer review by Rsnt

2.0 stars 3/30/2014 by Rsnt
by Rsnt

I was hoping to get the item pictured but instead got same type of product but not the one I wanted. This cleaner comes with no instructions whatsoever, written or audio. The only way I "think" it's cleaning is the grating sound I hear when tape is playing. Also it seems you have to rewind after each cleaning and no instruction as to how often this can be done. Very disappointed,especially since the one pictured I have owned before and IT works flawlessly.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rsnt
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Thank You Walmart!
12/4/2010

Customer review by jgjgjg

5.0 stars 12/4/2010 by jgjgjg
by jgjgjg

Since I own over 300 VHS Movies I constantly use my 3 VCRs. These Head Cleaners are invaluable to keeping my VCRs working properly and insuring that I am taping "clean"copies of programs. The one place I can always find them is at Walmart.com. The service is Great and the Price is a Real Bargain. Please, Keep on stocking this product since - contrary to most retailers beliefs - many of your customers are still using VCRs. I appreciate the fact that Walmart gets this concept!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jgjgjg
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
poor quality
11/27/2013

Customer review by saleswatcher2

1.0 stars 11/27/2013 by saleswatcher2
by saleswatcher2

i used the cleaner and it made screeching noise and when i went to play a tape I couldn't get a picture. then in my other vcr the tape unwound. will never buy this brand again.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
saleswatcher2
canton,oh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not worth it.
11/8/2013

Customer review by DaveT54

1.0 stars 11/8/2013 by DaveT54
by DaveT54

I tried it in my first VCR and mad a scratching noise and tape reel stuck in VCR. Tried again same results. Played a regular tape and that didn't happen. Doesn't seem to be working. Not even worth taking it back to Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DaveT54
Elkton,md
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor quality
12/6/2013

Customer review by EscapeMe

1.0 stars 12/6/2013 by EscapeMe
by EscapeMe

I used 1 of each of these head cleaners in 2 VCR's. This product tangled up in both VCR's, never went through a cycle and now neither VCR works. I am now stuck with 2 non working VCR's; I did get my $10.00 back; a drop in the bucket for what I lost.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EscapeMe
FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best tape cleaner ever made.
11/11/2013

Customer review by riverbanksailer

5.0 stars 11/11/2013 by riverbanksailer
by riverbanksailer

If this tape cleaner cannot fix the problem, it's probably time to toss the VHS tape player.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
riverbanksailer
Hancock County, Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Still trying ...
7/11/2014

Customer review by GoldieOK

2.0 stars 7/11/2014 by GoldieOK
by GoldieOK

I have a old [don't we all] Panansonic VCR. I notice the lines coming up indicating dirty heads. I bought the dry version of a head cleaner b/c it has worked in the past [early 2000s] They weren't maxell but if figured i give it a shot. I used it several times [at various speeds] and while it has improved the integrity of the image, the lines still popped in from minimal at the top, to semi-severe to the middle of the screen. it doesn't last long but it still impedes the enjoyment of watching the tape. I run the cleaner after every viewing in the hopes it will clean the heads better....so far it has helped only slightly. I think I'll try a wet version and see if that helps

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GoldieOK
Gulfport, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Doesn't Work and Almost Damaged my VCR
6/20/2014

Customer review by ProudVCROwner

1.0 stars 6/20/2014 by ProudVCROwner
by ProudVCROwner

This is the second one of these head cleaners I tried. The first time the tape failed to move in the VCR and I returned it. Thinking it was that I just got a bad one I tried again and this time the tape also didn't move and to make matters worse, when I went to try playing my VCR again, there was no picture alternating with black and white bands of squiggly lines that covered the screen--seemed the head cleaner tape deposited some residue on the VCR heads and it was way worse than before I used it. We had to take apart the VCR on our own and clean the heads using rubbing alcohol following a video we found on YouTube about how to clean the heads on your VCR and after doing that the picture came back. But that was extra work and drama we were not looking for. I would not buy this product and it's going back to Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ProudVCROwner
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Save Your Money!
1/20/2014

Customer review by ReallyRed33

1.0 stars 1/20/2014 by ReallyRed33
by ReallyRed33

This Maxell Dry VHS Head Cleaner did not work at all. Tried it in several vcrs. Wouldn't even turn, let alone clean anything. Plan to return it -- total waste of money.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ReallyRed33
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
worked great
11/22/2013

Customer review by MVTOM

5.0 stars 11/22/2013 by MVTOM
by MVTOM

Was easy to use and worked perfectly. my VCR now has a clean picture again.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MVTOM
Mission Viejo, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect Answer to Dirty Video Heads
6/14/2014

Customer review by vidserv

5.0 stars 6/14/2014 by vidserv
by vidserv

This dry cleaner is effective 95% of the time so it is not necessary to use a messy wet head cleaner. That's the good news. The bad news is no one is making either anymore so if you find one at Walmart, grab it!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vidserv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
VCR cleaner did not work at all.
3/5/2014

Customer review by hwy43

1.0 stars 3/5/2014 by hwy43
by hwy43

When I placed the VCR cleaner in my VCR, it would shut my machine down. It would not play at all.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hwy43
Hammond, Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
not so sure it does anything
7/19/2012

Customer review by chazzy79

1.0 stars 7/19/2012 by chazzy79
by chazzy79

the tape plays around 15 seconds or so and is at its end, no indication of improvement on tv screen. wish I could find the old maxell vhs cleaner I once had that played a short video and one can actually watch improvement as it plays.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chazzy79
MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
1-20 of 143 total reviews
1-20 of 143 reviews