Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 183 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

183 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

183 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
124
4 stars
40
3 stars
10
2 stars
6
1 stars
3
1-20 of 175 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 175 total reviews
1-20 of 175 reviews
Great Camera!
6/3/2009

Customer review by RAK16

5.0 stars 6/3/2009 by RAK16
by RAK16

I bought this camera the day before I left on my honeymoon without even seeing it in person. It looked great online and is even nicer in person. Very good purchase! I had a Kodak before and this Canon is a better camera all around. Very easy to use, great zoom, the flash is wonderful (especially in dark spaces), automatically chooses the setting (people, landscape, sunset, if flash is needed, etc.) Has face and blink detection, and nice LCD screen. The zoom goes out quite a ways, and for all of the features, it's a camera that still fits great in my purse. It is a bit heavier than my Kodak camera, but once you get used to the camera, you don't even notice the weight. I would recommend this camera to those who want a nice camera with a large zoom - but thats not too big in size.

Was this review helpful? (123) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RAK16
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Awesome Zoom
7/8/2009

Customer review by cduke1964

5.0 stars 7/8/2009 by cduke1964
by cduke1964

The camara is light, easy to use and the pictures are great. With the 12x zoom I was able to catch the beautiful sunset in Cancun Mexico. Iguanas are on the side of the road sunning. Spectacular!

Was this review helpful? (32) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cduke1964
St Charles, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Worth every dollar!! EXCELLENT camera.
9/12/2009

Customer review by TMhappy

5.0 stars 9/12/2009 by TMhappy
by TMhappy

I have had a Kodak Easyshare for the past 8 years. I finally needed a new camera and wanted a camera with a great zoom but that was easy to use. I researched reviews on EVERY brand of camera and compared all prices for what you get with the camera, etc. This was one of the only cameras that had 5/5 stars on every site along with great reviews. I have had my camera for about a month & I LOVE it. I love that it has alot of options for settings (night setting, beach setting, portrait, etc) but that you can still get great pictures if you are just using the standard "auto" setting. I love that right on the camera you can crop, fix red eye, change the colors (black & white, sepia, etc) & that you can take pictures where only certain objects are color & the rest of the picture is black and white. I made sure to wait and really use the camera before I wrote a review, because I wanted to give a completely accurate review. If you are looking for a great camera at a great price, this is it! The zoom is AMAZING! The quality & colors are amazing as well. I would def. recommend this camera to anyone! The sample pictures I have provided were taken from across a football field. I was able to easily zoom in to get these great pictures!

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TMhappy
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
6/23/2009

Customer review by Turini

5.0 stars 6/23/2009 by Turini
by Turini

I am very pleased with the camera. I would reccomend the camera for any one. I have not had the camera but 1 1/2 monthes. I am still experimenting with it The only thing that I dislike about the camera is if you do not use the date when you take the pucture,you can not put but one date on all the the pictures. I have not found a way; there may be a way but I have not found it. Like I said I have only had the camera a little while. This is the only compaint I have. The more I use the camera the more I love it!! I am having fun experimenting with the camera. I have just learnied how to take videos.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Turini
Hortense Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Buy!!
7/17/2009

Customer review by luvbug2281

5.0 stars 7/17/2009 by luvbug2281
by luvbug2281

We had a sony power shot and the pictures always or well most of the time came out, out of focus. So when I dropped it I called Sony and it was going to cost just as much as I bought it for to fix it. So I decided to look for a new camera. I'm a point and shoot kind of person so I needed something with lots of different modes and I also needed a great zoom. This camera has it all and the pictures come out so clear and crisp. It also fits into my bag a little bigger then some of the others, but still goes in to my purse. I love this camera and I'm always going to buy a Cannon. It even has a kids/Pet mode. How cool is that??

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
luvbug2281
Or.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Superb-Picture Quality
11/21/2009

Customer review by ocdrumguy

5.0 stars 11/21/2009 by ocdrumguy
by ocdrumguy

I just recently used this camera at a work-party event and when I showed the finished product/pictures to co-workers via e-mail, I received a lot of positive feedback. Many people asked if I used the expensive, company Nikon; they were surprised when I told them I used my personal digital camera and then asked what camera I owned. Very cool. This camera takes excellent pictures with its wide-angle lens. Face detection is spot-on! Images are bright, colorful, and super-clear. Colors stand out vividly, especially when using vivid color mode. The huge, cannon-looking barrel of a lens is sweet. Camera is very nice to look at; very asthetically pleasing on the eye (brushed aluminum, curves, and intricate chrome accents). Video is super-crisp and clear. Microphone picks up as a condensor mic would. HUGE, 3" LCD is amazingly clear, bright, and perfect in displaying color. *I would not recommend this for a loud concert setting, however. That's the main reason I bought this camera (to shoot HD video at concerts) and is the only reason it did not meet my expectations. The microphone is EXTREMELY sensitive, which can be good for recording acoustic guitar concerts, childrens' school plays, or other events where there is not "loud music." I experienced an incredible amount of audio distortion when I took this to a rock concert. An SD1100, or 1200, is a better choice if you are going to go to a concert, or somewhere that might be very loud; you will not get audio distortion with those; I own an SD1100, as well and have taken it to many concerts and filmed at the front of the stage. Also, video format is saved in .MOV files, which is relative to Apple. If you don't have QuickTime, you will need to download it, which is different from the typical Windows Media player .AVI format that the SD1xxx series uses. Overall, I give this camera 5-stars, even though I'm not happy with the audio recording in video mode; I still feel that Canon gives an excellent product and package with this camera; semi-professional looking pictures, extremely easy-to-use when using "AUTO-mode", but also very easy to use in "MANUAL-mode", as well. You just can't beat the picture quality with any other Point-and-Shoot camera, in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ocdrumguy
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great camera!
6/9/2009

Customer review by Musik

5.0 stars 6/9/2009 by Musik
by Musik

I own this camera for a couple of weeks and so far I'm very happy with it! I's a bit larger then I was expected and pop-up flash makes handling a bit unconvinient but the quality of pictures and possibility of this camera makes it the best in its class!

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Musik
Stoughton, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Pictures
8/12/2009

Customer review by Wolfsca

5.0 stars 8/12/2009 by Wolfsca
by Wolfsca

I haven't had a camera in years. This camera is great and tasks great pictures. It is extremely easy to use. I wish it was a little bit bigger because I have big thick hands and it's size sometimes makes it difficult to manipulate.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wolfsca
Norwich, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Photography
3/9/2010

Customer review by TheSheff

5.0 stars 3/9/2010 by TheSheff
by TheSheff

This camera was realy worth waiting for, with 12.1 Megapixels, 12 times zoom, ease of handling and setting and great results and pic's. Love it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheSheff
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
NICE!!
12/21/2009

Customer review by ShutterBug4RyleeBug

5.0 stars 12/21/2009 by ShutterBug4RyleeBug
by ShutterBug4RyleeBug

I've been in the market to buy a new camera since the birth of my little girl. As a parent, I want to capture every milestone, and try to preserve these wonderful times. This camera has been great so far, I love the details that you notice with a higher megapixel camera, and the zoom is out of this world! I can't wait to take pictures of my older child's sports activities to really test it!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShutterBug4RyleeBug
Northern Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome camera
7/27/2009

Customer review by Netters56

5.0 stars 7/27/2009 by Netters56
by Netters56

PROS: The camera takes wonderful pictures and I think it's really easy to use but I have always stuck with Canon's. Several family and friends have asked me where I got my camera. I think the size and the weight of the camera are perfect. Video is great. Love it, love it, love it! CONS: The auto flash pop-up can be annoying and I am still getting used to it. My finger always seems to be in they way. I wouldn't trade this camera for any other though.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Netters56
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Canon PowerShot
9/30/2009

Customer review by caryb

5.0 stars 9/30/2009 by caryb
by caryb

This camera takes fantastic pictures. It's slightly bigger than most of the compact point and shoots and doesn't fit in the pocket very well, but the quality of pictures more than make up for that. The lens is superb, 12x optical is amazing for a point and shoot. The only issue I have with the Canon PowerShot SX-200-IS is that the flash is in an awkward location. It pops up right were my left hand index finger seems to be naturally positioned, so when turning the camera on, my finger hinders the flash from opening. I'm sure after a few more uses this will be a non-existent problem, once I've become accustomed to the location. Overall, this is a definite buy...

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
caryb
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Easy to use.
1/30/2010

Customer review by JBlazze

5.0 stars 1/30/2010 by JBlazze
by JBlazze

This is a very nice camera for the money. I get high quality pictures with this camera.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JBlazze
Iraq
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Looks. Slow Camera.
9/12/2009

Customer review by iowa2cali

2.0 stars 9/12/2009 by iowa2cali
by iowa2cali

Loved the retro look of this camera, and the picture quality was great, but the shutter speed was too slow for me. I ended up with blurry pictures and missed shots because it took forever for the camera to snap the photo. I ended up returning the camera within a couple days. Plus... it cost too much for such headaches.

Was this review helpful? (6) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
iowa2cali
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Excellent Product!!!
1/27/2010

Customer review by lovephotography101

5.0 stars 1/27/2010 by lovephotography101
by lovephotography101

This camera takes excellent photos. It's user friendly and I highly recommend this camera.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovephotography101
Tamarac, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
great camera
12/29/2009

Customer review by mrimpala

5.0 stars 12/29/2009 by mrimpala
by mrimpala

meets all expectations. easy to use and takes great close ups and the telephoto is assume.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrimpala
idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT CAMERA!
8/12/2009

Customer review by MAER

5.0 stars 8/12/2009 by MAER
by MAER

I've purchased several camera's over the years, and this camera is by far the best! it has amazing zoom and picture quality. it's light and easily fits in my purse, that's what i love. i am so happy i bought this camera, it exceeded my expectations.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MAER
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great camera
3/8/2010

Customer review by gunsmith1955

5.0 stars 3/8/2010 by gunsmith1955
by gunsmith1955

I purchased this camera mainly for its optical zoom and I am truly pleased with the camera so far . The picture quality is excellent and the 12x zoom is great . I like the size of the camera and the controls are easy enough to use . I would have liked to have some type of material added to the body of the camera to help grip it better as it can be a little hard to get a grip on . Overall I feel this is an excellent camera for the price .

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gunsmith1955
Pittsburgh Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
best point and shoot digital camera
1/3/2010

Customer review by postalsteve

5.0 stars 1/3/2010 by postalsteve
by postalsteve

The sx-200is has it all. 1. large lcd display 2. lots of MP for great pictures 3. lots of optical zoom to get up close and personal 3. best price for all you get in this small easy to use camera

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
postalsteve
St. Charles, MO.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great camera
3/17/2010

Customer review by Waglock

5.0 stars 3/17/2010 by Waglock
by Waglock

This is a great camera at a great price. I went from a Kodak 5 MP to this 12 MP with 12X optical zoom. I haven't had alot of time to experiment with this camera yet, but so far I love it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Waglock
Danville, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 175 total reviews
1-20 of 175 reviews