Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 183 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

183 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

183 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
124
4 stars
40
3 stars
10
2 stars
6
1 stars
3
1-20 of 175 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 175 total reviews
1-20 of 175 reviews
Worth every dollar!! EXCELLENT camera.
9/12/2009

Customer review by TMhappy

5.0 stars 9/12/2009 by TMhappy
by TMhappy

I have had a Kodak Easyshare for the past 8 years. I finally needed a new camera and wanted a camera with a great zoom but that was easy to use. I researched reviews on EVERY brand of camera and compared all prices for what you get with the camera, etc. This was one of the only cameras that had 5/5 stars on every site along with great reviews. I have had my camera for about a month & I LOVE it. I love that it has alot of options for settings (night setting, beach setting, portrait, etc) but that you can still get great pictures if you are just using the standard "auto" setting. I love that right on the camera you can crop, fix red eye, change the colors (black & white, sepia, etc) & that you can take pictures where only certain objects are color & the rest of the picture is black and white. I made sure to wait and really use the camera before I wrote a review, because I wanted to give a completely accurate review. If you are looking for a great camera at a great price, this is it! The zoom is AMAZING! The quality & colors are amazing as well. I would def. recommend this camera to anyone! The sample pictures I have provided were taken from across a football field. I was able to easily zoom in to get these great pictures!

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TMhappy
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Awesome Zoom
7/8/2009

Customer review by cduke1964

5.0 stars 7/8/2009 by cduke1964
by cduke1964

The camara is light, easy to use and the pictures are great. With the 12x zoom I was able to catch the beautiful sunset in Cancun Mexico. Iguanas are on the side of the road sunning. Spectacular!

Was this review helpful? (32) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cduke1964
St Charles, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great camera!
6/9/2009

Customer review by Musik

5.0 stars 6/9/2009 by Musik
by Musik

I own this camera for a couple of weeks and so far I'm very happy with it! I's a bit larger then I was expected and pop-up flash makes handling a bit unconvinient but the quality of pictures and possibility of this camera makes it the best in its class!

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Musik
Stoughton, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
NICE!!
12/21/2009

Customer review by ShutterBug4RyleeBug

5.0 stars 12/21/2009 by ShutterBug4RyleeBug
by ShutterBug4RyleeBug

I've been in the market to buy a new camera since the birth of my little girl. As a parent, I want to capture every milestone, and try to preserve these wonderful times. This camera has been great so far, I love the details that you notice with a higher megapixel camera, and the zoom is out of this world! I can't wait to take pictures of my older child's sports activities to really test it!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShutterBug4RyleeBug
Northern Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The best digital camera ever!
3/26/2010

Customer review by JSchultz

5.0 stars 3/26/2010 by JSchultz
by JSchultz

I bought this camera a few weeks ago and have been using it almost every day... and, I have to say, Canon truly outdid themselves on this one. Superior image quality/workability, and a boatload of features I couldn't find on any other camera in the $250-$350 price range. At first, the menu and function controls are hard to master. Once you get the hang of it, though, you will be shooting like a pro.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JSchultz
Baltimore, Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
12/14/2009

Customer review by vsbmark

4.0 stars 12/14/2009 by vsbmark
by vsbmark

Have had a number of Canon digital cameras. This one to replace an older 4 AA battery flash card model. Rechargeable batteries are an advantage. The features and operation of this model for the price are well worth it. Good value.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vsbmark
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Buy!!
7/17/2009

Customer review by luvbug2281

5.0 stars 7/17/2009 by luvbug2281
by luvbug2281

We had a sony power shot and the pictures always or well most of the time came out, out of focus. So when I dropped it I called Sony and it was going to cost just as much as I bought it for to fix it. So I decided to look for a new camera. I'm a point and shoot kind of person so I needed something with lots of different modes and I also needed a great zoom. This camera has it all and the pictures come out so clear and crisp. It also fits into my bag a little bigger then some of the others, but still goes in to my purse. I love this camera and I'm always going to buy a Cannon. It even has a kids/Pet mode. How cool is that??

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
luvbug2281
Or.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Superb-Picture Quality
11/21/2009

Customer review by ocdrumguy

5.0 stars 11/21/2009 by ocdrumguy
by ocdrumguy

I just recently used this camera at a work-party event and when I showed the finished product/pictures to co-workers via e-mail, I received a lot of positive feedback. Many people asked if I used the expensive, company Nikon; they were surprised when I told them I used my personal digital camera and then asked what camera I owned. Very cool. This camera takes excellent pictures with its wide-angle lens. Face detection is spot-on! Images are bright, colorful, and super-clear. Colors stand out vividly, especially when using vivid color mode. The huge, cannon-looking barrel of a lens is sweet. Camera is very nice to look at; very asthetically pleasing on the eye (brushed aluminum, curves, and intricate chrome accents). Video is super-crisp and clear. Microphone picks up as a condensor mic would. HUGE, 3" LCD is amazingly clear, bright, and perfect in displaying color. *I would not recommend this for a loud concert setting, however. That's the main reason I bought this camera (to shoot HD video at concerts) and is the only reason it did not meet my expectations. The microphone is EXTREMELY sensitive, which can be good for recording acoustic guitar concerts, childrens' school plays, or other events where there is not "loud music." I experienced an incredible amount of audio distortion when I took this to a rock concert. An SD1100, or 1200, is a better choice if you are going to go to a concert, or somewhere that might be very loud; you will not get audio distortion with those; I own an SD1100, as well and have taken it to many concerts and filmed at the front of the stage. Also, video format is saved in .MOV files, which is relative to Apple. If you don't have QuickTime, you will need to download it, which is different from the typical Windows Media player .AVI format that the SD1xxx series uses. Overall, I give this camera 5-stars, even though I'm not happy with the audio recording in video mode; I still feel that Canon gives an excellent product and package with this camera; semi-professional looking pictures, extremely easy-to-use when using "AUTO-mode", but also very easy to use in "MANUAL-mode", as well. You just can't beat the picture quality with any other Point-and-Shoot camera, in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ocdrumguy
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great ZOOM!
3/30/2010

Customer review by Qigong

5.0 stars 3/30/2010 by Qigong
by Qigong

Love this camera. This is replacing an old 35mm Canon Powershot. The zoom is fantastic and you can still fit it in your pocket. Yes there is a delay in the method you use to take pic so I wouldn't reccommend for high speed shots.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Qigong
Chesterton,IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Camera!
6/3/2009

Customer review by RAK16

5.0 stars 6/3/2009 by RAK16
by RAK16

I bought this camera the day before I left on my honeymoon without even seeing it in person. It looked great online and is even nicer in person. Very good purchase! I had a Kodak before and this Canon is a better camera all around. Very easy to use, great zoom, the flash is wonderful (especially in dark spaces), automatically chooses the setting (people, landscape, sunset, if flash is needed, etc.) Has face and blink detection, and nice LCD screen. The zoom goes out quite a ways, and for all of the features, it's a camera that still fits great in my purse. It is a bit heavier than my Kodak camera, but once you get used to the camera, you don't even notice the weight. I would recommend this camera to those who want a nice camera with a large zoom - but thats not too big in size.

Was this review helpful? (123) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RAK16
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Canon Please Do Better
10/12/2009

Customer review by Jaybo

2.0 stars 10/12/2009 by Jaybo
by Jaybo

After a month of trying different setttings trying to improve picture quality, I finally gave up and returned it. While some images were superb, most were off slightly - a little blur, hazy or colors were washed. This is my seventh Canon non-SLR camera.The SD870 was by far my favorite and it took better pictures more consistently even on Auto. Though the one area that the SX200 did well was with the zoom - far superior to other cameras in this range. I replaced the SX200 with the A2000IS. Initial results are promising though it has some negative issues like flash recycle time. Picture quality is most important to me and the first few pics appear to be good. It's cheaper a little smaller than the SX200 too. Canon, please bring back the SD870! 8 or 10 megapixels for small cameras is all you want, beyond that you compromise picture quality with too much noise. All or most of the new SD cameras are 12MP. I think Canon finally understands, the flagship G10 had 14MP and the new G11 has 10....

Jaybo
Westchester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Decent Camera With Some Faults...
5/27/2009

Customer review by LastTreeOnEarth

4.0 stars 5/27/2009 by LastTreeOnEarth
by LastTreeOnEarth

The build, style, manual controls and HD video are excellent qualities of this camera. However, there's no SuperFine picture quality setting and yes, I can tell the difference between SF and Fine with past Powershot cameras. The flash pops up upon power-up and that's fine. The problem is that it stays up. A firmware should be released that would make the camera deploy the flash ONLY if the flash was selected the last time the camera was used. Also, if the flash is not selected, the flash should return the the retracted position and remain so until selected again. As for someone who likes to sneak cameras into concerts, this camera is a bit of a disappointment for me. Unlike past Powershot models, the built-in mike cannot handle the loud volume of a show. I have owned the SD 1000, SD850, SD870, SD880, SD770 and now the SD780 and the sound is real nice. The SX200 simply cannot handle it. Otherwise, this is a great travel camera when you don't want to lug your SLR and lenses around.

LastTreeOnEarth
Anchorage, AK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Camera
2/19/2010

Customer review by miningdolphin

5.0 stars 2/19/2010 by miningdolphin
by miningdolphin

I was looking for a subcompact digital camera with an optical zoom of at least 10x, and decided on this camera. I just returned from a two week trip to Europe, and after seeing the photos this camera produced, I am glad I chose this camera over other ones in its category! The pictures turned out amazingly sharp and clear, especially when using the full 12x optical zoom. The flash is very powerful. I can take pictures in pitch black darkness, and with the flash out I can still get a clear, bright picture. One downside to this camera is it usually tries to focus on something just next to the main object you are trying to take a picture of. Nevertheless, the pictures still turned out very nicely. The camera is a little bulky. In an era of smaller is better, this is one of the larger digital cameras out there. On the flipside, it is one of the smaller cameras with a 12x zoom. Overall, I would HIGHLY recommend this camera to anyone looking for a small camera with a great zoom.

miningdolphin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
6/23/2009

Customer review by Turini

5.0 stars 6/23/2009 by Turini
by Turini

I am very pleased with the camera. I would reccomend the camera for any one. I have not had the camera but 1 1/2 monthes. I am still experimenting with it The only thing that I dislike about the camera is if you do not use the date when you take the pucture,you can not put but one date on all the the pictures. I have not found a way; there may be a way but I have not found it. Like I said I have only had the camera a little while. This is the only compaint I have. The more I use the camera the more I love it!! I am having fun experimenting with the camera. I have just learnied how to take videos.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Turini
Hortense Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good Quality Compact Camera
3/18/2010

Customer review by Brechin

5.0 stars 3/18/2010 by Brechin
by Brechin

I just recently purchased the SX200IS after having an EOS Rebel XS1. I chose the SX200 because it was smaller, and much easier to use on a regular basis. The SX200 has an equivalent zoom range as the EOS, utilizing the internal zoom lens, superior color display, remarkable clarity, and excellent flexibility in choosing settings. The learning curve is equivalent to learning to use the EOS style cameras, but once you get a handle on it, the SX200 provides extensive possibilities for superior photography. I found the auto pop-up flash a bit of a nuisance as it gets in the way when trying to hang on to the camera. The battery does not hold its charge for even a reasonable length of time, so it is important to have a spare. I am also having a challenge finding a carry bag that will hold the camera, battery, and mini tripod, as well as a neck strap to secure the camera. The slot to hold the strap is quite small in order to find a clip on style strap.

Brechin
Colorado Springs, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful prosumer point and shoot
8/24/2009

Customer review by Michael G

5.0 stars 8/24/2009 by Michael G
by Michael G

This is a very solidly built camera with a large array of options to create the desired pictures in-camera. Although it does not have a grip, it is very easy to hold securely - the curvature of the right side of the body and the rubber pad on the back of the camera do the trick. I would not necessarily recommend this camera to photographers who just want great pictures out of the box. The variety of adjustments can assure immaculate pictures, but they will need to be used occassionally to get the desired results. The learning curve to make full use of the camera could be quite a long one for true amateurs and lead them to be critical of the camera although it might not be designed for them. For those who wish to have a point and shoot but are also motivated to become "prosumers" over time and don't want a bulky DSLR-like camera, the SX200 IS might be the best choice, and if you like HD movies (albeit without optical zoom), the only choice.

Michael G
Maui, Hawaii
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So Dissapointed
5/3/2009

Customer review by Not an expert

3.0 stars 5/3/2009 by Not an expert
by Not an expert

I searched and searched and thought the reviews must have been wrong becuase in the store this camera seemed so cool. First off I am not an expert, I haven't owned a camera for years so maybe this camera was too advanced for me? I hated the LCD screen because it was not clear and it smudged as soon as I took it out of the box and I couldn't get it clean again. It worried me, the LCD did not seem durable. It was not easy to hold and was a little heavy. I took it back. Since then I bought the SX110IS and I love it. It is easy to hold and the LCD is very bright and clear and has not smudged a bit! It seems much more durable. I purchase it, put the batteries in and started shooting photos and video without even opening the instructions. Its a much nicer camera to me with about the same features; at least the features that are imprortant to me. And it's cheaper. I expected so much more out of the SX200 for a camera that costs this much.

Not an expert
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Camera
8/3/2010

Customer review by gtmskier

5.0 stars 8/3/2010 by gtmskier
by gtmskier

I am a novice photographer and was looking for an all around camera for the family. Also wanted greater zoom capabilities compared to earlier cameras that we owned. As far as I'm concerned, this camera has worked wonders. The AUTO setting is great if you just want to point and shoot, and the other settings such as landscape, portrait, etc. apparenty tweak settings 'behind the scenes' and I have rarely been disapointed with the results. We are now experimenting with the manual control features and having lots of fun! The micro setting for very close pics is a nice feature. The 12x optical zoom combined with the 12 mega pixels is something else. We were in Yosemite National Park last week, at the top of the valley at Glacier Point. My son zoomed in on some bikers on the valley floor (3,200 ft down, and about 2,000 out) and we could almost read the writing on their jerseys. Getting great shots and having lots of fun with this camera.

gtmskier
Phelps, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome Digital Camera
8/3/2009

Customer review by Amature Photographer

5.0 stars 8/3/2009 by Amature Photographer
by Amature Photographer

I can't say enough good things about this camera, the zoom is amazing! I recently went to Africa and was able to zoom in on animals over 500 feet away and they look like they are close up & crystal clear! Great image stabilization! Video--you can zoom in & out while shooting video! I couldn't do that with my last digital camera! High Definition pictures---get a good memory card the pictures are amazing that this camera takes! My only complaint would be sunsets...don't get me wrong the color is AMAZING, and it truly matches what you see in the sky if not making it even better...but, a few (not all) of my sunsets--the sun instead of being the nice orange it was it was almost white surrounded by the rest of the beautiful colors of the sunset? I even used the sunset setting? Maybe I have more to learn--could be operator error! All other pictures I am more than happy with, beautiful! Amazing camera, exceeded my expectations!!!!!!

Amature Photographer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
need to go back to drawing board
5/17/2009

Customer review by millie

3.0 stars 5/17/2009 by millie
by millie

I just purchased my third canon camera. Overall I have loved all my canon cameras and been upgrading since. Was so excited to start using my camera. I usually shoot always with my flash on and found it lag a few seconds before shooting the picture. However, the high 3200 iso was a fantastic feature during graduation when the lights were dimmed and my subject was far away. The zoom was excellent. I am disappointed on one thing on the camera- the location of the flash and that it always pops up when turned on. I have to get used to not having my finger on the top left hand of the camera. I gave the camera to my husband to take a picture and had to instruct him not to put his finger on the top left hand area of the body. He agreed that there is definitely a design flaw in that aspect. Overall, i am still learning how to use the camera. I went to an evening function but was not happy with the pics I took. It was the same as my previous canon and I was really looking for a small camera to take better night pics like at a wedding. Will keep practicing.

millie
agana, guam
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 175 total reviews
1-20 of 175 reviews