Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 49 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

49 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

49 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
38
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
1-20 of 34 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews
Amazing
2/17/2010

Customer review by Xanatos117

4.0 stars 2/17/2010 by Xanatos117
by Xanatos117

This game was released in January and is already being considered for Game of the Year 2010 in December. This game is good. Really good. If you have played Mass Effect 1, all of your decisions made will evolve the galaxy you play in in Mass Effect 2. ex: If you killed certain key characters, they won't appear in this game. Also, keep in mind most of the issues people had with the first game have been fixed in this one. The combat is much more streamlined, the characters are much moer rounded and developed, etc. The story is good, not exactly epic but pretty close. You end up creating relationships and friendships with all of your comrades, so if they die it can hit you pretty hard. I say "if" they die, because it changes depending on how you lead them. You gain their loyalty, they will take a bullet for you, and depending on the decisions you make throughout the entire game certain characters will be killed while others survive. My room mate had a completely different ending from mine which is intrigueing, and makes me want to play through it multiple times. There are a few issues like animation, and texture pop ins, as well as slight framerate issues. Same as in the first game, though they aren't as bad this time around. Overall a definate play. You can easily empty hours into this game.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Xanatos117
Pocatello, Id
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/10/2009

Customer review by JJWALLACE

5.0 stars 7/10/2009 by JJWALLACE
by JJWALLACE
Walmart associate

I was one of the fortunate ones to get the chance to demo this game. If you were a fan of the first game this will absolutly blow you away. And if you are a newcomer to the mass effect world there is an introduction for you. Kind of a (Previously on Mass Effect). If you are new to this game I would strongly reccomend Mass Effect for anyone. And at $20 it is practically a steal. The release for ME2 should be in the first quarter of next year. But the wait will definitly be worth it.

Was this review helpful? (32) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JJWALLACE
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Walmart associate
Best game ive ever played
10/10/2010

Customer review by linns

5.0 stars 10/10/2010 by linns
by linns

This game will suck you in right from the get-go. The story, just like the first games is amazing. The graphics are great, and the new combat system is much more stream-lined. If you liked/loved the first one, then BUY THIS GAME! really, its that good, and heck if you haven't played either of them, then buy them both! The way your character and choices transfer to the sequel is truly awesome. And the number of ways the game can end may leave you stunned by how different they are. the characters are very real feeling, and you can even grow to like them, and become sad if they die. over all, the action is amazing, the amount of different ways you can play and end the game are amazing, and will keep any RPG fan entertained for hours upon hours as you travel around the galexy fighting for the loyalty of the characters you accumulate, and search for answers to many questions. if you have actually read all of this, then go out and buy this game. now.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
linns
Hillsboro NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Amazing game!
5/5/2010

Customer review by CommanderShepard

5.0 stars 5/5/2010 by CommanderShepard
by CommanderShepard

Mass Effect 2 is a vast improvement over the original game which was a masterpiece in it's own right. I must say, having put 30 hours into this game, I may have to rank it as one of the top 3 games I have ever played, and I have played a lot of games. Bioware proves yet again they are THE premier RPG developer. By streamlining aspects of the first game that were cumbersome and totally overhauling the combat, the game plays more like a FPS than any RPG. However, the main RPG-like elements in the first game like leveling and the top-notch dialogue and story remain. The heavy RPG elements that existed from the first game like equipping each party member's armor and weapon upgrades have been done away with, and I think for the better. All in all the game on it's own stands as one of the finest achievements in gaming. Coupled with the story you personally crafted that imports from the first game, this game is one of a kind.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CommanderShepard
IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
ME2 MEETS ME1
2/5/2010

Customer review by TrekII

5.0 stars 2/5/2010 by TrekII
by TrekII
Walmart associate

If u liked ME1 u'll love ME2. The story line will grab u and pull u in like the frist and keep u guessing all the way!!! I love the game!

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TrekII
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Mass Effect 2 is the best title ever on Xbox
9/16/2014

Customer review by slouchycowman

5.0 stars 9/16/2014 by slouchycowman
by slouchycowman
Top 25 contributor

Mass Effect 2 is an amazing role playing game (RPG) and in my opinion its the best title that Xbox 360 has put out. This game has a great storyline and you will find yourself playing it over and over again to see the different outcomes. The game has great downloadable add-on content that only adds to the story. The exploration aspects of the game is great as well. I can't say enough good things about this game. If you like Science Fiction, Shooters, and or RPG's this game is for you, it has it all. Thank you for reading my review, if you have any questions feel free to email me, I would be happy to help you with any questions you have.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
slouchycowman
Glenville, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Top 25 contributor
Best RPG for the 360
2/23/2010

Customer review by prowl

5.0 stars 2/23/2010 by prowl
by prowl

this game will keep u playing for hours the only problem i had was scanning the planets and the is no online play(Live would be so kewl :) but other than that it is pretty fun u can play this game over and over again and never get bored

Was this review helpful? (2) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
prowl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Extreme Massive Effective (the game play)
6/28/2010

Customer review by WiseDrako

5.0 stars 6/28/2010 by WiseDrako
by WiseDrako
Walmart associate

I am very happy with this product and the intinsaty of the game. The wide open range of corses you can take to acheave so much in this multi not just planets, but solor systems and yes, even more. The range of game play has exedded my epectations and it is very easy to get caught up in this intense game. If The first one was on your favorits list, then prepare to make that list a little bit longer. The customiseable armor system is a great addition to an already flawless design of armors the first Mass Effect had to offer. I would recomind this game to anyone with a 360 and it is a must have game.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WiseDrako
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Amazing game
10/31/2010

Customer review by GameSleepRepeat

5.0 stars 10/31/2010 by GameSleepRepeat
by GameSleepRepeat

You'll enjoy this more if you've played Mass Effect, but don't let that discourage you from picking up this GREAT game blind. Engaging story, amazing graphics, and flawless voice acting make this a worthwile purchase at any price. I played it straight thru twice after buying it and replay value is high! Just make sure you play Shepard as a female at least once -- makes the story even more engaging with a strong female lead. Ability to import your character from Mass Effect enriches the experience, and if you topped level 60 in that save you start as level 5 in ME2.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GameSleepRepeat
MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Usage:A few times per year
VERY GOOD RPG
5/10/2010

Customer review by LJGIBBS

4.0 stars 5/10/2010 by LJGIBBS
by LJGIBBS

HAVING PLAYED MASS EFFECT MANY TIMES, I WAS LOOKING FORWARD TO MASS EFFECT 2 AND I'M NOT DISAPPOINTED. IT HAS MANY IMPROVEMENTS TO GAME PLAY AND FORWARDS THE STORY LINE NICELY. ME2 IS A BIGGER GAME THAN ME1 AND KEEPS THE ACTION MOVING SMOOTLY. TO GET THE MOST OUT OF ME2 I SUGGEST YOU PLAY THE ORIGINAL FIRST THEN IMPORT YOUR CHARACTER TO ME2 TO CONTINUE. I ALSO SUGGEST PLAYING THE GAME TWICE, ONCE AS THE PARAGON AND ONCE AS THE RENEGADE TO HAVE ALL OPPORTUNITIES AND SIDE QUESTS OPEN TO YOU. MY ONLY COMPLAINT IS I WISH IT HAD A FIRST PERSON VIEW OPTION.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LJGIBBS
LYNCHBURG, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
This game is truly amazing!
11/22/2011

Customer review by CasualFox101

5.0 stars 11/22/2011 by CasualFox101
by CasualFox101

The story is truly immense. When the first ME came out. I was kind of spectical (sp?). But a year after it came out, I decided to buy the Platinum Hits & give it a go. I got hooked immediately. The story is so rich & deep, full of detail. Graphics, Sound & Gameplay are all A+. This is my fav Sci-fi Action RPG's to play. Finished 4 playthroughs on ME & 2 playthroughs on ME2. Own all the DLC. I have a few unanswered Q's from ME1 & 2 regarding the Reapers & extinct races. When ME3 comes out, I'm hoping some will be answered.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CasualFox101
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
bo-ring
1/3/2011

Customer review by PoopChute

2.0 stars 1/3/2011 by PoopChute
by PoopChute

i purchased this game based on all the positive reviews. it has received 9/10 from every major review site. even at the bargain purchase price, this game has been a let-down. it has tons of dialogue that is supposed to intrigue the player into the story line, but they are absolutely mind numbing and non-essential. many times regardless of the choices made, the game continues on the same path; simply pointless. scanning planets for minerals becomes a tedious necessity at some point, that's when i called it quits.

Was this review helpful? (0) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PoopChute
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Like Gravity - It Draws You In
2/16/2010

Customer review by Fulltimer

5.0 stars 2/16/2010 by Fulltimer
by Fulltimer

It started out stilted and awkward, for me. I have no history with ME-1, but if I did it would take those decisions into consideration in the new game. Likewise, the game promises that the decisions you make in ME-2 will play out in ME-3. With every enjoyable hour of play, I get to like it better and better. Combat is third person and distant, but the story is rich (even a little too complicated sometimes). Great entertainment value for the buck.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fulltimer
Cleveland, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Perfect Example of Tweaking
2/22/2010

Customer review by IAreBacon

5.0 stars 2/22/2010 by IAreBacon
by IAreBacon
Walmart associate

This game has blown me away, I assumed it would simply be a repackaged version of the original with all the promises and none of the delivery. I was wrong. Actually, to be very blunt this version has taken all of the negative feedback (well the majority anyways) and adapted it to a completely new story line. Picture this, you remember the annoying combat system of the first one? Redone. Poor cover system in ME? Gone, they've went with the Army of Two/Gears of war approach. That's just the tip of the iceberg, they've enabled hotkeys for on the fly skill use as well as a track menu for Dragon Age-esque skill use. I will admit, this game is not NEARLY as deep in the storyline as the first was willing to go. But that's simply because players bought the game as a shooter, not the RPG it's intended to be. Also, in the beginning you may simply think, wow I'm playing Star Wars, and I'm Darth Vader.... Awesome! I'm pretty sure that wasn't the intention either.... All in all, the game is a fantastic hit for both RPG and Tactical Shooter players alike. (that's 3rd person, not FPS) The difficulty settings also ensure that you can play the game regardless of skill level and knowledge of it's predecessor; then again the same is for the reverse, you can ensure that you NEED to be tactical just to survive the first battle by upping the difficulty. The game is astounding, the graphics breathtaking, and the storyline is as always unparalleled. If you're looking for a Sci-fi shoot em up that allows you to dabble in RPG elements. ME2 is the game for you. Definitely worth the release price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IAreBacon
Martinsville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Game of the year 2010 for sure!
1/3/2011

Customer review by Mareeuh

5.0 stars 1/3/2011 by Mareeuh
by Mareeuh

Wonderful game, full of content, many long hours that come with this game, it is soooo much fun! Better than the first to me, I've Played 3 playthroughs and it still is fun! As many times as you play it, no one playthrough will be the same, Great graphics/ gameplay! 10 stars!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mareeuh
Brandon,FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
Best Campaign experience of any game
2/9/2011

Customer review by Marine18

5.0 stars 2/9/2011 by Marine18
by Marine18

No game has a better story than this game. It comes with two discs because of the amount of content. It doesn't have multiplayer in it. It has some good DLC as well. IGN gave this the 2010 game of the year award, if that says anything.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Marine18
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Beware platinum hits
9/2/2013

Customer review by NintenDan

1.0 stars 9/2/2013 by NintenDan
by NintenDan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The item description on this game did not specify it was platinum hits version. Also, game case inside was broken and disc was loose inside case throughout shipment. Very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NintenDan
Norwalk ct
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fantastic Sci Fi Game
1/4/2011

Customer review by JackJFG

5.0 stars 1/4/2011 by JackJFG
by JackJFG

Interesting story, challenging 3rd-person combat, fun (but relatively easy) minigames, and less tedious travel than ME1 make for a very fun game. Can't stop playing!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JackJFG
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Well worth the small price tag
11/18/2010

Customer review by TCH1

4.0 stars 11/18/2010 by TCH1
by TCH1

ME2 is a great game that is well worth the undersized price tag. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a thrilling single player story with in depth gameplay.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TCH1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
2/5/2010

Customer review by Weasel1963

5.0 stars 2/5/2010 by Weasel1963
by Weasel1963

This game has many more challenges than the first, but a much easier time with the sniper rifle. and no unlimited ammo, plus awesome graphics.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Weasel1963
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews