Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 153 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

153 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

153 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
91
4 stars
33
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 stars
19
1-20 of 125 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 125 total reviews
1-20 of 125 reviews
4/10/2012

Customer review by CoolestDude

5.0 stars 4/10/2012 by CoolestDude
by CoolestDude

Anyone who has problems with AT&T DSL dropping connection should get this modem. I've been with AT&T DSL for the last 3 years and using the Motorola 2210 modem. It been dropping connection intermittently once every 30-45 minutes within the last year and at that time the only modem carried in the Walmart store was the Motorola so I tried another Motorola 3360. That one also drop connection intermittently everyday at the same intervals every 30-45 minutes. Then I found this Actiontech GT701D on Walmart online and ordered it. It shipped to a local Walmart within 3 days. It works perfectly with the AT&T DSL no more connection dropping. Set up was easy. I connected this modem with the linksys wireless router. Set up this modem in bridge mode. Work smoothly ever since. The only thing I hope is that this modem still work after that new internet protocol IPV6 protocol suppose to be roll out in June 2010. Otherwise I think the manufacturer may come out with the firmware update for this modem. http://www.worldipv6day.org/

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CoolestDude
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
AT&T should switch to this
5/5/2010

Customer review by SuperDeals

5.0 stars 5/5/2010 by SuperDeals
by SuperDeals

Ordered on Monday and received it on Thursday. It replaced my Motorola 2210. Got tired of cycling power to restore repeating, dropped connections, and since it is now out of warranty I did not want to wait until it failed. This unit worked flawlessly out of the box with my AT&T DSL. Followed the Quick Start Guide, selected the Auto Configure Your Modem option, followed the on-screen instructions and I was surfing the Internet in less than 10 minutes. No IP address conflict with my Linksys router either. And it runs much cooler than the 2210. Comes with phone cable, Ethernet cable and power adapter. The dimensions listed must be for the box it comes in. The unit only measures 5”x3.5”x1.25”. Best little DSL modem out there, and cheaper than the 2210. If I have any problems now I’ll be pretty certain that it is AT&T and not the modem.

Was this review helpful? (60) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SuperDeals
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Used for AT&T DSL Without Phone Line
9/23/2010

Customer review by Ang75

5.0 stars 9/23/2010 by Ang75
by Ang75

I'm currently using this for my AT&T DSL with no phone line. It works great and was very easy to set up. Also, this is much cheaper than what AT&T charges for their modems. The only issue I noticed was from AT&T. They really try to push their modems and discourage use of other modems. I called them because they hadn't turned on the DSL for my new apartment. I had to call 3 times because the first 2 representatives kept on saying "we don't troubleshoot 3rd party modems" even though I kept explaining that the issue had nothing to do with the modem. The third guy finally got it connected for me and I was up and running. I've been using this for approx a month now and it works great.

Was this review helpful? (53) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ang75
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works with AT&T DSL
5/22/2009

Customer review by AJoyR

5.0 stars 5/22/2009 by AJoyR
by AJoyR

I had to buy this and use site-to-store since none of my local Walmarts carry any DSL modems. This was the cheapest I could find (Best Buy was the only other store to carry anything like this) and it works perfectly with my new AT&T service. Easy set-up (with clear instructions). NOTE: This package does not include the phone filters which must be purchased separately ONLY if you have local phone service- which we don't so we didn't need to make the additional purchases of the filters.

Was this review helpful? (121) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AJoyR
Fort Smith, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect for century link customers
1/22/2013

Customer review by Booksbythebushel

5.0 stars 1/22/2013 by Booksbythebushel
by Booksbythebushel
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I currently have Century Link DSL service, and purchased this to replace the clunky (slow) modem that was provided with my service. I was very nervous about how hard it would be to install this device. Wow! It took me less than 10 minutes! Very easy instructions. The only glitch was picking which Century Link (Actiontec has it listed as Century Tel) service I had. There were 2 choices for Century Tel so I had 50/50 odds of getting it right. The second one worked like a charm. Modem is hooked into my wireless router and running GREAT!

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Booksbythebushel
Versailles OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A product worth having!
5/13/2009

Customer review by jeannie2035

5.0 stars 5/13/2009 by jeannie2035
by jeannie2035

The product Actiontec Gateway modem was one of the best products that I have purchased from Wal-Mart. The service center has a 24\7 service tec to help you through it all. The service and the product both go hand in hand and was totally awsome! I would definitely buy this product all over again

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jeannie2035
paris,tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works great!
3/18/2014

Customer review by Birder25

5.0 stars 3/18/2014 by Birder25
by Birder25

Part of a multi-WAN network that contains: TP Link TL R470T Load Balanced Router, Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem, Actiontec GT701D DSL Gateway Modem, and TP Link TL SG1008 8-port Unmanaged Switch. All bought at Walmart. Setup required minimal effort and has been running error-free since it was installed over two weeks ago. Now we've got crazy FAST when the cable's up and DSL backup when the cable's down for nightly maintenance. Works great for this night-owl, power-using family. With just the DSL ISP and a 6-year-old 2-Wire DSL Gateway/Router, we were dropping about every 25th webpage. With the same DSL ISP and the new Actiontec DSL Gateway, we only dropped about 2 pages the entire week (before we received the rest of the parts and upgraded the entire system). I suspect the old 2-Wire went through one too many thunderstorms...something to think about, if you're sitting on the fence about replacing your modem.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Birder25
Keokuk, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The Actiontec DSL modem is easy to setup
8/15/2012

Customer review by Devsmi

5.0 stars 8/15/2012 by Devsmi
by Devsmi

The Actiontec DSL is a great value. It is affordable and it works well. Although it is easy to setup, I did contact support twice before it worked. The ISP server would not accept my password. I contacted Actiontec support. After several troubleshooting steps, the Actiontec support person concluded that I was using the wrong passpord to access my ISP. After contacting the ISP to confirm the password, I contacted Actiontec support again. Got a different Tech who repeated the same troubleshooting steps without success. Then the tech tried one additional step and I was then able to connect to the ISP server. If you encounter this issure here is a tip instead: of resetting the confuration parameters (as provided by the ISP), enter the wrong parameters, save them, and then reset to the factory defaults parameters, and then re-enter the correct parameters. Six weeks have passed without any problems. I am very pleased with the modem.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Devsmi
Puget Sound, Washington State
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Modem with 1 connection.
7/12/2010

Customer review by ITGeekMan

4.0 stars 7/12/2010 by ITGeekMan
by ITGeekMan

If you are using more than one computer you need a hub. If you want a wireless system, you can buy this unit and a "wireless router" that doesn't have a built in modem. Wireless routers usually provide four (3) physical connections to four wired computers.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ITGeekMan
Northern Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great
6/21/2012

Customer review by Seachicken

5.0 stars 6/21/2012 by Seachicken
by Seachicken

I was leasing the original from the phone company, it got so it went out several times a day while on the computer. Called Century Link and couldn't get them to commit to sending a new one, the Century Link agent actually told me he had "refreshed" it while talking to me, I guess we are to believe that Century Link's customer service people have a "refresh" button that makes the DSL modem all better, it didn't work, of course, so they lost a valuable customer, me. After comparing products and prices I ordered the new Modem from WalMart, thanks for the great price. We've had this new modem almost a month, it's doesn't take up the space that the old one did and it works great, I forgot how fast the DSL was suppose to be. I still work and need my computer for business.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Seachicken
Puyallup, Wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great modem with easy installation
9/29/2011

Customer review by walmartshopperdeluxe1

5.0 stars 9/29/2011 by walmartshopperdeluxe1
by walmartshopperdeluxe1

my cable company was going to charge me "rental" of $10 per month to utilize their modem. My modem will pay for itself in five short months and I will have worry free internet until the unit wears out...

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
walmartshopperdeluxe1
Alva, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Solid performer that does what it's designed to do
11/19/2011

Customer review by BallPython

5.0 stars 11/19/2011 by BallPython
by BallPython

The best technology products are the ones that you don't have to think about. They are just there unobtrusively doing what are designed to do. The Actiontec GT701D is such a product. I bought it as a replacement for a Westell modem I received from Verizon when I signed up for DSL service several years ago. Setup was straight forward following the instructions in the quick start guide. I later reconfigured it as a gateway to be used with a wireless router. To do that I reset the modem to its original factory settings and used the same browser-based start-up process as before. The Actiontec worked as expected as a modem and as a gateway.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BallPython
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does everything that it's supposed to do.
11/11/2013

Customer review by woodrun

5.0 stars 11/11/2013 by woodrun
by woodrun
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My only problem was not having the info from my ISP for their protocol. Actiontec assisted me in the program (simple) and was running in 10-15 minutes. Matches 660 from Embarq and Century Link to a Tee. Other than that, my routher (wire & wireless) work great. Didn't have to do anything to it. System not slowing down or dopping out.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
woodrun
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good replacement for a Motorola 2210 (AT&T)
3/12/2013

Customer review by Corisande

5.0 stars 3/12/2013 by Corisande
by Corisande
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Actiontec's modem is less expensive than purchasing a new modem from AT&T. It has good reviews and I saw other comments that it would work with AT&T's DSL service. Set up was easy once I called AT&T for my password. It works great and runs much cooler than the Motorola 2210 that AT&T insists on using. My internet continued to drop out for a while after I bought this modem but it turns out there was actually a problem with my line where it connects to the pole outside. Despite my internet problems not being not being related to my previous modem, I'm keeping the Actiontec modem because I believe it's far superior to the 2210. It does say on the box that it will not work with broadband internet from Cable Operators so you may want to keep that in mind.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Corisande
Memphis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great modem!
7/11/2011

Customer review by zacker3

5.0 stars 7/11/2011 by zacker3
by zacker3

Nice modem. Does not get hot as the Motorola/AT&T modem does. Doesn't need an external fan blowing on it to keep it going. Has not dropped off in almost 3 weeks that I've had it. I would highly recommend this unit over the Motorola. Read a lot of bad reviews about the Motorola including dead out of the box. Fairly easy to setup, no thanks to AT&T. Actiontec support was 'fantastic'. Just took a few minutes longer than I thought it would. It was worth every minute. The past 3 AT&T modems were constantly dropping off from day one until they just up and quit.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
zacker3
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Fast Delivery, Easy Setup, Cost Less
7/17/2012

Customer review by gleeisme

5.0 stars 7/17/2012 by gleeisme
by gleeisme

I have an older friend who's 81 yrs old. Her AT&T modem over a year old died. AT&T wanted over $100 to replace it. I went online and found it at Walmart. I found this one for $43.00, plus .99 cents to ship to my home. (7 to 10 days). It got here in two days, and I had it up and running for her in under an hour.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gleeisme
No. California, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Easy Install with AT&T
5/30/2012

Customer review by theputzz

5.0 stars 5/30/2012 by theputzz
by theputzz

I had to replace my Motorola 2210 from AT&T because I had to power cycle it every couple of days. My wife works from home so I wanted to replace it before it failed. I ordered this on a Monday and received it on Wednesday, at a cost of $.97. I used the Quick Start Guide and had an Internet connection within 20 minutes.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
theputzz
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great modem
7/10/2011

Customer review by KRChoctaw

4.0 stars 7/10/2011 by KRChoctaw
by KRChoctaw

My old AT&T DSL modem was beginning to fail, and I needed a replacement. This modem fit the bill: newest Intel chipset, nice and fast, and inexpensive. Ordering online from Walmart.com was easy, shipping to store. However, I never received the email letting me know it had arrived at my nearest store. I happened to go on my Walmart.com account and found it had arrived a week before (earlier than the estimated arrival time). Went to the store and picked it up. The modem was much smaller than my old one--takes up minimal desk space. When I went to connect it up, I was a little confused by the instructions and entered the wrong password, so it wouldn't connect. I called the Actiontec tech support line, and the rep walked me through the process very professionally and got it working. The modem has worked flawlessly. It does what it was designed to do. It's quick. In short, I'm very satisfied with this modem.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KRChoctaw
MS USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
woks awesome
11/17/2009

Customer review by DINO10

5.0 stars 11/17/2009 by DINO10
by DINO10

I HAVE HAD THIS MODEM FOR ABOUT A WEEK NOW. I HAD NO PROBLEN SETTING IT UP AND NO PROBLEM WITH THE CONNECTION. IF YOU ONLY NEED 1 ETHERNET PORT AND YOU HAVE ONLY ONE PC, THIS IS A GREAT PRODUCT.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DINO10
FORDSVILLE,KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product so far.
4/22/2010

Customer review by JesMe

5.0 stars 4/22/2010 by JesMe
by JesMe

Modem setup was effortless on my AT&T account. Very nice feature set, like hardware firewall, parental controls for websites and times for web surfing. I like it!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JesMe
NV.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 125 total reviews
1-20 of 125 reviews