Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 131 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

131 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

131 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
71
4 stars
45
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 stars
2
1-20 of 99 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 99 total reviews
1-20 of 99 reviews
Better than I Expected
2/27/2010

Customer review by Shand

5.0 stars 2/27/2010 by Shand
by Shand

Bought this guitar thinking it would be an Ebay sell if it didn't sound good. Boy was I wrong, this guitar sounds good, and I can play it easily. Trust me, if you have a son or daughter who is thinking about playing the guitar, this is the best starter guitar for them to learn on. And if your child wants to go further than the lessons in the 120 page book included, then as a parent shell out the dough to the guitar instructor or the broadband fees for the internet. No they don't have to buy the Guitar For Dummies 2nd Edition to play like the big boys. Have them learn under a patient guitar teacher and then they will learn to really play as long as they practice. Kudos to Kona for this giutar, but I have tow things to tell prospective buyers of this product. You will need two things to play and protect this guitar. 1. At least 3 sets of guitar strings (one set to put on this guitar once you buy it. Light guage is great for beginners) and a First Act Electronic Guitar Tuner from Wal-mart.com to tune the new set of guitar strings. The other two sets of guitar strings are for when you or your children wear out the first set of strings. 2. A padded gig bag for lugging the guitar to the guitar teacher or a friend's house to play. Or if you have the cash, a hardshell guitar case for an Acoustic Guitar. You don't want to have a 100+ dollars guitar broke by your teenage son or daughter who you bought it for, or you don't want to accidentally break it yourself. That would make you feel so low. I can't thinkj of anything else.

Was this review helpful? (208) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shand
Benton, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A Beautiful Instrument
9/2/2010

Customer review by MisoPretty

5.0 stars 9/2/2010 by MisoPretty
by MisoPretty

The Kona bundle is a wonderful value. It is an acoustic guitar, so the strings are metal. Classical guitars have the nylon strings. The enclosed tuner, which includes a AAA battery, works perfectly. You can only pluck one string at a time. Stop the sound, then move on to the next string. The enclosed book, "Guitar Basics for Dummies" is a "Special Edition" in other words an abridgement, BUT you will be able to play chords immediately. There is an enclosed CD-ROM, not a DVD or CD, but a CD-ROM which has only audio files, which can help you tune your guitar. You get three guitar picks, a special tool to adjust the neck (which I would suggest you not do unless you are a luthier or a professional guitarist), and a very nice bag, not padded, but it has a handle and two straps on the back, as well as front pouch where you can store the instruction book and picks. This is a guitar for older teens and adults. The metal strings are difficult, but you have to build up your calluses! BTW, I am a classical pianist, so I have some advantages in that I can read music and am able to tune the guitar using relative tuning. With shipping and taxes, this was a sub-$100 guitar and I could not be happier with this purchase. Yes, I need to get new strings, a foot stool would be nice (I am holding this as if it were a classical guitar), a guitar strap would be great, buy a capo, et cetera. But that is for later on. This would be a wonderful birthday gift for your husband, wife, boyfriend, girlfriend, or as a 5th anniversary wedding gift (wood). This guitar has a beautiful ringing tone and nice depth on the lower strings. This is an inexpensive way to make music and for you to find a hobby that is enriching and rewarding, and one that doesn't require electricity to create art!

Was this review helpful? (137) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MisoPretty
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Needs Modified
6/22/2009

Customer review by musiclover70

3.0 stars 6/22/2009 by musiclover70
by musiclover70

I bought this guitar for my son and it looked good. When I brought it home he opened it up and started tuning it with the tuner. (He's played guitar before.) He tuned the first two strings and he was tuning the third one and it snapped. On the FIRST DAY. Then he put it in the case and the zipper broke. If you want this guitar buy a different case and some better strings.

Was this review helpful? (177) (39)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
musiclover70
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Kickin' Package
12/18/2009

Customer review by aj40

4.0 stars 12/18/2009 by aj40
by aj40

I was eally surprised at the quality of the product considering the price. I purchased this product for a beginner. I didn't want to spend a lot on an instrument that he might lose interest in. This guitar gives him the perfect opportunity to assess his skills & abilty.

Was this review helpful? (76) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aj40
Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Value
9/7/2010

Customer review by BuytoMuch

5.0 stars 9/7/2010 by BuytoMuch
by BuytoMuch

This guitar is fine for someone who wants to start playing, but doesn't really know if they will even have time to learn. Why spend a ton of money on something that you are not really sure you will keep up with. This met all of my expectations and if I can learn and enjoy playing then maybe I'll get an expensive one. For now, this is perfect.

Was this review helpful? (31) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BuytoMuch
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Ok product
1/23/2010

Customer review by sprtsfnbrian

4.0 stars 1/23/2010 by sprtsfnbrian
by sprtsfnbrian

I gave as a gift 4 Christmas! The first time they unzipped the case, the zipper broke! But the guitar and package is great! PErfect size for tween! Overall I would recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (28) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sprtsfnbrian
WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1/2/2010

Customer review by yorxwife1

3.0 stars 1/2/2010 by yorxwife1
by yorxwife1

This is a good value for a first time guitar player. Sound is pretty good, action is nice. The neck is a little narrow, but overall, it was worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (29) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yorxwife1
Myrtle Beach, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Exceeded expectations!
4/15/2012

Customer review by Tiger7755

5.0 stars 4/15/2012 by Tiger7755
by Tiger7755

I hadn't played guitar for over 10 years, and was looking for something simple, decent quality, and inexpensive to ease my way back into it. (I've had acoustic guitars in past I spent several hundred dollars on, so really didn't expect much for the approximate $100 price tag for the Kona guitar through Walmart's website...) I was very pleasantly surprised!!! The Kona is well-crafted and sounds great!!! This is a wonderful guitar for beginners, those (like me) who want to get back into playing, and even for accomplished musicians as a "knock-around" acoustic... I especially recommend this for teenagers wanting to learn guitar; the body of this Kona is a little more compact than a lot of acoustics, so it "feels" better in your hands. (I'm a 110 pound, 5'3 female and have found a lot of acoustics can feel bulky or awkward...This guitar feels perfect!) The only negative I have to report is that the Kona doesn't have the housing to be able to attach a shoulder strap.... But, as long as you don't need to play standing up, it's an excellent buy...

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tiger7755
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not for dummies buy
12/9/2013

Customer review by Beechkomr

5.0 stars 12/9/2013 by Beechkomr
by Beechkomr

Learned to play way too many years ago. Wanted to give myself a new challenge in a new way. The old electric down from the rafters and dusted off was just a little too much to get going. Decided to look for something simpler to refresh myself on. I did plenty of shopping online and in person. There were plenty to chose from here. I was looking for simple cheap and easy. This guitar really fit the bill. It's not for "dummies" mind you. It's a great guitar. Plays and sounds good. Comes with all you'll need to learn to play. Nothing fancy. I'm having fun with it. The bag is plastic, it's better than nothing. The tuner couldn't be easier. The book is for the novice, the included cd gives some practical lessons. I can always use the picks. Perfect setup for new beginnings. You can't go wrong buying this product.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Beechkomr
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
a great package
9/28/2010

Customer review by lendawg1182

5.0 stars 9/28/2010 by lendawg1182
by lendawg1182

This guitar package is great for anyone wanting to learn to play guitar. Everything you need is included. The guitar looks and sounds great. I am extremley pleased.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lendawg1182
Kingsburg, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice for the money
10/4/2010

Customer review by Bigsurferdude

5.0 stars 10/4/2010 by Bigsurferdude
by Bigsurferdude

At first I did not think Walmart sold guitars. When I found this Kona guitar on their website for under 100 dollars - I automatically thought this has to a kids toy guitar. Looking over the specs and size - it is a full size guitar suitable for first time learners to get in at a budget price. Really nice guitars like Fender, Gibson etc.. would have cost me a arm and leg. If my children played guitar as a passing hobby...I would have been out of a few more hundred dollars and stuck with something i can't use. So for a low investment of about 85 dollars I can't go wrong and I am not out a fortune for another piece of decorative hardware. When I received it the first time - it was missing the tuner so I had to return it and re-order it again. The second time it came - everything was correct and included the guitar, tuner, training book and CD. My kids are happy and I am happy. More important - the sound is quite mellow and good. I would suggest this to anyone just testing the water and trying to keep the cost down.

Was this review helpful? (25) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bigsurferdude
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
My new guitar!!
10/23/2010

Customer review by clothesfanatic

5.0 stars 10/23/2010 by clothesfanatic
by clothesfanatic

It's a very fine guitar. The price was exceptional. The extras that were included made it an outstanding value. My husband took lessons in his teen years and was interested in playing again. The instruction booklet was very helpful in helping him get back into "the groove" again. He has been practicing every night. He would recommend this package to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
clothesfanatic
Cheektowaga, N.Y.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great starter guitar
10/5/2010

Customer review by Tanklin

5.0 stars 10/5/2010 by Tanklin
by Tanklin

Has a nice sound. Was able to get it tuned quickly. Book that comes with it good to get you going fast.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tanklin
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Suprisingly Good!
8/7/2011

Customer review by viddaddie0

5.0 stars 8/7/2011 by viddaddie0
by viddaddie0

I was so pleased when I looked at the guitar as it came out of the box! It is attractive, and has a much better sound than I had anticipated. For the cost I expected to be a bit disapointed, but was not at all!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
viddaddie0
Port orchard, wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Kids Guitar - Great Product & Great Price
12/29/2009

Customer review by GMSTrish

5.0 stars 12/29/2009 by GMSTrish
by GMSTrish

Very good product and a great price. Very FAST Shipping, received within 2 business days the week before Christmas. One scratch in guitar but overall great product.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GMSTrish
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Acoustic Guitar
5/16/2011

Customer review by playingcash

5.0 stars 5/16/2011 by playingcash
by playingcash

Great for a starter guitar! I never played before but this is a great guitar for a starter. Very nice that it comes with a tuner!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
playingcash
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome !
6/15/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/15/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is an awesome starter Guitar. It has all you need to start learning. The Guitar for dummies is simple to follow. I love it.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Elk Grove, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent guitar
10/3/2011

Customer review by Guitar123

5.0 stars 10/3/2011 by Guitar123
by Guitar123

Bought this for my 12 year old daughter's guitar lessons and wow! this guitar is a much better quality than what I was expecting. This guitar would easily sell for AT LEAST $200 elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Guitar123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pleasantly Surprised...
1/4/2012

Customer review by BiggieB

5.0 stars 1/4/2012 by BiggieB
by BiggieB

I gave this to my wife for Christmas, and she and I were both very pleased with the look, sound, and apparent build quality of the guitar. The tuner is actually pretty decent, and the book is really helpful and easy to understand as well. The gig bag leaves a little to be desired - it's about as basic and cheap as it could be (although the zipper works better than my much more expensive bag). That makes sense, though, considering you can easily spend more than the price of this kit on a bag. All in all, it's great! We're really happy...

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BiggieB
Riverdale, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Beginner Guitar
4/7/2013

Customer review by dmw1225

5.0 stars 4/7/2013 by dmw1225
by dmw1225

I bought this guitar for my son for his 9th birthday and he loves it!!!! I think it is really nicely made and it comes with accessories which makes it great for beginners. I am going to get my son in guitar lessons and down the road he will get a more expensive guitar, but this is perfect for now.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dmw1225
Nottingham, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 99 total reviews
1-20 of 99 reviews