Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 105 reviews | 5 out of 5

5.0 stars

105 reviews | 5 out of 5

5.0 stars

105 reviews | 5 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
103
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-20 of 91 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 91 total reviews
1-20 of 91 reviews
Lifechanging Job Mission
9/11/2014

Customer review by wisdomseeker1980

5.0 stars 9/11/2014 by wisdomseeker1980
by wisdomseeker1980
Walmart associate

Taking Chance (starring Kevin Bacon) is another film that I am lucky to have snagged at my job for just five dollars. Kevin Bacon plays the character of Lt. Colonel Michael Strobl who volunteers to escort the body of the late Lance Corporal Chance Phelps. Lt. Colonel Strobl is depicted as a character who takes his job very seriously and is simultaneously a loving husband and father for his wife and kids. He is shown naturally feeling guilty at not having went overseas and is reassured by an impartial local in Wyoming that he is actually fulfilling an important role by escorting Chance Phelps home to his family. There is also a heart string pulling scene where Lt. Colonel Strobl is meeting a young marine who is escorting the body of his dead brother who also died in combat. The end of the dvd shows the following life chronology of Lance Corporal Chance Phelps 1984-2004. The Special Features to the dvd of Taking Chance are Bearing Witness, The Real Chance Phelps, From Script to Screen, and a Deleted Scene.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wisdomseeker1980
Hyattsville Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Walmart associate
very emotional movie
6/12/2009

Customer review by tgoodman

5.0 stars 6/12/2009 by tgoodman
by tgoodman

I have got to say, Hats off to the producers of this movie. this is the best true story i have seen in a very long time. I think i cried through just about the whole movie.i would recommend this movie. It's amazing how the military takes care of there falling soldiers.

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tgoodman
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
9/24/2009

Customer review by 3diamond

5.0 stars 9/24/2009 by 3diamond
by 3diamond

My kid's dad was in the military and as a military family, we lived among the military community for many years. But long before my realtionship with their dad, I was always very patriotic, wanting to make the military a career myself. That was not to be. In April 2004, my nephew was killed in Iraq. He was also very patriotic and had wanted to serve in all 5 branches of the military. He had already served in the Navy, he was killed active duty Army. When I watched this movie, I cried - silently, then loudly, long and hard. With each step of Chance's journey home, I became more and more proud to be an American. I am honored not only by Chance's service but by the service of the many men and women who have served or are currently serving. Thank you for the blanket of freedom your service has provided. To the families that have lost their sons and daughters while they served our country, my sincere condolences and my deep felt appreciation. I have 2 children now, 1 of which's desire is join the Marines. I am so blessed to be a woman, to have felt life and to have given birth to life. As any mom would tell you, my kids are extraordinary. While watching the special features - the photo clips of the real Chance - it was as if I was looking back at the growing up years of my own son. My son is also a history buff and he too desires to become one of America's finest - an American soldier.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
3diamond
New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
6/21/2009

Customer review by wm1775

5.0 stars 6/21/2009 by wm1775
by wm1775

Yes, Marines do take care of their own. And this is testament to that. It will give you great insight to the Marine Corps values that are instilled in every Marine, present and former.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wm1775
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great movie
6/22/2016

Customer review by Yamby

5.0 stars 6/22/2016 by Yamby
by Yamby
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

True stories DVD's are worth buying.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Yamby
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A truly amazing film
1/5/2013

Customer review by LOVEBIRD03

5.0 stars 1/5/2013 by LOVEBIRD03
by LOVEBIRD03

This movie is amazing. It should be shown in schools as part of American History or Civics Class. It is a realistic account of how a soldier that was killed in combat, was prepared to travel home for burial, and the man that accompanied his body. The respect that is shown for the fallen soldier and his escort by civilians that are encountered along the journey is very touching. It renews ones patriotism, and brings a new view to the military. I LOVED IT!!!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LOVEBIRD03
SOUTH GEORGIA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
One of the Years Best
5/16/2009

Customer review by ProudtoHaveServed

5.0 stars 5/16/2009 by ProudtoHaveServed
by ProudtoHaveServed

If you really want to understand the words Honor, Loyalty, Dignity and Respect then this is the only movie you will ever need to see. One of the best armed forces movies ever made. Kevin Bacon gives the performance of a lifetime.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ProudtoHaveServed
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Wonderful film.
1/3/2013

Customer review by dawilkins

5.0 stars 1/3/2013 by dawilkins
by dawilkins
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a fantastic movie that takes you to Iraq and the death of someone's young son back to his hometown for burial. It shows you the dignity bestowed upon this soldier and it's impact upon surrounding people on his last trip. Very sad but wonderful.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dawilkins
Salisbury, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Superb!!!
8/2/2009

Customer review by RuggedOne

5.0 stars 8/2/2009 by RuggedOne
by RuggedOne

EXCELLENT MOVIE...Bring a box of tissues... if you dont shed a tear you arent human. I was fortunate enough to go to high school with Mike Strobl...The movie gives you a renewed appreciation for our military...Two thumbs up

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RuggedOne
Cheyenne, WY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Excellent movie
11/29/2012

Customer review by FloPop

5.0 stars 11/29/2012 by FloPop
by FloPop
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I saw this originally on HBO when it first came out and purchased it for a friend. Her son just performed the same service carried out by Kevin Bacon on the movie. The movie is well done and worth every penny.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FloPop
MILWAUKEE, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
One of the most Excellent Movies
5/21/2013

Customer review by slader

5.0 stars 5/21/2013 by slader
by slader

When Taking Chance first came out for sale and it stared Kevin Bacon in it I did not hesitate to purchase it, considering I am a retired person, the movie really touched me, and I am not ashamed to say that I had tears rolling down my cheeks when I watched the movie, but not only then, as I have read some of these comments from other people just now, the tears started to well in my eyes again, the movie is very emotional, and anyone who can watch this movie in it's entirety without sheathing a single tear is a person without emotional feelings

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
slader
Kansas City, Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
A not to miss movie
12/3/2013

Customer review by Surfcrest

5.0 stars 12/3/2013 by Surfcrest
by Surfcrest
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a moving, emotional, respectful accounting of the process of returning to home the body of fallen military personnel. Combining stories from today's news accounts, you follow a soldier home and watch the devotion and care that his body is given along the way. Since he came from the same area back home, Kevin Bacon is the officer given the assignment of accompanying the body. This is a deeply moving movie that is very well done, but be sure to keep the tissues handy!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Surfcrest
Peaks Island Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Insightful
9/1/2014

Customer review by Bossml

5.0 stars 9/1/2014 by Bossml
by Bossml
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Many of us go on day by day completely missing the reality of the change in our lives and others that occurs around us regularly with the death of a military person. Taking chance brings this issue to full light. The high level of respect, dignity and regard for humanity is well received in this movie. It's moving, touching, made me cry and taught me about a military process that I was unfamiliar with before watching Taking Chance. I'm fortunate to live near Arlington National Cemetery, visit annually and are exposed to the reality of our military personnel death. Taking Chance is a movie that at least all Americans could benefit from. It reflects, very respectfully, the cost of our American Freedom and how we manage it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bossml
WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Everyone should see this movie
2/6/2013

Customer review by PrincessSmartyPants

5.0 stars 2/6/2013 by PrincessSmartyPants
by PrincessSmartyPants
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This movie was amazing! I had my kids watch it, and I'm now telling everyone I know that they should see it. Kevin Bacon does an excellent job, as always. I loved all the bonus material. It really gave me a new appreciation/respect for what happens to our soldiers, the final respect they receive. It's really very hard to put into words. Everyone should see it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PrincessSmartyPants
UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/6/2012

Customer review by mjs1004

5.0 stars 11/6/2012 by mjs1004
by mjs1004
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This was an excellent movie! You definitely need a tissue box with you when you watch it. Shows you a side of the military that the news doesn't show. Will give you a whole new respect for the military and their duties!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mjs1004
Rock Island, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/6/2013

Customer review by Phyco

5.0 stars 9/6/2013 by Phyco
by Phyco
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This film made me more proud to be an American and respect for the brave men and women who have give it all for our Freedom. One of my favorite movies out....

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Phyco
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Incredible movie
3/12/2013

Customer review by momofbray

5.0 stars 3/12/2013 by momofbray
by momofbray
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

If you have the opportunity to buy this movie, do it. It is incredibly insightful into what our military deal with. Highly recommend this movie to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
momofbray
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/14/2012

Customer review by elzie

5.0 stars 4/14/2012 by elzie
by elzie

It's a great movies, well done, if you know someone that has a son, husband, brother in the service, you can really understand what they must go threw.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
elzie
tamarac, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
3/31/2009

Customer review by tlynn6

5.0 stars 3/31/2009 by tlynn6
by tlynn6

I Seen this Movie on HBO. It is a very emotional Movie. I would recommened this Movie to anyone. The Military really does take care of their own.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tlynn6
Superior WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great Movie
2/4/2016

Customer review by Moviewatcher

5.0 stars 2/4/2016 by Moviewatcher
by Moviewatcher

I recommend this movie for everyone, it should be a must see movie for all school age children and their parents.... We need to value our Veterans more than what we do...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Moviewatcher
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 91 total reviews
1-20 of 91 reviews