Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 47 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

47 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

47 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
38
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
3
1-20 of 33 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 33 total reviews
1-20 of 33 reviews
worth it
5/19/2009

Customer review by bjbt

5.0 stars 5/19/2009 by bjbt
by bjbt

we got this in December, and have not had any problems with it. we only wished we got it sooner. The volume on the sony flat screen just wasn't doing it for sound so we go this surround system. Its very easy to use once its set up. the only negative thing I can say is that it seems as if the S-air speaker doesn't have a long distance range. but all and all its very good, almost too good, cuz it has the ability to shake the photos off the walls !

Was this review helpful? (107) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bjbt
Albany, New york
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
Very Happy with this buy
6/19/2009

Customer review by PLOWKILL

4.0 stars 6/19/2009 by PLOWKILL
by PLOWKILL

I bought this about 4 months ago cause I wanted a simple surround sound. I couldnt be happier with the sound for my smaller sized living room. HDMI input made for easy installation. I dont have a BRAVIA TV but I do have 3 HDMI ports on my TV so thats a plus so I can have the XBOX, Home theater system, and the Blue Ray pluged in all at the same time unlike the other review before mine. So in closing the sound is great and will shake the house during explosions or big sound effects. The auto set up mic works great so this thing couldnt be more easy to set up. My only complaint is that the controll has alot of buttons that I dont use and since I dont have the Bravia TV I cant manage the TV and theater system through the TV, but thats no big deal. I throw in a movie and just use the remote to press play and tune the volume to very loud! Sounds great on the XBOX aswell to all the gamers that want to know when the enemy is sneaking up behind them on Call of Duty :)

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PLOWKILL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Disappointed
2/6/2010

Customer review by OldLadyRocker

4.0 stars 2/6/2010 by OldLadyRocker
by OldLadyRocker

When we shopped for a replacement Home Theater System, an employee from Sony was working at the store on weekends. Thought he would steer us in the right direction since we weren't very knowledgable concerning the various systems. He suggested that we purchase the S-AIR system since it was wireless & easy to hook up. What he didn't mention (or know) was that to be able to use it as a wireless system, another kit had to be purchased to the tune of $150.00. Needless to say , we don't intend to purchase the kit. Very disappointing. The system does have a great sound while listening to CD's but have to make sure one doesn't trip over the wires!

Was this review helpful? (25) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OldLadyRocker
Twain Harte, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
don't waste your money
2/17/2010

Customer review by goinbananas

1.0 stars 2/17/2010 by goinbananas
by goinbananas

We returned this item after the first evening. We beileved that we were purchasing a "wireless speaker system" home theater system from sony and that is not what this is at all. The speakers still have to be hard wired, they are not S-air technology.. the only thing that you are paying an additional $150 for is for one small unit that can be placed in another room to hear the radio or movie that is currently on the theater system... What a waste.. I believe that Sony lead us to believe this was a wireless speaker system which is what we were looking for. The box states that it is S=air wireless speaker technology.... what did they really think we would assume from that? I have two Sony Bravia TV's that I love.. this was a BIG dissapointment! Shame on you SONY.. be more clear so that we are not wasting our money even the directions in the box stated that it is a wireless speaker system.. We will be purchasing a different system.

Was this review helpful? (65) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
goinbananas
NP, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Do not buy
5/14/2009

Customer review by 1nothappydude

1.0 stars 5/14/2009 by 1nothappydude
by 1nothappydude

If you just bought a Sony Blu Ray disc player to go along with your Sony Bravia HDTV, do not buy this. You can't input the Blu Ray player into the Home Theatre system. It has no HDMI inputs. You would need to input the Blu Ray into the TV. Many Sony Bravia TVs only have two HDMI inputs in the rear. The newer ones have two rear HDMI inputs and one on the side for PS3. I don't want my HDMI plugged in the side showing all the time. One HDMI input is used by cable box, the other for this system. After calling Sony, they suggested I purchase a 300 dollar "system" with four HDMI inputs in rear. BUT those systems include no speakers and no S-Air system. Sony sees the need for HDMI inputs on a Home Theatre system but fail to include them on this system. So, I have a 6 disc changer built in, NOT Blue Ray. I didn't care since I had a Blu Ray player but I didn't know I would not be able to hook it into this system. Their advice, use component cables which defeat the HDMI quality, thus no real Blu Ray disc player. I wasted my money and need a Bravia TV with at LEAST 3 rear inputs for true HDTV with no side wires showing.

Was this review helpful? (56) (65)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1nothappydude
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good but frustrating
9/1/2009

Customer review by momalulu

4.0 stars 9/1/2009 by momalulu
by momalulu

This system was easy to connect to the t.v. and sounds great with a DVD. The problems arised from trying to connect it to our satellite system. The instructions ARE NOT helpful; I had to figure it out on my own. The next problem came with the WIRELESS part of this product. We bought this for a number of reasons, one of them being the fact that it is wireless. The problem? It says wireless on the box, BUT you have to BUY the wirelss S-AIR product and WalMart does not carry it. Neither does anyone else in our town. We have to order it online or go 70 miles away to the nearsest big town! Other than that, the system is nice. It tends to be a little too much in the Bass department, but my four boys and hubby LOVE it. I like the "night" setting, too, as people can watch the t.v. with good sound while other can sleep.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
momalulu
Northeast Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
BAD
9/22/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 9/22/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Bad everything NO real connections for other componets. Sub is not powered. over all sound NOT good,..

Was this review helpful? (10) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
punta gorda
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
awesome
12/28/2009

Customer review by kisuma

5.0 stars 12/28/2009 by kisuma
by kisuma

This was just what I was looking for. I really had no use for the actual dvd player, that is what my 360 and ps3 is for. For the one reviewer that didn't like it because it is not blu-ray, sorry, you should have read the description better. This same model does come in blu-ray but it is about $100 more. This product is as loud or louder than I was looking for; but who doesn't want 1000W of sound blasting at them? Music, movies, video games, everything sounds great; HDMI makes it even better. If the connections on the system aren't enough for some people, all you need is a pair of audio cables connected to your t.v.; so the audio of everything else (including the t.v.) can be used from the system. The only problem (nothing major) I had was I had to take a few things off my wall because they vibrated so much.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kisuma
pocahontas, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great System
6/4/2010

Customer review by jurtyhg

5.0 stars 6/4/2010 by jurtyhg
by jurtyhg

Has everything I was looking for. Sounds great, lots of power and great features.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jurtyhg
12203
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Purchase
3/19/2010

Customer review by CaptainDan21

5.0 stars 3/19/2010 by CaptainDan21
by CaptainDan21

This item is really a great buy. Not only did we save around seventy dollars by purchasing online, but it was delivered very quickly. The product is more of a value than I imagined. It has great sound, fairly user friendly and the S-air device is really neat. It works great as a radio for another room. The sound of the unit is simply great. The hook up and calibration was a breeze. Very Good Purchase. Normally, I have a little buyers remorse after purchasing electronics....not this time!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CaptainDan21
United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Perfect Gift for the Husband!
7/9/2010

Customer review by charles129

5.0 stars 7/9/2010 by charles129
by charles129

Excellent System. Great sound not a wireless system but doesn't matter the sound makes up for it. The 5 disc changer is great and loads pretty quick and can change from one disc to the next with the remote, so store the favs and watch them when you want to. The only thing I wish they could install for the disc player would be some type of disc label reader that would display because with the 5 discs I forget which is in which. I love the night modes and stuff where when they whisper it enhances that where you can actually hear it without having to replay or have the captions displayed. Gets very loud but no complaints from the hubby. He loves it! Would highly recommend this one to buy!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
charles129
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
like it
5/11/2010

Customer review by shopdaily2010

5.0 stars 5/11/2010 by shopdaily2010
by shopdaily2010

quite easy to hook up, great sound for a great price

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shopdaily2010
SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/11/2010

Customer review by delphene

5.0 stars 5/11/2010 by delphene
by delphene

The item is so good that we bought a second one for our other house. By having it shipped to the store (we bought it on line) we saved about $100.00. I would highly recommend this product. You should always buy the one with the wireless speaker, because it is also great. I can take it out in garage when I'am working and play from the main unit.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
delphene
Leesburg, Fl and Maggie Valley, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
4/2/2010

Customer review by reewa1960

5.0 stars 4/2/2010 by reewa1960
by reewa1960

wireless receiver, and an iPod Dock. wireless speaker lets lets me play music to any room in the house.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
reewa1960
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
4/2/2010

Customer review by forman1961

5.0 stars 4/2/2010 by forman1961
by forman1961

Excellent system with great features.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
forman1961
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
4/4/2010

Customer review by rander1985

5.0 stars 4/4/2010 by rander1985
by rander1985

Once again, Sony has done it. By building such a magnificent surround-sound system. Bravo!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rander1985
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
4/3/2010

Customer review by patcol91

5.0 stars 4/3/2010 by patcol91
by patcol91

My new abode got a lift with the addition of this marvelous system. The speakers shake the house when I play my favorite rock & roll music. Great partying!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
patcol91
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
rinco21
4/4/2010

Customer review by rinco21

5.0 stars 4/4/2010 by rinco21
by rinco21

I bought this about 4 months ago cause I wanted a simple, and very functional surround sound system; I couldnt be happier. HDMI input made it easy to instal. I have 3 HDMI ports on my TV so that is a plus b/c I can connect my Wii, Home theater system, and the Blue-ray, all plugged in at the same time.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rinco21
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Value
5/16/2010

Customer review by Ratman1242

5.0 stars 5/16/2010 by Ratman1242
by Ratman1242

Worth the Money!!! Great Sound and easy set-up.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ratman1242
Pflugerville, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nightmare
5/18/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/18/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This product is not for anyone but the most sophisticated thecnical geek to set up. My degreed son, who is employed as a geek couldn't get it to work. It is impossible mto get it to sync with dish. once you finally get it to work it is really nice. They have a long way to go to make it at all user friendly.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1-20 of 33 reviews