Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 79 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

79 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

79 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
52
4 stars
21
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
3
1-20 of 61 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 61 total reviews
1-20 of 61 reviews
Wonderful Machine
4/30/2009

Customer review by honeyluv

5.0 stars 4/30/2009 by honeyluv
by honeyluv

I have owned this product for 1 1/2 yrs. This machine is wonderful. It picks up all yard waste. For this price, you will not find a yard tool that blows, vacuums & mulches along with being light weight. I recommend this product to all women that do yard work.

Was this review helpful? (56) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
honeyluv
Harper Woods, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Cleaning made easy
5/1/2009

Customer review by Dreadice

4.0 stars 5/1/2009 by Dreadice
by Dreadice

It like a tornado and a shredder combine. It sucks up leaves and chews them to bits.

Was this review helpful? (61) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dreadice
Bushkill, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Tool!
6/20/2010

Customer review by philko

5.0 stars 6/20/2010 by philko
by philko

Received earlier than expected. Unpacked and easy assembly. I tried the vacuum - mulcher (primary use) function and was surprised at the power. I primarily used it at low speed to clean my side and back yard. Took a little practice to keep the vacuum opening at the right angle since if is flat to the turf, it tries to lift the whole section of artificial turf. There was less than a 1/4 bag of mulch from the entire yard. Lighter and easier to handle than I expected. Since I have artificial turf with built in thatch I cannot us a rake, and this saves me hours of sweeping and hand picking. (Tons of trees around here.) And since I'm past 80 the light weight and ease of handling is a huge plus. I refuse to loan it out, but am happy to help my neighbors. It's actually fun!

Was this review helpful? (30) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
philko
CA Central Coast
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
A must have for those with big trees!
3/22/2011

Customer review by stringfellowhawke

5.0 stars 3/22/2011 by stringfellowhawke
by stringfellowhawke

I have a very large tree in my front yard that sheds leafs almost year round and quite a large amount of them. In 2 months I've already raked my yard 3 times. I happened to see the Vortex which is the sister to the Leafhog. Only difference is the handle. I read that it sucks leafs up and mulches so thats when I said I had to try it. Let me tell you the power the unit has is amazing. It not only sucks up leafs, but small thin branches. It's a very, very powerful vacuum and the best part is it will save your back! No more constant bending over to scoop leafs up. Makes the job so much quicker as well. Instead of my usual 6-8 bags I rake up is now 2-3 thanks to Black & Decker. The blower is powerful as well. No more using a broom to clear my drive way. I now have it cleared in a minute. The vacuum/blower was one of the best investments I have made in a long time and am very thankful they make and sell it. No need to even think about buying the product. Do it, you wont regret it.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stringfellowhawke
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Value!
4/19/2009

Customer review by Reviewer4267

4.0 stars 4/19/2009 by Reviewer4267
by Reviewer4267

I had this blower out of the box and working in my yard in under 3 minutes. Super easy to put together, use, and change between vacuum and blower modes. Lightweight and able to use with one hand thanks to 2 speed control knob. This product is a great value ... if you don't get what you expect from this product you are expecting too much from a $60 electric blower/vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (16) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Reviewer4267
Mesa, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
LeafHog
2/15/2011

Customer review by LewinWashington

5.0 stars 2/15/2011 by LewinWashington
by LewinWashington

This product was great. It vaccumed up my bigyard. Lots of power.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LewinWashington
Yakima, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Speeds Clean-up
3/29/2010

Customer review by Landafey

5.0 stars 3/29/2010 by Landafey
by Landafey

The B&D blower/vacuum performs as advertised. I was particularly impressed with it's easy set-up and switch from blower mode to vacuum. It takes a little practice to develop a technique for blowing stuff where you want it (instead of into your neighbor's yard) and you can't vacuum the lawn like you clean a carpet. Once leaves and debris are in a pile the vacuum sucks it up and you can easily dump it into a trash bag. You have to be careful when the blower in on the high speed setting because sticks and small stones become airborne missiles. I was also concerned that those sticks and small stones would damage the impeller blades when vacuuming. But it survived without a scratch. It's a very strudy piece of equipment. This item is an inexpensive way to clean up leaves and yard debris. It's great for blowing out the dead leaves hidden in shrubs and in rock beds where a rake won't work. I think any homeowner would find this a useful tool.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Landafey
Georgetown, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
a bit heavy, a bit hard to change
4/2/2011

Customer review by ErnieNY

3.0 stars 4/2/2011 by ErnieNY
by ErnieNY

This is my 2nd B&D blower/Vac. My first one lasted 5+ years, we actually replaced the bag and the plastic impeller and it kept on working great, till it sucked up some thread that wrapped around a bearing. Now it overheats shortly after you turn it on, so time for a new one. This unit has a metal impeller so that ends one issue with the old unit. The price increase for buying it as metal was less then I paid for the replacement plastic one so it's a true win. Check 4 for value. As far as its main functions, blowing and vacuum, they are both very good. In use it seems a little heavier then my old unit, but soon get used to that. Main drawbacks are the old unit had 2 attachments: blower tube and the vacuum tube (plus the bag). This unit needs a third piece to change between modes; just something else to get lost in the yard while working. Also, the attachments are very difficult to remove or attach. This may be because they are new but it was a struggle to get a full bag off the unit, and changing tubes they would not come off or stay on without some muscle. So knock "meets" & "Overall" to 3 stars. Though it is a good unit it isn't as good as the old one and could be better.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ErnieNY
Levittown NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great product
7/9/2009

Customer review by PohsMom

4.0 stars 7/9/2009 by PohsMom
by PohsMom

This blower is very nice and is what I expected. The only reason I did not give 5 stars is that it needs a shoulder strap. Otherwise, quite effective tool.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PohsMom
Prairie Village, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Worked out Great
6/23/2010

Customer review by Goldenaged

5.0 stars 6/23/2010 by Goldenaged
by Goldenaged

Really a good product, Took the Magnolia leaves and mulched them to bits, and the sweeping with the attachments for blowing saved me at least 2 hrs of sweeping really a great product, have had another brand before with a plastic fan instead of the metal and would never go back, the metal is the only way to go. Thanks B&D and Walmart. and the shipping was very easy and the price was very good!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Goldenaged
Bellflower Calif.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Works Great- but not for long
4/14/2010

Customer review by WeekendMower

4.0 stars 4/14/2010 by WeekendMower
by WeekendMower

This blower/vac works GREAT- but... I don't know if I just used it too much too quickly- but after the 2nd use, the high power selector switch stopped working- until right before it's end of life. I continued to use it on low (plenty of power for most relavitely close work bagging or blowing). I used 3-4 times per month for duration of summer. I guess once it stopped working on high- I should've left it at that- but no- my man instincts took over and I played with the switch till it did cut on- and WOW- what power! It blew this year's HEAVY acorn crop out from my lawn with EASE... I didn't want to bag/mulch fearing acorns would break it. Well, after about 20 min of use this spring, I smelled smoke- and could see excessive sparks inside the motor. I let it cool- then went at it again after an hour- it worked for another 5 minutes before totally dying. Conclusion: If you will use this for a small yard with minimal leaves/ blowing off the front porch- it is FANTASTIC, but not for larger yards where you have/need more than 20 min work at a time. Pros: -Power - 2 pwr settings -Easy to use -Weight is light/moderate (for women) -Bagger/Mulcher very effective (but gets heavy when full of grass) Cons: -Quality of Construction (switch stopping- and only get one summer of usage before it dies) -Not for excessive use (more than 20 min at a time otherwise WILL OVERHEAT) -It uses A LOT of electricity- but again- negated if you have a small yard

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WeekendMower
League City, TX (Near Houston)
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
I use it as a vacuum
4/5/2011

Customer review by JudyinSA

5.0 stars 4/5/2011 by JudyinSA
by JudyinSA

I have a blower but needed a vacuum. This works great. I put the strap over my head and always release the bag from the unit to empty. The release is easy to use. It has a metal 'chopping' blade so it works well. Delivery was faster than expected. I used ship to store option.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JudyinSA
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
1/19/2012

Customer review by Duaneb69

5.0 stars 1/19/2012 by Duaneb69
by Duaneb69

Purchased this leaf blower/Vaccum to eliminate excess leaves after two years of not moving a single leaf. It surely was a good idea to get the blower with the higher speed as when we started the removal, we found that the leaves had piled up and compressed the lowest layer, almost like a layer of adobe. It took longer than expected and after reading some of the rerviews on the site, I was fully expecting the blower to start smoking... to sieze up due to the amount of continuous running. Do not believe the hype. This blower is noisey, but it does a fantastic job of moving the items you want removed, to include snow! It does a great job of 'bagging' the leaves/sticks/paper and whatever else you have managed to pile up. The only bad side is that some type of hearing protection, as well as eye protection, should be listed in the operating manual. REQUIRED!! I am a disbled Veteran with Heart and breathing problems and it was a delight to operate this handy dandy blower... it was easier to operate than I had anticipated and I would gladly reccommend it to anyone looking for an electric blower!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Duaneb69
Lewis Center, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great item!
5/19/2010

Customer review by Sarawithnoh

5.0 stars 5/19/2010 by Sarawithnoh
by Sarawithnoh

I absolutely love this product! I really only use the vacuum and bag attachment. The cord is short but as long as you use an extension cord and loop it through it won't come unplugged. The trees around my house drop a bunch of unwanted debris so this makes it so much easier to clean up. No complaints and I will never be taking hours to sweep our driveway and sidewalks or rake the yard again!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sarawithnoh
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great product for the price
2/26/2011

Customer review by ctr99

4.0 stars 2/26/2011 by ctr99
by ctr99

The product is easy to put together and change the blower attachment vs. the vacuum attachment. It's a bit bulky to use if you're on the shorter side but I anticipated that. My only dislike is the the vacuum nozzle needs to be millimeters away from the leaves you're picking up. I'm literally dragging the nozzle on the ground. The blower function works great.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ctr99
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Big disappointment
6/7/2010

Customer review by HelenfromBurbank

1.0 stars 6/7/2010 by HelenfromBurbank
by HelenfromBurbank

This product broke 5 minutes after I started using it. I was using it in "Vacuum" mode, and a rock must have gotten in it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HelenfromBurbank
Southern Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Love it
6/5/2010

Customer review by WiseND85

5.0 stars 6/5/2010 by WiseND85
by WiseND85

We really love this product. The only downside is it is difficult to pick up leaves if the vacuum portion can't be right over the leaves. For example, we have a rock garden and it won't pick up leaves out of there because of the angles. However, in the normal lawn, it works well!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WiseND85
ND
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great Quality/Value
6/7/2010

Customer review by djzackattack

5.0 stars 6/7/2010 by djzackattack
by djzackattack

I was drawn to this particular item because of several reasons. I was looking for an electric blower and vac combo for my backyard which has 5 trees and medium size river rocks, so it makes it difficult to rake all the leaves. The features are great, it's a powerful blower and vac combo by a name brand you can trust. I was a little skeptical of the quality at first because of the price I paid (bought online for under $60). But I was pleasantly surprised at how well it works and the ease of use. It has a strong metal blade fan for mulching when in vac mode and it works great for the leaves. The vac was more powerful than I expected and had no problem sucking up all the leaves. I wouldn't recommend using the vac for thicker branches though as it could clog the machine or rip the bag. It is a bit heavier then other blowers but it is quality and I didn't want a cheaper one that I couldn't trust. The only main complaint I have is that it is loud. But I suppose that is a given with all blowers so it's a minor issue. For the price and quality and name brand, you can't find a better deal. I am now considering getting a Black & Decker cordless Hedge Trimmer as well! I'm very happy with this purchase and it will make cleaning the yard a lot easier!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
djzackattack
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
I Love This Blower/Vacuum
4/24/2010

Customer review by Ktin920

5.0 stars 4/24/2010 by Ktin920
by Ktin920

This is an AMAZING product! I had a mess in my backyard left over from last Fall. After raking the leaves from my backyard for the 3rd time last Fall I gave up and figured I'd get to them in the Spring. Now that it is Spring I needed to get them picked up. I saw this product on the website and HAD TO HAVE IT! I figured even if it didn't work that well the price was great and I'd give it a try. This exceeded my expectation! I am so happy I bought it and now I don't dread the upcoming Fall! BRING ON THE LEAVES!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ktin920
Appleton, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Very Pleased
11/29/2009

Customer review by TheMooseman

5.0 stars 11/29/2009 by TheMooseman
by TheMooseman

This B&D leaf blower/vac replaces another similar B&D model purchased at least 10 years ago. The old one ran like a champ until the end. The new one is better balanced, more powerful and does a better job of shredding the leaves. The leaf blower attachment, that wiggles back and forth by itself, seemed like a gimmick. I tried blowing leaves with and without the attachment. The attachment actually worked extremely well. Lets hope this one lasts 10 years too.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheMooseman
Cleveland OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 61 total reviews
1-20 of 61 reviews