Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 414 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

414 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

414 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
275
4 stars
75
3 stars
21
2 stars
19
1 stars
24
1-20 of 239 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 239 total reviews
1-20 of 239 reviews
"Cushion" is a gross exaggeration
7/18/2013

Customer review by Colliemom3

3.0 stars 7/18/2013 by Colliemom3
by Colliemom3
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

These are normal, average and very basic men's white socks. Nothing particularly noteworthy about them as opposed to any other brand of basic sock. I had purchased these because my husband's normal favorite sock was discontinued. It was a national brand that featured a very, very cushioned, exceptionally thick, soft and squishy sole that was perfect for him, as he wears tall rubber boots for work every day and they will rub feet raw in thin soled socks. I picked these since they were described as "cushioned". Yeah, not so much. My husband wears them, but is very disappointed in them. He said the soles are no softer or cushioned any more than any other athletic sock and in fact seem quite the opposite. He has asked me not to buy any more of these. They would be perfectly adequate for someone who doesn't want or require extra softness or cushioning in the sole area for running or being on their feet all day but they are not as described nor as one would expect.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Colliemom3
Virden, Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Oh Hanes, why did you Change?
4/6/2013

Customer review by ThoughtfulBuyer1

2.0 stars 4/6/2013 by ThoughtfulBuyer1
by ThoughtfulBuyer1

I purchased these in early 2012 and they were some of the best socks I have owned in a while. The fabric was thick, the socks were long and they were durable. They held up, didn't lose their elasticity and didn't slide down easily. I loved them. Now here I am in early 2013 and I went back to pick up more. Guess what happened? I took them home, tried them out and thought I had purchased the wrong brand. After 3 more trips to different Walmarts I soon realized I had the correct brand, but the socks have been downgraded in every aspect. I guess to save money, Hanes has reduced the quality of these socks from what they once were. The socks are 2.5 inches shorter now then they once were. The material now is thin and cheaply made. The socks themselves are not as durable as they were. The elastic does not hold up as it once did. My older sets of socks from 2012 are outlasting the new sets I have purchased! Why, oh why did they change them?! It's very irritating and frustrating when you expect a product to stay the same or even improve in quality, but in this case the opposite has happened. Now these are just like ever other brand of cheapo socks out there.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ThoughtfulBuyer1
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/25/2016

Customer review by taras9584

1.0 stars 1/25/2016 by taras9584
by taras9584
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

They are very thin and I intend to send them back. Not a good purchase.

taras9584
Tucson, AZ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
They're socks. What more can I say
6/14/2009

Customer review by SaintDomino

5.0 stars 6/14/2009 by SaintDomino
by SaintDomino

10 socks in a pack. They fit pretty good, they're comfortable, and they last for about a year and a half for me before wearing out. Three years if you want to wear them until they disintegrate. These just have the gray part on the heel and toe, and have "Hanes" written in red near the toe.

Was this review helpful? (75) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SaintDomino
Pontoon Beach, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Quality
1/25/2016

Customer review by mech57

3.0 stars 1/25/2016 by mech57
by mech57
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It was an OK deal, but the quality isn't the same as it used to be.

mech57
Northern Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/24/2016

Customer review by Forget survey

3.0 stars 1/24/2016 by Forget survey
by Forget survey
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Not as thick as I would like. One sock had a hole in it

Forget survey
Madison, TN, United States
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hanes Men's Crew Socks
1/1/2011

Customer review by Poochluver

3.0 stars 1/1/2011 by Poochluver
by Poochluver

The socks are as comfortable as advertised; however, the seem to be seconds as the gray color in the heels fits way above the shoe line. Even though they are size 6 to 12 and my husband's shoe size being 71/2, they are a little large.

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Poochluver
Diamond Bar, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Poor quality
12/28/2015

Customer review by Keving

1.0 stars 12/28/2015 by Keving
by Keving

I have been a Hanes customer for over 10 years. My wife picked me up a pack of these socks to replace my socks that were over two years old. I am not sure what happened but these socks are thin and cheap. They don't stay up and are uncomfortable. I ended up throwing them away after about two weeks. I sure hope they figure it out.

Keving
MN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Losing quality!
12/30/2015

Customer review by Scottmulder

1.0 stars 12/30/2015 by Scottmulder
by Scottmulder

Been wearing hands all my life and their quality has gone from excellent to poor! Last package I bought were sagging after one wearing.

Scottmulder
Skimpy
12/29/2015

Customer review by Another Unhappy Customer

1.0 stars 12/29/2015 by Another Unhappy Customer
by Another Unhappy Customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

These socks said that the soles were "padded". They are not. They are very poor quality and with no padding whatsoever. My husband is very dissatisfied with this product.

Another Unhappy Customer
Hamburg, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Comfortable socks
1/16/2011

Customer review by catlady2323

5.0 stars 1/16/2011 by catlady2323
by catlady2323

These are just run of the mill, cotton athletic socks. They fit well, are not too thick, and seem to hold their elastic strength.

Was this review helpful? (24) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
catlady2323
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
what Happened?
5/9/2011

Customer review by chanceNangie

1.0 stars 5/9/2011 by chanceNangie
by chanceNangie

These socks used to be really good. The last pack I purchased, just two weeks ago, are made totally different. The material is much thinner, and the fit is even smaller. As if to use less material overall, to save money? These socks' quality has gone way down, I will not purchase these socks from Walmart ever again.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chanceNangie
Owasso, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Men's socks
11/22/2010

Customer review by Jessi13

5.0 stars 11/22/2010 by Jessi13
by Jessi13

I have purchased other brands of mens socks but Hanes are the most comfortable and durable of all brands. My husband is on his feet all day, wearing workboots and Hanes socks last longer than any other brand we have purchased.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jessi13
Chelsea, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Socks are not for Diabetic's
6/24/2010

Customer review by RatRodBob

5.0 stars 6/24/2010 by RatRodBob
by RatRodBob

Nice fitting sox, comfortable, but the tops are too tight for a Diabetic. I have cut them off with scissors. All Diabetic's should wear loose fitting socks.

Was this review helpful? (28) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RatRodBob
Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
what everyone needs
8/26/2009

Customer review by verylaidbackshopper

5.0 stars 8/26/2009 by verylaidbackshopper
by verylaidbackshopper

I wear my socks all the time. I need to explain why I ordered mens socks= I am size 11. These socks wash well and do not fall apart after theb first wash. I wear these socks at night. During the fall and winter trime, they are very casual socks and worn every day.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
verylaidbackshopper
Brookline, Ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1/24/2012

Customer review by Boothy75

1.0 stars 1/24/2012 by Boothy75
by Boothy75

AFTER WEARING THESE FOR 2 TIMES IN MY WORK BOOTS I GOT 2 HOLES IN THE TIP OF MY SOCKS. THEY WERE THIS AND NOT LIKE OTHER HANES SOCKS I HAVE BOUGHT IN THE PAST. MY EXPECTATIONS AND QUALITY WAS NOT WHAT I EXPECTED.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Boothy75
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very disappointed in the quality of the socks.
12/14/2011

Customer review by fae52

1.0 stars 12/14/2011 by fae52
by fae52

The quality is not what you would expect from Hanes. They are very thin and look cheap.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fae52
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Socks wear out easy. Do last more then 2 months.
12/10/2012

Customer review by bleggs

2.0 stars 12/10/2012 by bleggs
by bleggs
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Socks are not good quality. end up with holes in them after a few washings.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bleggs
West Peoria, Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
OK but only a second choice .
4/24/2013

Customer review by Croppled1

3.0 stars 4/24/2013 by Croppled1
by Croppled1

I would use the Starter Heavyweight as they are more cushioned after trying both and fine for summer just more cushioned if you ask me . Once you have tried them you might be like me and not want to settle for these thinner socks . The more cushioned ones really help people with bad spines . The problem with Walmart online is they are always out of stock of items you need often and do not manage back orders . It becomes tedious coming back trying to find when or if the brand you want will be back in stock . It really makes being loyal difficult . I guess that's what happens when you manage tight margins and are scared of new shipments being at a higher cost for backorders . Both the Starter heavyweight crew and these get holes rather fast they just don't last long for me but I am disabled and wear nothing but socks inside all the time . Walmart sells a good chorded deer foam slipper for $12 plus .97 cent shipping that can stop that plus even can be used to walk to the mail box for those who have a hard time putting shoes on and off . I found they offer little protection but are great driving shoes too !

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Croppled1
Ann Arbor Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Didn't work for us
12/29/2009

Customer review by MoMo77

2.0 stars 12/29/2009 by MoMo77
by MoMo77

Got these for my dad for Christmas. They are such poor quality. Wow. They are really big...the heal part is up by his ankles and they slip out of place. Also, he says they are uncomfortable and poor quality. He's pretty bummed. These have been his favorite socks for years and years. Seems like this stuff is becoming a dime a dozen and it shows in the quality.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MoMo77
WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
1-20 of 239 total reviews
1-20 of 239 reviews