Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 200 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

200 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

5 stars
146
4 stars
30
3 stars
5
2 stars
7
1 stars
12
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 171 total reviews
great hdtv set
6/8/2009

Customer review by barbary

5.0 stars by barbary

this philips 47in. 120hz has an unbelievable picture. watched lakers vs. magic last nite and felt like i payed $1,000 for my seat. movies on hd feel like your on the set of the movie. i put my function to power saver during movies. i've seen alot of people's hdtv's, but they don't compare. i would spend the extra money if i were you, beats 60hz and the 47 in. is a monster. colors are superb, watched elizabeth on hbo hd this afternoon and i could see every stich on peoples clothing. i do have dish hd setup. buy this set, also walmart is great for returns if there is a problem, they even looked up a 8 month old receipt for me. best buy dosen't want to see you return anything. they refused a return item for me, thanks to american express for taking item off my account, best buy wouldn't even contact american express.

Was this review helpful? (178) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
barbary
cortland, ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I am shocked but it was better than sony
11/10/2010

Customer review by WileEgeek

5.0 stars by WileEgeek

I work in the IT field and have done so for over 14 years plus I manage 1 of 5 IT offices in NY. For the last 20 years I have only purchased and owned Sony TV's and have sworn by them my first one was 32" CRT Trinitron Wega. Two weeks ago I went to Wal-Mart and bought the Sony 46ex400 (60 Hz model for $800) and with-in two days the screen started to get all pixel-ed and the lettering was getting very fussy. So I took it back to Wal-Mart because I wanted another TV. Well here is the true story on the Philips I am writing about right now. #1... It is almost an inch bigger than the 46” Sony I bought #2... Cosmetically just as nice as the Sony #3... It is 120 Hz for less than what the Sony and other brands cost #4... The colors will amaze you it almost looks like a LED TV. #5... The stand is not fixed you can swivel it side to side for your viewing pleasure #6... Stand is already attached to the TV so you will not need any tools for the TV unless you will be wall mounting it #7... Lettering is very crisp #8... Manual is 8X11 (the size a standard letter) and is 38 pages long and it is set up in what I call plan English, and very well laid out / composed #9... Even a regular DVD is so incredible to watch you will notice details that you didn't before; I can’t wait to see what blue-ray movies will look like. Here are the down sides to this TV and these are no biggie not just to me but a lot of you will agree. #1... The box is really wide so wide that with the TV in the box I couldn't get it into the back seat or trunk of my car, so took it out of the box and put the TV on the seat and folded up the box and put that in the trunk #2... I had to re-run the picture set up two times "when you run the picture set up just pick the images on the left of the screen" and then if and more tweaking is needed just adjust the rest of the picture (i.e. brightness, contrast etc) #3... Because of the size of the TV the best way to watch the TV is with it AT least 12+ feet away so again no biggie for me #4... Reading the remote is a little hard to read, but no biggie for me I have a Logitech harmony 520 #5... No cables other than the power cord but considering I saved $100 bucks, that was no biggie and with what I had saved I had more than enough to buy some new ones #6... Has a PC hook up but is not a standard VGA or DVI I will need to get a DVI to HDMI cable but again no biggie I hope I am helping some of you and not boring you with this write up you will not be disappointed at all with the TV.

Was this review helpful? (117) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
WileEgeek
Upstate, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
3's a charm
3/9/2010

Customer review by xarcangelm

5.0 stars by xarcangelm

I only write reviews if I get a really good product or a really bad product experience. - This year I finally gave in and decided to buy a HD big screen TV. I started by going to our local store and reviewing each of the floor models. After about an hour of watching all the models and doing some online research, I settled on the Samsung 52" 120hz. Big mistake. I took it home, hooked it up, spent 2 days trying to adjust it to get it even half way viewable. I took it back and exchanged it for the Vizio 47" 120hz. The Vizio was even worse than the Samsung. Again, I returned to Walmart and exchanged the Vizio for the Philips. - Third time was a charm. It did take a bit of time to adjust this TV to get it to where I liked it - their preset picture settings are far from natural, but I was able to get very lifelike picture quality with the custom setting. - The picture quality is the best that I have ever seen, very sharp, crisp and natural. With HD channels, and HD recordings, you feel like you are watching real life. Sound quality is great. Menu options very robust. Tons of connections - 3 HDMI, 2 Component, 2 Composite, Coaxial, USB, in short, more connections than anyone would ever need. - The price of this set was a little more than the Vizio 47" but the quality of this set far exceeds the Vizio. Also, Philips support staff is outstanding. I did have a set up issue, called their support staff, was on hold for less than 2 mins. and the representative spent 30 mins on the phone with me making sure that all my issues were taken care of. The rep even called me back 2 days later to make sure I was satisfied. - This is one of the best purchases that I have ever made. Word of advice - with any electronic purchase, make sure you get Walmarts extended service contract. It is cheap and will give you 3 - 4 years of coverage - (including the 1 year manufacturer's coverage).

Was this review helpful? (48) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
xarcangelm
L.A. California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great!!!
8/16/2009

Customer review by DUKFAN

5.0 stars by DUKFAN

Stop endlessly clicking and comparing...THIS IS IT!!! After 2 months of research myself, trust me this is it! The picture quality looks like you're watching a 3-D movie. Others reviewers mentioned this and I laughed...until I sat down to watch this TV. The sound and features are great...although I personally wish I had a surround sound hooked up at the same time....not the TV's fault. It is just that the picture is so beautiful, you think you're in a digital movie theater and should have a theater sound system. Used free shipping sight-to-store and worked great.

Was this review helpful? (38) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
DUKFAN
Wells, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
G...R...E...A...T TV
3/25/2010

Customer review by TStan

5.0 stars by TStan

Ok, where to start? First, like many of you are doing right now, I read all the reviews of every TV that fit the description of what I was looking for. I'll try to be as helpful as I can. The first thing I'd like to say is the conclusion. I absolutely love this TV. I was not disappointed by any aspect of it; picture, sound, features, etc. SOUND: I read several reviews that complained about the lower quality sound. This is obviously very subjective. Each person will expect a different experience. The TV I had before this was a 54 in. Sony projection leviathon. Seriously, it probably weighs around 300 lbs at least. So with it's sheer size it allows more room for larger speakers. The base on it was very impressive. Therefore my expectations weren't very high for the Philips because I knew with its more slender style meant less room for speakers. However, this was not the case. My expectations were more than met. I bought this TV because I'm a gamer through and through. I play PS3 and XBOX 360 games all the time. The sound on some games was thunderous with the Sony. I expected an emaciated sound experience do to the smaller size of the Philips. Maybe it's because I live in a smaller sized apartment and the sound is more focused but the sound was far superior to my expectations and I must say a pleasant suprise. Some reviews claimed that even at almost full volume they couldn't hear the TV very well. I've found that I keep the sound at around 20(goes to 100). No, it's not a theater experience but if that is what you are looking for then you will more than likely, most do I would imagine, look at buying a decent sound system to compliment this set. I may eventually but at the moment I just don't need one. So, sound was far more than I expected. I simply can't justify giving it less than 5 stars becuase it exceeded my expectations my so much. PICTURE: Remember I came from a projeciton TV. With this set my PS3 and 360 games are all in HD. The main setup of most systems come up in 1080p but usually the actual games are in 720p. Confirmed on the PS3 and I expect on 360 as well. The visuals are absolutely amazing. I really thought my eyes were going with my older TV. Once I hooked everything up and started playing...well, it was about 5 minutes later I noticed this constant grin on my face as I was playing. It hit me then, "These graphics are unreal!" When companies review their games it's always on the best screens available to make their product look at good as possible. I see this when I watch reviews on my PC which has an HD screen. It was a completely new experience for me though, to be actually seeing it...in person...in my living room. The best way I can describe it is that I still find myself grinning at times when I see a detailed in-game environment and just get lost in it. I see things that on my old set looked one way but now look completely different because of the clarity. I said once, "So THAT'S what that was!" Only becuase I could see it in perfect detail. FEATURES: I gave 4 stars on the features simply because if I had to be critical in any area it would be here. Please don't get me wrong though. It could not be easier to set up and it has a LOT of features to tweak and get the experience you want. However, I'm sure some of the uber priced sets have more features. I would compare those "pricey" features to massaging seats in an insanely priced sports car. Do you really need (want) massaging seats in that car? Me? No. It has every feature I could have expected without making things too complicated to change. I'll put the last 3 qualities together: OVERALL RATING, VALUE, & MEETS EXPECTATIONS. The value for me is tops bar NONE! It didn't just meet my expectations it blew them away. Getting this set actually has shown me why people buy HDTV's such as this. And the overall rating...well, I imagine you can guess that one from the first part of this review. And last, I'd like to give a few suggestions: If you buy this TV, bring a truck. The box is simply ginormous. I'd suggest ordering online and with free shipping I'd also say...why not? They delivered it right to my front door. Also, even though it is an LCD flat it is still fairly heavy. The description lists it at about 115 lbs. And I can believe it. I picked it up myself to place it on the stand but I would definitely suggest just getting a friend to help if you're even remotely unsure about moving it. Oh yeah, and please don't bend over to pick it up. I have visions of seeing people with slipped disks everywhere. I'd like everyone to enjoy their amazing new TV without being permanently stuck in their couches. And to answer any questions about their warranty. I read the reviews that complained that their customer service is terrible. I have called customer service twice. Once for a question about my PS3 and the second was to purchase the extended warranty(GET the warranty, for something like this...just do it.) and I kid you not, it took less than 1 minute to speak to a human being. And both times that human being was very nice and helped me in no time flat. That's about it. If any of you are like me then you'll read over these reviews time and time again. Remember, I'm more into gaming than anything and it has revolutionized my gaming experience. The movies I watch are nothing short of amazing as well. It just wasn't my focus and is more of a bonus than anything. I was really nervous when I was waiting to actually get the TV. It was near a thousand dollars and you always want to, first, get what you pay for. And second, hopefully, get even more than you expected with the money you save up for something like this. To that end, I do NOT regret getting this TV. Not for one second. Well, there it is. I hope this review has helped either make your decision easier or at the very least narrow down your search, your quest, for an amazing HDTV. For me, I completed that quest.

Was this review helpful? (36) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TStan
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/14/2009

Customer review by m0u5y

3.0 stars by m0u5y

I don't need to repeat things that have already been said about the television. It is great to use with the 360, to watch hulu and netflix movies off of, it is great to play pc games off of as well... Unfortunately, being an LCD TV it has some problems. I picked LCD because I figured it would last longer, but I haven't had this television for a year and a half and it already has a vertical line of stuck (hopefully not dead) sub pixels. I've been trying to get rid of them but nothing has fixed the problem. No physical damage was done to the television -- they just appeared! It is sad because I really like the television, but the line does bother me when the screen has light colors on it. Unfortunately, something like this completely ruins this expensive piece of equipment. It isn't worth spending the money to fix it either. Too bad they couldn't even get LCD right. Here is a picture. It is a little longer than a quarter of the screen.

Was this review helpful? (30) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
m0u5y
Reno, nv
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very happy with new TV
7/21/2009

Customer review by RelativeShopper

5.0 stars by RelativeShopper

This was my first LCD TV, going from an old CRT "tube" TV so I do not have prior LCD experience. I bought this TV based on lots of research, reviews, and price/budget. Pros. It has an excellent picture, bright and beautiful. There are lots of options that you can use to really optimize it if you are into that, but there are also preset optimizations (Movies, Games, Sports, etc) that help quite a bit if you don't want to get too technical . I love watching movies on this TV. Video games (Wii, PS3) are truly awesome. 1 note, you will need component cables to play Wii or else it will have a delay, they run about $15.00 if you don't already have them and you will want an HDMI cable for your PS3. Let me say again, Gaming ROCKS on this TV. The sound is quite good for a TV, but I have hooked up a surround sound stereo and use that primarily for sound. The TV, and the box it comes in, is very large. If you do not have an SUV or a truck you may want to have this delivered or get a friend to help pick it up. I found out the hard way. Cons: It gets warm, much warmer than my old tube TV but I guess this is to be expected due to the size. There are 2 stuck/malfunctioning pixels, not dead, but stuck, one on a dark red and one on a blue. The pixels light up with certain colors but stay dark on others (this is how I know they aren't dead). virtually unnoticeable at 6 feet away and like I said, they do change colors at times so it's not something your eye latches onto. Still, a little disappointing that a new TV has this condition. Notes: widescreen and blue rays will be cut off at the top and bottom of the screen. I didn't understand this until recently, not the TV's fault but if you were expecting to use all 47 of those inches on that new blue ray player think again as most movies formats exceed the 16:9 ratio and thus you have bars...unless you want to stretch it but then the picture gets really strange. This will probably only apply to people like me who are getting an LCD/widescreen for the first time.

Was this review helpful? (29) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
RelativeShopper
Kansas City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Tv
6/9/2009

Customer review by piplio

5.0 stars by piplio

I have only had this Tv for a short time now but its an amazing tv. I returned my 40" samsung because of picture issues after only 4 weeks and got this Tv. The Natural motion is amazing and the 120Hz is a huge improvement over my old samsung and the conrast ratio is great.

Was this review helpful? (29) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
piplio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Walmart associate
8/28/2009

Customer review by railguy1401

4.0 stars by railguy1401

this tv is great, i research tv's alot and i have wanted to upgrade my set for the living room (40" samsung) for a while now even though it is only 2 years old, recently i purchesed a 32" sharp for our bedroom and we love it so i was looking for a sharp in a 47" which i found but i also ran into this phillips and just from looking at them in the store i felt the picture was just a little better than the sharp and the picture on the sharp is awsome, once i got it home it took maybe 20 minutes to set up and my wife said it looked so life like and later that evening we were watching and hd channel and she thought it was a 3d movie it was that lifelike. so enough with my rambling go out and get one you wont be sorry!!!! and check your local store because when i was looking on line they said there was not one avalible at my local store but when i went there to look around there it was saying take me home.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
railguy1401
Breckenridge, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
All of it was ridiculous
6/3/2009

Customer review by babyangeleyes27

1.0 stars by babyangeleyes27

I had this product for less than 3 months, and the motherboard went out on it and the sensor bar as well. I had it sent to winston to get it fixed, and they of course had to get the board and sensor bar from Phillips. Comes to find out they said that both of the items I needed were on backorder for 3 weeks and it was going to take at most a week to put the new items in as well. On top of that the company originally had the sensor bar in stock, and then within 1 week it was on backordered for 3 weeks. What kind of mess are they feeding consumers. I believe that it is just flat out wrong, and Phillips wouldn't send me a new tv, so I decided to take it back. I am very disappointed in the company and the product. If this is what happens less than 3 months after I got this, then what kind of problems am I looking at down the road? For the price that I paid for it, I don't feel that it is worth it. With all the fine lines and the mess that you have to go through with items that are backordered, and the customer service aspect from Phillips it is NOT worth the price at all.

Was this review helpful? (29) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
babyangeleyes27
NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
BEAUTIFUL PICTURE!
6/25/2009

Customer review by mommatutu

5.0 stars by mommatutu

I was shocked when we got this TV because I assumed we would have to have a HD satellite receiver to get a good picture but I was wrong! We have a standard receiver and the picture is extremely life like! I am really amazed!

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
mommatutu
SE, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
9/11/2009

Customer review by gthepest20

5.0 stars by gthepest20

This TV is awesome. It has everything you need: a few HDMI inputs, the old school coaxial cable input, and your standard yellow, white, and red cable inputs. The only thing that this TV does not offer is the input for a fiber optic audio cable. Other than that, I am very satisfied with my TV.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
gthepest20
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Philips
1/3/2010

Customer review by dblank

1.0 stars by dblank

Everything looks good about Philips HDTV's for maybe a year or two, just when your warranties run out. If you are lucky to have a picture or better yet able to turn your tv on, it will not last. Philips will not talk to you on the phone or chat with you online. Nothing!! Go to consumer complaints, read the 58 pages of complaints, need I say more.

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
dblank
Would recommend to a friend? No
get extended warrenty,no joke!!!!
12/31/2009

Customer review by extendedwarrenty

5.0 stars by extendedwarrenty

I really liked my 47"lcd 1080 untill it started to get lines running horizontal in it.First off, I bought this tv in 2007 when they first came out and have loved it till now.the only thing saving me from a big loss is the extended warrenty.I had to send the tv in for a month only to be told that it cant be fixed(apparentlly the lcd goes bad and there isnt replacement parts). So the 2 year extended warrenty that i had got is really saving my butt,because it expires in a month. But after all said and done they are now in the process of sending me a brand new tv right to my house.I noticed that all of the people who rating the tv's had just got them,i would like to talk in two years and see what they have to say.MY LESSON TO EVERYONE BUYING TV'S IS TO BUY THE EXTENDED WARRENTY OR BE PREPARED TO CRY!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
extendedwarrenty
Waterford, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A true product of Excellence
5/31/2009

Customer review by curveballer98

5.0 stars by curveballer98

We've had this television for roughly 3 weeks now, and absolutely love it. I must admit, it took some getting used to, as the quality of the picture, with combination of the 120hz, the pixel plus 3hd and the hd natural motion is amazing. The picture is literally lifelike, as if you were watching outside of your living room window. I don't want to say it has a 3-d appearance to it, but it's really as if the characters are in front of you. My wife hated it at first, but is growing to love it. I was watching an action flick on one of the pay channels recently and there was an explosion, and it appeared as if the rock, dirt and debris was going to come out of the television. The clarity that this tv produces is one that you'd expect to pay thousands more to get. Sports, an amazing experience with this TV. Even more awesome when watching it broadcast in HD. Crystal clear, very sharp, absolutly no ghosting, blurring or anything of the sort. The set up is extremely easy. I think it took me longer to open up the box and get it out, than it took me to hook it up and get on to watching it. We had actually purchased the same product but in a 42" version, minus the 120 hz, a couple weeks before, but had some technical issues with it, so we returned it and this new lineup was out, so we immediately upgraded. The sound quality is actually excellent. For your run of the mill sports and tv watching it's perfect. Even for movies we have no issues not having a booming surround sound set up. Everything is very crisp and clear, both visually and through audio. Then only thing that I can honestly critisize so far with this product is the remote control. For such an amazing product, the remote seems very cheap. But on the other hand, is easy to navigate, all the buttons you need to use the most, are easily located. Such as for changing the screen format and the picture viewing format. Overall, i give this product a huge thumbs up, and was very suprised to find something of such quality at Walmart. I must also commend the staff working at our Walmart, where I purchased the TV from. Outstanding customer service. Better than I've ever received at any other specialty store.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
curveballer98
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
poor support from phillips
4/11/2010

Customer review by phillipssceptic

2.0 stars by phillipssceptic

i've purchased other phillip's products and always considered them quality. when i purchased this model - it seems to work just ok. the picture was not always good in the automatic setting (too small on the screen - it would only adjust itself sometimes) and it would power off/on for no reason at all. the clock does't work either. phillips told me it was my cable company. now that the warranty has expired i find that it is a problem with the tv not my cable company. phillips released a software upgrade but it doesn't really fix any of the problems - and, the list it addresses is very long (see their website) when i called phillips, they say since my warranty has expired, they cannot help me - i explained that i contacted them during the warranty, as well but, they wouldn't budge..... DON'T BUT ANY PHILLIPS LCD TV's - if there's a problem, their support is terrible.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
phillipssceptic
Atlanta GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Horrible, horrible, horrible!!!
1/27/2010

Customer review by 7mom7

1.0 stars by 7mom7

In regard to my Philips 47" 1080p Full-HD LCD... I bought this TV in FEB 2009 after months of saving and shopping around for a quality product. I decided on this brand and was happy with it until only 5 MONTHS after purchasing it, I couldn't even get it to turn on. Luckily, it was still under warranty, so after contacting the technician to come out to fix it and adjusting my schedule, he came out I thought the problem was resolved. A month later, the same problem occurs and after another scheduled appointment, I was told the "board" I need is on backorder. Finally on the 24th of SEPTEMBER I received a call from the tech to schedule another appointment to come back out a THIRD time to fix the problem. So while having this TV on the stand while watching my old 32" is nice, I didn't plan on spending approximately $1000.00 on a TV that I've had for 11 months but only watched it for about 9 months. Currently, in order for the sound to work, it has to be tapped in the back a few times first, and even then it works only if it decides it's having a good day. I am extremely disappointed in this product although I could have paid the extra few HUNDRED dollars offered by Philips for an extended warranty, I decided it's not worth it. From now on, I will be advising everyone who will listen to AVOID Philips products and I as well will no longer be purchasing from the Philips family... other consumers BEWARE!!!! The TV is beautiful & HD is great, no light reflection at all... WHEN & IF it decides to work.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
7mom7
Mount Clemens, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
amazing quality and value!
1/3/2011

Customer review by TonyG2010

5.0 stars by TonyG2010

did research for many months on the purchase of a new HDTV and this tv was the one I picked after hours and hours of online research. Needed at least a 46 inch with 1080 resolution and at least a 120 hz. This TV is priced at $699 and alot of wal marts don't have it for display, so I still took a chance with this TV. The picture quality is crisp and clear and does not have a glare on the screen ( like plasmas do) and the speakers sound great. It was easy to set up and the built in stand made it easy to complete the installation, within 10 minutes of opening it I had my tv set up, programmed with the new HDTV channels and my surround sound set up! The TV is Heavy, so make sure you get at least 2 people to put it up on a stand. The remote control is easy to use and anyone can learn to use it, it's not one of those controllers that has tons of buttons! It contains 4 HDMI connections, so setting up a gaming system, surround sound, cable box etc will be easy to do. Looking forward to setting up a ps3 to this system and enjoying it for many years to come!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TonyG2010
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't Pass this UP!
7/18/2009

Customer review by DDH26

5.0 stars by DDH26

After months and months looking for a TV for the right price, I came across this one. All my electronic buddies told me the only way to go is Samsung. My friends have Samsung’s and they all look great, but Samsung TV’s are a little more expensive than their competitors for the same size. I was just about to pay more for the Samsung when my gut told me to go with the Philips. I could not be happier! The picture is awesome and I don’t have the HD box or the cables to enhance the pictures. I can’t image what it would look like if I added all the HD stuff! Not one major problem with the Philips. Installing and clean up took 20 minutes. The only con I could write would be the sound is not awesome, however it is still good. The funny thing about the TV is I had to convince my wife to get it, now she watches the TV more than I do. No JOKE! I read all the reviews and went for it and haven’t looked back. One of those same friends that stressed the Samsung to me, his Samsung went out about a month after I bought mine. He went back to Best Buy and they would not work with him about returning it at all. I have had trouble myself with Best Buy and electronics in the past. After much debating he ending up getting a smaller TV. At Wal-Mart you will not have that problem. My advice to anyone, keep the receipt on any major purchases. If a person does not know much about TV’s go to Best Buy, have them educate you, then go to Wal-Mart and buy it. I hope this helps you out in making your decision!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
DDH26
Springdale, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
DONT BUY PHILIPS
12/31/2009

Customer review by DONTBUYPHILIPS

1.0 stars by DONTBUYPHILIPS

I bought my Philips T.V. last year, spent over $1,000.00. It was good for a little while, the sound kept messing (started about a week after we bought it) we called philips and it would work for a little while and then it completely stopped! I called and they said they had no record of our repeated calls, they told us we would have to look in the yellowpages and pay for it to get repaired. I went and bought some speakers and plugged those in and that worked really good, then a month later the screen stopped working!! We finally said the heck with it and went an bought a RCA. Love it! Philips isn't worth the money but if you have already bought one, I would get the extended warranty and make a record of the calls you make to them! Bad customer service also!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
DONTBUYPHILIPS
Barnesville, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 171 total reviews