Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 102 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

102 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

102 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

69%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
50
4 stars
20
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 stars
22
1-20 of 92 total reviews
69%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 92 total reviews
1-20 of 92 reviews
Good Saw
4/2/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/2/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is well made, I liked the attachment nut/bolt for the bar, the adjustment screw/tensioner is well made. Plenty of power for 33cc. I was immpressed. Be sure to read reviews on other saws, as I bought this one because of bad reviews on other saws. Check inside the box to make sure it is all there, the first box was missing parts. This saw wieghs a lot but cost a third the price of a real light wieght saw, keep that in mind.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Boise, Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Good saw for light work...
6/18/2013

Customer review by toomanytoyz99

4.0 stars 6/18/2013 by toomanytoyz99
by toomanytoyz99
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The manufacturer is up front about the limitations of the saw - says right in the owner's manual, not to run it for more than a couple of hours, etc... Mine stalled a lot out of the box, but you can easily adjust the idle screw, and mine runs fine since then. I also have a larger Poulan Pro saw, and there is a noted difference in quality - plus you won't get a case, etc... with this brand. Once the idle setting adjustment was made, I've cut firewood logs on several occasions, and the saw starts on the 2nd or 3rd pull. For light work, I don't think you can beat the saw for the price. It would be nice if they'd sell it already assembled, with the saw tuned up. I don't understand why they sell a brand new peice of equipment, and then require the buyer to tinker with it - but most 2-cycle engines will require tinkering in their lifetime - so I can't hold it too heavily against Poulan. But that's why I won't give it a 5 star rating. Hope that helps.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
toomanytoyz99
raleigh nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Saw Good Price
9/8/2009

Customer review by stefanj

4.0 stars 9/8/2009 by stefanj
by stefanj

First and foremost these saws are nicely built and contain Oregon Chains and bars. The directions are easy to follow and contain useful info on safety and cutting procedures. THe saw was easy to assemble and easy to adjust. Starting is ok (I expected easier starting with a primer and choke- but these engines are VERY cold blooded and not the easiest to start). Once the saw is up and running and warmed up it runs like a champ. Gas and oil consumption are pretty good. THe only things I have to complain about is that Poulan did not included any bar oil in the box (they include the 2 stroke oil but no bar oil) and that these saws use a POWERTIP bar that needs lubrication (that is what that little hole in the tip of the bar is for- a squirt of grease at every fuel up) but this is not mentioned in the directions at all! Get yourself a little grease syringe and give the tip of the bar a shot of grease at every fuel up- and the bar will last forever.

Was this review helpful? (84) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stefanj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Woodshark
6/10/2016

Customer review by Keith

4.0 stars 6/10/2016 by Keith
by Keith

I was looking for a good saw that would start and cut back overgrown areas of the yard. The saw starts and runs good. It has a low kickback bar and chain which requires a little more time (less cutting teeth) but has preformed good for me. The gas tank and bar oil are good size matched. I use premixed gas/oil which the saw seems to like. For $110 I am happy with the woodshark.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Keith
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good 1st Chainsaw
3/28/2010

Customer review by Wreckdiver

5.0 stars 3/28/2010 by Wreckdiver
by Wreckdiver

I've been looking for a gas chainsaw for a few weeks now. I wanted one to cut firewood. With a lot of land in the county where I live, it's free for the taking. So I decided on this model. I had it working 5 minutes out of the box. It was easy to assemble. I also found the gas and oil openings to be nice a large for easy pouring. It took a little bit to start, but once started it ran well. It did stall a couple times, but I think maybe that was just air in the line. As far as cutting, it went thru newly felled trees with ease. I cut a lot of wood in a short amount of time. I believe this chainsaw will be easy enough to take into the woods, to harvest downed trees for firewood. At under $100.00, I can't see how you can go wrong.

Was this review helpful? (143) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wreckdiver
Upper Township, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good saw--bad chain
8/29/2011

Customer review by nikflorida

4.0 stars 8/29/2011 by nikflorida
by nikflorida

This saw is easy to finish assembling right out of the box-- there's a lot of low reviews here that complain about the saw not idling well-- there's an adjustment screw for the idle, so if you have a problem, idle it slightly higher. Seriously, for $100 it's a great saw. The chain is cheap, just so you're aware. It'll dull in a hurry, and won't hold an edge; I got a 2-pack of replacement chains for about $20, and solved that issue in a hurry. The instructions don't mention the oil sump-- be sure you keep it filled (it really surprises me that the instructions just "assume" you know that-- isn't this a saw marketed for beginners?) I use it for little odds and ends around the yard-- limbing, firewood, and so forth-- for a light duty saw, I really don't think you can do any better than this. :) Do yourself a favor though, and buy an extra chain or two right away.

Was this review helpful? (26) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nikflorida
Rock Hill, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Cutting went smoothly
4/20/2009

Customer review by BettyBobNY

5.0 stars 4/20/2009 by BettyBobNY
by BettyBobNY

I am a single mom and I did it! I have always been nervous to use powertools but have been slowly overcoming that fear. We love camping and camp fires and we pick up wood around the neighborhood when people cut down trees. Problem is, they are usually 4-6 feet long. My 13 yr old son talked me into buying this chainsaw...instead of using the reciprocating saw to cut the wood we collected last year. I read the manual thoroughly and after using it I highly recommend this product. Very easy to use, did not kickback once, and it was very easy to adjust the chain. I'm no longer worried about picking up larger tree limbs for our campfires,

Was this review helpful? (90) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BettyBobNY
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Excellent tool!
9/26/2011

Customer review by Miningdeacon

5.0 stars 9/26/2011 by Miningdeacon
by Miningdeacon

This is by far the best light weight chainsaw I have used and I have used a lot of them! I cut firewood for winter for sale and for my own use and have been doing so for over 40 years. This saw is light, easy to start, and well balanced. Keep the chain sharp, make sure you are getting chips when cutting NOT sawdust, and it will make your firewood cutting a walk in the park. Always check the bar oil and that the bar is in good shape. Drag a fingernail over the edge of the bar starting from the wide flat area to where the chain runs. If it hangs up on the edge dress it smooth with a file after removing the bar and chain from the saw...see you owner's manual for bar/chain removal. My friend bought an Echo chainsaw against my advice. The $300 plus Echo looks very nice as it sits in his garage now. His new Pouland Woodshark is out in the woods working. >>wicked grin<<

Was this review helpful? (19) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Miningdeacon
On the ranch in the west
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Poulan 14'' Woodshark Chainsaw
7/2/2016

Customer review by JC357

4.0 stars 7/2/2016 by JC357
by JC357
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Nice little chainsaw, cuts well. Bought it on line and since I saw one in my local store that sold for $20 less.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 7/5/2016

Thank you for your recent review of your Poulan Chainsaw.

JC357
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The reviews say it all!!!
8/26/2010

Customer review by sfbmotors

2.0 stars 8/26/2010 by sfbmotors
by sfbmotors

I read over the reviews of this chainsaw by other purchaser's and it seemed a 50/50 split between Good & Bad so I took a chance yesterday and purchased one. It was very easy to finish assembling, I added the exact amount of SYNTHETIC 2 Stroke Oil to 1 Gallon of gasoline, filled the chain/bar oil sump with Poulan chain/bar oil & followed the instructions. It was not too difficult to get started but it did cut off OVER & OVER & OVER!!! I spent more time starting the saw than I did cutting with it. It cut excellently but I guess any chainsaw would with a new blade on it. My issue is the fact that it would not stay running. If you pulled the cord a few times, it would start and idle without a problem, but once you engaged the trigger & blade to run at near full throttle, it would DIE as soon as you let off the trigger. This being said, I WILL DEFINITELY be returning it to WALMART for a refund. I assume my problem is a repeat of everyone's problem & that's why you can find so many REFURBS of this model on Ebay & at other outlets such as Northern Tool.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sfbmotors
Marietta, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Over 10yrs and counting
2/13/2010

Customer review by loose357

5.0 stars 2/13/2010 by loose357
by loose357

I got this saw 10 years ago and have abused the snot out of it. Used it to cut an old garage into chunk. Cut 24 inch wide ash trees up (dont get me wrong it took awhile). I just used it today to cut a good portion of a 40 foot maple. Got a Husqvarna for the big stuff now just to save time. Only thing I have replace is the chain and it still runs strong. My only complaint was that I had to adjust the idle to keep it running when I first bought it but since then no problems. You will have to clean out the muffler after a few years because it can get blocked up and you will lose power. All In All a great little saw.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
loose357
Janesville, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Good for the money
12/28/2010

Customer review by Tommy69

4.0 stars 12/28/2010 by Tommy69
by Tommy69

I bought this for the price. It looked like a good one. Got it home had a hard time starting it. Once started ran great. then it would not idle. I see people have complained of this. All you need to do is just turn the idle screw up a tiny bit. After that this saw has cut a huge amount of wood. Its light weight and easy to control. The one big problem I do have with it is the gas cap is so hard to get off and on. Need pliers. Great saw for the money.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tommy69
Callicoon,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Hate to Be Negative, But It's True
10/28/2010

Customer review by hk4jc

1.0 stars 10/28/2010 by hk4jc
by hk4jc

I hate to be negative about this product when others are mostly rating it high. But hear this out. I ignored the bad reviews about the chainsaw from other websites and Walmart's and bought it. I am sure the ones who rated it highly are correct. It's just that I got a lemon. I got it right out of the box and tried it. It idled for few seconds and it died out. I tried it many times and it still died out. I tried to keep the idle steady squeezing the lever and I smelled something burning. I had to return it. Considering the consistent negative reviews from other websites and my experience, probably out of 8 to 10 of these chainsaws, one is a lemon (the idle is not adjusted well or something). If you happened to be that one, you'll be having a bad day. It's worth to pay $50 more and buy something else.

Was this review helpful? (29) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hk4jc
Los Angeles, California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Good little saw
9/27/2009

Customer review by blondie23

4.0 stars 9/27/2009 by blondie23
by blondie23

Used to clear out our lot. Cuts everything like butter. Pull start is a little tough, but other than that this thing is a work horse. It isn't as loud as I thought it would be. Great bang for your buck.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
blondie23
Tallahassee, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
the truth
3/9/2010

Customer review by gettingbye

5.0 stars 3/9/2010 by gettingbye
by gettingbye

This saw I've owned for about 5 years and have been cutting firewood for the last two. and have almost worn out my second chain. and this saw has been good to me. no break downs or problems of any kind. would I recommend this saw? you bet in fact I would and will buy another when this one wears out. Lord willing.I have read some of these reviews about this saw and I flat don't believe some of them based on my personal experience this saw.

Was this review helpful? (72) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gettingbye
kane pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1 tough saw
5/19/2010

Customer review by glarck

5.0 stars 5/19/2010 by glarck
by glarck

I have used this saw for about 5 years now, it starts just a well now as when new. I cut approx. 30 pickup loads a season. When it expires, I will definitely look for another one. Inexpensive but good, I could buy three of these versus one Stihl, but if I ever run into another axman, he won't be very impressed, some people live and learn, and some just live.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
glarck
Almost Heaven
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Poulan14 inch chainsaw
2/23/2016

Customer review by Woodsmanswife

5.0 stars 2/23/2016 by Woodsmanswife
by Woodsmanswife

This chainsaw is fantastic for the price . Was a gift for my husband and he is very pleased with its performance .

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Woodsmanswife
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
First and only chainsaw in 4 years
4/5/2014

Customer review by The1yardman

5.0 stars 4/5/2014 by The1yardman
by The1yardman

I purchased a new home 4 years ago, I needed to get the yard in the condition of my perference. Purchased this saw and have cut down to date 9 trees in my yard and have cleaned up storm damaged trees for my neighbors as well, but the important thing is that this saw has taken all the abuse I have thrown at it, for 100 bucks I gave it all it's got and if necessary go buy another one, but guess what I'm still on the same one, yes the blades do get dull but then again I have to admit I have ran this saw with lack of chain oil many many times, so I have changed a few blades, but have also sharpened some too. But do the math 100 bucks and a few blades vs several thousand to hire someone to cut down what I have cut with this one and only $100 saw. I do hope I'm not jinking myself by posting this review as I'm helping a neighbor cut down 2 trees tomorrow, but if all does go bad (I don't think it will though# I will still go buy the same saw again the minute it dies #FYI, when I purchased this saw I think it was 99 bucks, 3-4 years later it's still only like a 110 bucks at walmart.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
The1yardman
Knightdale, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Bad unit? or trend of new saws?
12/11/2011

Customer review by patches60

1.0 stars 12/11/2011 by patches60
by patches60

Fresh out of the box, fresh gas/oil mix,poulan bar oil. Had a pile of large limbs to cut up. Saw would not idle and would not run @ full throttle. Yes it was returned 4 hours after purchase. The feel and quality is definitely not the same as my previous Walmart purchased Poulan. It lived thru 4 hurricane clean-ups and 6 years of firewood. Replacement was because the fuel hose started crumbling in the tank and the compression was starting to go.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
patches60
FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
It works.. what can I say.
7/1/2009

Customer review by NathanStPaul

5.0 stars 7/1/2009 by NathanStPaul
by NathanStPaul

It works well and takes a lot of abuse. It's simple to adjust the blade and it powerful enough to do whatever I've asked of it. I've cut down countless four and five inch trees and one 18 inch wide mulberry tree and it worked well as long as it had fuel in it. It also came with the oil I needed to make my first gallon of oil/gas mix and get started cutting so that was pretty nice. I'm just a very happy lumberjack:) My dad has the same style saw but older and that one had no troubles at all so that's why I bought mine.

Was this review helpful? (30) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NathanStPaul
St Paul, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 92 total reviews
1-20 of 92 reviews