Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 94 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

94 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

94 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

68%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
46
4 stars
18
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 stars
20
1-20 of 84 total reviews
68%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 84 total reviews
1-20 of 84 reviews
Good 1st Chainsaw
3/28/2010

Customer review by Wreckdiver

5.0 stars 3/28/2010 by Wreckdiver
by Wreckdiver

I've been looking for a gas chainsaw for a few weeks now. I wanted one to cut firewood. With a lot of land in the county where I live, it's free for the taking. So I decided on this model. I had it working 5 minutes out of the box. It was easy to assemble. I also found the gas and oil openings to be nice a large for easy pouring. It took a little bit to start, but once started it ran well. It did stall a couple times, but I think maybe that was just air in the line. As far as cutting, it went thru newly felled trees with ease. I cut a lot of wood in a short amount of time. I believe this chainsaw will be easy enough to take into the woods, to harvest downed trees for firewood. At under $100.00, I can't see how you can go wrong.

Was this review helpful? (126) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wreckdiver
Upper Township, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Cutting went smoothly
4/20/2009

Customer review by BettyBobNY

5.0 stars 4/20/2009 by BettyBobNY
by BettyBobNY

I am a single mom and I did it! I have always been nervous to use powertools but have been slowly overcoming that fear. We love camping and camp fires and we pick up wood around the neighborhood when people cut down trees. Problem is, they are usually 4-6 feet long. My 13 yr old son talked me into buying this chainsaw...instead of using the reciprocating saw to cut the wood we collected last year. I read the manual thoroughly and after using it I highly recommend this product. Very easy to use, did not kickback once, and it was very easy to adjust the chain. I'm no longer worried about picking up larger tree limbs for our campfires,

Was this review helpful? (83) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BettyBobNY
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Good Saw Good Price
9/8/2009

Customer review by stefanj

4.0 stars 9/8/2009 by stefanj
by stefanj

First and foremost these saws are nicely built and contain Oregon Chains and bars. The directions are easy to follow and contain useful info on safety and cutting procedures. THe saw was easy to assemble and easy to adjust. Starting is ok (I expected easier starting with a primer and choke- but these engines are VERY cold blooded and not the easiest to start). Once the saw is up and running and warmed up it runs like a champ. Gas and oil consumption are pretty good. THe only things I have to complain about is that Poulan did not included any bar oil in the box (they include the 2 stroke oil but no bar oil) and that these saws use a POWERTIP bar that needs lubrication (that is what that little hole in the tip of the bar is for- a squirt of grease at every fuel up) but this is not mentioned in the directions at all! Get yourself a little grease syringe and give the tip of the bar a shot of grease at every fuel up- and the bar will last forever.

Was this review helpful? (71) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stefanj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
the truth
3/9/2010

Customer review by gettingbye

5.0 stars 3/9/2010 by gettingbye
by gettingbye

This saw I've owned for about 5 years and have been cutting firewood for the last two. and have almost worn out my second chain. and this saw has been good to me. no break downs or problems of any kind. would I recommend this saw? you bet in fact I would and will buy another when this one wears out. Lord willing.I have read some of these reviews about this saw and I flat don't believe some of them based on my personal experience this saw.

Was this review helpful? (62) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gettingbye
kane pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
It works.. what can I say.
7/1/2009

Customer review by NathanStPaul

5.0 stars 7/1/2009 by NathanStPaul
by NathanStPaul

It works well and takes a lot of abuse. It's simple to adjust the blade and it powerful enough to do whatever I've asked of it. I've cut down countless four and five inch trees and one 18 inch wide mulberry tree and it worked well as long as it had fuel in it. It also came with the oil I needed to make my first gallon of oil/gas mix and get started cutting so that was pretty nice. I'm just a very happy lumberjack:) My dad has the same style saw but older and that one had no troubles at all so that's why I bought mine.

Was this review helpful? (25) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NathanStPaul
St Paul, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Good Saw
4/2/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/2/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is well made, I liked the attachment nut/bolt for the bar, the adjustment screw/tensioner is well made. Plenty of power for 33cc. I was immpressed. Be sure to read reviews on other saws, as I bought this one because of bad reviews on other saws. Check inside the box to make sure it is all there, the first box was missing parts. This saw wieghs a lot but cost a third the price of a real light wieght saw, keep that in mind.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Boise, Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Good saw--bad chain
8/29/2011

Customer review by nikflorida

4.0 stars 8/29/2011 by nikflorida
by nikflorida

This saw is easy to finish assembling right out of the box-- there's a lot of low reviews here that complain about the saw not idling well-- there's an adjustment screw for the idle, so if you have a problem, idle it slightly higher. Seriously, for $100 it's a great saw. The chain is cheap, just so you're aware. It'll dull in a hurry, and won't hold an edge; I got a 2-pack of replacement chains for about $20, and solved that issue in a hurry. The instructions don't mention the oil sump-- be sure you keep it filled (it really surprises me that the instructions just "assume" you know that-- isn't this a saw marketed for beginners?) I use it for little odds and ends around the yard-- limbing, firewood, and so forth-- for a light duty saw, I really don't think you can do any better than this. :) Do yourself a favor though, and buy an extra chain or two right away.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nikflorida
Rock Hill, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good for the money
12/28/2010

Customer review by Tommy69

4.0 stars 12/28/2010 by Tommy69
by Tommy69

I bought this for the price. It looked like a good one. Got it home had a hard time starting it. Once started ran great. then it would not idle. I see people have complained of this. All you need to do is just turn the idle screw up a tiny bit. After that this saw has cut a huge amount of wood. Its light weight and easy to control. The one big problem I do have with it is the gas cap is so hard to get off and on. Need pliers. Great saw for the money.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tommy69
Callicoon,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Hate to Be Negative, But It's True
10/28/2010

Customer review by hk4jc

1.0 stars 10/28/2010 by hk4jc
by hk4jc

I hate to be negative about this product when others are mostly rating it high. But hear this out. I ignored the bad reviews about the chainsaw from other websites and Walmart's and bought it. I am sure the ones who rated it highly are correct. It's just that I got a lemon. I got it right out of the box and tried it. It idled for few seconds and it died out. I tried it many times and it still died out. I tried to keep the idle steady squeezing the lever and I smelled something burning. I had to return it. Considering the consistent negative reviews from other websites and my experience, probably out of 8 to 10 of these chainsaws, one is a lemon (the idle is not adjusted well or something). If you happened to be that one, you'll be having a bad day. It's worth to pay $50 more and buy something else.

Was this review helpful? (20) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hk4jc
Los Angeles, California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Excellent tool!
9/26/2011

Customer review by Miningdeacon

5.0 stars 9/26/2011 by Miningdeacon
by Miningdeacon

This is by far the best light weight chainsaw I have used and I have used a lot of them! I cut firewood for winter for sale and for my own use and have been doing so for over 40 years. This saw is light, easy to start, and well balanced. Keep the chain sharp, make sure you are getting chips when cutting NOT sawdust, and it will make your firewood cutting a walk in the park. Always check the bar oil and that the bar is in good shape. Drag a fingernail over the edge of the bar starting from the wide flat area to where the chain runs. If it hangs up on the edge dress it smooth with a file after removing the bar and chain from the saw...see you owner's manual for bar/chain removal. My friend bought an Echo chainsaw against my advice. The $300 plus Echo looks very nice as it sits in his garage now. His new Pouland Woodshark is out in the woods working. >>wicked grin<<

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Miningdeacon
On the ranch in the west
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good little saw
9/27/2009

Customer review by blondie23

4.0 stars 9/27/2009 by blondie23
by blondie23

Used to clear out our lot. Cuts everything like butter. Pull start is a little tough, but other than that this thing is a work horse. It isn't as loud as I thought it would be. Great bang for your buck.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blondie23
Tallahassee, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1 tough saw
5/19/2010

Customer review by glarck

5.0 stars 5/19/2010 by glarck
by glarck

I have used this saw for about 5 years now, it starts just a well now as when new. I cut approx. 30 pickup loads a season. When it expires, I will definitely look for another one. Inexpensive but good, I could buy three of these versus one Stihl, but if I ever run into another axman, he won't be very impressed, some people live and learn, and some just live.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
glarck
Almost Heaven
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Over 10yrs and counting
2/13/2010

Customer review by loose357

5.0 stars 2/13/2010 by loose357
by loose357

I got this saw 10 years ago and have abused the snot out of it. Used it to cut an old garage into chunk. Cut 24 inch wide ash trees up (dont get me wrong it took awhile). I just used it today to cut a good portion of a 40 foot maple. Got a Husqvarna for the big stuff now just to save time. Only thing I have replace is the chain and it still runs strong. My only complaint was that I had to adjust the idle to keep it running when I first bought it but since then no problems. You will have to clean out the muffler after a few years because it can get blocked up and you will lose power. All In All a great little saw.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
loose357
Janesville, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Good saw for light work...
6/18/2013

Customer review by toomanytoyz99

4.0 stars 6/18/2013 by toomanytoyz99
by toomanytoyz99

The manufacturer is up front about the limitations of the saw - says right in the owner's manual, not to run it for more than a couple of hours, etc... Mine stalled a lot out of the box, but you can easily adjust the idle screw, and mine runs fine since then. I also have a larger Poulan Pro saw, and there is a noted difference in quality - plus you won't get a case, etc... with this brand. Once the idle setting adjustment was made, I've cut firewood logs on several occasions, and the saw starts on the 2nd or 3rd pull. For light work, I don't think you can beat the saw for the price. It would be nice if they'd sell it already assembled, with the saw tuned up. I don't understand why they sell a brand new peice of equipment, and then require the buyer to tinker with it - but most 2-cycle engines will require tinkering in their lifetime - so I can't hold it too heavily against Poulan. But that's why I won't give it a 5 star rating. Hope that helps.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
toomanytoyz99
raleigh nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Keeps on working
12/18/2010

Customer review by clonetrooper42

4.0 stars 12/18/2010 by clonetrooper42
by clonetrooper42

Have been cutting firewood with my saw for 7 years without problems. Use it 20-30 hours/year. Powerful for a little saw - cuts through smaller wood easily. I have cut quite a bit of 20+" oak and hickory, but it is slow on these. No problems stalling, but sometimes a little hard to start if weather is really cold. Only complaint is that one gas line is a specialized size - very difficult to find and hard to replace! Other reviewers noted problems with the chain, but I am still on my first chain. Only had to sharpen occasionally - usually after cutting a bunch of hard, seasoned hickory.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
clonetrooper42
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Long Time User Rates This!!!
9/11/2009

Customer review by Daniel9087

4.0 stars 9/11/2009 by Daniel9087
by Daniel9087

The chainsaw is hard to pull the first 5 pulls or so, if it takes that many, but then it's easy and always starts right up. I abuse the heck out of this and it cuts great through large logs and runs great but the chain is cheap and can't be sharpened more than a few times, at which point you have to buy a new one. Fortunately a pack of two chains is under 20 bucks. If you plan on doing a lot of cutting, you'd better buy extra chains or blow a couple extra hundred dollars on something professional (not a Poulan). In the end, the cost will work out to be about the same. If you know all this up-front, you should be very happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Daniel9087
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Bad unit? or trend of new saws?
12/11/2011

Customer review by patches60

1.0 stars 12/11/2011 by patches60
by patches60

Fresh out of the box, fresh gas/oil mix,poulan bar oil. Had a pile of large limbs to cut up. Saw would not idle and would not run @ full throttle. Yes it was returned 4 hours after purchase. The feel and quality is definitely not the same as my previous Walmart purchased Poulan. It lived thru 4 hurricane clean-ups and 6 years of firewood. Replacement was because the fuel hose started crumbling in the tank and the compression was starting to go.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
patches60
FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Easy Start Easy work
7/27/2010

Customer review by petetomas

5.0 stars 7/27/2010 by petetomas
by petetomas

For 100$ you cant go wrong. I tore throw a ton of trees and this thing didnt even slow down. The wood i was cuting was pretty dry, which makes it easier i would assume. But this little puppy starts right up and goes.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
petetomas
encinitas ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
not so good
6/8/2010

Customer review by cory123

1.0 stars 6/8/2010 by cory123
by cory123

bought the first chainsaw started up ran it for 15 minutes, ran great!!! ran it for 1 hour. chainsaw would not idle kept shutting down on low rpm soon after that primer bulb went empty and would not prime up. Got another saw the same day hard to start, ran for 5 minutes and started acting up. same problem. primer bulb would not fill up would not stay running for long. Apparently quality control wasn't there the day these saws rolled off the line!!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cory123
Garland, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
3/27/2012

Customer review by cherawjim

1.0 stars 3/27/2012 by cherawjim
by cherawjim

A piece of junk. Could never get it started. Tried to start it for two hours. Waste of time and money.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cherawjim
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 84 total reviews
1-20 of 84 reviews