Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 28 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

28 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

28 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

64%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
6
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 stars
6
1-20 of 27 total reviews
64%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews
Great trimmer
6/15/2009

Customer review by BeenThere2

4.0 stars 6/15/2009 by BeenThere2
by BeenThere2

I have had this trimmer for a couple of months now and have used it for a total of 5 hours. I was very apprehensive about the single line head, as I have always used either a bump or auto line feed head. My fears were unfounded, as I love the single-line head and would never go back to the others. I have a lot of chain-link fence to trim (over 500 feet), sidewalks/driveway, tall grass at the dock by our pond, etc (in all about 1 1/2 hours worth of trimming). This last time I only had to change the string out once! I am using Craftsman .105 trimmer line that I bought in a roll and cut myself, rather than the expensive .115 Poulan pre-cut line. I suppose if I ran the trimmer full blast against my chain-link fence and concrete steps, it would use the line up quickly. However, this is not necessary and if you use a little common sense the line will last a long time. I too had to adjust the throttle in order for it to run smoothly out of the box. Every so often you may have to adjust it again until it gets broken in. Not a big deal - again - anyone with a screwdriver and some common sense can turn a screw until the motor runs smoothly. One unexpected feature of this trimmer is that the head rotates in a counter-clockwise direction. As I have always cut with the left side of the head, grass is thrown all over me. I read where the new Craftsman trimmers do the same thing, so maybe this is the trend. Because of this it's even more important to wear safety glasses. In summary, this trimmer is MUCH more powerful than previous trimmers I have used, and therefore I am able to trim thicker stuff that I struggled to trim before. If you only have light trimming to do, then you should purchase a lighter less powerful trimmer. If you have a lot of area to cover that has thick weeds as I do, and/or you would like to use attachments, then this trimmer is all you'll need.

Was this review helpful? (30) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BeenThere2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great Value
4/25/2009

Customer review by chemman08

5.0 stars 4/25/2009 by chemman08
by chemman08

Like one of the other reviewers, I had vowed to never buy another Poulan after a bad experience with a Featherlight weedeater years ago. I decided to buy this weedeater because it had the most power and the trimmer head is not a bump head. The idle on mine could use some adjustment, but it cranked and ran well out of the box. I have used a stihl and craftsman with the same trimmer head. The head on the stihl got tangled more easily and the craftsman has less power. This weedeater is heavier and not as well balanced as a nice stihl or husqvarna, but it doesn't carry the hefty price either. This weedeater has the power of a high-end weedeater without the price. It wasn't a hard choice for me.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chemman08
Dunn, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
tobehonest
7/23/2009

Customer review by tobefair

5.0 stars 7/23/2009 by tobefair
by tobefair

I bought this trimmer last summer and have been pleased with the product. I recommend that you first read the instruction manual before using. Starting seems to cause people problems because they always pull the trigger, on this model they have a set way to start it and if you follow the procedure it starts first or second pull. Also the same for using the line. I used five lines the first day but now have it down to 1 most of the time. The instructions explain how to use the trimmer on cement edges and fences, if you follow the guidelines it will save you line, otherwise you will burn through it very fast. Great on gas, but is a little heavy. Also I have always used a feed type line and was apprehensive about going to a single line but then remembered how much trouble I had with the feed type. Always had to have a pair of needle nose pliers in my pocket to pull the line out. The single line is actually less work and one pack has lasted me the entire year! I would buy this one again.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tobefair
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Fine Tuning Needed
7/12/2009

Customer review by Rampage84

4.0 stars 7/12/2009 by Rampage84
by Rampage84

I was impressed with this units power. Poulans line does not last. Go with a heavier line, it'll last all day. After about 5 hours use it lost half its power. Found out the spark arrestor screen on the muffler was clogged with carbon. Pulled that screen right out and it runs like new.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rampage84
Troy NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Pleasant Suprise
7/22/2009

Customer review by UpLateAgain

5.0 stars 7/22/2009 by UpLateAgain
by UpLateAgain

I was concerned about buying this product after reading other reviews, but bought it anyway. The product started as advertised, and idled from the start as I would have hoped, no stalling. Used it for several hours and it restarts fine, no problems at all. Plenty of power. I really like the heavy gague line, did the entire yard including 300 feet of chain link fence on one piece of line. I hate the "tap-n-go" type spool heads and really like the single-line design this one has. I also bought the edger attachment and used it as well, it worked fine with no problems. Switching heads is quick and easy. I'm very satisfied with this product, especially for the price. It's a little heavy, but not bad. The trimmer I had before came with a shoulder strap, this one could benefit from a strap for prolonged use. It runs smooth and fairly quiet, plus doesn't put my hand to sleep like my old one did.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
UpLateAgain
Fayetteville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
A few adjustments!!!
9/5/2009

Customer review by tigerseye

3.0 stars 9/5/2009 by tigerseye
by tigerseye

I bought this product about 4 Months ago and used it about 5 hours and it gradually lost power and did not idle well at all. After replacing a gasket with a hole very close to its edge (it had a slight tear and was drawing air), and removing the spark arrestor screen with pliers (loaded with carbon after a few hours of use), this weed eater runs very strong and is a good value for the price. Chances are that I just got a bum gasket that may have contributed to the carbon loading on the spark arrestor, but if you lose power after only a few hours, try replacing/removing the spark arrestor screen.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tigerseye
Farmville, Va.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
waste of $$$
4/19/2009

Customer review by barneysm8

1.0 stars 4/19/2009 by barneysm8
by barneysm8

this thing is the biggest piece of junk ever.used every other week for about 20 mins for 8 months then the suddenly the carberator starting pouring fuel out just as fast as i could fill the fuel tank.had the carberator replaced.within 5 months after replacing,it too started pouring fuel out the bottom of the carb as fast as i filled the tank. i spent $120.00 + tax for the junk, paid another $64.00 to have the carberator replaced. now i have a $194.00 door prop.I will never buy another poulan product!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
barneysm8
SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
don't buy this !
6/6/2009

Customer review by drewmeister

1.0 stars 6/6/2009 by drewmeister
by drewmeister

I read previous reviews and thought I would check it out . This unit would not idle . I made the adjustment , it was okay for a few then died again . Ran screw all the way in to maintain idle . Then the starter cord pulled out and wouldn't retract . Spring must be broken ! I liked the thick line . It lasted quite a while . I'm returning this machine tomorrow and getting something more powerful.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
drewmeister
Grants Pass OR.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Nice Trimmer
5/12/2009

Customer review by okieboy73159

4.0 stars 5/12/2009 by okieboy73159
by okieboy73159

Purchased it in Mid April 09. Been raining much of the time and have not had a chance to use it. I did have to adjust the idle speed and it seems to work well now. Hope it works out.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
okieboy73159
Oklahoma City, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
frustration for sale
5/30/2009

Customer review by monumentalwaste

1.0 stars 5/30/2009 by monumentalwaste
by monumentalwaste

In a nutshell, this thing doesn't run long without stalling. When you can keep it running it will burn your forearm due to running so hot. If you choose to buy this, buy PLENTY of trimming cord because you will need to replace it approximately every 10 to 15 feet of space you trim ... unless you are trimming next to concrete where you will have to replace the line every 3 to 5 feet. If you are looking for a frustrating piece of machinery, this would be a good thing to buy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
monumentalwaste
Would recommend to a friend? No
Piece of junk - DO NOT BUY!
7/10/2009

Customer review by masterreviewer25

1.0 stars 7/10/2009 by masterreviewer25
by masterreviewer25

Purchased one of these with the hedge trimmer attachment, ran it about once per week for 4 weeks, for maybe a total of 4 hours. Then it died, turns out the piston ring burned up. Dealer does not have parts for it. Bought a second one and ran for about 10 minutes and died. Would not even fire after that! Returned the second one to the store and got a refund! This machinery is a piece of junk, do not buy!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
masterreviewer25
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
heavy duty good weed wacker
4/26/2009

Customer review by mebuyatwalmart

5.0 stars 4/26/2009 by mebuyatwalmart
by mebuyatwalmart

we did a 1/2 acre of land FULL of weeds the first day,the product did the job,so far we are quite pleased..

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mebuyatwalmart
california
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
a very useful gas powerd trimmer
4/29/2009

Customer review by Grasscutter2009

5.0 stars 4/29/2009 by Grasscutter2009
by Grasscutter2009

i bought this trimmer at the end of the 2007 summer. i have not had any problems with it. i would say at $120.00 it has almost paid for itself. i use it for a few hours a week durning grass cutting season. in march of this year i moved into a new home where the grass had not been cut it was aprx 2-3' high this Trimmer walked through that grass like no other Gas Trimmer i have ever owned before i was amazed at how easly it went through the grass with out even ideling down the others i've owned before this one would eather stall or the motor would just LOCKUP.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Grasscutter2009
Yazoo City, ms
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Very Pleased!!!
6/5/2009

Customer review by JPS44039

5.0 stars 6/5/2009 by JPS44039
by JPS44039

I did some searching and ended up buying this trimmer because of the power for the price. I couln't be more pleased with my decision. This trimmer has performed flawlessly and I can't wait to try out some of the attachments that fit on to it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JPS44039
North Ridgeville, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Better than expected power
6/26/2009

Customer review by thebeefman

4.0 stars 6/26/2009 by thebeefman
by thebeefman

Came with a quick start guide. I followed it and it started perfectly and continues to start perfectly. Idle on mine was set a bit high, but instructions made it an easy adjustment. Better than expected power, as a result it is more important then ever to wear protective eye wear. This product exceeded my expectations that were set by reading many reviews - I bought anyway hoping to get lucky and I did. It would be better if it came with a shoulder strap. They really skimp on the quantity of initial line they give you too. They should warn you of this so you don't have to make two trips to the store.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thebeefman
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works Very Well
7/1/2009

Customer review by skuterkomputer

4.0 stars 7/1/2009 by skuterkomputer
by skuterkomputer

After having to return the base model of the featherlite trimmer because it didnt work and broke after 1 use I was a bit skeptical about the trimmers walmart carried. But I decided to go out on a limb and try the Poulan Pro. I realize they are the same manufacturer but the two products are worlds apart. Setup was easy and it started on the first few pulls. Plenty of power to get through my thick florida grass and I liked the fact that it wasnt an auto feed spindle (less stuff to go wrong). I am excited to get the edger attachment & possibly the blower attachment. I gave this product 4 stars opposed to five because I have only used it once. Will it get 5 stars? Only time will tell. Also the reports of needing to adjust the idle are true I havent messed with it yet but I am sure anyone who is competent to use this machine will have no trouble figuring that out.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
skuterkomputer
florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Poulan Pro PPB335
5/24/2009

Customer review by Plopsdad

4.0 stars 5/24/2009 by Plopsdad
by Plopsdad

I picked up this unit because homelite model had too many issues. The 33CC engine has more than enough power to do the job. Only took about 6 pulls to start and has not let me down once. It takes down the thick stuff without issue. Only "downside" if you can call it that is that this unit takes some fuel down in comparison to a 26cc motor i had on the homelite. This unit is bit large and a bit on the heavy side, but those attachments i see for sale will take this beyond its weed trimmer duties and the engine has the power to handle them.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Plopsdad
Marysville < Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good but...
9/24/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 9/24/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Was easy to start right out of the box but would die instantly if let off the throttle too quickly. Tweaked the idle screw until it behaved the way I wanted (i.e., stayed running). Has run nicely since.   Within 3 weeks of simultaneously purchasing this trimmer and a Poulan Pro leaf blower, the exact same thing happened to each. The starter string wouldn't retract after a start attempt. In the trimmer, a spring had sprung, probably because I pulled too hard on start-up. Too bad intuitiveness wasn't good enough, as now I'm online shopping for two springs, one for each device.   Once I get it running, however, it runs great with plenty of power. This is the first weed trimmer I've owned that didn't have the automatically feeding cord, and I LOVE IT! It's so easy to replace the cord, comparatively less expensive, and it lasts SO much longer than the tiny cord in my old electric trimmer.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Huntsville, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
It means business
6/7/2009

Customer review by Hepme

4.0 stars 6/7/2009 by Hepme
by Hepme

This thing cuts with a mean streak. No denying that. My old string trimmer finally went to the trimmer place in the sky. I do a ton of trimming in my yard so I decided I was going to spend more than my typical $60-$70 I have in the past. Wish I hadn't waited so long. I got lazy with my old one and didn't wear safety glasses sometimes. Took 2 minutes with this one for me to decide that is a bad idea. Starting according to directions works well. I did have a stalling problem initially..but found if I release the throttle slowly the engine will fall into a very low idle speed very nicely. The front grip comes loose..held on with a wing nut. That is pretty annoying. The thing might be better with a shoulder strap..long duration cutting will start getting to your back after a while. It also took some getting used to the straight shaft..because this thing digs right down to the dirt it you let it. I have a few bare spots from places I wasn't paying attention. And just like every trimmer I have owned, tall grass has a tendency to get all wound and bound around the head. Despite my little gripes I am very happy I bought this. It's not likely I'll ever buy any of the attachments...but even just as a trimmer I feel like it was worth my money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hepme
Rochester NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great trimmer for the $
6/8/2009

Customer review by Citizen321

4.0 stars 6/8/2009 by Citizen321
by Citizen321

The PPB335 is my first trimmer. It has been great so far. It need some ajustment with the fuel flow but has great power and will take down even the toughest of weeds.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Citizen321
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews