Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 28 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

3.0 stars

28 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

3.0 stars

28 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

43%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 stars
12
1-20 of 27 total reviews
43%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews
Great Trimmer, Great Value!
5/30/2009

Customer review by ynnam

5.0 stars 5/30/2009 by ynnam
by ynnam

After reading some reviews I can't help but to feel bad for all the people out there having problems with this trimmer. I can't believe there are so many bad-ones out there, if it's true what people are saying. I guess I'm one of the few lucky-ones to get a great machine right out of the box. I put it together in no time, prepared the mixture and three pulls later....brmm, brmm, brmm. For the mixture I went to the gas station with a completely empty can and poured exactly one gallon of gas then added the 3.2 fl oz oil mix at home and no problems getting it started. I did read the instructions manual completely before I even touched it but I do that with everything I buy anyway...it usually pays off! Like the manual says: squeeze the throttle fully(and keep that way) from the time right after you prime it and set the choke to full until it starts at half choke...then continue to hold at half choke for 10 sec...while still holding the trigger at full move the choke to run and continue holding for another 30 secs. Mine will stay running until it runs out of gas if I let it. No problems while accelerating either. Cuts great, the self line advance works beautifully. The shaft connection does tend to loosen-up a bit but that's something I can deal with. You can't expect more for the price. In today's tough economy this is a great buy. Make sure you store it without a drop of fuel and burn up the fuel in the carb completely, you should have no problem starting it up the next time. If you take good care of it and clean it up it will last you for ever. Recommend it to anyone on a tight budget.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ynnam
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
5/9/2009

Customer review by scooter43

5.0 stars 5/9/2009 by scooter43
by scooter43

For the price, this is a great little line trimmer.Starts very easily. Does a good job.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
scooter43
Thomasville, N>C>
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
great great weed wacker
6/1/2009

Customer review by mountainbiker27345

5.0 stars 6/1/2009 by mountainbiker27345
by mountainbiker27345

this product is great all of the other reviews just arent starting it right u have to read the instructions this thing works fine and is great it aways starts right up

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mountainbiker27345
Moreno valley,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great product
4/13/2009

Customer review by mountainboy4

5.0 stars 4/13/2009 by mountainboy4
by mountainboy4

I bought this product in the past and have had great usage from it and I've not had to work on it much only to replace line or the spool or may the spool head . I used it for years before it was stolen from me . but I trust to weed eater brand and will continuing to buy their products bot only for the price and the quality of their product. It will last for a long time if its taken care of and use proper and regular maintaines . I always store mine with out any gas at all in it and always cleain all grass from it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mountainboy4
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
You better be a mechanic
5/23/2009

Customer review by klatu

2.0 stars 5/23/2009 by klatu
by klatu

When it's working, it cuts great. The problem is keeping it working. The first thing you should do when you take it out of the box is tighten every bolt, nut and screw on it. That way it won't shake it's self apart a little at a time like mine did. Once you get it started, and this takes some doing, it dies everytime you let off the throttle trigger, then you'll spend the next two minutes getting it running again, so don't completely let off the trigger. I'm a mechanic with 40 yrs experience on everything from lawn mowers to diesel trucks and if you buy one of these, you better be a mechanic, too, or you'll never keep it working.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
klatu
Would recommend to a friend? No
Real Review
6/29/2009

Customer review by skuterkomputer

1.0 stars 6/29/2009 by skuterkomputer
by skuterkomputer

Sometimes I read these reviews and wonder who is writing them and if it is biased. Well I can honestly say that this is a real review and it is bad. I bought this weed eater because it was cheap. I just bought a house and didnt care to spend too much. Most of this stuff is disposable anyway. I figured if I got 2 good years out of it then I was happy. I dont have a big yard and didnt expect much but was frustrated when the cord kept misfeeding and melting to itself. I went through a whole spindle of cord and had to shut the machine off many times to manually feed it through and start over. (The motor started without a problem by the way). After I finished half the yard I ran out of line and pulled the spindle out I realized that it was cracked. This is probably why it wasnt feeding the cord properly and why I went through so much cord. Needless to say I took it back, which my store accepted without any issue. Basically I was dissapointed that the product barely worked for 20 minutes before I had to return it and would suggest you dont waste your time or your money.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
skuterkomputer
florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
DO NOT BUY
4/15/2009

Customer review by tellsitlikeitisalways

1.0 stars 4/15/2009 by tellsitlikeitisalways
by tellsitlikeitisalways

I recently purchased this product about 2 weeks ago. It worked for 5 mins and that was all she wrote! I was very disapointed since I also own a lawnmower by Weedeater and it works great. Don't waste your time puchasing only to have to return it!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tellsitlikeitisalways
Katy TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Don't Buy!
5/30/2009

Customer review by Reddyornot

2.0 stars 5/30/2009 by Reddyornot
by Reddyornot

Don't buy this trimmer. Thought I would be able to held my husband with the yard work, but it's difficult to crank and keep running. The bumping action is a pain too.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Reddyornot
Danville, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
4/29/2009

Customer review by kitten58

1.0 stars 4/29/2009 by kitten58
by kitten58

I bought this product and ended up taking it back, why? After putting it together and then I tested to see if it ran. Well it did , so next day I was going to weed eat some and it was so hard to get started I did everything the book said. I finally got it running I cut a small patch of grass and it quits. I tried to get it started again, finally I did, and when I went to squeeze the handle to give it alittle gas it would cut off, I kept trying and it kept doing the same thing. I used to have a similar older version and never had a problem. Maybe I got hold of one that was defected I don't know, but I will tell you this I won't buy this one again it is too much trouble.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kitten58
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
TRASH
5/15/2009

Customer review by rigman62

1.0 stars 5/15/2009 by rigman62
by rigman62

Bad Design, Shaft does not stay engaged (locking mechanism is plastic!!!!!!) I have owned Weed Eater products in the past and have been very satisfied with them. However this Particular model simply DOES NOT WORK. Do not wast your money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rigman62
Katy Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Dont Buy Poulan products
5/18/2009

Customer review by Poulanjunk

1.0 stars 5/18/2009 by Poulanjunk
by Poulanjunk

Bought this machine took it home and it wouldnt start. Called their support # they referred me to a local repair shop and was told that there is a standard $49.95 warranty repair fee.. Hmm Didnt I just buy it for $69.95? Second unit .... Took it home assembled it Yea it started..... Used it for 15 minutes and then bumped the head to give more line and whammo... the head would no longer spin fast enough to cut squat... This may be a problem with the FL20C C stands for compact model. dont have the time to waste with this product to try any others. Unless Weedeater wants to send me a model to demo I would be more than happy to retry. Poulan do you hear me?

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Poulanjunk
Would recommend to a friend? No
Piece of junk
5/25/2009

Customer review by fudderdan

1.0 stars 5/25/2009 by fudderdan
by fudderdan

Bought on May 21, 2009 can not get it to crank and stay running. I own an older model and have no problem cranking it and keeping it running. Weed Eater has made it so cheap it is junk. I am carrying it back to walmart on May 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fudderdan
Williston,S.C.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Economical & Dependable
8/22/2009

Customer review by stiltman41

5.0 stars 8/22/2009 by stiltman41
by stiltman41

This is my third Feather Lite over the past 11 years. The new one has more torque than the two older ones did. Easy assembly. Skeptical of the two piece shaft, but no operating problems so far. I use the product 4-5 hours per week so it gets a work out. This new one starts easily and runs till the tank is empty. I like this model because it can be used with one hand and eliminates the bending forward while trimming with two hands. I hate to read customers having problems with this model, but know that Walmart has a great return policy if you get a 'lemon'.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stiltman41
Southern Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Buy in 1999
7/14/2009

Customer review by ComputerMan46311

5.0 stars 7/14/2009 by ComputerMan46311
by ComputerMan46311

I bought this in 1999 from Sears for 49.99 It has been very reliable. I noticed last season that the throtle would stick and it started smoking a little bit. I was hoping to finish 2009 with it. It was easy to start (2 pulls) and to refeed the line. I knew it would die soon. I decided to upgrade to the twist and edge. Hopefully it will be as dependable.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ComputerMan46311
Dyer, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Excellent residential trimmer!!
7/19/2009

Customer review by mud4feet

5.0 stars 7/19/2009 by mud4feet
by mud4feet

This is my second Featherlite. The first one lasted 8 years and if I can find some parts, it may live longer. Just brought this new one home from WalMart and, after a few pulls, went to work! My only complaint is with the two-piece shaft design (my old one doesn't have that), as has been mentioned by others. The plastic joint tends to work loose, but I'm going to try some Loc-Tite on it, and if nothing else I'll glue it!!! You cannot find a better light duty trimmer for this money - light weight and perfect for the average American household. After reading all the reviews, I think some were written by folks that have never used/bought a string trimmer before. Listen to those who have owned them. This is a great little trimmer.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mud4feet
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Excellent product!!
6/3/2009

Customer review by BillyBob47

5.0 stars 6/3/2009 by BillyBob47
by BillyBob47

I purchased a Weedeater Featherlite in March 2000. I never had a problem with it; it always started up and ran fine. It began to show its age last month. The throttle began to stick due to a stretched cable and the gas lines were cracked and leaking fuel. I decided against replacing the fuel tank assembly and throttle since it was more cost efficient to buy a new unit ($69). The new one runs just as good as the previous unit (and looks better). I used my old FL for nine years. I’ll be happy if the new one I bought lasts even half as long.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BillyBob47
WARNER ROBINS, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Plesantly surprised
8/2/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/2/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I read all the reviews and was mixed about buying this item but when I got it home it was easy to put together very easy to start as per following directions I am sure but then I have a huge yard by any standards so I filed the tank with the correct mix and went at it after about an hour I looked down and hey there is still over half a tank by the time I was done about 2 and a half hours I still had gas left with no breaks this is a great litle machine I love it and for the price you just cant beat it

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Redding,Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
The Best On The Block
8/12/2009

Customer review by ineedseeds

4.0 stars 8/12/2009 by ineedseeds
by ineedseeds

When I first bought this trimmer, I was very pleased. Great price, and a great trimmer. Because I'm a handyman, I wanted more power, so I did what anyone would do. First I took the muffler off.(Big Power Gains) Then I took a little air filter, for a valve cover, and replaced the filter that comes with it. OMG!!!! I don't even have to press the throttle to use it. This trimmer has more power than anything I have ever used. Its LOUD! but is it super strong. Im now trimming and edging anything I want. And I cant kill this engine! It ran trough 4 tanks without any oil mix and it still works just as good as the day I bought it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ineedseeds
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
GREAT
7/6/2009

Customer review by SVMLGDFKJGBSLF

4.0 stars 7/6/2009 by SVMLGDFKJGBSLF
by SVMLGDFKJGBSLF

IT GETS THE JOB DONE

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SVMLGDFKJGBSLF
ROME,GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Weed eater
8/19/2009

Customer review by Madmaintence

3.0 stars 8/19/2009 by Madmaintence
by Madmaintence

I own this weed eater for about two months and the end sized up and the shaft has gotten so hot it melted the end off tjhe weed eater and now have to see if it is fix able now.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Madmaintence
Massena n.y.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews