Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 29 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

29 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

29 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

45%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 stars
12
1-20 of 28 total reviews
45%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 28 total reviews
1-20 of 28 reviews
Smaller the better...
7/14/2016

Customer review by MowerMan

5.0 stars 7/14/2016 by MowerMan
by MowerMan

Featherlight says it all.. I have all the big stuff with the Harley size engines.. They all sit.. my 20cc is my go to.. Its like a hold a golf club.. I wish they had a 10 cc.. If I need to cut barb wire I will get out my Swisher.. in closing the 20cc only sips fuel..

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MowerMan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Trimmer, Great Value!
5/30/2009

Customer review by ynnam

5.0 stars 5/30/2009 by ynnam
by ynnam

After reading some reviews I can't help but to feel bad for all the people out there having problems with this trimmer. I can't believe there are so many bad-ones out there, if it's true what people are saying. I guess I'm one of the few lucky-ones to get a great machine right out of the box. I put it together in no time, prepared the mixture and three pulls later....brmm, brmm, brmm. For the mixture I went to the gas station with a completely empty can and poured exactly one gallon of gas then added the 3.2 fl oz oil mix at home and no problems getting it started. I did read the instructions manual completely before I even touched it but I do that with everything I buy anyway...it usually pays off! Like the manual says: squeeze the throttle fully(and keep that way) from the time right after you prime it and set the choke to full until it starts at half choke...then continue to hold at half choke for 10 sec...while still holding the trigger at full move the choke to run and continue holding for another 30 secs. Mine will stay running until it runs out of gas if I let it. No problems while accelerating either. Cuts great, the self line advance works beautifully. The shaft connection does tend to loosen-up a bit but that's something I can deal with. You can't expect more for the price. In today's tough economy this is a great buy. Make sure you store it without a drop of fuel and burn up the fuel in the carb completely, you should have no problem starting it up the next time. If you take good care of it and clean it up it will last you for ever. Recommend it to anyone on a tight budget.

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ynnam
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great great weed wacker
6/1/2009

Customer review by mountainbiker27345

5.0 stars 6/1/2009 by mountainbiker27345
by mountainbiker27345

this product is great all of the other reviews just arent starting it right u have to read the instructions this thing works fine and is great it aways starts right up

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mountainbiker27345
Moreno valley,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Real Review
6/29/2009

Customer review by skuterkomputer

1.0 stars 6/29/2009 by skuterkomputer
by skuterkomputer

Sometimes I read these reviews and wonder who is writing them and if it is biased. Well I can honestly say that this is a real review and it is bad. I bought this weed eater because it was cheap. I just bought a house and didnt care to spend too much. Most of this stuff is disposable anyway. I figured if I got 2 good years out of it then I was happy. I dont have a big yard and didnt expect much but was frustrated when the cord kept misfeeding and melting to itself. I went through a whole spindle of cord and had to shut the machine off many times to manually feed it through and start over. (The motor started without a problem by the way). After I finished half the yard I ran out of line and pulled the spindle out I realized that it was cracked. This is probably why it wasnt feeding the cord properly and why I went through so much cord. Needless to say I took it back, which my store accepted without any issue. Basically I was dissapointed that the product barely worked for 20 minutes before I had to return it and would suggest you dont waste your time or your money.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
skuterkomputer
florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
5/9/2009

Customer review by scooter43

5.0 stars 5/9/2009 by scooter43
by scooter43

For the price, this is a great little line trimmer.Starts very easily. Does a good job.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
scooter43
Thomasville, N>C>
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great product
4/13/2009

Customer review by mountainboy4

5.0 stars 4/13/2009 by mountainboy4
by mountainboy4

I bought this product in the past and have had great usage from it and I've not had to work on it much only to replace line or the spool or may the spool head . I used it for years before it was stolen from me . but I trust to weed eater brand and will continuing to buy their products bot only for the price and the quality of their product. It will last for a long time if its taken care of and use proper and regular maintaines . I always store mine with out any gas at all in it and always cleain all grass from it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mountainboy4
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
weedeater trimmer
8/11/2009

Customer review by 6541

2.0 stars 8/11/2009 by 6541
by 6541

Just bought this trimmer in June 09 and now after only 5 uses can not keep the motor running. The unit starts fine, but no more than you let go of throttle it dies and even with throttle fully depressed the engine runs slow, then all of sudden jumps to full speed, then back to slow again. I owned a weedeater before this one and had it for years without ever having a problem, but no such luck this time.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
6541
Would recommend to a friend? No
Economical & Dependable
8/22/2009

Customer review by stiltman41

5.0 stars 8/22/2009 by stiltman41
by stiltman41

This is my third Feather Lite over the past 11 years. The new one has more torque than the two older ones did. Easy assembly. Skeptical of the two piece shaft, but no operating problems so far. I use the product 4-5 hours per week so it gets a work out. This new one starts easily and runs till the tank is empty. I like this model because it can be used with one hand and eliminates the bending forward while trimming with two hands. I hate to read customers having problems with this model, but know that Walmart has a great return policy if you get a 'lemon'.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stiltman41
Southern Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent product!!
6/3/2009

Customer review by BillyBob47

5.0 stars 6/3/2009 by BillyBob47
by BillyBob47

I purchased a Weedeater Featherlite in March 2000. I never had a problem with it; it always started up and ran fine. It began to show its age last month. The throttle began to stick due to a stretched cable and the gas lines were cracked and leaking fuel. I decided against replacing the fuel tank assembly and throttle since it was more cost efficient to buy a new unit ($69). The new one runs just as good as the previous unit (and looks better). I used my old FL for nine years. I’ll be happy if the new one I bought lasts even half as long.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BillyBob47
WARNER ROBINS, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
You better be a mechanic
5/23/2009

Customer review by klatu

2.0 stars 5/23/2009 by klatu
by klatu

When it's working, it cuts great. The problem is keeping it working. The first thing you should do when you take it out of the box is tighten every bolt, nut and screw on it. That way it won't shake it's self apart a little at a time like mine did. Once you get it started, and this takes some doing, it dies everytime you let off the throttle trigger, then you'll spend the next two minutes getting it running again, so don't completely let off the trigger. I'm a mechanic with 40 yrs experience on everything from lawn mowers to diesel trucks and if you buy one of these, you better be a mechanic, too, or you'll never keep it working.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
klatu
Would recommend to a friend? No
Junk
6/8/2009

Customer review by countrygirl74

1.0 stars 6/8/2009 by countrygirl74
by countrygirl74

Since I have a WeedEater mower and it has been an excellent mower, I figured the weedeater would be an excellent product too. Boy was I wrong!!! The first one I brought home, it started right up. But the string would not turn. We took it apart several times thinking maybe we hadn't put it together right. Still wouldn't work. So I took it back and exchanged it for another one. This one we like to never got it started. Once we got it started it wouldn't continue to run. It would cut right off. After about 30 minutes of trying to get it started, it finally started and ran. Worked great. But not for long. Once we bumped it to get more string, that was it. It wouldn't spin fast enough to cut a piece of paper. Taking this one back but I will not be getting another WeedEater brand weed eater.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
countrygirl74
Blacksburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
TRASH
5/15/2009

Customer review by rigman62

1.0 stars 5/15/2009 by rigman62
by rigman62

Bad Design, Shaft does not stay engaged (locking mechanism is plastic!!!!!!) I have owned Weed Eater products in the past and have been very satisfied with them. However this Particular model simply DOES NOT WORK. Do not wast your money.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rigman62
Katy Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Excellent residential trimmer!!
7/19/2009

Customer review by mud4feet

5.0 stars 7/19/2009 by mud4feet
by mud4feet

This is my second Featherlite. The first one lasted 8 years and if I can find some parts, it may live longer. Just brought this new one home from WalMart and, after a few pulls, went to work! My only complaint is with the two-piece shaft design (my old one doesn't have that), as has been mentioned by others. The plastic joint tends to work loose, but I'm going to try some Loc-Tite on it, and if nothing else I'll glue it!!! You cannot find a better light duty trimmer for this money - light weight and perfect for the average American household. After reading all the reviews, I think some were written by folks that have never used/bought a string trimmer before. Listen to those who have owned them. This is a great little trimmer.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mud4feet
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Feather Lite
7/19/2009

Customer review by bsnuts

1.0 stars 7/19/2009 by bsnuts
by bsnuts

07/15/2009 SHOULD HAVE READ THE REVIEWS got it started first time had to pull several times more than 10 times , my old one started usually on one pull.after about 7 years later decided to invest in a new one. weed eated some and it died was so hard to get started . I finally got it running I cut a small patch of grass and it quits. I tried to get it started again, finally I did, and when I went to squeeze the handle to give it a little gas it would cut off, I kept trying and it kept doing the same thing. thats when i wraped it around a tree. used parts to repair my old one with. now back to one pull starts. but I will tell you this I won't buy this one again it is too much trouble. DON'T RECOMMEND THIS TRIMMER

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bsnuts
mid way USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Plesantly surprised
8/2/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/2/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I read all the reviews and was mixed about buying this item but when I got it home it was easy to put together very easy to start as per following directions I am sure but then I have a huge yard by any standards so I filed the tank with the correct mix and went at it after about an hour I looked down and hey there is still over half a tank by the time I was done about 2 and a half hours I still had gas left with no breaks this is a great litle machine I love it and for the price you just cant beat it

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Redding,Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
4/29/2009

Customer review by kitten58

1.0 stars 4/29/2009 by kitten58
by kitten58

I bought this product and ended up taking it back, why? After putting it together and then I tested to see if it ran. Well it did , so next day I was going to weed eat some and it was so hard to get started I did everything the book said. I finally got it running I cut a small patch of grass and it quits. I tried to get it started again, finally I did, and when I went to squeeze the handle to give it alittle gas it would cut off, I kept trying and it kept doing the same thing. I used to have a similar older version and never had a problem. Maybe I got hold of one that was defected I don't know, but I will tell you this I won't buy this one again it is too much trouble.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kitten58
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
If I could only cuss on this review
6/12/2009

Customer review by biglphish

1.0 stars 6/12/2009 by biglphish
by biglphish

I bought this trimmer last year after purchasing my first house. I used it a total of 3 times and then string broke. I went to get a new string (a stronger one ) and it broke off again. There is a defect inside the case that will rub the string into. Of course by the time I had thrown away the box and tossed the receipt.....it broke. SPEND MORE MONEY AND BUY SOMETHING BETTER

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
biglphish
Would recommend to a friend? No
Dont Buy Poulan products
5/18/2009

Customer review by Poulanjunk

1.0 stars 5/18/2009 by Poulanjunk
by Poulanjunk

Bought this machine took it home and it wouldnt start. Called their support # they referred me to a local repair shop and was told that there is a standard $49.95 warranty repair fee.. Hmm Didnt I just buy it for $69.95? Second unit .... Took it home assembled it Yea it started..... Used it for 15 minutes and then bumped the head to give more line and whammo... the head would no longer spin fast enough to cut squat... This may be a problem with the FL20C C stands for compact model. dont have the time to waste with this product to try any others. Unless Weedeater wants to send me a model to demo I would be more than happy to retry. Poulan do you hear me?

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Poulanjunk
Would recommend to a friend? No
FL20c is a piece of junk
8/15/2009

Customer review by Michael125

1.0 stars 8/15/2009 by Michael125
by Michael125

I bought this product a couple months ago while I tune up and rebuilt my old ryan weedeater/brush cutter. I'll tell you, this thing is a piece of trash, yousneezeon the line it breaks and it doesn't feed out worth squat you bump the head, so you have to turn it off and take it apart to feed the line out, thats when and if you can get the thing started in the first place, and when the line is fed out, the engine bogs down and almost stalls before it can cut the line to the right length What a waste of money. Don't buy it, you'll be sorry. I'll be writng to weedeater about this piece of trash and what it worth, betcha I hear nothing back

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Michael125
Barre , Ma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
The Best On The Block
8/12/2009

Customer review by ineedseeds

4.0 stars 8/12/2009 by ineedseeds
by ineedseeds

When I first bought this trimmer, I was very pleased. Great price, and a great trimmer. Because I'm a handyman, I wanted more power, so I did what anyone would do. First I took the muffler off.(Big Power Gains) Then I took a little air filter, for a valve cover, and replaced the filter that comes with it. OMG!!!! I don't even have to press the throttle to use it. This trimmer has more power than anything I have ever used. Its LOUD! but is it super strong. Im now trimming and edging anything I want. And I cant kill this engine! It ran trough 4 tanks without any oil mix and it still works just as good as the day I bought it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ineedseeds
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1-20 of 28 reviews