Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 166 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

166 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

166 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
114
4 stars
39
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 stars
5
1-20 of 137 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 137 total reviews
1-20 of 137 reviews
Very smart purchase!
11/30/2009

Customer review by questionman

5.0 stars 11/30/2009 by questionman
by questionman

So, i got this camera for christmas from my dad after i researched this camera for over 2 months. Overall i say this camera is top of the line, amazing camera. It's touch screen, has two different ways of filming (on a DVD or on a memory stick) The only down part of this camera is if you are recording on a miniDVD, you cannot erase the video, but, you can play those DVDs on any DVD player! I use my camera for making film projects for school, and at home. I use a memory stick, then upload the videos to my computer. The camera is very simple to use, and has so many features. It takes pictures, but they aren't very high quality, but the video quality is VERY good. Andif you get a tripod, it makes the video even clearer! THIS IS A VERY GOOD PURCHASE!!!!

Was this review helpful? (225) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
questionman
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice little purchase
4/17/2010

Customer review by SanDoo

5.0 stars 4/17/2010 by SanDoo
by SanDoo

I purchased this camcorder so that I could create videos for my websites. I was disappointed in only one thing, and that is that I thought I was getting the model that also had built in memory. Despite that, however, I am very happy with this little camera and am not sorry that I accidentally bought the wrong one, although I'll eventually have to get the other since it has more memory. But this will do quite nicely in the meanwhile. Some of the features I really like: 1. media versatility: I can use rewritable or non rewritable discs, and I can go back and forth between disc and memory stick. 2. light sensor: This camcorder doesn't need a light, it can "see" in the dark real nice! And if you're aiming the thing at a window with bright light coming in, it adjusts nicely. Great night shots! 3. incredible zoom feature! 4. high definition. Well, I don't like this feature if the camera is pointed at me, though. Otherwise it's great! 5. I like that I can take still shots or moving - and both seem clear enough for the purposes of which I bought the camcorder in the first place, although for formal still shots I'd recommend a different camera, but for casual pics, this works great! 6. The sound on this thing is incredible - very clear. The mic is more sensitive than I thought it would be, it picks up quite well, which is impressive. I like that it came with a battery and you can charge the battery in the camera, you don't need a separate charger. For long term storage, I recommend removing the battery from the camera, and storing it separately. Also I'd recommend purchasing extra batteries and a battery charger just for extra power, but the battery seems to last a while and keeps a good charge.

Was this review helpful? (112) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SanDoo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Very good camcorder
7/6/2009

Customer review by TahoeDriver

5.0 stars 7/6/2009 by TahoeDriver
by TahoeDriver

I am very pleased with this camcorder. Easy to use right out of the box, especially pleased with the quality of the optical zoom (60X). Like the option of using the memory stick or the disk. Have used both and operation was flawlass. Like the viewfinder, with adjustable focus for outdoor use in bright sunlight. Also like the controls on the lcd panel. Bought a couple of SanDisk 8 gb chips. The sony's are very pricey but the sandisk from Walmart is more reasonalble and work just fine.

Was this review helpful? (101) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TahoeDriver
Green Bay, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Love this camera
6/12/2009

Customer review by memashops

5.0 stars 6/12/2009 by memashops
by memashops

I absolutely feel this camcorder is worth every penny. I have even given two as gifts to my children. Easy to use and easy to watch the final product.

Was this review helpful? (44) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
memashops
Roswell, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Easy to use for you non-technical persons
6/22/2009

Customer review by Rhye

5.0 stars 6/22/2009 by Rhye
by Rhye

I've never owned a camcorder before purchasing this one for a vacation. Right out of the box this digital camcorder is easy to use with it's touch screen access right on the LCD screen. Very direct and easy to use controls. With the Hybrid use of both a Memory Stick and the mini 3" DVD's you can record video (on the DVD) and Still Photos (on the Memory Stick). This is a great idea. For a novice this is an extremely good aspect. If you aren't a novice this camcorder also has lots of bells and whistles of some more advanced camcorders. Everyone will love the fact you can view what you just recorded right on the camcorder without having to hook it up to a TV or computer with spectacular pictures and sound to boot.

Was this review helpful? (44) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rhye
New England
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
DO NOT BUY!!! ITS FLAWED!!!
7/15/2009

Customer review by des1006

1.0 stars 7/15/2009 by des1006
by des1006

CAM HAS A SERIOUS FLAW! They don't tell you in the manual but you need 15K on the disc to finalize it. And it won't stop before enter that last 15K. So If you run the disc all the way out, you can't finalize it and watch on other DVD players. That's if your lucky. If your not so lucky the disc won't be recognizable if you take it out and then put it back in to try and view it. Then when you contact them and tell them what's happening, they refer you to their websight which is already conviently set up. If you want the movies on the disc it will cost you $50 to retrieve them per disc!

Was this review helpful? (68) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
des1006
Franklin, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Perfect for my needs
1/11/2010

Customer review by bknate

5.0 stars 1/11/2010 by bknate
by bknate

I bought this last month for Christmas and I've used it so much more than I thought I would. The ease of getting it out and recording in less than a minute is so wonderful. I bought Sony mini disks so they go right in and are easy to use. I'm just a mom who wants to record the little things my kids do and for that this has worked great. I love the fact that after I'm done recording all I have to do is finalize the disk and stick it in my dvd player to watch it. I've had 3 other camcorders in my life and none of them were this small or easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (31) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bknate
Cokeville, WY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Enjoying it
12/13/2009

Customer review by TerriTK

5.0 stars 12/13/2009 by TerriTK
by TerriTK

I am enjoying the product. very nice zoom. Great for recording my sons wrestling matches. I would recommend this product. Easy to use and nice size.

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TerriTK
Odessa, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great Product
12/27/2009

Customer review by gannmeister

5.0 stars 12/27/2009 by gannmeister
by gannmeister

Our family wanted a small hand held video camera to record family outings, document special events, etc. And we wanted something that would be user friendly, and not entail too much to take to a dvd player, or computer to play back. This item was user friendly right out of the box. Everything you need to make copies of the dvd came with it. I opted for the mini dvd and optional memory card because I like the versatility of both uses. Sony has good stuff, sometimes a bit pricey but I believe these days you get what you pay for. In this bundle I received the camera, power cord, battery, strap for camera case, usb cord, software. I like the idea of taking the mini dvd right out of the camera and watching it on a dvd player or computer. YOu have to finalize the min dvd in the camera before you can play it on a dvd player or computer. So far I am pretty much satified with my purchase. I recommend this unit to fam/friends.

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gannmeister
Poplar Bluff
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
very good
11/14/2009

Customer review by AMAYA86

4.0 stars 11/14/2009 by AMAYA86
by AMAYA86

this is a very good camera, i was able to film my six month old daugther playing, the only thing is that you can not take pictures you must have the memory stick.

Was this review helpful? (28) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AMAYA86
LONG ISLAND, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Sony DCR-DVD650-Worth it.
8/10/2010

Customer review by chasingadream

5.0 stars 8/10/2010 by chasingadream
by chasingadream

We've comtemplated a DVD camcorder for sometime and thanks to online search, comparasons and reviews we felt very comfortable selecting the Sony DCR-DVD650. As others have stated, read the instructions while the battery is charging, and then read them again and then maybe again until everything is second nature. The instruction manual is 138 pages long plus the Spainish version. You will discover that as you read the instructions you will be referred forwards and backwards a number of times for related items. Once the battery is charged, and for those not normally familiar with "computer tech speak", you'll want to first learn the functions and controls before turning it on. (adjusting eye-piece focus, lens cover buttons, etc.) We took each step one at a time to learn what all functions are capable of, and there are many. This camcorder will satisfy any situation that comes up for us. We did take others advice and ordered a larger capacity NP-FH70 battery. No surprise that they're not cheap at $45 but the convenience will be well worth it and the battery (1 hour+-capacity that comes with the unit can be for "emergency" back-up.) It's a sweet product, relatively easy to use especially with the "Easy" button that does just about all functions automatically. The videos are excellent quality, 60X zoom is great but remember that the further you zoom out the more noticeable shake will be without a tripod, this is natural and not a flaw. Be aware that you should check your computer and TV specs so you can determine which discs are compatible for your intended use. Not all devices may accept certain discs. I have digital cameras so our intended use is strictly for videos but you can take snapshots with it also. We've tested and used it to our satisfaction and would recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chasingadream
Big Rapids, Mi.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great buy
12/24/2009

Customer review by LovedBride

5.0 stars 12/24/2009 by LovedBride
by LovedBride

I found this easy to use, and glitch free. If there are any questions about finalizing your video, dont worry. As long as you use dvd+rw disks, which are clearly marked, there is no problem. And pictures are also pretty decent too. Good luck!

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LovedBride
Southern NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Good Product
6/25/2009

Customer review by AlliesGrandma

4.0 stars 6/25/2009 by AlliesGrandma
by AlliesGrandma

Bought this for my daughter for her birthday. It will take a while for her to learn to use all the features, but so far it seems to be a good product.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AlliesGrandma
Newport, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
An honest review
3/5/2010

Customer review by windshieldtime46

4.0 stars 3/5/2010 by windshieldtime46
by windshieldtime46

I bought this camcorder thinking that it would take both quality video and quality still pictures. Well the video part is great, can't ask for more but the still pictures was of very poor quality. Come to find out the camera part has very low mpixels

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
windshieldtime46
Salisbury, Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
My first Camcorder
7/24/2009

Customer review by cliffrose

5.0 stars 7/24/2009 by cliffrose
by cliffrose

I can't compare toprev product, sinc e this is my first CC. In accordance with reviews i've read, this equipment meets all expectations.I could have spent a few bucks less at other outfits but Walmart I trust more.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cliffrose
Prescott, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
not really what i expected
1/17/2010

Customer review by sadeanna

3.0 stars 1/17/2010 by sadeanna
by sadeanna

The camcorder is handy to use but not really what I expected. It doesn't have any internal memory, and you have to use memory sticks for the still pictures and mini dvd's for video. (the mini dvd's are only 30 mins) Not a lot of time for recording. Since I can't return it to the store, I'll just keep it, to much trouble to return thru the mail.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sadeanna
Ephrata, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
great camcorder
10/22/2010

Customer review by lydiagirla

5.0 stars 10/22/2010 by lydiagirla
by lydiagirla

I would recommend this camcorder to anyone. Good volume. Good picture. Great all around.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lydiagirla
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Good camera, lightweight and easy to use
9/18/2010

Customer review by BenjisMommie

5.0 stars 9/18/2010 by BenjisMommie
by BenjisMommie

I have had this camera a few months and it was been great. It is very light and easy to carry. Good quality of video.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BenjisMommie
Madera, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
luv it
5/6/2011

Customer review by soyouthought

5.0 stars 5/6/2011 by soyouthought
by soyouthought

Very easy to use. Takes great pictures too. Great way to capture fun moments. Love it because now i can record and take pictures without missing a step no need to pack the camera

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
soyouthought
hopewell va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
More than I exspected!
12/3/2010

Customer review by DogLoverInAlaska

5.0 stars 12/3/2010 by DogLoverInAlaska
by DogLoverInAlaska

I have wanted a camcorder for a long time ,but wanted one that I could take still pictures with also. I was so impressed with the easy to understand usage of this camcorder.It takes great pictures too.Now I have the choice of both at my fingertip. The micro feature is a plus also. I would highly recommend this camcorder to anyone seeking a versital camera. Five stars for sure.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DogLoverInAlaska
Kenai, Alaska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 137 total reviews
1-20 of 137 reviews