Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 30 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

30 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

30 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
26
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-20 of 23 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews
OMG! Awesome Movie!!!!
1/14/2009

Customer review by AgentK

5.0 stars 1/14/2009 by AgentK
by AgentK

This is Miyazaki's best movie! The voice actors match the characters perfectly and the story is so moving that I was in tears through most of it!This is not a movie for little children though. There is gore in this movie, from heads and arms coming off. If you love wolves though and a great story about a prince's journey to save not only the forest the wolf god and other gods live in, but also the humans that are destroying the forest and find a way to bring both together in peace, then you'll enjoy this one.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AgentK
Warrior, AL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
One of Miyazaki's best films.
7/10/2012

Customer review by SonicRose

5.0 stars 7/10/2012 by SonicRose
by SonicRose

Princess Mononoke is the only environmental/anti-war movie that I can stand. Hayao Miyazaki's vision is full of life and depth, and the script and actions are all brilliant in execution. The heart that went into this production is phenomenal. Why I like its anti-war and environmental sentiments is because it neither deifies or demonizes the people on either side of the conflict. The forces of nature (personified by the gods) are depicted as really not caring about humanity. Nature is not a cuddly teddy bear or a bunch of baby seals giving you doe eyes. It's not even Bambie (though we do have a deer god in here). Nature is mysterious and vast, and it does not speak on its own behalf to plead with humanity. And as tranquil and beautiful as it can be, it is also dangerous and does not care for or about humanity. On the flip side, the human settlement, our main antagonist is someone who is just trying to make her way in the world. She is a compassionate character who employs lepers and women rescued from brothels to do a good, honest day's work in order to survive and turn a profit while doing so. They are not evil for evil's sake, and the true conflict is one of survival and the right to exist. It is this much more honest portrayal of humanity and nature that rings true rather than the more shallow premise of 'nature good, man evil'. This is Miyazaki's most mature and adult oriented movie, so it is the only one in his arsenal I cannot recommend for the whole family, but I can recommend to anyone mature enough to process the information. It bears repeated viewings and not only is it gorgeous to look at, it is possibly the finest English dub of any Japanese movie to date.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SonicRose
OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Great Movie
4/25/2012

Customer review by VigorousGorilla

5.0 stars 4/25/2012 by VigorousGorilla
by VigorousGorilla

This is my favorite Ghibli film by far. If you like this movie i suggest u invest in the movies "Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind" and "Tales from Earthsea" both almost as good as Mononoki and Spirited Away. Castle in the Sky is also a great movie. Let me know what you think of them

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VigorousGorilla
Cedar Rapids, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Miyazaki's films are A+
3/31/2008

Customer review by nightwatcher45

5.0 stars 3/31/2008 by nightwatcher45
by nightwatcher45

This film, along wth any of Miyazaki's works, will be a universal favorite for you. Youngsters will love the characters, parents will love the lessons of life and acceptance although younger children might not understand. Parents will also like hearing their favorite actor or actress in new roles in Miyazaki's films (Claire Danes, Christian Bale, Billy Crystal, Billy Bob Thornton and many more!) I personally loved the musical score and own the cd soundtrack. If you are new to anime, this is a great introduction to the diversified world of Japanese animation. Advice to parents: Miyazaki's films are tried and true favorites for young audiences and you can rest assured that they are safe, almost the Japanese equivalent of Disney films.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nightwatcher45
KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great animation, almost as good as Spirited Away
6/30/2011

Customer review by Pizzzza

4.0 stars 6/30/2011 by Pizzzza
by Pizzzza

I think spirited away is better but don't get me wrong, I think that Princess Mononokie was almost there too. But I have only seen Spirited Away as the first Japanese Animation and so this one was the second one. I have a great Friend who's into these Japanese Animation's big time and so I carried the likes of these caracters since I only saw Spirited Away as a teenager when I saw the first one.

Was this review helpful? (1) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pizzzza
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Another Great Studio Ghibli Film
1/27/2013

Customer review by Isaribi

5.0 stars 1/27/2013 by Isaribi
by Isaribi
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This film isn't exactly one of their most kid friendly movies, but it's still an epic masterpiece. The story follows a cursed prince named Ashitaka who journeys to find the source of his curse and hopefully the cure. Instead he finds conflict between a mining town and the spirits of the forest that surround them. Trying his best to find a solution for all sides, Ashitaka must act quickly to prevent all out disaster.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Isaribi
Central US
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Beware of the Spirit of Nature
1/31/2008

Customer review by EarthPhoenix

5.0 stars 1/31/2008 by EarthPhoenix
by EarthPhoenix

A great movie from the east about the living in harmony with nature and the issues with wanton greed - for children but there is some fighting and wounding is an issue throughout the movie - being wounded in combat and later healing - not particularly bloody - but compared to veggie tales it is more gruesome than that - but still appropriate for most children - excellent them to the movie.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EarthPhoenix
Emerald Isle, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
great movie
1/14/2015

Customer review by Impulse88

5.0 stars 1/14/2015 by Impulse88
by Impulse88

I remember when i first seen this movie as a kid. i was at a family video and nothing good was in so decided to rent it. I was so amazed by the story it stayed with me for a long time and never could find a video so finally looked on here again and now i have it. Great story i recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Impulse88
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
NEEED MORE!
1/28/2012

Customer review by DantesDoom

5.0 stars 1/28/2012 by DantesDoom
by DantesDoom
Walmart associate

I've checked the stock of Princess Mononoke for months and its always out of stock!! Wal-Mart must get on this.. Not for my sake but for all mankind. Princess Mononoke is most definitely one of the best Studio Ghibli creations of all time. So please make it easier for myself and others to purchase this amazing work of art from Wal-mart.com instead of Amazon!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DantesDoom
Clearfield, Ut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Awesome
5/28/2012

Customer review by Psuedofeather

5.0 stars 5/28/2012 by Psuedofeather
by Psuedofeather

I ordered this movie because as a kid I remember watching it and wanted to relive those moments. I went looking at other stores to see if I could pick it up but I came up empty handed. Then I when online and found it here, on Walmart.com, and ordered it. Nicely priced and it was pretty speedy for the Site to Store shipping.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Psuedofeather
Hot Springs, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
If nature was alive it would be this movie
12/17/2010

Customer review by Sakura47624

5.0 stars 12/17/2010 by Sakura47624
by Sakura47624

This movie is where nature and human are at war and only two people can stop it. This is gust on of this animater movies I think all of his movies are out of this world. This movie is for anyone with dreams all of his movies are. I have all his movies and I have had this one for 6 years if not longer.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sakura47624
georga, AT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
monoke
2/23/2015

Customer review by marielosita

3.0 stars 2/23/2015 by marielosita
by marielosita

I think miyasaki has better movies to watch and this one is not one of my favorite. If you like the studio ghibli you can find it maybe at the public library

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
marielosita
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Incredible!!
9/26/2010

Customer review by WingedDream

5.0 stars 9/26/2010 by WingedDream
by WingedDream
Top 500 contributor

This was the very first Miyazaki movie that I've watched, and later became a huge fan of his work as I witnessed more of his amazing movies. This movie is so unique and imaginitive, with a lot of great characters. The scenary is so beautiful. You'll fall in love with this story, GUARANTEED!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WingedDream
Derry, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Top 500 contributor
Japanese Anime
1/14/2008

Customer review by loca247

5.0 stars 1/14/2008 by loca247
by loca247

This was not purchased for myself. My 17-year-old daughter loves anime. I watched the movie with her but it was confusing. I do like some of the other movies by this same guy. My daugher enjoyed it and has watched it several times.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
loca247
Elgin, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Outstanding!!!
5/23/2008

Customer review by CheezOmegA

5.0 stars 5/23/2008 by CheezOmegA
by CheezOmegA

This is one of the best movies I've ever seen. If you like anime movies and adventure movies, then this movie is for you! And even better...This movie was made by Studio Ghibli! Makers of Spirited Away and Howl's Moving Castle.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CheezOmegA
Nashua,NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Poor packagingtt
9/29/2014

Customer review by Itisnotstupid

1.0 stars 9/29/2014 by Itisnotstupid
by Itisnotstupid
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

DVD was scratchy..and came in a really dirty packaging. Will return it to a Walmart store.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Itisnotstupid
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
awesome
3/14/2011

Customer review by sakanouye

5.0 stars 3/14/2011 by sakanouye
by sakanouye

This is an awesome movie. I had this movie before, but it was damaged, so I bought it again. My kids and I enjoy watching this together.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sakanouye
Tampa, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great watch!
10/2/2014

Customer review by 4050

5.0 stars 10/2/2014 by 4050
by 4050
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The movie is great and will interest the Eco friendly person!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
4050
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fantastic Flick
1/19/2009

Customer review by LovingTheClassics

5.0 stars 1/19/2009 by LovingTheClassics
by LovingTheClassics

I love this movie. I watched it several times as a teenager, and still love it now as an adult. My kids love it as well.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LovingTheClassics
Central Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great anime
2/19/2013

Customer review by JohnnyReviews

4.0 stars 2/19/2013 by JohnnyReviews
by JohnnyReviews
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Loved it. Just a little high prices for being out so long. No doubt thanks to Disney.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JohnnyReviews
Nv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews