Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 294 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

294 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

294 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

98%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
251
4 stars
37
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
1
1-20 of 283 total reviews
98%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 283 total reviews
1-20 of 283 reviews
Excellent Lens!
1/3/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/3/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The lens is absolutely amazing for the price. Even not taking into account the fact that the lens only costs $200, the image quality is excellent! Photos are very, very sharp. Furthermore, with a maximum aperture of f/1.8, the lens is fast enough to produce excellent results indoors.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good prime lens for DX
8/8/2009

Customer review by shrdlu

5.0 stars 8/8/2009 by shrdlu
by shrdlu

The Nikon 35mm f/1.8 lens is producing some very good images. I'm gradually learning its ins and outs as well as relearning how to photograph with a prime lens as I did when I used film cameras. Also, the lens is more discreet than the two kit zoom lenses. I'm including a photo or a rose taken in the evening on a very cloudy day.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shrdlu
Marion, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Beginners dream
6/13/2015

Customer review by Diplo

5.0 stars 6/13/2015 by Diplo
by Diplo

I somewhat recently took up photography and was using an 18 - 50mm kit lens. I'd always seen these sort of magazine quality images with perfect contrast and creamy bokeh, and I could nail the composition of my photos but it still wouldn't ever look quite as good. This lens fixed that. It's incredibly sharp, but what's more is that colors pop like crazy on my photos! I got it a few days ago and I can already tell a huge difference with my photography. As an amateur, I'm definitely looking to learn more about photography. This lens will help me in that it is a fixed lens with no zoom, and so forces me to think more about framing the subject and the angle instead of just lazily zooming in or out. My only complaint about this lens is that it somehow has made my camera louder, specifically focusing and shooting. But it's not a big deal. All in all, I recommend this lens to anyone learning photography or looking for an inexpensive, professional looking lens.

Diplo
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Essential for taking the next step
12/29/2011

Customer review by Michael

5.0 stars 12/29/2011 by Michael
by Michael

I own a Nikon D60 and use it often, but had never seen a reason to go past the two kit lenses I had (18-55VR &55-200VR). Luckily a friend talked me into looking into prime lenses. At first I didn't like the notion of losing zoom, but everyone I knew told me it would improve my photography; they were right. Prime shooting really brings you into the process of taking a photo. The 35mm 1.8 is a great prime lens for almost any shoot; low-light shooting is incredible and image quality is absolutely stunning. The only complaint I have is the auto focus is a bit finicky at medium range but is easy to get used to. The supplied lens hood is of better quality than other Nikon hoods I've used (matches body finish). Overall this is a simply brilliant lens; clean and crisp images across the board no matter the lighting situation. If you are looking to branch out of the initial kit lenses this is the one to go for. For the price, this might be the best Nikon lens out there.

Michael
Indianapolis, IN, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing!
7/9/2009

Customer review by 317photodotcom

5.0 stars 7/9/2009 by 317photodotcom
by 317photodotcom

Simply put, this lens is amazing. No matter what level of photographer you are, I believe that this prime has a place in your bag, if not, then fixed to the front of your camera 90% of the time. You can shoot from dawn to dusk without any need of any other light sources. You just can't beat this amazing deal. Sharpness, bokeh, speed... amazing.

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
317photodotcom
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
One of Nikon's best values
9/2/2009

Customer review by Taxmanea

5.0 stars 9/2/2009 by Taxmanea
by Taxmanea

One of the best values from Nikon. Quick focus with fast glass. Great for use when a flash is not wanted. This is one prime lens that everyone can appreciate.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Taxmanea
Beverly Hills. FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great in low light!
5/18/2016

Customer review by Turf69

5.0 stars 5/18/2016 by Turf69
by Turf69

Bought this for my 3300. Used indoors for holiday pics without a flash. Sharp pictures with ambiant light.

Turf69
N.E. Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
excellent value
10/8/2010

Customer review by Ehal

5.0 stars 10/8/2010 by Ehal
by Ehal

i originally bought this lens for my d40 because i was looking with a fast lens for portraits that would create more bokeh than the kit lens and a lens to use in low light situations. i already owned the 50mm f/1.8 but i didn't use it very often because it was manual focus. the first day that i shot with this lens i fell in love. it was too easy to take good pictures with this lens plus my d40. even at 1.8 the pictures were sharp but you could obviously move it to around 2.2 or so to get a little sharper. the lens and the d40 were both stolen, so when i got a replacement body (d90) and started doing portrait work i chose the 35mm over my old 50mm even though the 50mm would now autofocus. i believe, for the price, this lens rivals many other prime lenses released for nikon, and is a complete must have for any d40,60, 3000, 5000 etc owners. whenever friends purchase new nikon cameras i urge them to try this lens out and they realize how really great of a buy it is. *all example photos taken with a d40 plus this lens wide open at 1.8*

Ehal
massachusetts usa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice and Neat
3/10/2016

Customer review by ElGertru

5.0 stars 3/10/2016 by ElGertru
by ElGertru

Not sure if everyone know but this is a very good lens when comes to photography. I was debating in between this one and the 50mm 1.8G one. I believe there is nothing to envy besides nothing that your legs cannot take you too. The price for the lens when I got an eye on it was the best in the market, they run in between $178 to $198, have not seen one pass the $200 price. Which means that it is a very affordable lens for the quality you can gain in this.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ElGertru
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent for low-light concert photography
5/6/2016

Customer review by Zackues

5.0 stars 5/6/2016 by Zackues
by Zackues

I have been photographing house-concerts with low-light with excellent results, sweet spot for least amount of Colour Aberration and highest sharpness seem to be around f/2.8 to f/4. Excellent performer even wide open at f/1.8 in darker situations.

Zackues
Moncton, NB, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Lense
12/29/2009

Customer review by paok4

5.0 stars 12/29/2009 by paok4
by paok4

This lens is a great for the price. Great for night shots (f1.8). I use it on my D90 and really like it!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
paok4
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Existing light capability and more.
8/7/2010

Customer review by Pop

5.0 stars 8/7/2010 by Pop
by Pop

I purchased this lens because of it's speed. Other Nikon lens I have are zoom lens, and as such are not fast lens and limit my ability in existing light situations. I am very pleased with this len's capability to expand the number of existing light opportunities I have. However, I find myself leaving the lens on my camera and using it as a standard lens. It is small, light and very comfortable to use. I can move from sunlight to deep shade with out any concern for exposure limitations. I enjoy the expanded control of depth of field offered by this lens. I am very pleased with the quality of the image. This lens has my strong recommendation for anyone interested in expanding their capability in existing light situations, as well as better control of depth of field. Do not be surprised if you find yourself using this lens more often than you think. It is an excellent standard lens that preforms well in numerous situations.

Pop
Cleveland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
35 MM. Lens is my Prime Lens for most time uses.
10/3/2014

Customer review by YellowBus10

5.0 stars 10/3/2014 by YellowBus10
by YellowBus10
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor

Since I had my camera, I wanted a prime lens to use most of the time without changing lenses all the time. This 35 mm. lens gets most of the frames I want anyway without zooming in or out. The fact is this lens works in lower light without the use of a flash, since I rather have natural lighting anyway, makes it a plus. I think this lens is an around useful, just for taking photos at weddings and family gatherings. Works great for outside scenic shots the best, I think. Does an all around great job indoors too with or without flash. Since there is no zoom on this lens I have to walk back and forth a little more for the shot I am looking for, but that's OK with me. When I want to get creative, I end up taking this lens off for something a little more X power. Telephoto lenses have that kind edge on my type of photography. I am very happy with this 35 mm. useful lens and it stays on my camera most of the time. Comes with a lens hood and a pouch for storage. The 18- 55 mm. just fits inside the pouch and it does closeup. That's the lens that came with the camera and that's the one that gets stored, I like this 35 mm. better. Its worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
YellowBus10
Wisconsin, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor
A little disappointed
5/9/2013

Customer review by BroncoBro

3.0 stars 5/9/2013 by BroncoBro
by BroncoBro

This is a very sharp lens with crisp contrast. The colors are snappy and the color cast is neutral. The area of caution for me is the bokeh. If you want this lens for general picture making and/or available light-type photography, it's a good choice. I got it because I needed a lens that I could use at large apertures for full-length to waist up portraiture. It has a good angle of view on my D300s, but the bokeh is not smooth. It's passable with simple backgrounds, but if there is anything visually complex in the distance it doesn't smooth out. Instead, you get these weird patterns going on that are only a little less distracting than if I stopped the lens down. I've tried everything from wide open down to f/4 and nothing really looks very good. I understand there are limits with shorter focal length lenses, but I thought Nikon might give us something more here. But hey, it's a very low priced lens, so...

BroncoBro
Boise, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wow not what I expected... lemon??
5/16/2014

Customer review by SassyPhotographer

2.0 stars 5/16/2014 by SassyPhotographer
by SassyPhotographer

After reading the reviews I was really excited to try this lens but was really disappointing. !. I have a D3200 and I just could not get the autofocus to do its job. it would only focus on small areas (even with higher aperture settings). The 1.8 setting produced images so soft they were virtually useless. Granted I was shooting a moving child not a still object but the standard lens had no problem holding focus 2. Lots of chromatic aberrations (hot pink outlines on lots of surfaces at lower than 2.8f) It is a waste of time to have to correct all of these even if you can do it in the camera 3. I have better shots with the standard lens that came with the camera. I can edit them in photoshop to enhance the color balance and remove some of the shadows that this lens would have fixed if it had focused properly. I am really dissapointed!! and this lens is going back to the store!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SassyPhotographer
Would recommend to a friend? No
AMAZING!!!
4/11/2016

Customer review by photoguy25

5.0 stars 4/11/2016 by photoguy25
by photoguy25

This is one of my go to lenses always using this wonderful piece of glass. I do most of my photography in abandoned environments and this lens holds up great to the occasional misstep

photoguy25
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice lens.
4/11/2016

Customer review by Jackal

4.0 stars 4/11/2016 by Jackal
by Jackal

Nice lens, compact too. But I just realized something. This lens doesn't have VR, not required on a fixed lens?

Jackal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect compact lens.
4/3/2016

Customer review by jlaphotog

4.0 stars 4/3/2016 by jlaphotog
by jlaphotog

For such a cheap lens, this little guy gets the job done. I use it for everything from portraits, products, to scenery and close-ups in nature. I really have no complaints besides the AF being a little picky, but I use MF most of the time anyway. Overall a great lens. Lots of power in a small package.

jlaphotog
Viera, Rockledge, FL 32955, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good prime lens
10/14/2010

Customer review by foodphotographer

5.0 stars 10/14/2010 by foodphotographer
by foodphotographer

I bought the D3000 with the kit lens a few months ago. While the lens is good, I missed having a simple, relatively fast, prime lens. I ordered the 50 1.8 and realized it wouldn't autofocus with my camera (my own fault for not checking first) but I kept it for a portrait lens. I wanted a non zoom lens because it forces the photographer to think more carefully about the image. Instead of zoom and shoot, you need to move in and out to compose forcing more thought into the process. I also wanted a lighter camera with less lens hanging out for travel and a closer focus. The next Lens I got was the 35 1.8. I am pleased with the lens, and the image quality. Wide open it has a nice shallow depth of field and is still quite sharp in the center. At 2.8 it is really sharp. The lens speed allows for better available light photography and the minimum focus of a foot is handy too, especially when I take pictures of food for my blog. Overall, I recommend this lens as a prime lens for the D3000. Note that the 35mm lens for the DX camera is about equal to the 50mm lens for film cameras.

foodphotographer
Walden, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wow! What a terrific lens!!!
7/30/2011

Customer review by FastGlass

5.0 stars 7/30/2011 by FastGlass
by FastGlass

If you own a DX format Nikon DSLR this lens is a must! It is compact, lightweight, balances great on your body, and is simply a joy to use! I rotate this frequently on my D200 as my "go to" prime lens. Its fast f1.8 maximum aperture allows some excellent low light effects. I like to use it in the f1.8-2.8 range to open up backgrounds in low light ambient or flash situation. I recently used it to photograph low light theatre from close to the stage and the results were phenomenal. This lens produces great colors and contrast and focuses extremely fast even in low light conditions. The 7 blade rounded diaphram also produces a nice bokeh effect. On the flip side, it also has a deep f22 minimum aperture, which allows for tremendous depth of field. Also, 35mm on a DX sensor converts to approximately 52mm, so it is a nice focual length for portraits and shots of people. You will appreciate the way your camera handles vs. a heavier, longer zoom, so you will really like it if you need to carry your camera for a while. It is affordable and a great value, so run, don't walk to get this lens!

FastGlass
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 283 total reviews
1-20 of 283 reviews