Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 202 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

202 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

202 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
150
4 stars
32
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 stars
8
1-20 of 174 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 174 total reviews
1-20 of 174 reviews
This Tv Blows previous model Away!
4/18/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/18/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

In comparison with last years model the DP50747. It is a must buy for the lowest price you will find for a brand new model 50" plasma. The menu is much more interactive than the previous model. Way more features. Such as a light sensor feature similar to sharp lcd tvs OPC feature. Also is capable of two way communication thru HDMI if your component is capable. Much better sound and better design!! All tho it is not a 1080p its picture is amazing. I have not tried yet but have heard that it will accept a 1080p source. I would definitely Recommend this TV!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (176) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Roseville, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Love this TV!!!
10/29/2009

Customer review by melissaczirr

5.0 stars 10/29/2009 by melissaczirr
by melissaczirr

We have a good size family room and were looking to purchase a 50inch television for awhile. With the prices that were way too high we thought we would never be able to afford one. After finding this Sanyo we were a little worried that it wouldn't have a great quality like the more expensive ones. Boy were we wrong!! We love this TV and the price was great too. We bought the Tv almost a year ago and have been enjoying it ever since!!

Was this review helpful? (83) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
melissaczirr
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7/27/2009

Customer review by woodsy51

5.0 stars 7/27/2009 by woodsy51
by woodsy51

An awesome T.V. for price and quality. ordered on line, took a little longer than I hoped, but no problems. Got it home , set it up , worked great , didn't have to make any adjustments. LOVE IT.

Was this review helpful? (52) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
woodsy51
FLIPPIN ,AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The picture is amazing
10/23/2009

Customer review by Jedi

5.0 stars 10/23/2009 by Jedi
by Jedi

Ok Let me start out by saying I am a TV dude. Thats all I do is compaire tvs. The picture on this set is insane! Really I have seen 1080p but this is just as good and better than a lot of name brands in the store. I got the tv home. Took it out of the box and plug it up. I went through a very simple start up program and then Boom! the picture was great with no settings changed. I worked for a company and thats what I did for a living. I calibrated LCDs and Plasma television sets. Now you may want to spend the extra money for the name brand, but I am telling you it is not worth it. Save the money and be very happy. Buy this set, you can't go wrong.

Was this review helpful? (48) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jedi
Orange County, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Look no further buy this TV!!!
2/9/2010

Customer review by CaptianClutz

5.0 stars 2/9/2010 by CaptianClutz
by CaptianClutz

Take my advice and buy this Tv. My wife and I just spent our entire Saturday before the Super Bowl looking at Tv's at various stores. We looked at 50" plasmas and Lcd's only ,at high end eletronic stores and at department stores. We were on the fence on which resolution to get 1080p or 720p, take our advice and save the money if you are more than 3 feet away your eyes cannot tell the difference between them, do not believe those salesman at those high end electronic stores. They work on commission and want to sell you those 1080p tv's because they make more money on them. I spent hours on the internet reading on 1080p vs 720p and every single thing I read said do not waste the money on 1080p its not worth it.Take the money you save between 1080p and 720p and buy a surround sound system. This Tv is fantastic right out of the box it has most all the features that anyone would ever want. And you will not beat this price anywere on a Tv that has these same features period.As far as Plasma vs Lcd all of those salesmen at those high end eletronic stores all did agree on one thing plasma has better, richer, and deeper color than Lcd hands down. So unless you are using it as a large computer screen get the plasma. Bottom line save yourself an entire Saturday of looking at Tv's and buy this one, you will not be disapointed.

Was this review helpful? (42) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CaptianClutz
Troy MO.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great replacement!
9/21/2009

Customer review by Hotch63

5.0 stars 9/21/2009 by Hotch63
by Hotch63

Had a Vizio plasma 50" and it was great. Purchased it in 2006 and bought Wal-Mart's extended warranty. At the end of July 2009 the TV just stopped working. One call to Wal-Mart and the next day it was picked up for repair. Turns out that the power board was no longer made for that set (Vizio) and Wal-Mart offered me a replacement with the DP50749. It arrived about a week later. It is every bit as good as the Vizio and in some respects better. I was so glad I purchased the extended warranty and it really paid off. The people at Wal-Mart could not have been any nicer. It turned out to be one of the best shopping experiences I have ever had. I love the large screen TY sets and Sanyo makes a great one. Some feel the sound is weak, but I feel it is much better than the Vizio in this area. The DP50749 is the latest model of the Sanyo and is far better than the previous 50" Sanyo Plasma. Be sure you order this model # and I know you will be happy. Also order the extended warranty online only $60 but if you buy the warranty in-store $120 and it is the same warranty.

Was this review helpful? (44) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hotch63
Mentor, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
MUCH better than I expected
9/23/2009

Customer review by SamIAm55

5.0 stars 9/23/2009 by SamIAm55
by SamIAm55

I was a little leery, I knew I should order 1080dpi but I read the reviews and took a chance. I'm not sorry, not sure what I would need sharper. Picture is outstanding, setup easy and clear; excellent array of input choices, I would say this is an EXCELLENT choice for the money, but frankly it's an excellent choice regardless of price.

Was this review helpful? (35) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SamIAm55
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Better than expected!
6/15/2009

Customer review by ajjlhj

5.0 stars 6/15/2009 by ajjlhj
by ajjlhj

My husband & I read reviews on plasmas. They said plasmas aren't good for a really bright room because it makes the tv really dark.....well, not so true. Our living room as 2 windows facing the tv and 1 to the side of the tv, so it's very bright from the sun in the living room. TV still looks great. Not dark at all. Very awesome tv!

Was this review helpful? (30) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ajjlhj
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/15/2009

Customer review by arhoad

5.0 stars 11/15/2009 by arhoad
by arhoad

I happened on this TV in a local Walmart for $698.00. I could not believe A 50" Plasma for under 700.00. Hooked it up last night and have watched football all day and night. Love this purchase. One of my best ever. Looks great hanging on the wall took an additional 88.00 wall hanger, well worth it. Love it!

Was this review helpful? (31) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
arhoad
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great buy
10/29/2009

Customer review by mscfn

5.0 stars 10/29/2009 by mscfn
by mscfn

I never had a new HDTV before so bought this Sanyo because of the good pricing, compared to many others! While some say it doesnt have alot of inputs, I have many electronic devices, DVD recorders, VCR's and Sat box and with the HDMI inputs which are preferred inputs, along with the composite and components, there are plenty for all my devices! I only have the reg SD Dish, Not HD, and my outside antenna, but the picture is very good & much better then my old TV for those who are wondering if a new HDTV will help your old SD signal--it will, so Iam very happy with this TV!

Was this review helpful? (27) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mscfn
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wow!!
2/16/2010

Customer review by WarEagle1

5.0 stars 2/16/2010 by WarEagle1
by WarEagle1

First off, if you are lucky enough to find one of these in-stock, grab it! Waited three weeks for mine. ----------------- Picture: Wonderful, crisp, clear, no jagged edges, works very well in fast motion scenes. Get an HDMI cable for about $4.00 (shop around), it will make video games seem like you are playing in a movie and your cable box comes to life, not to mention DVD's and Blue Ray.--------------- Sound: I can not for the life of me tell what people are talking about on here about bad sound quality. My sound is perfect. Yes, it would sound better with a sound system but what TV wouldn't... If your audio is bad return it and get another one, it is a problem not just the TV itself.------------- Quality: This unit seems well built, the frame of the case is a nice shiny black and looks great! There are no overly bright lights on this TV (on button for example). The connections are in the very center at the bottom of the unit in back which makes it much easier if you are wall mounting to route your wires into the wall and away from the mount.-------------- For the awesome price and what this unit is, don't bother over-spending to try and get more. Just trust the reviews (about 95% positive) and go for it. It's Walmart, they offer 90 days return if you don't like it, what do you have to lose....?

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WarEagle1
Leesburg, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT BUY
12/23/2009

Customer review by cutemotherof1

5.0 stars 12/23/2009 by cutemotherof1
by cutemotherof1

My husband and I recently bought this TV and so far it is GREAT. I love the picture quality and look. Everyone loves to come over and watch movies on our plasma. It was very afforable and I diffently got more than what I expected.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cutemotherof1
Apple Valley, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Sanyo 50" Plasma DP50749
11/13/2009

Customer review by Aramis7350

5.0 stars 11/13/2009 by Aramis7350
by Aramis7350

I purchased this item online and had it shipped to a nearby Walmart. Pickup went flawlessly. Pros- Setup was simple and no color adjustment was needed. Picture and color were both fantastic. I compared it instore with other TVs before buying and did not notice any appreciable difference between this and other much higher priced models. Cons- I notice some uneven image 'stretching' in one of the Pix modes. My wife has expressed some visual discomfort due to something about the image that she cannot quite describe. I have seen other references to this same problem in connection with large screen TVs on a couple of websites. It seems to affect some people but not others. In addition it would have been nice to have had sound outputs to connect directly to a surround sound system. It would have been nice if the product detail had specified that one needed a portable USB storage unit to be able to view .JPG pictures. That being said, .JPGs can be viewed - which is a plus, as well as the presence of a VGA connection, which featured in my decision to buy. Over all, a very good buy in my opinion. Also factored into my decision was my prior experience with Sanyo TVs, which have been remarkably trouble free for me. Given how expensive large screen TVs are and the high cost of repairs, I WILL be purchasing a 3 year service contract on this TV from Walmart, a smart investment in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Aramis7350
Cheverly, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome
7/28/2009

Customer review by Prayn4you

5.0 stars 7/28/2009 by Prayn4you
by Prayn4you

We bought this TV back in Feb, we love it. We have not had any problems, Thank God. Our tv was froze due to our cable box freezing, no burns at all, very pleased. Although we did have to upgrade our cable to HD it was well worth it. I love watching it daily, also there is an option where you can change the settings, you know how your watching a movie and it goes to a commercial it gets real loud well we don't have to worry about that any more, this tv has alot of options, go through your settings and check them out, it's awesome and a very good price.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Prayn4you
Kings Mountain, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Buy
10/3/2009

Customer review by celarmia

5.0 stars 10/3/2009 by celarmia
by celarmia

This is an excellent buy. I did lots of research before deciding on this TV. I couldn't be more pleased with my choice. By ordering from Walmart I knew I wouldn't have a problem returning it if there was any problem with it. Plus they shipped it to the door for less then $50 which was what I would have paid somebody to use their truck to bring it home, and I didn't have the stess of something happening to it during transit. It was very easy to set up and program the channels. I still haven't figured out how to set the sound on it to go down when a commercial comes on like one of the other reviewers said it would do, but I haven't taken the time to figure it out or to call customer service for help doing that part. The picture was beautiful right out of the box. No adjustments necessary. We didn't have digital cable at first and my husband and I both said there was no way the picture could get better than it already was. However, we were wrong. The picture is unbelievable! You just have to see it to understand. This TV is the best deal out there as far as I'm concerned and I did my research! It has connections for S cables, HDMI and USB cables. You can hook your computer up to the tv to look at your pictures in big screen, plus downloaded movies and play video games. You can hang it on the wall or put it on a tv stand. I was planning to buy surround sound for it, based on a lot of people giving the sound 4 stars instead of 5, but I've decided it doesn't need it. The sound quality is fine. My son said I should pay the extra money to get 1080 instead of 720p. He said there was a major difference in the picture. I didn't tell him that I ended up getting the 720p and he still hasn't noticed! He's as impressed with this tv as we are! If you're looking to buy a new big screen TV I would absolutely recommend this one. You won't be sorry!

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
celarmia
Little River, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love this TV
5/29/2009

Customer review by tolerme

5.0 stars 5/29/2009 by tolerme
by tolerme

I ordered this TV from walmart.com and when I picked it up and got it unpacked at home the screen was busted so I had to return it to the store and luckily they had one left at the store. So once I got it home and all hooked up I loved it. It has a great picture, good sound especially with the surround sound.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tolerme
Bluefield, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Sanyo has problems
8/29/2009

Customer review by MsDrea522

2.0 stars 8/29/2009 by MsDrea522
by MsDrea522

I purchased my tv less than a week ago. Today the picture goes completely black but I still had sound. So I cut it off and a few hours later cut it back on. The picture lasted for maybe an hour then went black again. I called walmart and they told me to return it and I can get a full refund or exchange it if I like. So I considered replacing it with the Sanyo 46" LCD for close to the same price. Then I read the reviews on it and found that several people had the exact same problem with it! So no matter whether it's LCD or Plasma, Sanyo's products have major problems!!!

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MsDrea522
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
disappointing
9/17/2009

Customer review by lilacrose

2.0 stars 9/17/2009 by lilacrose
by lilacrose

We purchased this product and took delivery from a Wal-mart in Texas. Initially, we were delighted with it. Picture, sound, ease of hook-up, all were wonderful. We got very attached to this television. Then, after a year and a half, the picture was gone, something that is evidently an ongoing problem with this model tv as comments about it were all over the internet. Upon taking it in for repair, were told that a short caused internal damage to certain parts, which then fried the power control unit. MINIMUM repair costs were over $700. Needless to say, we junked the set and purchased a different brand. Great quality, if you only need the set for about a year! I would definitely not recommend this unit.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lilacrose
Cleveland, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best Bang for the Buck
1/8/2010

Customer review by Jubejell

5.0 stars 1/8/2010 by Jubejell
by Jubejell

I bought this after my rear projection TV went out in November of 09. I did lots and lots of research on LCD vs Plasma and 1080 over 720. I went to the stores and looked at all of them and was really having a hard time making up my mind. In talking to friends and others I found that really the 1080 and 720 not really that different. Unless you have an LCD with the true motion turned on you are not going to notice a difference. Also the Plasma is the gold standard for color and picture quality. If you are worried about burn in you will need to leave the tv on for at least 8hrs without a moving picture to get the burn in. I have to admit the burn in really frightened me too. Finally we were at Wal-Mart and I was set on a 42" LCD. My wife looked at the Sanyo and said you know the 50" is only a few dollars more than the LCD. So I looked and the colors were bright and there was not that LCD Blurr in fast motion scenes. So I said go for it and bought the tv. When I saw the first HD channel on this tv I was in love. I could not have asked for a better veiwing tv. I am telling you no need to spend bunches of money on a good tv. This is one of the first times I have not had buyers remorse after a big buy like this. Me and my boys watched the bowl games on this and Loved the vivid colors and no blurr on fast motion. One thing that I don't like is that to switch from input to input you have to cycle through all of them. Also I have to tv hooked to cable not through the converter box and I am not able to input from the remote channels higher that 99. Will not allow you to enter channels above the 100's. All in all this is a great buy for someone looking for there first big flat screen tv. Or even someone that has had them before. You will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jubejell
Lisbon, Ia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Outstanding Buy!
7/21/2009

Customer review by GrnkidsRule

5.0 stars 7/21/2009 by GrnkidsRule
by GrnkidsRule

The picture quality is incredible. The picture options is also incredible. A very good value for the price.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrnkidsRule
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 174 total reviews
1-20 of 174 reviews