Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 44 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

44 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

44 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
26
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
4
1-20 of 41 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews
Definitely Exceeded Expectations
6/25/2010

Customer review by JediMormon

4.0 stars 6/25/2010 by JediMormon
by JediMormon

This product exceeded my expectations right from the get-go. For the price ($99.00 + whatever you pay for the not-included microSD card) I was pleasantly surprised. The unit uses standard AA alkaline batteries, which are included. Also included is a USB cord for downloading images onto your computer, a functional slip-on flexible plastic carrying case for the scanner, and a CD containing a simple image-to-text conversion program that you install on your computer (more on that in a moment). The instructions for the initial, one-time calibration of the scanner are simple and easy to follow. The short calibration process is necessary to "teach" the scanner what a solid white background looks like. A slick, white piece of paper is included with the scanner kit for this purpose. As I stated at the beginning, you will need to purchase a microSD card. The scanner instructions will walk you through the initial formatting process for the card (also a one-time operation), which is done with the card installed in the scanner. After you have formatted the card, calibrated the scanner, and installed the image-to-text software, you are ready to go. The scanner has a choice of two resolutions: 300 or 600 dpi, and two modes: color or b&w. Operating the scanner is simple. The same button acts as an on/off switch, as well as tells the scanner when to start and stop the scanning process. A quick tap on the button tells the scanner that you are beginning or ending a scan, while holding the button down for about two seconds turns the scanner on or off. Another rocker switch type button controls b&w/color selection, and 300/600 dpi selection. For scanning text that you want to be able to edit, 300 dpi is more than adequate. I would also set the scanner to b&w for that process. Scanning the page of an ordinary book is a fairly speedy process. Experiment with how quickly you guide the scanner down the page. If the scanner detects that you are going too fast, a small red light will come on. According to the instructions, you can scan an average printed page in about two seconds. The instructions also list approximate times for other images/material you may have occasion to scan. The image-to-text software program is fairly simple to use. Basically, you download the scanned image to your computer via the included USB cable, then pull the image into a photo program or image viewer program. The image-to-text program gives you several options according to what type of text you are working with (i.e. an entire web page or other large body of text, or just a selected area of the screen). Another choice is where you want the converted text to be sent to. You can choose any of these combinations: text, table, or image, to be sent to: Word, Excel or the clipboard. The clarity of the original text you are scanning will greatly effect the accuracy of the image-to-text conversion process. I've found that for printing that has less than ideal image quality, pulling the image into a photo program first (I use Picasa3, a free download on the 'net) and doctoring the image so that the background is as junk free as possible, and the text is as clear as possible, that I get better accuracy over just converting the raw image. When scanning any type of image or text, only very slight pressure on the scanner is necessary for a successful scan. The scanner has four small rubber rollers on the bottom which will help you maintain a straight scan down the image. Also keep in mind that you will need to move the scanner more slowly over pictures than you would if you were scanning a printed page. Again, experimenting will give you an idea of how fast you can go before the red light on the scanner says that you have broken the speed limit. Hope this review has been helpful. If you are looking for a portable scanner, this one is the most versatile, in my opinion. You won't regret the $$$ you spent.

Was this review helpful? (83) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JediMormon
Omaha, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Product
2/2/2010

Customer review by Atruqtpie

4.0 stars 2/2/2010 by Atruqtpie
by Atruqtpie

I saw this product on HSN. It was sold out so I did a search online and found it on Walmart.com. When I received it, I found it easy to use and my pictures look great after being scanned. Awesome!!

Was this review helpful? (62) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Atruqtpie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Simple and compact
6/15/2010

Customer review by Bajadude

5.0 stars 6/15/2010 by Bajadude
by Bajadude

If you are looking for small and simple device, this is it. The best portable scanner I have ever seen. Simple to use and simple to connect. As a police officer I use this to copy all kind of documents. You can connect via cable or dump to your PC using SD card adapter. It uses micro SD card, which does not come with the scanner (WHY?). When you buy new micro SD card, make sure you buy it with regular SD shell. Most of the micro SD cards will come with it. My laptop has a slot for regular SD card and I can damp all my files into my laptop in no time. This scanner will have some distortions, but for documents it’s not a problem. Photos will look good as long, as you practice your hand speed while scanning.

Was this review helpful? (49) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bajadude
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
OK for documents but not for photos
1/14/2010

Customer review by ILoveGenealogy

3.0 stars 1/14/2010 by ILoveGenealogy
by ILoveGenealogy

I mainly wanted this product to copy photos when I'm visiting relatives. Because it is hand held, it is a bit inconsistent with photos because you cannot perfectly control the speed. Sometimes they come out perfect, other times the photo becomes elongated or shortened. I think it would be fine with documents because it is not essential to be completely accurate with the speed. The quality of the prints made from the scans was very good.

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ILoveGenealogy
Would recommend to a friend? No
VuPoint Magic Wand
6/8/2010

Customer review by flashy246

5.0 stars 6/8/2010 by flashy246
by flashy246

I have used this product to scan hundreds of photos so far and i can say it is well worth the money. I don't have to warm up a scanner anymore or wait for it to scan the picture. This little hand held gadget is the best thing on the market today. I would definitely recommend it to those that scan a lot of pictures. By the way, don't forget to purchase a mini sd card, you will need it. Overall this is well worth having because of the ease of use and how portable it is.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
flashy246
wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Awesome
9/8/2010

Customer review by Mayja

4.0 stars 9/8/2010 by Mayja
by Mayja

Watched the demo on HSN but when I tried to order they were sold out. Surprised to find it at Walmart & ordered right away. VERY EASY to set up & use. I am copying my boxes of photo & albums and it does a very good job. I also have very old photo of grandparents & my childhood that I am copying & will put on computer to make dvd. What an awsome way to perserve & pass on to my children.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mayja
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A fun, fantastic new tool for the research bag
12/6/2010

Customer review by GenQuilter

4.0 stars 12/6/2010 by GenQuilter
by GenQuilter

As a genealogist, and webmaster, I am frequently at research locations pulling info. to transcribe later, or to add directly to my website. I spent several hours yesterday scanning in old newspapers from the 1890's, and this scanner worked very well. I did some scans that were the length of the newspaper from top to bottom, and other scans were just parts of individual articles. I tried color and b/w, both worked, but I decided to stay with color. I did just under 300 scans in one session - using a 2GB microSD card. When I finished, I slipped the microSD card into its SD card adapter, and put it in my PC to pull up the images with my card reader. It worked great. The software that came with it was not really necessary, and I don't see why it was included. Once you have your scans, you can use any program that will edit or display .jpg files to view your images. You can also use a SD card reader to transfer files to you computer from the memory card if you don't want to use the cable that comes with it.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GenQuilter
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
scanner use
9/10/2010

Customer review by larry2114

4.0 stars 9/10/2010 by larry2114
by larry2114

I purchased this product for copying old 81/2 x 14 documents. While it takes time to get the scanning speed down. It works for what I need it to do. While I it scans in JPG, image met with my expectations. Only with wrinkled documents, it had problems. To cure that I purchased some clear plexiglass, to put the documents under. after that I did not have problems with start and stops because of paper.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
larry2114
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Makes my work look much more professional
7/2/2010

Customer review by detroitdevil

5.0 stars 7/2/2010 by detroitdevil
by detroitdevil

I bought this product to scan review pages in my college books, so my home work would look more professional and less time typing. I found that it saves all its scans as JPG files, in order to be able to edit my scans in micrsoft word, I had to convert the JPG files with OCR program (http://www.free-ocr.com/) that made the file into an editible word doc. Once I figured out how to do it (which didn't take long) it made all my work look great with less time typing .

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
detroitdevil
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
VuPoint Magic Wand a Success
6/9/2010

Customer review by HolyinHim

4.0 stars 6/9/2010 by HolyinHim
by HolyinHim

It took me a little while to catch onto a good technique for using this handheld scanner but, once I had a little practice, the results were very consistent and satisfying. I'm glad I got it. The VuPoint Magic Wand makes it so much easier to scan photos that are stuck in old albums. I just remove the page from the album, lay a transparent plastic sheet over the photo (such as an Avery three-holed cover for 8 1/2 x 11 printed pages), and slowly and steadily drag the scanner across the smooth plastic surface. It captures the photo beneath the plastic very well. I've been able to share old photos with friends on my online social network. I'd recommend this to anyone. Great for books and documents too! I was able to scan some important chapters that my son needed to read for college from a book he didn't have with him. Saved his scholastic life!!!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HolyinHim
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
VuPoint Magic Wand review
5/9/2011

Customer review by speleoguy

5.0 stars 5/9/2011 by speleoguy
by speleoguy

Amazing device!!! Amazing scan quality! And very little skill required to use it. I was not expecting any great performance out of such a tiny scanner, but my second scan (of a magazine cover) made me a believer in its quality. Interfacing with a computer was easy too. The computer sees the scanner as another drive, thus allowing the scanned images to be transferred as desired. This is the perfect companion for those doing deed and genealogical research in courthouses and libraries. It's one of those tools that will always be carried in one's computer bag.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
speleoguy
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
It's even better than I thought it would be
11/13/2010

Customer review by denverTJmom

5.0 stars 11/13/2010 by denverTJmom
by denverTJmom

I'm a small business owner, a mom and the family genealogist. I've wanted a handheld scanner for quite some time. I recently received a lot of old family photos from the 1800's - that are amazing. Scanning them one at a time on my printer/fax/scanner took several minutes per picture and was going to take me way too long. So I researched handheld scanners and picked the Magic Wand hoping it was as good as it said it was. I ordered the SanDisk memory card at the same time I ordered the product which was ideal (it doesn't come with one). Once I received the product I thought I would be overwhelmed with trying to figure out how to use it. I opened the package, inserted the 2 AA batteries it comes with, inserted the SanDisk teeny tiny memory card - turned it on to calibrate it and then scanned my first photo. I was hoping the quality was good so I immediately plugged in the USB cable to my laptop and downloaded it - which took about 2 seconds. I was ecstatic at the quality of the picture! I emailed it to my mom who was also blown away and excited that I finally had something that could breeze through the boxes of photos we have to upload into the family tree online. That's my #1 priority but scanning documents for business purposes is my #2 priority. This product meets all of my needs. (No I'm not a paid blogger or endorser - I truly love this product!) :)

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
denverTJmom
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Steady Hands
2/24/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 2/24/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Useful, the unit is very capable - its certainly not exact - but its useful. Getting a feel for the scanning movement takes a bit of practice - but this is a franklin less than the competition - and for that, I highly recommend it... Not perfect for photos - but excellent for documents. Images only in single format - bitmap - which is universally used and easily edited. Highly recommend for those needing a doc scanner or receipt scanner - works great.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Hartville, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Useful
5/17/2010

Customer review by Goodbyehello

2.0 stars 5/17/2010 by Goodbyehello
by Goodbyehello

Hand held scanner is useful. Instructions not clear. Difficult to attach a multple page document to a computer file because it attaches as individual images. Also, if you are scanning several multiple page documents, they all are on the micro chip as one multi page document. Very confusing and not user friendly. But it is very light, small and easy to carry in a briefcase.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Goodbyehello
Fort Wayne, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Money Saver.
3/8/2011

Customer review by LSUNursingStudent

5.0 stars 3/8/2011 by LSUNursingStudent
by LSUNursingStudent

After spending $20 in copies in my first month of nursing school, i knew I had to find something more efficient. This product is definitely what I was looking for! It is a little difficult to scan books, but in the end it does work. It makes it very easy to share notes with other students. Or to get notes from others if you happen to miss a day. You have to scan very slowly and as straight as possible to get the best picture, but for the most part it works great. You do HAVE to buy a MicroSD card (they are pretty cheap) and i would suggest buying a better case than the little slip it comes with. You can scan in either B&W or color and either high or low resolution. Color works better the darker the pen is. My favorite pen are light blue and pink and sometimes they are difficult to see unless you scan them in B&W. I love my scanner and everyone I show it to thinks it's so cool! Hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LSUNursingStudent
Luling, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A Must Have for Travel.
12/13/2010

Customer review by PhotoBob52

5.0 stars 12/13/2010 by PhotoBob52
by PhotoBob52

This portable scanner is perfect for travel. Across town or across the state the compact size makes it a dream. No computer is necessary. When visiting family, you can scan precious photos and documents on the spot. I also use it to scan items in the reference section of the library. I will be giving several to family members this Christmas. Do keep in mind its intended purpose, it will not replace your desktop high resolution flat screen photo scanner.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PhotoBob52
West Coast of Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
just what i needed
3/8/2011

Customer review by kpzt

5.0 stars 3/8/2011 by kpzt
by kpzt

I bought this product for college and i looked online, however i was suprised on the price. It was so cheap and i really didn't want to buy a big printer, scanner, etc so i bought this hand held scanner and it's the best thing ever invented.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kpzt
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
VuPoint Magic Wand
8/13/2010

Customer review by 101rich

4.0 stars 8/13/2010 by 101rich
by 101rich

I seem to scan things too quickly, losing part of the object being scanned. Take your time. This scanner promises to be very helpful in my family tree research. I'm hoping that, with use, it will become more user friendly.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
101rich
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Fun gadget, does exactly what you'd expect
11/27/2010

Customer review by BTX83

4.0 stars 11/27/2010 by BTX83
by BTX83

Really cool hand held scanner, does exactly what the videos on YouTube and specs say. Took a few trials to get the scanning consistency right, but works perfect. Recommend if you are scanning books or text (I bought mine to scan all of my piano sheet music) use a sheet of plexi glass or glass and put that over the book or text you are using, it works much better that way.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BTX83
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
Know what it does
6/9/2010

Customer review by Rilsr

1.0 stars 6/9/2010 by Rilsr
by Rilsr

This wand scanner only scans to JPEG which is the picture format. It said it scans documents but you can't edit them. If you want to scan to a word processing program for editing, this is not the tool for you.

Was this review helpful? (7) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rilsr
Boiling Springs, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews