Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 797 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

797 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

797 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
477
4 stars
153
3 stars
33
2 stars
28
1 stars
106
1-20 of 724 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 724 total reviews
1-20 of 724 reviews
Quick to get & mostly painless install
5/5/2014

Customer review by EmKap

4.0 stars 5/5/2014 by EmKap
by EmKap
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After my wifi router died one morning, I needed another one. I was able to buy this one online (decent reviews and within my price range; prior positive experience with Netgear products) using Ship to Store, and had it in hand within 2 hours. I was able to get it up and running pretty quickly, but was having trouble figuring out how to change the default login and passwords. The device comes with 90 days of free tech support by phone, and free lifetime-of-the-device email support. A quick call to a helpful techie, and I changed what I wanted to change and updated the access on all my wifi devices. Sweet.

Was this review helpful? (256) (60)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EmKap
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Basic WiFi Router
8/17/2016

Customer review by ComputerDavid

5.0 stars 8/17/2016 by ComputerDavid
by ComputerDavid

I see a lot of questions for this router. WM has stopped allowing me to answer questions, so I have created this informative review. I think it covers everything you need to know. ----- This product, "Netgear N300 WiFi Router" is not a modem. I repeat, THIS IS NOT A MODEM. This is a router. This router provides four (4) wired connections, and over 200 wifi connections, all at the same time. It does NOT make your internet faster. You need a modem provided from your ISP for you to get internet access out of this router. Otherwise, it will just serve as your network "brain" and let your computers transfer files between each other, but no device on this network will be able to access the INTERNET unless you have a modem from your Internet Service Provider (ISP). It does not matter what type of internet you have, whether DSL or Cable, or Fiber, as long as your MODEM has a standard (RJ45) data cable that connects to THIS ROUTER. This router has advanced options that are not included in the specifications on this website. (you have to type 192.168.1.1 into a browser address bar first), so let me tell you: that it allows Port Forwarding, and has Guest Networking capabilities too. And just in case you don't see the retail box, this is NOT a GIGABIT router. (Most people don't need that for internet usage) Once you buy this router, you don't need to pay for a WiFi "lease" or "rental" from your ISP. If your ISP is currently charging you a monthly fee for a dual modem/wifi router, and you have your own router (like this one) then you call them up and have them change you to a REGULAR modem, so that they don't charge you for wifi AS WELL anymore. It is best to buy TWO of your own devices (a.k.a. boxes) to avoid paying ANY monthly "leasing"/"rental" fees from your ISP. You should buy a MODEM that is compatible with your ISP, and any wifi router (like this one). Don't get a box that does both, because if one part fails, you have to replace the Combo/Duo device, which costs more than if you have two devices and just need to replace/upgrade one device.

Was this review helpful? (276) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ComputerDavid
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect.
3/6/2010

Customer review by JamesTo

5.0 stars 3/6/2010 by JamesTo
by JamesTo

This is my first router. It was extremely simple to set up, took 10 minutes max. Have had it a week and a half and havent lost connection once. Signal reaches all the way to my garage (good 150 feet from router) so i am very pleased. Works great with PS3 never lost connection there either and no lag while gaming. Very stylish/clean looking out of box. My favorite birthday present by far.

Was this review helpful? (297) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JamesTo
Crosby, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:18 - 24
Excellent
7/18/2016

Customer review by Khadijah

5.0 stars 7/18/2016 by Khadijah
by Khadijah
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Works well you just have to carefully read the instructions it's easy to leave out somethings or get frustrated.

Was this review helpful? (33) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Khadijah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This does the job for a good price.
12/10/2016

Customer review by michiganfootballlover

5.0 stars 12/10/2016 by michiganfootballlover
by michiganfootballlover

No internet a couple mornings ago on my desktop. After reboots, call to cable company, and anxious moments, came to the conclusion modem is fine and router didn't see internet. When I got a Roku awhile back, a co-worker had given me a version 3 of this router, so I can't complain. Best I can tell it is / was about 3 & a half yrs old. I looked at other routers...with concerns about longevity, yet decided to just get another of these because the price was right and it was available at the store near me. This new one...a version 5...is smaller and different (obviously) from what is pictured here. Set up was quick and generally painless. Got desktop, Roku / Netflix.....which I can tell is getting a better signal than before....and phones reconnected. Need to try Genie site again...wanted to reload every time I was at confirm password....but other than that all is good. Again.....longevity, we'll see. And FYI, I've never had any major problems streaming Roku, my routers primary function.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
michiganfootballlover
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Features not listed....
4/9/2010

Customer review by Danowano

5.0 stars 4/9/2010 by Danowano
by Danowano
Top 500 contributor

These reviews help me a lot, so I thought I'd mention this one point... It does not appear to be listed in the features here on the Walmart website, but this router allows you to set up a second "Guest" SSID/network with "internet-only" access. This is a great feature to have when you have guests or relatives (or your kid's friends over) at your house, and you don't want them to have access to your all your network files. Both accounts can have different security settings, different passwords, and different broadcast SSID settings (you can make the guest one visible for simplicity of your guests, and not broadcast your main network ID). You don't have to use "guest" as a name, you can change it to whatever name you want. I almost bought a more expensive router by Belkin that advertised this feature, but the reviews on that one were so poor, I decided to buy this router, and I was pleasantly surprised to find this router did the same thing! I hope that helps someone make their decision.

Was this review helpful? (1169) (94)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Danowano
Midwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Top 500 contributor
Not worth the money
1/17/2015

Customer review by NoNetgearForLife

1.0 stars 1/17/2015 by NoNetgearForLife
by NoNetgearForLife

I used this router for 14 days before it just completely stopped working. The Netgear tech support was a complete joke. After going through the steps, tech support decided that it was defective and needed to be replaced. I was put on hold, ten minutes later he came back on the line. Told me that this model is out of stock in the warehouse, and that I need to call back in 2-4 days to see if one is available then. Apparently they can't send me an email to start the process of my return until it's in stock again. Their tech support and customer service is horrible, I will never buy another Netgear product again!! I bought their product, which was defective, and now I have to keep calling THEM multiple times in order to get my product replaced??!! That's their "Lifetime Warranty." Now, in no way is this Walmarts fault. I had bought this online, there's only a 15 day return on computer routers... I was unaware of that until I tried to print my receipt. I would much rather be dealing with them than Netgear.

Was this review helpful? (55) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NoNetgearForLife
Would recommend to a friend? No
NETGEAR Support
8/12/2016

Customer review by Littlemama

1.0 stars 8/12/2016 by Littlemama
by Littlemama

This company has NO customer service support. All you can get ahold of is tech support in India. Which is loads of fun. When the security failed on my router it cost me 139.99 to purchase there GEARHEAD pkg. It failed again and this time fried my router. I had to purchase a new router by a different company. This all happened in less than 30 days of purchasing there pkg,which he guaranteed me would last at least 10 yrs.... the pkg was good for 12 months. After over 1 hr on the phone with India because you cant talk to anyone else. They said they would review my case. Case# 27256312. In 2 days I was informed that I had received help numerous times and no refund. I only received help once and thats when I got the pkg. And was told they couldnt fix it without the pkg because I was out of warranty. Don't by this product, there are better routers out there. And with NO email or in country phone number how do you receive help. There is NO CUSTOMER SERVICE.

Was this review helpful? (41) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Littlemama
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great long term connection and reliable.
11/27/2010

Customer review by Kaduku

4.0 stars 11/27/2010 by Kaduku
by Kaduku

Ordered this to upgrade from another Netgear Wireless G router. Had great experience with my first Netgear wifi router and just needed to step up to wireless N since my wife enjoys watching video streaming from her laptop while I browse the web on my desktop. Glad to say she does not have to wait for her video to buffer while I'm downloading web pages or data at the same time with the WNR2000. The on and off button is really convenient, not that I have to power cycle frequently since the signal never drops and I don't have to worry about it ever 'sleeping' on me. I can leave it on and it stays connected whichever room I need a wifi signal it's there and with good range. It may not be the fanciest or fastest Wireless N router, nor does it support dual band and have gigabit ports and USB port, but it's reliable and sends out strong consistent signal from a good distance throughout the house and out. I highly recommend this if all you need is a basic access point with available 10/100 ports that's really reliable.

Was this review helpful? (94) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kaduku
GU
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Great Router for the price
5/11/2017

Customer review by bulldog7062

5.0 stars 5/11/2017 by bulldog7062
by bulldog7062

Trust me if you are struggling for money like me. Then look no further this Netegear Router can handle. As far as streaming gaming or Videos through media player. There is no lag it does just fine.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bulldog7062
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
N300 router
5/15/2017

Customer review by mcgonzo

5.0 stars 5/15/2017 by mcgonzo
by mcgonzo

Works great ,replaced old DLink and this is faster and easy setup.Love it!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mcgonzo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Headache
12/3/2014

Customer review by MSdolejs

1.0 stars 12/3/2014 by MSdolejs
by MSdolejs

I bought this item and was unable to use this product. After three hours of trying to set the router up, I finally called NETGEAR for assistance. I was connected with someone I could barely understand, I believe the assistant was from the middle east. To make a very long story short, he checked out my computer and advised me that their were some "conflicts" with my computers. One computer was hard wired, the other two wifi. He ran a diagnostic program and advised me that their were some problems with the registry and couple of other problems with one computer. He then tried to sell me a plan for one year that cost over $120.00 dollars a year to take care of these specific problems and to keep my computer problem free. I asked to just get the NETGEAR working and he said he could not unless I purchased this plan. I again asked if he could just get the router working and he said no. So I told him to forget it and returned the item. I then purchased a Belkin N400 router and was up and running on all computers in 5 minutes.

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MSdolejs
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Value And All One Needs For Right Now
1/19/2016

Customer review by Johnbhome2

5.0 stars 1/19/2016 by Johnbhome2
by Johnbhome2

I decided on this router after much searching of reviews. I was kind of surprised when I opened it at its small size, I was expecting this router to be bigger. I actually unplugged my old wrt54g plugging in the new using everything except the old power cable. This modem kind of sets itself up with you only needing to open your browser following the instructions on the install pamphlet. Easy, peasey!!!! Whether you change settings or not you are broadcasting a wifi signal that for me is sufficient for coverage all through my house. All this is detailed in the pamphlet with the Netgear Genie being really easy to use. My old router was only capable of 54mbps. This newer ones standard is n capable of theoretical achieving 300 mbps. Most cable plans with the lowest to highest cost only go from 25mbps to perhaps 150 mbps. I guess what I am trying to say is do not buy more router than what you really need as the most expensive router in the world will not make your internet connection any faster. I highly recommend this router because the price was right, easy to set up, coverage in my house has been nothing but excellent.

Was this review helpful? (113) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Johnbhome2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Defective Product
4/19/2017

Customer review by BarbaraZ

1.0 stars 4/19/2017 by BarbaraZ
by BarbaraZ

It's beyond frustrating to get home thinking you have the remedy right there in your hands, only to realize you must make another trip to the store to return a defective unit. Case in point, this NetGear N300 Wifi Router, which defied me at every step, failing to remain powered on, and not recognizing any ports. My 28 years in IT do count for something, and I had exhausted all reasonable measures before deciding to return the recalcitrant device. I am normally pleased with Netgear's products, so the 1-star review is mostly for the unpleasantness of the experience, not the manufacturer, necessarily. On a side note, the replacement Netgear N600 enabled me to write this critique. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BarbaraZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Netgear Excellence!
2/16/2011

Customer review by lmg80

5.0 stars 2/16/2011 by lmg80
by lmg80

This review is written with the one caveat that I've only used this router for about 2 weeks, but thus far it has worked fabulously. Positives are numerous, but chief among them are the ease of setup (and I'm not a techie) and the increased range of reception. I was previously using a Belkin N+ router that at best gave me 3 bars of connection strength and horrible range (move more than 20 ft. from router & intermitently lose connection or lost altogether). This Netgear WNR2000 router gives me a min. of 3 bars & no lost connections inside a 2300 sq.ft. house! Most often, I get 4-5 bars, and whereas the Belkin at best produced 65 mpbs, this Netgear is steadfast @ 150 mpbs! Uploads are much faster on my laptop, and the security measures are top notch! It is attractive looking & runs throughout the day without overheating. The manual on/off button is a practical feature, allowing me to turn it off overnight (and it boots up quickly when turned on!). Other standout features are the lifetime warranty and Wal-Mart's price. An excellent wireless N router from a recognized industry leader for under $50!! Major, major BUY recommendation!!

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lmg80
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
So Far, So Good
12/29/2015

Customer review by LovinValue

5.0 stars 12/29/2015 by LovinValue
by LovinValue

I certainly hope that I'm not being premature, but thus far this router has worked like a charm. It replaces a prior TP-Link Tl-WR841N and a Linksys E1200. With both of those prior units, I had almost daily disconnections. I would have to unplug and replug the router each time, which was a major pain. It also created major problems if I wanted to access my home network while out of town. As I write this, the Netgear unit still has not had a droppage. (Fingers crossed). One note -- when I was setting up the router, I had to download the Netgear Genie software. It appeared that the software would also allow me to change the pre-selected network ID and password, but it refused to make the changes I requested. I called Netgear and was told that I needed to access the router separately after the setup to do that ( the usual192.168.1.1). The Netgear rep also advised me to change the Channel from auto to Channel 11. All is working well.

Was this review helpful? (43) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LovinValue
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Deal
12/17/2010

Customer review by Slappy555

4.0 stars 12/17/2010 by Slappy555
by Slappy555

Save your money and buy this router. I purchased this product several months ago and I am completly satisfied. I basically unloaded from the box plugged it in and began using. I didn't have to read any instructions or install any software. My laptop found the device then asked for the number on the router itself then asked me to setup a password and I was using the product. I then started my other laptops and found the device typed in the same password and they were up and running. I started my WII went to the WiFi setup area found the device typed in the password and it was up and running. No problems and couldn't be more simple. The range is great I can go anywhere in my house and even in my yard and get an excellent signal. Never kicks me off even if I have desktop, two laptops, and the WII or DSI's running at the same time.

Was this review helpful? (84) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Slappy555
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Quick and easy!
2/17/2011

Customer review by tnbirdlover

5.0 stars 2/17/2011 by tnbirdlover
by tnbirdlover

I'm not a particularly computer savvy person. Not understanding how networking even worked at all I was very hesitant about how simple it sounded. I read several reviews of routers and narrowed it down. Decided to try this one out. In less than 15 minutes I had it out of the box and completely set up! My desktop is in my bedroom but now I am surfing on my netbook in the living room. Super simple. If you are like me and frightened of technology sometimes I highly recommend this router. As for longevity we will see.....

Was this review helpful? (54) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tnbirdlover
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
great product
3/4/2010

Customer review by thebarfly

5.0 stars 3/4/2010 by thebarfly
by thebarfly

very fast. i have 2 computers and a 360 hooked up to it. plus my vonage telephone service. it doesn't miss a beat. very easy to hookup took about 5 minutes. i have nothing bad to say about this product. the wireless range is excellent. look no further you found your wireless router right here!

Was this review helpful? (367) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thebarfly
new holland,pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Easy-Peasy
5/14/2013

Customer review by Lydiagirl

5.0 stars 5/14/2013 by Lydiagirl
by Lydiagirl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was getting ready to go out-of-town for a funeral and had to make my reservations online, and then zzzzzztttttzztt!!!.......my router started going on the blitz. AAARGG! So I jumped on my neighbors wi-fi (with his permission, of course), pulled up the Walmart website and ordered this Netgear router because the reviews said "easy to install" and the details said "lifetime warranty". That clinched it! I ordered it to be shipped to my home, knowing it would arrive the day I would be returning home. I anticipated perhaps a frustrating installation that would infringe on my time getting ready to go back to work, but.....voila! It was plug-and-play and so easy to get up and running in no time (probably 5 minutes max). This was a painless experience, to say the least. Now I just hope it lasts a long time, but if not, IT HAS A LIFETIME WARRANTY! I would definitely recommend!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lydiagirl
Oregon Coast
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 724 total reviews
1-20 of 724 reviews