Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 711 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

711 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

711 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
425
4 stars
137
3 stars
26
2 stars
27
1 stars
96
1-20 of 639 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 639 total reviews
1-20 of 639 reviews
Quick to get & mostly painless install
5/5/2014

Customer review by EmKap

4.0 stars 5/5/2014 by EmKap
by EmKap
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After my wifi router died one morning, I needed another one. I was able to buy this one online (decent reviews and within my price range; prior positive experience with Netgear products) using Ship to Store, and had it in hand within 2 hours. I was able to get it up and running pretty quickly, but was having trouble figuring out how to change the default login and passwords. The device comes with 90 days of free tech support by phone, and free lifetime-of-the-device email support. A quick call to a helpful techie, and I changed what I wanted to change and updated the access on all my wifi devices. Sweet.

Was this review helpful? (168) (45)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EmKap
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Basic WiFi Router
8/17/2016

Customer review by ComputerDavid

5.0 stars 8/17/2016 by ComputerDavid
by ComputerDavid

I see a lot of questions for this router. WM has stopped allowing me to answer questions, so I have created this informative review. I think it covers everything you need to know. ----- This product, "Netgear N300 WiFi Router" is not a modem. I repeat, THIS IS NOT A MODEM. This is a router. This router provides four (4) wired connections, and over 200 wifi connections, all at the same time. It does NOT make your internet faster. You need a modem provided from your ISP for you to get internet access out of this router. Otherwise, it will just serve as your network "brain" and let your computers transfer files between each other, but no device on this network will be able to access the INTERNET unless you have a modem from your Internet Service Provider (ISP). It does not matter what type of internet you have, whether DSL or Cable, or Fiber, as long as your MODEM has a standard (RJ45) data cable that connects to THIS ROUTER. This router has advanced options that are not included in the specifications on this website. (you have to type 192.168.1.1 into a browser address bar first), so let me tell you: that it allows Port Forwarding, and has Guest Networking capabilities too. And just in case you don't see the retail box, this is NOT a GIGABIT router. (Most people don't need that for internet usage) Once you buy this router, you don't need to pay for a WiFi "lease" or "rental" from your ISP. If your ISP is currently charging you a monthly fee for a dual modem/wifi router, and you have your own router (like this one) then you call them up and have them change you to a REGULAR modem, so that they don't charge you for wifi AS WELL anymore. It is best to buy TWO of your own devices (a.k.a. boxes) to avoid paying ANY monthly "leasing"/"rental" fees from your ISP. You should buy a MODEM that is compatible with your ISP, and any wifi router (like this one). Don't get a box that does both, because if one part fails, you have to replace the Combo/Duo device, which costs more than if you have two devices and just need to replace/upgrade one device.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ComputerDavid
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent
7/18/2016

Customer review by Khadijah

5.0 stars 7/18/2016 by Khadijah
by Khadijah
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Works well you just have to carefully read the instructions it's easy to leave out somethings or get frustrated.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Khadijah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect.
3/6/2010

Customer review by JamesTo

5.0 stars 3/6/2010 by JamesTo
by JamesTo

This is my first router. It was extremely simple to set up, took 10 minutes max. Have had it a week and a half and havent lost connection once. Signal reaches all the way to my garage (good 150 feet from router) so i am very pleased. Works great with PS3 never lost connection there either and no lag while gaming. Very stylish/clean looking out of box. My favorite birthday present by far.

Was this review helpful? (247) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JamesTo
Crosby, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
NETGEAR Support
8/12/2016

Customer review by Littlemama

1.0 stars 8/12/2016 by Littlemama
by Littlemama

This company has NO customer service support. All you can get ahold of is tech support in India. Which is loads of fun. When the security failed on my router it cost me 139.99 to purchase there GEARHEAD pkg. It failed again and this time fried my router. I had to purchase a new router by a different company. This all happened in less than 30 days of purchasing there pkg,which he guaranteed me would last at least 10 yrs.... the pkg was good for 12 months. After over 1 hr on the phone with India because you cant talk to anyone else. They said they would review my case. Case# 27256312. In 2 days I was informed that I had received help numerous times and no refund. I only received help once and thats when I got the pkg. And was told they couldnt fix it without the pkg because I was out of warranty. Don't by this product, there are better routers out there. And with NO email or in country phone number how do you receive help. There is NO CUSTOMER SERVICE.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Littlemama
Would recommend to a friend? No
Features not listed....
4/9/2010

Customer review by Danowano

5.0 stars 4/9/2010 by Danowano
by Danowano
Top 500 contributor

These reviews help me a lot, so I thought I'd mention this one point... It does not appear to be listed in the features here on the Walmart website, but this router allows you to set up a second "Guest" SSID/network with "internet-only" access. This is a great feature to have when you have guests or relatives (or your kid's friends over) at your house, and you don't want them to have access to your all your network files. Both accounts can have different security settings, different passwords, and different broadcast SSID settings (you can make the guest one visible for simplicity of your guests, and not broadcast your main network ID). You don't have to use "guest" as a name, you can change it to whatever name you want. I almost bought a more expensive router by Belkin that advertised this feature, but the reviews on that one were so poor, I decided to buy this router, and I was pleasantly surprised to find this router did the same thing! I hope that helps someone make their decision.

Was this review helpful? (1068) (88)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Danowano
Midwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
No power
8/16/2016

Customer review by rstp72

3.0 stars 8/16/2016 by rstp72
by rstp72
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The router wasn't powerful enough to allow devices, like cell phones and Wi-Fi DVD player, located in a different room, to stream movies, the signal was lagging and Netflix was displaying non high res movies, so the router was returned and we purchased one of the dual band one, that does the job a lot better.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rstp72
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Value And All One Needs For Right Now
1/19/2016

Customer review by Johnbhome2

5.0 stars 1/19/2016 by Johnbhome2
by Johnbhome2

I decided on this router after much searching of reviews. I was kind of surprised when I opened it at its small size, I was expecting this router to be bigger. I actually unplugged my old wrt54g plugging in the new using everything except the old power cable. This modem kind of sets itself up with you only needing to open your browser following the instructions on the install pamphlet. Easy, peasey!!!! Whether you change settings or not you are broadcasting a wifi signal that for me is sufficient for coverage all through my house. All this is detailed in the pamphlet with the Netgear Genie being really easy to use. My old router was only capable of 54mbps. This newer ones standard is n capable of theoretical achieving 300 mbps. Most cable plans with the lowest to highest cost only go from 25mbps to perhaps 150 mbps. I guess what I am trying to say is do not buy more router than what you really need as the most expensive router in the world will not make your internet connection any faster. I highly recommend this router because the price was right, easy to set up, coverage in my house has been nothing but excellent.

Was this review helpful? (84) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Johnbhome2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great long term connection and reliable.
11/27/2010

Customer review by Kaduku

4.0 stars 11/27/2010 by Kaduku
by Kaduku

Ordered this to upgrade from another Netgear Wireless G router. Had great experience with my first Netgear wifi router and just needed to step up to wireless N since my wife enjoys watching video streaming from her laptop while I browse the web on my desktop. Glad to say she does not have to wait for her video to buffer while I'm downloading web pages or data at the same time with the WNR2000. The on and off button is really convenient, not that I have to power cycle frequently since the signal never drops and I don't have to worry about it ever 'sleeping' on me. I can leave it on and it stays connected whichever room I need a wifi signal it's there and with good range. It may not be the fanciest or fastest Wireless N router, nor does it support dual band and have gigabit ports and USB port, but it's reliable and sends out strong consistent signal from a good distance throughout the house and out. I highly recommend this if all you need is a basic access point with available 10/100 ports that's really reliable.

Was this review helpful? (79) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kaduku
GU
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not worth the money
1/17/2015

Customer review by NoNetgearForLife

1.0 stars 1/17/2015 by NoNetgearForLife
by NoNetgearForLife

I used this router for 14 days before it just completely stopped working. The Netgear tech support was a complete joke. After going through the steps, tech support decided that it was defective and needed to be replaced. I was put on hold, ten minutes later he came back on the line. Told me that this model is out of stock in the warehouse, and that I need to call back in 2-4 days to see if one is available then. Apparently they can't send me an email to start the process of my return until it's in stock again. Their tech support and customer service is horrible, I will never buy another Netgear product again!! I bought their product, which was defective, and now I have to keep calling THEM multiple times in order to get my product replaced??!! That's their "Lifetime Warranty." Now, in no way is this Walmarts fault. I had bought this online, there's only a 15 day return on computer routers... I was unaware of that until I tried to print my receipt. I would much rather be dealing with them than Netgear.

Was this review helpful? (26) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NoNetgearForLife
Would recommend to a friend? No
No Way!
8/7/2016

Customer review by MissouriMan

1.0 stars 8/7/2016 by MissouriMan
by MissouriMan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I returned this item twice! And after talking with Net gear Customer service for 2 hours they couldn't make them work either. No third time's the charm for me. I bought a different brand. Done in 5 minutes!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MissouriMan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It does what is supposed too.
6/14/2016

Customer review by fperezal

5.0 stars 6/14/2016 by fperezal
by fperezal
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor

Good router. Easy install. Works as expected. This router is all you need for the speeds offered by the local Cable Companies; spending more money in faster routers is a waste since what the internet speeds offered by your provider are much slower that the capabilities of expensive routers. This will do the trick.

Was this review helpful? (26) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fperezal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor
So Far, So Good
12/29/2015

Customer review by LovinValue

5.0 stars 12/29/2015 by LovinValue
by LovinValue

I certainly hope that I'm not being premature, but thus far this router has worked like a charm. It replaces a prior TP-Link Tl-WR841N and a Linksys E1200. With both of those prior units, I had almost daily disconnections. I would have to unplug and replug the router each time, which was a major pain. It also created major problems if I wanted to access my home network while out of town. As I write this, the Netgear unit still has not had a droppage. (Fingers crossed). One note -- when I was setting up the router, I had to download the Netgear Genie software. It appeared that the software would also allow me to change the pre-selected network ID and password, but it refused to make the changes I requested. I called Netgear and was told that I needed to access the router separately after the setup to do that ( the usual192.168.1.1). The Netgear rep also advised me to change the Channel from auto to Channel 11. All is working well.

Was this review helpful? (37) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LovinValue
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cool router
6/19/2016

Customer review by orange

5.0 stars 6/19/2016 by orange
by orange
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Brighthouse increased my rate $10 for some reason and when I called them they say I had a promotion that is expired now. "Great" way to get more money from customers. The rep told me that the modem needs to be replaced, and again, when new modem was set up, tech said that my router is not compatible with new modem. I called them again, and they wanted to charge me $72/yr for adding wireless capability to my new modem. I said no and bought this router. Very nice, easy to connect and provides good coverage inside the apartment. I am happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
orange
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No Wires
6/17/2016

Customer review by Gnoccio

5.0 stars 6/17/2016 by Gnoccio
by Gnoccio
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've got no wires to hold me down, to make me fret, or make me frown. I had wires but now I'm free - I'm happy as I could be. The nose knows - gosh, I wouldn't lie. I recommend it. Please give it a try.

Was this review helpful? (22) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gnoccio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
didnt last long
7/25/2016

Customer review by christalb

2.0 stars 7/25/2016 by christalb
by christalb

We often had connectivity issues, it would only do 3 devices at once. So it could only connect to our computer, our gaming system and one phone no more than that. Someone would have to disconnect first. It also only lasted maybe 6 months before completely dying and refusing to work at all. Would not recommend.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
christalb
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Deal
12/17/2010

Customer review by Slappy555

4.0 stars 12/17/2010 by Slappy555
by Slappy555

Save your money and buy this router. I purchased this product several months ago and I am completly satisfied. I basically unloaded from the box plugged it in and began using. I didn't have to read any instructions or install any software. My laptop found the device then asked for the number on the router itself then asked me to setup a password and I was using the product. I then started my other laptops and found the device typed in the same password and they were up and running. I started my WII went to the WiFi setup area found the device typed in the password and it was up and running. No problems and couldn't be more simple. The range is great I can go anywhere in my house and even in my yard and get an excellent signal. Never kicks me off even if I have desktop, two laptops, and the WII or DSI's running at the same time.

Was this review helpful? (78) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Slappy555
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Slow starting but good on range and speed.
4/18/2016

Customer review by Oldperson12345

4.0 stars 4/18/2016 by Oldperson12345
by Oldperson12345

My old (8 years) Belkin router started dropping connections so bought this Netgear model. The only thing is it takes about 1 1/2 minutes for everything to light up and be ready to go, the Belkin took about 15 seconds. The range seems better because my wife's laptop in the guest bedroom showed 4 bars and with the Belkin showed 3. Also I checked speedtest.net and it showed a little over 30 Mbps download vs. the Belkin which maxes out at about 17 Mbps. Upload went up a little from around 6 Mbps to about 8 Mbps with the Netgear router. By the way I tried the speed test with my old (about 8-10 year) WebStar Modem and a new Arris DOCSIS3.0 modem and got about the same speed. (I'm not on the faster connection speed hookup with my service provider which would cost me more.) So I dropped one star because of the slow start only.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Oldperson12345
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Definitely good buy
4/20/2016

Customer review by Lizz

5.0 stars 4/20/2016 by Lizz
by Lizz

Works great, better buy online than in actual store, cheaper by $10

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lizz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome!
7/17/2016

Customer review by Misshlh

5.0 stars 7/17/2016 by Misshlh
by Misshlh
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My cable provider recommended an expensive dual band router. I took a shot on this one and I am so glad I did! In my home, at any given moment, we are streaming video on two devices and using one or two devices for web surfing, email, etc. This router gives a powerful signal throughout the home. We never have interruptions.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Misshlh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 639 total reviews
1-20 of 639 reviews