Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 629 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

629 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

629 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
377
4 stars
124
3 stars
21
2 stars
25
1 stars
82
1-20 of 557 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 557 total reviews
1-20 of 557 reviews
Quick to get & mostly painless install
5/5/2014

Customer review by EmKap

4.0 stars 5/5/2014 by EmKap
by EmKap
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After my wifi router died one morning, I needed another one. I was able to buy this one online (decent reviews and within my price range; prior positive experience with Netgear products) using Ship to Store, and had it in hand within 2 hours. I was able to get it up and running pretty quickly, but was having trouble figuring out how to change the default login and passwords. The device comes with 90 days of free tech support by phone, and free lifetime-of-the-device email support. A quick call to a helpful techie, and I changed what I wanted to change and updated the access on all my wifi devices. Sweet.

Was this review helpful? (69) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EmKap
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect.
3/6/2010

Customer review by JamesTo

5.0 stars 3/6/2010 by JamesTo
by JamesTo

This is my first router. It was extremely simple to set up, took 10 minutes max. Have had it a week and a half and havent lost connection once. Signal reaches all the way to my garage (good 150 feet from router) so i am very pleased. Works great with PS3 never lost connection there either and no lag while gaming. Very stylish/clean looking out of box. My favorite birthday present by far.

Was this review helpful? (176) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JamesTo
Crosby, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Features not listed....
4/9/2010

Customer review by Danowano

5.0 stars 4/9/2010 by Danowano
by Danowano
Top 500 contributor

These reviews help me a lot, so I thought I'd mention this one point... It does not appear to be listed in the features here on the Walmart website, but this router allows you to set up a second "Guest" SSID/network with "internet-only" access. This is a great feature to have when you have guests or relatives (or your kid's friends over) at your house, and you don't want them to have access to your all your network files. Both accounts can have different security settings, different passwords, and different broadcast SSID settings (you can make the guest one visible for simplicity of your guests, and not broadcast your main network ID). You don't have to use "guest" as a name, you can change it to whatever name you want. I almost bought a more expensive router by Belkin that advertised this feature, but the reviews on that one were so poor, I decided to buy this router, and I was pleasantly surprised to find this router did the same thing! I hope that helps someone make their decision.

Was this review helpful? (912) (69)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Danowano
Midwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
Great Value And All One Needs For Right Now
1/19/2016

Customer review by Johnbhome2

5.0 stars 1/19/2016 by Johnbhome2
by Johnbhome2

I decided on this router after much searching of reviews. I was kind of surprised when I opened it at its small size, I was expecting this router to be bigger. I actually unplugged my old wrt54g plugging in the new using everything except the old power cable. This modem kind of sets itself up with you only needing to open your browser following the instructions on the install pamphlet. Easy, peasey!!!! Whether you change settings or not you are broadcasting a wifi signal that for me is sufficient for coverage all through my house. All this is detailed in the pamphlet with the Netgear Genie being really easy to use. My old router was only capable of 54mbps. This newer ones standard is n capable of theoretical achieving 300 mbps. Most cable plans with the lowest to highest cost only go from 25mbps to perhaps 150 mbps. I guess what I am trying to say is do not buy more router than what you really need as the most expensive router in the world will not make your internet connection any faster. I highly recommend this router because the price was right, easy to set up, coverage in my house has been nothing but excellent.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Johnbhome2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So Far, So Good
12/29/2015

Customer review by LovinValue

5.0 stars 12/29/2015 by LovinValue
by LovinValue

I certainly hope that I'm not being premature, but thus far this router has worked like a charm. It replaces a prior TP-Link Tl-WR841N and a Linksys E1200. With both of those prior units, I had almost daily disconnections. I would have to unplug and replug the router each time, which was a major pain. It also created major problems if I wanted to access my home network while out of town. As I write this, the Netgear unit still has not had a droppage. (Fingers crossed). One note -- when I was setting up the router, I had to download the Netgear Genie software. It appeared that the software would also allow me to change the pre-selected network ID and password, but it refused to make the changes I requested. I called Netgear and was told that I needed to access the router separately after the setup to do that ( the usual192.168.1.1). The Netgear rep also advised me to change the Channel from auto to Channel 11. All is working well.

Was this review helpful? (6) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LovinValue
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great long term connection and reliable.
11/27/2010

Customer review by Kaduku

4.0 stars 11/27/2010 by Kaduku
by Kaduku

Ordered this to upgrade from another Netgear Wireless G router. Had great experience with my first Netgear wifi router and just needed to step up to wireless N since my wife enjoys watching video streaming from her laptop while I browse the web on my desktop. Glad to say she does not have to wait for her video to buffer while I'm downloading web pages or data at the same time with the WNR2000. The on and off button is really convenient, not that I have to power cycle frequently since the signal never drops and I don't have to worry about it ever 'sleeping' on me. I can leave it on and it stays connected whichever room I need a wifi signal it's there and with good range. It may not be the fanciest or fastest Wireless N router, nor does it support dual band and have gigabit ports and USB port, but it's reliable and sends out strong consistent signal from a good distance throughout the house and out. I highly recommend this if all you need is a basic access point with available 10/100 ports that's really reliable.

Was this review helpful? (55) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kaduku
GU
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Small, lightweight and can really perform
1/29/2016

Customer review by nexgen90

5.0 stars 1/29/2016 by nexgen90
by nexgen90

I ordered it yesterday and got it today and am using it now. No software to install, super simple setup (in fact, it sets itself up to include a network name and issues a new WEP password) and all is done from the web browser. Just hook it up and open your web browser and wait for about two seconds. Follow a few prompts and you are online. Small in size and a lot smaller than what you see in the picture which is okay. Size should not be a problem as long as it works and it does and does very well.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nexgen90
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not enough coverage
1/9/2016

Customer review by Rebecca

3.0 stars 1/9/2016 by Rebecca
by Rebecca

I actually ended up returning this. It didn't have good coverage and we live in a medium sized house. Still looking for one that has good coverage and doesn't cost a fortune

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rebecca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not worth the money
1/17/2015

Customer review by NoNetgearForLife

1.0 stars 1/17/2015 by NoNetgearForLife
by NoNetgearForLife

I used this router for 14 days before it just completely stopped working. The Netgear tech support was a complete joke. After going through the steps, tech support decided that it was defective and needed to be replaced. I was put on hold, ten minutes later he came back on the line. Told me that this model is out of stock in the warehouse, and that I need to call back in 2-4 days to see if one is available then. Apparently they can't send me an email to start the process of my return until it's in stock again. Their tech support and customer service is horrible, I will never buy another Netgear product again!! I bought their product, which was defective, and now I have to keep calling THEM multiple times in order to get my product replaced??!! That's their "Lifetime Warranty." Now, in no way is this Walmarts fault. I had bought this online, there's only a 15 day return on computer routers... I was unaware of that until I tried to print my receipt. I would much rather be dealing with them than Netgear.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NoNetgearForLife
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Deal
12/17/2010

Customer review by Slappy555

4.0 stars 12/17/2010 by Slappy555
by Slappy555

Save your money and buy this router. I purchased this product several months ago and I am completly satisfied. I basically unloaded from the box plugged it in and began using. I didn't have to read any instructions or install any software. My laptop found the device then asked for the number on the router itself then asked me to setup a password and I was using the product. I then started my other laptops and found the device typed in the same password and they were up and running. I started my WII went to the WiFi setup area found the device typed in the password and it was up and running. No problems and couldn't be more simple. The range is great I can go anywhere in my house and even in my yard and get an excellent signal. Never kicks me off even if I have desktop, two laptops, and the WII or DSI's running at the same time.

Was this review helpful? (69) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Slappy555
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Obvious returned Router, missing manual
12/4/2015

Customer review by Joan

3.0 stars 12/4/2015 by Joan
by Joan

I purchased this item online using the "Pick it up in store today" option. When I got it home and opened the box to install this router, it was obvious that it had been previously purchased and returned to Walmart, and was resold without being checked. The cord was loose and just stuffed into the box, the plastic packaging inside had been opened, and the instruction manual was missing. Fortunately for me, my daughter works in IT and was knowledgeable enough to be able to install the router without the instructions or software, as I needed it immediately and did not have time to return to the store to exchange, or wait to order another one. Walmart should be checking returned items before reselling and causing a headache for the ultimate buyer.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Joan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Netgear Excellence!
2/16/2011

Customer review by lmg80

5.0 stars 2/16/2011 by lmg80
by lmg80

This review is written with the one caveat that I've only used this router for about 2 weeks, but thus far it has worked fabulously. Positives are numerous, but chief among them are the ease of setup (and I'm not a techie) and the increased range of reception. I was previously using a Belkin N+ router that at best gave me 3 bars of connection strength and horrible range (move more than 20 ft. from router & intermitently lose connection or lost altogether). This Netgear WNR2000 router gives me a min. of 3 bars & no lost connections inside a 2300 sq.ft. house! Most often, I get 4-5 bars, and whereas the Belkin at best produced 65 mpbs, this Netgear is steadfast @ 150 mpbs! Uploads are much faster on my laptop, and the security measures are top notch! It is attractive looking & runs throughout the day without overheating. The manual on/off button is a practical feature, allowing me to turn it off overnight (and it boots up quickly when turned on!). Other standout features are the lifetime warranty and Wal-Mart's price. An excellent wireless N router from a recognized industry leader for under $50!! Major, major BUY recommendation!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lmg80
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Quick and easy!
2/17/2011

Customer review by tnbirdlover

5.0 stars 2/17/2011 by tnbirdlover
by tnbirdlover

I'm not a particularly computer savvy person. Not understanding how networking even worked at all I was very hesitant about how simple it sounded. I read several reviews of routers and narrowed it down. Decided to try this one out. In less than 15 minutes I had it out of the box and completely set up! My desktop is in my bedroom but now I am surfing on my netbook in the living room. Super simple. If you are like me and frightened of technology sometimes I highly recommend this router. As for longevity we will see.....

Was this review helpful? (36) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tnbirdlover
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
netgear n300
1/26/2016

Customer review by dinoma

4.0 stars 1/26/2016 by dinoma
by dinoma

Ordered online with pickup at local Walmart. Product was missing bubble wrap, ethernet cable and any form of written instructions/warranty information which led me to believe it was a product return or refurb. I installed the unit and was able to connect my desktop without issue, was forced to call tech support to get my smartphone to connect as it wouldn't accept the router name/password, had to change the name and password online and then was able to connect the smartphone. Tech support was good and they registered the unit for warranty. I havn't had any issues with the unit since it was installed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dinoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Solved Problem
2/4/2016

Customer review by granpwhiz

5.0 stars 2/4/2016 by granpwhiz
by granpwhiz

When a friend of mine asked me to help with his network problems I let him know just what he needed NetGear products have always been the best problem solvers for Home Networking. And Yes it fixed his problem. Great Product!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
granpwhiz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works great !
2/6/2016

Customer review by Megatron

5.0 stars 2/6/2016 by Megatron
by Megatron

As soon as you plugged in, it works perfectly. Just follow the set up instraction.!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Megatron
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
unbelievable
1/23/2011

Customer review by exlinksys

5.0 stars 1/23/2011 by exlinksys
by exlinksys

I previously owned a Linksys WRT120N. One day I could no longer send e-mails out. After trying everything I could for a week, I tried unplugging the router and connecting directly to the cable modem. My email started working again. I spent hours on the phone with Linksys and they still could not get it to work properly. After searching the internet and suggestions from my ISP, I decided to purchase a Netgear. I was a little worried that I could set up the modem myself. I had spent hours with Linksys setting up theirs. I had the modem running in 30 minutes and guess what? My email works perfect now. I will never own a Linksys again! What a hunk of junk Cisco has created. I have only owned the Netgear for a short while, but I am extremely satisfied and relieved to have the email working again. The wireless connection is very fast and stable. What a relief!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
exlinksys
Omaha, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Router and Easy To Setup!
8/14/2014

Customer review by J0706

5.0 stars 8/14/2014 by J0706
by J0706
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The NETGEAR N300 is an excellent router for home or small office. It's easy to install (20 minutes tops). Although, you should have a basic understanding of WiFi networks, and select the modem you're using wisely....otherwise, you could experience a lot of problems. If you don't know which modem to choose, ask your internet service provider for their recommendation(s). Also, if your installing a new modem, you'll have to call your internet service provider and provide them with some information (located on the modem) so they can activate it. Somehow that little tidbit of information never gets passed along to the self-installer.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
J0706
Rogers, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy install
2/5/2016

Customer review by Swolf

5.0 stars 2/5/2016 by Swolf
by Swolf

Works great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Swolf
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great product
3/4/2010

Customer review by thebarfly

5.0 stars 3/4/2010 by thebarfly
by thebarfly

very fast. i have 2 computers and a 360 hooked up to it. plus my vonage telephone service. it doesn't miss a beat. very easy to hookup took about 5 minutes. i have nothing bad to say about this product. the wireless range is excellent. look no further you found your wireless router right here!

Was this review helpful? (342) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thebarfly
new holland,pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 557 total reviews
1-20 of 557 reviews