Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 693 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

693 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

693 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
415
4 stars
136
3 stars
23
2 stars
25
1 stars
94
1-20 of 621 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 621 total reviews
1-20 of 621 reviews
Quick to get & mostly painless install
5/5/2014

Customer review by EmKap

4.0 stars 5/5/2014 by EmKap
by EmKap
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After my wifi router died one morning, I needed another one. I was able to buy this one online (decent reviews and within my price range; prior positive experience with Netgear products) using Ship to Store, and had it in hand within 2 hours. I was able to get it up and running pretty quickly, but was having trouble figuring out how to change the default login and passwords. The device comes with 90 days of free tech support by phone, and free lifetime-of-the-device email support. A quick call to a helpful techie, and I changed what I wanted to change and updated the access on all my wifi devices. Sweet.

Was this review helpful? (149) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EmKap
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent
7/18/2016

Customer review by Khadijah

5.0 stars 7/18/2016 by Khadijah
by Khadijah
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Works well you just have to carefully read the instructions it's easy to leave out somethings or get frustrated.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Khadijah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect.
3/6/2010

Customer review by JamesTo

5.0 stars 3/6/2010 by JamesTo
by JamesTo

This is my first router. It was extremely simple to set up, took 10 minutes max. Have had it a week and a half and havent lost connection once. Signal reaches all the way to my garage (good 150 feet from router) so i am very pleased. Works great with PS3 never lost connection there either and no lag while gaming. Very stylish/clean looking out of box. My favorite birthday present by far.

Was this review helpful? (240) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JamesTo
Crosby, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Features not listed....
4/9/2010

Customer review by Danowano

5.0 stars 4/9/2010 by Danowano
by Danowano
Top 500 contributor

These reviews help me a lot, so I thought I'd mention this one point... It does not appear to be listed in the features here on the Walmart website, but this router allows you to set up a second "Guest" SSID/network with "internet-only" access. This is a great feature to have when you have guests or relatives (or your kid's friends over) at your house, and you don't want them to have access to your all your network files. Both accounts can have different security settings, different passwords, and different broadcast SSID settings (you can make the guest one visible for simplicity of your guests, and not broadcast your main network ID). You don't have to use "guest" as a name, you can change it to whatever name you want. I almost bought a more expensive router by Belkin that advertised this feature, but the reviews on that one were so poor, I decided to buy this router, and I was pleasantly surprised to find this router did the same thing! I hope that helps someone make their decision.

Was this review helpful? (1044) (85)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Danowano
Midwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
It does what is supposed too.
6/14/2016

Customer review by fperezal

5.0 stars 6/14/2016 by fperezal
by fperezal
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor

Good router. Easy install. Works as expected. This router is all you need for the speeds offered by the local Cable Companies; spending more money in faster routers is a waste since what the internet speeds offered by your provider are much slower that the capabilities of expensive routers. This will do the trick.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fperezal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor
Cool router
6/19/2016

Customer review by orange

5.0 stars 6/19/2016 by orange
by orange
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Brighthouse increased my rate $10 for some reason and when I called them they say I had a promotion that is expired now. "Great" way to get more money from customers. The rep told me that the modem needs to be replaced, and again, when new modem was set up, tech said that my router is not compatible with new modem. I called them again, and they wanted to charge me $72/yr for adding wireless capability to my new modem. I said no and bought this router. Very nice, easy to connect and provides good coverage inside the apartment. I am happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
orange
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Value And All One Needs For Right Now
1/19/2016

Customer review by Johnbhome2

5.0 stars 1/19/2016 by Johnbhome2
by Johnbhome2

I decided on this router after much searching of reviews. I was kind of surprised when I opened it at its small size, I was expecting this router to be bigger. I actually unplugged my old wrt54g plugging in the new using everything except the old power cable. This modem kind of sets itself up with you only needing to open your browser following the instructions on the install pamphlet. Easy, peasey!!!! Whether you change settings or not you are broadcasting a wifi signal that for me is sufficient for coverage all through my house. All this is detailed in the pamphlet with the Netgear Genie being really easy to use. My old router was only capable of 54mbps. This newer ones standard is n capable of theoretical achieving 300 mbps. Most cable plans with the lowest to highest cost only go from 25mbps to perhaps 150 mbps. I guess what I am trying to say is do not buy more router than what you really need as the most expensive router in the world will not make your internet connection any faster. I highly recommend this router because the price was right, easy to set up, coverage in my house has been nothing but excellent.

Was this review helpful? (69) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Johnbhome2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No Wires
6/17/2016

Customer review by Gnoccio

5.0 stars 6/17/2016 by Gnoccio
by Gnoccio
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've got no wires to hold me down, to make me fret, or make me frown. I had wires but now I'm free - I'm happy as I could be. The nose knows - gosh, I wouldn't lie. I recommend it. Please give it a try.

Was this review helpful? (16) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gnoccio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great long term connection and reliable.
11/27/2010

Customer review by Kaduku

4.0 stars 11/27/2010 by Kaduku
by Kaduku

Ordered this to upgrade from another Netgear Wireless G router. Had great experience with my first Netgear wifi router and just needed to step up to wireless N since my wife enjoys watching video streaming from her laptop while I browse the web on my desktop. Glad to say she does not have to wait for her video to buffer while I'm downloading web pages or data at the same time with the WNR2000. The on and off button is really convenient, not that I have to power cycle frequently since the signal never drops and I don't have to worry about it ever 'sleeping' on me. I can leave it on and it stays connected whichever room I need a wifi signal it's there and with good range. It may not be the fanciest or fastest Wireless N router, nor does it support dual band and have gigabit ports and USB port, but it's reliable and sends out strong consistent signal from a good distance throughout the house and out. I highly recommend this if all you need is a basic access point with available 10/100 ports that's really reliable.

Was this review helpful? (75) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kaduku
GU
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not worth the money
1/17/2015

Customer review by NoNetgearForLife

1.0 stars 1/17/2015 by NoNetgearForLife
by NoNetgearForLife

I used this router for 14 days before it just completely stopped working. The Netgear tech support was a complete joke. After going through the steps, tech support decided that it was defective and needed to be replaced. I was put on hold, ten minutes later he came back on the line. Told me that this model is out of stock in the warehouse, and that I need to call back in 2-4 days to see if one is available then. Apparently they can't send me an email to start the process of my return until it's in stock again. Their tech support and customer service is horrible, I will never buy another Netgear product again!! I bought their product, which was defective, and now I have to keep calling THEM multiple times in order to get my product replaced??!! That's their "Lifetime Warranty." Now, in no way is this Walmarts fault. I had bought this online, there's only a 15 day return on computer routers... I was unaware of that until I tried to print my receipt. I would much rather be dealing with them than Netgear.

Was this review helpful? (21) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NoNetgearForLife
Would recommend to a friend? No
So Far, So Good
12/29/2015

Customer review by LovinValue

5.0 stars 12/29/2015 by LovinValue
by LovinValue

I certainly hope that I'm not being premature, but thus far this router has worked like a charm. It replaces a prior TP-Link Tl-WR841N and a Linksys E1200. With both of those prior units, I had almost daily disconnections. I would have to unplug and replug the router each time, which was a major pain. It also created major problems if I wanted to access my home network while out of town. As I write this, the Netgear unit still has not had a droppage. (Fingers crossed). One note -- when I was setting up the router, I had to download the Netgear Genie software. It appeared that the software would also allow me to change the pre-selected network ID and password, but it refused to make the changes I requested. I called Netgear and was told that I needed to access the router separately after the setup to do that ( the usual192.168.1.1). The Netgear rep also advised me to change the Channel from auto to Channel 11. All is working well.

Was this review helpful? (37) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LovinValue
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Netgear is not worth the money
6/25/2016

Customer review by unhappy

1.0 stars 6/25/2016 by unhappy
by unhappy

I have purchased two of these and neither one has lasted. The first one lasted just under a year. The second only worked for 3 months. Good luck trying to get any help getting it replaced from Netgear. They were no help at all. I would not buy another or recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
unhappy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Slow starting but good on range and speed.
4/18/2016

Customer review by Oldperson12345

4.0 stars 4/18/2016 by Oldperson12345
by Oldperson12345

My old (8 years) Belkin router started dropping connections so bought this Netgear model. The only thing is it takes about 1 1/2 minutes for everything to light up and be ready to go, the Belkin took about 15 seconds. The range seems better because my wife's laptop in the guest bedroom showed 4 bars and with the Belkin showed 3. Also I checked speedtest.net and it showed a little over 30 Mbps download vs. the Belkin which maxes out at about 17 Mbps. Upload went up a little from around 6 Mbps to about 8 Mbps with the Netgear router. By the way I tried the speed test with my old (about 8-10 year) WebStar Modem and a new Arris DOCSIS3.0 modem and got about the same speed. (I'm not on the faster connection speed hookup with my service provider which would cost me more.) So I dropped one star because of the slow start only.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Oldperson12345
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Definitely good buy
4/20/2016

Customer review by Lizz

5.0 stars 4/20/2016 by Lizz
by Lizz

Works great, better buy online than in actual store, cheaper by $10

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lizz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Netgear N300
7/17/2016

Customer review by Customer

1.0 stars 7/17/2016 by Customer
by Customer

Have had this unit for about 1 1/2 years and used seldom at my vacation home. This week the wireless portion won't work. Would NOT recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Deal
12/17/2010

Customer review by Slappy555

4.0 stars 12/17/2010 by Slappy555
by Slappy555

Save your money and buy this router. I purchased this product several months ago and I am completly satisfied. I basically unloaded from the box plugged it in and began using. I didn't have to read any instructions or install any software. My laptop found the device then asked for the number on the router itself then asked me to setup a password and I was using the product. I then started my other laptops and found the device typed in the same password and they were up and running. I started my WII went to the WiFi setup area found the device typed in the password and it was up and running. No problems and couldn't be more simple. The range is great I can go anywhere in my house and even in my yard and get an excellent signal. Never kicks me off even if I have desktop, two laptops, and the WII or DSI's running at the same time.

Was this review helpful? (77) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Slappy555
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Router works great
6/21/2016

Customer review by electro1955

5.0 stars 6/21/2016 by electro1955
by electro1955
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

the only complaint I have is that I still cant get a strong signal in parts of my home. I really should have gotten the 600 instead of the 300. But that is not the fault of NetGear. It was a breeze to install. Happy with purchase..would definitely recommend

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
electro1955
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Quick and easy!
2/17/2011

Customer review by tnbirdlover

5.0 stars 2/17/2011 by tnbirdlover
by tnbirdlover

I'm not a particularly computer savvy person. Not understanding how networking even worked at all I was very hesitant about how simple it sounded. I read several reviews of routers and narrowed it down. Decided to try this one out. In less than 15 minutes I had it out of the box and completely set up! My desktop is in my bedroom but now I am surfing on my netbook in the living room. Super simple. If you are like me and frightened of technology sometimes I highly recommend this router. As for longevity we will see.....

Was this review helpful? (47) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tnbirdlover
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Netgear Excellence!
2/16/2011

Customer review by lmg80

5.0 stars 2/16/2011 by lmg80
by lmg80

This review is written with the one caveat that I've only used this router for about 2 weeks, but thus far it has worked fabulously. Positives are numerous, but chief among them are the ease of setup (and I'm not a techie) and the increased range of reception. I was previously using a Belkin N+ router that at best gave me 3 bars of connection strength and horrible range (move more than 20 ft. from router & intermitently lose connection or lost altogether). This Netgear WNR2000 router gives me a min. of 3 bars & no lost connections inside a 2300 sq.ft. house! Most often, I get 4-5 bars, and whereas the Belkin at best produced 65 mpbs, this Netgear is steadfast @ 150 mpbs! Uploads are much faster on my laptop, and the security measures are top notch! It is attractive looking & runs throughout the day without overheating. The manual on/off button is a practical feature, allowing me to turn it off overnight (and it boots up quickly when turned on!). Other standout features are the lifetime warranty and Wal-Mart's price. An excellent wireless N router from a recognized industry leader for under $50!! Major, major BUY recommendation!!

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lmg80
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Never Worked! DO NOT BUY
6/18/2016

Customer review by Teke

1.0 stars 6/18/2016 by Teke
by Teke

This router never worked! I was trying for days to connect it, following the steps thoroughly. It was a waste of money! I didn't even receive the model as shown on the picture. Very disappointed in Wal-Mart!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Teke
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 621 total reviews
1-20 of 621 reviews