Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.2out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5 | 118 reviews
5 stars
76
4 stars
19
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
16
Sort by: 
1-20 of 98 reviews
1-20 of 98 reviews
Works fine with Windows, but ONLY Windows
6/22/2014
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I'm sick of Windows so I've switched to Linux. Too bad this wireless adapter has zero drivers for Linux. It works just fine in Windows and does maintain a better connection and throughput than the single band WiFi adapter I replaced with it. I just wish the manufacturer didn't have their head in sand by assuming the only OS in the world is Windows. I'll never buy this brand again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Enough For FPS PC Gaming
3/10/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Just sampled this product along with the N600 dual band router. I have moved out of my house and into my sisters house temporarily. I've always had a direct ethernet connection for my gaming. My sisters uverse router is to far from my temp. bedroom to run ethernet across the house and 802.11g didn't cut it when I tried to play Battlefield:BC2 last night...it was laggy as heck. Her upload/downloads are pretty good and knew it was the wireless connection. Hooked this Wireless N router up (behind the uverse router)specific for gaming along with the adapter mentioned...as these two were the cheapest I could find that claimed good enough for gaming. Just got off BC2 for two hours and didn't experience any lag at all. It also actually improved my ping slightly as well too. If you need an affordable wireless router for your PC gaming or console, give these two a try.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (51)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Can not recommend.
9/11/2010
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this specific item from a local store. It worked for about a day, then took a nose dive. The thing that caught my eye when looking for troubleshooting information was the number of refurbished units available. With that many refurbs, something is wrong with the design, or a supplier. Netgear should get to the bottom of it - some people get high quality devices - others get junk. I did not abuse the usb device. It stayed plugged in and I used the clip and velcro to hang the unit where it would receive a good signal. Other problems with this setup - the junk software. You CAN plug this into any supported Operating System and Windows Update will download the driver automatically. That is the one bright spot in my experience with this product. The others who are having good experiences - I'm happy for them. However I am terribly disappointed in purchasing a mid-grade product and the quality of it being much lower than expected. When it did work, it seemed to do ok for connecting to a wireless G network 75 feet away and the signal going through cinder block - I got two bars when my integrated picked up nothing.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Don't buy this.
11/27/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this for internet use in my workroom on a computer that is new, not used. Connects to internet until you try to download (anti-virus, updates, etc) and then it crashes and closes the internet. NETGEAR support does not exist. NETGEAR will transfer you and your problems to a non-NETGEAR tech-support clearinghouse. This tech-support person will tell you that your (new)computer is full of problems and viruses and they will help you for $99.99. If you do not pay, they can't help you. Returned this to Walmart and reviewed a product for the first time in my life.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (25)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
2/20/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Unlike the previous review this DOES work flawlessly with Windows 7 64-Bit.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (44)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Amazing!!
4/20/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This Device is just amazing! I had an 802.11 G WMP54G. And It wasn't Compatible with Win 7. But then I got this and it actually works with Win 7! I connect to my neighbors house's Router which is 50 feet across the street from my houses and i have got 4/5 Bars! Whenever I play Any of my games, or Stream HD Video's it is very Fast. Please Buy this Item. You will not be Dissapointed.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (58)No (14)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent!
12/29/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 250 contributer
Getting a consistent 144mbps, easy to set up. Good enough for uninterrupted movie streams, fast loading web pages. Using WindowsXP. Couldn't ask for better really.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Kept dropping signal, returned it
10/14/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
To be fair, it seems that maybe 5-10% of the reviews that I read online complained of the same problem: the unit drops the internet signal. Keep in mind that any manufacturing process will have a certain % of defective. I was able to find troubleshooting advice for my problem in a few forums. Unfortunately I'm not computer literate enough to have implemented any of the suggested fixes, so I returned the item.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Piece of junk - outdated software
1/26/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had high expectations on this device based on previous reviews and the Netgear name. This product will waste your time and disappoint tremendously, at least v2. The software is buggy and will not install the device properly. I tried to find generic drivers so Windows could finish the installation, to no avail. The Netgear installation "Network Genie" is worthless.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
doesn't work with windows 7
4/9/2010
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Even know this product said drivers for windows 7 they do not tell you that it is only for windows 7 32bit and doesnt work on 64 bit. So if you have 64 bit do not buy because it will not work. If you call netgear they will tell you to return
Was this review helpful?
Yes (114)No (54)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works Great!
5/19/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've tried/used a lot of wireless adapters and Netgear has always worked best for me. The WNDA3100v2 does not disappoint and works great. Getting fast and consistent speeds from it. It also see's more APs then other brand adapters. I'm running Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate and have no problems with it using the latest drivers from the Netgear support site.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Exactly what I needed.
2/4/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Again, I almost passed on this due to some of the negative reviews. However, time was of the essence so I bought it. I am a firm believer that 7 out of 10 times, the problem(s) people claim to have usually lie with themselves and not the product. Too many times people buy the cheapest product they can find and seem amazed that they don't get top shelf performance/results. It's akin to buying sardines an expecting a caviar taste.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Bring on the speed
3/29/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This was a perfect match for the Netgear WNDR 3700 which I also purchased from Walmart. PS don't be afraid to look @ Walmart first.... Microcenter can't beat their prices for at least what they have.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A Very Good Product
6/24/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this to go with my Netgear WNDR3700 router and it works perfectly. It connected in a minute or less. Works great with my older xp desktop. I would recommend this to anyone.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works Flawlessly
12/27/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Truly makes broadband connection much faster than "G". Easy to set up and had it up and running in 5 minutes.Using for over a month now, no problems.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (30)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great item
6/27/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The Netgear RangeMax Dual Band Wireless-N USB 2.0 Adapter is a must have, especially if you are using windows 7. program loaded with ease and product works great right out the box. It took me 10 minutes to have the computer up and running including the walking time it took to go to and from the mail box.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great enhancemennt to WiFi
6/7/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I was having problems with my WiFi, by not staying connected and being very slow. With Netgear N600 I can now stay connected and it has sped up my computer. I would recommend N600 to anyone that is having problems staying connected to WiFI.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Wonderful
9/6/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Work great with my PC
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works Great
9/8/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
It is the quality that I expected and is sturdy and has a strong signal. Delivery was good and there was little setup to do.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Lousy Product and Support
7/13/2015
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this to replace an old and slow Belkin product. I am using the Belkin to write this review. The Netgear worked sometimes on my Dell Windows 7 machine. When it did, it was fast (25 compared to the Belkin's 4 or 5), but I cannot ever get it to work consistently. I would get it running, go and have lunch, then come back to find that I had no connection. Support told me to purge out the software I had installed, and re-download and install. I did this, and had no effect. In fact, it won't even connect now. The software is the latest version. I also dislike the fact that it seemed to boot up the software deliberately, and after the machine booted up. With the Belkin, there is no process, the wireless link is just there when the machine is on. I see another reviewer says that it does not work on Windows 7 64-bit, only on 32-bit. I don't know if this is true, but it is consistent with my experience. Wish I had read the review before buying! And Netgear has not told me that, as another reviewer suggested they do. And to add insult to injury, Netgear offer to give you extended support after the initial 3 months for a subscription of $80 for six months! Considering the product cost half that, I find that laughable. Very dissatisfied, and not buying Netgear products again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640691, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-