Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 104 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

104 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

104 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
68
4 stars
16
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 stars
14
1-20 of 84 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 84 total reviews
1-20 of 84 reviews
Works fine with Windows, but ONLY Windows
6/22/2014

Customer review by Joestechnology

3.0 stars 6/22/2014 by Joestechnology
by Joestechnology

I'm sick of Windows so I've switched to Linux. Too bad this wireless adapter has zero drivers for Linux. It works just fine in Windows and does maintain a better connection and throughput than the single band WiFi adapter I replaced with it. I just wish the manufacturer didn't have their head in sand by assuming the only OS in the world is Windows. I'll never buy this brand again.

Was this review helpful? (8) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Joestechnology
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good Enough For FPS PC Gaming
3/10/2011

Customer review by jikhead

5.0 stars 3/10/2011 by jikhead
by jikhead

Just sampled this product along with the N600 dual band router. I have moved out of my house and into my sisters house temporarily. I've always had a direct ethernet connection for my gaming. My sisters uverse router is to far from my temp. bedroom to run ethernet across the house and 802.11g didn't cut it when I tried to play Battlefield:BC2 last night...it was laggy as heck. Her upload/downloads are pretty good and knew it was the wireless connection. Hooked this Wireless N router up (behind the uverse router)specific for gaming along with the adapter mentioned...as these two were the cheapest I could find that claimed good enough for gaming. Just got off BC2 for two hours and didn't experience any lag at all. It also actually improved my ping slightly as well too. If you need an affordable wireless router for your PC gaming or console, give these two a try.

Was this review helpful? (46) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jikhead
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Can not recommend.
9/11/2010

Customer review by amplenerdy

3.0 stars 9/11/2010 by amplenerdy
by amplenerdy

I purchased this specific item from a local store. It worked for about a day, then took a nose dive. The thing that caught my eye when looking for troubleshooting information was the number of refurbished units available. With that many refurbs, something is wrong with the design, or a supplier. Netgear should get to the bottom of it - some people get high quality devices - others get junk. I did not abuse the usb device. It stayed plugged in and I used the clip and velcro to hang the unit where it would receive a good signal. Other problems with this setup - the junk software. You CAN plug this into any supported Operating System and Windows Update will download the driver automatically. That is the one bright spot in my experience with this product. The others who are having good experiences - I'm happy for them. However I am terribly disappointed in purchasing a mid-grade product and the quality of it being much lower than expected. When it did work, it seemed to do ok for connecting to a wireless G network 75 feet away and the signal going through cinder block - I got two bars when my integrated picked up nothing.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
amplenerdy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/20/2012

Customer review by JDGJAG

5.0 stars 2/20/2012 by JDGJAG
by JDGJAG

Unlike the previous review this DOES work flawlessly with Windows 7 64-Bit.

Was this review helpful? (39) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JDGJAG
Tulsa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't buy this.
11/27/2014

Customer review by KateKey

1.0 stars 11/27/2014 by KateKey
by KateKey

I bought this for internet use in my workroom on a computer that is new, not used. Connects to internet until you try to download (anti-virus, updates, etc) and then it crashes and closes the internet. NETGEAR support does not exist. NETGEAR will transfer you and your problems to a non-NETGEAR tech-support clearinghouse. This tech-support person will tell you that your (new)computer is full of problems and viruses and they will help you for $99.99. If you do not pay, they can't help you. Returned this to Walmart and reviewed a product for the first time in my life.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KateKey
Would recommend to a friend? No
Amazing!!
4/20/2010

Customer review by LoveToShop1223

5.0 stars 4/20/2010 by LoveToShop1223
by LoveToShop1223

This Device is just amazing! I had an 802.11 G WMP54G. And It wasn't Compatible with Win 7. But then I got this and it actually works with Win 7! I connect to my neighbors house's Router which is 50 feet across the street from my houses and i have got 4/5 Bars! Whenever I play Any of my games, or Stream HD Video's it is very Fast. Please Buy this Item. You will not be Dissapointed.

Was this review helpful? (55) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LoveToShop1223
Washington, Burlington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not worth it
12/30/2015

Customer review by Ajroy

1.0 stars 12/30/2015 by Ajroy
by Ajroy

This item never was even recognized by my computer even after updating and restarting several times. Not impressed.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ajroy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Kept dropping signal, returned it
10/14/2014

Customer review by akdsjfhsdlkjghakj

1.0 stars 10/14/2014 by akdsjfhsdlkjghakj
by akdsjfhsdlkjghakj
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

To be fair, it seems that maybe 5-10% of the reviews that I read online complained of the same problem: the unit drops the internet signal. Keep in mind that any manufacturing process will have a certain % of defective. I was able to find troubleshooting advice for my problem in a few forums. Unfortunately I'm not computer literate enough to have implemented any of the suggested fixes, so I returned the item.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
akdsjfhsdlkjghakj
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
THIS IS NOT A (WNDA3100v2)
1/29/2016

Customer review by ughh

1.0 stars 1/29/2016 by ughh
by ughh

Only a WNDA3100v2 works with my TV. This is a WNDA3100V3. Description is incorrect. What a hassle.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ughh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent!
12/29/2011

Customer review by Ranscott2011

5.0 stars 12/29/2011 by Ranscott2011
by Ranscott2011
Top 250 contributor

Getting a consistent 144mbps, easy to set up. Good enough for uninterrupted movie streams, fast loading web pages. Using WindowsXP. Couldn't ask for better really.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ranscott2011
Wichita, Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
Lousy Product and Support
7/13/2015

Customer review by Traileral

1.0 stars 7/13/2015 by Traileral
by Traileral

I bought this to replace an old and slow Belkin product. I am using the Belkin to write this review. The Netgear worked sometimes on my Dell Windows 7 machine. When it did, it was fast (25 compared to the Belkin's 4 or 5), but I cannot ever get it to work consistently. I would get it running, go and have lunch, then come back to find that I had no connection. Support told me to purge out the software I had installed, and re-download and install. I did this, and had no effect. In fact, it won't even connect now. The software is the latest version. I also dislike the fact that it seemed to boot up the software deliberately, and after the machine booted up. With the Belkin, there is no process, the wireless link is just there when the machine is on. I see another reviewer says that it does not work on Windows 7 64-bit, only on 32-bit. I don't know if this is true, but it is consistent with my experience. Wish I had read the review before buying! And Netgear has not told me that, as another reviewer suggested they do. And to add insult to injury, Netgear offer to give you extended support after the initial 3 months for a subscription of $80 for six months! Considering the product cost half that, I find that laughable. Very dissatisfied, and not buying Netgear products again.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Traileral
Would recommend to a friend? No
doesn't work with windows 7
4/9/2010

Customer review by lugnut1

1.0 stars 4/9/2010 by lugnut1
by lugnut1

Even know this product said drivers for windows 7 they do not tell you that it is only for windows 7 32bit and doesnt work on 64 bit. So if you have 64 bit do not buy because it will not work. If you call netgear they will tell you to return

Was this review helpful? (112) (53)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lugnut1
Would recommend to a friend? No
Piece of junk - outdated software
1/26/2013

Customer review by rcm999

1.0 stars 1/26/2013 by rcm999
by rcm999

I had high expectations on this device based on previous reviews and the Netgear name. This product will waste your time and disappoint tremendously, at least v2. The software is buggy and will not install the device properly. I tried to find generic drivers so Windows could finish the installation, to no avail. The Netgear installation "Network Genie" is worthless.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rcm999
LaVergne, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Works Great!
5/19/2010

Customer review by ZoTech

5.0 stars 5/19/2010 by ZoTech
by ZoTech

I've tried/used a lot of wireless adapters and Netgear has always worked best for me. The WNDA3100v2 does not disappoint and works great. Getting fast and consistent speeds from it. It also see's more APs then other brand adapters. I'm running Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate and have no problems with it using the latest drivers from the Netgear support site.

Was this review helpful? (14) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ZoTech
GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works Great
9/8/2014

Customer review by lklos

5.0 stars 9/8/2014 by lklos
by lklos
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It is the quality that I expected and is sturdy and has a strong signal. Delivery was good and there was little setup to do.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lklos
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bring on the speed
3/29/2011

Customer review by Dxdiag

4.0 stars 3/29/2011 by Dxdiag
by Dxdiag

This was a perfect match for the Netgear WNDR 3700 which I also purchased from Walmart. PS don't be afraid to look @ Walmart first.... Microcenter can't beat their prices for at least what they have.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dxdiag
Aurora CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A Very Good Product
6/24/2010

Customer review by garro14

5.0 stars 6/24/2010 by garro14
by garro14

I bought this to go with my Netgear WNDR3700 router and it works perfectly. It connected in a minute or less. Works great with my older xp desktop. I would recommend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
garro14
Prosser, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works Flawlessly
12/27/2009

Customer review by grandpaph

5.0 stars 12/27/2009 by grandpaph
by grandpaph

Truly makes broadband connection much faster than "G". Easy to set up and had it up and running in 5 minutes.Using for over a month now, no problems.

Was this review helpful? (29) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
grandpaph
Altoona, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Compatibility and Authorization issues
12/25/2015

Customer review by MommaBear

1.0 stars 12/25/2015 by MommaBear
by MommaBear

Using a Netgear WNDR4300 Router that has two 2.4ghz networks and 5ghz networks - yes that's 2 separate networks for each band. Once set private and the other set is isolated for guests. I've had no issues getting anything else connected except this adapter. Granted there are 3 different versions of this and I received version 3. I could not connect to my 5ghz network unless I broadcast the SSID and removed the security. Anytime I added security (or) hid the network, it wouldn't connect. It would attempt to connect but fail authentication if security was added, and it wouldn't even 'find' the network if I hid the SSID even without the security. And I know it was finding the network with SSID hidden and security added because my router's logs would detect the Mac address and say it failed authentication. I tested it on a laptop and my desktop and still nothing good came from it. I could not even connect to my 2.4ghz with it at all and it's hardware settings support both 2.4 and 5ghz. I tried using Netgear's software and Windows. Uninstall/reinstall/restart/etc didn't help. I was in the next room over for initial tests, but moved to 3ft from the router during the later testing when it wasn't working at the start. I probably ended up with a lemon, it seems to be an issue with these those. Work with some routers and not with others. Sometimes they'll connect but be restricted to a low speed around 11mbs or 54mbs even when its next to the router. Other times no connection or it drops out randomly. I just returned it. Picked up a Belkin N300 (model F9L1002v1) before the store closed Christmas eve since I needed things setup by Monday. Its limited to 2.4GHz, but at least it works. Plugged it up, windows detected it and installed drivers instantly. Put in my hidden SSID and password and I was running speed test successfully within 45secs of plugging it up. Sad that a belkin works on my netgear router, but this netgear adapter wouldn't work. Due to compatibility issues and authorization issues with its own router brand, I have to give this a 1 star. Knowledge level: Network Engineering Degree and Cisco Certified. Testing Done Before Return: Extensive

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MommaBear
Would recommend to a friend? No
great item
11/22/2015

Customer review by Christine

5.0 stars 11/22/2015 by Christine
by Christine

This item is great and fast and does exactly as it states it will do. I needed to buy this item for a specific reason, I upgraded my FIOS modem and for some reason my desktop computer was not staying connected but every other item that is wireless in my house was fine, so I needed to get this to make my computer wireless as it was not built into the system. I would recommend this to anyone who needs or wants to make an item wireless.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Christine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 84 total reviews
1-20 of 84 reviews