Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 73 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

73 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

5 stars
30
4 stars
18
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 stars
16
70%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 66 total reviews
works
7/26/2009

Customer review by truckerssss

5.0 stars by truckerssss

like a champ. highly recommended. but read the instructions manual. the a/c plugs have a maximum output of 400 watts. so DON'T expect it to power any cooking type of applicances. those pull down AT LEAST 800 watts. look at your appliances or whatever you want to power. somewhere it will tell you how many watts it uses. and you also have to remember. EVERYTHING uses a surge watt to get it going before it's continuous wattage. a laptop may pull down 100 watts, but requires 200 watts initial surge to get it going first.

Was this review helpful? (242) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
truckerssss
salt lake city, utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
I LIKE IT !
8/30/2009

Customer review by Deano526

5.0 stars by Deano526

I used this product on a camping trip. I used it to jump start a car 3 times, power a laptop, playstation 2 with a game screen, inflated 4 bike tires, used the radio, led light all night 1 night, and charged my cell phone and mp3 player. After all that the power indicator still said 80%. I did test the power inverter before going camping using a 12" house fan. The fan will only run for about a hour before the battery goes down on the unit. But if the the things you want to power a DC uses converter (like a laptop,playstation, cell phone etc..) you should have power for at least 2 nights of camping(I did).

Was this review helpful? (128) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Deano526
IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
emergency use only
7/22/2009

Customer review by gcorber

3.0 stars by gcorber

this product is good, for emergency use only. took it camping would not keep a small fan running, did charge up cell phones and laptop. remember, emergency use only

Was this review helpful? (62) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
gcorber
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
11/27/2011

Customer review by vshpr

3.0 stars by vshpr

It's excellent for what it is. If you don't have expectations of a generator providing hours of power you'll like it. I've run various devices (a TV, a desktop computer, a lamp) off of it for about an hour and a half each (independantly) before the battery runs down and starts buzzing. I haven't tried the compressor yet, everything else works so far. If you're looking for short-term emergency power or a jump starter for your car this will do that. The recharge time is long, though. It takes a day and a half to get back to a full charge after a discharge.

Was this review helpful? (39) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
vshpr
new jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Did not work as advertised
6/9/2011

Customer review by willrunforcoffee

1.0 stars by willrunforcoffee

I was hoping this would be as good as it sounded, but I was very disappointed. It was purchased to use for camping. It was charged for 36 hours per instruction and it worked really well blowing up one of our air mattress but half way through the second it kept cutting out, it would not even work for the third. There was still a good charge on it but it just kept shutting off. When we got home we ran the light on it to completely drain the battery. Once drained we then charged it for 48 hours, the limit according to the instructions. It would not charge my husbands cell phone or any of our iPods. We had been debating between this and a Coleman, I wish we'd gone the the Coleman. Item was returned to store. I said that we never used this product, but we did use it one time. No option for that choice.

Was this review helpful? (41) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
willrunforcoffee
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Consumer warning: This product is NOT a generator.
7/19/2014

Customer review by dave987654321

4.0 stars by dave987654321

I don't own it. The item is described as "Wagan Power Dome EX Compact Generator". However, if you look at the manual, and even the item's labels and box, you will not see any mention of the word "generator." Walmart has simply made a mistake in the product description. The specifications look great for a portable battery-powered power source, and if I needed one, I wouldn't hesitate to buy this one. But to call it a generator is simply incorrect. A "generator" generates electricity, usually by running a small gas or diesel engine that is connected to an alternator (or something similar to an alternator known as an electrical generator). The point is, a generator generates electricity, and in most common applications consumes gas or diesel to do so. This product, on the other hand, plugs into 115VAC for 34 hours to CHARGE UP its internal battery, which can then be taken on the go to provide portable power until the 18AH lead acid battery is discharged. Presumably it has a low supply-voltage shutoff that protects the built-in battery, so it probably actually allows you to consume more in the neighborhood of 11 amp-hours of power before shutting off (usually when the internal battery drops to about 10.5 volts of supply power). Then you have to charge it up again by plugging it in. A generator, on the other hand, will continue supplying power as long as it has gas to keep its engine running. A generator can, for example, be used to run an automotive or RV battery charger.

Was this review helpful? (32) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
dave987654321
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This is mislabeled, it is NOT a generator !
8/25/2014

Customer review by g00dtime

1.0 stars by g00dtime

The advertising blurbs for this are deceptive, they are telling a casual shopper that it's a generator. It is not! It is a jump-start battery combined with an inverter to produce 120 vac from the battery. It may be good for what it is, but it is not what the advertising lead-in claims it is.

Was this review helpful? (35) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
g00dtime
Would recommend to a friend? No
Cheap, quiet, Simple, does what it says
7/31/2011

Customer review by pcheeze

5.0 stars by pcheeze

If you have a boat, rv, or camper, or like to go camping, or need emergency power during storms (light, fan, water pump) then you should have this generator. Pros: Quiet, small, rubberized housing, stylish Cons: 260psi air compressor would rock if it was 1000 or more psi! Only supports 400watts of regular 110/120 power. I own a boat, and also when we get serious downpours, my back porch floods. I have an electric sump-pump that drains my porch and entire backyard in about 10 minutes. However, if we lose power, I can't run the pump. I live in Florida, and its hurricane season. I have this little baby charged up, and I know if I lose power, I can run my pump off this for about 18 hours... That's a life-saver, a house saver. When I take my boat out fishing, I bring this. If my battery doesn't start I can jump it with this. Plus I can run a radio (it has one built in), lights, GPS, and other things from this instead of my boat's battery. So many things you can do with this for so little cost!

Was this review helpful? (62) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
pcheeze
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Wagan Power Dome EX Compact Generator
6/1/2010

Customer review by Wero

5.0 stars by Wero

We took it out to the lake on Memorial day, for all day use, inflated our tubes to go tubbing, listen to radio to all day, we enjoyed so much we orderedd another one for son-in-law for Father's Day. The price is not bad for this product. We plan to use for camping this summer.

Was this review helpful? (60) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Wero
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Perfect for camping!!
7/8/2014

Customer review by MissJai

5.0 stars by MissJai

Got it Monday 6/30 & charged it for 48 hours (til wednesday) then tested it and it worked. To be safe I left it charging overnight Friday 7/4. Then took it camping with us Saturday 7/5, and used it all day Saturday 7/5- Monday 7/7. I plugged the air mattress plug into the dc outlet and it pumped up 8 twin and 2 queen size air mattresses. It charged in less than 3 hours (in airplane mode) an iphone and an android to full 100% power (use your regular wall outlet plug for faster charging not usb or car charger). For $98 on walmart.com and delivery in less than 3 days it was worth it. Excellent for camping trips or items that need low power like charging phones, tablets, blowing up air mattresses etc. Makes a little noise but not too loud. Haven't used the car battery jumper. But it has already been worth it. Hope this review helps.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MissJai
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hit and miss.
9/30/2011

Customer review by vash01000100

1.0 stars by vash01000100

This product had a lot of 5 stars and a lot of extremely low. I was lucky enough to get a bad one (sarcasm). As soon as I got it I read that it needed to be charged for over a day but less than 48. So I did so and I tried it. Everything works EXCEPT for the AC inverters. Great product, but I'm sure with all of these add-ons, something is bound to go wrong, I just didn't think it would be the, I don't know... MAIN REASON PEOPLE GET IT?!

Was this review helpful? (19) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
vash01000100
Alexandria, va
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Defective
12/17/2013

Customer review by SouthernNC

1.0 stars by SouthernNC

Not sure how to rate this. It's an awesome idea and I really wanted to own it. It got pretty good reviews so I guess the one I received was defective. I charged it, went to test it, the light was green for less than a second - made a chirp noise and turned red with nothing plugged in. Full charge. I can tell you the radio worked very well as well as the light. I emailed Wagan they said if I shipped it back to them they would replace it. It's pretty heavy though so I returned it at my local Walmart. Bummer.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
SouthernNC
NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Didn't work right
9/29/2012

Customer review by Maurice77

1.0 stars by Maurice77

Everything worked on the unit except what I purchased it for. Both 110 outlets did nothing. After a while the unit will turn itself on and a buzzing noise will go on and on and nothing would stop it. I returned it today.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Maurice77
York, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Nothing worked on this device !
9/20/2012

Customer review by Blake24

1.0 stars by Blake24

The only thing that worked was the flashlight and tire gauge. The USB port did not work at all. The outlets didn't work and that was the main reason I purchased the product. Plus camping and other life duties. Back to the drawing board, hopefully I find a product that actually does what it says its going to do this time.

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Blake24
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
a handy deivice to have around the house
7/6/2009

Customer review by humorousgirl

5.0 stars by humorousgirl

With an active family, there are many bike tires to be inflated as well as toys to be charged. This product is very handy to have around. It was a fathers day gift to a man of high expecations when it comes to tools and power equipement. He was extremely pleased with this gift - practical and convienent all in one little machine. We also love that is has a spot for our ipod as well.

Was this review helpful? (17) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
humorousgirl
Janesville,WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
dont be mislead !!
11/22/2014

Customer review by notmislead

1.0 stars by notmislead

This is NOT a generator, it does not create power, it is a battery only and has to be recharged at an electrical outlet or 12v source. The name GENERATOR should not even be used with this device...

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
notmislead
Would recommend to a friend? No
A lot of functinality
10/1/2011

Customer review by bobgemail

4.0 stars by bobgemail

Unit can do a lot of different things. Not bad for the price. nice quick portable power. Takes a long time to fully charge.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
bobgemail
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
one small defect
4/7/2014

Customer review by IndianaJames

4.0 stars by IndianaJames

I bought 2 of these. All functions worked on both ( except have not tested jumper cables yet) The only defect was on the bottom of the one of the orange plastic cases, one case had a defect, it was split open at the seam and bulging down a bit making the unit slightly wobbly. The internal battery is sealed separately so I'm keeping it. Wagan said it was safe but did offer to replace it when I called them. But since it doesn't affect it's operation I'm keeping them both.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
IndianaJames
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/1/2012

Customer review by tootthfairy

3.0 stars by tootthfairy

This product was described as a generator however it is NOT. It is a power supply that must be charged. The only reason I didn't return it was because it willdo what I need. I tried it and and it was good for 7 and 1/2 hours of continuos running.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
tootthfairy
Would recommend to a friend? No
12/14/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars by An anonymous customer

total junk! antenna for raidio will breaf as soon as you extend it.took 48 hours to charge said not to charge more than 48 hours. was not fully charged did one jump on lawn tractor and 2 lawn tractor tires meter was in the yellow. not worth the money.would power any hand tools!!!now I have to spend the money to ship it back. orderded onlone can not tak it back to the store

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
lake city florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
1-20 of 66 total reviews