Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 56 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

56 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

56 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
43
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 stars
3
1-20 of 44 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 44 total reviews
1-20 of 44 reviews
Works Well
2/11/2016

Customer review by Emma

5.0 stars 2/11/2016 by Emma
by Emma

I ordered this as an adapter for a vehicle cooler, and it works perfectly. It was a little difficult to plug in the car adapter, but it got there.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Emma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good product
1/27/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/27/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Works like a champ and at half the price of the comparable product at Radio Shack. Just be sure that the device you are powering does not exceed the capacity of this unit. This unit's capacity is 5 amps, the average car outlet can provide 30 amps. This is why it will not run things like the portable air compressor described in another review which rated this product low. There is a large difference between an 8 oz. claw hammer and a 4 lb. sledge hammer and you have to choose the right tool for the job.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
7/16/2010

Customer review by tuck1

5.0 stars 7/16/2010 by tuck1
by tuck1

Works well. Lets me charge my gps in the house and not in the car. It works fine but it's AC/DC....lol

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tuck1
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice piece of equipment.
8/29/2011

Customer review by MrTommy

5.0 stars 8/29/2011 by MrTommy
by MrTommy

After reading all the reviews, I decided to give this converter a GO. I've got a 25 year old 'heater/cooler' that works best with the 12 volt plug in my truck. When I bought it YEARS ago, it came with a large, heavy converter. I've used this converter in my shop to work on CB's and scanners forever. BUT, for taking on the road and into hotels, it was not usable. After searching the web, I found this unit at WalMart, read the reviews (mostly good) and decided to order it. So far, it's worked flawlessly. I hook it up to my cooler several hours before I go on the road. Then I plug it into the ciggy plug in my truck and make my trip. When I get to the end and head to the motel, I plug it in once I get to my room. Flawless. It doesn't overheat, and doesn't go out on me. While on vacation last week, I used it to power my new GPS at the hotel and I experienced no problems there either. Wifey loves it too, because we use the cooler for OUR trips as well. I'd have NO problems recommending this to a friend (or even a complete stranger!). So far, MY experience has been great. Give it a try. Besides, with WalMart's satisfaction guarantee, how can you go wrong? If it dies, take it back. Just don't expect it to run your air conditioner...

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrTommy
Carson City, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A great 12V DC adapter for the home!
10/4/2011

Customer review by RevJim

5.0 stars 10/4/2011 by RevJim
by RevJim

I have a battery charger that I really like, except that the A/C adapter died. However, I knew that the battery charger still worked, because I could plug it into the car, and it worked fine. However, I didn't want to have to go to the car every time I needed to charge my batteries. I therefore purchased the Wagan 5 Amp AC to 12v DC Power Adapter. This adapter allows me to use my car power cord in the house. It works very well. It is rated at the correct amount of amps to do the job. And the cigarette lighter plug fits perfectly into the adapter's connector. So far it has worked perfectly. Also, I now have a 12VDC adapter for the house. I can use my car charger for my cell phone, or other car devices, in my house, if necessary. The one thing I would say about this device is that I would leave it unplugged except when you're using it. You may end up wearing it out while waiting to use it, just from it being plugged in.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RevJim
New Orleans, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
So far, so good.
9/7/2010

Customer review by Mariner55

5.0 stars 9/7/2010 by Mariner55
by Mariner55

I bought this unit to replace the power adapter that came with my Coleman Powerchill Cooler and died early. Interestingly, I tried Radio Shack first and was told they do not carry anything with this sort of power output (except expensive bench testing power supplies) because they run too hot and can't be made to last. Certainly, I didn't get much life out of the Coleman unit -- maybe a couple of hundred hours. And Coleman wanted $58 for a replacement. The Wagan is unvented and looks like a laptop computer power brick. It certainly gets hot to the touch, but I use the cooler like a supplemental refrigerator, and it's been going strong for at least 500 hours. And it's only $18!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mariner55
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works well!!
8/13/2011

Customer review by Gar4real

5.0 stars 8/13/2011 by Gar4real
by Gar4real

I have two other 12 volt adapters that work fine with low power requirement electronics. This unit will power devices needing a higher amp rating current flow. Now I can take my cooler/fridge out of my camper and plug it into a regular outlet at home. Makes preloading and unloading the cooler much easier.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gar4real
Charleston, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
110vac to 12vdc
8/8/2010

Customer review by Psytaur

5.0 stars 8/8/2010 by Psytaur
by Psytaur

To date, you would not find a lower price on this converter (unless you are willing to purchase 1000 or more units from a wholesaler). This will provide enough power (though, slightly less than your cars' socket). There are cheaper units available, however they provide only a half amp and are only suitable for recharging a device battery. This is a good buy and anything less would be a big compromise in performance.

Was this review helpful? (10) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Psytaur
St. Paul, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
doesn't do the job
9/26/2010

Customer review by chiefron

2.0 stars 9/26/2010 by chiefron
by chiefron

Bought this product because I believed, from the description, that it would power a 12 volt air pump......it doesn't. Too weak to work.

Was this review helpful? (11) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chiefron
West Seneca, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Does the Job
8/9/2010

Customer review by Groc

5.0 stars 8/9/2010 by Groc
by Groc

This is used to supply 12V to several HF radio transceivers... Solidly built with fast delivery. Nice!

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Groc
Tri-Cities, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Works well, but gets very hot
7/30/2010

Customer review by Reviewer3452334

4.0 stars 7/30/2010 by Reviewer3452334
by Reviewer3452334

I needed this to power a CoolATron travel cooler, and it works just fine. This model is much cheaper than any other power adapter I could find. My only complaint is that it gets extremely hot, and thus I felt the need to put something under it when used on carpeting.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Reviewer3452334
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Product as described. Great value
6/27/2011

Customer review by djdubious

5.0 stars 6/27/2011 by djdubious
by djdubious

I bought this adapter because the power cord for my lcd 12 volt 4 amp tv was missing. this product does the job no problem and does'nt get hot or have any other draw backs. works great and iam pleased with the value also.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
djdubious
Iron Mountain,MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not powerful enough
2/9/2014

Customer review by kpf1965

2.0 stars 2/9/2014 by kpf1965
by kpf1965
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this to power a portable air compressor to make putting air in my RV tires easier. This adapter was not able to provide the juice to work the air compressor. It states it will power many devices, just know an air compressor is not one of them.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kpf1965
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works Great
2/9/2012

Customer review by caliman64

5.0 stars 2/9/2012 by caliman64
by caliman64

I used this on a portable DVD player that was made for the car. It worked great. I think it would probably work for our cooler, but i haven't tried it yet. Just make sure it has enough Amps to work for what you need it for.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
caliman64
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Underpowered
10/25/2010

Customer review by daninokc

4.0 stars 10/25/2010 by daninokc
by daninokc

I bought this converter for one reason - to power an air pump I had. The pump was one of those with a cigarette lighter power plug. I wanted to run it with power from a wall socket. Turns out the 5-amp output from this converter was only half what I needed. My pump requires 10 amps, which I would have known if I'd looked closer at my pump. In any case, this may be a perfectly good product, but don't buy it to power an air pump (advice I saw in another review here of this product, but ignored).

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
daninokc
Little Rock
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
8/25/2012

Customer review by singingeagle

5.0 stars 8/25/2012 by singingeagle
by singingeagle

I'm so glad we purchased this. We didn't have an option to cool our cooler before we got on the road. It made the use of our cooler much more enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
singingeagle
Plymouth, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
8/30/2012

Customer review by kiramea

5.0 stars 8/30/2012 by kiramea
by kiramea

Works with my cheap air compressor that I bought for my bike. Cost more than I wanted to spend, but I'm sure it will be worth it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kiramea
Wichita, Ks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
good price
9/23/2010

Customer review by marriedman420

5.0 stars 9/23/2010 by marriedman420
by marriedman420

works as described gets a little hot if plugged in for extended periods but has not failed me yet

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
marriedman420
arlington tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
7/3/2012

Customer review by sal11539

1.0 stars 7/3/2012 by sal11539
by sal11539

did not power a small air compressor

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 8/20/2015

Hello,<br />If you experience a performance problem with your product, please contact our Customer Service dept at 800.231.5806. The connection between the 5 Amp AC to DC adapter & the Air Compressor may not have been compatible with one another. Please contact our Customer Service dept at 800.231.5806 with the specifications of the Air Compressor you were trying to utilize.<br /><br />Thank you,<br />Customer Service

sal11539
porter ranch
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Not worth the money
2/21/2015

Customer review by grldak

1.0 stars 2/21/2015 by grldak
by grldak

It worked at a reduced power rate for about 10 minutes then totally quit.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
grldak
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 44 total reviews
1-20 of 44 reviews