Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 24 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

24 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

24 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

63%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
7
1-19 of 19 total reviews
63%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

good for girls
4/30/2009

Customer review by aprilslove

5.0 stars 4/30/2009 by aprilslove
by aprilslove

My daughter is really excited about this product and I am glad that i purchased it for her. She spend hours writing in it and it also gives her the privatcy she need

Was this review helpful? (46) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aprilslove
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Cute, fun, and useful.
9/4/2009

Customer review by guru01010101010101

5.0 stars 9/4/2009 by guru01010101010101
by guru01010101010101

My friend and I got this product for kicks. We're in college, but we still think it's cool (and like something we would have loved as kids). I would guess this would be a good gift for kids probably 5-12 or so.. it is young. Cute, but young. I would have thought it was really cool if I was around that age. (Actually, I still like it,...) We both wanted an mp3 player speaker, and this has one. It's not that loud, but it's do-able. I like it. It's also a writing clipboard/surface (albeit small), which is useful for journaling as well. . The inside "hidden" compartment is smaller than I'd hoped. It can hold an iPhone or small phone. I put a few small pens inside of it. I would have liked the inner compartment to be larger so that it could hold another small journal. I took the notebook that came with it out-- the kiddie spiral journal. I replaced it with a Moleskine Cahier that has nicer paper. . It really does recognize your voice. You have to HOLD DOWN the "UNLOCK" button before you say your password. That's how it works-- press the unlock key, then enter your password. You can reset the password, also. The "door" automatically opens after you say the correct password. It has a cheesy "welcome back" jingle that plays for a few seconds. When you close it, it says "see you later" in the cheesy voice. Cute pink and purple color scheme. It's a smaller writing surface, but probably the right size for actual children. I would guess the size would be somewhere around 6 x 8, but I'm not sure. . The blacklight raises and highlights what you write reasonably well. There's also a light. Neither stay on very long-- they automatically turn off to save batteries/lamp life I guess. . I would like to see: 1) notebook and blacklight pen refills. The notebook isn't very thick, has thin paper, and is a generic cheap spriral notebook. The blacklight marker/light is cool.. though the marker is somewhat thick to write very much. I would imagine that young kids would enjoy drawing/coloring with it, though. 2) a larger inner compartment, and a "traditional" old school lock&key style journal that's thicker (to last longer, and ideally with slightly nicer paper) 3) It would be nice to be able to mute the cheesy sound effects. (There's the "welcome back" audio, the "see you later" audio, and the few beeps if someone enters/speaks the password incorrectly 2 times. . Overall, it's a fun toy for kids (or people who refuse to grow up). It was a cheap speaker for our mp3 players, and the voice unlock/blacklight/journal are all good for the price. It is a plastic toy, so obviously you wouldn't want to drop it. I haven't had it long enough to rate the battery life in it (it uses 3 AA batteries, NOT included).

Was this review helpful? (40) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
guru01010101010101
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Does Not work
10/29/2009

Customer review by ShopLogan

1.0 stars 10/29/2009 by ShopLogan
by ShopLogan

Must have gotten a deffective product. Bought it for my neice's bithday, but she waited so long to tell me the voice recognition password thing never worked from day 1. Had she told me sooner, it would have gone straight back to the store. Really dissappointed. Manufacturer needs to look at the durability and design flaws to make it worth purchasing and avoid heartbreak of young girls.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShopLogan
Fayetteville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Walmart associate
not very good...
5/7/2009

Customer review by noralee01

1.0 stars 5/7/2009 by noralee01
by noralee01

this is a very cute diary for a young girl....i got it for my daughters 9th birthday, however, i was a bit disappointed when it wouldnt even recognize her voice to open, we have to keep resetting it to get it open. I would not buy this again, I am actually thinking or returning it to the store....sorry!!

Was this review helpful? (13) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
noralee01
Huntsville, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Super Cute
12/20/2009

Customer review by CathieD

5.0 stars 12/20/2009 by CathieD
by CathieD

My Granddaughter has changed her password at least 10 times and she has had this password Journal about 2 hours. The night light could be brighter with a wider range so she says but I think it is ok for writing quick notes while in bed. Works fine with her MP player, and we will see if it works with her IPod she will be getting for Christmas. So far so good, she is really happy with this and has been bugging us since her birthday. Great gift for young girls that think they need to keep secrets!! My Granddaughter is 10.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CathieD
West Point
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
junk
5/13/2009

Customer review by GaNurse31316

1.0 stars 5/13/2009 by GaNurse31316
by GaNurse31316

Broke on day 1 after the first drop...

Was this review helpful? (5) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GaNurse31316
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good for boys
10/27/2009

Customer review by lovetoshopalotofstuff

5.0 stars 10/27/2009 by lovetoshopalotofstuff
by lovetoshopalotofstuff

hey is good for boys just paint it in blue or what ever color they like and get of the girls word off and put boy's or which ever girlie stuff it says hehehehe!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovetoshopalotofstuff
miami ,fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
not very good
8/31/2009

Customer review by lianesse01

2.0 stars 8/31/2009 by lianesse01
by lianesse01

my daughter wanted this for her 6th b-day after using 4-5 times the plastic door would not close ;or stay closed with her voice activation; i think this is a nice idea as a toy for girls; but looking now; i see the reviews are not good at all. too bad; she enjoyed it while it worked.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lianesse01
flat rock mich
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Fun
12/28/2009

Customer review by memphisnpresley

5.0 stars 12/28/2009 by memphisnpresley
by memphisnpresley

This was a much anticipated gift for my 6 year old. She has had so much fun with it. It can be tricky for a 6 year year old to always say the password the exact same way, we decided to lower the sensitivity and that helped tremendously.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
memphisnpresley
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
A Nice Product!
11/9/2009

Customer review by HahaJaja

5.0 stars 11/9/2009 by HahaJaja
by HahaJaja

at first glance, I wouldnt like it, than my mom got it for me. I thought it was too pink and girly (though I AM a girl,) so painted the front baby blue and stenciled white flowers on it!! Im fully satisfied now!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HahaJaja
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome
11/14/2009

Customer review by Lovegirltech

5.0 stars 11/14/2009 by Lovegirltech
by Lovegirltech

Well i had the very 1st password journal and loved it the i dont remember what happened 2 it but i loved it so then i got this one and i love it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lovegirltech
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
kids toys
12/19/2009

Customer review by July22

5.0 stars 12/19/2009 by July22
by July22

Bought this item for twin girls. They loved the product but very easy to get locked out of journal. No problem getting back in. I guess that's okay for 5 year olds.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
July22
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
password journal
11/15/2009

Customer review by nana

5.0 stars 11/15/2009 by nana
by nana

great purchase my grndaughter would be the happiest child this christmas

nana
london.ontario canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
OK product
1/4/2010

Customer review by Pattycake1971

3.0 stars 1/4/2010 by Pattycake1971
by Pattycake1971

The product was ok - the one thing I don't like is sometimes it is very hard to get it to recognize the password. Most times it takes several tries to open it. Other than that it is pretty cute.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pattycake1971
Lexington, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not loving it...
1/9/2010

Customer review by tball

2.0 stars 1/9/2010 by tball
by tball

I am kinda disappointed with this. The idea is cute, and my 7 year old likes it, but sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. The password was difficult to set, then once it was set, it kept asking us to set it again and again. The light is cute, but it only is bright enough if you write something at the very top of the page. Not sure what we are going to do when the paper is gone. Don't think I would recommend it to anyone, and I don't think I would give it as a gift.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tball
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
She can't use it
11/19/2009

Customer review by DRosy2

1.0 stars 11/19/2009 by DRosy2
by DRosy2

I bought this product for my niece because she wanted a journal with an electronic password. I try to get her to buy the old style with a lock but she wanted this one instead. After receiving this journal, she is not able to open the journal with the password that was setup. Now is just another toy thrown to the side and money waste for me.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DRosy2
Would recommend to a friend? No
TERRIBLE
6/5/2010

Customer review by mjs93501

1.0 stars 6/5/2010 by mjs93501
by mjs93501

I cannot believe the wasted money on this toy.It opened ONCE and that was it. The password had to keep being reset and they never kept it. It is really upsetting because my little girl wanted this so badly.

mjs93501
Cape Coral, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
very dissatisfied
7/12/2010

Customer review by none

1.0 stars 7/12/2010 by none
by none

I would not recommend it. My 5 year daughter accidentally put a password on and didn't realize it, and now it doesn't open either. Had I known that I would not have purchased it.

none
Would recommend to a friend? No
horrible toy
12/26/2009

Customer review by valnkeith

1.0 stars 12/26/2009 by valnkeith
by valnkeith

I bought one of these years ago for my 14 year old and it was a horrible toy...recording the password was ridiculously hard, (there was no security option) and eventually the toy was thrown away because it couldn't be opened...now years later my middle daughter begged for one for Christmas. I assumed after years of still being on the market the toy would have gotten better...here it is the day after Christmas, and the password was ridiculously hard to set and now the toy won't open !!!!!! What a waste of money, I really should have known from my first experience. BEWARE guys, it looks nice but it is NOT!!!!

valnkeith
baltimore, md
Would recommend to a friend? No