Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 158 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

158 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

158 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
83
4 stars
54
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 stars
5
1-20 of 146 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 146 total reviews
1-20 of 146 reviews
You get what you pay for
8/6/2009

Customer review by ccbeachchick

4.0 stars 8/6/2009 by ccbeachchick
by ccbeachchick

I bought this desk at my local Walmart and my dad put this together (my husband was out of town) for me in about 45 minutes. No problems what so ever. The drawers work fine and there are no scratches or dings. I also have the matching TV stand and cabinet. They all look great and people can't believe the pieces are from Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (38) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ccbeachchick
Morehead NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great value!!! Beautiful Desk!!!!
3/18/2010

Customer review by melron963

5.0 stars 3/18/2010 by melron963
by melron963

I love this desk! I bought it a couple of days ago and took my time looking over the instructions and then with the assembly. The instructions were great! I have put some things together where most of it was guess work, but not this. It's true, all the pieces are not labeled, but it's still pretty easy to figure out. I did it with five kids running around. My husband liked it so much, he went and bought one for himself. We both work from home and it's great for our laptops. I even sit my laptop on the top shelf and use an external keyboard on the dask part. It puts my screen at just the right height for me. Most of all, it is a simple, beautiful, sturdy, inexpensive and very functional piece of furniture. I am very pleased with this desk.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
melron963
Woodstock, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Beautiful, but flawed
10/4/2010

Customer review by Arestelle

3.0 stars 10/4/2010 by Arestelle
by Arestelle

I love the size, color, and overall appearance of this desk. However, there were some issues that I think need mentioning: The instructions are not written in the best order, and if you follow them exactly step-by-step the assembly will be more difficult than it needs to. Instead, I sorted out the parts (the instruction book IS very clear on which parts go where in the desk) and skipped around to each section of the instructions as needed. I saved the hutch for last, e.g., and think it's much easier that way. Also, when screwing on the feet to the bottom of the legs, you have to be very careful to screw them in just *barely* tight enough to hold them in place - I tightened them thoroughly and three of the four leg pieces split. Bad manufacturing - but replacing those three pieces would require either disassembly of the sides (voiding the warranty) or replacement of both 'sides' of the desk in their entirety. Not worth my time, although Sauder OUGHT to hold to their warranty and replace them if I decide to request it, as their instructions don't warn that tightening the screws on the feet a normal amount will split the wood of the leg pieces. My unit also came with a faulty fastener for locking the hutch to the desk (which is the reason I saved it for last - I had to order a replacement and am waiting on that). All this said, it's a pretty desk; we'll see how long it lasts. I certainly can't recommend it at full price - the quality is NOT $170 worth. But if you get it on sale and manage to assemble it without trouble, it seems like a very nice piece of furniture.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Arestelle
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Very tempted to buy another one for myself.
1/1/2011

Customer review by QuinS

5.0 stars 1/1/2011 by QuinS
by QuinS

Very nice- bought this for our daughter who would have preferred something trendier (we compromised- we will buy her a trendy colored chair, later on, to go with it). Nice, ample workspace, drawers and lower shelf aren't that big but big enough for her. Picture doesn't show but there are holes cutout in the back for cables/cords so she can take the laptop upstairs with her. It looks very nice, very solid- I wouldn't recommend it for a small or crowded room because it is a decent size however, my daughter's room is both of those things and now that it's in there she loves it. Went together fairly well, probably should have used wood glue as well but seems very solid and stable even without. Very tempted to buy another one for myself.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
QuinS
IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A Nice Addition
11/16/2010

Customer review by Happycamper7

4.0 stars 11/16/2010 by Happycamper7
by Happycamper7

The desk is nice, doesn't look cheap. Nice deal for the money. I agree with the other comments though. Assembly of this desk is rather time consuming. But in the end I was happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Happycamper7
Fayetteville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Nice looking desk - assembly time consuming
11/18/2009

Customer review by ChiliCheesePup

3.0 stars 11/18/2009 by ChiliCheesePup
by ChiliCheesePup

This desk looks really nice. The two small drawers are pretty lame and just sit in the slots. We ended up tossing them out since they're pretty worthless. The desk is sturdy and looks more expensive than it was. It took a really long time for my husband to put together, and he's pretty handy, so expect a lot of patience with putting this together. Despite the drawers and assembly, this is a good desk to have.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChiliCheesePup
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Nice writing desk but....
8/2/2009

Customer review by greatbuy94

2.0 stars 8/2/2009 by greatbuy94
by greatbuy94

We bought this desk couple months ago, the assembling take us non stop five hours to finish. The two drawers do not work they didn’t fit at all, ones we put in they don’t slide out, and when try to force that we scratch the desk and look awful.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
greatbuy94
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent
1/13/2011

Customer review by GTS66

4.0 stars 1/13/2011 by GTS66
by GTS66

I bought this desk, not knowing what to expect for the price, but when we got it, I was surprised to see how well this was made and the quality for the price! the desk is a nice size and feels very Sturdy and not cheap by any means. I would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GTS66
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Take your time and you'll be fine.
2/2/2011

Customer review by Melissa1971

5.0 stars 2/2/2011 by Melissa1971
by Melissa1971

I read the reviews, and knew about the legs being prone to splitting, and I still split two legs. But considering I put two of these desks together, I guess that's not too terrible. I put the first desk together in 3 1/2 hours. The second desk (of course) went together a lot faster. Took less than two hours. You need to pay attention to which side is the top of the desk surface when you're attaching the hutch partitions. With the first build, I just assumed the sticker side was the bottom, lol. The stickers come off very easily, by the way. I used some felt furniture slides on the bottoms of my drawers. This keeps them from scratching the top of the desk. Just place them far enough back so you don't see them when the drawer is closed. Also, make sure you pay attention to the screw holes when you put the drawers together. One side uses outside hole on the left, inside hole on the right, the other drawer is opposite. If you do it any other way, the drawers won't be correct. If you make sure you're not in a hurry, read the directions, and use a good phillips head screwdriver and you'll be fine. This is a bit more involved than a typical self assembled furniture piece, but it's also a lot sturdier. I love the way they look, not cheap looking at all. The drawers are small, but I don't think this is really designed to be an office/storage type desk. It's more of a laptop station, or writing desk. For what I need, they're more than enough. I'm very pleased with my purchase. We'll see how they hold up to three teenagers.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Melissa1971
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/10/2010

Customer review by tasha06

5.0 stars 11/10/2010 by tasha06
by tasha06

awesome desk. took time to put together but sturdy strong and very worth it!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tasha06
nJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/11/2010

Customer review by littlebookofcalm

5.0 stars 12/11/2010 by littlebookofcalm
by littlebookofcalm

It took roughly 3 hours to put the desk together, but it went smoothly, since the directions are very clearly written. I have two problems with the desk: first, the drawers did not fit; second, the veneer scratches easily. The top of the hutch easily accommodates the base of an lcd monitor, which is excellent.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
littlebookofcalm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent value
12/14/2010

Customer review by shop4bargains100

5.0 stars 12/14/2010 by shop4bargains100
by shop4bargains100

Very satisfied with the desk, quality is good and the design is elegantly simple. It would have been nice to have the drawers slide on guide rails rather than the surface, but for the price cannot complain. There are felt pads under the drawers so that they don't scratch the surface when you slide them. Overall, I would recommend this to anyone who only needs a desk for writing or laptop usage.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shop4bargains100
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice looking desk
9/3/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 9/3/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Great looking desk - if you are able to put it together! It took a few days of working on it bit by bit, but we finally did it. The instructions are a little vague, but once it's all put together it's a really beautiful and sturdy desk. For 98 bucks...can't really beat it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Exceeded My Expectations!
12/9/2010

Customer review by JCR11934

5.0 stars 12/9/2010 by JCR11934
by JCR11934

After shopping around for a *nice* desk in my new living room, I was beginning to feel discouraged because everything I liked was out of my price range. Luckily, one morning I was on Walmart's site and I couldn't believe my eyes. This desk was listed there for 30% of its original price. Not thirty percent off, less than a third of its original price!!!! Needless to say I quickly bought it, and also, was offered free shipping to my home, not just site to store. It took maybe 2 business days, and it was at my door! When I unpacked it, all of the pieces I saw were daunting. But I noticed that all of the screws, nuts and bolts were in a compartmental bag, clearly labeled. As a 25 year old woman living alone, with little to no experience "building" furniture, I was still intimidated. But as other customers have stated, the directions were very straight forward, and they took you through the process very clearly and slowly, which I liked. It was actually an enjoyable process. Assembled, the desk is so much more beautiful than I expected. It has much warmer wood tones than in the picture and is nice and sturdy, not wobbly at all. Everybody compliments it, as it's right in my living room, and it is spacious enough to get work done with a moderately sized printer on it, but it doesn't hog the space in my living room. I would like to note one really pleasant surprise. Included in the box was a free 1 year subscription to Better Homes and Gardens. I will definitely be buying furniture from the BHG/Sauder brand in the future! Sorry for the long review, but I am very enthusiastic about this purchase!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JCR11934
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect Writing Desk!
10/19/2010

Customer review by ShopTillYouDrop13

5.0 stars 10/19/2010 by ShopTillYouDrop13
by ShopTillYouDrop13

I love this product! I also own a Sauder bookcase, and this is a complimenting piece that looks great in my living room. I bought it for my library corner, and it's perfect for working on my laptop or on college coursework. It is heavy, though, about 90 lbs in the box, so I would suggest having someone help you pick it up or move it into the hosue. It took me about 3 hours to put together by myself, mainly because there were a lot of steps. The directions were clear and easy to follow, and it was easy to put together. If you're looking for a great desk that looks more expensive than it is, I would definitely recommend this.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShopTillYouDrop13
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good, but...
12/14/2010

Customer review by YumaDave

4.0 stars 12/14/2010 by YumaDave
by YumaDave

The productt is very nice and arrive in great shape. It is a very heavy item, which complicates assembly. Helpful diagram book and parts separated in compartments on a "part board." My problem was the sheer weight of the item and one of the parts (the desk top) and the millions of little parts needed to put the desk together. Made of particle board (no surprise) but one piece already broke from the weight and movement if the item.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
YumaDave
Yuma, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Well built!
12/28/2010

Customer review by Simple1028

4.0 stars 12/28/2010 by Simple1028
by Simple1028

This desk is pretty well built. I ordered it for my little boy's room, but it was way to big. I have put it to use. For the money this is a great buy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Simple1028
Baytown, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/5/2011

Customer review by MEQuilter

4.0 stars 1/5/2011 by MEQuilter
by MEQuilter

Just what I wanted to use with a laptop.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MEQuilter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Disapointing
1/4/2011

Customer review by BPitGirl

2.0 stars 1/4/2011 by BPitGirl
by BPitGirl

Nice looking product except that it's hard to assemble and the only two drawers don't fit properly. Not worth the money, but too much trouble to return.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BPitGirl
Baldwin Park, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Extremely poor product
1/24/2011

Customer review by NCDIYer

1.0 stars 1/24/2011 by NCDIYer
by NCDIYer

I have purchased many products from Sauder before, and have had great results. However, this one is not remotely up to their normal standards. The side piece split when the legs were attached with the screws, and once that happened, the piece can no longer be put together. Additionally, several of the cam screws were coated in plastic, but the plastic splits and comes apart, and then the pieces connected by the cams no longer fit together. While the desk picture is nice looking, and the price is great, I am now sitting with a number of pieces which can never be put together. Sauder needs to rethink this piece or remove it from the market.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NCDIYer
Burlington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
1-20 of 146 total reviews
1-20 of 146 reviews