Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 158 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

158 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

158 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
83
4 stars
54
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 stars
5
1-20 of 146 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 146 total reviews
1-20 of 146 reviews
A LOT of work!
12/2/2010

Customer review by Sherritasworld

3.0 stars 12/2/2010 by Sherritasworld
by Sherritasworld
Top 1000 contributor

I read all the reviews and just thought everyone else is stupid- NOPE!! I have assembled several bookcases, entertainments centers, and the such (some without instructions, mind you) but THIS takes the cake! It took me a solid FIVE hours of grunting, lifting, twisting, sweating, and straining, not to mention THINKING to get this monster together! I too, split one of the legs because the picture doesn't match the pre-drilled holes but I caught it early and I think it's going to be fine. There's one nick on the front leg, I'm pretty sure that I did that trying to assemble it, even being as careful as possible. Overall, it's a beautiful desk and seems sturdy enough. You really have to be careful about which side you attach parts to because the instructions are not particularly clear in this area so you have to make sense of it yourself on which side/end must be top, bottom, side, etc. I got it for $49 on Black Friday so I can't complain too much but if you don't have a man that can follow instructions and you're not up for a good workout, skip this desk!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sherritasworld
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Quality
1/20/2011

Customer review by AmbitionDriven

5.0 stars 1/20/2011 by AmbitionDriven
by AmbitionDriven

Excellent product. Enjoyed the make and appearance. The instructions to put the product together were legible, clear and to the point. I very much enjoy this product!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AmbitionDriven
Virginia Beach, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great value!!! Beautiful Desk!!!!
3/18/2010

Customer review by melron963

5.0 stars 3/18/2010 by melron963
by melron963

I love this desk! I bought it a couple of days ago and took my time looking over the instructions and then with the assembly. The instructions were great! I have put some things together where most of it was guess work, but not this. It's true, all the pieces are not labeled, but it's still pretty easy to figure out. I did it with five kids running around. My husband liked it so much, he went and bought one for himself. We both work from home and it's great for our laptops. I even sit my laptop on the top shelf and use an external keyboard on the dask part. It puts my screen at just the right height for me. Most of all, it is a simple, beautiful, sturdy, inexpensive and very functional piece of furniture. I am very pleased with this desk.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
melron963
Woodstock, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
You get what you pay for
8/6/2009

Customer review by ccbeachchick

4.0 stars 8/6/2009 by ccbeachchick
by ccbeachchick

I bought this desk at my local Walmart and my dad put this together (my husband was out of town) for me in about 45 minutes. No problems what so ever. The drawers work fine and there are no scratches or dings. I also have the matching TV stand and cabinet. They all look great and people can't believe the pieces are from Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (38) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ccbeachchick
Morehead NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very tempted to buy another one for myself.
1/1/2011

Customer review by QuinS

5.0 stars 1/1/2011 by QuinS
by QuinS

Very nice- bought this for our daughter who would have preferred something trendier (we compromised- we will buy her a trendy colored chair, later on, to go with it). Nice, ample workspace, drawers and lower shelf aren't that big but big enough for her. Picture doesn't show but there are holes cutout in the back for cables/cords so she can take the laptop upstairs with her. It looks very nice, very solid- I wouldn't recommend it for a small or crowded room because it is a decent size however, my daughter's room is both of those things and now that it's in there she loves it. Went together fairly well, probably should have used wood glue as well but seems very solid and stable even without. Very tempted to buy another one for myself.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
QuinS
IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Beautiful, but flawed
10/4/2010

Customer review by Arestelle

3.0 stars 10/4/2010 by Arestelle
by Arestelle

I love the size, color, and overall appearance of this desk. However, there were some issues that I think need mentioning: The instructions are not written in the best order, and if you follow them exactly step-by-step the assembly will be more difficult than it needs to. Instead, I sorted out the parts (the instruction book IS very clear on which parts go where in the desk) and skipped around to each section of the instructions as needed. I saved the hutch for last, e.g., and think it's much easier that way. Also, when screwing on the feet to the bottom of the legs, you have to be very careful to screw them in just *barely* tight enough to hold them in place - I tightened them thoroughly and three of the four leg pieces split. Bad manufacturing - but replacing those three pieces would require either disassembly of the sides (voiding the warranty) or replacement of both 'sides' of the desk in their entirety. Not worth my time, although Sauder OUGHT to hold to their warranty and replace them if I decide to request it, as their instructions don't warn that tightening the screws on the feet a normal amount will split the wood of the leg pieces. My unit also came with a faulty fastener for locking the hutch to the desk (which is the reason I saved it for last - I had to order a replacement and am waiting on that). All this said, it's a pretty desk; we'll see how long it lasts. I certainly can't recommend it at full price - the quality is NOT $170 worth. But if you get it on sale and manage to assemble it without trouble, it seems like a very nice piece of furniture.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Arestelle
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Better Homes and Gardens Bailey Lane Writing Desk
12/12/2010

Customer review by MomtoAlex2

4.0 stars 12/12/2010 by MomtoAlex2
by MomtoAlex2

I bought this desk for my daughter's room and it's an EXCELLENT value. It's sturdy and looks way more expensive than it is. I'd have given it a full 5 stars, except that one of the legs were missing, but I called Sauder and they had a replacement leg out to us within a week, so apart from a minor inconvenience I was VERY happy with my purchase. My husband put the desk together without any issues. He did say that if he tightened the bottom on the legs too tight it would cause the leg to split - but the bottom on the leg isn't loose, and the desk looks great and is very sturdy and I really like the little storage shelf underneath. And best of all the desk size is just right, not too big (so it can fit in a relatively small space) and not too small (smaller wouldn't make the desk space functional). All in all I feel I lucked out, since I couldn't possibly find such a great desk anywhere else for this price. The fact that it's beautiful too is just the cherry on top.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MomtoAlex2
Safety Harbor, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very nice desk, worth the time to put it together
2/3/2011

Customer review by MommaTo3TXboys

5.0 stars 2/3/2011 by MommaTo3TXboys
by MommaTo3TXboys

I am really impressed by the look of this desk. I told some people that I got it from Walmart and they couldn't believe it. It looks like something from a nice furniture store. My one negative is that it does take awhile to put together but that's because it has little features that make it look high-end that are tedious. My advice while putting it together is USE A DRILL! The instructions say don't use a drill and I assume that's because they don't want anyone to mess it up. Unless you break, destroy, or mutilate everything, just by touching it, USE A DRILL! The wood is strong and not cheap like some things I've put together, where I understand the 'don't use a drill' but here don't get it! There are some things that I didn't do right the first time so PAY ATTENTION to the EXACT wording of the instructions for each step. Especially the drawers! Overall, very glad I bought this and for a great price. I've already gotten lots of compliments on it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MommaTo3TXboys
Taylor, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
fodder
2/8/2011

Customer review by spazpc

1.0 stars 2/8/2011 by spazpc
by spazpc

This unit has predrilled and marked holes for construction at home. Instructions were simple yet didn't include all of the hardware. While putting the unit together the feet of the legs have 1 ' screws that hold them on. While hand screwing these in to predrilled holes one of the legs cracked all the way up the side. Mind you no power tools were used. (Garbage) Included in this unit are 8 tiny plastic screw covers for the feet which contain 16 screw holes. The instructions give a pattern for these 8 plistic covers. I would pay the extra dollar for the other 8 covers I think. Hmmmm... Then the drawers which look so nice are also predrilled with instructions, unfortunately the predrilled holes are about where the wood should come togethe instead of where the instructions tell to put the included plastic angle mounts making the the drawers to wide to fit in the hole slots built earlier. Those are the drawbacks of this unit. On the other hand it burns pretty hot and lasts a good fouteen minutes in the fire barrel. Pretty decent kindling.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
spazpc
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Nice looking desk - assembly time consuming
11/18/2009

Customer review by ChiliCheesePup

3.0 stars 11/18/2009 by ChiliCheesePup
by ChiliCheesePup

This desk looks really nice. The two small drawers are pretty lame and just sit in the slots. We ended up tossing them out since they're pretty worthless. The desk is sturdy and looks more expensive than it was. It took a really long time for my husband to put together, and he's pretty handy, so expect a lot of patience with putting this together. Despite the drawers and assembly, this is a good desk to have.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChiliCheesePup
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
A Nice Addition
11/16/2010

Customer review by Happycamper7

4.0 stars 11/16/2010 by Happycamper7
by Happycamper7

The desk is nice, doesn't look cheap. Nice deal for the money. I agree with the other comments though. Assembly of this desk is rather time consuming. But in the end I was happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Happycamper7
Fayetteville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Great Desk, Hard to Build
6/10/2010

Customer review by Catherine88

4.0 stars 6/10/2010 by Catherine88
by Catherine88

I bought this desk for a small corner in my room. I was looking for a dark color finish. This desk is perfect for what I looking for. But be aware that the wood is a very deep, dark color. It took my boyfriend (who is very handy) and I over four hours to put the desk together, excluding the drawers. I had read other reviews on this desk that said the drawers scratch the desk and now I see why - there is no track for the drawer - you just pull it out as it sits on the top of the desk. You don't need the drawers either - from my guess it would have taken us another hour to build the drawers alone. After working tirelessly for four hours, I was very happy with the look of the desk. It is very spacious and has enough storage for all of my needs as a graduate student. I would recommend this desk for someone who is handy and has the patience (and strength!) to use a screw driver for four hours.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Catherine88
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice writing desk but....
8/2/2009

Customer review by greatbuy94

2.0 stars 8/2/2009 by greatbuy94
by greatbuy94

We bought this desk couple months ago, the assembling take us non stop five hours to finish. The two drawers do not work they didn’t fit at all, ones we put in they don’t slide out, and when try to force that we scratch the desk and look awful.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
greatbuy94
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent
1/13/2011

Customer review by GTS66

4.0 stars 1/13/2011 by GTS66
by GTS66

I bought this desk, not knowing what to expect for the price, but when we got it, I was surprised to see how well this was made and the quality for the price! the desk is a nice size and feels very Sturdy and not cheap by any means. I would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GTS66
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Buyer Beware!
11/25/2010

Customer review by interestedinvalue

2.0 stars 11/25/2010 by interestedinvalue
by interestedinvalue

I bought this because it was on sale for only $95. It was a big mistake. First of all, it came in about a hundred pieces that my husband had to spend hours putting together. Then, it turns out that nail holes were missing from the bottom of each of the four legs. When my husband tried putting a nail in anyway, it produced a pair of long cracks on the outside. It's sitting in that condition right now before we can figure what to do next. The only plus is that the assembly directions were very detailed and clear, but, as indicated above, the product is not conscientiously made. Maybe others who gave this product a good review didn't mind the time poured into putting it together and received parts with holes properly drilled in. But it was not the case for us. Remember that time is money, and the price on this desk reflects the labor and frustration involved in assembly.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
interestedinvalue
Bel Air, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Extremely poor product
1/24/2011

Customer review by NCDIYer

1.0 stars 1/24/2011 by NCDIYer
by NCDIYer

I have purchased many products from Sauder before, and have had great results. However, this one is not remotely up to their normal standards. The side piece split when the legs were attached with the screws, and once that happened, the piece can no longer be put together. Additionally, several of the cam screws were coated in plastic, but the plastic splits and comes apart, and then the pieces connected by the cams no longer fit together. While the desk picture is nice looking, and the price is great, I am now sitting with a number of pieces which can never be put together. Sauder needs to rethink this piece or remove it from the market.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NCDIYer
Burlington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Perfect Writing Desk!
10/19/2010

Customer review by ShopTillYouDrop13

5.0 stars 10/19/2010 by ShopTillYouDrop13
by ShopTillYouDrop13

I love this product! I also own a Sauder bookcase, and this is a complimenting piece that looks great in my living room. I bought it for my library corner, and it's perfect for working on my laptop or on college coursework. It is heavy, though, about 90 lbs in the box, so I would suggest having someone help you pick it up or move it into the hosue. It took me about 3 hours to put together by myself, mainly because there were a lot of steps. The directions were clear and easy to follow, and it was easy to put together. If you're looking for a great desk that looks more expensive than it is, I would definitely recommend this.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShopTillYouDrop13
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Take your time and you'll be fine.
2/2/2011

Customer review by Melissa1971

5.0 stars 2/2/2011 by Melissa1971
by Melissa1971

I read the reviews, and knew about the legs being prone to splitting, and I still split two legs. But considering I put two of these desks together, I guess that's not too terrible. I put the first desk together in 3 1/2 hours. The second desk (of course) went together a lot faster. Took less than two hours. You need to pay attention to which side is the top of the desk surface when you're attaching the hutch partitions. With the first build, I just assumed the sticker side was the bottom, lol. The stickers come off very easily, by the way. I used some felt furniture slides on the bottoms of my drawers. This keeps them from scratching the top of the desk. Just place them far enough back so you don't see them when the drawer is closed. Also, make sure you pay attention to the screw holes when you put the drawers together. One side uses outside hole on the left, inside hole on the right, the other drawer is opposite. If you do it any other way, the drawers won't be correct. If you make sure you're not in a hurry, read the directions, and use a good phillips head screwdriver and you'll be fine. This is a bit more involved than a typical self assembled furniture piece, but it's also a lot sturdier. I love the way they look, not cheap looking at all. The drawers are small, but I don't think this is really designed to be an office/storage type desk. It's more of a laptop station, or writing desk. For what I need, they're more than enough. I'm very pleased with my purchase. We'll see how they hold up to three teenagers.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Melissa1971
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good, but...
12/14/2010

Customer review by YumaDave

4.0 stars 12/14/2010 by YumaDave
by YumaDave

The productt is very nice and arrive in great shape. It is a very heavy item, which complicates assembly. Helpful diagram book and parts separated in compartments on a "part board." My problem was the sheer weight of the item and one of the parts (the desk top) and the millions of little parts needed to put the desk together. Made of particle board (no surprise) but one piece already broke from the weight and movement if the item.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
YumaDave
Yuma, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent value
12/14/2010

Customer review by shop4bargains100

5.0 stars 12/14/2010 by shop4bargains100
by shop4bargains100

Very satisfied with the desk, quality is good and the design is elegantly simple. It would have been nice to have the drawers slide on guide rails rather than the surface, but for the price cannot complain. There are felt pads under the drawers so that they don't scratch the surface when you slide them. Overall, I would recommend this to anyone who only needs a desk for writing or laptop usage.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shop4bargains100
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 146 total reviews
1-20 of 146 reviews