Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 70 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

70 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

70 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
25
4 stars
24
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 stars
10
1-20 of 61 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 61 total reviews
1-20 of 61 reviews
Nice Bang for the Buck
1/8/2011

Customer review by WalkyTalkySv

4.0 stars 1/8/2011 by WalkyTalkySv
by WalkyTalkySv

They work well enough, and considering the price they exceed expectations. We got a set of four, with charging bases. Two were for our girls, age ten and eleven, and we (the parents) kept two for ourselves. As we live on a horse farm, and the girls like to help out and play in the woods, these little talk boxes are perfect for us. They'll cover all ten acres, plus the wooded area around the house, but the 27 mile advertised range is a bit silly, but we knew that going in to purchase them. Maybe you'd get all 27 miles out in the Great Plains or in a perfectly cleared mountain valley, but Motorola should re-list the range to Optimal and Realistic. They're easy to use and the flashlight adds another layer of safety (though they drain the battery relatively quickly) and fun. A good feature is that we can leave our unit on and in the charger and still receive communications from the girls, but without running down the battery. I think that for the price and features included, you cannot beat these talk boxes. They'll last about 6-8 hours on standby and they'll give about three hours of heavy usage. Better than some cellphones I've had over the years! I'm quite happy with them and I imagine that you will be too! Over and out.

Was this review helpful? (92) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalkyTalkySv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A Travelers Friend
4/24/2010

Customer review by RiverCoyote

4.0 stars 4/24/2010 by RiverCoyote
by RiverCoyote

Mighty good little radio if you are on the go. My parents used these radios to communicate with the car ahead of them while traveling from Arizona to Minnesota. I guess you could call it a "Convoy"...coordinating rest stops and the like! Don't let all the bells and whistles confuse you. These are very user friendly and require no special programming to use right out of the package. All the additional options are there for the more technically inclined. The realistic range of these are 200+ Yards while heading down the highway. Purchase and enjoy!

Was this review helpful? (49) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RiverCoyote
Minnesota River Valley, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Two Way Radios Work Fine
1/26/2011

Customer review by Jawalk37

4.0 stars 1/26/2011 by Jawalk37
by Jawalk37

We bought two sets of these two way radios to use in our offices and warehouse (over 100,000 sq ft) and they work fine...even considering all the electronics we have going on. They help us save time and energy...they have good features...sound, options, battery life and not a pain to carry around with you.

Was this review helpful? (46) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jawalk37
Northwest Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great radios, very handy
3/13/2012

Customer review by Jimbobalu

5.0 stars 3/13/2012 by Jimbobalu
by Jimbobalu

We used a pair of these radios while on a cruise ship. Even with all of the radio interference, they worked fairly well. The ability to recharge the battery every night was very nice. The belt clips came in handy. And the extras the radios come with are nice to have.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jimbobalu
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
great little radio
1/20/2011

Customer review by Photogel1

4.0 stars 1/20/2011 by Photogel1
by Photogel1

I purchased this item to communicate with my wife who has an injured knee and is pretty much bed ridden. We live in a small town and I am able to speak with her from anywhere in town. Any where as long as the line of sight isnt blocked by hills. I dont have a telephone in my garage, therefore this Talkabout has given me freedom to play in my shop and still know that she can talk with me , should she need assistance.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Photogel1
Eastern Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works for what I needed them for
5/18/2011

Customer review by MaMa2WnQ

4.0 stars 5/18/2011 by MaMa2WnQ
by MaMa2WnQ

I bought this item to give my child a little more freedom and responsibility and still be able to keep in touch with them. The area I let them ride is approximately a mile around and even though the range on these is supposed to lessen when in the city, they seem to work pretty well within that one mile are, we'll see what happens if the distance increases eventually.

Was this review helpful? (39) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MaMa2WnQ
Salem, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Audio distorts too easily. Range limited
6/29/2014

Customer review by PIttsburghguy

2.0 stars 6/29/2014 by PIttsburghguy
by PIttsburghguy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

BOttom line, you get what you pay for. If you have to use this where it is even somewhat noisy expect that the audio will be very distorted when you increase the volume, The volume control should be called a distortion control. The charger battery contacts don't make very good connectiion. The charge LED will flicker, go dim and only show full brightness after you move the radio around a bit in the dock. I bought this because there were good reviews. I guess those reviewers never used a 2-way radio before so they had no basis for comparison. I'll give them to my grandkids so they can play with them until they break. I'll look at buying a real 2-way. Bottom Line: Buy these low cost redios where you can actually try them. It might cost more than online but you'll know what you're getting. And please buy them where you tried them, that retailer deserves your business becvause he has the products there for you to experience.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PIttsburghguy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
better than expected
12/1/2010

Customer review by 1bana

5.0 stars 12/1/2010 by 1bana
by 1bana

loved the features, purchased 5 sets for mfg. facility. The emergency drill feature works very well and was an added bonus that we did not expect.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1bana
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for Football
8/12/2012

Customer review by yfbandch

5.0 stars 8/12/2012 by yfbandch
by yfbandch

My youth football and cheer organization has recently purchased 6 of these walkie talkies to use at our complex during practices and games. We have tested them out the day we bought them, and they reached across the entire complex, consisting of a baseball field, and 2 football fields. There was absolutely no static and these are perfect for any organization or business looking to purchase walkie talkies. The privacy codes are great. We can have private conversation on our walkie talkies where nobody else can hear what we're saying. They're so good, we're buying 2 more packs of them, so we will then have 8 total. Only downside is, after the 14 hours charging time, you should take them off the charging cradle for optimal battery life. That's difficult because we aren't always at our complex during the day if we plug them in at night. Other than that, i would highly recommend these to organizations and businesses.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
yfbandch
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product
12/6/2010

Customer review by pixma

5.0 stars 12/6/2010 by pixma
by pixma

I got this for my husband, who does a lot of work around our property and lots of time we do not have cell phone reception. These work great and he loves them. Glad I decided on this item!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pixma
Appomattox,VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Weather Feature A++
4/5/2011

Customer review by Studio960

4.0 stars 4/5/2011 by Studio960
by Studio960

I love the "additional features" but as to distance it is what I expected but wish I had bought the next better Motorola model. I get almost 2 miles in suburban flat ground reception, but loses contact over large hills/small mountains. Great for my needs for camping at the lake as everyone is in somewhat "eye" view and not over hills. The emergency button and weather channel reception is SUPER, plus the radio can be set on walkie talkie and yet break in with "Emergencey Broadcast" from the government weather channel.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Studio960
Missoula, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Clip broke w/in 3rd day of use.
9/17/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 9/17/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The only problem I had with this radio system was the cheap clip. 3rd day into use and it broke. My family and I use these type radios during a annual event in our town that we are helping park cars. We have used an older set of Motorola two way radios for about 10 years and had the same issue, plus the older radios finally just gave out, so this was why we bought the new ones. We were so excited with these upgrades until the clip broke. We took them back and got our money back. For the cost of these radios we expected a better quality of clip. Motorola really needs to invest in a good quality clip for their radios.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Blue Ridge Mountains of VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
Bulky Radio and low battery life
12/10/2012

Customer review by Travelerx2

3.0 stars 12/10/2012 by Travelerx2
by Travelerx2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Wanted to replace my 7 plus year old radios as they are tired. These new radios are a little larger and bulkier to put in my shirt pocket. Range is the same as my old 5 mile radios that I use in the field hunting and in the store shopping. My old radios the AA batteries lasts a long time in days while in the field and shopping. These new radios, rechargeable batteries, only last hours and I must carry spare batteries to ensure I can reach my base when afield and shopping. I am thinking about going back to a smaller radio since the range is the similar and hopfully the batteries last longer.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Travelerx2
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
We use these at work
11/8/2010

Customer review by JustMe2120

4.0 stars 11/8/2010 by JustMe2120
by JustMe2120

We bought four of these for our building at work and they work great. From the first floor to the roof fo the fourth floor. We even took them to lunch one day and we were about 4 miles away before they stopped working. They work great on vacation as well for around the campground or on the ski slops. Great to find your kids.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JustMe2120
Fresno, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worth the money
4/22/2011

Customer review by revace

4.0 stars 4/22/2011 by revace
by revace

Works well, use in a hotel. Belt clips are cheap and break quickly. Ear buds work but there are complaints with comfort.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
revace
Gloucester, Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Batteries Won't Hold A Charge
6/11/2013

Customer review by rockintom

2.0 stars 6/11/2013 by rockintom
by rockintom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Radios work fine, but the batteries won't last very long. Followed directions regarding the rechargeable NiCad batteries charging technique. Won't last more than 3 hrs. of just being turned on (not even talking on radios). Took back and exchanged for new radios sets. Same thing. Called Motorola tech assist and they had no help or suggestions. I thought maybe I didn't know how to turn on the power saver function. I was told this unit doesn't have such a feature. I have owned a lot of 2 way radios in my times and none used battery power like this one does. I did install 3 AA alkaline batteries and it works much longer, but they aren't rechargeable and it will get costly. Wouldn't recommend this radio set to anyone. Motorola told me that this is a discontinued model.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rockintom
Fairview, OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No range talkies
6/22/2010

Customer review by ElectroKen

2.0 stars 6/22/2010 by ElectroKen
by ElectroKen

I want 4 mile coverage for the wooded area I fish and camp in. After using another brand of radio that had advertised 18m range, (which had 0 range in the woods) I chose this Motorala. I still have no radio range. I am very disappointed with this product.

Was this review helpful? (14) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ElectroKen
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
NOT 27 MILE RANGE
9/1/2012

Customer review by JohnLa

3.0 stars 9/1/2012 by JohnLa
by JohnLa

They are good for what they are, but DEFINITELY NOT 27 MILE RSANGE. 1-2 mile under good conditions. More if Line of Sight. Much Less in the woods.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JohnLa
Shrewsbury, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
4/11/2012

Customer review by billboatbuilder

5.0 stars 4/11/2012 by billboatbuilder
by billboatbuilder

I found the units to be easy to use, the instructions were very understandable and the transmissions to be clear. I would recommend the units.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
billboatbuilder
Mt Pleasant
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Does not meet manufacture claims
10/19/2012

Customer review by MJradio

1.0 stars 10/19/2012 by MJradio
by MJradio

First buy online and pickup at store. I would have saved 20+ dollars had I done this. Now to the radio itself. Advertised range is 27 miles (Wrong) it does good to get 1 mile range. It does have a good flashlite but if you use it to often the battery is used up. I haven't used it with AA battries but the nicads are hard pressed to make 8 hours. I also have a small Uniden radio that uses AAA battries and it has better range only thing is it eats battries up fast. I would not recommend using this radio for field use it would work well as a child's toy expensive for that but for communications product I'd look for a different radio.

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MJradio
Frederick, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 61 total reviews
1-20 of 61 reviews