Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 69 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

69 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

69 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

72%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
24
4 stars
24
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 stars
10
1-20 of 60 total reviews
72%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 60 total reviews
1-20 of 60 reviews
Nice Bang for the Buck
1/8/2011

Customer review by WalkyTalkySv

4.0 stars 1/8/2011 by WalkyTalkySv
by WalkyTalkySv

They work well enough, and considering the price they exceed expectations. We got a set of four, with charging bases. Two were for our girls, age ten and eleven, and we (the parents) kept two for ourselves. As we live on a horse farm, and the girls like to help out and play in the woods, these little talk boxes are perfect for us. They'll cover all ten acres, plus the wooded area around the house, but the 27 mile advertised range is a bit silly, but we knew that going in to purchase them. Maybe you'd get all 27 miles out in the Great Plains or in a perfectly cleared mountain valley, but Motorola should re-list the range to Optimal and Realistic. They're easy to use and the flashlight adds another layer of safety (though they drain the battery relatively quickly) and fun. A good feature is that we can leave our unit on and in the charger and still receive communications from the girls, but without running down the battery. I think that for the price and features included, you cannot beat these talk boxes. They'll last about 6-8 hours on standby and they'll give about three hours of heavy usage. Better than some cellphones I've had over the years! I'm quite happy with them and I imagine that you will be too! Over and out.

Was this review helpful? (89) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WalkyTalkySv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Two Way Radios Work Fine
1/26/2011

Customer review by Jawalk37

4.0 stars 1/26/2011 by Jawalk37
by Jawalk37

We bought two sets of these two way radios to use in our offices and warehouse (over 100,000 sq ft) and they work fine...even considering all the electronics we have going on. They help us save time and energy...they have good features...sound, options, battery life and not a pain to carry around with you.

Was this review helpful? (43) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jawalk37
Northwest Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A Travelers Friend
4/24/2010

Customer review by RiverCoyote

4.0 stars 4/24/2010 by RiverCoyote
by RiverCoyote

Mighty good little radio if you are on the go. My parents used these radios to communicate with the car ahead of them while traveling from Arizona to Minnesota. I guess you could call it a "Convoy"...coordinating rest stops and the like! Don't let all the bells and whistles confuse you. These are very user friendly and require no special programming to use right out of the package. All the additional options are there for the more technically inclined. The realistic range of these are 200+ Yards while heading down the highway. Purchase and enjoy!

Was this review helpful? (48) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RiverCoyote
Minnesota River Valley, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Works for what I needed them for
5/18/2011

Customer review by MaMa2WnQ

4.0 stars 5/18/2011 by MaMa2WnQ
by MaMa2WnQ

I bought this item to give my child a little more freedom and responsibility and still be able to keep in touch with them. The area I let them ride is approximately a mile around and even though the range on these is supposed to lessen when in the city, they seem to work pretty well within that one mile are, we'll see what happens if the distance increases eventually.

Was this review helpful? (38) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MaMa2WnQ
Salem, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great radios, very handy
3/13/2012

Customer review by Jimbobalu

5.0 stars 3/13/2012 by Jimbobalu
by Jimbobalu

We used a pair of these radios while on a cruise ship. Even with all of the radio interference, they worked fairly well. The ability to recharge the battery every night was very nice. The belt clips came in handy. And the extras the radios come with are nice to have.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jimbobalu
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
great little radio
1/20/2011

Customer review by Photogel1

4.0 stars 1/20/2011 by Photogel1
by Photogel1

I purchased this item to communicate with my wife who has an injured knee and is pretty much bed ridden. We live in a small town and I am able to speak with her from anywhere in town. Any where as long as the line of sight isnt blocked by hills. I dont have a telephone in my garage, therefore this Talkabout has given me freedom to play in my shop and still know that she can talk with me , should she need assistance.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Photogel1
Eastern Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
No range talkies
6/22/2010

Customer review by ElectroKen

2.0 stars 6/22/2010 by ElectroKen
by ElectroKen

I want 4 mile coverage for the wooded area I fish and camp in. After using another brand of radio that had advertised 18m range, (which had 0 range in the woods) I chose this Motorala. I still have no radio range. I am very disappointed with this product.

Was this review helpful? (14) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ElectroKen
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
better than expected
12/1/2010

Customer review by 1bana

5.0 stars 12/1/2010 by 1bana
by 1bana

loved the features, purchased 5 sets for mfg. facility. The emergency drill feature works very well and was an added bonus that we did not expect.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1bana
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Weather Feature A++
4/5/2011

Customer review by Studio960

4.0 stars 4/5/2011 by Studio960
by Studio960

I love the "additional features" but as to distance it is what I expected but wish I had bought the next better Motorola model. I get almost 2 miles in suburban flat ground reception, but loses contact over large hills/small mountains. Great for my needs for camping at the lake as everyone is in somewhat "eye" view and not over hills. The emergency button and weather channel reception is SUPER, plus the radio can be set on walkie talkie and yet break in with "Emergencey Broadcast" from the government weather channel.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Studio960
Missoula, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Product
12/6/2010

Customer review by pixma

5.0 stars 12/6/2010 by pixma
by pixma

I got this for my husband, who does a lot of work around our property and lots of time we do not have cell phone reception. These work great and he loves them. Glad I decided on this item!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pixma
Appomattox,VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
NOT 27 MILE RANGE
9/1/2012

Customer review by JohnLa

3.0 stars 9/1/2012 by JohnLa
by JohnLa

They are good for what they are, but DEFINITELY NOT 27 MILE RSANGE. 1-2 mile under good conditions. More if Line of Sight. Much Less in the woods.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JohnLa
Shrewsbury, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Bulky Radio and low battery life
12/10/2012

Customer review by Travelerx2

3.0 stars 12/10/2012 by Travelerx2
by Travelerx2

Wanted to replace my 7 plus year old radios as they are tired. These new radios are a little larger and bulkier to put in my shirt pocket. Range is the same as my old 5 mile radios that I use in the field hunting and in the store shopping. My old radios the AA batteries lasts a long time in days while in the field and shopping. These new radios, rechargeable batteries, only last hours and I must carry spare batteries to ensure I can reach my base when afield and shopping. I am thinking about going back to a smaller radio since the range is the similar and hopfully the batteries last longer.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Travelerx2
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worth the money
4/22/2011

Customer review by revace

4.0 stars 4/22/2011 by revace
by revace

Works well, use in a hotel. Belt clips are cheap and break quickly. Ear buds work but there are complaints with comfort.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
revace
Gloucester, Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
We use these at work
11/8/2010

Customer review by JustMe2120

4.0 stars 11/8/2010 by JustMe2120
by JustMe2120

We bought four of these for our building at work and they work great. From the first floor to the roof fo the fourth floor. We even took them to lunch one day and we were about 4 miles away before they stopped working. They work great on vacation as well for around the campground or on the ski slops. Great to find your kids.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JustMe2120
Fresno, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
4/11/2012

Customer review by billboatbuilder

5.0 stars 4/11/2012 by billboatbuilder
by billboatbuilder

I found the units to be easy to use, the instructions were very understandable and the transmissions to be clear. I would recommend the units.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
billboatbuilder
Mt Pleasant
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
a lifesaver
10/17/2010

Customer review by BirchLaneShopper

5.0 stars 10/17/2010 by BirchLaneShopper
by BirchLaneShopper

very impressed with this product. the clarity and distance was beyond what I needed it for. I was so impressed, I bought another set.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BirchLaneShopper
Clarendon, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Several design problems
1/7/2013

Customer review by RCXB

3.0 stars 1/7/2013 by RCXB
by RCXB

Cons: 1. The belt clip is absolutely horrible. HORRIBLE! I've looked around for belt-clip cases that will fit, unsuccessfully. These radios are 3-times too thick for common cell phone cases. 2. The included battery packs have less run-time than advertised. Even with light usage, on the low-power FRS channels, and charging them for an hour during lunch, they're still dying before the end of the day. 3. These units have a serious problem with shutting-off at random times, even when fully charged... this seems to be an issue only with the included battery-pack that occurs often with just minor vibrations and shocks. But even if using other batteries does fix it, that means the included desktop chargers are useless (without significant modifications). 4. Definitely not water or dust resistant, which should be a standard feature for any 2-way radios meant for outdoor use. There are a couple other Motorola radios that claim dust/water resistance, but they lack desktop chargers, and negative reviews suggest they're not actually water resistant. 5. The interface for setting up the radios is far more complex and involved than it needs to be. The manual is too large and pretty unclear about all the settings. It's manageable, but annoying. 6. The high/low power dual-PTT buttons arrangement is an absolutely terrible design, and definitely not glove-friendly like they advertise for all the other buttons. High/low power should be just another configuration option, and PTT should just be one large button. 6. Not actually built by Motorola. The brand name was simply licensed to GIANT International, Inc., which is who you'll have to deal with for issues under warranty. Pros: 1. Reception is as good as I could have hoped for. Good strong clear signal over half a mile away, from inside a building, and with plenty of obstacles, on the low-power FRS channels. MURS radios would get better range, but even the cheapest are quite a bit more expensive than these. 2. Big on/off volume knob is much better than push-buttons. 3. This model takes larger AA batteries, so you can get up to 25 hours on a set (NOT the junk battery pack they include), rather than a max of just 10 hours with other smaller AAAs powered radios from Motorola and others. 4. Flashlight built-in. It's right there whenever you might need it. Everybody loves this feature. Sadly, in the realm of FRS/GMRS radios, these kind of problems are commonly reported, across just about every brand and model, so I'm not sure there's anything available that is significantly better. If I had to do it all over again, or if/when these units go out, I'll be trying the Midland units instead, since they seem to be built less like TOYS than Motorola/Giant radios, and aren't so hit and miss for the (sane) mix of features every radio should have, though the reports of reliability for those units are mixed as well.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RCXB
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Clip broke w/in 3rd day of use.
9/17/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 9/17/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The only problem I had with this radio system was the cheap clip. 3rd day into use and it broke. My family and I use these type radios during a annual event in our town that we are helping park cars. We have used an older set of Motorola two way radios for about 10 years and had the same issue, plus the older radios finally just gave out, so this was why we bought the new ones. We were so excited with these upgrades until the clip broke. We took them back and got our money back. For the cost of these radios we expected a better quality of clip. Motorola really needs to invest in a good quality clip for their radios.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Blue Ridge Mountains of VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
3/19/2011

Customer review by 49mick

4.0 stars 3/19/2011 by 49mick
by 49mick

very good range,

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
49mick
northeast ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
MJ27
7/4/2010

Customer review by Corky4408

5.0 stars 7/4/2010 by Corky4408
by Corky4408

They are great for camping or for sports or any events where you need to keep in touch with one another.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Corky4408
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
1-20 of 60 total reviews
1-20 of 60 reviews