Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 144 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

144 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

144 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

58%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
56
4 stars
23
3 stars
11
2 stars
17
1 stars
37
1-20 of 128 total reviews
58%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 128 total reviews
1-20 of 128 reviews
Most excellent budget tv
6/28/2009

Customer review by chpfsusb

5.0 stars 6/28/2009 by chpfsusb
by chpfsusb

Looking for an inexpensive TV with a good picture, I couldn't decide between this one at $428 and a nice 40" from RCA that was $697. (Alaska prices) There was a 32" Sony that looked good, but I felt it had some over saturation on some of the screens in the store I considered as well. Back to this TV...it is used in about a 15' x 15' room. We used a THX calibration tool from a THX DVD through HDMI to calibrate settings. The color is very good for a very inexpensive LCD. It's definitely not over saturated at all and is crisp and clean. We put in Cars DVD for a few minutes and it looks exceptional. There are 3 HDMI inputs and 1 component input. There are two composite inputs one on back and one on the side. Of the HDMI inputs, one can be used (HDMI 1) to connect HDMI or DVI device (PC DVI over HDMI). The other two (HDMI 2 and 3) are for connectin HDMI devices. There's also an s-video input and a standard antenna input jack. The speakers are kinda forward and down mounted and provide great sound for such an inexpensive TV. The audio settings even provide a built in equalizer or if you wish, several presets to choose from. Our TV signal up here is standard definition only and this TV provides an absolutely wonderful image to view over the tube TV it replaced. I wouldn't hesitate to buy it again and highly recommend it for anybody needed an exceptional TV at a very budget price. Our calibration settings ended up being the following: Picture Mode: Personal Brightness: 26 Contrast: 39 Color: 38 Tint: 0 Sharpness: 0 Color Temperature: Normal Our TV Software version is CE32OS_1.0.

Was this review helpful? (315) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chpfsusb
Fort Greely, AK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best TV I have owned in years
7/26/2009

Customer review by IllegalOperation

5.0 stars 7/26/2009 by IllegalOperation
by IllegalOperation

I had actually went to Wal Mart to look at and buy an RCA model that was on sale for a bit less. As I approached the Electronics section from far away, this Emerson TV had the best picture of all the TV's in the similar size class. My wife spotted it from afar, and she made the comment, which was exactly what I was thinking. Even the high end Sonys and Samsungs did not look as good. The whites were really white and the picture was so bright. I was not convinced though, I require alot of inputs because I own several gaming consoles. This TV delivered there too, 3 HDMI inputs, 2 component and some others. I bought it and also got the extended warranty for $30. The TV is better than I thought. My Wii looks so good compared to my other 2 TV's and that is WITH the cheap cable the Wii ships with. I am not even going to purchase the better component cables optional for the wii, thats how good this TV looks. If I had any drawbacks, I would have to say that PC input is available via HDMI only, and that is sort of a bummer because my computers are limited in this aspect but this may not matter to most everybody reading this. The remote is small and awesome too. It's very simple and easy to use, especially changing video modes. I like this TV alot better than my bigger more expensive Vizio. I registered and posted this review just to brag on this TV. It is the best value and bang for the buck right now and I hope this helps anybody out there considering buying this.

Was this review helpful? (116) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IllegalOperation
Southern Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
BEWARE!
12/8/2009

Customer review by 3doglady

1.0 stars 12/8/2009 by 3doglady
by 3doglady

I bought this TV on cyber Monday after looking at different brands and different prices for 2 weeks. I thought it was a great deal for $299.00...got it today (12/7/09), plugged it in...no sound. Called the Emerson people who tried to walk me through finding the problem when the TV went completely blank. The technician on the phone tried to figure out what was wrong and then said "well, this happens a lot". Wish I had known that one week ago! He said I could either take it to a repair shop and leave it for 20 days (yes, I said 20 days) or I could return it. I WILL return this and get my money back. I will NOT be buying an Emerson to replace it. I guess you get what you pay for. Do not buy this TV.

Was this review helpful? (53) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
3doglady
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nice for the Price
6/27/2009

Customer review by afmh02

4.0 stars 6/27/2009 by afmh02
by afmh02

I bought this product to temporarily replace a tv that was struck by lightning.. It is being used right now in my livingroom, and although it is a little small for a decent sized room.. The picture quality is excellent, and the sound quality is decent... The only problem that i have is the RCA hook ups for like a dvd player, are on the side... So you can see the cords sticking out on the side, which looks tacky... But other than that you cant beat the price... Hope this is helpful

Was this review helpful? (38) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
afmh02
Palatka, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great TV for the Black Friday price.
12/3/2009

Customer review by TiaLaw28

5.0 stars 12/3/2009 by TiaLaw28
by TiaLaw28

This TV was more than I expected. People who have the regular TVs should really think about getting this TV. The picture is BEAUTIFUL, even hooked up straight from the wall or straight to the Digital box. I just need a HD Digital box now to see how much better the picture can be. Cant imagine it getting any better but heard from friends that it will blow my mine. The remote is so easy to use, everything you need to know is written on it. Love the still screen option, especiallly if your trying to catch a number or email address, it freezes the screen so you can find a pen/paper to copy it. So many other features to mention but buy it and try it yourself, you'll be hooked.

Was this review helpful? (32) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TiaLaw28
Maryville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Dont buy this TV
11/18/2009

Customer review by lliissaahhyyddeerr

1.0 stars 11/18/2009 by lliissaahhyyddeerr
by lliissaahhyyddeerr

I purchased this TV in January of 2008 for over 600.00. In September of 2009 this TV went out and cost over 350.00 to repair. The manufactures warranty is out by this time of course so they will not repair it. I have done extensive research on this particular TV and come to find out it is happening to people all over the country that purchased this same TV and bought it from Wal Mart. There is a defect in this TV. It will turn off and not come back on. The power board blows and this is what is so expensive to repair. Save yourself the money and get a better brand. Fungi corp. who is the manufacture of Emerson TV will not honor their warranty.

Was this review helpful? (39) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lliissaahhyyddeerr
Dallas, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great value for the price
12/12/2009

Customer review by shannonator

4.0 stars 12/12/2009 by shannonator
by shannonator

I got mine for $248 on Black Friday. The picture is BEAUTIFUL for Xbox 360 and Digital T.V. The low refresh rate (60 hertz), however, does make high-speed images blur (like sports and video games)... Analog T.V. channels look grainy vs. their digital counterparts so I do suggest getting a HD cable box or quality digital antenna if you watch a lot of T.V... Sound isn't bad but it isn't great. I plan on buying a home theater system soon anyway. But overall, I've been very happy with the product. Hopefully mine doesn't stop working as it has for several others who have posted...

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shannonator
Reno, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Excellent Buy
12/28/2009

Customer review by 44waterman

4.0 stars 12/28/2009 by 44waterman
by 44waterman

This tv was a steal on black friday, have used it continuously for over a month playing xbox 360 and watching cable tv and have zero complaints, better analog picture than the 42 inch viso my friend had that died after 5 months. Bought the extended warranty as I think every one should on all new gen tvs. would buy it again at this price if offered!

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
44waterman
colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Get The Extended Warranty
8/22/2009

Customer review by Span187

2.0 stars 8/22/2009 by Span187
by Span187

I purchased this tv just over a year ago and now it won't turn on. I took it to the shop and they said it would cost $360 to be repaired this also included the $80 troubleshooting fee. I told them to keep it and I'd buy another tv.

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Span187
Spanaway, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
Bad product
8/3/2009

Customer review by RU98A

1.0 stars 8/3/2009 by RU98A
by RU98A

BEWARE, of Emerson products. This TV ran fine for 18 months and then developed dark lines in the picture. Of course it was out of warranty but called a authroized repair shop anyway. Found out it would cost $50.00 just to get it put on the work bench and then they would tell me how much the reapirs would be.

Was this review helpful? (23) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RU98A
Thayer, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
BUY this TV!!
9/1/2009

Customer review by LunchboxTellsAll

5.0 stars 9/1/2009 by LunchboxTellsAll
by LunchboxTellsAll

This tv sparked my interest when I was looking at other tv's at Walmart. I was blown away that it had a better picture than the other (more expensive) national brands. I thought I would give it a try for my "man cave" tv, boy was I blown away, the picture was even better when I got it home and hooked it up to my cable! Great value, I am going to pick up another one I am so impressed.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LunchboxTellsAll
Cleveland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV!!
10/15/2009

Customer review by hmeshpper

5.0 stars 10/15/2009 by hmeshpper
by hmeshpper

We've had this TV a year and we are still loving it. Good picture and sound for the money. Love the multiple inputs for our several gaming systems, and the fact we can game for hours and the screen is still great looking.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hmeshpper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
Great buy
7/3/2009

Customer review by Terrhea

5.0 stars 7/3/2009 by Terrhea
by Terrhea

I purchased this set in December 2008, I just loved it. When friends and family came over, we would gather around it and watch movies. But I guess someone else loved it more than me because they broke in and stole it and the remote. So I am off to get a new one...hope my burglar does not read this...LOL! It is so nice, I've had to buy it twice.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Terrhea
Stafford, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
BEWARE
1/7/2010

Customer review by BWEIGHT902

1.0 stars 1/7/2010 by BWEIGHT902
by BWEIGHT902

Purchase Tv on Blackfriday 2009 and viewed appox. 30 hours and Tv will no longer turn on. I push power button and Tv green button turns on for a few seconds and turns back off. Please read opinion on line. There are so many customer out there with the same problem. These Tv should be recalled.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BWEIGHT902
Would recommend to a friend? No
sad
7/27/2009

Customer review by corn1234

1.0 stars 7/27/2009 by corn1234
by corn1234

we bought this tv a year ago. It was between the vizio and this emerson. We actually wanted the Vizio but were tolb by a Walmart associate the the Vizio could not be sold because it did not meet Walmart standards. So ,we went with the emerson. This TV takes forever to work and the problems get worse and worse as you own it. Do not listed to people that have owned the tv for a week or so, I have owed for a year. Huge lines across the TV and the waranty, only covers parts. Do not buy this TV. 100% junk

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
corn1234
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Value
11/23/2009

Customer review by Technut80

4.0 stars 11/23/2009 by Technut80
by Technut80

I work in the electronics and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this tv to someone. The one on display has been on 24 hours a day, 7 days a week for about 2 years and has had no problems. On top of that, we change the displays layout every couple of months causing out displays to get jerked around, plugged and unplugged and have yet to have a probem with the Emerson 32" LCD. On a second note, i haven't had a single problem with the one in my bedroom either.

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Technut80
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Pleasure to the eyes.
8/11/2009

Customer review by Roylt

5.0 stars 8/11/2009 by Roylt
by Roylt

This is a real move up to modern technology for me. I like it! I use the antenna service only, and get enough chanels to suit my needs. My sons Video games, and my DVD Movies are really fantastic in High Def. This TV is a great fit to my entertainment center.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Roylt
Middle River, Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
you get what you paid for..
12/4/2009

Customer review by Jadasmommydaddy

2.0 stars 12/4/2009 by Jadasmommydaddy
by Jadasmommydaddy

This tv looks horrible with regular tv, once you put hd tv on it looks a little bit better. My 5 year rear projection looks much better. I wasn't expecting a great tv i just didn't think it was goona be so bad. It was a great price at 248 and it did look beautiful hanging in our guest room, but after almost a week of horrible quality with movies, xbox and cable i gave it away.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jadasmommydaddy
millville nj
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Buyer beware.
11/17/2009

Customer review by jamie9521

2.0 stars 11/17/2009 by jamie9521
by jamie9521

I have owned this t.v. for a year an a half and I'm glad I purchased the 2 year service plan. The t.v. developed dark vertical lines in the screen after a while and I have heard this happen to many other owners of this same t.v. The lines didn't develop until recently when my warranty was almost up. I guess I would consider myself lucky but then again if I went with another t.v. I may not have had this problem. The service center said it would take 4-6 weeks to fix. It's week 5 and I have heard nothing. It's also inconvenient that you cannot use a universal remote (ever from your cable provider) with this tele. I would recommend skipping the headache and spending a little more money for a lot more value.

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jamie9521
Walworth, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
DO NOT BUY
10/14/2009

Customer review by sbwmb

1.0 stars 10/14/2009 by sbwmb
by sbwmb

have had TV for 11 months. Started having difficulty turning on last month. Will not turn on at all tonight. Sound messes up at times and have to switch off of HD. Also sound and actors not synched at times, but will be on other tv's Loved it the first month or so, it is after that when it goes bad

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sbwmb
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 128 total reviews
1-20 of 128 reviews