Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 109 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

109 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

109 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
74
4 stars
26
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
8
1-20 of 97 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 97 total reviews
1-20 of 97 reviews
SAVED MY HOUSE, AND MAYBE MY LIFE
12/9/2010

Customer review by Equals3

5.0 stars 12/9/2010 by Equals3
by Equals3

This alarm saved my house, I was frying chicken on the stove, and I fell asleep on the wreck room sofa from being so exhausted, An oil fire started and caught the overhead on fire, which also caught the the curtains on fire. The alarm went of in a Code 3 pattern and blared "ATTENTION, FIRE! FIRE!" It woke me up on a different level of the house. I ran up the steps and grabbed the Kidde Kitchen fire extinguisher (I ALSO RECOMMEND) and quickly got the fire out. Thank You Kidde.

Was this review helpful? (73) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Equals3
Wyomissing, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
had one for 2 years, still works great
1/2/2011

Customer review by Noob

5.0 stars 1/2/2011 by Noob
by Noob

For those of you who have rated this unit badly, I suppose you just got a faulty one. I have had 2 of these for going on 2 years now without a single beep, false alarm, or issue whatsoever. I replace the battery about every 6 months, and they keep on ticking. I test them every now and then to make sure the alarm sounds. They speak "Fire" or "Carbon Monoxide" audibly in addition to a beep, so it's pretty easy to figure out which alarm is going off. A pretty good value if you are worried about Co2. Everyone should have at least 1 Co2 detector at home! Especially if you have young children.

Was this review helpful? (38) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Noob
KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
Easy to install, maintain, and change batteries.
5/2/2012

Customer review by belle140

5.0 stars 5/2/2012 by belle140
by belle140

I've had this detector for 2 years and I've changed the batteries every fall. Not a difficult task since the attachment ring stays on the wall and you just twist to remove the detector. I've hit the test button once a year to make sure it was still working since thankfully it never went off. A couple of nights ago, I closed the damper on my chimney when I went to bed, thinking that the glowing embers weren't a big deal. Well at midnight, the alarm was screeching "ATTENTION! CARBON MONOXIDE DETECTED!" I have to to say, the beeps before the verbal alert were starting to wake me, but those words brought clarity to me instantly and I was up and out of bed opening windows! I reset the alarm and then had to go to the website to look at the manual to see what to do next. This is a great alarm for the money, and definately saves lives!

Was this review helpful? (46) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
belle140
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product which provides protection for home.
12/1/2013

Customer review by joe24nov

5.0 stars 12/1/2013 by joe24nov
by joe24nov

We already have one in our upstairs and put this one downstairs. The life of this product is about 7 years and has to be replaced as a safety. We had a tragic fire close by in which 5 died with only one detector in house with no battery. This uses double A batteries and is very simple to install and just twist off top to install new batteries. I think this should be a must and hopefully fire departments of other organizations will volunteer to install or check houses or apartments yearly.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
joe24nov
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent product.
5/31/2013

Customer review by RM1godchild

5.0 stars 5/31/2013 by RM1godchild
by RM1godchild

Actually got this detector to replace an older one that stopped working properly. This combination smoke/CO detector saved the lives of everyone in my house a couple of winters ago. When the "talking" detector went off ("Warning Carbon Dioxide") I immediately got everyone out of the house and called the Fire Department. Fire Department told me that if this alarm had not gone off, everyone in my house would have died of CO poisoning that day due to a malfunction in my heating system. No home should be without at least one of these - I have four.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RM1godchild
Holbrook, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Smoke/Carbon Monoxide alarms
1/9/2011

Customer review by todayis

5.0 stars 1/9/2011 by todayis
by todayis

Excellent value for the money. Easy to install.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
todayis
Spartanburg, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Our 2nd purchase, Good product!
11/13/2011

Customer review by JBBartz

5.0 stars 11/13/2011 by JBBartz
by JBBartz

We had one of these, when it died, we bought another one. So we definately like it. The first one lasted the exact amount of time specified on the directions. We had 2, one upstairs and one in our bedroom, they both died within one day of each other. So they really do only last the amount of years specified on the directions. ;-} Highly recomend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JBBartz
North Central AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Planned Obsolesence
8/4/2013

Customer review by Paul7

4.0 stars 8/4/2013 by Paul7
by Paul7

I have had this unit for 7 years. Its a great value. It is not a battery eater. It functions fine with the right sensitivity to smoke. The major draw back is after seven years it renders itself non functional. It does this by chirping every 30 seconds to let you know to replace it. New batteries DO NOT solve this issue. The ultimate in planned obsolescence.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Paul7
Deland, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best Combo Alarm- Best Value At Walmart
12/23/2013

Customer review by JDG979

5.0 stars 12/23/2013 by JDG979
by JDG979

I paid at least $15 more for the same unit previously at one of the famous large hardware stores. Most price club stores I searched had either smoke or carbon alarm but not both combined. Walmart had this exactly unit I needed to replace at much less cost. I had the battery inserted and the plate it snaps onto installed in about 15 min. up and running. Trust me when I say this is the best price for a combo unit I could find either on line or in stores. Now I feel my family is protected again.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JDG979
West Roxbury, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to install
10/14/2011

Customer review by OntarioMelissa

4.0 stars 10/14/2011 by OntarioMelissa
by OntarioMelissa

I like that this is a smoke detector & carbon monoxide detector in one. It was easy to install. I am glad it takes batteries because I did not want to deal with wires & having to have someone install it for me. I do wish that the battery compartment was on the front of the device. You will need to twist it off the ceiling/wall mount to access the batteries on the back. But it does twist on & off easily.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OntarioMelissa
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Long lasting
1/11/2011

Customer review by TONYFZ

5.0 stars 1/11/2011 by TONYFZ
by TONYFZ

I have had in my home these units for 7 years and 2 months. They both were inoperable within days and was pleasantly surprised that the exact units were still for sale. I purchased the two and only had to rotate the working unit without removing the bas

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TONYFZ
Crosscille, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great product
12/9/2013

Customer review by KarenCB

5.0 stars 12/9/2013 by KarenCB
by KarenCB

what I like best about this is that not only is there an alarm but it also says Fire or Carbon Monoxide detected.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KarenCB
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
bought to replace older detectors
12/20/2012

Customer review by wilb44

1.0 stars 12/20/2012 by wilb44
by wilb44

I get a frantic call from my 82 year old mother stating that after having a pan cook dry on the stove and smoke the house up that only one out of four of the smoke detectors went off and the rest can't possibly be working. When checked all had working batteries but all also were on the end of their 10 year life cycle. So I bought four of the Kiddie Smoke and CO detectors to replace the older units. First one out of the box did go through the test cycle. I was not impressed with the volume of the alarm or the spoken voice alarm. (I want it to wake up the dead// not talk you to sleep) I put it over a paper fire in a garbage can in the garage/ Took well over a minute to set the alarm off being held above the can. At 3 minutes after the fire was put out, two of the old detectors in the house were going off. (Loudly) The new units are going back. I'm going to buy one dual sensor alarm, test it for loudness (In the store if they will let me) and if it is surrounded by smoke it better be sounding the alarm. P.S. How do I get this smokey smell out of my clothes???

Was this review helpful? (7) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wilb44
small town Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great combination alarm
7/23/2011

Customer review by Bignutchulavista

5.0 stars 7/23/2011 by Bignutchulavista
by Bignutchulavista

This item is a great combination alarm with both smoke and CO2 functions. The alarm sounds a tone in addition to a spoken voice so you know if it is a smoke or CO2 alarm. It also announces a low battery. Alarm can not be attached to the base without batteries installed so when it is mounted it is functional.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bignutchulavista
Chula Vista CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
7/15/2011

Customer review by doinkster

5.0 stars 7/15/2011 by doinkster
by doinkster

The unit is large, but one big one (combo unit) is better than two small ones (separate smoke and CO alarms), The online price was $5 better than the in-store price so I ordered it online and picked it up at the store. Very clear voice on the alarm.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
doinkster
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy to operate
3/26/2014

Customer review by ElsworthTooey

5.0 stars 3/26/2014 by ElsworthTooey
by ElsworthTooey

The combo detector and alarm installed easily and has AA batteries which are easier to deal with than the combo it replaced. That had a 9 volt battery as do my other detectors.. The voice alarm is loud and can't be confused with other appliance rings.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ElsworthTooey
Lebanon, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
work well,
9/28/2011

Customer review by 3catsup

5.0 stars 9/28/2011 by 3catsup
by 3catsup

works well, easy install, sets itself up as soon as batteries installed

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
3catsup
sylmar,ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great product.
9/28/2013

Customer review by Eva2

5.0 stars 9/28/2013 by Eva2
by Eva2

This is a great product and really very necessary for your home. I know my husband & I are sleeping a lot better because we installed this product. I heard about it from my sister who has one. The unit talks and told them when they had carbon monoxide! It was their and could be your life saver.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Eva2
Cedar Falls, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent product for the price
7/12/2014

Customer review by Sunnynwarmer

5.0 stars 7/12/2014 by Sunnynwarmer
by Sunnynwarmer

Had one previously, lasted many years. The newer ones are much more sensitive to heat and cooking fumes. Really pleased with this product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sunnynwarmer
Arlington, Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ready for Alerts
8/20/2014

Customer review by GladstoneKats

5.0 stars 8/20/2014 by GladstoneKats
by GladstoneKats

Fast delivery. Item arrived before expected. After inserting the batteries alarm is installed above the door leading from the hallway exit to the garage. I currently have Kidde alarms installed in three bedrooms and one in the garage. I am replacing this alarm with another Kidde that needed replacement due to a past expiration date. The expired alarm made horrible screeching sounds that it needed to be replaced. I am happy with Kidde alarms and will continue to buy them when needed. I feel safe that this newly installed Kidde alarm as all the Kidde alarms I have in my home will alert the family in a fire or Carbon Monoxide situation.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GladstoneKats
San Francisco
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 97 total reviews
1-20 of 97 reviews