Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 171 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

171 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

171 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
122
4 stars
38
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
8
1-20 of 159 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 159 total reviews
1-20 of 159 reviews
Kidde Smoke and C02 Detector
6/28/2016

Customer review by Sunnyboyjim

5.0 stars 6/28/2016 by Sunnyboyjim
by Sunnyboyjim
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I ordered 3 of the Kidde detectors to replace two hard wired Kidde units (which were out of date) and a third one for the living room. The units were easy to install, the same size as my old Kidde's. No worry from power failures as my two old units did not have battery backup The units have a loud, piercing tone when activated with a canned woman's voice alerting of either smoke or carbon monoxide. We sleep with the bedroom door closed and the tone/voices can easily be heard thru closed doors. As per Kidde's recommendation, we did NOT install one in the kitchen. I feel comfortable in knowing the detectors are on guard 24 hours a day and are adequate in our 1457 sq. ft. home. A great buy especially since Walmarts had them on sale.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sunnyboyjim
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love the talking features!
6/5/2016

Customer review by jorenee

5.0 stars 6/5/2016 by jorenee
by jorenee
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The thing that sets this alarm apart is the talking features in addition to the audible alarm. People tend to panic when an alarm goes off, but having a voice saying, "Fire! Fire!" or "Warning! Carbon monoxide detected!" would help focus your attention even if you were woken out of a deep sleep. The only drawback to this alarm is that it does not have a 10 year sealed battery and still requires the batteries to be checked once a month and changed twice a year. It does however have an audible "Low Battery" beep and voice notification.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jorenee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Good Value
2/13/2016

Customer review by Eddie

5.0 stars 2/13/2016 by Eddie
by Eddie

I bought this as a replacement for the same model I purchased about 8 years ago. I like the fact that it will detect both smoke and carbon monoxide. Be aware that it will need replacing periodically due to the limited life of the carbon monoxide detector. This will be evident by a beep every 30 seconds when the detector needs replacing even after replacing with fresh batteries.

Was this review helpful? (30) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Eddie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
voice combo smoke and co detector
5/25/2016

Customer review by debbie

5.0 stars 5/25/2016 by debbie
by debbie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Put it up and worked like a charm. The voice that says weather you have a fire or co detected is loud enough and clear.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
debbie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to install, maintain, and change batteries.
5/2/2012

Customer review by belle140

5.0 stars 5/2/2012 by belle140
by belle140

I've had this detector for 2 years and I've changed the batteries every fall. Not a difficult task since the attachment ring stays on the wall and you just twist to remove the detector. I've hit the test button once a year to make sure it was still working since thankfully it never went off. A couple of nights ago, I closed the damper on my chimney when I went to bed, thinking that the glowing embers weren't a big deal. Well at midnight, the alarm was screeching "ATTENTION! CARBON MONOXIDE DETECTED!" I have to to say, the beeps before the verbal alert were starting to wake me, but those words brought clarity to me instantly and I was up and out of bed opening windows! I reset the alarm and then had to go to the website to look at the manual to see what to do next. This is a great alarm for the money, and definately saves lives!

Was this review helpful? (64) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
belle140
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Simple Solution
5/12/2016

Customer review by john

5.0 stars 5/12/2016 by john
by john

This item was easy to install and test. Meets the state's requirement for having a CO detector in place.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
john
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product which provides protection for home.
12/1/2013

Customer review by joe24nov

5.0 stars 12/1/2013 by joe24nov
by joe24nov
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We already have one in our upstairs and put this one downstairs. The life of this product is about 7 years and has to be replaced as a safety. We had a tragic fire close by in which 5 died with only one detector in house with no battery. This uses double A batteries and is very simple to install and just twist off top to install new batteries. I think this should be a must and hopefully fire departments of other organizations will volunteer to install or check houses or apartments yearly.

Was this review helpful? (32) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
joe24nov
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Smoke Alarm
8/9/2016

Customer review by GABoy

5.0 stars 8/9/2016 by GABoy
by GABoy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy install and great instructions

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GABoy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
SAVED MY HOUSE, AND MAYBE MY LIFE
12/9/2010

Customer review by Equals3

5.0 stars 12/9/2010 by Equals3
by Equals3

This alarm saved my house, I was frying chicken on the stove, and I fell asleep on the wreck room sofa from being so exhausted, An oil fire started and caught the overhead on fire, which also caught the the curtains on fire. The alarm went of in a Code 3 pattern and blared "ATTENTION, FIRE! FIRE!" It woke me up on a different level of the house. I ran up the steps and grabbed the Kidde Kitchen fire extinguisher (I ALSO RECOMMEND) and quickly got the fire out. Thank You Kidde.

Was this review helpful? (89) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Equals3
Wyomissing, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Second One
3/13/2016

Customer review by SteveZ

5.0 stars 3/13/2016 by SteveZ
by SteveZ

Had one like in picture ( new one is NOT the same as one pictured), it worked well, just was too old. New one has a few added features that old one did not. Works well so far...

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SteveZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
had one for 2 years, still works great
1/2/2011

Customer review by Noob

5.0 stars 1/2/2011 by Noob
by Noob
Top 1000 contributor

For those of you who have rated this unit badly, I suppose you just got a faulty one. I have had 2 of these for going on 2 years now without a single beep, false alarm, or issue whatsoever. I replace the battery about every 6 months, and they keep on ticking. I test them every now and then to make sure the alarm sounds. They speak "Fire" or "Carbon Monoxide" audibly in addition to a beep, so it's pretty easy to figure out which alarm is going off. A pretty good value if you are worried about Co2. Everyone should have at least 1 Co2 detector at home! Especially if you have young children.

Was this review helpful? (46) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Noob
KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Easy installation. Clear instructions.
6/26/2016

Customer review by Allam

5.0 stars 6/26/2016 by Allam
by Allam
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy installation. Clear instructions.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Allam
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
bought to replace older detectors
12/20/2012

Customer review by wilb44

1.0 stars 12/20/2012 by wilb44
by wilb44

I get a frantic call from my 82 year old mother stating that after having a pan cook dry on the stove and smoke the house up that only one out of four of the smoke detectors went off and the rest can't possibly be working. When checked all had working batteries but all also were on the end of their 10 year life cycle. So I bought four of the Kiddie Smoke and CO detectors to replace the older units. First one out of the box did go through the test cycle. I was not impressed with the volume of the alarm or the spoken voice alarm. (I want it to wake up the dead// not talk you to sleep) I put it over a paper fire in a garbage can in the garage/ Took well over a minute to set the alarm off being held above the can. At 3 minutes after the fire was put out, two of the old detectors in the house were going off. (Loudly) The new units are going back. I'm going to buy one dual sensor alarm, test it for loudness (In the store if they will let me) and if it is surrounded by smoke it better be sounding the alarm. P.S. How do I get this smokey smell out of my clothes???

Was this review helpful? (8) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wilb44
small town Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Smoke/Carbon Monoxide alarms
1/9/2011

Customer review by todayis

5.0 stars 1/9/2011 by todayis
by todayis

Excellent value for the money. Easy to install.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
todayis
Spartanburg, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Planned Obsolesence
8/4/2013

Customer review by Paul7

4.0 stars 8/4/2013 by Paul7
by Paul7

I have had this unit for 7 years. Its a great value. It is not a battery eater. It functions fine with the right sensitivity to smoke. The major draw back is after seven years it renders itself non functional. It does this by chirping every 30 seconds to let you know to replace it. New batteries DO NOT solve this issue. The ultimate in planned obsolescence.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Paul7
Deland, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Will never buy again
3/1/2013

Customer review by JaneandKids

1.0 stars 3/1/2013 by JaneandKids
by JaneandKids

I bought three of these units 2 years ago and the carbon monoxide alarm started going off throughout the entire house because they are direct wired and interconnected. It was the middle of the summer which we didn't have any furnace going and we ony have an electric stove so there was no possible place for the carbon monoxide to come from. We took them all down, cleaned them, and replaced all the batteries and about a week later did the same thing this time in the middle of the night. There was no way of knowing which one was doing it so I had to take them all down and put one up at a time and each one intermittently would beep after a few days. I bought a seperate carbon monoxide detector to plug into my wall and seperate smoke detectors to replace these three. I was very disgusted at the price I paid for these to have them last only 2 years. I will never buy these again.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JaneandKids
Boonville, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Kiddie smoke and CO detector
7/13/2016

Customer review by User

4.0 stars 7/13/2016 by User
by User
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Unit installed and powered up easy. Test function works. I hope we never have a fire or CO event to see if it saves our lives.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
User
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Our 2nd purchase, Good product!
11/13/2011

Customer review by JBBartz

5.0 stars 11/13/2011 by JBBartz
by JBBartz

We had one of these, when it died, we bought another one. So we definately like it. The first one lasted the exact amount of time specified on the directions. We had 2, one upstairs and one in our bedroom, they both died within one day of each other. So they really do only last the amount of years specified on the directions. ;-} Highly recomend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JBBartz
North Central AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
alarm
1/8/2016

Customer review by lilstar

5.0 stars 1/8/2016 by lilstar
by lilstar

wow ive only got one but plan on gettin at least 1 more. my place is small but is so useful

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lilstar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wrong picture wal-mart
6/20/2016

Customer review by Mike

4.0 stars 6/20/2016 by Mike
by Mike

I was trying to replace a smoke detector that went bad. This seemed like the replacement for an older model. It even looks identical. However, Wal-Mart has the wrong picture. This actual product has the battery replaced up front. Additionally, there is not wiring connection to the rest of the house.

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mike
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 159 total reviews
1-20 of 159 reviews