Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.8out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5 | 17 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
Sort by: 
1-16 of 16 reviews
1-16 of 16 reviews
This is not a cure all but a great alarm!
6/1/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
LETS TALK ABOUT SMOKE ALARMS This unit is an Ionization alarm. This means the fire has to be flaming before it will sense the smoke. Photoelectric alarms sense smoldering fires and therefore warn you of a smaller fire sooner. Ionization alarms are good in the kitchen and cooking areas. Photoelectric are good through out the house except kitchen you do not want the nuisance alarms while cooking. placing both alarms through out the house is the best method. Place smoke alarms in hallways, bedrooms, kitchen areas. Laundry, garage, and attics place alarms in those areas that have a twin alarm that will activate when the other does that way you will hear it and be able to get out. Fires in today do not give you a lot of time to get out. The materials in today's furnishings are different than they were 20-30 years ago. Back then you had a lot more time to get out. Today with foams and synthetic materials you have a max of 2-4 minutes from the time a material flames to flashover in a structure and everything dies. Fire is no joke it can devastating, do your research before you purchase alarms but purchase the right ones for your house and purchase enough for good coverage to give you and your family enough time to get out.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (23)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Worry Free Smoke Alarm UP TO 10 years!
11/18/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We bought this exact smoke alarm and installed in our new house April 2005. It just started to chirp today (about once every 30 minutes) letting us know it's time to replace the smoke alarm. It lasted 7 1/2 years so we definitely saved our money not buying 9v batteries. The unit indicates it will last up to 10 yrs so we are happy with the length of time we did get. Ours was placed in a dry/cool hallway on a first floor. This alarm pays for itself in not changing batteries every 6 months.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Value - Easu Installation
5/4/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I recommend this product because, as a sealed battery unit, it is the simplest to install. Plus the 10-year battery life means no maintenance. As if all of that wasn't enough of a reason, it's also among the lowest-cost options. Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good alternative for inconvenient locations
6/23/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I purchased and installed four of these units. If the batteries really last ten years, I will be back to upgrade to 5 stars. This is a very good option for difficult to reach installations. I like the idea of never having to change the battery, just the alarm itself every ten years (all smoke alarms should be replaced within ten years). A few caveats: this alarm does not install easily over a standard round electrical box (the type used for wired detectors). The mounting base is big enough to disguise the box if you want, but note you will have to locate and drill some holes to mount the base (which is what I did). Once activated, the alarm can only be silenced with a button-- you cannot remove the battery. The battery can be permanently discharged by the user, which you do when the alarm reaches end of life and starts "chirping". Overall I'm pleased with the product, and will be very pleased indeed if the batteries last as long as advertised.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
8/29/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
We had these smoke alarms before. Since they were starting to "chirp" some of the time, we needed to buy them again. The store didn't have them in stock, but they were online. They arrived sooner than Walmart said. They are an excellent alarm for a marvelous price. The staff at the store, in the online pickup, are very professional and friendly. This product has a 10 yr. warranty, so you don't have to purchase them very often.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
advance in smoke alarms
5/12/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
easy to install.hush feature is good idea.Am now worry free for ten years
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
5/16/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Great product. Economical price and a most efficient alarm. Won't need to change battery for ten years.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great price!
6/16/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
These tamper free long life smoke detectors are required by law where I live. We needed nine of them for our house. I saved a lot of money buying them at WalMart. They had the best price by far.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Inexpensive and easy to install
1/8/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Fortunately I can't review how these work in a fire, but they are relatively inexpensive and easy to install. Two of these replaced two older models from a different manufacturer, but the mounting screws already in the wall from the older units fit these mounting rings perfectly, so it was just a matter of loosening two screws removing the old units and replacing them with these. Both new alarms tested fine and the red LEDs began to flash. No problems at all.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
EXCELLENT VALUE BUT NOT SURE ABOUT 10-YEARS
8/15/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The Kidde Ionization Smoke Alarm Model 0910 is an excellent value but falls a little short on its 10-year life expectancy. I have units that are still operating after 5-years, but one unit started to chirp (every 30-45 seconds) after only 4-years and had to be replaced. Another review here says a unit started to chirp after 7 1/2 years. Because the 10-year life expectancy is still questionable, I rated expectations as good. This smoke alarm does have a 10-year limited warranty. Overall, this smoke alarm gets 5-stars.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Kidde Smoke Alarm
5/11/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Great product and great value. Super easy to install and works great.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
innovative
6/28/2015
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Hope is true that the batery will work for 10 years. Is a peace of mind if no more beep at midnight.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I like the ten year battery
1/23/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Seems well made and is easy to put up.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent value!
5/19/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Great item at a very good price!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good, EXCEPT . . . .
3/9/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
10 year life sealed lithium battery is nice feature, EXCEPT . . instructions warn: the alarm will remain active and can only be deactivated manually. ONCE DEACTIVATED, IT CAN NOT BE REACTIVATED" Sooo cannot remove to paint.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
!0-year smoke alarm with sealed battery
11/6/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Works great, as advertised, reasonable price, easy to install.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640682, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-10.1.1, SHA-cd91c60c037ec69024941e99664518ad4edafe94, CID-