Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 272 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

272 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

272 reviews | 4 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
135
4 stars
66
3 stars
26
2 stars
21
1 stars
24
1-20 of 252 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 252 total reviews
1-20 of 252 reviews
Great for business!
3/4/2010

Customer review by mel2234

4.0 stars 3/4/2010 by mel2234
by mel2234

This is the best money I ever spent on a printer for my business! I have had it for about 1 month now and had no problems. Since I have spent so much money on different high end printers and never satisfied; this has made up the difference for me. Reason why....... 1- Cost wasn't expensive for all in one/wireless 2- Scans to files, PDF's are snap, 3- PDF's can be sized to email out as one document or several individual documents at one scan. 4- Marketing tools are available with this. 5- Printing is fast with options to save on ink. 6- Wireless that all computers can hook up without wires hanging around. 7- Fax options are great to store numbers, cover sheet, shows a comfirmation and fast. 8-Easy to set up 9- Love the forward fax options 10- download off memory card and print quality is great. 11- Rollers in the back every go back then you can easy detach it and order new without a tech! Con- It clicks loud as its setting itself for the next job. Can't find ink in Walmart to stay stocked.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mel2234
Lancaster, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The best we've ever used!!!
2/27/2011

Customer review by VirginiaWMshopper

5.0 stars 2/27/2011 by VirginiaWMshopper
by VirginiaWMshopper

We use this in a small business office and we print anywhere from 300 to over 1000 documents and full color photos and the ink lasts us forever. Now we do buy the XL cartridges but they are not but a few dollars more and worth every penny. We leave the quality setting on normal (or 2 stars if you're looking at the machine) and the photos come out great. We use the fax which is really nice because you can cut out any junk faxes that our office receives and if you want to send the same document to multiple recipients you can hit one button and send it to all with one fax. AWESOME! We've had it for about 6 months now and I'm getting ready to buy one for my home and we're also going to buy two more for our other office location. The wireless was a snap to setup and we have our desktop wired directly to it and we run two and three laptops at one time printing. I've even been approx. 50 feet away from it downstairs in our office and printed to it with no problem. GREAT JOB HP!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VirginiaWMshopper
Smalltown, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Wireless Printer
1/6/2010

Customer review by EddieKv

5.0 stars 1/6/2010 by EddieKv
by EddieKv

I purchased this printer a week ago and other than the installation CD not being compatible with Windows 7 (I found out what software to download using the HP Live Chat), the printer was easy to set up on our network. I previously had a wired printer and had to turn on the desktop computer it was attached to in order to print from our laptops. Now we just turn the printer on. The duplex printing is also a great feature.

Was this review helpful? (34) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EddieKv
Piscataway, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great product and FANTASTIC service
2/4/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 2/4/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is a wonderful printer and as others and stated, it's easy to setup and it just works. The print quality is great and it prints faster than I expected. I did run into a problem where my printer experienced a "general printer failure" and I could not resolve the issue myself using the website. I chose HP email service because I had used it previously for problems with another device and found it to be topnotch. I was again very, very pleased with the outstanding service quality. I was contacted almost immediately with very helpful advise and an immediate promise of a replacement printer if the problem couldn't be resolved. As it turned out, the problem was resolved and the service technician even asked me to please leave the problem open until I received my updated driver CD in the mail to make sure I didn't encounter any more problems. I worked as a customer service representative and then a software developer for a large software company and I can tell you that HP's service is tremendous!

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Easy to use and set up
8/16/2009

Customer review by BGDepot

5.0 stars 8/16/2009 by BGDepot
by BGDepot

I simply plugged and played this printer and was able to network it with my laptops very easily. The print quality and speed is excellent and it hold 250 sheets of paper. The scanner function creates .pdf files, or anything you'd like it to create (.doc, etc.) depending on your preferences.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BGDepot
Utica, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A Good Deal!
3/15/2010

Customer review by Winchester2

4.0 stars 3/15/2010 by Winchester2
by Winchester2
Top 1000 contributor

Ive had good luck with HP's in the past both at work and at home. We still have 8 year old Deskjets plodding away everyday at my agency. Ive only had this printer for a few weeks so time will tell regarding its reliability. Ive scanned, copied and printed out both documents and photos. I ran off around eight and a half full page photos before I was receiving a warning about one of the color tanks being close to empty. It seemed to use ink much quicker than my old HP. Then again, the tanks are much smaller but a bit pricey at over $12 each. You can buy larger ones in the XL series. I do like the ability to just replace the one color Im out of instead of all three at once. The scanning with the automatic document feeder is a tad slow but works nicely and the software was pretty straightforward. I have yet to read the manual on it. Scanner is quieter than any all in one Ive owned. This model also has a duplexing feature which Ive used a couple times and absolutely love. Black text quality is about average for an all in one but more than acceptable. The paper you use makes a big difference. Color photos printed on glossy paper are excellent except for the black areas. There seems to be a grayish haze so it does not appear to be "true black" but rather the black is created by the color tanks. Otherwise the photos are fine and the difference would not be that noticeable if the photo was not compared with the same photo printed on another printer. The wireless feature I dont really use so cant comment on that. One tiny annoyance is when the printer is in standby mode, the power button blinks constantly. If its in a bedroom, this can be very irritating and Ive taped a piece of paper over it to hide it. There may be a way to change it because there is something about settings for the printer if its in a bedroom in the manual to make it quieter, etc. Its a small issue. I cant really complain too much because I got a good deal. Normal price at Walmart.com--$199.99. Sale price a few weeks back--$139.99. To get an auto document feeder AND duplexer plus scanner/copier/fax/printer for that price is amazing. All in all Im happy with my purchase and enjoy ordering through Walmart.com. Ordered on a weekend and in three days for $2.97 it was sitting on my doorstep. Cant beat that!

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Winchester2
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Top 1000 contributor
The most amazing printer I ever have in a while
7/30/2009

Customer review by InsaneMisha

5.0 stars 7/30/2009 by InsaneMisha
by InsaneMisha

After getting MacBook Pro and HP printer almost three weeks ago, it took me a while to set up this new printer to configure with my desktop PC and MacBook Pro laptop. I have owned HP printers in the past. This printer would be my fourth one even though my third one still works fine but won't work well with MacBook. The previous HP printers inks came in FULL, but this printer's inks came in HALF-FULL to my dismay. I wasn't too pleased because they should come in full. For wireless, it took me a short while to configure it. I tested it while I was in other room with my MacBook Pro laptop. Wow, my printer is full of surprises! It works so beautifully! I couldn't seem to get over how gorgeous the printing job on my work report. If anyone who is reading this review before purchasing this printer, be prepared to buy extra inks just in case they come in half full. I'd go with the ink, 920xl instead of regular 920 because they do last a bit longer. That's it. Insane Misha

InsaneMisha
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Best Bang for the Buck
1/16/2010

Customer review by FrankinAlabama

5.0 stars 1/16/2010 by FrankinAlabama
by FrankinAlabama

I purchased my first Hp Printer (PSC 750) early 2001. That machine has far exceeded my expectations. No kidding, I have pushed that unit for years. So when I decided to upgrade to a wireless All in One..the only option was HP. I purchased my Officejet 6500 Wireless October 2009. Almost three full months in service and still learning ways this machine benefits our home. Affordable (especially ink cartridges), user friendly, versatile. This is an overall outstanding unit, I strongly encourage purchasing one. My personal favorite feature is when I have documents I want to scan, I insert them in the automatic feeder, select my computer shown on the printer's display, and hit scan. No need to do anything to my computer unless I just want to. It works with my computer and and automatically files the document in My Scans on my computer. I did not have to do some complicated set up for this. It's part of the initial setup that was step by step directed and easy to follow.

FrankinAlabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
All-in-one printer
6/27/2009

Customer review by BusEdTchr

5.0 stars 6/27/2009 by BusEdTchr
by BusEdTchr

It took me a couple of hours to get the product set up and running and I consider myself technical saavy. But once it was set up and configured, I can say I am extremely happy with the HP 6500. I love that it is wireless, I can have my laptop anywhere in the house and print what I need. The copier is user friendly, which is good for my untechnical husband. I love that is uses 4 different cartridges, you only replace the one that is empty, thus, will save you money. The quality of print is great as well. Thus far, I have not used the fax or the scanner so I can't truly comment on those.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BusEdTchr
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great looking and value priced
5/16/2009

Customer review by Orignlrose

4.0 stars 5/16/2009 by Orignlrose
by Orignlrose

It matches my HP computer and monitor so much better than my last HP Officejet all-in-one. I bought it to replace my HP Officejet K80xi that finally gave out after 8 years! It prints great! Photos MUCH better than I thought it would. I am not a novice when it comes to hooking up computers, printers or a network; so I didn't think I would have any problem hooking up this printer to my wireless network. However; at first (and only) try so far, I wasn't able to. The FAX I also did not expect to be a problem. Got it hooked up with dial tone and thought it ready to go. I have yet to have a FAX sent; however, when my daughter called and I mistakenly still had the printer set to 'Auto Answer', she said it just rang, no FAX tone came across. I have to further research this. I am confidant that after spending more time on it I will be able to get everything operating just fine! I just didn't want this email request for me to give my opinion to sit any longer in my inbox.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Orignlrose
Belpre, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Well Worth Considering
9/3/2010

Customer review by Adirondack

5.0 stars 9/3/2010 by Adirondack
by Adirondack

I've owned this all-in-one printer for about a month now and it's been so good that it surprised me. I'm NOT a "computer guy" but this machine has every feature I can think of: Wireless connection to the computer, duplex printing, fax, copier, scanner ... it does it all. Print quality is very good. Setup took me about an hour since it was a bit involved but each step was clearly described, very simple and it worked perfectly as soon as I finished the last step. Printing speed is reasonably fast as well. My only issue is the ink cartridge setup. I'm used to a black cartridge and a color cartridge but this one has a black cartridge and three separate color cartridges. Frankly, I don't know if this will save me money or not. The black cartridge comes in two sizes, a small one (that came with the machine) and a much larger, "extended" one that has been touted as very cost effective but it's too early for me to tell. If you're looking for a lower end all-in-one printer, I think you should certainly take a look at this one.

Adirondack
Upstate, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
pleasantly surprised
7/12/2009

Customer review by pawpaw2

5.0 stars 7/12/2009 by pawpaw2
by pawpaw2
Walmart associate

I was very pleased at the quality and speed of this printer for the money. It is considerably faster than my old HP printer. The only reason I didn't rate expectations higher is I haven't used the fax yet.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pawpaw2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Be patient with this thing.
8/11/2009

Customer review by Judelbug

4.0 stars 8/11/2009 by Judelbug
by Judelbug

Here's my experience: The wireless setup was trying and tedious. If HP had taken the simple step of informing that the router security phrase cannot exceed 10 digits, else the printer will not recognize the network, adding the printer to my home network would have been a piece of cake -- almost. The rest of the cake (after finally getting the printer on the network) was the fact that this printer is POWER HUNGRY! When I plugged it into my power strip, along with other gadgets, I got all sorts of error messages. But when I plugged it directly into a wall socket by itself, the printer was as happy as if it had good sense -- which it does -- almost. The printer is a bit slow and noisy, plus, paper jams easily unless you confine it tightly in the paper tray AND it has the strange habit of printing only half of the last line of a document sometimes, but perfectly at other times. That said, it's an intelligent printer and, once you get the kinks ironed out, I think you'll be glad you bought it. But be paitent setting the thing up!

Judelbug
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Easy set-up!
7/29/2009

Customer review by mslee68

4.0 stars 7/29/2009 by mslee68
by mslee68

I have enjoyed this product so far. I was so relieved that its setup went smoothly! I am not real techy, but I had no problems!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mslee68
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
wireless does not mean wireless
5/12/2010

Customer review by IMVHO

1.0 stars 5/12/2010 by IMVHO
by IMVHO

This printer may be an excellent printer, but it does have to be plugged into a router by an ethernet cable. If you want a wireless printer that is not cabled to another piece of equipment, be sure to look for an internally "wired" wireless printer--one that can identify your network wirelessly. I felt quite fortunate that Wal-Mart would accept this return, even tho I had installed the ink cartridges.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IMVHO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
HP6500 All-In-One Wireless
11/10/2009

Customer review by TexSecretary

3.0 stars 11/10/2009 by TexSecretary
by TexSecretary

I bought this printer because I do a lot of booklets and 2-sided printing and because this printer has a 2-sided printing option on it, as well as many other nice features. The salesman highly recommended it to me. However, the 2-sided printing will print one side w/print upright and the backside with the print upside down instead of upright, On booklets it gets pages printed in the wrong order, or a partial page on a page, or some pages not at all. On regular printing one time it will print page correctly, thenext time it will put a whole page on about 1/4 of a sheet in tiny print. Its frustrating and I end up wasting a lot of paper and ink. The plusses are that the speed is good and print quality is good, it makes nice copies and the scanner works well. Overall it is a very nice printer, but the fact that I need 2-sided printing and booklet printing, this was not a good choice for me as it just doesn't work properly for that. I ended up saving the text on a portable drive and taking to a different printer and the documents printed just fine.

TexSecretary
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Nice machine, easy to install and use.
9/28/2009

Customer review by susanshelit

5.0 stars 9/28/2009 by susanshelit
by susanshelit

I bought this to replace a 5-yr-old All-in-One that was still working, but I wanted to upgrade to wireless and get rid of the need for a desktop computer to be running as a print server. Easily connected to my home wireless network, installed the software on 2 laptops and a desktop, and was up and running in about an hour. Print quality is very good, speed is excellent (much better than the older machine, plus the wait time is almost zero.) Scans are beautiful, and the newer scan management software is an improvement. The fax was very easily set up as well. A nice printer and easy to install and use. Re the reviewers who said their printouts shoot out onto the floor: To fix this, just pull out the little extension shelf on the front edge of the output tray, and flip up the little catcher dam if necessary. The internal workings are a bit louder than the older machine, but not so loud as to be a concern.

susanshelit
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Try it first
7/31/2010

Customer review by itest4u

3.0 stars 7/31/2010 by itest4u
by itest4u

Yes this printer does all it says, but the design is terrible. There are no finger indents to lift top to use glass copy screen. You cannot see how much paper is left and when you remove paper tray cover, and the cover is hard to put back on, and again, no finger indents to get paper in or out. When changing from 8 1/2 x 11 to 8 /2 x 14 paper the printer memory does not like to recognize the change. Scanning is very difficult to edit on desktop computer screen and also the printer screen. The printer screen is very limited in choices. When printer turned off, it takes several minutes to start up again, and using a surge protector to turn off is a no-no. The printer is also much larger in size than older units. If I could, I would have purchased another one like the old HP I had, as it was much easier to use, but alas, it was not repairable, and this was the closest similar product I could find..

itest4u
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Wireless still has issues with Windows 7
10/10/2010

Customer review by PaulH

3.0 stars 10/10/2010 by PaulH
by PaulH

Our Windows XP computer installed perfectly. The two Windows 7 32 bit computers accepted the driver downloads but will not completely install. The wireless printing function works but HP Solution Center, and thus scanning and fax functions, refuse to install. I have been through every diagnostic and help function on the HP website. Basically they all eventually tell you to reinstall the drivers (insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results). I also tried the on-line and telephone support which were rather annoying because after you explain everything you have already tried they just robotically take you thorough the same HP website diagnostic and help procedures - we know, uninstall and reinstall the drivers. After 15 hours of fussing with this over the past two weekends, the Solution Center and a few other functions still refuse to install. However, the Windows 7 Fax and Scan function works fine. I suspect that Microsoft is blocking the Solution Center so that you need to use the Windows Fax and Scan which actually has more useful functions than the HP Solution Center anyway.

PaulH
Bakersfield, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Not compatible with XP SP3 on my machine
10/21/2010

Customer review by tgsp

1.0 stars 10/21/2010 by tgsp
by tgsp

I purchased this printer a month ago. Installation failed in the final phase of the process. 7 hours of attempts to resolve the issues including 3+ hours on phone with HP resolved nothing. The bottom line is that the scanner monitoring software confilcts with the printer driver when using Windows XP SP3, causing the computer and printer to hang half way through the first page of printing. The only way to resolve the problem is to shut down the computer. Upon reboot, it prints the page. but then repeats the process on the next print job. Uninstalling the scanner monitor software solves the issue, but then the printer only acts as a printer, and will not allow desktp scanning.. Overall very disappointing, especially since HP has not offered me any solutions or replacement products. I was told that it is my problem because the printer only supports up to XP SP1.

tgsp
Ontario Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
1-20 of 252 total reviews
1-20 of 252 reviews