Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 272 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

272 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

272 reviews | 4 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
135
4 stars
66
3 stars
26
2 stars
21
1 stars
24
1-20 of 252 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 252 total reviews
1-20 of 252 reviews
Great Wireless Printer
1/6/2010

Customer review by EddieKv

5.0 stars 1/6/2010 by EddieKv
by EddieKv

I purchased this printer a week ago and other than the installation CD not being compatible with Windows 7 (I found out what software to download using the HP Live Chat), the printer was easy to set up on our network. I previously had a wired printer and had to turn on the desktop computer it was attached to in order to print from our laptops. Now we just turn the printer on. The duplex printing is also a great feature.

Was this review helpful? (34) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EddieKv
Piscataway, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Easy to use and set up
8/16/2009

Customer review by BGDepot

5.0 stars 8/16/2009 by BGDepot
by BGDepot

I simply plugged and played this printer and was able to network it with my laptops very easily. The print quality and speed is excellent and it hold 250 sheets of paper. The scanner function creates .pdf files, or anything you'd like it to create (.doc, etc.) depending on your preferences.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BGDepot
Utica, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for business!
3/4/2010

Customer review by mel2234

4.0 stars 3/4/2010 by mel2234
by mel2234

This is the best money I ever spent on a printer for my business! I have had it for about 1 month now and had no problems. Since I have spent so much money on different high end printers and never satisfied; this has made up the difference for me. Reason why....... 1- Cost wasn't expensive for all in one/wireless 2- Scans to files, PDF's are snap, 3- PDF's can be sized to email out as one document or several individual documents at one scan. 4- Marketing tools are available with this. 5- Printing is fast with options to save on ink. 6- Wireless that all computers can hook up without wires hanging around. 7- Fax options are great to store numbers, cover sheet, shows a comfirmation and fast. 8-Easy to set up 9- Love the forward fax options 10- download off memory card and print quality is great. 11- Rollers in the back every go back then you can easy detach it and order new without a tech! Con- It clicks loud as its setting itself for the next job. Can't find ink in Walmart to stay stocked.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mel2234
Lancaster, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A Good Deal!
3/15/2010

Customer review by Winchester2

4.0 stars 3/15/2010 by Winchester2
by Winchester2

Ive had good luck with HP's in the past both at work and at home. We still have 8 year old Deskjets plodding away everyday at my agency. Ive only had this printer for a few weeks so time will tell regarding its reliability. Ive scanned, copied and printed out both documents and photos. I ran off around eight and a half full page photos before I was receiving a warning about one of the color tanks being close to empty. It seemed to use ink much quicker than my old HP. Then again, the tanks are much smaller but a bit pricey at over $12 each. You can buy larger ones in the XL series. I do like the ability to just replace the one color Im out of instead of all three at once. The scanning with the automatic document feeder is a tad slow but works nicely and the software was pretty straightforward. I have yet to read the manual on it. Scanner is quieter than any all in one Ive owned. This model also has a duplexing feature which Ive used a couple times and absolutely love. Black text quality is about average for an all in one but more than acceptable. The paper you use makes a big difference. Color photos printed on glossy paper are excellent except for the black areas. There seems to be a grayish haze so it does not appear to be "true black" but rather the black is created by the color tanks. Otherwise the photos are fine and the difference would not be that noticeable if the photo was not compared with the same photo printed on another printer. The wireless feature I dont really use so cant comment on that. One tiny annoyance is when the printer is in standby mode, the power button blinks constantly. If its in a bedroom, this can be very irritating and Ive taped a piece of paper over it to hide it. There may be a way to change it because there is something about settings for the printer if its in a bedroom in the manual to make it quieter, etc. Its a small issue. I cant really complain too much because I got a good deal. Normal price at Walmart.com--$199.99. Sale price a few weeks back--$139.99. To get an auto document feeder AND duplexer plus scanner/copier/fax/printer for that price is amazing. All in all Im happy with my purchase and enjoy ordering through Walmart.com. Ordered on a weekend and in three days for $2.97 it was sitting on my doorstep. Cant beat that!

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Winchester2
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
All-in-one printer
6/27/2009

Customer review by BusEdTchr

5.0 stars 6/27/2009 by BusEdTchr
by BusEdTchr

It took me a couple of hours to get the product set up and running and I consider myself technical saavy. But once it was set up and configured, I can say I am extremely happy with the HP 6500. I love that it is wireless, I can have my laptop anywhere in the house and print what I need. The copier is user friendly, which is good for my untechnical husband. I love that is uses 4 different cartridges, you only replace the one that is empty, thus, will save you money. The quality of print is great as well. Thus far, I have not used the fax or the scanner so I can't truly comment on those.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BusEdTchr
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
wireless does not mean wireless
5/12/2010

Customer review by IMVHO

1.0 stars 5/12/2010 by IMVHO
by IMVHO

This printer may be an excellent printer, but it does have to be plugged into a router by an ethernet cable. If you want a wireless printer that is not cabled to another piece of equipment, be sure to look for an internally "wired" wireless printer--one that can identify your network wirelessly. I felt quite fortunate that Wal-Mart would accept this return, even tho I had installed the ink cartridges.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IMVHO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
pleasantly surprised
7/12/2009

Customer review by pawpaw2

5.0 stars 7/12/2009 by pawpaw2
by pawpaw2

I was very pleased at the quality and speed of this printer for the money. It is considerably faster than my old HP printer. The only reason I didn't rate expectations higher is I haven't used the fax yet.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pawpaw2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Easy set-up!
7/29/2009

Customer review by mslee68

4.0 stars 7/29/2009 by mslee68
by mslee68

I have enjoyed this product so far. I was so relieved that its setup went smoothly! I am not real techy, but I had no problems!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mslee68
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The best we've ever used!!!
2/27/2011

Customer review by VirginiaWMshopper

5.0 stars 2/27/2011 by VirginiaWMshopper
by VirginiaWMshopper

We use this in a small business office and we print anywhere from 300 to over 1000 documents and full color photos and the ink lasts us forever. Now we do buy the XL cartridges but they are not but a few dollars more and worth every penny. We leave the quality setting on normal (or 2 stars if you're looking at the machine) and the photos come out great. We use the fax which is really nice because you can cut out any junk faxes that our office receives and if you want to send the same document to multiple recipients you can hit one button and send it to all with one fax. AWESOME! We've had it for about 6 months now and I'm getting ready to buy one for my home and we're also going to buy two more for our other office location. The wireless was a snap to setup and we have our desktop wired directly to it and we run two and three laptops at one time printing. I've even been approx. 50 feet away from it downstairs in our office and printed to it with no problem. GREAT JOB HP!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VirginiaWMshopper
Smalltown, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good home/office use
2/3/2011

Customer review by Mimi1963

5.0 stars 2/3/2011 by Mimi1963
by Mimi1963

This is the perfect multi-task HP Printer I've had. Great for home or small business. Haven't printed pictures yet but all other qualities are great

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mimi1963
Naples, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7/8/2010

Customer review by KQShop

5.0 stars 7/8/2010 by KQShop
by KQShop

This WIRELESS does it all. Scans, copies, prints from anywhere in the house. Price was great and shipped to the door for $1. Make sure you install software updates. Manages ink good and refills not as expensive as others.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KQShop
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Extremely Satisfied
2/23/2010

Customer review by Pam12Leo

5.0 stars 2/23/2010 by Pam12Leo
by Pam12Leo

No problem with setup and that alone made me happy. Worth the money too.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pam12Leo
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
HP printer
11/17/2010

Customer review by AnnNoniMiss

3.0 stars 11/17/2010 by AnnNoniMiss
by AnnNoniMiss

I was overjoyed to purchase a new hp printer at what I considered an excellent price. However, the printer is extremely noisy and vibrates during and after pages are printer.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AnnNoniMiss
Gray, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wireless HP OfficeJet 6500
9/26/2010

Customer review by grandste

3.0 stars 9/26/2010 by grandste
by grandste

Certainly this is a good price fo an "all-in-one" print-FAX-scan combo. If there is anything to watch out for, it will be the capacity of the ink cartridges to output the the number of copies that HP claims the cartridges will. It will be VERY interesting to see how ink cartridges hold up. I just did a run of 35 color copies, after printing less than 10 others total on the wireless 6500. The cyan cartridge that was nearly full before this print run (the cartidge was one that came with the printer) was pretty much down to a 2% or 3% ink level. I am hoping that this HP 6500 does not become a classic ink hog. There are many features of this printer-fax-scan combo that aren't necessarily highlighted in the HP literature. One such feature is--in addition to wireless networking--the availability of a 10/100 ethernet port (sure, you might expect a wireless port or an on-board RJ-45 ethernet port, but not both). The 12 ppm color speed is not as fast as advertised, but if I'd wanted that speed, I would have bought a laser model. The color is comparable to (if not a bit nicer than) a color laster printer. Again, I DO have a concern that ink cartridges are well below advertised capacity. I've bought a set of the extended capacity color cartridges (different from the "standard capacity" cartridges shipped with the 6500), but understand, please, that some of the virtues of this machine are, at best, "optimistically" over-stated. The faxing options are numerous. I had desktop FAX'ing at my last place of employment and I loved it (even though FAX'ing is a legacy technology, for certain). Desktop faxing is a virtual use of FAX servuces from within a PC's documents out to a FAX card in a server chassis or a networked FAX device on a network, which then sends the "FAX document" over a telephone network to another FAX machine. Really, the FAX card or machine is treated like a printer driver. As opposed to taking a paper document and feeding it into the FAX machine to send, in desktop faxing, you can tell the FAX print driver to "FAX" from within any document from any computer on a mutual network out to the 6500 which will then send it over the PSTN (public switched telephone network; i.e., your phone company) to another FAX machine. You have both FAX options on this machine, from any computer on your home network (as long as you install the HP software package on each computer that is appropriate for your computer's operating system). I am running Win XP, Vista, and Win 7 systems on different computers, and can FAX and receive FAX'es, and print FAX'es from all machines). Desktop FAX'es received by the 6500 are also delivered to a folder on the networked PC that the user designates. The FAX received is in .tif (tagged image file format), and can be printed, archived, forwarded to others as e-mail or IM attachments, or deleted. Of course, good old-fashioned paper faxes can be sent and received, too on this HP 6500 Wireless printer. So, keep your expectations nominal, and this printer will both serve you well and offer some other surprising values.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
grandste
Northern Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best All in One
4/12/2009

Customer review by MomtoWesties

5.0 stars 4/12/2009 by MomtoWesties
by MomtoWesties

This is truly all you could ask for in one! Fax, Copier, Scanner, printer,.. and its Wireless! I can print pictures without my computer with the memory card.. and even can get my camera phone to converse with it to print out my pictures! (Print Quality is FAb!) With my laptop I can be anywhere in the house and send something to print or fax.. It truly is great for a versatile home office! I also love that each color is separate in its own cartridge.. no more pink documents! or wasted ink. Way to go with this one HP! Value far exceeds the price!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MomtoWesties
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Printer
12/30/2009

Customer review by Japolo

5.0 stars 12/30/2009 by Japolo
by Japolo

Had mine for 4 months, best printer I have had. Prints, scans, Fax's and copy's great. Easy to install IF you use the web site. Would recomend this unit to anyone, business or home use.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Japolo
Spotsylvania, Va.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/25/2009

Customer review by lukyduk

5.0 stars 6/25/2009 by lukyduk
by lukyduk

Easy to install user friendly

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lukyduk
Rogers AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
HP Printer Review
6/13/2010

Customer review by jsjsjsj

5.0 stars 6/13/2010 by jsjsjsj
by jsjsjsj

We are happy with this product. The print quality is nice and we are happy with the fact that it is energy star rated. Using the install disks was a little annoying on windows as you have to use the USB initially to get it linked and it seemed slow, but it has worked really well with Vista, XP, and Ubuntu (Jaunty and Lynx - easy to connect and get going - we picked this model because of Ubuntu compatibility). Cannot comment yet on the printer cartridge life / value as we haven't had it long enough.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jsjsjsj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Like this printer
9/24/2010

Customer review by Nanjos

5.0 stars 9/24/2010 by Nanjos
by Nanjos

I purchased this printer to replace the HP printer I have had for several years. I am having difficulty getting it installed on my wireless network so will need to get some help. I not a computer geek by no means. But, I do like this printer since it makes 2-sided copies, and once I get it set up on my wireless network I am sure I will like it even better.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nanjos
Terre Haute, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
the ordering online
6/17/2010

Customer review by HammerinRedBank

5.0 stars 6/17/2010 by HammerinRedBank
by HammerinRedBank

I was easy to set up. and work with my laptop. But the real ease was ordering it from out of the country and being able to pick it up when I came home.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HammerinRedBank
Brandon, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 252 total reviews
1-20 of 252 reviews