Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 158 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

158 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

158 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

70%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
74
4 stars
32
3 stars
17
2 stars
12
1 stars
23
1-20 of 146 total reviews
70%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 146 total reviews
1-20 of 146 reviews
Can't beat this one!
4/21/2009

Customer review by ohbeone

5.0 stars 4/21/2009 by ohbeone
by ohbeone

I recently bought this product and as always with HP products, you just can't beat the ease of use and setup. I had the printer setup and operating on my home network within an hour and using my wireless laptop to print from.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ohbeone
Bakersfield, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does what I wanted
7/13/2009

Customer review by Hank

5.0 stars 7/13/2009 by Hank
by Hank

This HP wireless printer was easy to setup and performs really well.

Was this review helpful? (27) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hank
Central Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
All in One does it all
3/9/2010

Customer review by HowardCH

5.0 stars 3/9/2010 by HowardCH
by HowardCH

I am setting up a home based business. I was purchasing a new desktop computer from HP and one of the specials at the end of customization was a J4680 with a large discount. I checked the box and the All in One printer was here before I knew it. The wireless network feature works GREAT. I have 3 laptops and a desktop that are printing from anywhere in the house. I have Windows 7, Vista, and XP systems using it with no trouble from any of them. Before hooking up the J4680, I was swapping a USB cable every 10 minutes. Print, scan, and FAX quality is good. All of the features can be accessed from every computer through the internet connection and the HP software. When copying or faxing, the page feeder works very well. Electronic fax for word documents works as well. All in all, it works better than advertised. Note: I used the HP free fax test site to make sure the send and receive functions worked. I would like to commend HP for providing the site and 800 phone number. It made fax set up very straight forward.

HowardCH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Software and Vista
3/30/2009

Customer review by sarvie

5.0 stars 3/30/2009 by sarvie
by sarvie

The software has a problem with Vista. It gives a message titled "Product Assistant" The feature you are trying to use is on a DC-ROM or other removable disk that is not available. Insert the "productAssistant" disk and click OK. You click OK and it goes away but pops up again later or on rebooting. HP has a six page suggestion on how to fix the problem. I haven't tried the fix yet, but I am disappointed that I have to go through the fix-up.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sarvie
Addison, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
HP J8640 Vista NOT!
11/17/2009

Customer review by bluebunny

3.0 stars 11/17/2009 by bluebunny
by bluebunny

The HP J4680 is a good quality All-In-One Printer. The included software loaded somewhat smoothly on my older dell 8200 notebooks running XP and all features work good. The software has many great features. Pros: Easy to use software once installed. Printer has built in wireless or can be used on a USB Port. Many software features for scanning, printing and Fax. Good Value if bought on sale. Document feeder is a nice feature. Nice compact All-In-One. Cons: Unable to get it to work on a Dell running Vista 64. (Won't recognize the printer or scanner or install the drivers.) Download from HP site didn't work either. Still T/Sing that one. Doc feeder slightly skews paper so scan isn't sttraight. Placing doc on platten works ok. If you have Win 7, It is supposed to work and full featured software is available on the HP site. I may have to buy Win 7 to find out. If you have this and are running Vista, please let me know how it works.

bluebunny
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Excellent printer
3/6/2010

Customer review by JandK

5.0 stars 3/6/2010 by JandK
by JandK

We have owned a few HP printers throughout the years & this one is just another reason why we would hesitate to go with any other brand. The set up for this particular printer was so easy and completely fool-proof. It did come with a few disks--one for Windows 97/vista/etc., one for Macs, and one for Windows 7. The wireless feature was also incredibly easy to install. I was a bit nervous because I do not remember where our internet key is, but it found it all on its own and practically did the entire set up. The wireless feature is also incredible because we can have our computer on one side of the house and the printer will pick it up and print all the way on the other side. Also, we have found the ink is available at many of the stores we frequently shop at--and it's rather inexpensive. I would definitely recommend this particular printer to anyone looking for a dependable, quality, wireless printer/scanner/copier/fax.

JandK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/2/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 1/2/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Surprisingly compact, easy to set up with the software (just make sure you've got your wireless security codes ready if your WEP/WPA, etc) connect via USB first, then remove the USB when wifi is on... Seems to send the information wirelessy as fast as i would over the cable. Print Quailty acceptable for my needs. Haven't had chance to try the fax side of things yet, as I don't have a seperate phoneline. Scanning works as expected, and the copy button (use it like a photocopier) is very fast... Would buy another one if the need arose..

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good overall Fax/Scanner/Copier/Printer
4/28/2009

Customer review by mp4937

4.0 stars 4/28/2009 by mp4937
by mp4937

This printer has lots of great features. Setup was quite straightforward. Just make sure you decide whether to use wireless or USB connection and follow the instructions. I followed the instructions for wireless. Overall this is a great bargain (after factoring in the instant rebate when you purchase a notebook) for a Fax/Scanner/Copier/Printer with wireless. The automatic document feeder is great for scanning, copying or faxing several pages at the same time. You can direct any in coming faxes to a directory on your computer, which saves paper. All of the above features can be done wirelessly or via USB connection. However, on the first run I did notice that the scanned images had some color distortion, like white paper background appeared a little pink, and gray scale copies had a darker tint. Perhaps I have to play with the scanner settings. Other than that, printing was ok.

mp4937
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Whatever you do dont buy this printer!!!!
1/26/2010

Customer review by agfjlf

1.0 stars 1/26/2010 by agfjlf
by agfjlf

This printer has great features, but don't let that fool you. If you can get it to print in wireless mode is prints beautifully. The problem with this printer lies in the wireless feature. First off, I am well versed in the IT field so I do know what I'm working with when setting computers and the accessories up. To start, I couldn't even get this printer set up. No matter what I did, nothing worked. I finally called HP's tech support and after one and a half hours, we finally got it working. It printed fine for a about a two weeks and then it stopped finding the wireless signal. No matter how many times I rebooted my modem, router, p.c. and the printer, I still could not print to it. It shows the job in the queue, but fails to print. It also shows an error sign that goes away and then comes back when you try to print. This thing is junk. Save your money and buy something else.

agfjlf
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
I HATE this machine with all my soul.
11/16/2009

Customer review by oilfieldtrashnow

1.0 stars 11/16/2009 by oilfieldtrashnow
by oilfieldtrashnow

Software is pitiful. You can't depend on this machine to operate from one day to the next. It DRINKS ink!

Was this review helpful? (10) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oilfieldtrashnow
Harvey, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Unreliable & Aggravating
7/12/2009

Customer review by pefozzy

1.0 stars 7/12/2009 by pefozzy
by pefozzy

First the good: -good print quality -fast printing -good scan quality -easy to connect to wifi network Then the bad: -unreliable- often the computers on my home network won't find the printer, problems with print cartridges requiring replacement before they are out of ink, problems with printer requiring full reset of printer which requires re-connecting to wifi network, etc. -Bloated software installations required -included scanner software could have more features & flexibility Bottom line, I won't recommend this printer as it seems like it doesn't work and required extensive troubleshooting to get it back online when I need it most. I need a printer / scanner that is reliable and just works when I need it to. I'm not an IT professional but I've set up my share of equipment and have never had a device as frustrating as this one.

pefozzy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Finicky machine
3/9/2010

Customer review by PAretiree

3.0 stars 3/9/2010 by PAretiree
by PAretiree

This machine makes excellent prints, but it is finicky. How can a machine work only when it wants to??? I am using it with two machines running XP and one Windows 7. It would not print spreadsheets and databases with my 2002 version of Microsoft Works & Word. I had to purchase and install Works 9.0. Now it will print them, but consistently cuts off the last bit of information on every page, even though the print preview looks fine. And, if I need to print an email, there is a 50/50 chance it will print it. Can never print an email from the File menu, but sometimes will print from the print command on the toolbar. And can never print an email from my webmail (Yahoo) account. The wireless works well. I have one computer hardwired, and 2 on wireless. The fax and copy features seemsto work okay, though I use them infrequently.

PAretiree
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
WIll not buy HP again
3/9/2010

Customer review by Diana11

1.0 stars 3/9/2010 by Diana11
by Diana11

I bought an HP after having an Epson and Canon printer fail on me. I bought the Officejet 4680 all in one b/c i run a small business from home. I have a color laser in addition to this, but i use the inkjet to print envelopes and smaller cards. I got fatal errors while installing to VIsta; Could not get the scan function to work from the key pad, could not get the wireless network to work, and it will not print centered on envelopes. In fact, there is no paper setting for envelope under paper types. So it doesnt handle them correctly. Even though tech support insists this printer will print on envelopes. customer service kept giving me useless tech support so they could stall me on the 14 day return policy. they sent me a refurbished printer and i had to send the brand new one back. So i pretty much paid for a refurbished printer. I havent even bothered to try using the refurb one yet b/c I've already wasted countless hours getting the first one to work. Im absolutely disgusted with their customer service and their product. And i had used a coupon code in my order that was reflected upon checkout, but when i was finally billed, it was not reflected. You're better off finding a different brand printer.

Diana11
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Love It! - Great Little Printer
3/9/2010

Customer review by SammieBoy

5.0 stars 3/9/2010 by SammieBoy
by SammieBoy

When I bought the Office Jet J4680 I admit the low price compared to the other printers in stock at that moment is what did it for me initially. But, after using it for 2 months I am thrilled with it. I did have a little trouble connecting my desktop wirelessly, while my laptop was a breeze. Other than that little hitch the first day it has been a super printer. It's fast, the images are crisp & neat, it's so quiet I can hardly hear it from 10 feet away, & often have to get up & look to make sure it's actually printing something. It is also quite small & compact, which helps me have almost 50% more room on that part of my desktop. I wouldn't hesitate at all recommending it to anyone that I know that needs an inexpensive, reliable & compact printer!!!

SammieBoy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
The J4680 is Impossible to Use
10/26/2009

Customer review by F4tT

1.0 stars 10/26/2009 by F4tT
by F4tT

This thing has caused me no end of grief and cost me countless hours on the phone with a clueless support staff--and on chat with an equally clueless support staff who then referred me to phone support but didn't transfer the case, so I had to start all over! When I try to print from my MacBook wirelessly, half the time it says it can't find the printer, even though both the MacBook and the printer show as connected devices on my wireless router. Then days later it decides to print the document. When I try to scan, it says it can't find any computer to scan to, again in spite of all devices being connected to the router. Or it says obtusely No Scan Options, but searching the HP web site and the user manual gives no information about how to set the scan options, whatever they are. When I bring up the HP Solution Center, it says that the printer is disconnected (again, both are connected to the router), but I can print--but still not scan. The buttons/controls on the front panel are confusing, the Automatic Document Feeder broke within a couple of months. It's poorly designed, the wireless is clearly a jury-rigged afterthought, the software utilities are confusing and unreliable, and the user manuals are distinctly unhelpful.

F4tT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
I love my HP Officejet J4680
2/7/2010

Customer review by Chica

5.0 stars 2/7/2010 by Chica
by Chica

OMG!!! I love this printer! I've owned it for over 15mos and all I can say is I love every feature! I am a professional that uses the printer everyday for business; I use the fax, the printer and even the scanner I also make copies. I have to say it was easy setting it up and I've had little to no problems printing wirelessly. Sometimes I have to reboot my computer but overall it’s been great! Also I love the fact it uses 901XL ink, this ink prints up to 750 pages making it easier not having to change the ink often. I bought my printer on Black Friday in 2008! It was the last one on the shelf actually it was the model. I have highly recommended this printer to all my colleagues and friends!

Chica
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Don't Waste Your Time
3/31/2009

Customer review by emwright78

1.0 stars 3/31/2009 by emwright78
by emwright78

It took forever for the software to download. I still wasn't able to scan anything. I was on the phone with rude customer service reps that I could barely understand for over six hours. Now that I have gotten rid of printer, I can't get the software off my computer. It is the worst purchase I have ever made.

Was this review helpful? (3) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
emwright78
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Very nice for the money!
10/5/2009

Customer review by kaykaroo

4.0 stars 10/5/2009 by kaykaroo
by kaykaroo

This may be a bit premature as I have only had this printer for a couple weeks. So far, the only negative thing is the instructions, both visual and printed, for inserting the ink cartridges. You have to make sure the holder is all the way to the right of the printer. If not your wondering how and where to fit them in. It seemed like a blundering mistake after I figured it out. Other than that, I have not had a problem. My paper shoots out just fine. Find ink wherever you can find it reasonable, as it uses, the black, very fast. If you set your speed up higher, according to consumer reports, it saves ink! I have not had the opportunity to use the fax yet. Wish me luck! Very good buy!

kaykaroo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Does the job
10/5/2008

Customer review by Roe325

4.0 stars 10/5/2008 by Roe325
by Roe325

I bought this All in One as my main printer/fax/copier, not a photo printer. Set up was easy if instructions are followed. I did have problems with the top feeder tray but resolved that when i read the trouble shooting part of the hand book that can be downloaded from hps web site. I was also under the impression that i could print from either tray. My wishful thinking. Not a big deal. You need to have paper in the lower tray to print. the lower tray is somewhat flimsly.. HP's smart web print is wonderful. The wireless works great. i havent used the fax but did plug it in and got a dial tone right away. has many great features for the price. I am very pleased.

Roe325
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
My Experience with J4680
4/28/2009

Customer review by engineerchik

5.0 stars 4/28/2009 by engineerchik
by engineerchik

I really like this printer. The capibilities of this unit are extremely useful; having the "all in one" is very handy. Print quality is great. Scanned documents are very close to the original without any manipulation to the scanned document necessary. BUT, just before the one year warrenty expired (within 2 weeks), the mechanism for scanning completely failed. HP was great about sending me a replacement printer, which is working great...just as before. But if the warranty had expired, there would have been no replacement. This failure was very premature; I would worry about recommending this printer to others just because of the failure that occurred.

engineerchik
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
1-20 of 146 total reviews
1-20 of 146 reviews