Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 47 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

47 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

47 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
31
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
3
1-20 of 45 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews
Best Deal on the Market.
5/30/2009

Customer review by Deadpool

5.0 stars 5/30/2009 by Deadpool
by Deadpool

I found myself in a spot trying to decide whether or not to purchase a blu-ray player. I had thought about buying the PS3, but that $400+ price range was just too much to spend. So I bought this one, and although you sacrifice a little loading speed, (which really, if your sitting down to watch a movie, the extra 30 seconds to a minute of waiting when you put the disc in is not a concern.) but you get a great player that performs great. Great picture, great sound. And with the upconversion, your regular dvd's will look better than ever. Not to mention the package came in my mail in less than three days and I only purchased the normal shipping. I deffinetly recomend this player to anyone. I've watched already at least 10 movies on it. its so much fun to watch.

Was this review helpful? (32) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Deadpool
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Happy!
6/1/2009

Customer review by Redroses098

5.0 stars 6/1/2009 by Redroses098
by Redroses098

I got this because it was cheap and had many more 4 & 5 star reviews than just about any other Blu-ray player I looked at. It took all of 5 minutes to set it up. Played a dvd first, then I rented the newest Blu-ray movie out and it played both beautifully. It isn't slow at all, loading the blu-ray disc was the slowest part taking about a minute, but the menu and using the skip buttons were all just as fast as a dvd player. I hooked this up to my tube tv set (which is still relatively new) and even without the hd it has a slightly crisper and clearer picture.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Redroses098
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Won't play regular DVD's properly
8/19/2009

Customer review by Cigars19

2.0 stars 8/19/2009 by Cigars19
by Cigars19

This machine worked perfectly on the Blue-Ray disc that I played but on 3 regular DVD's the sound drops out for 1-2 seconds every minute or so. The picture goes blank for 1-2 seconds every 5 minutes or so. I called Sylvania customer service (actually Funai) and they said this unit has a problem re-adjusting to standard DVD's after playing a Blue-Ray.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cigars19
Springfield, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Killer steal!!!
7/20/2009

Customer review by Ericloveshiselectronics

5.0 stars 7/20/2009 by Ericloveshiselectronics
by Ericloveshiselectronics

This blu-ray player is awesome, and you can't find one for anywhere near this awesome price!! This product plays blu-ray discs seamlessly and plays and upscales DVDs. I have watched several movies in both blu-ray and DVD with no problems of any kind. A huge bonus, this product comes with a 7' HDMI cable so it's ready to rock straight from the box. I'm very pleased with this product, and would recommend it to anyone!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ericloveshiselectronics
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product, but....
8/7/2009

Customer review by NamPointMan

4.0 stars 8/7/2009 by NamPointMan
by NamPointMan

It is an outstanding product with an amazing picture. And what a great value! But what a strain updating the firmware. Nothing in the owners manual/box said the firmware needed to be updated. I only found that out when I tried to watch a Blu-ray DVD. I had to go to a website (not Sylvania's), download a 32 MB binary file to my hard drive, convince my virus protection software that it was OK to do so, open the file, extract it, unzip it, uncompress it, then burn it onto a CD. (Odd it wouldn't let me put the file on a blank DVD- weird since this is a DVD player). Then I put the CD in the DVD player, pressed go, and everything was good from there. Warning: if you are not computer savvy, you need to call the teenager across the street to come over and help you. You need adequate memory on your hard drive, a blank CD and make sure your computer is capable of burning a CD. Seems like the manufacturer could have done this when they had the DVD at the factory.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NamPointMan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Sylvania Blu-ray DVD Player - Review
3/26/2009

Customer review by Blue1971

5.0 stars 3/26/2009 by Blue1971
by Blue1971

Excellent picture. Menu functionality is easy to use and understand. It is a great buy.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Blue1971
Bronx, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sylvania BluRay NB500SL9
6/7/2009

Customer review by Mackolantern

1.0 stars 6/7/2009 by Mackolantern
by Mackolantern

Not compatible for CD-R playback. Dropped files.No version #--couldn't update firmware. Returned in 2 wks--bought a Sony BluRay

Was this review helpful? (6) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mackolantern
Coos Bay OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best Value for the Price
7/13/2009

Customer review by EAGSMOM

5.0 stars 7/13/2009 by EAGSMOM
by EAGSMOM

After researching and doing alot of comparing this was the best BLUE RAY player for the price . After ordering it on a Monday and receiving it at home that Wed. with Walmarts .97 cent shipping we tested it out and was amazed. Easy set up and disc load up time was enough for us to get comfy .. PICTURE & SOUND is the best even makes our regular DVD's appear 10 times better which is good since we have a good collection!! Trust me if you want a great item at a great price go with this Product, you wont be dissapointed!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EAGSMOM
Houston ,TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
would not turn on
6/26/2009

Customer review by whipett

1.0 stars 6/26/2009 by whipett
by whipett

Removed from box, would not turn on, after unpluging a few times unit turned on but drawer would never open

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
whipett
virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Worthless
6/22/2009

Customer review by gonebiken

1.0 stars 6/22/2009 by gonebiken
by gonebiken

I purchased this Blu-ray payer a couple of weeks ago. Would not recognize the HDM1 cord. Went to Sylvania customer service. Tried to download the new update file. Kept sending a .bin file instead of the needed zip file. Called support and they told me it was my problem with my computer. Went to a friend that is very good with computers, she had the same problem. Called customer service again, explained the problem, tried to get them to e-mail me the proper update file and they said it was against policy to e-mail updates. Got frustrated and returned the player. Found out later doing more research on the internet that this player is impossible to update. Piece of GARBAGE.

Was this review helpful? (3) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gonebiken
UT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love It
6/17/2009

Customer review by dfirestone

5.0 stars 6/17/2009 by dfirestone
by dfirestone

Easy to set up, picture is great. Even regular DVD's look great on it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dfirestone
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great value for the price
8/12/2009

Customer review by Uvaengr

5.0 stars 8/12/2009 by Uvaengr
by Uvaengr

This Blue-ray disc player is a great value for the price. The picture and sound are crystal clear and even regular (non Blue-ray) discs look better than on a regular DVD player. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Uvaengr
Nags Head, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
not bad for the money
6/28/2009

Customer review by krtf

5.0 stars 6/28/2009 by krtf
by krtf

for the money this blueray player is great i will buy another one soon

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
krtf
humble tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good Product
8/23/2009

Customer review by rwray922

5.0 stars 8/23/2009 by rwray922
by rwray922

This item is well worth the money which was not much. A child can set it up in less than a minute. My DVDs play much better on this.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rwray922
Warsaw, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Picture
6/24/2009

Customer review by Tarheel2009

5.0 stars 6/24/2009 by Tarheel2009
by Tarheel2009

Easy to use. Excellent 1080 picture.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tarheel2009
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
great for entertainment
6/24/2009

Customer review by ppickles39

5.0 stars 6/24/2009 by ppickles39
by ppickles39

I bought the blue ray for my husband's birthday, we have both been very impressed w/ the picture & sound quality, the clarity is amazing & it is a joy to watch movies, doesn't matter if they are blue ray or not, they are all clear

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ppickles39
Elkton, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great player!
6/30/2009

Customer review by Harleyman48

5.0 stars 6/30/2009 by Harleyman48
by Harleyman48

This is a really good player for the price. The picture quality is excellent. I would have liked it if they had a fiber optic hook-up for the sound instead of just the coaxial. The one thing that is not shown in the ad is that this player comes with a FREE 6ft. HDMI cable included in the box!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Harleyman48
Saint Joseph, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Blu Ray Value!
5/3/2009

Customer review by MomofDesi

5.0 stars 5/3/2009 by MomofDesi
by MomofDesi

I brought this Blu-ray player for my daughter. She is 15, and it only took her about 5 minutes to hook it up! I hear her bragging about the picture quality, and I know she knows what she is talking about because she is truely a Tekkie! Thanks for a great player and great value Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MomofDesi
WORTHINGTON, OHIO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
FINE PRODUCT
5/4/2009

Customer review by CRAIGML

5.0 stars 5/4/2009 by CRAIGML
by CRAIGML

EXCEEDS ALL EXPECTATIONS! GREAT VALUE AND PERFORMANCE!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CRAIGML
CLOVIS, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does what they advertise
7/5/2009

Customer review by jftenter

5.0 stars 7/5/2009 by jftenter
by jftenter

The system performs very well it has a very good output and is a great value, including a HDMI cable.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jftenter
Coldspring, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews