Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 127 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

127 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

127 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
94
4 stars
27
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 stars
0
1-20 of 75 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 75 total reviews
1-20 of 75 reviews
Definite Buy
10/1/2009

Customer review by RedComet0

5.0 stars 10/1/2009 by RedComet0
by RedComet0

Its about time we got a good halo game. I loved Halo 1's more tactical approach to game play and how you needed to play it safe and the fact that health is limited as are supplies. Halo 3 ODST brings you back to that formula expect you are not a SPARTAN-II super solder. You are an Orbital Drop Shock Trooper, the best of the best out of the UNSC Marine Corps. The game takes place during the time line of Halo 2. You are "The Rookie" a survivor of a Marine detachment that was nearly annihilated. You are transferred to the squad of Gunnery Sergeant Eddie Buck who is in charge of an ODST squad. You are supposed ot take over the carrier carrying the Prophet of Regret but, just liek in Halo 2, the carrier goes into slipspace before you can land on it and it sends all of your squad, plus you out of control. You wake up 6 hours after your drop suspended above the city streets, your SOEIV pod buried in the side of a building. Your goal now is to find out where your squad is and link up with them. The city of New Mombasa is open ended and you can take multiple approaches to a patrol of Covenant, you can sneak by or you can snipe them out or engage them upfront. But, whatever you do be careful as you are very vulnerable to damage and can die with a few hits. Which his why you have a Stamina/Health system. Stamina is like shields in the fact that you can resist damage for a short period of time. The redder the edges of your screen the less stamina you have. You also have an audio clue your stamina is low when you hear your character breathing heavily and emitting sounds of pain and injury. This is much more immersive compared to a SPARTAN who are generally mute. After stamina is depleted you have a health bar at the top of the screen that shows how much base health you have left before you die. If you avoid damage for a while your character will recover their stamina. The game play goes as this: The Rookie finds clues to his squad and when you find the clue you play as that squad member in a flashback which takes place before you awake in your pod. I've completed the game on Heroic and its a great experience to play as a normal soldier than a semi god SPARTAN-II. The game also comes with a new game mode called Firefight. You are an ODST squad and you have to survive against endless waves of Covenant until you and your squad of up to 3 friends are all KIA. You start with 7 Lives and you get more at the end of a Round. The wave system goes like this 5 waves per round 3 rounds per set. You have skulls that turn on during the game that will make killing your enemies much harder. Its a great experience and I love the mode i play at least 3 firefight games a day. The game comes with a second disc that contains Halo 3's Multiplayer mode with one difference. Every Halo 3 map ever released is on this disc. You can play people online who just have the Halo 3 disc and not the ODST one. All of your saved films, maps and pictures transfer. You still have the forge and theater options. All in all this is a well made game. Campaign is a little short but, this is well done considering they didn't have a lot of time to do this in. To me, this is worth paying full price for and I pre-ordered it and got it the day it came out. Please consider this review and i have played the game thoroughly and thought it was a good experience who knows? maybe you will agree.

Was this review helpful? (103) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RedComet0
Hinckley, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
if you like halo3 you like this
10/18/2009

Customer review by topockkimmy

5.0 stars 10/18/2009 by topockkimmy
by topockkimmy

I bought this for my fiance and he love it he plays when he gets the chance too. Basically if you like halo3 you will enjoy this game as well

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
topockkimmy
topock,az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
HALO 3 ODST
4/1/2009

Customer review by BUNGIEstaff

4.0 stars 4/1/2009 by BUNGIEstaff
by BUNGIEstaff

This product is pretty exciting. The whole team likes it. We have put a whole lot of detail into the first person shooter. Um you don't play as master chief so you will have to watch your back when you try to run right into a fight just like you would have if you were master chief. The weapons are almost the same as halo 3 except you have a different rifle when you start because you're an odst and you don't have all of the weapons that would have been in master chie'f arsenal.

Was this review helpful? (31) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BUNGIEstaff
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
ODST = Super game, value, fun!!!
10/17/2009

Customer review by BigCG

5.0 stars 10/17/2009 by BigCG
by BigCG

I got ODST from walmart.com for a steal, plus an additional $10 e-gift card. I had waited to buy any maps in Halo 3. This disc set includes them all. Thats a bargain on a stellar scale. I have to switch disks now to access the Mythic maps but its no big deal. Some have complained about gameplay in campaign mode, but I found it quite fun and invlving as you play the different trooper characters. The maps range from eerie to wide open mayhem. Firefight is full on intense target practice weapon management schooling. Learn fast or "get schooled". :) Overall this turned out to be a killer deal, and a game that will be in the 360 for some time.

Was this review helpful? (10) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigCG
CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
good product
7/30/2010

Customer review by wvtrashman

5.0 stars 7/30/2010 by wvtrashman
by wvtrashman

This is a fun game for the money. The only down fall is shipping. It took two week to get this game.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wvtrashman
Winfield
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great value comes with 2 disk for multi player and
12/30/2011

Customer review by ladywithtwins

5.0 stars 12/30/2011 by ladywithtwins
by ladywithtwins

game mode

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ladywithtwins
Marysville,ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wow .........then ehhh its okay
1/6/2011

Customer review by Gavrock

2.0 stars 1/6/2011 by Gavrock
by Gavrock

Halo 3 Odst was a good game and exciting at the beginning but when you start playing in the city you can easily get lost plus the fact you have to pull out your map HUD everytime you try to get to a clue is really annoying the only reason it was worth while was the content it gave you to try the REACH BETA and Firefight the game itself isnt bad the running around in circles to find the objectives is terrible. I was hoping for better in the combat you get no shields only stamina which requires health kits to replenish. Graphics are nice though.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gavrock
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
He loves it
10/24/2009

Customer review by faithml

5.0 stars 10/24/2009 by faithml
by faithml

My son rented this game first to see if it was as good as the regular Halo and he said it was better. It's been a winner for him and his friends.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
faithml
Oak Harbor, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great Game !
10/26/2009

Customer review by Qyetstorm

5.0 stars 10/26/2009 by Qyetstorm
by Qyetstorm

It only took 4 days to receive this item and I went all out on it. Gameplay stays true to the Halo series but with some differences that makes this game unique. I really liked the fact that you can take on the role of each of the units of a ODST squad, and see their side of the story. I cant wait for more sequels or continuations of the Halo Universe. Overall, great graphics, gameplay, and soundtrack brings this game to life. Id highly recommend this product to anyone thinking about purchasing this game. I hope you enjoy it as well as I did :D

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Qyetstorm
Saipan, MP
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
odst
10/30/2009

Customer review by bouake

5.0 stars 10/30/2009 by bouake
by bouake

This is a great game; great graphics. It was a great value too, through walmart.com; site to store was convenient and fast.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bouake
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good buy
10/19/2009

Customer review by loulou70

4.0 stars 10/19/2009 by loulou70
by loulou70

bought this for my teenage son he really likes it...

Was this review helpful? (2) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
loulou70
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
awesome and great price
10/17/2013

Customer review by cowboy1082

5.0 stars 10/17/2013 by cowboy1082
by cowboy1082

Great game

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cowboy1082
oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Fun little game
7/14/2014

Customer review by ImpulseBuyer2013

4.0 stars 7/14/2014 by ImpulseBuyer2013
by ImpulseBuyer2013

And by little I mean it's pretty short. It's fun to play though, especially the co-op. My kids and I have a blast killing off those evil aliens together.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ImpulseBuyer2013
New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Dont Know Much About It
6/24/2009

Customer review by Cobra2054

4.0 stars 6/24/2009 by Cobra2054
by Cobra2054

It sould be good after all halo3 wasn't so bad. i can't promise anything about it. then again the original is always the best. I have my doubts but the story line looks interesting. Sorry man ODST is not for the PS3. its a MICROSOFT product lol, not SONY

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cobra2054
*210*_T.X.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Lacking Multiplayer
10/8/2009

Customer review by Bradleygene03

3.0 stars 10/8/2009 by Bradleygene03
by Bradleygene03

If you are looking for multiplayer fun, then no way buy this game. It's Halo 3 ODST with all of the Halo 3 maps...stupid. The only thing good is the campaign, but you play that once and then you want to do more with the game..you know second option...and the game just lacks multiplayer completely. It's not fun.

Was this review helpful? (1) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bradleygene03
Bloomington, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
AN AWESOME GAME
6/3/2009

Customer review by GAMEFREEK

5.0 stars 6/3/2009 by GAMEFREEK
by GAMEFREEK

this is a very good game about the time between Halo 2 and 3. as master cheif is away on one of the halo rings, lots of ODST troops fall in drop pods fireing down towards earth. will you save the earth?

Was this review helpful? (1) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GAMEFREEK
Garden Plain, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
awsome
5/3/2009

Customer review by portisfan26

5.0 stars 5/3/2009 by portisfan26
by portisfan26

halo is my favorite game ever i have limited EDITION FOR every one. i have every one halo 2 3 and halo wars. i cant wait for odst tell bungie thier awsome, portisfan26

Was this review helpful? (4) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
portisfan26
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The game isn't even out yet.
4/8/2009

Customer review by ODST

5.0 stars 4/8/2009 by ODST
by ODST

How can you give a review for a game that isn't out yet? Sure I know I gave this game 5 stars and I probably won't be dissapointed when it does get released so the 5 stars will retain its position. When you said you have a different rifle, look more closely- its a silenced smg. And yes you should and or will have the same weapons considering the covenant are invading earth and you, the odst, are dropped in there in hopes of stopping them, which means that you will probably be able to pick up a plasma rifle or a needler.

Was this review helpful? (7) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ODST
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
halo 3 odst is awsome!
6/13/2009

Customer review by fanofhaloseries

5.0 stars 6/13/2009 by fanofhaloseries
by fanofhaloseries

Event thow that time isnt right its supposed to come out 9/22/09 it sounds so cool that your a odst(orbital drop shock trooper) and its a couple weeks before the actions of halo 3 and in what from i heard master chief is not ivent included.

Was this review helpful? (1) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fanofhaloseries
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Halo 3 : ODST
10/27/2009

Customer review by Live4fishing

2.0 stars 10/27/2009 by Live4fishing
by Live4fishing

Overpriced and the original game Halo3 still is better. They need to spend more time on improving the graphics to match the original game.

Was this review helpful? (1) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Live4fishing
Fairport,NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 75 total reviews
1-20 of 75 reviews