Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 128 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

128 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

128 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
95
4 stars
27
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 stars
0
1-20 of 76 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 76 total reviews
1-20 of 76 reviews
ODST = Super game, value, fun!!!
10/17/2009

Customer review by BigCG

5.0 stars 10/17/2009 by BigCG
by BigCG

I got ODST from walmart.com for a steal, plus an additional $10 e-gift card. I had waited to buy any maps in Halo 3. This disc set includes them all. Thats a bargain on a stellar scale. I have to switch disks now to access the Mythic maps but its no big deal. Some have complained about gameplay in campaign mode, but I found it quite fun and invlving as you play the different trooper characters. The maps range from eerie to wide open mayhem. Firefight is full on intense target practice weapon management schooling. Learn fast or "get schooled". :) Overall this turned out to be a killer deal, and a game that will be in the 360 for some time.

Was this review helpful? (10) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigCG
CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Definite Buy
10/1/2009

Customer review by RedComet0

5.0 stars 10/1/2009 by RedComet0
by RedComet0

Its about time we got a good halo game. I loved Halo 1's more tactical approach to game play and how you needed to play it safe and the fact that health is limited as are supplies. Halo 3 ODST brings you back to that formula expect you are not a SPARTAN-II super solder. You are an Orbital Drop Shock Trooper, the best of the best out of the UNSC Marine Corps. The game takes place during the time line of Halo 2. You are "The Rookie" a survivor of a Marine detachment that was nearly annihilated. You are transferred to the squad of Gunnery Sergeant Eddie Buck who is in charge of an ODST squad. You are supposed ot take over the carrier carrying the Prophet of Regret but, just liek in Halo 2, the carrier goes into slipspace before you can land on it and it sends all of your squad, plus you out of control. You wake up 6 hours after your drop suspended above the city streets, your SOEIV pod buried in the side of a building. Your goal now is to find out where your squad is and link up with them. The city of New Mombasa is open ended and you can take multiple approaches to a patrol of Covenant, you can sneak by or you can snipe them out or engage them upfront. But, whatever you do be careful as you are very vulnerable to damage and can die with a few hits. Which his why you have a Stamina/Health system. Stamina is like shields in the fact that you can resist damage for a short period of time. The redder the edges of your screen the less stamina you have. You also have an audio clue your stamina is low when you hear your character breathing heavily and emitting sounds of pain and injury. This is much more immersive compared to a SPARTAN who are generally mute. After stamina is depleted you have a health bar at the top of the screen that shows how much base health you have left before you die. If you avoid damage for a while your character will recover their stamina. The game play goes as this: The Rookie finds clues to his squad and when you find the clue you play as that squad member in a flashback which takes place before you awake in your pod. I've completed the game on Heroic and its a great experience to play as a normal soldier than a semi god SPARTAN-II. The game also comes with a new game mode called Firefight. You are an ODST squad and you have to survive against endless waves of Covenant until you and your squad of up to 3 friends are all KIA. You start with 7 Lives and you get more at the end of a Round. The wave system goes like this 5 waves per round 3 rounds per set. You have skulls that turn on during the game that will make killing your enemies much harder. Its a great experience and I love the mode i play at least 3 firefight games a day. The game comes with a second disc that contains Halo 3's Multiplayer mode with one difference. Every Halo 3 map ever released is on this disc. You can play people online who just have the Halo 3 disc and not the ODST one. All of your saved films, maps and pictures transfer. You still have the forge and theater options. All in all this is a well made game. Campaign is a little short but, this is well done considering they didn't have a lot of time to do this in. To me, this is worth paying full price for and I pre-ordered it and got it the day it came out. Please consider this review and i have played the game thoroughly and thought it was a good experience who knows? maybe you will agree.

Was this review helpful? (104) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RedComet0
Hinckley, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
if you like halo3 you like this
10/18/2009

Customer review by topockkimmy

5.0 stars 10/18/2009 by topockkimmy
by topockkimmy

I bought this for my fiance and he love it he plays when he gets the chance too. Basically if you like halo3 you will enjoy this game as well

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
topockkimmy
topock,az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
HALO 3 ODST
4/1/2009

Customer review by BUNGIEstaff

4.0 stars 4/1/2009 by BUNGIEstaff
by BUNGIEstaff

This product is pretty exciting. The whole team likes it. We have put a whole lot of detail into the first person shooter. Um you don't play as master chief so you will have to watch your back when you try to run right into a fight just like you would have if you were master chief. The weapons are almost the same as halo 3 except you have a different rifle when you start because you're an odst and you don't have all of the weapons that would have been in master chie'f arsenal.

Was this review helpful? (31) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BUNGIEstaff
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good product
7/30/2010

Customer review by wvtrashman

5.0 stars 7/30/2010 by wvtrashman
by wvtrashman

This is a fun game for the money. The only down fall is shipping. It took two week to get this game.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wvtrashman
Winfield
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great value comes with 2 disk for multi player and
12/30/2011

Customer review by ladywithtwins

5.0 stars 12/30/2011 by ladywithtwins
by ladywithtwins

game mode

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ladywithtwins
Marysville,ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wow .........then ehhh its okay
1/6/2011

Customer review by Gavrock

2.0 stars 1/6/2011 by Gavrock
by Gavrock

Halo 3 Odst was a good game and exciting at the beginning but when you start playing in the city you can easily get lost plus the fact you have to pull out your map HUD everytime you try to get to a clue is really annoying the only reason it was worth while was the content it gave you to try the REACH BETA and Firefight the game itself isnt bad the running around in circles to find the objectives is terrible. I was hoping for better in the combat you get no shields only stamina which requires health kits to replenish. Graphics are nice though.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gavrock
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Above and Beyond Halo
10/17/2009

Customer review by Chowskers

5.0 stars 10/17/2009 by Chowskers
by Chowskers

I'm not gonna lie, i wasn't sold right away on Halos newest installment in its legendary series. I was skeptical as to the freshness that would be presented in Halo: ODST, but after taking the leap of faith and buying the game, I'll tell you i couldn't be more pleased. The cut scenes are epic, background music totally flip on its head, and the feel of realism is there every step of the way. Over all its a different animal than the traditional, 'Master Chief Smash' feeling i got from the previous halo games. There is more thinking and team work as you get farther up in difficulty in Halo: ODST than ive seen previously from the series. Firefight mode could use some tweaking i think, but the idea, im assuming has been taken from Gears of War's 'Horde' mode, is sound and very appealing but without others to play along side you, that is a larger portion of the online community, it loses its 'zing' after the first hour or so of play. However, the campaign is sound, not too long however, which was a slight disappointment but still, one i have had no problem playing through more than once. All and all a class "A" game, and gets 5 stars in my book.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chowskers
Mukwonago, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Game !
10/26/2009

Customer review by Qyetstorm

5.0 stars 10/26/2009 by Qyetstorm
by Qyetstorm

It only took 4 days to receive this item and I went all out on it. Gameplay stays true to the Halo series but with some differences that makes this game unique. I really liked the fact that you can take on the role of each of the units of a ODST squad, and see their side of the story. I cant wait for more sequels or continuations of the Halo Universe. Overall, great graphics, gameplay, and soundtrack brings this game to life. Id highly recommend this product to anyone thinking about purchasing this game. I hope you enjoy it as well as I did :D

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Qyetstorm
Saipan, MP
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
He loves it
10/24/2009

Customer review by faithml

5.0 stars 10/24/2009 by faithml
by faithml

My son rented this game first to see if it was as good as the regular Halo and he said it was better. It's been a winner for him and his friends.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
faithml
Oak Harbor, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great
1/7/2016

Customer review by justlooking1

5.0 stars 1/7/2016 by justlooking1
by justlooking1

Kid loves it

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
justlooking1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The game isn't even out yet.
4/8/2009

Customer review by ODST

5.0 stars 4/8/2009 by ODST
by ODST

How can you give a review for a game that isn't out yet? Sure I know I gave this game 5 stars and I probably won't be dissapointed when it does get released so the 5 stars will retain its position. When you said you have a different rifle, look more closely- its a silenced smg. And yes you should and or will have the same weapons considering the covenant are invading earth and you, the odst, are dropped in there in hopes of stopping them, which means that you will probably be able to pick up a plasma rifle or a needler.

Was this review helpful? (7) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ODST
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
If you like Co-op.
7/28/2010

Customer review by Bizan

4.0 stars 7/28/2010 by Bizan
by Bizan

This game basically is a co-operative installment of Halo 3 based on other characters (sorry, no Master Chief in this one). The only reason for this game is if you like the "Horde" mode from Gears of War 2 as they call it "Firefight" in this one, where you and up to 3 of your buddies take on wave after wave of enemy AI. The only downside is you can't setup public games and have randoms join as you can only invite friends. You won't need your old Halo 3 disc for MP anymore unless you want to do the co-op in the original game as the ODST disc comes with all the maps on it already. If you already purchased Halo 3 map packs then the value of this game isn't that great unless you really love to co-op a lot.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bizan
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great
10/20/2009

Customer review by thegoods

5.0 stars 10/20/2009 by thegoods
by thegoods

this was a great game. it wasn't quite as good as the other halos. its pretty hard to do that. but this is a must buy for any halo fan. it has a different experience than the other games. and it is fun to play as the odst's. and the new guns that were added were a highlight of the game. it had a decently long campaign with a story that made you never want to set the controller down and keep playing. and the new firefight option is a great multiplayer. a great addition. the only bad thing about it is that only 2 people can play on an 360 at a time, if you want more people than that you'll need to go online.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thegoods
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
HALO 3: ODST is best in series yet!
5/20/2010

Customer review by dmncmrtn

5.0 stars 5/20/2010 by dmncmrtn
by dmncmrtn

As a loyal fan of Halo since the debut release in 2003, I must admit that I was skeptical about a prequel that didn't feature our beloved main character but I was quickly set at ease within the intro of ODST and will recommend this game to anyone and everyone! As an added bonus, I was able to play the multi-player beta of Halo: Reach via XBox Live will a special code from purchasing this game. I played up until a few moments ago when the beta was closed and now time to count months, weeks, days until the release of this one...which I've already preorded from Wal-Mart and got a $20 gift card...YES!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dmncmrtn
Quantico, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
awsome
5/3/2009

Customer review by portisfan26

5.0 stars 5/3/2009 by portisfan26
by portisfan26

halo is my favorite game ever i have limited EDITION FOR every one. i have every one halo 2 3 and halo wars. i cant wait for odst tell bungie thier awsome, portisfan26

Was this review helpful? (4) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
portisfan26
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
odst
10/30/2009

Customer review by bouake

5.0 stars 10/30/2009 by bouake
by bouake

This is a great game; great graphics. It was a great value too, through walmart.com; site to store was convenient and fast.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bouake
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gamers game
10/5/2009

Customer review by Shops4boys

4.0 stars 10/5/2009 by Shops4boys
by Shops4boys

Boys love it especially the fire fight and campaign. The graphics are great. Loves that we preordered and plays as Sgt. Johnson. The boys don't love that it is still not too smooth to hook up with others - it came with mythic map pack but the boys still feel like something is missing. If you don't have any friends hooked up, its not that great to play alone. The phases are engineered pretty long, compared to Halo 3, where you just keep on moving forward and there is nothing benefiting you by going back. My boys own both Halo 3 and ODS and prefer to Halo 3 alone and ODS with friends.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shops4boys
Hoffman Estates, Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good buy
10/19/2009

Customer review by loulou70

4.0 stars 10/19/2009 by loulou70
by loulou70

bought this for my teenage son he really likes it...

Was this review helpful? (2) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
loulou70
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Fun, but not worth the money
10/9/2009

Customer review by XBox360lovR

4.0 stars 10/9/2009 by XBox360lovR
by XBox360lovR

I expected more from this game...I finished it in one weekend and was disappointed that it was so short and that there isn't much to the extra stuff. The four man battle royal is okay but must have friends signed on and have ODST. I am not saying it wasn't fun...it was, but not worth the $59 original price. Weapons are the same except for initial UZI type rifle. The only new enemy is the Hunter and thats easy to beeat with sticky grenades. Anyways, hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
XBox360lovR
Boise, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 76 total reviews
1-20 of 76 reviews