Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 123 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

123 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

123 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
89
4 stars
22
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 stars
6
1-20 of 106 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 106 total reviews
1-20 of 106 reviews
An excellent improvement
4/23/2009

Customer review by Viper90

5.0 stars 4/23/2009 by Viper90
by Viper90

This little laptop works exactly the way I wanted it to. I use it primarily to surf the net. Although I haven't taken full advantage of its other features like the built in webcam, I would say it's pretty well equipped. The fact it doesn't have a DVD/CD drive didn't really matter that much to me, although it IS a fairly important component for some people. Being required to buy an external drive may be a little inconvenient. With no PS/2 port for your mouse, you're forced to get a more expensive USB one. Therefore, I have to take away a star for value. I do understand that there is only so much you can put on a mini laptop though. The screen is also fairly reflective, almost like a mirror at times. Other than those imperfections, this laptop performs well considering all of the things it comes pre-loaded with. A 1.6 Ghz processor may not seem that fast, but it runs smoothly and I have only had IE freeze up on me twice in the last few months. (that was with running more than one instance) *I was having trouble envisioning how big the screen was on it, so if anyone else has the same problem I did, I've included a picture.* The screen on this one is definitely much better than the smaller 8.9" model. I'm glad Acer came out with this improved one.

Was this review helpful? (70) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Viper90
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Its a rocker
7/24/2009

Customer review by CedarparkScott

5.0 stars 7/24/2009 by CedarparkScott
by CedarparkScott

First I want to say I also have a 17in.Dual Core Gateway. And I love it. This little 10in. Acer goes along great with my other.Just wish it had Vista on it.But with XP I am having no problems at all. I did bump the memory to 2 gigs of 677 bus speed` and it does fine.And it runs great.I did buy a DVD/CD Burner a Acer in fact. I also got a W/D Passport 250 gig. I have both laptops backed up on it. After converting it to NTFS. I spend more time on this little acer than I do on the big one.I have done Cam to Cam via AIM and the video was very good. Bumping it to 2 gig made a big difference.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CedarparkScott
Cedar Park Tx.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Speedy little thing...
7/10/2009

Customer review by Spicey571

5.0 stars 7/10/2009 by Spicey571
by Spicey571

I was having to go to the hospital daily for antibiotic drips. I hauled my 17" and it was a chore not a pleasure! The Acer worked perfect. no trouble connecting at the hospital. It is so light that watching movies or listening to music was a treat. I multi task and it handled my abuse. The built in web cam had the clearest image display I have seen yet. If I wasn't showing my age and having trouble with smaller or normal print for anyone else I would have loved the unit. But I find I really need larger screens. I know! I zoomed in... and could see better ...but I don't want to have to scroll all over the page either. For trips. outings, or just want to be free to move around the house this little ACER is 5 stars! Really a great price and don't forget a really decent hard drive too!

Was this review helpful? (59) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Spicey571
Greenville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A Good Little Thing
5/21/2009

Customer review by CntryCottge

5.0 stars 5/21/2009 by CntryCottge
by CntryCottge

I purchased the Acer so I could check my email while traveling in our RV. It worked out really well. I'm a touch typist so the keyboard is a bit small and flat for me, so I bought a wireless mouse w/keyboard and it works just fine.

Was this review helpful? (45) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CntryCottge
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
BAD TOY
10/11/2009

Customer review by tnboots

1.0 stars 10/11/2009 by tnboots
by tnboots

My wife and I bought each of our children one back in October of 2008 to be given to them for Christmas. The product comes with a one year warranty and 2 weeks before the warranty ran out,one of the two computers died.Acer has specific way of shipping it back to the repair shop and even though it wasn't shipped to us in this precise safe manner when we bought it,they still requested it to be shipped this way.When we carried it to the UPS store the 2 clerks standing behind the counter looked at each other and laughed.We thought we had did something amusing and wasn't aware of it.They told us exactly what kind of problems we were experiencing with the computer and told us how it had to be shipped according to Acers' warranty.They knew this for they had sent many back to Acer in the past few months.We are from a small area so that is saying alot.Go and purchase from a well known manufacturer and not one like Acer.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tnboots
Bon Aqua,TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Value!
6/20/2009

Customer review by M8RED

5.0 stars 6/20/2009 by M8RED
by M8RED

I would highly recommend this product. I use it every day. Better than a normal laptop. There are a lot of netbooks on this website and others but this one is the best for the money. A MUST BUY!

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
M8RED
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
worth the difference.........
5/7/2009

Customer review by Pestilence88

5.0 stars 5/7/2009 by Pestilence88
by Pestilence88

$50 more than the in-store stock unit and you double the HD, double the battery, add 2" to the screen and it comes in red....

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pestilence88
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very practical and perfect size
6/15/2009

Customer review by Angie8888888888

5.0 stars 6/15/2009 by Angie8888888888
by Angie8888888888

I love my mini laptop. I carry with me everyday. It's not too big and it's not too small. The main purpose of this laptop was so that I could work on my school work from anywhere and it is perfect. I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Angie8888888888
Miami.FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
battery
8/5/2009

Customer review by vetinfuture

5.0 stars 8/5/2009 by vetinfuture
by vetinfuture

i think that this netbook is a great little computer for traveling light and easy. as a college student who is commuting i found this to be a good buy for that purpose. the only thing that i regret is that it does not have instruction for prolonging battery life. i firt got it with 5 hours and 30 minutes of battery life. in 2 weeks it is down to 4 hours and 30 minutes. i wish it would tell you in the instruction manual to let the battery die first and then charge it but alas it doesn't and i have lost an hour of precious battery life just like in my big laptop which is down to 10 minutes. The key board takes a little getting used to, the back space button is a little awkward and it is missing the home and end buttons as seperate entities instead they are a Fn function. Its a great little computer i can't wait to start using it in my daily life at college when it starts!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vetinfuture
Cobleskill, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Wonderful!
5/2/2009

Customer review by PirateRose

5.0 stars 5/2/2009 by PirateRose
by PirateRose
Walmart associate

I got this mini-laptop for two things: Homework and for an ultra fancy journal/ novel writing notebook. I love to write stories. Having things typed up on this laptop makes it easier to transfer to my home PC vs handwriting it in a paper notebook then rewriting it to my home PC. I bring it to work with me and on my breaks and lunches, I whip it out and get some homework done so I'm not up to 1am getting it done. This is just the basic of the basic when it comes to laptops. It is fast, runs smoothly, and the mouse pad is responsive. I'm still getting used to the mouse pad and my only problem is remembering that it's right underneath the space bar. Otherwise, the keys are perfectly spaced and comfortable for my hands, the biggest reason I ordered a 10" online over the 8" that is offered at the store. Finally, the red color is absolutely beautiful in person.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PirateRose
CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
What you really need in a netbook
9/22/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 9/22/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The Acer One netbook comes with Windows XP preinstalled. This affords it a huge advantage over other netbooks which come with Windows Vista, I benchmarked this netbook against an HP notebook computer costing 4 times the price, with a processor nearly twice as fast, but with Vista. The Acer One outperformed the HP in all my testing. The one drawback is the vertical resolution of the screen of only 600 pixels. Many websites, such as USOpen.org create windows which are 768 pixels high, and these will not display properly on the small screen. This can be overcome by resetting the screen resolution to 1024 X 768, which then allows you to scroll down to see the remainder of the picture by bringing the cursor down to the bottom edge of the display. Acer could increase the value of this machine by NOT including bloat software, such as Norton Antivirus, which tend to slow down any computer to a crawl. When I received this netbook, I un-installed everything except the operating system, which made a big difference in performance. Those who review this machine and claim poor speed probably still have the bloat software installed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Flint, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A FANTASTIC LITTLE COMPUTER
3/31/2009

Customer review by DavidMnSF

5.0 stars 3/31/2009 by DavidMnSF
by DavidMnSF

Hey, I recommend this little gem to all my friends and co-workers. I own both the 8.9" Acer in Bronze and this 10.1" in Ruby Red. I like this newer version better because it's so easy to upgrade, and UPGRADE I DID. With hardly any effort at all, I switched out the 1GB of RAM for 2GB (Crucial 2GB 667 Mhz CT25664AC667 DDR2 200-Pin SODIMM card approximately $25.00), then slapped in a humongous 500GB Western Digital (Western Digital 500GB Scorpio Blue 2.5 SATA II Laptop Hard Drive, approx $99.00). Just a tiny phillip's screwdriver is all that's needed for the exchange of physical components in the bottom of the case. You need to download the Acronis TRUE IMAGE Home Edition trial (or similar cloning/backup software) to the smaller drive and clone the original drive to the new drive before you swap them, but believe me, it's simple and my new configuration works like a dream!!! I prefer the slimmer suave 3cell battery and bought a couple of those online for about $26.00 a piece. (After all, who in the world would ever stare at such a small computer for more than 1-1/2 hours, the avg use of the 3-cell before recharging - without taking a break - and the batteries pop in and out so very easily) No worry, the 6-cell battery charger seems to be working fine with them. So for under $500, I have one RUBY RED 500GB, 2GB ram, video taking-chatting, movie/song playing, office-working behemoth I love and carry it with me on-the-go everywhere. I own a MACBOOK 13" Intel, and while I love it too, believe me, this little baby is every bit as powerful, only in a miniPC package and a whole lot lighter. And if you wanna top it off with a nice genuince leather case (3 different colors, smooth or crocodile) you can alway find them online to fit this little baby too.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DavidMnSF
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
perfect little computer
4/18/2009

Customer review by peterhouse

5.0 stars 4/18/2009 by peterhouse
by peterhouse

Overall this computer is fantastic. I originally purchased the acer 8.9 and after about 2 weeks returned it due to some internal problems. I was reluctant to purchase another acer, but due to all the great reviews took a chance. I am so happy I did. This little thing does just what you need. You can not beat it for the price either. My entire family enjoys it (for a secondary computer to take along). I say if you want a great mini computer then this is the one for you. My mother has the asus which is a bit more in price and after using hers I see no differance in the asus vs. acer (other then price) I do have to say if you are deciding between the 8.9 and the 10 inch to go with the 10 inch because the keys are not so "compact" and the screen is just big enough to view comfortably. All in all this is a GREAT BUY!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
peterhouse
Fulton, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Keyboard is Frustrating
7/31/2009

Customer review by WriteGuy

3.0 stars 7/31/2009 by WriteGuy
by WriteGuy

This netbook is good in many ways but also bad in one BIG way: the keys on the keyboard are too "loose." Meaning, when I type "a" I will get "aaa." I constantly have to backspace to get rid of the extra letters which can get frustrating. I've told Acer about this (they haven't responded). In all candor, I won't be buying another one of these netbooks.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WriteGuy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
Exactly What I Needed, Wanted and Expected
4/20/2009

Customer review by GolfGirl

5.0 stars 4/20/2009 by GolfGirl
by GolfGirl

This computer is terrific for the following reasons: 1) Small enough to fit in my regular briefcase or some of my purses 2) Very light 3) Very easy to configure with my home's wireless Internet 4) Has connected easily to Internet for me while traveling This computer has definitely satisfied all of my computing needs. Just be aware that the screen is significantly smaller than other laptops and viewing some web sites requires more mouse manipulation to see the entire page. I got this computer in red as it stands out from all the other computers in the Security bins at the airport. Plus, I was just sick of black laptops! I also use this at home - in bed, while watching TV - and it connects wirelessly just fine, even with my other laptop also connected wirelessly. I would absolutely recommended it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GolfGirl
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wanted More
10/8/2009

Customer review by 2longhunt

4.0 stars 10/8/2009 by 2longhunt
by 2longhunt

Battery life that is. Mine came with the 4400 mAh battery and at best, even after I've adjusted the power settings, screen brightness and such, I still can only get 4 hrs 10 mins. out of the battery life. I had wanted to at least to be able to get 5-6 hrs. I was not impressed with the speed working offline. I have another computer with the same 1GB memory and it flies but this one seems quite a bit slower especially at start up and shutdown and I haven't even loaded anything on it yet! Other than that, it seems to be a nice little computer. I bought an external DVD burner which I had to take back and exchange before I got one that would work. I like the size of screen and it's weight. I'm not a laptop type of person but I had no problem with the smaller keyboard. It responded well. My speakers seem ok and you can't even hear the cooling fan running. So my only complaint is the battery life and the speed. I wish it could be upgraded another 1GB. I also have seen a number of similar or better equipped netbooks that are lower in price. We'll see how it performs once I get some more programs loaded. My expectations were not totally met but it seems to be a pretty good computer thus far.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2longhunt
Central Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very good netbook but...
5/25/2009

Customer review by Joseph77584

3.0 stars 5/25/2009 by Joseph77584
by Joseph77584

Netbooks have two major advantages over regular laptops: light weight and longer battery life. Disappointingly this netbook falls short on the battery life. While most expert reviews said that the 6-cell battery pack would provide more than six hours of usage per charge, the reviews were based upon an extended 5800mAh battery. The netbook that I received contained a 4400mAh battery that would last about four hours under normal use, which is not good enough. Otherwise, this is a very good netbook with excellent display and attractive looks. Its keyboard is large enough for typing. The eRecovery image backup software, a re-brand of Ghost, is effective and user friendly. It provides both the full and incremental backup options.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Joseph77584
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great value for the money.
5/12/2009

Customer review by PhillyFanInDaCuse

5.0 stars 5/12/2009 by PhillyFanInDaCuse
by PhillyFanInDaCuse

Bottom line: Functional, stylish, and a bargain. It is such a joy to carry around a computer the size of a book and not have to lug around a traditional laptop. The 10.1" screen is a perfect size with great clarity and reasonable performance. This model can easily be upgraded to have 2GB of memory from the standard 1GB that comes with it. Earlier models were a nightmare to upgrade. The 160GB drive is great and I partitioned mine so I can load Vista (comes with XP) and Linux (Ubuntu does not totally work without tweaks but Fedora does). The finish of this looks great. As one user put it the red is more like a brick red or the red that Motorola uses on the Razor. It does not leave fingerprints as bad as the Asus EEE. The keyboard works pretty well and while it is not full size you can adjust to it fairly quickly. Battery life tends to be around 5 to 5.5 hours for my average use which is awesome. The newer Asus supposedly gets 9 hours but I rarely ever have to use it more than 5 hours and I'm a geek. The rest of the specs are nice: 3 USB, Giga network jack, and G wireless all work flawlessly (unless you're talking Linux and that is always up to the distribution if all the wireless works). Love my Acer One netbook and take it everywhere with me.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PhillyFanInDaCuse
Syracuse, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not too bad, really surprising
4/27/2009

Customer review by youranswerperson

4.0 stars 4/27/2009 by youranswerperson
by youranswerperson

Received product with out problems via apo delivery. Thank you Wal Mart for supporting the troops by offering delivery options for products like these. It is appreciated. On to the review. All machine features work as advertized. I was a little shocked with the keyboard size but once you adjust ........ well you just adjust. If you have large hands with thick fingers you may want to reconsider an external flex keyboard for typing long documents. The Screen does seem adequately bright but there is still room on the edges for a little bit more viewable area. The only other drawback on this machine is the lack of a bluetooth radio. I think that with the volume business that this retalier wields, they may have done a little better for the price. This machine is offrered under different names by different branded companies from what i can tell. Overall this machine does not disappoint and it does what a real portable machine is supposed to do. It offers great portability and super battery life. I have already removed all the bloatware and have ordered the larger ram ($19) and wd 500gb HD($99) from Newegg. I will also be researching for a way to load Ubuntu or another OP System. I am sure that given a little more time I will probably learn to love it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
youranswerperson
Coalition Base somewhere Iraq
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
3/26/2009

Customer review by msjenn

5.0 stars 3/26/2009 by msjenn
by msjenn

Just got my little machine today love it BUT I ordered the Red ,The color is not red its like a brick red color my cell phone is red and it's not close to red but a nice color that you wont wont see anywhere else, I returned my 8 inch to have the nice 10 inch. overall nice computer. would recommend.

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
msjenn
az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 106 total reviews
1-20 of 106 reviews