Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 123 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

123 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

123 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
89
4 stars
22
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 stars
6
1-20 of 106 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 106 total reviews
1-20 of 106 reviews
An excellent improvement
4/23/2009

Customer review by Viper90

5.0 stars 4/23/2009 by Viper90
by Viper90

This little laptop works exactly the way I wanted it to. I use it primarily to surf the net. Although I haven't taken full advantage of its other features like the built in webcam, I would say it's pretty well equipped. The fact it doesn't have a DVD/CD drive didn't really matter that much to me, although it IS a fairly important component for some people. Being required to buy an external drive may be a little inconvenient. With no PS/2 port for your mouse, you're forced to get a more expensive USB one. Therefore, I have to take away a star for value. I do understand that there is only so much you can put on a mini laptop though. The screen is also fairly reflective, almost like a mirror at times. Other than those imperfections, this laptop performs well considering all of the things it comes pre-loaded with. A 1.6 Ghz processor may not seem that fast, but it runs smoothly and I have only had IE freeze up on me twice in the last few months. (that was with running more than one instance) *I was having trouble envisioning how big the screen was on it, so if anyone else has the same problem I did, I've included a picture.* The screen on this one is definitely much better than the smaller 8.9" model. I'm glad Acer came out with this improved one.

Was this review helpful? (70) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Viper90
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Speedy little thing...
7/10/2009

Customer review by Spicey571

5.0 stars 7/10/2009 by Spicey571
by Spicey571

I was having to go to the hospital daily for antibiotic drips. I hauled my 17" and it was a chore not a pleasure! The Acer worked perfect. no trouble connecting at the hospital. It is so light that watching movies or listening to music was a treat. I multi task and it handled my abuse. The built in web cam had the clearest image display I have seen yet. If I wasn't showing my age and having trouble with smaller or normal print for anyone else I would have loved the unit. But I find I really need larger screens. I know! I zoomed in... and could see better ...but I don't want to have to scroll all over the page either. For trips. outings, or just want to be free to move around the house this little ACER is 5 stars! Really a great price and don't forget a really decent hard drive too!

Was this review helpful? (59) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Spicey571
Greenville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A Good Little Thing
5/21/2009

Customer review by CntryCottge

5.0 stars 5/21/2009 by CntryCottge
by CntryCottge

I purchased the Acer so I could check my email while traveling in our RV. It worked out really well. I'm a touch typist so the keyboard is a bit small and flat for me, so I bought a wireless mouse w/keyboard and it works just fine.

Was this review helpful? (45) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CntryCottge
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Value!
6/20/2009

Customer review by M8RED

5.0 stars 6/20/2009 by M8RED
by M8RED

I would highly recommend this product. I use it every day. Better than a normal laptop. There are a lot of netbooks on this website and others but this one is the best for the money. A MUST BUY!

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
M8RED
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
worth the difference.........
5/7/2009

Customer review by Pestilence88

5.0 stars 5/7/2009 by Pestilence88
by Pestilence88

$50 more than the in-store stock unit and you double the HD, double the battery, add 2" to the screen and it comes in red....

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pestilence88
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very practical and perfect size
6/15/2009

Customer review by Angie8888888888

5.0 stars 6/15/2009 by Angie8888888888
by Angie8888888888

I love my mini laptop. I carry with me everyday. It's not too big and it's not too small. The main purpose of this laptop was so that I could work on my school work from anywhere and it is perfect. I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Angie8888888888
Miami.FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Its a rocker
7/24/2009

Customer review by CedarparkScott

5.0 stars 7/24/2009 by CedarparkScott
by CedarparkScott

First I want to say I also have a 17in.Dual Core Gateway. And I love it. This little 10in. Acer goes along great with my other.Just wish it had Vista on it.But with XP I am having no problems at all. I did bump the memory to 2 gigs of 677 bus speed` and it does fine.And it runs great.I did buy a DVD/CD Burner a Acer in fact. I also got a W/D Passport 250 gig. I have both laptops backed up on it. After converting it to NTFS. I spend more time on this little acer than I do on the big one.I have done Cam to Cam via AIM and the video was very good. Bumping it to 2 gig made a big difference.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CedarparkScott
Cedar Park Tx.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A FANTASTIC LITTLE COMPUTER
3/31/2009

Customer review by DavidMnSF

5.0 stars 3/31/2009 by DavidMnSF
by DavidMnSF

Hey, I recommend this little gem to all my friends and co-workers. I own both the 8.9" Acer in Bronze and this 10.1" in Ruby Red. I like this newer version better because it's so easy to upgrade, and UPGRADE I DID. With hardly any effort at all, I switched out the 1GB of RAM for 2GB (Crucial 2GB 667 Mhz CT25664AC667 DDR2 200-Pin SODIMM card approximately $25.00), then slapped in a humongous 500GB Western Digital (Western Digital 500GB Scorpio Blue 2.5 SATA II Laptop Hard Drive, approx $99.00). Just a tiny phillip's screwdriver is all that's needed for the exchange of physical components in the bottom of the case. You need to download the Acronis TRUE IMAGE Home Edition trial (or similar cloning/backup software) to the smaller drive and clone the original drive to the new drive before you swap them, but believe me, it's simple and my new configuration works like a dream!!! I prefer the slimmer suave 3cell battery and bought a couple of those online for about $26.00 a piece. (After all, who in the world would ever stare at such a small computer for more than 1-1/2 hours, the avg use of the 3-cell before recharging - without taking a break - and the batteries pop in and out so very easily) No worry, the 6-cell battery charger seems to be working fine with them. So for under $500, I have one RUBY RED 500GB, 2GB ram, video taking-chatting, movie/song playing, office-working behemoth I love and carry it with me on-the-go everywhere. I own a MACBOOK 13" Intel, and while I love it too, believe me, this little baby is every bit as powerful, only in a miniPC package and a whole lot lighter. And if you wanna top it off with a nice genuince leather case (3 different colors, smooth or crocodile) you can alway find them online to fit this little baby too.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DavidMnSF
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Keyboard is Frustrating
7/31/2009

Customer review by WriteGuy

3.0 stars 7/31/2009 by WriteGuy
by WriteGuy

This netbook is good in many ways but also bad in one BIG way: the keys on the keyboard are too "loose." Meaning, when I type "a" I will get "aaa." I constantly have to backspace to get rid of the extra letters which can get frustrating. I've told Acer about this (they haven't responded). In all candor, I won't be buying another one of these netbooks.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WriteGuy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
BAD TOY
10/11/2009

Customer review by tnboots

1.0 stars 10/11/2009 by tnboots
by tnboots

My wife and I bought each of our children one back in October of 2008 to be given to them for Christmas. The product comes with a one year warranty and 2 weeks before the warranty ran out,one of the two computers died.Acer has specific way of shipping it back to the repair shop and even though it wasn't shipped to us in this precise safe manner when we bought it,they still requested it to be shipped this way.When we carried it to the UPS store the 2 clerks standing behind the counter looked at each other and laughed.We thought we had did something amusing and wasn't aware of it.They told us exactly what kind of problems we were experiencing with the computer and told us how it had to be shipped according to Acers' warranty.They knew this for they had sent many back to Acer in the past few months.We are from a small area so that is saying alot.Go and purchase from a well known manufacturer and not one like Acer.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tnboots
Bon Aqua,TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
excellent for students
7/17/2009

Customer review by jt0712

5.0 stars 7/17/2009 by jt0712
by jt0712

this is a perfect mini laptop for college students. it meets all your basic needs and them some.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jt0712
brownsville, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
3/26/2009

Customer review by msjenn

5.0 stars 3/26/2009 by msjenn
by msjenn

Just got my little machine today love it BUT I ordered the Red ,The color is not red its like a brick red color my cell phone is red and it's not close to red but a nice color that you wont wont see anywhere else, I returned my 8 inch to have the nice 10 inch. overall nice computer. would recommend.

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
msjenn
az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
what a pain
8/23/2009

Customer review by Retired93009

1.0 stars 8/23/2009 by Retired93009
by Retired93009

Ordered and had it shipped to to store. Thank Goodness because it had to be returned because it had a plug that was made for some third world nation! Bought the same thing from Amazon - CHEAPER! Never Again!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Retired93009
Would recommend to a friend? No
mixed bag
7/8/2009

Customer review by ghostchicken

1.0 stars 7/8/2009 by ghostchicken
by ghostchicken

the computers mouse didn't work so I took it to a Super Center where they credited me and I bought a similar computer but with a 3 cell battery.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ghostchicken
Oklahoma City, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Stay Away
7/21/2009

Customer review by skyup

1.0 stars 7/21/2009 by skyup
by skyup

New out of the box and would not connect to the Internet cable or wireless. Called for held and after 10 min. got cut off. Called back and west told to reload drivers. After hours of trying I returned it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
skyup
Northern Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
6/14/2009

Customer review by TSUMom

5.0 stars 6/14/2009 by TSUMom
by TSUMom

Product will work fine for daughter's needs at school.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TSUMom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good and Easy
8/18/2009

Customer review by April2mom

5.0 stars 8/18/2009 by April2mom
by April2mom

My daughter and I recieved a pair of these as back to school gifts this summer. They are small, lightweight, and the set up is a breeze. It comes with Windows XP and a trial version of mircosoft works/office. Wi-fi is built in. Pretty much all you have to do is plug it and enjoy. Programs run quick and have several USB ports so you can hook up a printer or flash drive. Very portable. Perfect for on the go and for this price perfect for the teens in your life.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
April2mom
Oklahoma City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
For basic pc needs
6/25/2009

Customer review by ToyCat

4.0 stars 6/25/2009 by ToyCat
by ToyCat

No DVD/CD-rom drive or software included had to purchase seperately. So the price was a little too high. But I like having the webcam though able to connect with relatives out of state. Has a slow processing speed so not meant for a media machine. It's a notebook...I have to keep reminding myself of that. Love the it's so light and portable so it can fit in my purse so I take it everywhere.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ToyCat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not happy
5/31/2009

Customer review by Salomea

1.0 stars 5/31/2009 by Salomea
by Salomea

Although it had good parameters description, and also good even perfect reviews, this mini laptop didn't meet my expectation. At first, its very slow, wireless card is also not good, connects to quite strong router with 11mb/sec. Having difficulty in creating backup copy and installing some applications using an external DVD drive (Sony !) Unfortunatelly, i'm leaving soon for Europe and do not have time to order new one. Otherwise I would return this product and order another brand (probably DELL). Better to pay $200 more and have nice, working machine.

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Salomea
Washington D.C.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It's a tiny computer
6/3/2009

Customer review by hello3721

3.0 stars 6/3/2009 by hello3721
by hello3721

I bought this laptop because the price was right. It's a good laptop if all you are going to do is browse the internet. I thought that's all I was going to do with it, but I was wrong. It was too small for me though both the screen and the keyboard. It's a little difficult to type with. You have to scroll to see full web pages. The mouse kept doing this weird zoom thing that I didn't like. It also didn't have a cd-rom drive which was important to me because I wanted to be able to watch DVDs. However the battery lasts for a very long time, close to 6 hours, and it is very portable and lightweight. I returned this model and upgraded to a 16.9 inch Acer which I am very happy with.

Was this review helpful? (0) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hello3721
Small town Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 106 total reviews
1-20 of 106 reviews