Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 179 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

179 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

179 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
71
4 stars
67
3 stars
12
2 stars
11
1 stars
18
1-20 of 164 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 164 total reviews
1-20 of 164 reviews
Very Nice
1/26/2010

Customer review by lovethapink

4.0 stars 1/26/2010 by lovethapink
by lovethapink

After selling my daughters bunk beds because my two year old fell off and gave us a bit of a scare I used the money two purchase this bed and a storage bench. I love the way this bed looks with the silver handles and everything! very nice and not too hard to put together I put it together by myself with some help of my six year old daughter. It took us about 2 hours but it was just all screwing stuff in and some hammering. Everything was fairly easy. I also purchased a leatherette storage bench from walmart.com saved a lot of money with free shipping with site to store...LOVED THAT!! if i wouldnt have saved the money from the shipping I would not have ordered it. The price is okay but I thought it could have been a little cheaper seeing how the head board costs almost the same as the bed and the bed is only a platform bed. I put the storage bench at the end of her bed and her room looks amazing! It will be complete once I order another one of these for her little sister and possibly another bench to go at the end of hers as well so they can have their own storage places...you know kids dont like sharing rooms to begin with!

Was this review helpful? (32) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lovethapink
central texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
Super bed for teen!
8/12/2009

Customer review by TheThriftyMom

5.0 stars 8/12/2009 by TheThriftyMom
by TheThriftyMom

We redecorated our 15 yr old daughters bedroom recently. Because the room is fairly small, we shopped for a bed with storage. We picked up the bed at the store (two people - pretty heavy) and waited until after the carpet was installed before putting the bed together. My 15 year old daughter put this bed together all by herself within 2 hours. The instructions were pretty simple and she really had no trouble. The prior reviews are accurate regarding the drawers being tight - I will try the soap thing. The drawer handles are sharp - not sure we will keep them around, may need to buy replacements. All in all, very good quality - sturdy, and appears durable. A good buy!

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheThriftyMom
Fort Wayne, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
7/23/2012

Customer review by hatjcw

1.0 stars 7/23/2012 by hatjcw
by hatjcw

I got my daughter a bed 02/18/2011 picked it up around 03/01/2011. This bed last for a year and that was all. I want to stress that my daughter takes very very very good care of her things especially her bed. This bed was poorly made. The screws that went in it started coming out and we had to scre them in every few moths, the drawers either didn't open or they got stuck. We kept screwing the screws in and about 2 weeks ago she could no longer sleep in because the screws wouldn't stay in and lil wooden peices came out. She stopped useing drawers months ago. I have taken pictures to prove what it did. I am very disappointed in this and I will not buy another bed from walmart. I got my son a dresser as well and the wooden peice at the very bottom broke in half now the drawer won't stay in place. I don't have extra money to keep buying new dresser/bed & I was hoping these would last. I spent quite a bit of money on these items & so they should have lasted longer. I would love to have refund but I'm not sure what policy is. I recommend finding out first if you plan purchasing items like this from walmart.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hatjcw
va
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
10/11/2011

Customer review by Madonelover

4.0 stars 10/11/2011 by Madonelover
by Madonelover

When I. Received the bed I didn't realize it was all particle board, so I was a little skeptical. However, the construction and assembly was well thought out. I've put together a lot of furniture and this was by far one of the easiest and smoothest assemblies I've encountered. In addition, it is a great value and looks just like it does in the pictures.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Madonelover
Portland, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Great bed
9/14/2010

Customer review by mommyoftwo2011

4.0 stars 9/14/2010 by mommyoftwo2011
by mommyoftwo2011

We bought this bed for our 15 month old son because we are having another baby soon so we need his convertable crib and we felt that it would be better than a plain toddler bed. He loves the bed because he can easily help me get his clothes out of the drawers and I love the space it saves not having to have a dresser in his room. The bed didnt take to long for my husband and I to assemble together but it was missing a few plastic dowels that you needed for one of the steps. It was an easy fix we just used something around the house to fill the holes and all the major parts we there. I would say it is def worth the money and perfect for a childs room!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mommyoftwo2011
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
Does not fit standard twin mattress.
11/6/2013

Customer review by adsofjd

2.0 stars 11/6/2013 by adsofjd
by adsofjd

We purchased this bed for our toddler since we have another baby on the way. I was totally happy with it when we first put it together. My husband put it together by himself and it was fairly easy despite the fact that the directions have no words, only pictures. It would be so much more simple if they would just add a sentence or two of instruction. It looks nice and is fairly sturdy for the price. It is not a quality piece of furniture but I didn't not expect that. However, when we purchased a standard twin mattress, I was totally disappointed in the bed. All twin mattresses are the same size but the bed is too big. There is about 1 1/2 inches of space all the way around the bed and the unfinished part of the platform shows. It is not as it looks in the photo where the mattress seems to fit snuggly. We are keeping the bed since we have already but it together and we are not going to take it apart to return it. However, had I known that it did not fit a standard mattress I would not have purchased it.

Was this review helpful? (22) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
adsofjd
Columbia, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
A Great Purchase
3/26/2011

Customer review by s0rda

5.0 stars 3/26/2011 by s0rda
by s0rda

We were in the market for a new twin bed for my daughter I anticipated spending around $500 we looked at a few furniture stores before i looked at the Wal-Mart website i was torn between a few models but love the simple look this bed had to it. We finally decided on this model and the price I paid was great the bed is beautiful the chrome handles to the drawer are a nice accent to the bed. My daughter loves it! She's 6 and was excited and couldn't wait for it to be delivered. Waiting for the bed wasn't long at all it took like a week. Putting it together was simple with the help of her uncle. I only have 3 suggestions. 1. Set the bed up where its going to be it's very heavy the box it came in weighed 110lbs. 2. The mattress is a little less wide than the bed so there is a small space left after you place the mattress down it's not huge maybe an inch or two. 3. Be careful with the handles it hurts when you bump into them. The drawers are not huge they are a little small but efficient enough, my daughter puts her clothes in them. Overall this bed exceeded my expectations in value, in price, and in quality. This is definately a product i would reccommend!

Was this review helpful? (30) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
s0rda
Bell, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
BUDGET PRICE = LOW QUALITY
8/10/2011

Customer review by crazybirds86d

3.0 stars 8/10/2011 by crazybirds86d
by crazybirds86d

The pieces look much better online. It was super easy to put together, I did it by myself. The only reasons I gave it a 3 rating is because the price is good and it's super easy to assemble. The finished product is cheap. The drawers do not close flush I think due to the fact that the sliding hardware is PLASTIC- I was NOT happy about that at all, quite disappointed actually. And the bottoms to the drawers are SUPER THIN!!!!!! I was in shock. I have never seen anything like this! I got this for my 8 year old girl so she could have "big girl furniture" (I got the dresser w/ mirror and the headboard as well) but these drawers will only hold light things like underpants, socks and maybe some tee shirts- they might be able to handle 2-3 pairs of her little kid jeans.... This WILL have to be replaced sooner than I hoped- how long can plastic hardware really last for sliding drawers in and out daily? Overall, a disappointment.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
crazybirds86d
california
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Great for the money!
7/30/2011

Customer review by tweenmom123

4.0 stars 7/30/2011 by tweenmom123
by tweenmom123

My teen loves his new bed and we had a good time putting it together. It is NOT real wood, it is cheap veneer particle board and most of the hardware is plastic. My furniture building dad would hate this bed and criticize every part of it, but for the price you can't beat it! I can decorate my son’s entire room for the price of a nice quality bed, but considering he will want something new when he goes off to college in a few years, this is perfect! As long as he doesn't jump on it, or open the drawers to fast, it should last. If you follow the picture only instructions step by step and not rush it is very easy to put together. I was a little worried when I opened the box and 2 long pieces were broken, but soon realized those were just the packing pieces. My son was thinking it was a little higher than the picture showed. The drawer pulls in the picture look like a shiny silver, but are a more brushed nickel finish.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tweenmom123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Exceeded My Expectations
5/26/2009

Customer review by fudge68

5.0 stars 5/26/2009 by fudge68
by fudge68

First let me say, I am an avid reader of other's reviews before making certain purchases from apparel to electronics to furniture, and despite the mixed reviews on this product - I decided to take a chance and get this bed for my 12yr. daughter to use when she's home from school. Now, not only do I love the deep chocolate/espresso color, but overall the finished product. First when I picked up my bed from my local Walmart, unfortunately when I finally got around to unpacking the box, I discovered several pieces broken, no fret - after having read the reviews prior to purchasing the bed I knew I could call the manufacturer and have replacement parts sent to me, so I did; and theya re super friendly - talk about great customer service. I had the replacement parts shipped to back to my local Walmart (who I cleared it with first). To make a long story short, despite the instructions calling for two people, I did this by myself in under an hour, it was super easy and exciting along the way to see it come together and looking better than the pieces of what seems to be very flimsy wood. My one grip is the handles, I am very concerned about the sharp edges and the horrible scratches one can get, I brushed too close several times after putting the bed together and it will not be pretty if your skin gets any closer so I'll probably replace them with something else. All is all....a FABULOUS bed for the price, so folks....the reviews help, when asked to share your thoughts, please take a minute to do so...it always helps me to make a decision when I am undecided. Thanks WALLY WAH for a great product, again....

Was this review helpful? (66) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fudge68
Long Pond, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Just what I wanted.
9/4/2011

Customer review by darcyncor

4.0 stars 9/4/2011 by darcyncor
by darcyncor

I ordered the bed and had it shipped through site to store. When I went to pick it up the box was around 10 ft long, you will definitely need a pick up truck or a SUV. The box had obvious damage from the shipping so I was anxious to get it home and make sure everything was okay. When I first opened the box, there was a long piece of some wood material thing and it was broken into about three pieces, automatically i assumed it was a part of the bed so I stopped opening it but I went back and luckily it was only there for cushioning thank goodness. (note - don't automatically get your hopes up if you open box and see cracked materials, it most likely is not apart of the bed. You will need a spacious area to put bed together. It took me and my mom about three hours to build it and the directions were very clear and it came together smoothly. I love the bed and think it looks great with my "zebra" themed room. The drawers on the bed are actually very spacious especially if you use it for undergarments or just random storage items. I do recommend this item for a kid/teen looking for a storage bed!

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
darcyncor
Richardson, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
.......
8/28/2017

Customer review by Idek

2.0 stars 8/28/2017 by Idek
by Idek

The overall look is great, but the frame is terrible. The drawers keep on braking, leaving them facing down and the boards that keep the mattress up are slouching down. While this is only an inconvenience, it's still a pain.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 8/30/2017

Hi, Looks like your experience with our product wasn't exactly as you expected. I simply wanted to let you know that our products are coming with a 5-year warranty so if you would like to discuss this with one of our agent, please reach us 7-days a week at 1-800-290-0465 or service@southshorefurniture.com.<br />Thank you so much,<br />Your South Shore Team

Idek
Would recommend to a friend? No
Almost perfect
4/26/2011

Customer review by DiscountingSuperStar

4.0 stars 4/26/2011 by DiscountingSuperStar
by DiscountingSuperStar

The bed was super easy to assemble and took my husband and I about 45 minutes - the headboard took about 25 minutes so all together not too bad. The look of the bed is SO cute and our daughter loves it, it's exactly what we wanted for her. Also fits a side rail well. The only issue I have with the bed is the drawers. They were very difficult to get in and are VERY tight when you try to open them, the slider hardware is plastic - wish it wasn't. It will take 2 of you to put the drawers in initally - here's a tip hold the drawer up at an angle to get it in there. Ours would go in on one side and slip out the other, took several tries on each drawer. Our daughter has a difficult time getting the drawers open and closed which limits their use for her. Overall it's great and hopefully over time the drawers will loosen a little??

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DiscountingSuperStar
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
more black than brown
12/12/2009

Customer review by Wahl04

4.0 stars 12/12/2009 by Wahl04
by Wahl04

looks stylish. daughter loves it. knobs stick out so need to be aware when getting in and out of bed. dresser works for clothes but would not hold heavy items like books. would buy again. color is a blackish brown matches well with other black furniture.

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wahl04
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Perfect for growing child!
4/10/2011

Customer review by TLC85635

5.0 stars 4/10/2011 by TLC85635
by TLC85635

This bed is perfect for my 10 year old daughter. She hated hanging her school uniforms, so she now has the 3 drawers for each specific uniform piece, (Polos, bottoms, leggings). Great help in learning organizational skills. :O) Great value for money, even have a few local friends looking into getting one for their children. Overall; Very sturdy, easy to assemble, and attractive 'clean' look.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TLC85635
S.Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
AWESOME piece!
5/16/2010

Customer review by Tashinalove

5.0 stars 5/16/2010 by Tashinalove
by Tashinalove

We just recently purchased this bed for our 7 year old. In fact, our son is the person who actually picked this out for his room, & after reading the pretty good reviews & also considering how amazingly inexpensive it is, we decided to give it a go. Well, we have actually been more than pleasantly surprised & content with our purchase. This bed has really exceeded our expectations...all pieces came in excellent shape- no scratches, dents, etc., it was a BREEZE to put together & it looks GREAT for the little price we paid. We are 100% very happy with our purchase.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tashinalove
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
4/8/2011

Customer review by cjmax

5.0 stars 4/8/2011 by cjmax
by cjmax

My biggest concern when purchasing this bed, was the quality and ease of assembly. The quality is great and is being used for a young adult. As for the assembly, my daughter, granddaughter and I put this bed together in about 2 hrs. The instructions are easy as long as you lay the pieces out exactly as shown. All the holes lined up exactly so assembly went smoothly. I recommend this bed to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cjmax
So. Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:65 or older
Furniture for the truly desperate....
1/18/2011

Customer review by JDGOLDCOMBAT

1.0 stars 1/18/2011 by JDGOLDCOMBAT
by JDGOLDCOMBAT

sorry.. I hate to see one star ratings...it makes me think the reviewer has an axe to grind about their treatment, a discount, or whatever. That's not the case here. I love Wal-Mart and shop their frequently. I was initially happy with the pricing and the order process....right up until we arrived at the store with our UHaul. However it became very clear right after arrival at the order pickup area....this furniture is TERRIBLE. The fiber board is very low density...which means the durability just isn't there. The packaging is bad....ours was beat to smithereens, mal-formed, and taped up, and was stacked on it's end in a puddle in the warehouse. When they wheeled it out...the contents had wicked up enough water to soften the fiberboard and the CARDBOARD drawer bottoms. Even if the material wasn't half digested like a soggy granola bar in a glass of milk...the stuff just looked cheap. Ahhh...and there's the rub! We refused delivery at the store (site-to-store), got a refund..and bought furniture at that Swedish place...and got more furniture that was much more sturdy... AND saved over $100 to boot. Sorry guys...I think this stuff is a waste of money and stands up poorly to the rough handling that it's sure to get with free shipping. Buy something else.

Was this review helpful? (16) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JDGOLDCOMBAT
Kent, WA.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Never
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Nice Not Fancy
4/26/2013

Customer review by Rhoni76

4.0 stars 4/26/2013 by Rhoni76
by Rhoni76
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This bed is cute set up. It is made of particle board. As long as my daughter keeps moisture away from it and doesn't jump on it , it should last a while. It took my husband and I about 2 hours to assemble it with him being IN charge, lol. There are not written directions, just large picture directions, so make sure to have the right pieces and put the pegs in the right holes and it will all come together fine. We had a drawer back that was split but we glued it with wood glue and told our daughter not to put anything heavy in that drawer and think it will be ok. There were a few pieces that the black was pulled up or chipped on the edge of boards, but small areas, so all was ok. It looked pretty good all together, but not expensive looking at all. It works for what we needed it for.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rhoni76
Lancaster, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bait and Switch
3/17/2012

Customer review by Nocilis

1.0 stars 3/17/2012 by Nocilis
by Nocilis

I viewed and purchased this product online. The thumbnail used in the list of beds showed just the bed. When I pulled up the item page, it showed it with a head board. For 159 I thought this was a fair deal. With out a head board I would not have paid more than 99 for it. It was the usual low quality item that I was used to getting at Walmart, but arrived without the headboard. I went to my local store and talked with them about this. I was told more or less sorry about your luck, you can return it. Yeah .... I had it 3/4 of the way assembled (2 1/2hrs), and had to have a bed as my son who was getting in that day. I put by trust in Walmart and once "again" have been let down. I will not be making the same mistake again. To the persons in charge of this corp. - I will not purchase another item from your stores. There is a Super Target with comparable prices better selection and better customer service. The 15K I have been spending at your stores each year may not matter to you in the long-run, but you keep it up and you may end up just like K-mart.

Was this review helpful? (2) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nocilis
CO Springs, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Never
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:25 - 34
1-20 of 164 total reviews
1-20 of 164 reviews