Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 25 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

25 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

25 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
14
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
0
1-20 of 21 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 21 total reviews
1-20 of 21 reviews
9/14/2009

Customer review by SAR2

5.0 stars 9/14/2009 by SAR2
by SAR2

This product was exactly as I expected when I received it. There was not nor has been any issues with it since I got it. Great price for a product of this value. All wood pieces and the board is a beautiful color and made of wood as well. If you are looking to find a great chessboard with hand carved pieces and all made of wood and have it look fancy for a good price than this is what you are looking for.

Was this review helpful? (31) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SAR2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
4/30/2009

Customer review by sorli

3.0 stars 4/30/2009 by sorli
by sorli

Even though I gave it a low rating, I would still recommend it. Just be aware of a few issues. I prefer heavier pieces when I pick them up, but the wood isn't heavy enough for me. I would also point out the straps for storing the pieces came loose the very first time I used it. I would also expect some kind of handle since this is a folding portable board, but none was attached. As long as you are aware of the shortcomings, this is not a bad value.

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sorli
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Great Value!
1/29/2011

Customer review by bornasaver

5.0 stars 1/29/2011 by bornasaver
by bornasaver

This chess game sold by Wal-Mart is a great value for under $30 and it provides adequate quality as well as portability. The pieces have minimal detail in their design, however they are still easily recognizable. The board is very nice and it laid flat and provided a good solid base for the game. The whole set is lightweight overall but it exceeded my expectations.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bornasaver
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very nice!
11/15/2012

Customer review by Yamakanamoneptet

5.0 stars 11/15/2012 by Yamakanamoneptet
by Yamakanamoneptet

Very well made. The pieces are a little bit smaller than I thought that they would be, but they're still a good size. Definitely recommend!

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Yamakanamoneptet
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Returned because of defect
1/25/2011

Customer review by Samir

2.0 stars 1/25/2011 by Samir
by Samir

The set I received had one bishop of a small size, so I returned the product. The chess pieces are very light and do not give a good feel when you handle them. They are made of cheap, light wood and the finishing is crude, especially the knights. The board is of good quality and the square inlays were perfect. The lock of the board was rusted at spots. All in all, I would not recommend buying this. It is not worth eighteen bucks.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Samir
Fairfax, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
7/25/2013

Customer review by Pappy121

5.0 stars 7/25/2013 by Pappy121
by Pappy121

Very nice wooden chess set. It was beyond my expectations for the price .

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pappy121
Ft. Worth, Tx.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Value for Money
5/20/2013

Customer review by SReview

5.0 stars 5/20/2013 by SReview
by SReview

Very good quality and very well hand crafted wooden chess set.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SReview
New Orleans
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Simple elegance
1/11/2014

Customer review by ZachysMommy

5.0 stars 1/11/2014 by ZachysMommy
by ZachysMommy

I love the carved wood pieces. The set is lightweight & easy to store

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ZachysMommy
Accident, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good Chess Set for the price
11/23/2013

Customer review by Tembergon

4.0 stars 11/23/2013 by Tembergon
by Tembergon

I had a board like this years ago and liked the portability and convenience. It was a little different than this one, had smoother edges and better felt inside for storing pieces, but is a nice board and set for the price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tembergon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/6/2012

Customer review by HawkeyeFan13

4.0 stars 12/6/2012 by HawkeyeFan13
by HawkeyeFan13

Christmas present for a 9 yr old will be just perfect to learn on.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HawkeyeFan13
Des Moines, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/28/2012

Customer review by Callllico

2.0 stars 12/28/2012 by Callllico
by Callllico

Nice set, but had to be returned because one of the kings was missing.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Callllico
Fairport, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Nice little chess board
11/17/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/17/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

It is a nice size chessboard. Pieces are of a decent stock (not the heaviest, but not the lightest either). Overall a nice little chessboard so far.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Newark, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The best set for the beginner
12/2/2013

Customer review by mackxxxxxx

5.0 stars 12/2/2013 by mackxxxxxx
by mackxxxxxx

I find this set easy to learn, also easy to remember. I would recommend this set for anyone who is interested in learning the game of chess.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mackxxxxxx
Silver Spring, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good gift
11/22/2014

Customer review by dingoes

4.0 stars 11/22/2014 by dingoes
by dingoes

This is a Christmas gift and the quality of the chess set was good. Hand carved made me want to purchase this item.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dingoes
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for the price
11/15/2014

Customer review by GramsMEM

4.0 stars 11/15/2014 by GramsMEM
by GramsMEM

I bought this for a Christmas present for a 15 year old. I had bought a much more expensive one from another source and was disappointed in it. This is a decent size and a good board for his first one. I definitely recommend this board if you are looking for an inexpensive set that looks like it will last.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GramsMEM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good product. Nothing fancy.
9/22/2014

Customer review by dealmaker79

4.0 stars 9/22/2014 by dealmaker79
by dealmaker79

Good product. Nothing fancy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dealmaker79
Southwick, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great quality
12/23/2014

Customer review by Sonial26

5.0 stars 12/23/2014 by Sonial26
by Sonial26

I bought this chess set for my friends 8 year old son for Christmas. I'm sure he is going to love it. It's good quality wood, especially for the price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sonial26
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Compact easy to store
2/5/2015

Customer review by Sajkal

5.0 stars 2/5/2015 by Sajkal
by Sajkal

Love this product

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sajkal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very handy
6/9/2015

Customer review by MaBeth

5.0 stars 6/9/2015 by MaBeth
by MaBeth

This is a nice size board with storage space for the pieces and a latch to keep it folded up. It is great for any situation where the board isn't being bounced about - it would not be good for use while traveling. It is a very attractive set.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MaBeth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wooden chess set
8/9/2015

Customer review by Microchunky

5.0 stars 8/9/2015 by Microchunky
by Microchunky

This set should be in everyone's home

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Microchunky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1-20 of 21 reviews