Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 54 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

54 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

54 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
46
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 stars
0
1-20 of 47 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 47 total reviews
1-20 of 47 reviews
finally tried this
2/17/2009

Customer review by BOOBOOTHEBEAR

5.0 stars 2/17/2009 by BOOBOOTHEBEAR
by BOOBOOTHEBEAR

well after many , many, many ( you get the point ) years of starting my charcoal grill with lighter fluid ( the only way i knew how ) i finally decided to try one of these things -- i made the best chicken legs i have ever made !!!!! it might have taken 5 minutes longer than using fluid but there was no lighter fluid after taste --- simply put - i will never use lighter fluid again !!! and it is more environmentally friendly

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BOOBOOTHEBEAR
ALABAMA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Worth more that what you pay for it!!!
5/2/2009

Customer review by fatmcrat

5.0 stars 5/2/2009 by fatmcrat
by fatmcrat

This thing may say 15-20 minutes before you put in your grill but you won't need that long. I was smoking boston butts and temp wasn't getting high enough. I ran to Wally World and bought this puppy and now my smoker is exactely where it needs to be. I crammed in the newspapers and 3-4 handfuls of charcoal and within 6-7 minutes the charcoal was glowing. I would have spent more than 9.97 on this thing, cauz its well worth it.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fatmcrat
Livingston, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Amazing Product
11/6/2009

Customer review by AverageJosephine

5.0 stars 11/6/2009 by AverageJosephine
by AverageJosephine

I bought my husband this item over 5 years ago on a summer clearance sale. He laughed at it and didn't use it for along time-until he ran out of lighter fluid. We have used nothing else since. Use one at home, keep one in the camper, and have even given them to family members as gifts. We grill 9 months out of the year, at least three times a week, and we are still using the original chimney I purchased. I have bought a couple more and stashed away just in case they stop selling them.

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AverageJosephine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
No longer a skeptic
8/24/2010

Customer review by biacs

5.0 stars 8/24/2010 by biacs
by biacs

I read the reviews and was still skeptical about this product but now that I have one I regret waiting so long. I was amazed at how fast it got the coals going. My doubt was just that it was such a simple design and didn't use an accelerant such as lighter fluid. I put two pieces of paper crumpled in half moon shapes each, lit a couple places through the holes and within 15 minutes I had a white hot chimney with really RED coals inside. It would be a value at twice the price, no more lighter fluid aftertaste if you cook too soon, no more wind blowing out your flames.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
biacs
Arlington, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
How did I get by without one!
8/20/2010

Customer review by wildfiregramps

5.0 stars 8/20/2010 by wildfiregramps
by wildfiregramps

This is an awsome product! Don't know how I grilled without one. Well I do lighter fluid taste and a lot of half burned bricket's! I have seen them on TV and figured $40 or $50 buck's. Ok I don't grill that much. Happened to walk down the right isle in our local Walmart. Less than $10.00 (before taxes)! Yep in the cart! The one thing I have found with useing it is that if good charcoal is used-Newspaper work's great! If you are haveing problem's getting the Charcoal lit it is probably the charcoal! Try useing Construction Paper or a few dry twig's in the bottom. I think they burn a bit hotter. As for the value $5 buck's plus for lighter fluid! Less than $10.00 for this! On top of that no lighter fluid taste! Out of 5 star's I give this a 10!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wildfiregramps
Torrington, WY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not the best chimney starter...
6/16/2011

Customer review by Parus55

2.0 stars 6/16/2011 by Parus55
by Parus55

This particular model is lacking in several areas, first and foremost, charcoal capacity. 4 qts of briquettes just isn't enough for most of my grilling. I end up crowding my food too closely together! The second thing missing are ventilation holes around the upper chamber where the charcoal sits. I've used this model for years, but am ready to replace it with the Weber Rapidfire, which holds 6 qts. of charcoal, and has more ventilation holes, reducing the wait time until the coals are ready to use. Bottom line...this model is "okay," but not the best chimney starter out there. The Weber model is only a few bucks more. Go for it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Parus55
Woodstock, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great product
6/3/2010

Customer review by NYCitygrl

5.0 stars 6/3/2010 by NYCitygrl
by NYCitygrl

Glad I listened to the reviews! All of the positive ones were correct. Totally worth it! You will not be disappointed. Great and foolproof way to get your barbecue started, especially if you're a newbie like me!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NYCitygrl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Better than sliced bread
3/6/2010

Customer review by suz301

5.0 stars 3/6/2010 by suz301
by suz301

I'd rather slice bread then mess with charcoal and this thing is awesome! I've always tried to avoid lighter fluid for the taste more than anything, but never had much luck avoiding it completely. I've used it 1/4 full, half full, and 3/4 full. I've used as little as 1/2 sheet of newspaper. It works perfectly every time! It is very worth the price. You CAN taste lighter fluid. If you think you can't, have some fun this summer and do a taste test using this thing, and lighter fluid with a different batch. I guess you need a friend with another grill for this, but who doesn't have at least one BBQ a summer anyway?? Plus - times are tough these days so BBQ's can double as a pot luck with the sides (cheap fun/entertainment for lots of people)! Add some brews and do a taste test! The fluid SEEPS into your meats! In any case, I personally love it and am very very happy with purchase!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
suz301
Cali
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Best thing since fire
12/29/2009

Customer review by countrymikefl

5.0 stars 12/29/2009 by countrymikefl
by countrymikefl

Absolutely the best thing for outdoor cooking since fire.Lights charcoal quickly,evenly, and completely every time.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
countrymikefl
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Awesome!
6/5/2010

Customer review by labnick

5.0 stars 6/5/2010 by labnick
by labnick

Bought this based on reviews and love it! Worth every penny. Love that we will never need to use lighter fluid again. Coals are ready quickly!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
labnick
Westminster, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
must have for smoker/bbq enthusists
4/17/2010

Customer review by BrianCRX90

5.0 stars 4/17/2010 by BrianCRX90
by BrianCRX90

Never use lighter fluid again since the fluid from it can get in your meat and ruin the flavor. I have used this for my smokers and have had great success with it. I suggest using newspapers crumbled, put the starter on top of it and mix in charcoal and wood chunks together. Light all the holes with a cooking lighter or long match. I would suggest putting in straight on the firebox or you can make a mess on your patio. I have found though the fire may go out so I take small strips of newspaper once I got it going and stick small pieces of more newspaper with a stick in it. After 10 or 15 minutes should be fine to dump in the firebox. Will take another 15 minutes more or less to get the temp up close to 200 degrees in a smoker.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BrianCRX90
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
qucik start
1/24/2010

Customer review by eastnassauguyz

5.0 stars 1/24/2010 by eastnassauguyz
by eastnassauguyz

Works like a charm

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
eastnassauguyz
upstate new york
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great product!!
6/19/2009

Customer review by slp007

5.0 stars 6/19/2009 by slp007
by slp007

This chimney works so well! You just stuff newspaper in the bottom section, fill with charcoal, light the paper and you are done! No need for charcoal lighter fluid and no need to touch the charcoal. Just dump it out when it's ready and you are cooking. Took about 15 minutes from start to cooking. Great product!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
slp007
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great
8/14/2009

Customer review by saywhat09

5.0 stars 8/14/2009 by saywhat09
by saywhat09

Makes grilling faster and better!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
saywhat09
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
wow!!
4/23/2010

Customer review by teacup2u

5.0 stars 4/23/2010 by teacup2u
by teacup2u

I had never even heard of this product and could not believe it would really work. It is so fantastic that I will never use lighter fluid again.!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
teacup2u
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy and efficient.
8/22/2009

Customer review by Anonymous02

5.0 stars 8/22/2009 by Anonymous02
by Anonymous02

Heats the coals without needing lighter fluid. Big time saver.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Anonymous02
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
no lighter fluid smell
12/3/2009

Customer review by markstheshark

5.0 stars 12/3/2009 by markstheshark
by markstheshark

10-15 min after lighting the paper the coals are ready to cook on. Awesome tool should have gotten it years ago.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
markstheshark
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worth it!
7/5/2010

Customer review by Volunteerstate

5.0 stars 7/5/2010 by Volunteerstate
by Volunteerstate

Works exactly as expected every time. You can count on hot coals in 15 minutes, sometimes less. depending on how much coal you are using.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Volunteerstate
Clarksville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
White Hot Coals FAST!
6/26/2009

Customer review by RandyOSU

5.0 stars 6/26/2009 by RandyOSU
by RandyOSU

I've been drenching charcoal briquettes for years with fluid......waiting and waiting and never really seeming to get it right. Seemed the coals got white hot AFTER I was done cooking! This darn thing is incredible...simply stuff some newspaper on the bottom, fill the top with charcoal, and match-light the papers. Dump it out after about 15 minutes and you are WHITE HOT grilling! Perfect EVERY time, always the same, always ready to go. I'm now grilling every weekend.......get one!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RandyOSU
Cleveland, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
4/27/2010

Customer review by mvenza

5.0 stars 4/27/2010 by mvenza
by mvenza

Best thing since sliced bread! This thing was awesome and lives up to the hype. I will be buying another one next time I run into Wal-Mart. Just because for my grill one chimney isn't enough coals and I would like to light two chimneys at one time. Easy to use just takes half a page of newspaper stuffed into the bottom and one match to light and wait for the coals to turn gray and dump it in the pit. A must buy for anyone and everyone that still loves charcoal grills!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mvenza
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 47 total reviews
1-20 of 47 reviews