Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 45 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

45 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

45 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
30
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
3
1-20 of 42 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 42 total reviews
1-20 of 42 reviews
Couldn't be happier
3/15/2009

Customer review by DelightfulJoy

5.0 stars 3/15/2009 by DelightfulJoy
by DelightfulJoy

I bought for checking emails while travelling and for my children to watch movies. We ripped all of our DVDs that we owned into smaller files and put over 50 movies on the computer. It is so lightweight and yet the keyboard and screen are a nice usable size. I purchased a keyboard cover from ebay and plan to get a 9cell battery so that we can use it longer without having electricity. One day the computer would not turn on. I mailed it to Acer and they emailed me when they received it and when they shipped it back out. It arrived and they had replaced the main board for free (6 months after purchase) and all of my original content is still on the computer. It has no disk drive, so we hooked up an external drive to put programs on that we wanted to use. Webkinz will not show up properly on this computer due to screen size (but that just means I can enjoy the computer more without the children wanting to use it so much). I carry it around in my purse when we travel or go to the doctors (helps wait time go by faster). It has a webcam and skype works very well on it. I am so happy with this computer - it is like having an MP3 player, wireless internet, portable DVD (if you load movies onto the hard drive), digital picture frame (just set your screen saver to your photos folder), word processor for under $300. Acer surprised me with their great customer service. You can't go wrong with this. More color options are available online. Our store only had it in blue. The blue is nice though. It came with a slightly padded sleeve cover and power cord.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DelightfulJoy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
Exactly what I wanted
4/25/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/25/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I love my Acer Aspire One. I wanted one of these after looking at the Dell Mini sometime mid-2008(which does not even compare to this) and I finally got one two months ago. The keyboard is smaller than your typical laptop but is very usable. The 160GB hard drive is perfect for putting my movies and MP3's on it. Also, as a web developer, Visual Studio 2008 Standard works great on it. I have also installed VirtualBox to test virtual guests and works surprisingly well. The 3-cell battery lasts just under 3 hours when watching a DVD which seems typical. The wireless seemed real slow after booting from hibernate mode but upgraded to the newer Atheros (Oct. 2008) drivers fixed the issue. I use public transportation and my other laptop is too big to fit unless I sit sideways; this one is perfect. I would highly recommend this mini laptop to others.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Citrus Heights, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
All-Around Winner
4/30/2009

Customer review by BizGuyfromWisconsin

5.0 stars 4/30/2009 by BizGuyfromWisconsin
by BizGuyfromWisconsin

Overall, this definitely exceeds my expectations. I bought it primarily so that I could access the full version of outlook 2007 when traveling. It works beautifully on the acer. I was also pleasantly surprised by the built in mouse touch pad. It works great. (and they include a free wired mouse too.) As for the graphics, I also have a Dell Dimension 2400 desktop that I purchased several years ago. I had issues with viewing some streamed high-definition video content. With the Acer, to my surprise, I have no such problems. My only wish is that the battery life was a bit longer than the 2 and a half hours that it is supposed to get initially (it seems it is more like 2 hours realistically). But even there, there's a silver lining...there is a handy icon that tells you in hours and minutes how much battery life remains. And, of course, you can always plug it in to an AC outlet, thus avoiding the battery issue altogether. The keyboard is nicely sized (I've got medium sized men's fingers), graphics are superb, and in general i'm a very happy camper.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BizGuyfromWisconsin
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Jet Away w/Aspire One
5/1/2009

Customer review by pfly

4.0 stars 5/1/2009 by pfly
by pfly

Three years ago I got a 10.9 in. screen Sony VAIO laptop ($1200) which had a precariously plyable screen. It cracked on one occasion and cost me close to $700 to replace. It was a good little notebook. It weighed about 3 lbs. But then a month ago it just went blank on me. It turned on but it could not access it's operating system. I'm still trying to extract data. Meanwhile, I bought the blue Acer Aspire One at Walmart. The price was great. The programs it comes with are adequate but with a flash drive I downloaded some of my other programs and I'm very happy with it. I am a flight attendant and enjoy using it, the portability and I like the fact that the screen is well protected. As for not having the cd/dvd player like my VIAO, I only had used it about five times and maybe twice to download programs. Don't really miss it. So for the price, portability, sturdiness and use, it is well worth the money. I will be buying my college-age daughters one. One drawback is the 3 cell battery it comes with for the $289 price. That is only about 2hrs time. I was used to getting 5 1/2 hrs on my VAIO. I recommend getting the 6 cell one. I will be purchasing one for my main use, with the 3 cell as a back-up. This way I don't have to carry the charger for when I go on 3 day trips.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pfly
NY/FL/NC/etc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
My wifes new toy
4/24/2009

Customer review by Alltatts

5.0 stars 4/24/2009 by Alltatts
by Alltatts

I purchased this little acer for my wife. She saw it at the store and fell in love with it I purchased it from walmart.com had the same one on line only had a 40 more gigs of hard drive. My wife Loves this little netbook. she loves the fact that it fits in her purse yet has a good enough processor to play all her games. We decided instead of getting a dvd drive for it to just get an 8 gig flash drive load any games onto my laptop and just use the flash drive to get them onto hers. so far the only complaint is that it gets really HOT on the bottom. but just make sure to keep it ventilated and so far so good.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Alltatts
Kincheloe MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love-it ..Acer 8.9" Blue Aspire One
4/10/2009

Customer review by STEVEIIIIIIII

5.0 stars 4/10/2009 by STEVEIIIIIIII
by STEVEIIIIIIII

The little ACER is the greatest little computer with XP loaded so you still have room on the 160G hard drive. Great to travel with due to the small size and the lite weight. I use the ACER to login to my desktop remotely when traveling. I sold my new large DELL notebook due to the the size and weight getting around and through the airport. As a side note, it also fits in my wifes purse. It also has a camera for conference calls and wi-fi ready where service is available. It runs quite a long time on the 3 cell battery pack. Finally someone got it, (KISS) keep it simple stupid, Thanks ACER.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
STEVEIIIIIIII
United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Very disappointed
4/28/2009

Customer review by Idawmn

1.0 stars 4/28/2009 by Idawmn
by Idawmn

I bought this unit in November of 2008. As of this date (April 27, 2008) the unit sits at an Acer Repair Center in Texas. Had the netbook running, all of sudden it went dead. Could not power up again with the power cord (which is not faulty) nor with a fully charged battery. Acer Service said there was a hardware problem. Even though this unit was under warranty I had to pay the shipping charges on way to have it fixed. Have read of others having the same problems with their units and poor customer service. I will never buy another Acer product again.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Idawmn
Boise, ID
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent product
4/22/2009

Customer review by mambotech

5.0 stars 4/22/2009 by mambotech
by mambotech

I really enjoy using my acer aspire one netbook with 160 gb hard drive and 1gb memory it is faster than my desktop. I especially love the portability of this netbook and I always carry it around with me now. No more squinting on my small cellphone screen. Except for one complaint I have regarding the speaker. It is almost inaudible. My cellphone is much louder so I have to hook it up to an external speaker to listen to music. I wish Acer would include a better built-in speaker. But overall, loving this product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mambotech
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome
3/4/2009

Customer review by ddddddizzle

5.0 stars 3/4/2009 by ddddddizzle
by ddddddizzle

Great portable netbook. I like how it has an actual hard drive. Great as a laptop without the price of one.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ddddddizzle
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
After fixing wireless issue, it's great!
6/16/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/16/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

When I first got the laptop, I couldn't figure out why the wireless connection was so slow when running on battery. Then I found this: To solve it you have to go to Start -> Settings -> Control Panel -> System -> Hardware -> Device Manager. There you have to expand the Network Adapters and right click the wireless adapter (Atheros...Wireless Network Adapter), then choose Properties and go to the Advanced tab. Now you have to select in the left column the Power Save Mode and set it on the right to the Off Value. Finally press OK and close the device manager. After I did that, it works GREAT! Also, search for a 9-cell battery to get a lot of extra battery time!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Lake Villa, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome!!
4/13/2009

Customer review by Mulchroy

5.0 stars 4/13/2009 by Mulchroy
by Mulchroy

The Acer Aspire mini laptop is great! Don't buy this to be your primary computer, though. We bought this computer to be portable and to quickly surf the internet and check email. Since there is no CD or DVD drive, there are some limitations as to what can be installed. While MS Office comes installed as a trial I can't imagine typing a theme paper on this computer or crunching a complex spreadsheet for work. The Walmart version comes with a mini-mouse which in my opinion is a must have! Overall - Saves time when we travel, we spend more time as a family to look things up on the internet since we can take this laptop anywhere in the house. A great buy!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mulchroy
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
AWESOME Netbook!
5/13/2009

Customer review by Allnicknamesareused

5.0 stars 5/13/2009 by Allnicknamesareused
by Allnicknamesareused

I recently got this computer to use for the rest of the school year and college. I am a former Computer Engineering student and discussed this netbook with my teacher before purchasing it. I thought I knew what to expect, but boy was I wrong! This little guy is AMAZING. It's easy to look at the screen--no straining of the eyes is necessary. Its keyboard is 85-90% of the size of a full-sized keyboard, so it's not hard to get used to at all. Its also very quiet to type with too, unless you really get excited with your typing. The computer itself is absolutely beautiful. The blue color is brilliant, and the sleek finish is eye-catching for sure! The battery is excellent. I use it for about 2 hours every day and by the time I get home I usually have 40-75% of the battery left, which is great. The best part, though, other than how portable it is and how great it operates is the reactions it gets from people who see me using it. I love it when I'm checking the news or doing work during lunch and people ask me "Whoa, is that a laptop?" and get excited over it. Its like a puppy, but better. I would DEFINITELY recommend this netbook to anyone and everyone. Just make sure that you don't keep a lot of old files on it, because the more you store on ANY computer, the slower it gets. This is a great buy, and compared to the mini laptops/netbooks I used in my computer classes, this is the best netbook avaliable. Way to go, Acer Aspire One!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Allnicknamesareused
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
ONLY LASTED SIX MONTHS
5/3/2009

Customer review by DONTBUYWHY

1.0 stars 5/3/2009 by DONTBUYWHY
by DONTBUYWHY

I PURCHASED THIS PRODUCT. IT ONLY LASTED SIX MONTHS AND THE HARD DRIVE WENT OUT. ALSO COULDN'T UPGRADE MEMORY. NOT A VALUE COMPARED TO OTHER COMPUTERS.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DONTBUYWHY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
Enjoyable Mini
4/17/2009

Customer review by YourAuntFromNewYork

4.0 stars 4/17/2009 by YourAuntFromNewYork
by YourAuntFromNewYork

I've had my mini Acer for 4 weeks now. I use it at least twice a week. Today, I am traveling with it. No complaints and no problems. It connects to the internet quickly. I love the blue color; blue is my favorite color. I was able to connect my mini to my printer that I already own; it works fine. I plan on taking it to work when I'm stuck behind a register as a midnite cashier; usually I'm a supervisor in an office with a computer. I love my Acer mini and you will too!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
YourAuntFromNewYork
Richmond, VA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love It
6/1/2009

Customer review by SavannahsNana

5.0 stars 6/1/2009 by SavannahsNana
by SavannahsNana

I am currently deployed and found it cumbersome to drag a big laptop around and try to protect it. This Acer fills the bill as it is small but powerful to allow me to keep in touch with family and friends, surf the web, and pay my bills online. I am also impressed by the amount of time the battery keeps it's charge. I wholeheartedly recommend this purchase for anyone looking for quality and convenience and the Walmart price rocks!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SavannahsNana
Prince George, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product!!!
6/5/2009

Customer review by klrjhghuer

4.0 stars 6/5/2009 by klrjhghuer
by klrjhghuer

Great little pc with about as much power as you could expect from something that size. The price was right to boot. The only real draw back is the battery life. I have the 3-cell battery, but I hear the 6-cells are much better and Acer has good deals on the 6-cell versions now. I just wish I could've bought it in the store for the same price rather than waiting for it to come in the mail.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
klrjhghuer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good study laptop
7/13/2009

Customer review by Cybertop

5.0 stars 7/13/2009 by Cybertop
by Cybertop

I bought this laptop looking for a study laptop, as well as for travel. There are a few flaws but they are obvious enough when dealing with a computer this size: the keyboard is very small, and it is fairly difficult to type properly when you first get your laptop (look for mistakes), the laptop overheats easily, so spread your legs apart or put it on books or something, and finally the battery lifespan is terrible. It -says- that it lasts for an hour and forty five minutes, but I don't think so. I haven't tested this out, but the battery goes down -very- quickly. The moment you turn it on without a plug, it already drops to 98%. I also recommend going through and getting rid of any extra programs, though just be careful of which ones you get rid of; make sure they aren't tied to any you need. Not only that but order an external disk drive, for those of you who don't know...it doesn't come with one. It's really a lot cheaper to order it here than anywhere else. Not only that, but you need to upload a version of Adobe Flash (which you can get free from their website) before you play any videos. I also recommend getting the 4 GB flash drive if you plan on uploading a bunch of stuff. I'm still having issues with the language control, trying to get it working, but other than that it's a fairly decent laptop. If you have a lot going on the same I.E. page then it will be a little slow, but just be patient. Overall a very, very good product; especially if you want it for study/ travel purposes. It's extremely lightweight and easy to carry around, and it could fit in most purses/ backpacks/ bags, ect.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cybertop
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Aspire
6/11/2009

Customer review by donna960

5.0 stars 6/11/2009 by donna960
by donna960

This product has been great. Worked right out of the box. After setting up the wireless, which took less than a minute, I have not had one problem with it, When kids come over to visit and they want to go on chats or play games I give them this computer and then I do not have them messing with my computer. It was inexpensive and I would recommend it to anyone

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
donna960
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
5/10/2009

Customer review by crampa

5.0 stars 5/10/2009 by crampa
by crampa

Bought this for my 8 year old grandson & was pleasently surprised with this unit. Easy to set up and get started, connects to internet instantly(wi-fi), battery lasts almost 3 hours before needing recharge. We downloaded a bunch of games on it & all work fine. He just loves it; uses it at home & in the car. Well worth the price

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
crampa
west babylon,ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Best netbook
6/2/2009

Customer review by Mark9999999999

4.0 stars 6/2/2009 by Mark9999999999
by Mark9999999999

The is the best netbook but it does have 2 shortcomings that keep it from being perfect: 1) The touch pad is the worst of any netbook. Luckily, they included a mouse with the package. The computer is only usable with the mouse. 2) The 3 cell battery has very little capacity. Get the bigger battery. Otherwise, go for it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mark9999999999
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 42 total reviews
1-20 of 42 reviews