Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 45 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

45 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

45 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
30
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
3
1-20 of 42 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 42 total reviews
1-20 of 42 reviews
Couldn't be happier
3/15/2009

Customer review by DelightfulJoy

5.0 stars 3/15/2009 by DelightfulJoy
by DelightfulJoy

I bought for checking emails while travelling and for my children to watch movies. We ripped all of our DVDs that we owned into smaller files and put over 50 movies on the computer. It is so lightweight and yet the keyboard and screen are a nice usable size. I purchased a keyboard cover from ebay and plan to get a 9cell battery so that we can use it longer without having electricity. One day the computer would not turn on. I mailed it to Acer and they emailed me when they received it and when they shipped it back out. It arrived and they had replaced the main board for free (6 months after purchase) and all of my original content is still on the computer. It has no disk drive, so we hooked up an external drive to put programs on that we wanted to use. Webkinz will not show up properly on this computer due to screen size (but that just means I can enjoy the computer more without the children wanting to use it so much). I carry it around in my purse when we travel or go to the doctors (helps wait time go by faster). It has a webcam and skype works very well on it. I am so happy with this computer - it is like having an MP3 player, wireless internet, portable DVD (if you load movies onto the hard drive), digital picture frame (just set your screen saver to your photos folder), word processor for under $300. Acer surprised me with their great customer service. You can't go wrong with this. More color options are available online. Our store only had it in blue. The blue is nice though. It came with a slightly padded sleeve cover and power cord.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DelightfulJoy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
Exactly what I wanted
4/25/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/25/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I love my Acer Aspire One. I wanted one of these after looking at the Dell Mini sometime mid-2008(which does not even compare to this) and I finally got one two months ago. The keyboard is smaller than your typical laptop but is very usable. The 160GB hard drive is perfect for putting my movies and MP3's on it. Also, as a web developer, Visual Studio 2008 Standard works great on it. I have also installed VirtualBox to test virtual guests and works surprisingly well. The 3-cell battery lasts just under 3 hours when watching a DVD which seems typical. The wireless seemed real slow after booting from hibernate mode but upgraded to the newer Atheros (Oct. 2008) drivers fixed the issue. I use public transportation and my other laptop is too big to fit unless I sit sideways; this one is perfect. I would highly recommend this mini laptop to others.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Citrus Heights, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Jet Away w/Aspire One
5/1/2009

Customer review by pfly

4.0 stars 5/1/2009 by pfly
by pfly

Three years ago I got a 10.9 in. screen Sony VAIO laptop ($1200) which had a precariously plyable screen. It cracked on one occasion and cost me close to $700 to replace. It was a good little notebook. It weighed about 3 lbs. But then a month ago it just went blank on me. It turned on but it could not access it's operating system. I'm still trying to extract data. Meanwhile, I bought the blue Acer Aspire One at Walmart. The price was great. The programs it comes with are adequate but with a flash drive I downloaded some of my other programs and I'm very happy with it. I am a flight attendant and enjoy using it, the portability and I like the fact that the screen is well protected. As for not having the cd/dvd player like my VIAO, I only had used it about five times and maybe twice to download programs. Don't really miss it. So for the price, portability, sturdiness and use, it is well worth the money. I will be buying my college-age daughters one. One drawback is the 3 cell battery it comes with for the $289 price. That is only about 2hrs time. I was used to getting 5 1/2 hrs on my VAIO. I recommend getting the 6 cell one. I will be purchasing one for my main use, with the 3 cell as a back-up. This way I don't have to carry the charger for when I go on 3 day trips.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pfly
NY/FL/NC/etc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
All-Around Winner
4/30/2009

Customer review by BizGuyfromWisconsin

5.0 stars 4/30/2009 by BizGuyfromWisconsin
by BizGuyfromWisconsin

Overall, this definitely exceeds my expectations. I bought it primarily so that I could access the full version of outlook 2007 when traveling. It works beautifully on the acer. I was also pleasantly surprised by the built in mouse touch pad. It works great. (and they include a free wired mouse too.) As for the graphics, I also have a Dell Dimension 2400 desktop that I purchased several years ago. I had issues with viewing some streamed high-definition video content. With the Acer, to my surprise, I have no such problems. My only wish is that the battery life was a bit longer than the 2 and a half hours that it is supposed to get initially (it seems it is more like 2 hours realistically). But even there, there's a silver lining...there is a handy icon that tells you in hours and minutes how much battery life remains. And, of course, you can always plug it in to an AC outlet, thus avoiding the battery issue altogether. The keyboard is nicely sized (I've got medium sized men's fingers), graphics are superb, and in general i'm a very happy camper.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BizGuyfromWisconsin
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Love-it ..Acer 8.9" Blue Aspire One
4/10/2009

Customer review by STEVEIIIIIIII

5.0 stars 4/10/2009 by STEVEIIIIIIII
by STEVEIIIIIIII

The little ACER is the greatest little computer with XP loaded so you still have room on the 160G hard drive. Great to travel with due to the small size and the lite weight. I use the ACER to login to my desktop remotely when traveling. I sold my new large DELL notebook due to the the size and weight getting around and through the airport. As a side note, it also fits in my wifes purse. It also has a camera for conference calls and wi-fi ready where service is available. It runs quite a long time on the 3 cell battery pack. Finally someone got it, (KISS) keep it simple stupid, Thanks ACER.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
STEVEIIIIIIII
United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
My wifes new toy
4/24/2009

Customer review by Alltatts

5.0 stars 4/24/2009 by Alltatts
by Alltatts

I purchased this little acer for my wife. She saw it at the store and fell in love with it I purchased it from walmart.com had the same one on line only had a 40 more gigs of hard drive. My wife Loves this little netbook. she loves the fact that it fits in her purse yet has a good enough processor to play all her games. We decided instead of getting a dvd drive for it to just get an 8 gig flash drive load any games onto my laptop and just use the flash drive to get them onto hers. so far the only complaint is that it gets really HOT on the bottom. but just make sure to keep it ventilated and so far so good.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Alltatts
Kincheloe MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent product
4/22/2009

Customer review by mambotech

5.0 stars 4/22/2009 by mambotech
by mambotech

I really enjoy using my acer aspire one netbook with 160 gb hard drive and 1gb memory it is faster than my desktop. I especially love the portability of this netbook and I always carry it around with me now. No more squinting on my small cellphone screen. Except for one complaint I have regarding the speaker. It is almost inaudible. My cellphone is much louder so I have to hook it up to an external speaker to listen to music. I wish Acer would include a better built-in speaker. But overall, loving this product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mambotech
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome
3/4/2009

Customer review by ddddddizzle

5.0 stars 3/4/2009 by ddddddizzle
by ddddddizzle

Great portable netbook. I like how it has an actual hard drive. Great as a laptop without the price of one.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ddddddizzle
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very disappointed
4/28/2009

Customer review by Idawmn

1.0 stars 4/28/2009 by Idawmn
by Idawmn

I bought this unit in November of 2008. As of this date (April 27, 2008) the unit sits at an Acer Repair Center in Texas. Had the netbook running, all of sudden it went dead. Could not power up again with the power cord (which is not faulty) nor with a fully charged battery. Acer Service said there was a hardware problem. Even though this unit was under warranty I had to pay the shipping charges on way to have it fixed. Have read of others having the same problems with their units and poor customer service. I will never buy another Acer product again.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Idawmn
Boise, ID
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
ONLY LASTED SIX MONTHS
5/3/2009

Customer review by DONTBUYWHY

1.0 stars 5/3/2009 by DONTBUYWHY
by DONTBUYWHY

I PURCHASED THIS PRODUCT. IT ONLY LASTED SIX MONTHS AND THE HARD DRIVE WENT OUT. ALSO COULDN'T UPGRADE MEMORY. NOT A VALUE COMPARED TO OTHER COMPUTERS.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DONTBUYWHY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
Small & Handy
4/7/2009

Customer review by LineDanceTeacher

5.0 stars 4/7/2009 by LineDanceTeacher
by LineDanceTeacher

Small, light and very useable. Wife wants it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LineDanceTeacher
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Aspire
6/11/2009

Customer review by donna960

5.0 stars 6/11/2009 by donna960
by donna960

This product has been great. Worked right out of the box. After setting up the wireless, which took less than a minute, I have not had one problem with it, When kids come over to visit and they want to go on chats or play games I give them this computer and then I do not have them messing with my computer. It was inexpensive and I would recommend it to anyone

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
donna960
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Awesome!!
4/13/2009

Customer review by Mulchroy

5.0 stars 4/13/2009 by Mulchroy
by Mulchroy

The Acer Aspire mini laptop is great! Don't buy this to be your primary computer, though. We bought this computer to be portable and to quickly surf the internet and check email. Since there is no CD or DVD drive, there are some limitations as to what can be installed. While MS Office comes installed as a trial I can't imagine typing a theme paper on this computer or crunching a complex spreadsheet for work. The Walmart version comes with a mini-mouse which in my opinion is a must have! Overall - Saves time when we travel, we spend more time as a family to look things up on the internet since we can take this laptop anywhere in the house. A great buy!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mulchroy
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
awesome mini
6/17/2009

Customer review by glynmiester

5.0 stars 6/17/2009 by glynmiester
by glynmiester

excellent product works perfectly plenty of CPU power battery last up to 2 hours (med load)i bought an external DVD drive with it also works perfectly, windows xp pre-loaded

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
glynmiester
Providence RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great little product
6/14/2009

Customer review by Mthr2AAK

5.0 stars 6/14/2009 by Mthr2AAK
by Mthr2AAK

I bought this for my son and he loves it. It's small size works perfect for taking it to school for projects. While its small in size it's power is amazing and wireless connectivity works wonderfully.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mthr2AAK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
cool product
6/12/2009

Customer review by pugtopia

5.0 stars 6/12/2009 by pugtopia
by pugtopia

Very impressed with netbook, always thought they were too small, but with the usb mouse (which could be a little larger) works great for everyday pc needs.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pugtopia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
After fixing wireless issue, it's great!
6/16/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/16/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

When I first got the laptop, I couldn't figure out why the wireless connection was so slow when running on battery. Then I found this: To solve it you have to go to Start -> Settings -> Control Panel -> System -> Hardware -> Device Manager. There you have to expand the Network Adapters and right click the wireless adapter (Atheros...Wireless Network Adapter), then choose Properties and go to the Advanced tab. Now you have to select in the left column the Power Save Mode and set it on the right to the Off Value. Finally press OK and close the device manager. After I did that, it works GREAT! Also, search for a 9-cell battery to get a lot of extra battery time!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Lake Villa, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love it!
6/23/2009

Customer review by bklynscorpion

5.0 stars 6/23/2009 by bklynscorpion
by bklynscorpion

I bought this for my daughter as a birthday gift. She loves it! I love it! Already recommened it to 3 of my firnds and they love it too.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bklynscorpion
Brooklyn, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Little Laptop
6/26/2009

Customer review by ShellyA1

5.0 stars 6/26/2009 by ShellyA1
by ShellyA1

I purchased the Acer and it is wonderfull Its internet speed is very nice and picks up the wifi signal as soon as it turns on. I lover the size its actually quite confortable to look at.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShellyA1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Travel computer
6/23/2009

Customer review by TraveltillIdrop

5.0 stars 6/23/2009 by TraveltillIdrop
by TraveltillIdrop

This is a great travel computer. You can not beat it for the features included and at a very competitive price

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TraveltillIdrop
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 42 total reviews
1-20 of 42 reviews