Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 19 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

19 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

19 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-18 of 18 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

A best buy
11/17/2009

Customer review by Rick104

5.0 stars 11/17/2009 by Rick104
by Rick104

This detector is underrated it competes very well with more expensive detectors, I have owned mine for 7 years with no problems what so ever!! Also with the small nuggett coil it does pickup gold very well, and I have found larger items at over 2 feet deep, a smashed caddilac hub cap at over two feet deep along a river,in all metal mode this detector goes pretty deep, if you want an all around inexpensive detector this is a very good starter detector to learn all the basics and then some...

Was this review helpful? (213) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rick104
Richland,WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
My first metal detector
1/1/2010

Customer review by poolshooter

5.0 stars 1/1/2010 by poolshooter
by poolshooter

I did a lot of research and finally decided on purchasing the Bounty Hunter Pioneer 505 and I'm really glad I did ! Since I'm new to metal detecting I was looking for something simple to operate but effective ( not a toy ) . This thing is amazing ! I've been bitten by the treasure hunting bug. I've owned it now for three weeks and have been out nearly every day with it. Every time I go out I find something, mostly coins, but right now I'm just getting my feet wet and that's OK with me. I use the 'Disc' mode ( which is a no brainer ) and have found quarters, dimes and pennies along with an old gold charm. What's amazing to me is how accurate it is ! I mean when it says there's a quarter 6 inches below, you can believe it ! I am in the process of joining a Prospectors Club so I can learn even more and discover locations to go hunting for gold nuggets at. By the way, a side benefit of owning one of these is you'll spend more time outside in God's beautiful countryside and you'll be in great shape with all the walking you'll do. Well I've gotta' go now. I'm packing a lunch and my chocolate lab and me are off on another adventure !!

Was this review helpful? (174) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
poolshooter
Apple Valley, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Lot of Fun
3/24/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/24/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Just beginning to learn how to use the metal detector, but it seems to function better than I anticipated. Looking forward to getting more familiar with it and hunting for "treasure" with my grandkids.

Was this review helpful? (54) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Enjoyable
8/5/2009

Customer review by 1826

4.0 stars 8/5/2009 by 1826
by 1826

I live on Oklahoma Land farm, 1893, and it is great fun looking old artifacts. While I am still learning the in and out of the 505 my wife and I have found some great treasures from that era. I think for money the 505 is a great play toy.

Was this review helpful? (57) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1826
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great features and great value from WALMART
9/20/2011

Customer review by Onerealtreasure

5.0 stars 9/20/2011 by Onerealtreasure
by Onerealtreasure

I have had this detector for several years and it never ceases to amaze and perform. Walmart has really good prices on detectors. It was the first detector I bought and has plenty of use. Its one of bounty hunters most automated and gives you plenty of data on the big question should I dig. The stuff it finds is truly amazing. The pioneer 505 is hard to beat for value and features. And its at WALMART made in the USA,Texas. The 505 gives you the most bang for the buck.

Was this review helpful? (30) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Onerealtreasure
Wisconsin Dells, WI.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
fun hobby
10/19/2013

Customer review by surfer40

5.0 stars 10/19/2013 by surfer40
by surfer40

the detector picks up metals up to 8: deep. It is accurate. You need the right tools to sift through the area it detects to find the metal. Good price for the product.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
surfer40
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Detector
9/20/2013

Customer review by Jessly

5.0 stars 9/20/2013 by Jessly
by Jessly

This is my first metal detector and I love it. Its really easy to use and the assembly is easy as well. I live in the country and the first time I took it out I found a penny! The screen display is easy to read and it is pretty light. I still need to practice using the other settings, other than just the main one, because I seem to pick up metals on just the setting when you turn it on.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jessly
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It Works
6/15/2012

Customer review by DayTripper2

5.0 stars 6/15/2012 by DayTripper2
by DayTripper2

Only had the BH 505 for 3-weeks, worked ruight out of box, appears solid defiently finds stuff, deoth and metal type displays are usefull as a guide and are absolute. Overall good machine for the dough.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DayTripper2
Frederick, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great so far!
2/25/2013

Customer review by louloub

4.0 stars 2/25/2013 by louloub
by louloub

Just picked up our new detector on Saturday and used yesterday. It does take a little work to get the right settings, but does a good job finding items. This one replaced an older Radio Shack unit we had. We used the 505 in some of the same spots as the old detector and found items that the old one didn't find. We had it set to all metal because we were searching in a spot where an old farm use to be. We wanted to find any metal artifacts and found some real interesting items. My husband is still reviewing the video to get some more tips.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
louloub
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Excellent price for this particular item.
8/26/2012

Customer review by SlowDanzurr

5.0 stars 8/26/2012 by SlowDanzurr
by SlowDanzurr

Although i have yet to put it through its paces. I have no concerns about the performancce. This is an upgrade for me from the last model i had. Bounty Hunter detectors hold their own when the time comes. I can't wait to put it to use. I like the features and quality without spending a whole lot of money. I also purchased seperately, the carrying bag, headphones, finds pouch with digging tool, and tri folding shovel. If metal detecting is your hobby then this is a great way to go with Walmarts competitive pricing.

Was this review helpful? (9) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SlowDanzurr
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Top 1000 contributor
6/25/2013

Customer review by FindingBig

4.0 stars 6/25/2013 by FindingBig
by FindingBig

Like it very much. Already finding in the back yard. Work great with my blue tooth hearing aid.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FindingBig
Mass.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
metal detector
2/25/2013

Customer review by fabs1977

4.0 stars 2/25/2013 by fabs1977
by fabs1977

I have been using this product, its great but I need practice. I would recommend this to anyone that's just starting.

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fabs1977
Oxnard
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/10/2013

Customer review by WhimpDinkerson

5.0 stars 9/10/2013 by WhimpDinkerson
by WhimpDinkerson

It seems to take forever to get the product to the store. In general when I order a product, I'd like it to take 3 days instead of a week +. Otherwise I'm completely happy.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WhimpDinkerson
Brookings SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
iprobaqbly good for someone beginning;to learn on
9/8/2013

Customer review by hrhealer

4.0 stars 9/8/2013 by hrhealer
by hrhealer

i probably should havestarted out on something a little more expensive. Found a lot of nails and paint cans

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hrhealer
columbus, ms
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bounty Hunter Pioneer 505 Metal Detector
10/15/2011

Customer review by ryoung6

5.0 stars 10/15/2011 by ryoung6
by ryoung6

I'm satisified with the product.

Was this review helpful? (5) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ryoung6
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
A+
11/22/2014

Customer review by Kw51

5.0 stars 11/22/2014 by Kw51
by Kw51

Great metal detector

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kw51
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
6/22/2012

Customer review by tjss

5.0 stars 6/22/2012 by tjss
by tjss

Bought this as a gift for my husband. He will be receiving it in a couple of weeks but appears this will be perfect.

Was this review helpful? (2) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tjss
Columbia, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Broken right out of the box
10/10/2010

Customer review by Explorer50

1.0 stars 10/10/2010 by Explorer50
by Explorer50

I ordered the metal detector, paid shipping, only to have it show up broken right out of the box. The on/off switch was broken and the rotary switch on the other side turned with very rough movement. The unit might be ok if they used higher quality switches. I returned the unit and got my money back, that is all except the shipping fees.

Was this review helpful? (10) (53)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Explorer50
Would recommend to a friend? No