Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 97 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

97 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

97 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

65%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
21
4 stars
32
3 stars
14
2 stars
2
1 stars
28
1-20 of 88 total reviews
65%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 88 total reviews
1-20 of 88 reviews
Nice budget smoker
3/31/2010

Customer review by ugadawgs98

4.0 stars 3/31/2010 by ugadawgs98
by ugadawgs98

Overall I am very please with this split door smoker. I have used it for about a dozen long smokes, mostly Boston Butts, that have turned out some excellent pulled pork. I replaced a Brinkman Smoke n' Pit bullet smoker with this and found it is defiantly much easier to use due to the doors. My main complaint with the smoker is the charcoal pan. It is the same design Brinkman has used for ages on all their smokers and it still has the same problems which they will not correct....no vent and no grate on the charcoal pan. The charcoal ends up smothering itself in ash as the top coals burn out. The bottom coals get no oxygen and there is no grate to allow the ash to fall so it smothers. You must constantly open to door and shake the pan to keep it burning which lowers the heat and increases the cook time. If you do nothing to the pan you will battle to keep the temp at 200 degrees. That really takes the fun out of smoking. I solved the problem by replacing the charcoal pan with a stainless steel Charmglow grilling wok from Home Depot. It fits the rails perfectly and solves the problem. The smoker would get 5 stars if Brinkman would fix the design.

Was this review helpful? (159) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ugadawgs98
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Smoking Greeeeaaaat ! ! ! !
11/16/2010

Customer review by frozenbean

5.0 stars 11/16/2010 by frozenbean
by frozenbean

After reading many of the reviews posted here I realized most buyers intended to purchase a grill and DON'T KNOW the differrence between a grill and a smoker. Smokers cook at low temperatures for extended periods. I bought this smoker at my local Wally World and love it!. Just smoked 2 medium chikens for 6 hrs at a average 150-160 degree temperature. In the last hour I increased the bricket-charcoals and wood to reach the reccomended 180 temp for well cooked poultry. THIS SMOKER PERFORMED FLAWLESSLY THE WHOLE TIME. I did follow the reccomendation made of drilling holes in the bottom of the charcoal pan and worked great, THANK YOU FOR THE HEADS UP!. LOVE THE DUAL DOORS, THIS MAKES IT EXTREMLEY EASY TO LOAD AND UNLOAD FULE/CHIPS ETC. Also the sliding grates work great. Having always used a dome style smoker I do feel like I did an awesome upgrade. I also think that compared to more expensive smokers it was a wise move. I will use this smoker for years to come. LOOKING FORWARD TO THANKSGIVING DAY FOR A SMOKED HAM AND THE TRADITIONAL BIRD ! ! IF YOU ARE UNDECIDED WHAT TO GET, STOP AND GET THIS BEFORE THEY ARE GONE. good luck....

Was this review helpful? (96) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
frozenbean
Chuck Town, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great value
9/8/2009

Customer review by dhdallas

4.0 stars 9/8/2009 by dhdallas
by dhdallas

Easy to assemble. I did swap out the stock charcoal pan for one with air holes and added a quality temperature gauge as the one that came with the unit arrived broken. After seasoning the unit as directed, I fired it up and smoked a beef roast, pork ribs and some sausage. It maintained an even temperature throughout with only minor adjustments to the air vents. The dual doors make it super easy to add charcoal and wood and to apply a mop to your meat. Overall this is a great entry level smoker at a great price.

Was this review helpful? (56) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dhdallas
Titusville, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Fantastic Product
4/22/2009

Customer review by Slaps

5.0 stars 4/22/2009 by Slaps
by Slaps

This was so easy to assemble (I purchased online not at a store)!!! Has 2 racks you can adjust easily and easy to clean IF you follow the directions on how to season it. I am recommending it to everyone I know that uses a smoker for anything.

Was this review helpful? (54) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Slaps
Charlotte, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Excellent!!!..... After 2 EASY changes.
4/22/2011

Customer review by FatFatMike

4.0 stars 4/22/2011 by FatFatMike
by FatFatMike

To try to save people the frustration I experienced, I wanted to post a review of this product and make a couple of suggestions. Like others, before using the smoker for the first time, I modified the charcoal pan by drilling holes in it, and I also made a wire grate to place inside the pan to put the charcoal on top of. Using this method, the smoker would still only get up to 190 degrees and I was having to constantly feed it charcoal so here are a lot simpler suggestions... Use a GRILLING WOK instead of the original charcoal pan. I found a Kingsford grilling wok that is the same size (11") as the original charcoal pan and fits perfectly. In addition to allowing the charcoal to breath better, you also will not have to feed it as much charcoal. The GRILLING WOK also has many more holes, which allows the ash to fall through better, so as to not smother the charcoal. I actually have to keep the 4 vents closed for the first 2 hours to keep it at the ideal slow cooking temp of 220 degrees. This brings me to my next suggestion; use LUMP CHARCOAL instead of briquettes. In addition to burning hotter, there is less ash as it burns so it will not smother the charcoal. Also, the thermometer on the front of the smoker is incorrect. I used 3 different thermometers to measure the temp the first time I used it and all 3 read 40 degrees warmer than the one that is built in on the front of the smoker. Therefore my final suggestion would be to use a STEMMED THERMOMETER and place it inside one of the top vents with the top of it hanging out of the smoker to measure the temperature. Finally, remember that it is a smoker and not a grill. Smokers are meant to cook at a lower temperature so of course it takes longer. As the saying goes; "Low and slow is the way to go".

Was this review helpful? (38) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FatFatMike
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Cheap and Good with Modifications
1/23/2011

Customer review by PhivTooSix

3.0 stars 1/23/2011 by PhivTooSix
by PhivTooSix

This smoker is a very cheap entry level smoker. After several smokefests I have come to the conclusion that this smoker is very bad as is but can be very good with just a couple of modifications. The two main problems I have found with this smoker are: Small Charcoal Bowl - It's too small as many people have mentioned before making it very hard to do long smokes. I fixed this by replacing it with a large round wire mesh french fry fryer I found at a local farmer's market. It works great and can hold a large amount of coals and wood. It's not Air tight!!!! - This is probably the biggest issue with this smoker. Air leaks through the two doors very easily making it impossible to control the temperature at certain times. This is most notable in long cooks using the Minion method as air gets in lighting all your coals resulting in a very hot smoker. I fixed this issue by buying large magnetic strips from Walmart's craft section and placing them around the edges of the doors. It makes a very efffective seal. Side Note: The temperature gauge on my smoker consistently reads about 20 degrees cooler than it really is. I have verified this with two different guages I placed in the smoker. Conclusion: You can have a good smoker for a very good price with just a couple of modifications. Go ahead and do the two modifications I've mentioned before and save yourself a lot of dough and a lot of headache.

Was this review helpful? (35) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PhivTooSix
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
Great when modified
7/11/2010

Customer review by thebigvalbowski

4.0 stars 7/11/2010 by thebigvalbowski
by thebigvalbowski

This particular smoker does not get the best reviews on the web. The reason, I believe I have found from reading the comments, is poor air circulation. So. Did I fix this? Yes. Does it work great now? Yes. Did I go ahead and experience it as instructed? Yes. It was not cool. No heat above 190 degrees. So... I took the advice online that I found about giving it the capability to have air circulate around the coals. I made a kind of fireplace grate that was curved in a low, squat, "s" shape. This let air go all around the coals. So. With the air vents at the bottom open about 1/3 of the way, and the exhaust vents at the top open nearly all the way, depending on the wind, everything works as I would like. The price is great, the heat issue solved, I now have a smoker that I really like. Perfect size inside for quite large food amounts. Love the venting (I am always playing around with that for fun). Got it at my local WalMart knowing that I would do the modding for the coals. Under $80 with tax. It will keep a nice even fire with a little practice that will stay between 220 and 250, depending on the amount of charcoal and or wood, and the way you set the vents. I gave it 4 stars overall only because they should know by now about the heat issue and have fixed it without having to modify it yourself. Go get one and have fun. I buy bags of dried peppers from WM in the veggie area, and use them by the handful to add a deep, spicy flavor to the meat! About 3 handfuls through the process, and some apple wood along the way... oh yeah.

Was this review helpful? (31) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thebigvalbowski
Indy, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great value -- even for a Pro!
6/24/2011

Customer review by Dullblade

5.0 stars 6/24/2011 by Dullblade
by Dullblade

I'd give it 10 stars if I could -- only because I built my first two smokers from scratch and understand "smoking" principles (laws actually). There were alot of great suggestions in this review section which helped me prepare for my purchase. Price was no object, but value and enjoyment were and this unit exceeded my expectations. Briefly, some principles are: Just like buying a new car, adjustments must be made to suit you (seats, mirrors, radio, climate control, etc.) and that's what makes smoking fun over grilling -- and this unit makes it easy; Oxygen is fuel to the fire (just like propane) and should be adjusted accordingly; air leaks must be delt with for constant/consistant temperature -- if needed, go to an auto parts store and pick up high temperature caulk -- I didn't need to with my unit because of the venting adjustments I could make as-is; thermometers are guages, hence all must be calibrated -- I have three that all read differently -- and using boiling water (212 degrees) as a calibrator, you can easily figure out what a thermometer reads (actually, you should do this with ANY meat thermometer to ensure food safety); clean-up should be easy -- you shouldn't have to take a smoker to a car wash everytime you use it; access to the food and fire should be easy and safe -- this unit is great for that; read up on smoking and what to expect -- fall-off-the bone ribs aren't truly smoked ribs, and some meats will have red in them after they've reached proper temperature -- and that is OK; and finally, the end-product should be your focus -- not the appliance -- this is simply a vehicle/oven for producing consistent mouth-watering results. If you're not into an entire afternoon of outside enjoyment and the smell of smoked meat over the neighborhood, you can buy accessories for smokers that are fan-driven and adjusted by heat and meat thermometers -- remote controlled from your couch! I'd rather go to the local wings and rib joint than do that! Specifically, with my unit: It assembled in less than an hour (including beer breaks); find something for the coals to get oxygen (read other reviews/suggestions); don't drill holes in the bottom pan -- place it under your newly fabricated/purchased fire grate for EZ clean-up; ramping down heat was easier than ramping up (350 down to 225); use water, juice, sand, peppers, whatever, in the water pan -- but use something in the water pan for consistent temperature control; use direct heat (without the pan) for grilling, or not. My unit holds 225 degrees consistently for hours. My unit produced great results from the start -- but I made the adjustments necessary prior to firing it up. I've done catfish and trout (bacon/lemon wrapped in foil -- or not); unbelievable moist chicken (rubbed and unrubbed) crispy and not; pork shoulder (stuffed with garlic and s/p rub); mustard rubbed ribs (pork and beef); and plan on playing with it more -- peppers and veggies are next. I hope this helps -- if you return this unit (as others have said they did), you'll be missing out on some great food and great fun.

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dullblade
Southern New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Smoker
9/11/2009

Customer review by CHRISLSU

5.0 stars 9/11/2009 by CHRISLSU
by CHRISLSU

I recommend this smoker. You must drill six to eight holes in the bottom of the charcoal pan enable to get the heat up over 200 degrees and to maintain this heat for cooking. Otherwise there is not enough heat. You truly can be a great smoke cook with this one. Buy it and find out.

Was this review helpful? (19) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CHRISLSU
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Budget Smoker After Mods
9/15/2011

Customer review by Hebs

5.0 stars 9/15/2011 by Hebs
by Hebs

I found several reviews for this smoker and after reading them, I expected to have to do mods. However, I did a test run with some ribs before any modifications and they turned out excellent... some of the best ribs I have ever had, and I was born/raised/live in Memphis... The gauge is obviously way off because it never got above 150, but my ribs were perfect at 6 hours meaning that temps had to be at least 200 or 225. I have not completed all of my modifications yet, but I thought I would go ahead and post up what you should do to get this smoker working perfectly. 1) install "nomex grill gasket" - purchase and apply this to seal the gaps around the doors. The stock green egg replacement felt gasket has been suggested, but after reading several reviews, they all say that the stock green egg gasket burns up in higher temps, which would not be ideal for the fire box door. Everyone in the reviews suggested the nomex gasket instead. This can be found on amazon for around $30 with adhesive. 2) install a new gauge - the stock gauge is said (and from experience) to read at least 40 degrees lower than actual temp. Which gauge you get is personal preference, but after reading reviews, I ordered the "river country 2" gauge" for around $10 plus shipping (google it). Tru-Tel makes the best temp gauges, but they are a little more expensive ($30+). To test and calibrate the gauge, use boiling water. As soon as the water begins boiling, dip the gauge probe in the water and it should read around 212 degrees. 3) replace the charcoal pan - the stock pan is a plain metal bowl with no holes. It doesnt hold enough charcoal, and when the charcoal burns, the ash smothers the fire. I am still researching which grill topper to get, but if you google "grill topper" you should find some that look like square baskets with holes. I am leaning towards the "kenmore oversized grill basket" from sears for $15. These toppers will hold quite a bit more charcoal and they also have holes to allow the coals to breath as well as letting the ash fall through. I will probably just set the stock charcoal bowl in the bottom, and set the new grill topper on top of it. 4) use lump charcoal - If you have done the above mods and still cant get temps (on an accurate gauge) to 225, try using lump charcoal. This is the charcoal that looks like burnt logs. It burns quite a bit hotter than briquettes. 5) wood chips - this is more of a tip rather than a mod. A cheap way to get more smoke is to soak some wood chips, wrap them loosely in foil, and toss it on the coals. Every once in a while, I simply toss soaked chips directly on the fire. They burn up pretty quickly, but it provides an intense blast of smoke for 10 minutes or so. All-in-all, this is a great smoker for the price. The initial cost was $69 at home depot and total mods cost was around $60. For $130 total, this smoker is a phenomenal purchase. Rib Recipe: 1) purchase baby back ribs and remove the membrane on the back side of the ribs with a paper towel 2) rub the ribs with ball park (regular yellow) mustard and then rub them down with your favorite dry rub (I use a combination of rendezvous rub and a rub from a guy named "Wheeler" here in Memphis. Google "Memphis Dry Rub Recipe" to make your own. Let the ribs sit in the fridge over night (or for 8 hours) if you can (not mandatory) . I then sprinkle a little more rub on just before they go on the smoker 3) get the smoker to around 225 degrees and toss the ribs directly on the rack for 2-3 hours 4) remove the ribs and wrap them in aluminum foil and put them back in the smoker for another 2 hours 5) remove the ribs again and open the aluminum foil and fold it around the ribs to make a "boat" that the ribs sit in. Throw the ribs in the aluminum foil boats back in the smoker for another 1-2 hours. During this time, you can mop/glaze the ribs with sauce or a butter,brown sugar, and rub glaze or your favorite sauce. (I prefer leaving mine dry) 6) after a total cook time of around 6-8 hours at 225, the meat should start pulling inwards and you should start seeing the rib bone tips sticking out from the meat. This means they are done, but cut off a test rib to be sure. 7) remove the ribs and lightly dust with dry rub and/or sauce if desired 8) eat and drink beer ;)

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hebs
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Its a SMOKER
6/5/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 6/5/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Im not sure why this thing has so many bad reviews. Its just a firebox for smoking meats. If you just drill 8 holes about 3/8 of an inch, around the bottom of the pan and set it on a small grate or something to raise it off the bottom of the box so it can breath, this thing will do a fantastic job on any kind of meat, or veggies. Just keep in mind your smoking not grilling. It is a long slow process, also the temp gauge it not accurate. You should be judging the temp by the amount of smoke and by the meats core temp.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Republic Mo.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
dont waste your money
5/1/2010

Customer review by hammerdart

1.0 stars 5/1/2010 by hammerdart
by hammerdart

complete waste of money. charcoal pan is completely inadequate. drilled holes in it, still won't get above 200. charcoal runs out after an hour, just a complete waste of money.

Was this review helpful? (14) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hammerdart
ny
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Brinkmann Smoker
5/10/2009

Customer review by toolpouch10

4.0 stars 5/10/2009 by toolpouch10
by toolpouch10

easy to put together and work real good

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
toolpouch10
winnmucca, nv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
This works & it's cheap...
7/9/2010

Customer review by paulfrancisj

4.0 stars 7/9/2010 by paulfrancisj
by paulfrancisj

This smoker won't work proper out of the box until you do two things to it... 1. Drill holes in the coal pan. 2. Find a way to elevate the coals. You basically need to set up your coal pan like a standard Weber Grill so that the coal gets air, otherwise it will suffocate or smother itself. I used the old grill grate from my Weber Smokey Joe, which you can buy for $8 at a hardware store. I also recommend getting a better temperature gauge, as the one on the door was always a good 10°-20° off. My only other recommendation is to buy wood chunks instead of chips because this seemed to help the temperature stay up. So after a little bit of work it's a good smoker for a beginner like me. It's under a hundred dollars so if I keep up with it, in a year or so I can get a better model.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
paulfrancisj
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
7/12/2009

Customer review by SmokePit

3.0 stars 7/12/2009 by SmokePit
by SmokePit

It did what it was made for. I think the charcoal pan needs holes in it to make it more effective. To burn better and complete and have less unburned charcoal.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SmokePit
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
beyond my expectations
10/15/2013

Customer review by teegee18058

5.0 stars 10/15/2013 by teegee18058
by teegee18058

the price was fantastic, assembly was simple. it seems to be perfectly designed and engineered. seems sturdy and yet lightweight.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
teegee18058
kunkletown pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Holy smoke
3/14/2010

Customer review by BeauGramel

4.0 stars 3/14/2010 by BeauGramel
by BeauGramel

I have been using a dome top smoker for years,Wanted to upgrade. I like the twin door set up on this one, Makes it real easy to load fuel and add water. I did not have the problems other said they had with keeping the temp up, It maintained 200degrees with out a hitch. Some of you need to remember, It's a smoker, not a grill. Low and slow is the way to go..

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BeauGramel
Rio Rico, Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Walmart associate
easy assembly & use
7/9/2009

Customer review by SimpleJoys4

5.0 stars 7/9/2009 by SimpleJoys4
by SimpleJoys4

It was very easy to assemble and to use! We are very happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SimpleJoys4
Sherwood, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
came all bent up
3/10/2014

Customer review by Alcher11

1.0 stars 3/10/2014 by Alcher11
by Alcher11

I was appalled. there were so many dents, and I believe this will probably only last one season. I am going to cure it tomorrow. The moral of the story is you get what you pay for, but I'm disappointed with walmart for sending a smoker all beat up

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Alcher11
Austin texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Working very well
7/9/2010

Customer review by Gaur

4.0 stars 7/9/2010 by Gaur
by Gaur

At first I like everyone else was having a problem with the temp. not being able to get it above 100 to 150, but after reading some reviews and making some adjustments, (purchasing a $8.50 Weber grill grate and placing it on top of the coal pan, i was able to maintain 200 degrees without any problem) Did ribs on the 4th and they came out very good. Can't wait to do a pork butt or turkey.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gaur
Syracsue NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 88 total reviews
1-20 of 88 reviews