Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 120 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

120 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

120 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
105
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
6
1-20 of 119 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 119 total reviews
1-20 of 119 reviews
This is not a makeup remover!
12/12/2013

Customer review by Laykin

5.0 stars 12/12/2013 by Laykin
by Laykin

I have been a Master Esthetician with dry, sensitive skin for ten years. This is a very affordable, great cleanser that is Dermatologist recommended. However, this is not a makeup remover people! It says cleanser on it for a reason. You need to get something like Neutrogena makeup removing wipes to get the makeup out of the way first, so it can cleanse the skin better, and you can use less product. Also, you're skin gets used to products, makeup, etc.. So anytime anyone (especially sensitive skin) switches facial products you're skin might breakout. That's normal, it will go away. If I have a client that wants a facial before a wedding or special occasion, I always let them know I don't recommend doing it that close for that reason. One more thing...if a gentle cleanser doesn't get super "foamy", it doesn't mean it's not doing its job cleansing the skin.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Laykin
Salt Lake City, Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Creamy
3/22/2010

Customer review by runnergirl100

5.0 stars 3/22/2010 by runnergirl100
by runnergirl100

I LOVE this creamy facial cleanser. Its non drying and soap free. I also use it to remove my eye makeup (no irritation) which allows me to save some $$$. I should also add that my skin is normal to slightly dry

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
runnergirl100
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Fantastic Product - Keep it!
8/14/2013

Customer review by Astronaut Libby

5.0 stars 8/14/2013 by Astronaut Libby
by Astronaut Libby

This product feels great on my skin, and makes my face feel soft and refreshed all day. This product is very gentle and doesn't burn or sting my eyes. My morning routine: splash water on my face, apply this & rinse off with water. While my face is still wet, I use the Neutrogena Deep Clean Gentle Scrub to exfoliate then I dry my face. I then use a face moisturizer (finishing a bottle that is currently open; then switching to a Neutrogena product). I wait 5 mins then apply Neutrogena's Ultra-Sheer Dry Touch SPF 45 Sunscreen, then let that absorb for 10-20 mins before applying makeup. Leaves my face super soft throughout the day, and greatly reduces the appearance of oil on my face (I have a very oily T-zone). Love that it reduces it! If your face is a bit shiny after the sunscreen, just dab on a bit of power :) Night routine: quickly remove makeup with a remover (just get what you can off), use this cleanser (removes the last of my lingering makeup, both eyes and face) + scrub, apply moisturizer, and go to bed!

Astronaut Libby
Vancouver, BC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
Gender:Female
Love this product!
11/6/2015

Customer review by Zeechick

5.0 stars 11/6/2015 by Zeechick
by Zeechick

I was able to order this on Walmart.com since it was no where around. Every other facial soap turns my face bright red from all the fragrances etc. This cleanser is the best around and I've been using it for years. While I had to order it on-line, the timely delivery of it, and the fact that it was just a click away, made it worth it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Zeechick
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Didn't work for me :(
12/17/2012

Customer review by MrPsMom

1.0 stars 12/17/2012 by MrPsMom
by MrPsMom

BOO. I have combination/oily skin & was looking for something to replace the Proativ cleansing system, I've been spending so much $ on. I looked at many reviews, and decided to give this one a try. Unfortunately, I didn't like it at all. I guess I assumed (my fault) that it would also completely remove my makeup, which it didn't. I do have to say that I wear Revlon Colorstay foundation, that REALLY stays, so that could be why. But, obviously, since my makeup was still almost all in place after washing my face, I highly doubt it was clean. Again, this is only my opinion, and everyone is different. Maybe it would work much better for someone who only wears light/no makeup. I'll stick with my exfoliating cleanser. :(

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrPsMom
Dubuque, IA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best cleanser for sensitive skin I have ever used
1/4/2015

Customer review by Sher

5.0 stars 1/4/2015 by Sher
by Sher

Let me start by saying that I am generally a cosmetic/beauty product snob. Unless I am in a pinch, I do not use drugstore brands. That being said, this is the absolute best cleanser I have ever used for my fair, sensitive skin that is prone to dryness. I have used so many other specialty and high end brands and none of them have been as good. This has never left my skin irritated. It always feels soft and moisturized and never tight. I have used enough beauty products in my life to know that the tight feeling that people equate to cleanliness is not necessary. When I use this cleaner my skin looks youthful and free from fine lines. My only concern is my inability to find this anymore. None of my local drugstores or grocery stores ever have it. They only ever have the Ultra Gentle Cleanser which is not at all what I want. If I am out of town and I see it, I will literally buy every single one the store has. I hope that this does not get discontinued as it takes me years to find products that I am loyal to. This is a must for anyone with sensitive skin who normally won't give drugstore brands a chance.

Sher
Newburgh, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Dry
Gender:Female
I'd beg to have this product back!
6/8/2015

Customer review by IrisLee

5.0 stars 6/8/2015 by IrisLee
by IrisLee

I have used this product for many years. Over the years I tried different products and this one is the best. It is very gentle to the skin, but also does a good job removing oil and other unwanted impurity from the face. However, I am dismayed to discover that this product has disappeared from the store shelves. I tried the Naturals Purifying Cream Cleanser but am bothered by the tingling sensation around my eye areas. Once I find a good facial skin care product, I usually stick to it. This practice has done wonders to help my skin stay young. However, this is not the first time that a product I love has gone away and being replaced by a new and less satisfactory product. I would really hope that a product like this extra gentle cleaner that is used several times daily would be brought back!

IrisLee
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best cleanser ever!
3/18/2014

Customer review by Moppie89

5.0 stars 3/18/2014 by Moppie89
by Moppie89
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am so happy I found Neutrogena Extra Gentle Fragrance Free Cleanser. It really does what it claims to do for your skin. I have combination skin with very dry patches due to a skin condition. I have been using this product every morning and evening for over a year now and my skin feels better and looks better. It is especially great when you live in a place where you have harsh, cold winters, when it's warm and dry indoors due to the heating. This cleanser does wonders. My skin feels nice and soft after I use this product. It nourishes when it cleanses without feeling oily. I never had any break outs and my skin looks so much better now.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Moppie89
Wiscasset, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works great with my Rosacea
8/7/2015

Customer review by Stinkernoodle's Grandma

5.0 stars 8/7/2015 by Stinkernoodle's Grandma
by Stinkernoodle's Grandma

My dermatologist recommended this more than 10 years ago. It works great. I tried using the Ultra Gentle Cleanser thinking it would be better but it was harsher. I immediately went back to Extra Gentle formula until recently when I haven't been able to find it. I've had to purchase a competitor's product which works but I don't like it as well because it is dispensed as a foam rather than a creamy lotion. I like and use many Neutrogena products. I hope Extra Gentle Cleanser isn't being discontinued. I rated the value as good rather than excellent because I do think it's a bit expensive but it is cheaper than the Ultra Gentle Cleanser.

Stinkernoodle's Grandma
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Please do not take this away!!!
9/8/2015

Customer review by Mindy

5.0 stars 9/8/2015 by Mindy
by Mindy

My dermatologist recommended this to me years ago as I am allergic to most products. I know the sensitive skin population is not large but we are fiercely loyal to products that work!! Please keep our small group in mind. No other product works likes yours!!! Your replacement burns my skin. I beg this company to reconsider. Even if we can only buy online from you if it costs to much to stock nationwide would be great!!

Comment from Consumer Care - 9/8/2015

Hello, Mindy! The decision to discontinue a product is never an easy one, and there are a lot of different factors that influence that choice. We'd like to hear more about your experience with our other products that burned your skin, as this isn't a typical reaction to our products. Please call our customer service center at 1-800-582-4048, M-F 8AM-8PM. We hope to hear from you soon!

Mindy
Great Lakes
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Dry
Gender:Female
Please bring this back!
9/16/2015

Customer review by meejay22

5.0 stars 9/16/2015 by meejay22
by meejay22

The replacement you recommend Ultra Gentle face wash is a harsh, sticky, soapy feeling formula, it stings and leaves my skin feeling dry and filmy. Extra gentle face is a much more pleasant lotion based formula.

Comment from Neutrogena® - 9/17/2015

Hi meejay22. We'd like to learn more about your experience with our product. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048. Our care specialists are available Monday through Friday 8am to 8pm EDT. We look forward to speaking with you.

meejay22
Cleveland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Dry
Gender:Female
Bring It Back!,,,
9/17/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 9/17/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is an exceptionally good, gentle cleanser. A top choice on the a Cosmetic Cop's review site - a best of the best top rated choice. Love the product and am hoping you bring it back. A loyal fan.

An anonymous customer
San Francisco
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Dry
Gender:Male
Please bring it back!!!
9/14/2015

Customer review by KathyL

5.0 stars 9/14/2015 by KathyL
by KathyL

I was so disappointed to find out this product has been discontinued. I have used this for many years and it is the only product that does not cause redness, dryness and wrinkling of the eyelid as a makeup remover.

KathyL
Hudson, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
Clean and moist skin that feels great.
9/15/2015

Customer review by $ensitivelady15

5.0 stars 9/15/2015 by $ensitivelady15
by $ensitivelady15

Please don't discontinue this product. I have used this product for over 10 years and am allergic to most others. It leaves my skin feeling calm and moist, but not greasy.

$ensitivelady15
Keokuk, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Dry
Gender:Female
My favorite and now it's gone?
9/14/2015

Customer review by Carmen

5.0 stars 9/14/2015 by Carmen
by Carmen

My skin loved this product...I have very sensitive skin and this product left my skin feeling clean and comfortable. I hope it is not discontinued.

Carmen
Chattanooga TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
The Best Face Cleanser
9/3/2015

Customer review by Symphony

5.0 stars 9/3/2015 by Symphony
by Symphony

I was shocked to hear that it has been discontinued. After a facial treatment that left my skin inflamed and agonizing to the touch, I found this cleanser to be the only cleaner I could use. That was about 10 years ago and I have continued its use to this day. Please, please do not discontinue this product.

Symphony
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Normal
Please bring this product back!
9/10/2015

Customer review by Lynn68

5.0 stars 9/10/2015 by Lynn68
by Lynn68

I have used this for years and love it. Had I known you were going to discontinue it, I would have stocked up. Please reconsider your decision.

Lynn68
Boise, id
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
Leaves your face clean, not tight and dry
10/21/2014

Customer review by vancity

5.0 stars 10/21/2014 by vancity
by vancity

I switched to this cleanser when I realized my old "organic gentle acne cleanser" had menthol and added fragrances in it. Menthol is an irritant but is added to products so you get that fresh tingly feeling, which is more likely due to subtle inflammation than being "fresh and clean". I also decided that I didn't want anything in my cleanser that had "added benefits". This might sound contradictory but I just wanted a cleanser that cleaned in the most gentle effective way possible; I get the benefits of vitamins and anti-oxidants from my toner and moisturizers that don't get washed down the drain. It was an interesting switch at the start, as my face didn't have that usual tingle/tight feeling BUT it was still SO clean and fresh! My skin is definitely feeling healthier, and looks great. This cleanser will be a keeper!

vancity
Vancouver, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
So Disappointed!!!
8/19/2015

Customer review by Lone Star GiGi

5.0 stars 8/19/2015 by Lone Star GiGi
by Lone Star GiGi

I would ask why cosmetic companies like Neutrogena discontinue products such as this one. Extra Gentle Cleanser is the best facial cleanser I've ever used and agrees with my skin type. It implies that it is very special by its name. It's for those of us with EXTRA SENSITIVE SKIN!!! PLEASE BRING IT BACK!!! I NEED IT!!!

Lone Star GiGi
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Don't discontinue
8/26/2015

Customer review by Carla51

5.0 stars 8/26/2015 by Carla51
by Carla51

This is the best cleanser I have found -- non-irritating and fragrance free. I have tried others and always go back to the Extra Gentle Cleanser. Please listen to your customers and bring this product back.

Carla51
Colorado Springs, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Dry
Gender:Female
1-20 of 119 total reviews
1-20 of 119 reviews