Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 111 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

111 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

111 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
96
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
6
1-20 of 110 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 110 total reviews
1-20 of 110 reviews
Creamy
3/22/2010

Customer review by runnergirl100

5.0 stars 3/22/2010 by runnergirl100
by runnergirl100

I LOVE this creamy facial cleanser. Its non drying and soap free. I also use it to remove my eye makeup (no irritation) which allows me to save some $$$. I should also add that my skin is normal to slightly dry

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
runnergirl100
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This is not a makeup remover!
12/12/2013

Customer review by Laykin

5.0 stars 12/12/2013 by Laykin
by Laykin

I have been a Master Esthetician with dry, sensitive skin for ten years. This is a very affordable, great cleanser that is Dermatologist recommended. However, this is not a makeup remover people! It says cleanser on it for a reason. You need to get something like Neutrogena makeup removing wipes to get the makeup out of the way first, so it can cleanse the skin better, and you can use less product. Also, you're skin gets used to products, makeup, etc.. So anytime anyone (especially sensitive skin) switches facial products you're skin might breakout. That's normal, it will go away. If I have a client that wants a facial before a wedding or special occasion, I always let them know I don't recommend doing it that close for that reason. One more thing...if a gentle cleanser doesn't get super "foamy", it doesn't mean it's not doing its job cleansing the skin.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Laykin
Salt Lake City, Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Didn't work for me :(
12/17/2012

Customer review by MrPsMom

1.0 stars 12/17/2012 by MrPsMom
by MrPsMom

BOO. I have combination/oily skin & was looking for something to replace the Proativ cleansing system, I've been spending so much $ on. I looked at many reviews, and decided to give this one a try. Unfortunately, I didn't like it at all. I guess I assumed (my fault) that it would also completely remove my makeup, which it didn't. I do have to say that I wear Revlon Colorstay foundation, that REALLY stays, so that could be why. But, obviously, since my makeup was still almost all in place after washing my face, I highly doubt it was clean. Again, this is only my opinion, and everyone is different. Maybe it would work much better for someone who only wears light/no makeup. I'll stick with my exfoliating cleanser. :(

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrPsMom
Dubuque, IA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best cleanser ever!
3/18/2014

Customer review by Moppie89

5.0 stars 3/18/2014 by Moppie89
by Moppie89

I am so happy I found Neutrogena Extra Gentle Fragrance Free Cleanser. It really does what it claims to do for your skin. I have combination skin with very dry patches due to a skin condition. I have been using this product every morning and evening for over a year now and my skin feels better and looks better. It is especially great when you live in a place where you have harsh, cold winters, when it's warm and dry indoors due to the heating. This cleanser does wonders. My skin feels nice and soft after I use this product. It nourishes when it cleanses without feeling oily. I never had any break outs and my skin looks so much better now.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Moppie89
Wiscasset, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Brought a smile back to my face!
4/22/2011

Customer review by Candi

5.0 stars 4/22/2011 by Candi
by Candi

For years I have struggled with sensitive skin; and now with aging dry sensitive skin. I have used every product price over and under $50 a bottle with little relief. I picked this product up last week; THE FIRST DAY MY SKIN WAS NOURISHED, SOFT AND LUMIOUS without the dry tight feeling or any oil shine. I love this product, thank you!!!

Candi
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
extra gentle cleanser
4/17/2011

Customer review by Jan

5.0 stars 4/17/2011 by Jan
by Jan

i love this product , and am very disappointed that it has been removed from the stores.

Jan
Toledo, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for dry/sensitive skin!!
5/6/2011

Customer review by Deanna

5.0 stars 5/6/2011 by Deanna
by Deanna

I do not get acne but my skin is dry and very sensitive. The facial cleansers I used before this one would dry my face out and make my skin feel very tight. I tried this product for the first time a few years ago and I just PRAY they will never discontinue it. It is very gentle and my skin never feels tight or dry after using it. Try this!! :)

Deanna
Augusta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
best cleanser
3/1/2011

Customer review by dry/sensitive skin

5.0 stars 3/1/2011 by dry/sensitive skin
by dry/sensitive skin

I am 56 years young and have been using this product, it seems forever. I keep trying new products and come back to this one. I have very dry and sensitive skin.

dry/sensitive skin
Easton, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Extra Gentle Cleanser
3/21/2011

Customer review by Diana

5.0 stars 3/21/2011 by Diana
by Diana

I have used this product for years, it is the only cleanser that doesn't break my face out. I cannot find it in any of the stores where I shop, [...]. Please tell me it has not been discontinued!!

Diana
Suffolk, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The Best!!!!
4/6/2011

Customer review by Monie

5.0 stars 4/6/2011 by Monie
by Monie

I have used this product for years and I've recently noticed that [...] is the only place that carries the Extra Gentle Cleanser. Why? This is a wonderful product, this product signifies what Neutrogena is all about. People always compliment me on my skin and I owe it in part to this product (and good genes).I love this cleanser!

Monie
Galveston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
AWESOME
2/22/2011

Customer review by Lora

5.0 stars 2/22/2011 by Lora
by Lora

i love this face wash i hope it does not ever get dicontinued it really is the best of all the products of the nuetrogena family

Lora
west valley city, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
the best cleanser!
9/24/2010

Customer review by Sebastian

5.0 stars 9/24/2010 by Sebastian
by Sebastian

I have been using this cleanser for years. It's mild fragance free and great for all skin types. Also a great makeup remover.

Sebastian
michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LOVE!
10/31/2010

Customer review by Frequent User

5.0 stars 10/31/2010 by Frequent User
by Frequent User

This product is very gentle, I use it twice a day and have no need to add a moisturizer after washing. I have very dry skin, especially during the winter months, but sometimes break out around my chin area. This product takes care of the breakouts around my chin, as well as soothes dryness on the rest of my face. Great for winter and reducing redness! Also makes a great makeup remover :)

Frequent User
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My skin is soft and clean.
7/12/2011

Customer review by Lara1134

5.0 stars 7/12/2011 by Lara1134
by Lara1134

Many products would be too harsh on my very sensitive skin, but now that I've found this product its very gentle on my skin so it stays smooth and soft, and it doesn't dry out my face!

Lara1134
Parker, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
"Eww I'm Flaking!!"
8/4/2011

Customer review by LuciousBeauty

5.0 stars 8/4/2011 by LuciousBeauty
by LuciousBeauty

"Eww I'm Flaking!!", These words would always go through my head whenever i used my old cleansers. My face is very dry and if not moisturized , it becomes flaky. I love makeup and if I dont have a "smooth Canvas" , I go INSANE ! Lukily this product does what it claims everytime i wash my face, it cleans AND, adds moisture. Pair this with the "Deep Clean Gentle Scrub" and your face is bound to be a "smooth healthy looking canvas" :)

LuciousBeauty
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This is so great!
9/12/2011

Customer review by Ahliksd9

5.0 stars 9/12/2011 by Ahliksd9
by Ahliksd9

My skin is so sensative, and I've had such a hard time finding a facial cleanser that really works without drying out my skin, or even making it break out more. When I tried Neutrogena's Extra Gentle Cleanser I had my doubts, but it blew me out of the water! My skin is so clean and so soft, and it's never dry and rashy anymore! I will never buy another face wash, I've found the one that works! Thanks Neutrogena

Ahliksd9
Meridian, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I agree with everyone
9/15/2011

Customer review by BrennaK

5.0 stars 9/15/2011 by BrennaK
by BrennaK

I, like others, have sensitive facial skin. This is the only product that I use and wish I had found it sooner. It is smooth and gentle and removes all of my makeup and leaves my face soft and clean looking. I can't tell you how many other products I have thrown in the trash! Thank you for this wonderful product and never change a thing! Can you use it as a body wash??

BrennaK
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best facial cleanser I have ever used and I'm 56.
9/24/2011

Customer review by GrammaJ

5.0 stars 9/24/2011 by GrammaJ
by GrammaJ

When I couldn't find the facial cleanser in the stores in my town (Grand Rapids, MN) I went right to the website to order and I ordered 6 so I wouldn't run out. I gave my friend 3 of the bottles (she recommended the product to me 2 years ago). Now we are both happy again.

GrammaJ
Grand Rapids, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Essential for my skin!
10/30/2011

Customer review by Anne

5.0 stars 10/30/2011 by Anne
by Anne

i have been a loyal purchaser for years. It has been harder and harder to find the product in the stores so I tried Natural Cleaner but that was too harsh for my skin. I don't know what I would do without this product. At one point years ago the pump would frequently jam. It is not great for travel because to close the pump, one has to waste some of the product and it doesn't close easily. It is such a great product this hasn't detered me. In a pinch I would put water in the bottle, shake it, and stretch the quantity. It still worked. It has been so valuable to me, I will buy it on line if I can't find it in the stores.

Anne
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great cleanser
9/26/2011

Customer review by Chestnut

5.0 stars 9/26/2011 by Chestnut
by Chestnut

I have sensitive skin and this cleanser is great! My face feel soft and well moisturized. There is a smell that I don't like when I first used but it is acceptable. As time passed, I don't smell it anymore. I don't wear make up and I use 3-4 pumps each time and it is good enough to remove all the dirt I have on my face for the day.

Chestnut
California, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 110 total reviews
1-20 of 110 reviews