Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 16 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

16 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

16 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

50%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 stars
3
1-15 of 15 total reviews
50%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Good for the price
3/17/2009

Customer review by heresthetruth

3.0 stars 3/17/2009 by heresthetruth
by heresthetruth

I purchased this filter about a year ago. I use it on a 30 gallon tank with 30 chiclids. For the large amount of fish in the tank it keeps that water clear without media change for about 2 weeks. After that the water gets slightly cloudy. I replace the media every 3 to 4 weeks. Usally before the indicators that come with the media indicate to do so. The major negative with this filter is that you can not control the water flow. Because of this food gets sucked up before the fish get it. It is easy to clean and is self priming. Replacement media run about $12 for 6 pads.

Was this review helpful? (21) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
heresthetruth
Putnam New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Tetra FS3060 Power Filter
9/10/2010

Customer review by amazing1010

2.0 stars 9/10/2010 by amazing1010
by amazing1010

This filter is way too noisy. It takes over the entire house. At night it is awful. I have aqua clear 110 and aqua tech 30 - 60 and both are very quiet. The aqua clear is the best because all you hear is the water flow. I must return this filter and get another aqua clear. I do not recommend this product

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
amazing1010
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works but loud!
2/19/2010

Customer review by Bdubbya

3.0 stars 2/19/2010 by Bdubbya
by Bdubbya

The title says it all. I have the filter on a 75 gallon tank in my living room, and there is a loud and constant hum. I've read reviews of this item elsewhere and the noise created seems to be a recurring theme. After a week of living with the filter's humming I've decided to return it. The filtration of the product is good though. If I could live with the noise I would keep it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bdubbya
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
OK filter
7/21/2009

Customer review by jada515

3.0 stars 7/21/2009 by jada515
by jada515

I am using this filter on a 15 gallon tank for a mid size Jack Dempsey. Also the media is expensive and needs to be changed often. Not only can that get expensive quickly, but every time you change the media you are removing beneficial bacteria. Another disadvantage to to this filter is that you can not change the flow speed.

Was this review helpful? (13) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jada515
Delaware
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great if u know how to use it
10/28/2009

Customer review by fishman217

5.0 stars 10/28/2009 by fishman217
by fishman217

for the person who says there having problems with the filter on there 15gallon one this filter is way big to be using for that size also because its so big the filters are more expensive if you get a fish tank you have to think of more than the cost of fish but back to the review this is a great filter(when put in a proper sized tank) keeps the water clean and with my rainbow redtail and bala sharks which tend to be a bit messy keeps them happy and healthy overall a great filter for a reasonable price

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fishman217
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Performance - Filter Change - Feeding Schedule
1/12/2011

Customer review by DolphinRider

4.0 stars 1/12/2011 by DolphinRider
by DolphinRider

Have had same filter and fish for 3 years now. It keeps on running and handles my 50 gallon tank with room to spare. Quiet as long as your water level is up. I change my filters (2 at a time) at least once a month for 6 fish that inhabit the tank. Only negative is the debris from the filter area does tend to muddy up the tank a bit when you change out the filters.I only feed once a week - YES - once a week. The tank is cleaner and the fish are healther. I use a combination of algea wafers and fish food when I do feed them.

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DolphinRider
Dallas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
great filter for my cichlids and oscar
2/29/2012

Customer review by bpfamily

5.0 stars 2/29/2012 by bpfamily
by bpfamily

I am a teen that purchased this for a 20 gallon tank that has 2 cichlids, an oscar and frog. Oscars are messy eaters so I got the bigger filter. Other reviews said it was noisey but i never hear anything unless my water is low. It keeps my tank very clean so now my parents arent complaining.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bpfamily
Wolcott, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Tetra Advanced Filter 30-60 NOISY
3/19/2010

Customer review by HitekRedneck

3.0 stars 3/19/2010 by HitekRedneck
by HitekRedneck

The filtration and flow rate is exceptional for the price, it does a good job. Although it does seem to suck up a great deal of food before it gets a chance to be eaten. The noise level is rediculous. Tetra makes filters that are absolutely silent and yet I have to turn the TV up over this one. I'm about ready to donate it to Goodwill ONLY because of the noise. At night it fills the house, unplug it for a few minutres and the silence IS golden! I've started unplugging it for 5 minutes for feeding flake food so the fish can eat and since it's self priming that's no problem.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HitekRedneck
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Hate this filter
5/6/2010

Customer review by Suze417

1.0 stars 5/6/2010 by Suze417
by Suze417

I have only had this filter for a few weeks and I am ready to take it back! The motor being in the uptake tube was a terrible idea; it might have been ok if it didn't hang off to the side. The weight of the motor causes uptake tube to come out of filter box, so filter stops. My fish knock into it and dislodge, so filter stops. My filter is not running more than it is running.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Suze417
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Skip it....
9/20/2012

Customer review by 1926piano

1.0 stars 9/20/2012 by 1926piano
by 1926piano

I have only had it for a few months and it has already died - gave me nothing but problems for the entire time I had it, intake kept falling off, terrible noise, hard to get it started after a water change. It got where it would speed up/slow down, then stop. Will have to find something else tomorrow to save fish in 48 g. tank.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1926piano
Fayetteville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Tetra FS3060 Power Filter
11/9/2013

Customer review by AFull99

2.0 stars 11/9/2013 by AFull99
by AFull99

We bought our Tetra FS3060 Power Filter 9 months ago, for our 56 gallon tall tank with 10 fish. It worked great, in the beginning. It started out quiet, and did a great job. Then 4 months into using this, it started to get extremely loud, water wasn't as "clean", and flow wasn't right. We cleaned it weekly, rather than only when we would change the filters. Tonight, doing routine, weekly upkeep of the filter, the filter popped and died. I would suggest this to a friend, but Only as a back up to have on hand...and to replace with a better quality, long term filter system.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AFull99
Oak Grove, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/9/2012

Customer review by nemomilo

5.0 stars 8/9/2012 by nemomilo
by nemomilo

great pruduct for filtering water within minutes its clear.and i dont have to clean the tank frequently any more.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nemomilo
n.y
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent filter
3/24/2013

Customer review by jcrider48

5.0 stars 3/24/2013 by jcrider48
by jcrider48

I always buy filters that are rated at twice what I need. I have used this filter for 3 years with no problems. I don't even hear it running unless my water level gets to low, but then it's a waterfall sound. For the reviews saying its loud, I don't understand what their talking about. Only time mine was loud was when the filter was sucking up air bubbles from my air pump. Buying another one this week for a new set up.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jcrider48
Minot, AFB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Noisy and unclear directions
3/12/2012

Customer review by Kestris

2.0 stars 3/12/2012 by Kestris
by Kestris

Having had the Whisper in tank filteration systems several years before they quit working, I decided to give this type of filter a try. First, the directions are unclear as to how exactly you connect the power supply to the filter part. It does not specify that you need to force the power supply into place until it snaps in. In fact, the directions do not depict the power supply connections at all. Only the tube itself is in the directions. The system itself is rather noisy, especially if the water level is kept at the line indicated on the power supply assembly. Being in a bedroom, this was unacceptable. So the water level had to be increased until the noise level was tolerable. On a 30 gal tank with only 3 fish (2 Gourami and one Pleco), the filtration itself is on par with what I've experienced with the Whisper in tank filters. The filters themselves are more expensive than the Whisper Intank filters as well- 12.00 for 6 for these filters, whereas the Intank filters are 12.00 for EIGHT. For the increase in cost, I would expect better filtration. I will be going to to the Whisper Intank filtration systems.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kestris
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very cheaply made
3/12/2014

Customer review by 1timesaver

1.0 stars 3/12/2014 by 1timesaver
by 1timesaver

I received the item in lightening fast shipping time, Walmart is great like that ! However, the item was very cheaply made. I opened the box and the rubber part that is suppose to attached around the stem that sits in the water, was in the bottom of the box, it fell off, I would assume from being glued on poorly. And the parts that should of been a clean seam, seemed more like they were melted and pressed together with crooked seams, again poor quality. I returned this item.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1timesaver
Portage, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.