Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 9 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

3.0 stars

9 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

3.0 stars

9 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

44%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
3
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 stars
3
1-9 of 9 total reviews
44%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Good and Bad
4/28/2009

Customer review by Aarun

3.0 stars 4/28/2009 by Aarun
by Aarun

I bought this for my 20G tank. (box says 20 to 40G) Pros: Strong and quiet filter Adjustable suction pipe Cons: Too strong for 20G tank. No flow regulator. The water flow is so high that its like putting the fish on a treadmill 24/7. Returning the item, dont want to work the fish out too much.

Was this review helpful? (29) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Aarun
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great
2/24/2011

Customer review by CRM90

5.0 stars 2/24/2011 by CRM90
by CRM90

I've been in the aquarium keeping hobby for around 6 years and the Tetra filters have been nothing but amazing for me. Some people say they're loud, but I think that may be just a faulty filter because mine are completely silent. I have had one for about two and a half or three years and the other for a year and have no complaints about either of them. The self priming is awesome. I've had filters without the self priming option, which makes it a pain to start the filter without it burning up the motor. You just have to make sure the water is above the minimum water line and you're set with this filter. And for the people saying the filter is too strong for a 20 gallon tank, most experienced aquarium keepers recommend a filter rated for at least twice the volume of the tank. Yes, it may seem like you're giving the fish a workout but they do get used to it in a couple days. Yes there are better filters out there, but for the price, you can't really beat the Tetra filters for a freshwater tank.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CRM90
WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Like its power and quiet operation
10/29/2010

Customer review by NiXoR

5.0 stars 10/29/2010 by NiXoR
by NiXoR

Fit nicely in a 20G tank and is very quiet. It has a mordern sleek design with extension tube going down into the tank. The part submerged in the tank is not protruding at all.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NiXoR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great filter though it is a little loud.
6/11/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/11/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

It is a great filter but it is loud, but you will get used to it. I have on my ten gallon tank and is not over powered. make the tank crystal clear.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
fishers, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not good
6/3/2010

Customer review by terpaccount

1.0 stars 6/3/2010 by terpaccount
by terpaccount

1 year, two broken pumps. Last just as long as the guarantee on the package, not one day longer.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
terpaccount
Would recommend to a friend? No
Too powerful for 20 gallon tank
6/2/2010

Customer review by DBJr1980

2.0 stars 6/2/2010 by DBJr1980
by DBJr1980

I tried this filter and like the previous review, I felt it was too powerful for my 20 gallon tank. In my opinion, it is better suited for a 30-40 gallon tank. Also, I feel it was a horrible design. The internal and off center motor setup caused a lot of vibration. Excessive vibration = excessive noise. I ended up returning it for a full refund and went back to using my old but dependable Whisper 10-20 power filter.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DBJr1980
Fort Myers, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Tetra 20-40 Gal. Filter
2/6/2010

Customer review by Ron345

2.0 stars 2/6/2010 by Ron345
by Ron345

The filter is reliable, though it makes a constant grinding noise that is obnoxiously loud and irritating if you're trying to focus on something in the same room or just trying to get a minute of peace. The fact that the the filter turbine housing and turbine motor are within the tank also is another downside because it takes up a considerable amount of space and is unattractive.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ron345
Wilkes-Barre, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
cheaply made
5/3/2010

Customer review by ILYankee

1.0 stars 5/3/2010 by ILYankee
by ILYankee

I bought one these to replace a filter for a fish tank I clean and discovered it had broken plastic particles in bottom of the box and in the plastic bag it was inside the box and looked so hard to figure to put together and didn't have directions shows how you put it together so I end up returning it for a refund and got a different brand of filter.

Was this review helpful? (1) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ILYankee
Midwestern IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Couldn't assemble
7/11/2011

Customer review by kahayes

1.0 stars 7/11/2011 by kahayes
by kahayes

I spent hours trying to assemble this, finally determined that one of the tubes is either missing a part or broken. Returning. Buy the Whisper in the tank tetra filter instead . . . soooooo much easier, and a great filter! I have a super dirty turtle and it keeps my 55 gallon clean.

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kahayes
Would recommend to a friend? No