Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 245 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

245 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

245 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

64%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
122
4 stars
31
3 stars
5
2 stars
17
1 stars
70
1-20 of 231 total reviews
64%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 231 total reviews
1-20 of 231 reviews
Great Job Cleaning
5/4/2009

Customer review by MyWalMartReview4U

5.0 stars 5/4/2009 by MyWalMartReview4U
by MyWalMartReview4U

I was eager to get this steam cleaner as my carpets were in HORRIBLE disarray. It had been a little over a year since I had last cleaned my carpet, and the time had long since come to get it done again. I have two cats that, as much as I love them, shed 24/7. Did I mention they were black cats? Black fur on tan carpets… uuugly! My steam cleaner arrived Thursday, and after vacuuming everything thoroughly, I was amazed at all the hair that the steam cleaner managed to get up after my vacuum passed through. I wish I had pictures. My carpets were DISGUSTING beforehand, and now they look professionally done. With a 6 year warranty, I know I'm going to get my moneys worth. I highly recommend this product... especially since this was my 1st time doing my carpets myself (previously paid for professional steam cleaning) and the whole entire process was easy and results amazing!

Was this review helpful? (112) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MyWalMartReview4U
Jacksonville, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Hoover is the BEST!!!
8/19/2010

Customer review by YoliJoJo

5.0 stars 8/19/2010 by YoliJoJo
by YoliJoJo

I have two indoor pets, a cat and a dog. It is essential for me to have a carpet cleaner in order to clean my carpets every 6 months without hiring professional cleaners, which is way to costly. About 5 years ago I purchased a Bissel carpet cleaner, which never worked well at all from day one. Owning a Bissel completely defeated the purpose in cutting down on cost because I still had to hire professional carpet cleaners to help keep my carpets clean and fresh. Well I finally decided to break down and buy another carpet cleaner, the Hoover Platinum Extractor. Boy was I amazed instantly!!! I've been in my home for almost 8 years and my carpets looked brand new after using my Hoover once. I am soooooo pleased and impressed with my Hoover that this is the first time I have posted a review. I highly recommend this cleaner. I thought it was a bit pricey, but it's worth every single penny. My last professional carpet cleaning job (Nov 2009) I paid $300.00. In comparison to paying for a professional, my Hoover has paid for itself with just one use. In fact my Hoover did a better job than the professional service I hired (nationally Known), who shall remain nameless. If you are considering buying a carpet cleaner, buy buy buy this product. I threw my Bissel in the garbage as soon as my Hoover arrived. :-)

Was this review helpful? (53) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
YoliJoJo
California Bay Area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
A Great Buy
5/26/2009

Customer review by btucker

5.0 stars 5/26/2009 by btucker
by btucker

I purchased this item a few weeks ago, I am very happy with it! I have 3 kids, 2 dogs, and alot of company. I mainly purchased it to clean my teenage daughters room. She seems to get stuff on the floor all the time, I have cleaned up eyeliner, nailpolish and some things I am not really sure about. The machine is very easy to use, easy to clean and the attachment is easy as well. It is heavy but that is to be expected if you have every used a carpet cleaner before. I would say if you are thinking of getting this DO it. It is worth the money and it will pay for itself in just a couple of uses. My neighbor even borrowed it and loved it, so she will probably be getting one as well. The only drawback is that I can't find the Hoover Platinum Cleaner in the stores, It came with a small sample that I liked, but had to use the regular Hoover cleaner from the store, which worked very well too. But I like to use what is recommended, but the book says you can use any Hoover carpet cleaner, which I did and it was fine.

Was this review helpful? (60) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
btucker
Saratoga Springs, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
The best I ever had in my hands
9/30/2011

Customer review by nbarnes24

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by nbarnes24
by nbarnes24

This carpet cleaner is amazing. no, serioulsly, I use so many of them in my life, but this one is just rhe best. My house is pretty much all carpet. Six months ago i rented a doctor rug as I always do every 3 months to clean the carpet. But it was a deasaster. The water could not spray correctly, the brush were pretty ruined, just a bad rental, but a pretty good wast of my time. I had to hired a pro, $300, but the stains came back after few days! Another waste!! So, i went online, fine this product, then went to see one in real. I was amazed by the bruses systhem. They go in every direction. The carpet get brushed right to left and front to back at the same time in a very fast spinning movement The doctor rug as only a front an back roll and is very poor. Also, the spay systhem is quite wide and powerfull. Doctor rug is light and spot only the side of the brush. I mean seriously, Don't hesitate to put the machine on the floor and look under to see how they work. You'll inderstand what i mean. In brief, I liked what i saw. So I order one online, but it was out ofstok. After 5 months, i finaly received it. My carpet was dirty, stains all over, the sand beige was grey. But let face it, if you want your carpet to be cleaned the right way, you have to do it right. First, I vaccumed everything twice. Then i pre-treated some big staines using the woolite oxyclean spray. On all the products for stains, this one works the best in my opinion. Now, the carpet cleaner, hot water with the hoover shampoo that was included. I also use the woolite oxyclean shampoo, great result too. The key is how to use your carpet cleaner. first, you have to walk foward very very slowly holding the spray button. if you go to fast to won't leaveenought tome to the machine to brush the carpet. More brushed it get, cleaner it get. If you do the job right you will see immedialty a wet foamy stripe that the vaccum will leave behind. then you go backward (reverse) and the vaccum rinse and vaccum all the saop and water. I personnaly did that 3 times for every stripe (portion) of carpet. the result is amazing!!! Little advice, use very cleaned shoes when you do it or bare feet. Talking about the brushes, they can be remove to be cleaned and get hairs out easilier. Just rinse them to get pet hair out or unroll long hairs. I have a dog, i could not beleive how musg hair the brushed get out of my carpet. The only little thing , it can get messy when you change the water tanks. so do it on tille or hard floor and get towel handy. The tools are amzing too, i love the small spinnig brush for stairs and narrow aeras, it works great do. If you use it for the first time, it can take up to 1 minutes before having the spay working, the time you prime the hose. Seriously, It works, i never had my carpet THIS clean in years. my husband was scepticle but now he can't beleive how it looks. One of the best investmenti did for my carpet so far. I LOVE THIS CARPET CLEANER!

Was this review helpful? (21) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nbarnes24
corona, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Very Heavy
5/3/2009

Customer review by honestreviewer

4.0 stars 5/3/2009 by honestreviewer
by honestreviewer

I like the suction on this product it is wonderful. And it doesn't leave your carpet soaking wet. It isn't all that great at getting out tough stains though. However if you have a new carpet it would be great for maintaining it. I have multiple sclerosis so I may be off with this next assessment, however it is too bulky and too heavy at least for me. I have a hard time moving it. Thankfully, I only have carpeting upstairs. I couldn't imagine moving that thing up and down the stairs. I also am afraid that the compartments for the water both clean and dirty and the detergent are a bit fragile and may break. For the price that I paid I expected it to be a little better at getting stains out of the carpet. But I am telling you this thing does work and it is a good product. I just would say you may still need a professional to come out every once in a while. I have a room in my house that no one really goes in. I ran the machine in that room and the carpet looks brand new. I ran it in rooms with heavy traffic and the rooms look better but not that great. Therefore, I think this would be great for people who just purchased a new carpet and want to maintain it. And if you are older or have a disability like me this thing is hard to move around so keep that in mind. I think the product should sale for closer to $299 due to the weight of the product and the fact that it doesn't get out deep down stains

Was this review helpful? (39) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
honestreviewer
Fort Sill, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Cleans well
6/23/2010

Customer review by shouldntberequired

4.0 stars 6/23/2010 by shouldntberequired
by shouldntberequired

I purchased this product in attempts to clean animal urine out of 6 month old carpet. Overall the cleaner did a pretty good job but there is still some odor that persists. Most likely due to me not finding the urine issue sooner. I tried Hoover's Pet specific detergent and the included bottle of "Platinum" cleaner. The Pet specific detergent did a better job with masking the odor. I have also picked up candy stains out of the carpet with 100% success. This machine has very good suction and is better than the other Hoover machines that I have used. As with all steam cleaners patience is required and the area has to cleaned thoroughly. I like the fact that this machine can be set to pick up water only if there seems to be too much water in the carpet. I will agree with the other reviews in that the water and detergent basins seem flimsy. The handles on the basins have release mechanisms, so make sure that you pull from the base of the handle when removing them.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shouldntberequired
MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Do not purchase!!!!!!!!
8/4/2011

Customer review by Sleaper

1.0 stars 8/4/2011 by Sleaper
by Sleaper

I have had this product for a year now and do not recomend it to anyony. Cleaning wise it did a great job. Durability.........Horable. I have returned this product twice back to the store hoping the replacement would be better. THE PROBLEMS -Made out of cheap plastic. The joint to the tower keeps breaking due to the cheap plastic. -Brisles on botom tend to fall off and you have to reatach them -Extremly heavy- i hope you don't have stairs everything else i give a thumbs up too. But take my advice walk away and do not purchase.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sleaper
Would recommend to a friend? No
Avoid avoid avoid
3/18/2011

Customer review by DrNano

1.0 stars 3/18/2011 by DrNano
by DrNano

The features on the Hoover Platinum are great but the unit suffers from inferior design in how it's constructed and the materials used. Plastic parts break easily, especially anything with the cleaning system itself. Tank handles comes off, valves pop out and spill water and soap all over the floor, and the front nozzle plate will not fit properly after you take it off to clean it. Plus cleaning the brushes and ducts to remove dirty water and floor debris is hellish. Avoid at all costs.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DrNano
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
Don't Waste Your Money
2/18/2011

Customer review by TRBuyer

1.0 stars 2/18/2011 by TRBuyer
by TRBuyer

It broke after 6 months and Hoover Customer Service told us to take it to an Authorized Repair Center. We did 6 weeks ago and are still waiting for it to be repaired or replaced. The Warranty useless.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TRBuyer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Works wonderfully when not broke down
5/5/2010

Customer review by MessyBad

1.0 stars 5/5/2010 by MessyBad
by MessyBad

I bought this product based on the fact I had never had a bad experience with any of the Hoover vacuums or shampooers I have boughten in the past. Unfortunately, I can't say that with this shampooer. It worked wonderfully the first couple times I used it. Then the 6 spin brush broke and melted causing the spinners to not move. I called Hoover and the woman I spoke with was very nice and they shipped me a new 6 spin brush. Still it wouldn't work. I called them back and sent them my shanpooer and the sent me a new one. However, that took over a month to get, which was very upsetting because I really needed it before it arrived. I used the new one once and a fuse went out and it wouldn't even turn on. Took it into a Hoover recommended shop to be fixed and it took a month to get a fuse. Now that it is fixed, it is broken again and won't even turn on. I am very disappointed and upset. I spent $400 on this item and for that amount of money, it should WORK! I have had this shampooer for almost 11 months and this is the third time it has broke on me. Unfortunately, due to this experience, I will no longer buy from Hoover.

Was this review helpful? (14) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MessyBad
Southern Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Walmart associate
I used it once and already broken
6/27/2009

Customer review by Carlomen

3.0 stars 6/27/2009 by Carlomen
by Carlomen

I used it one time and the 6 spin brush is broken. It is to heavy to carry upstairs and hard to wash the steps. Not easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (12) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Carlomen
Montgomery Village, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great features-Poor craftsmanship and support
3/27/2011

Customer review by theDrDe

1.0 stars 3/27/2011 by theDrDe
by theDrDe

First time I tried to use it the brushes quit working. It's been at a Hoover repair center for four weeks waiting for parts. Since being purchased by a Chinese company, parts are hard to get. A 6 year warranty doesn't do any good if you can't get parts!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
theDrDe
Would recommend to a friend? No
Don't waste your money!
3/14/2010

Customer review by JayBirdPgh

1.0 stars 3/14/2010 by JayBirdPgh
by JayBirdPgh

My partner and I bought this product. It looks appealing, but the craftsmanship of it is horrible. Used it three times in a period of 8 months and then the hose would not spray. When contacting hoover, I got told I would pay upfront for repair and they would reimburse me. Tossed it to the curb once I got the repairs would be over $150. Made very flimsy and not durable at all. Since then, have replaced with a Rug Doctor Wide Track, and I can't believe the amount of dirt hoover left in the carpts! The Rug Dr. was a bit more, but based on the durability of it and cleaning power, well worth it. Will never consider hoover again!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JayBirdPgh
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great Carpet Cleaner
1/5/2011

Customer review by MomfromMissouri143

5.0 stars 1/5/2011 by MomfromMissouri143
by MomfromMissouri143

I bought this to replace an old Hoover bought in 1997 (it still works but I thought with improved technologies a new model might work better). I almost bought a Bissel - because it supposedly heats the water and I thought that might be an added bonus. After checking out Comsumer Reports I decided to stick with the Hoover brand and I could not be happier!!! My worn, dog stained carpets look like new! Although I have had the cleaner for 3 weeks - I have used it almost every other day to clean a living room, hall way and master bedroom due to an aging, incontinent dog. And thanks to Wal-mart I got it for $60 less than the price listed on any other retail seller. I could not be more pleased.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MomfromMissouri143
Wentzville, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Pretty Piece of Junk
12/28/2009

Customer review by SLS01

1.0 stars 12/28/2009 by SLS01
by SLS01

I bought this machine after having other positive experiences with Hoover products, and this machine turned out to be a huge pain... I had to exchange it once and then returned it again for a refund, which is no small task considering the szie (and it was a PAIN transporting it in a mid sized sedan). The first go around, it turned on but would not actually "extract", as there was some sort of communication error between the solution compartment and the machine, so a light was blinking saying I needed solution (which was in there). After several attempts, I finally gave up, cleaned out the machine, repacked it, and exchanged it. The second go around, the machine turned on fine, but I was shocked at the mess it made on my carpet. I had it on normal cleaning, and the machine dumped so much cleaning solution onto my carpet I could still see the soap after I did several passes with just water to rinse. By then, the carpet was soaked and took forever to dry. And, after it dried, it was all hard like there was soap on it. Gross. Plus, it didn't even remove the stain! So, I packed it back up and returned it. Although this machine looks nice, don't be fooled. It dumps a bunch of soap on it and then rubs it in with the spinning brushes. Save your time and money and get something else.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SLS01
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Very simple to use
2/15/2011

Customer review by tlchousework

5.0 stars 2/15/2011 by tlchousework
by tlchousework

I am so pleased with my carpet cleaner. I was tempted to buy a rug doctor, but I am so glad I got the Hoover. It works better than the Rug Doctors that I have rented for years. I highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tlchousework
Middleton, Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
So far, so good
1/13/2011

Customer review by Howard123

4.0 stars 1/13/2011 by Howard123
by Howard123

I've never owned a carpet cleaner before, but with three dogs who love roaming and running in the yard (and all of them getting up in years) it became a necessary evil. I've used the cleaner three times since purchasing it. It was very easy to assemble; the directions for use are clear and simple; changing water/solution and cleaning the item to store it are all very easy. (I have two herniated discs and I have not had any issue with the weight or movements required.) The amount of dirty water that this picked up in just one hallway area, after having just cleaned it with a rental machine from Home Depot two weeks prior, was both yucky and impressive! The carpet is still somewhat damp after thoroughly following the process, but by the next morning, it is dry. I'm impressed with its extraction/suction capability. I cannot yet speak to the product's durability. Good luck in your search for the right cleaner. As for me, so far so good!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Howard123
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
I waited 3 months to do this review....
3/19/2012

Customer review by momof2842012

2.0 stars 3/19/2012 by momof2842012
by momof2842012

Ok, where do I start. It worked wonderfully but as stated on other peoples comments its made of very cheap plastic and you wonder for the price why it would not be made more durable. I have 3 dogs, a cat and two children so I steam clean almost everyday. I have been through a lot of different brands makes and models and none can seem to with stand how much I use them. I had to return this one to the store because it would not stand up anymore the cheap plastic piece in the back broke. Now, cleaning wise yes it does do a great job, but before you write your review give it some time. Towards the end it was mixing solution when I was just on rinse cycle and would leak dirty water when unplugged. I really have no other choice yet to purchase it again with the hopes the one I got was defective but you have to question why all the plastic parts on it are so cheaply made. I babied it and it still broke. I did everything I was suppose to and it could not survive my house for 90 days. Yet when I look at other ones available I have tried most and this does pick up the best, and I have to have the attachments for stairs which one other I was going to buy did not include. BUYER Beware, defintly recommend purchasing the extended warranty but because it broke within the 90 days i did not even need it. Was a big pain to bring it back to the store broken and because its not available in my local stores they had a heck of a time trying to get a barcode even with the information I printed out. Also, now I have to re order one and wait around since there were no local stores with it in stock or even available. UG

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
momof2842012
Pfafftown nc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
BUYER BEWARE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
12/6/2011

Customer review by stones2011

1.0 stars 12/6/2011 by stones2011
by stones2011

I really dont care if you waste your money on this product, I did and so will you . Im so mad with Hoover after buying this model from Wallmart and only using it 5 times, It cracked on the bottom of the frame . I didnt know if the warranty was good for a crack, really it only covers the motor burning out . You wont find this out until calling the customer service center. I was extremly mad that after knowing warranty will not cover it , they told me it would cost $300.00 to fix this unit. I had argued with customer service ( Hoover) and ask why a crack in the frame would take 6 hours and $300.00 to fix? I was told by the rep. that this is a very delicate model and more or less the problem is in my hands , they would not do anything about this matter. Wallmart should not even carry this model, it looks nice but if this model is this delicate they dont need this . Go ahead and waste your money!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stones2011
hamshire,il.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Awesome On First Use
12/8/2011

Customer review by jsgntulok

5.0 stars 12/8/2011 by jsgntulok
by jsgntulok

Received the Hoover Platinum this morning and went right to work. I have had other carpet cleaners before and was not impressed by them. This Hoover really impresses me. I just finished cleaning a bit over 400 sq ft of light colored carpet that was dingy looking before I started but is now bright and beautiful. I wasn't sure how to use the included cleaning solution - instructions on bottle say to dilute or use full strength, owner's manual says to use full strength. Due to past experience with carpet cleaning solutions, I decided to dilute by 50% and am glad I did. There was still a good bit of soap foaming with the diluted solution so I can only imagine how much more foaming there would have been if I used full strength. One tank filling of the diluted solution is all I used for the 400 sq ft I cleaned. Some reviewers commented on the machine using too much solution, but that just was not my experience. Some have also commented about difficulty finding the Platinum solution at local stores. If the Hoover website is any guide, the Platinum solution is not necessary since the website indicates all Hoover carpet cleaning solutions are compatible with the machine. I am vey impressed by the amount of water extracted from the carpet. I did a total of three forward/backward overlaping passes after the clean/rinse passes. The spot cleaning system was not so impressive. Part of the issue here might be my use of diluted cleaning solution. However, for spot cleaning I prefer to use Folex Spot Cleaner anyway, so that is what I used before I started cleaning. Yes, while the machine is heavy, it is made of what feels like flimsy plastic. Considering the price, that is regrettable so extra care is called for. If a tank doesn't come off easily, stop, take a deep breath, try again, gently. The same is true when removing parts for cleaning. One last comment, when dumping the dirty water dump into a toilet or a sink with a wire strainer installed. There will probably be lots of carpet fibers in the waste water that will easily clog a drain if you are not careful. Overall, easy to use and impressive results.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jsgntulok
Tulsa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 231 total reviews
1-20 of 231 reviews