Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 256 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

256 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

256 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

62%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
124
4 stars
33
3 stars
5
2 stars
18
1 stars
76
1-20 of 242 total reviews
62%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 242 total reviews
1-20 of 242 reviews
Excellent carpet cleaner
12/27/2011

Customer review by MisterJones

5.0 stars 12/27/2011 by MisterJones
by MisterJones

I was a littlle worried with purchasing this carpet cleaner after reading some of the other reviews,But i have to say it worked better than expected.Below are before and after photos

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MisterJones
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
I bought it 2weeks ago from Walmart. I love it.
4/5/2013

Customer review by redleg25

5.0 stars 4/5/2013 by redleg25
by redleg25
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After almost a good 3 Weeks research, we finally decided to buy "Hoover Platinum Collection series" carpet washer at a discounted price of below $200 over the Internet from Walmart for home delivery. Walmart delivered it in just 4 business days on a standard ship (free of charge). Delivery was faster than expected and without any damage. As for the this Hoover Platinum Collection series carpet washer, I must say WE LOVE IT. I used it once and cleaned 3 rooms with great result. I'm so glad we chose it for purchase. Just be gentle with it since not too rugged material are used to build it. Also, buy the recommended detergent (a small bottle is included with the purchase). Your carpet will be just cleaner than you expected it to be. Oh, did I mention extremely easy to use too. Just make sure you carefully and thoroughly read the enclosed instruction before using the product. We love it and recommend it to all. If you order it through Walmart, not only you will get it fast, but can return it easily if you are not happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
redleg25
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A Great Buy
5/26/2009

Customer review by btucker

5.0 stars 5/26/2009 by btucker
by btucker

I purchased this item a few weeks ago, I am very happy with it! I have 3 kids, 2 dogs, and alot of company. I mainly purchased it to clean my teenage daughters room. She seems to get stuff on the floor all the time, I have cleaned up eyeliner, nailpolish and some things I am not really sure about. The machine is very easy to use, easy to clean and the attachment is easy as well. It is heavy but that is to be expected if you have every used a carpet cleaner before. I would say if you are thinking of getting this DO it. It is worth the money and it will pay for itself in just a couple of uses. My neighbor even borrowed it and loved it, so she will probably be getting one as well. The only drawback is that I can't find the Hoover Platinum Cleaner in the stores, It came with a small sample that I liked, but had to use the regular Hoover cleaner from the store, which worked very well too. But I like to use what is recommended, but the book says you can use any Hoover carpet cleaner, which I did and it was fine.

Was this review helpful? (60) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
btucker
Saratoga Springs, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Cleans well
6/23/2010

Customer review by shouldntberequired

4.0 stars 6/23/2010 by shouldntberequired
by shouldntberequired

I purchased this product in attempts to clean animal urine out of 6 month old carpet. Overall the cleaner did a pretty good job but there is still some odor that persists. Most likely due to me not finding the urine issue sooner. I tried Hoover's Pet specific detergent and the included bottle of "Platinum" cleaner. The Pet specific detergent did a better job with masking the odor. I have also picked up candy stains out of the carpet with 100% success. This machine has very good suction and is better than the other Hoover machines that I have used. As with all steam cleaners patience is required and the area has to cleaned thoroughly. I like the fact that this machine can be set to pick up water only if there seems to be too much water in the carpet. I will agree with the other reviews in that the water and detergent basins seem flimsy. The handles on the basins have release mechanisms, so make sure that you pull from the base of the handle when removing them.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shouldntberequired
MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great Job Cleaning
5/4/2009

Customer review by MyWalMartReview4U

5.0 stars 5/4/2009 by MyWalMartReview4U
by MyWalMartReview4U

I was eager to get this steam cleaner as my carpets were in HORRIBLE disarray. It had been a little over a year since I had last cleaned my carpet, and the time had long since come to get it done again. I have two cats that, as much as I love them, shed 24/7. Did I mention they were black cats? Black fur on tan carpets… uuugly! My steam cleaner arrived Thursday, and after vacuuming everything thoroughly, I was amazed at all the hair that the steam cleaner managed to get up after my vacuum passed through. I wish I had pictures. My carpets were DISGUSTING beforehand, and now they look professionally done. With a 6 year warranty, I know I'm going to get my moneys worth. I highly recommend this product... especially since this was my 1st time doing my carpets myself (previously paid for professional steam cleaning) and the whole entire process was easy and results amazing!

Was this review helpful? (112) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MyWalMartReview4U
Jacksonville, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
So far, so good
1/13/2011

Customer review by Howard123

4.0 stars 1/13/2011 by Howard123
by Howard123

I've never owned a carpet cleaner before, but with three dogs who love roaming and running in the yard (and all of them getting up in years) it became a necessary evil. I've used the cleaner three times since purchasing it. It was very easy to assemble; the directions for use are clear and simple; changing water/solution and cleaning the item to store it are all very easy. (I have two herniated discs and I have not had any issue with the weight or movements required.) The amount of dirty water that this picked up in just one hallway area, after having just cleaned it with a rental machine from Home Depot two weeks prior, was both yucky and impressive! The carpet is still somewhat damp after thoroughly following the process, but by the next morning, it is dry. I'm impressed with its extraction/suction capability. I cannot yet speak to the product's durability. Good luck in your search for the right cleaner. As for me, so far so good!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Howard123
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Hoover is the BEST!!!
8/19/2010

Customer review by YoliJoJo

5.0 stars 8/19/2010 by YoliJoJo
by YoliJoJo

I have two indoor pets, a cat and a dog. It is essential for me to have a carpet cleaner in order to clean my carpets every 6 months without hiring professional cleaners, which is way to costly. About 5 years ago I purchased a Bissel carpet cleaner, which never worked well at all from day one. Owning a Bissel completely defeated the purpose in cutting down on cost because I still had to hire professional carpet cleaners to help keep my carpets clean and fresh. Well I finally decided to break down and buy another carpet cleaner, the Hoover Platinum Extractor. Boy was I amazed instantly!!! I've been in my home for almost 8 years and my carpets looked brand new after using my Hoover once. I am soooooo pleased and impressed with my Hoover that this is the first time I have posted a review. I highly recommend this cleaner. I thought it was a bit pricey, but it's worth every single penny. My last professional carpet cleaning job (Nov 2009) I paid $300.00. In comparison to paying for a professional, my Hoover has paid for itself with just one use. In fact my Hoover did a better job than the professional service I hired (nationally Known), who shall remain nameless. If you are considering buying a carpet cleaner, buy buy buy this product. I threw my Bissel in the garbage as soon as my Hoover arrived. :-)

Was this review helpful? (53) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
YoliJoJo
California Bay Area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Works Great when intact
11/20/2015

Customer review by ErinKu

1.0 stars 11/20/2015 by ErinKu
by ErinKu

My parents bought this machine for me when I bought a house 5 years ago. I have used it about 1-2x per year and as needed for smaller accidents and spills. I had to have it serviced 2 times within the first 2 years. Both times the plastic on the machine seemed to crumble. I can't remember what broke first. The 2nd time I took it in the back panel of the machine broke away from the machine. Now the hood of the hood of machine has snapped off. There seems to be some kind of defect with the type of plastic that it is made of. It breaks where the screws are threaded and then cracks in other places. I'm not sure if I want to invest into a repair or scrap this machine. When the machine is in working condition it cleans the carpets very well. I have 2 cats, 2 kids and a husband so we have all sorts of accidents, spills, etc. The brushes on this machine actually pull more cat hair up then my dyson vacuum! I am so bummed bc my mom has had her hoover carpet cleaner for at least 15 years with minimal problems.

Comment from Joscelyn - 11/20/2015

Hi ErinKu! Oh no, this is not good to hear and we think this is something that our technicians should take a look at! This model has a 6 year manufacture's warranty that warrants against motor/mfg. defects from the purchase date. Check out this link here: http://hoover.com/locator/, to locate a service center in your area. If you still have further questions, please give us a call at 1-800-944-9200 (Monday-Friday 8:00-6:00 p.m. EST), reach out to us on Facebook, or tweet us @HooverUSA!

ErinKu
Cleveland, OH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
BUYER BEWARE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
12/6/2011

Customer review by stones2011

1.0 stars 12/6/2011 by stones2011
by stones2011

I really dont care if you waste your money on this product, I did and so will you . Im so mad with Hoover after buying this model from Wallmart and only using it 5 times, It cracked on the bottom of the frame . I didnt know if the warranty was good for a crack, really it only covers the motor burning out . You wont find this out until calling the customer service center. I was extremly mad that after knowing warranty will not cover it , they told me it would cost $300.00 to fix this unit. I had argued with customer service ( Hoover) and ask why a crack in the frame would take 6 hours and $300.00 to fix? I was told by the rep. that this is a very delicate model and more or less the problem is in my hands , they would not do anything about this matter. Wallmart should not even carry this model, it looks nice but if this model is this delicate they dont need this . Go ahead and waste your money!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stones2011
hamshire,il.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Had two of the Platinum Carpet Cleaners
11/29/2012

Customer review by Ricksxfile

5.0 stars 11/29/2012 by Ricksxfile
by Ricksxfile

The Platium Carpet Cleaner was primarily used for cleaning up after 3 kids and 3 dogs for years. The cleaner has responded in every situation from carpets, rugs to hardwood floors. Have been patient and used a vaccum prior to cleaning an area (when permissible). My first cleaner lasted for approximatley 8 cleanings due to motor issues, was able to return the unit to Hoover (less than a week later) received a brand new cleaner, which lasted for approximately 5 years, at which time I purchased another. Having the 3 dogs use the carpet cleaner frequently, at least every other day. The cleaner and cleaning solution not only cleans up the spots and dirty areas, it removes all smells/odors in the process. The best way I've found to clean the spinning brushes is to remove from them from the machine, take the spinning brushes outside and use a garden hose with a jet nozzle to clean the brushes. The pet hair goes to one area for easy removal. Think I'll purchasing another cleaner for my son, who has a dog.

Ricksxfile
Sterling, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A Serious Machine
4/11/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/11/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have only owned this steam cleaner for one week, but I feel that it has already paid for itself. I bought it to clean up after a very sick, very large dog who's messes on my light carpet were extensive. So far, all of the areas I have cleaned have come out looking professionally done. It's automatic operations and the variety of functions are very convenient. So far I feel it's well worth the price, as I would have had to have professional cleaners come out twice already, so it's paid for itself. The only downsides I've found are a) that it's heavy, so I could not bring it upstairs by myself b) it uses a lot of solution, and I haven't found a local retailer that sells it yet and c) I have not found a way to clean the brush section efficiently, and am concerned about the messes that we clean up festering in the machine. The first two issues are minor and easily managed, though the cleaning issue has me stumped. Otherwise it's doing a wonderful job and I'm glad I didn't settle for a lesser product.

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 4/11/2009

Hoover Platinum Collection Detergents can be purchased at Hoover.com, Best Buy Stores, Kohl's Stores, and Target Stores. Hoover Cleaning Tip: Follow these simple steps when cleaning the SpinScrub Brushes in your Carpet Cleaner: 1. Lift base of cleaner from floor 2. Grasp each end of SpinScrub brush assembly 3. Pull away from cleaner 4. Rinse with warm water until debris is removed 5. To replace, align SpinScrub shaft with hole 6. Align SpinScrub guides with posts on cleaner 7. Push SpinScrub assembly towards cleaner Hoover Cleaning Tip: When carrying the Carpet Cleaner up and down stairs, make sure to empty the water tanks to reduce weight.

An anonymous customer
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
JUNK
1/24/2012

Customer review by Susan the Disgusted at Hoover

1.0 stars 1/24/2012 by Susan the Disgusted at Hoover
by Susan the Disgusted at Hoover

The reviewers who gave this cleaner better than one star must work for the company. I bought this shampooer when it first came out and sold for $500 +. What a mistake. Fortunately, I haven't had "brain freeze" or broken plastic parts, but I treat it like it is a delicate piece of "China". The problems I have are the dirty water tank drips dirty water on my carpet when I shut it off to unplug the power cord and move to another area, so I get to plug it back in and clean the area I just cleaned and most importantly, the powerful spinning brushes are ruining my carpet. I have Mohawk (not inexpensive) and no matter how many times I shampoo the brushes yank out more fibers and now my once beautiful frieze carpet looks like a fuzz ball. The fibers matt up in the brushes (I clean the brushes after every shampoo) and before I have completed one room, the unit begins to make a horrible, loud growling noise that sounds like it is about to crater. Don't be stupid. Buy another brand.

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 1/24/2012

We are sorry to hear about the issues you have experienced with your carpet washer. Please call our Customer Care Department for assistance at 1-800-944-9200, 8am - 7pm, M-F EST. Thank you!

Susan the Disgusted at Hoover
Katy, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Do not purchase!!!!!!!!
8/4/2011

Customer review by Sleaper

1.0 stars 8/4/2011 by Sleaper
by Sleaper

I have had this product for a year now and do not recomend it to anyony. Cleaning wise it did a great job. Durability.........Horable. I have returned this product twice back to the store hoping the replacement would be better. THE PROBLEMS -Made out of cheap plastic. The joint to the tower keeps breaking due to the cheap plastic. -Brisles on botom tend to fall off and you have to reatach them -Extremly heavy- i hope you don't have stairs everything else i give a thumbs up too. But take my advice walk away and do not purchase.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sleaper
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works wonderfully when not broke down
5/5/2010

Customer review by MessyBad

1.0 stars 5/5/2010 by MessyBad
by MessyBad
Walmart associate

I bought this product based on the fact I had never had a bad experience with any of the Hoover vacuums or shampooers I have boughten in the past. Unfortunately, I can't say that with this shampooer. It worked wonderfully the first couple times I used it. Then the 6 spin brush broke and melted causing the spinners to not move. I called Hoover and the woman I spoke with was very nice and they shipped me a new 6 spin brush. Still it wouldn't work. I called them back and sent them my shanpooer and the sent me a new one. However, that took over a month to get, which was very upsetting because I really needed it before it arrived. I used the new one once and a fuse went out and it wouldn't even turn on. Took it into a Hoover recommended shop to be fixed and it took a month to get a fuse. Now that it is fixed, it is broken again and won't even turn on. I am very disappointed and upset. I spent $400 on this item and for that amount of money, it should WORK! I have had this shampooer for almost 11 months and this is the third time it has broke on me. Unfortunately, due to this experience, I will no longer buy from Hoover.

Was this review helpful? (14) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MessyBad
Southern Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Walmart associate
Avoid avoid avoid
3/18/2011

Customer review by DrNano

1.0 stars 3/18/2011 by DrNano
by DrNano

The features on the Hoover Platinum are great but the unit suffers from inferior design in how it's constructed and the materials used. Plastic parts break easily, especially anything with the cleaning system itself. Tank handles comes off, valves pop out and spill water and soap all over the floor, and the front nozzle plate will not fit properly after you take it off to clean it. Plus cleaning the brushes and ducts to remove dirty water and floor debris is hellish. Avoid at all costs.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DrNano
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
Awesome when it is functioning
7/30/2013

Customer review by Vacuumboy4321

2.0 stars 7/30/2013 by Vacuumboy4321
by Vacuumboy4321

  I owned and used my hoover platinum for a little over two years. I absolutely loved it! it was hands down the best carpet washer I have owned.In those two years it had minor issues such as soap tank leak and other minor things, although slightly annoying they where bare able. Then the machine stopped dispensing water and soap, and when in upright position would stream puddles of water onto my carpet! I called hoover and ended up sending it to a repair center. The repair shop had it for about a week or two then they called me and told me hoover said I would have to replace my machine, but they no longer sold or made platinum models... I'm just saying I spent a lot more for the 'platinum' and hoped I'd get 'platinum' service. Unfortunately these models have had so many issues that hoover no longer sells them. With that said I would like to thank Hoover for stepping up to the plate and just allowing me to select any model of choice from there website to replace my platinum. Instead of leaving me hi and dry.

Comment from Ian - 8/19/2013

Hi Vacuumboy4321, we're always here to help. Let us know if you need any more help in the future. Thank you for your kind words.

Vacuumboy4321
Ok
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Disappointed - should have read reviews!
12/25/2012

Customer review by Porter

1.0 stars 12/25/2012 by Porter
by Porter

I only used this once a month, maybe twice during the winter last year. Mostly for hair balls & snow/dirt stains. By the 10th month, the water and shampoo reservoirs would leak & empty out before the jobs were half done. By the 11th month, I couldn't even get the machine to work. I found that if I took out the reservoirs and dirty water collector then reseated them, SEVERAL TIMES in a row, I could get the machine to start shampooing and rinsing. The unit would turn on but until I played with all the compartments...nothing! This month, my last month in my first year of ownership, I was ready to reseat everything, going through the ritual I'd learned last month. Nothing worked. The machine turned on but No Dice. I had to go to the grocery store and rent another carpet cleaner. I purchased this unit based upon two main reasons: 1)Name/brand recognition & reputation 2)Price/nomenclature - I figured the top priced unit was the top of the line and best value. Boy was I wrong. Off to find a Bissell I can trust...

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 12/25/2012

Your cleaner should work right every time. Your cleaner has a 6 year manufacturer's defect warranty. Please visit http://hoover.com/locator/ for a list of service/warranty dealers for assistance or call our Customer Care Department so we can learn more about the issues with your cleaner at 1-800-944-9200, 8am - 7pm, M-F EST. Thank you!

Porter
Denver, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
HOOVER VS RUG DOCTOR-NO CONTEST
10/12/2009

Customer review by Nate and Lundy's Mom

5.0 stars 10/12/2009 by Nate and Lundy's Mom
by Nate and Lundy's Mom

Okay, so I bought the Rug Doctor professional carpet cleaner-yeah, the huge one about two months ago. After trying it once, I wasn't completely satisfied-it left the carpet pretty wet and took over 24 hours to dry! So, after reading the reviews for the Hoover Platinum, I decided to buy one. I just finished shampooing with it. WOW! I can't believe how dry the carpet is! After shampooing our master and the hallway, I moved to the family room. By the time I finished the family room, the master was nearly dry! We don't wear shoes in our house and clean or have the carpet cleaned about every six months. The water out of the Hoover was black!!! I had just shampooed the carpet in the family room two weeks ago with the Rug Doctor so decided to go over it with the Hoover to see if I could get any dirt out. The water in the Hoover was just as dirty as the rest of the house! Don't waste your money on the Rug Doctor-this works way better. And it comes with a 6 year warranty!

Nate and Lundy's Mom
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Hoover Platinum Carpet Cleaner
11/10/2010

Customer review by robncy1987

5.0 stars 11/10/2010 by robncy1987
by robncy1987

I love this machine. I am quite picky about my home and white carpet being clean. I want a cleaner that is not bulky, has attachments and heats the water. The Hoover Platinum has all this and more. It not only heats the water, it also has a rinse mode and several settings for carpet needs. It has a great upholstery attachment I used on my stairs and it did a great job. My carpets were dry in no time and I can't believe how good they look. I have a NEW Rug Doctor which leaves the carpets wet and it's hard to manuever. I am hoping to sell it since it can't compete with the Hoover Platinum. I highly recommend this machine. The only draw back on the carpet cleaner is that I know I will probably get only 3-4 years out of it since it is made with fragile plastic. The Hoover company really needs to make the plastic thicker and more durable. Otherwise it's a great product and cleans amazingly well. It had a No.1 rating in Consumer Reports, that's why I bought it and glad I did.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
robncy1987
Commerce Twp, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great Carpet Cleaner
1/5/2011

Customer review by MomfromMissouri143

5.0 stars 1/5/2011 by MomfromMissouri143
by MomfromMissouri143

I bought this to replace an old Hoover bought in 1997 (it still works but I thought with improved technologies a new model might work better). I almost bought a Bissel - because it supposedly heats the water and I thought that might be an added bonus. After checking out Comsumer Reports I decided to stick with the Hoover brand and I could not be happier!!! My worn, dog stained carpets look like new! Although I have had the cleaner for 3 weeks - I have used it almost every other day to clean a living room, hall way and master bedroom due to an aging, incontinent dog. And thanks to Wal-mart I got it for $60 less than the price listed on any other retail seller. I could not be more pleased.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MomfromMissouri143
Wentzville, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 242 total reviews
1-20 of 242 reviews