Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.9out of 5 stars
3.9 out of 5 | 36 reviews
5 stars
22
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
7
Sort by: 
1-20 of 35 reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews
Tests itself in the middle of the night
8/4/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was a renter when my landlord installed these throughout the house. Two of the three units installed would randomly test themselves at the most inopportune times, like at 3am when we were all sleeping. It beeps horrifically loud and then says "testing..." And comes up with "0 ppm"...nothing. It traumatized my daughter, going off in her bedroom in the middle of the night a handful of times. The last thing you want to deal with is waking up to a scared infant or toddler because that thing wants to "test" itself. The third unit in our home, same brand and model, never did this. Just the one in our bedroom and my daughter's. We did research and found out that this was a common occurance with these units. It's horrible. I can understand the important role this serves to save lives but when it wakes you up to the loudest alarm ever, for testing only and on a regular basis, people are going to want to disconnect these and that's not leading to safety.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (23)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Saved my family
2/2/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I CAN HONESTLY SAY THIS PRODUCT WORKS I normally don't bother with writing reviews but considering this is what saved me, my family and half of our home I feel I should. I got this alarm for 1 of or living rooms only 2 weeks before the 2nd kitchen caught fire when everyone was on the complete other end of the home and we are so grateful that it was quick enough and loud enough for us to hear it through several closed doors in a large home so we all could get out safely and call 911 before our propane tank and my oxygen tanks blew up.. The firemen said they could still here it in our driveway even as it was burning SO I THANK FIRST ALERT WITH ALL MY HEART FOR THIS ALARM!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (39)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Replaced after 7 months
4/12/2010
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This product is exactly what I was looking for. I liked that it spoke which room/area the alarm was going off in. However, after 6 months the alarm started chirpping 3 short beeps. I assumed the batteries were dead and changed them. After just a few more weeks the alarm started chirpping again. I looked at the back of the alarm and it said that 3 short chirps meant that the unit needed to be replaced...AFTER ONLY 7 months!!! I took it back to the store and exchanged it. I wouldn't have bought it again, but I couldn't see throwing away a $50 unit and buying another. So far so good on the 2nd unit.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (36)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
You WILL Wake up...
9/1/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
when this alarm goes off in the night. The horn and the voice are outstanding. Easy to install and looks good also.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (31)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
NO GOOD
4/5/2009
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
3rd one I returned !!!! They have an error message. When I call the factory they were OUT TO LUNCH! When I finally got them they said take it back to store. (ALL THREE OF THEM) STAY AWAY
Was this review helpful?
Yes (47)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
2/10/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Product was not working, going off at random. I had to return it to the store for a refund. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Just Don't
6/13/2010
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
In this city it is mandatory to have a fire alarm/carbon monoxide detector in your home. I have one upstairs in the main room and downstairs in the living room. The bathroom upstairs where the shower is by the detector and the steam from the shower sets off the alarm every single time anyone takes a shower unless the door is closed. I learned to deal with that, but 3 months later it started to randomly say things and chirp all the time and its just not a good product. If I were you, I would look into a different product before you throw 40 bucks at this thing.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (13)
Report
Was this review helpful?
11/29/2012
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
It's nice this comes with batteries. The only thing is after you install them & get everything set up, the alarm goes off about once an hour. Then it gets down to every 20 min. We had to take the batteries out so we can sleep.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Loud informative easy to program dual detector
5/17/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is our second set of these detectors, we had the prior set for over five years and did not have any issues with false alarms. I like the fact that you can easily program the room in which the detector is placed, so you know right away from the warning message where the problem in the house is located. The alarm noise and voice are very loud, but that is exactly what you want when there is a fire or carbon monoxide issue in your home. The only downside is that the opening of the battery case and removal of the batteries when changing could be smoother. I always change batteries every six months, even though many of today's batteries say ten year life on the package. A good percentage of batteries can leak in less than two years, better safe than sorry to protect your home and family.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A decent talking combination alarm device
10/27/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I thought that I was ordering a wireless device to communicate with existing wireless smoke alarms. However this device is not wireless. I apparently did not check the model number. I like the idea of the devices communicating with each other and all sounding if anyone of them detects a fire. I am installing this system in my home and in a house the a son is using at college. This is a far better option that installing a hard-wired alarm system.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Unsure yet
6/26/2015
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It fit the brackets from my old alarms which was nice. I put the batteries in, programmed the rooms, tested it, and all seemed fine. It spoke and beeped. Three days later i was sitting there when the alarm beeped several times but never spoke. I've been away for a week so I can't say if it's done it again, but if it does it again, I will be returning and/or calling the company. If it hadn't beeped, I would give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It did every thing it was supposed .
8/14/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The purchase and delivery was simple and fast. The alarms were easily installed and the tests revealed they performed all functions.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
this thing is on fire
2/9/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Not really, good brand easy setup.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
convenient
1/22/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Convenient to have combined smoke and carbon monoxide alarm. Convenient that batteries were in place. Convenient to enter alarm location.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
2/21/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Returned after 1 day. Talking alarm test went off 3 times from motion of person walking by. Woke up the whole house with 3 false alarms!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
smoke alarm
2/8/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Good product, easy to install and setup.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good bang for the buck
12/4/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Heavy duty, easy to install, love the voice and its instructions . Unit is loud enough also
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Faulty: this product has a very annoying bug
10/18/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My unit goes off several times a day with the announcement "Testing..." and it is super load and completely annoying. I've changed the batteries several times but that is not the issue, it's just buggy. I have had it for 8 months now so I'm worried that it is not even returnable at this point. DON'T BUY!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I bought 3 of these
2/6/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
These were super easy to setup. It guides you through the picking of a room verbally, so you don't need to read a manual. They are super load, and when you test them the first time it runs you through a drill of fire, as well as carbon monoxide. It would definitely wake up the sleepiest of kids, and adults across the home would hear if it went off in another room. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great 2 in 1 Unit
3/6/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Great 2 in 1 unit. We have used this model for years with no complaints.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643937, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-